(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

goldenpig,
since i found out i preggie, i stop eating all shellfish so chances of kena Hep A is very low i think. Pray that my triple blood test & HIV test turns out fine during next gynae visit.

jenie welcome

Hi hammies,
My EDD is 11 Jan 2008. Though doc said might be in late Dec. Have heard so many stories about firstborn normally will be earlier than EDD but some said not true. Too many myths with pregnancy. Haha. My doc's clinic is in Gleneagles but he delivers either in Gleneages or Mt Alvernia. Haven't decided on hospital yet. Anyone got any recommendations? Initially wanted TMC coz seems to have really good feedback from so many people but my doc doesn't deliver there. I haven't do my blood tests yet but will be seeing him in my 14th week which is next week lor. What are the blood tests? I've heard about OSCAR but not sure what it is. Painful?

Hi joyce,
Thanks for welcoming us newbies. =)

Hi steph,

Hope the below info will help ya!

Why have I started getting heartburn?

Many women start getting heartburn and indigestion in the second half of their pregnancy. The burning sensation that is associated with heartburn often extends from the lower throat to the bottom of your breastbone. It usually comes and goes until your baby is born.

Heartburn is caused by both hormonal and physical changes to your body. During pregnancy, the placenta produces the hormone progesterone, which relaxes the smooth muscles of the uterus. Progesterone also relaxes the valve that separates the oesophagus from the stomach, allowing gastric acids to seep back up the pipe, which causes that uncomfortable sensation of heartburn. The hormone also slows the wavelike contractions of the stomach, making digestion sluggish.

As time goes on in your pregnancy, your growing foetus crowds the abdominal cavity, slowing the elimination of waste from your body and pushing up the stomach acids into your throat. The same process that causes you discomfort actually benefits your baby because nutrients that linger in your bloodstream can be absorbed more fully into your baby's system.

What can I do about it?

There's no sure-fire way to avoid getting heartburn or indigestion, but you can take some steps which might reduce the likelihood of it happening:
Avoid rich or spicy dishes as well as chocolate, citrus fruit or juices, coffee and alcohol.

Eat little and often and chew your food slowly and thoroughly. Give yourself two or three hours to digest any meals before going to bed.

Sleep with two or three extra pillows to keep your head propped up in bed. You can also try sleeping upright in a comfortable chair.

Wear loose and comfortable clothing, especially around your waist.

If none of the above help, talk to your doctor about an over-the-counter antacid that is safe to use during pregnancy.

http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/antenatalhealth/sleep/heartburn/

Steph, beans n nuts are high in protein. good for us to take more. i have the same feeling as u.. i always take plum to curb that vomit feel. taking 3rd bottle now!!

Violetlce, currently ur EDD is the same as mine, but I was mentioning that I see the date changes each time I do the ultrasound, so the rest were saying gynae will do another confirmation at later stage? I also wonder if mine will end up in late Dec leh..hahaa..personally, I somehow prefer Jan then give birth...but really can't be certain what my baby wants!!

For me, very likely will go for Mt. A. My birth hospital too..plus nearer my home too..TMC also not bad...but a bit more crammed and small the building.

hi violetIce & split, Welcome!

violetIce, thanks. Now i have better understanding of heartburn!
Hey, u r moving onto 2nd tri huh! Do u experience any MS? Is this your baby #1 too?

steph,
i always experience heartburns, it is like heart pain inside, but sometimes left and sometimes right and make me can't breath properly, have to get up from bed to feel better.. eek.

icy
yours sound like chest pain. Heartburn = feels like u ate too much and there's no space for the food, so it comes back up your throat but sometimes it's only stomach acid... thus the 'burning' sensation.

kitsune_sg, i saw my bb on last fri(@ wk 11+).. unlike most of the mtb description, my bb not very active leh & looks similar to the last pic taken in wk 9+ except that bb is 4.2cm now... & EDD move to 2 days earlier... dunno is it my gynae u/s scan machine no good leh.... coz bb not like the other mtbs' bb that wave/move actively loh... and i cant see the hands & legs very clearly from u/s scan leh.... not sure is it becoz of the position of bb.. a bit disappointed...
i was told to go for the down syndrome test @ TMC but the clinic asst say it cost ard $90+... any difference between this test vs the OSCAR test? going for the test this sat....pray that the test result will b normal... it does worry me now coz everyone bb is moving here & there...

for the durian lover, i heard recently a fren who have craving for durian during her 3rd trimester & after eating durian, she was rushed to the hospital to give birth becoz it causes her blood pressure to shot up.... sounds scary ya...

shorty, i m same as u... ate durian on monday nite & all my family ened up with very bad sore throat with pain... then now sneezing non-stp...

qingqing, where's your work place? saw your blog that u went old airport road for lunch... really enjoy your lunch ya..

btw, i found another cute site for bb tickers - http://lilypie.com/create_baby_days.php

i am a mum from may's thread. I got a set of ISIS Out & About Set that i brought from Takashimaya and used only once since i brought the medela pis set. RP$149. Very good condition. PM me if interested.

Contains:
ISIS Breast Pump with Sterile Travel Covers
Microfibre Insulated Shoulder Bag (used once)
2 Milk Storage Bottles with Sealing Discs (125ml/4oz) - (used for pumping once only)
2 Milk Storage Bottles with Sealing Discs (260ml/9oz) (brand new)
2 Newborn Teats (brand new)
2 Dome Caps (brand new)
2 Flexible Cool Packs (used)
8 ULTRA Comfort Disposable Breast Pads (not included, used up)
Drawstring Storage Bag (brand new)

hi superbee
my #1 was also very still in the womb, until 3rd tri then i had to record his movements. Dun worri la. aiyooo

<font color="ff0000">updates, pls let me know and if possible, use red so that i can catch it easily. thanks.</font>

<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD>NICK</TD><TD>EDD (2008)</TD><TD>GYNAE</TD><TD>HOSPITAL</TD><TD>Child #</TD><TD>Email </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>G Tan (gtgt)</TD><TD>01-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>[email protected] </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Snow (snowlove)</TD><TD>02-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH TPS</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>anbrasia ma</TD><TD>03-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. TC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>kit_mum2b</TD><TD>05-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Andrian Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>mamarumi</TD><TD>06-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Judy Wong</TD><TD>KKH TPS</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>TG (greentera)</TD><TD>08-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>DarEve/Westerwaylah</TD><TD>10-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>jenie_1979 (jenie_1979)</TD><TD>10-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH TPS</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>babe (babyship)</TD><TD>11-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>[email protected] </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Hammies03</TD><TD>11-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. YC Goh</TD><TD></TD><TD>#1</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>November</TD><TD>11-Jan</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>valencia (valencia_val)</TD><TD>11-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Lim Yuin Wen</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>[email protected] </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Evelyn</TD><TD>12-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH TPS</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>shooting star (shooting star)</TD><TD>12-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>[email protected] </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>chrysalid</TD><TD>13-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Vincent Lee</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>red.rose</TD><TD>13-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Shorty</TD><TD>13-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. TB Lim</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>kovanella</TD><TD>15-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>mist28 (mist28)</TD><TD>15-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH TPS</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>Superbee</TD><TD>15-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>JanBB</TD><TD>16-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. HY Tan</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>mylife (mylife)</TD><TD>17-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Chua Yang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>[email protected] </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>mylvera</TD><TD>17-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>Quek Wei Lin</TD><TD>17-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Lee Keen Whye</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>eRnMum</TD><TD>18-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. June Tan</TD><TD>KKH TPS</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>LynnChong</TD><TD>19-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Henry Cheng</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>Regina (reginalee)</TD><TD>19-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Madeleine Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>babyling</TD><TD>20-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>Flyn</TD><TD>20-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH TPS</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>icy</TD><TD>20-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. SC Yeoh</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>mei (lu_meihua)</TD><TD>20-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH TPS</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>[email protected] </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>qingqing (qqing)</TD><TD>20-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Heng Tung Lan</TD><TD>East Shore</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>30</TD><TD>YuN</TD><TD>20-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>[email protected] </TD></TR><TR><TD>31</TD><TD>Luvv</TD><TD>21-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>32</TD><TD>noven lim</TD><TD>23-Jan</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>#1</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>33</TD><TD>Steph77 (steph77)</TD><TD>23-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Fong Yang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>[email protected] </TD></TR><TR><TD>34</TD><TD>fishia</TD><TD>24-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Lee Keen Whye</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>35</TD><TD>Mrs Piggy Piggy</TD><TD>24-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>36</TD><TD>rachael pang</TD><TD>25-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Kee</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>37</TD><TD>Babyshannon</TD><TD>27-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH TPS</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>38</TD><TD>francoise</TD><TD>27-Jan</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>39</TD><TD>angelsky (angelsky)</TD><TD>28-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>[email protected] </TD></TR><TR><TD>40</TD><TD>calbee (calbee)</TD><TD>28-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>41</TD><TD>Joyce (lj2)</TD><TD>28-Jan</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>[email protected] </TD></TR><TR><TD>42</TD><TD>mcfluffy</TD><TD>28-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Henry Cheng</TD><TD></TD><TD>#1</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>43</TD><TD>michelle</TD><TD>28-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>44</TD><TD>baby26</TD><TD>29-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. PC Wong</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>45</TD><TD>megg</TD><TD>30-Jan</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>#1</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>46</TD><TD>wlml2402</TD><TD>31-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. AL Lim</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>47</TD><TD>dorothy</TD><TD>01-Feb</TD><TD>Dr. YW Lim</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>48</TD><TD>gintonic (gintonic)</TD><TD>01-Feb</TD><TD>Dr. Wen Lim</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>[email protected] </TD></TR><TR><TD>49</TD><TD>kitsune_sg (kitsune_sg)</TD><TD>01-Feb</TD><TD>Dr. Judy Wong</TD><TD>KKH TPS</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>50</TD><TD>Yen</TD><TD>02-Feb</TD><TD>Dr. SH Teoh</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>51</TD><TD>starry70</TD><TD>10-Feb</TD><TD></TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Morning Everyone...

anbrasia ma, u must take care... lucky everythings goes fine.

Hi jenie, welcome..

Wow... so many to read and so many issue on maid and fishes.... so can we actually take shark fin? since we r just eating the fin and not the meat...

fishia, i'll be doing confinement at my mum's place... still dunno to let my mum look after my baby during day time or get a maid. but after reading all the cases abt maid, a bit worried.

can we actually see baby hands and legs at week 11? hope i can see my baby waving at us this sat. so excited... looking forward....

i also feel pain when i cough...is it ok? i'm very worried. Will anything happen to my baby?

Steph77, thanks for yr info...after reading abt angela lee case, make me more worried and scare.... seemed like i will have to worried till deliver....so scary....

mtbs,
my next checkup would be next monday.. hope i can see bb hands and legs too.

Meet lyn here yesterday.. so nice of her to bring me bah gua from sg lol.

golden pig,
hor.. also not too sure..lol becos i used to have too much steriod injections for my eszema, so i thought it was some side effects.

ystrday my colleague didn't ask me if i was pregnant.. she straightaway ask me "how many months" hahaha.

few days back another colleague gave me some of her yummy homemade pork liver porridge, she said can "bu3 xue3" ie good for blood. I wonder if she guessed... ?? *shrug*

today i couldn't find a my blouse in my cupboard, so had to wear a maternity blouse to work. So far no one interrogate me yet... keeping a low profile... feel like spy. haha.

Hi mtbs,

So happy to get in here finally ^.^...was so busy wif my work.. Noticed that some mtbs says can see bb movements from wk 10 onwards??? is it becos' the ultrasound is 3D scan?? my gynae one is quite standard type & i didn't manage to see any movements leh during last visit...can only see bb heart beating in the screen.. hmm, i muz watch bb movement carefully this coming sat... it seems so cute...

now wk 12+ oredi...still puke in the evening & sometimes experience some cramp & slight pain in stomach...wonder is it ok??

Goldenpig - ur stomach muz be veri obvious.. heehee..that means ur colleague oredi know long ago ; )That's great... they will give u attention & mayb less work??

janbb
your baby may be asleep, dat's why no movement. My ultrasound not 3D.. 3D more ex.
yes i think my tummy quite obvious, but maybe others just wonder why i'm not doing anything to avoid getting FATTER. haha.
No.. at my workplace, work gets MORE and MORE.. never less. No concession for preggers...

qingqing
well, if they know they haven't come to quiz me. So i dun think they know. Only 3-4 colleagues & 1 staff in the canteen. Out of 100+ people. See how long i can hide... hahaha.
I was complaining to my colleague abt my poor complexion, and she still asked me if my period was coming. U say ley. hahahaha

Hi, Superbee Better clarify if the test your clinic is recommending is just the blood test. OSCAR is blood test AND detailed ultrasound test. That's why around $300+.

Wa, your baby so big already. Hee, maybe, I saw baby moving cos my gynae was doing vaginal scan and baby was uncomfortable about the intrusion. Don't worry, as long as got heartbeat, all is well.

My hubby saw baby's movement when we went to the Oscar screening during week 12+

I didnt get to see it since the screen was away from me. By the time the sonographer show me the screen, baby become guai guai already, sleeping steadily for her to take the measurement.

Hope can see some movement when I go for week 16 scan.

Yeah! Tomorrow - TGIF !

kitsune
vaginal scan only reaches up to your cervix, which shld be tightly closed.. the scan thingy doesn't go into the womb to probe the baby..

hehehe ur colleague not observant leh hahahaha

I oso never see baby move think movement start on wk 12 - 14

if i dun remember wrongly

Okie, looks like my baby very active then. Kept moving up and down. Hope he or she will be guai guai when born and don't torture Mummy. Hee.

if bb move, we still can't feel it right? Mayb after wk 16 & above then can feel the kick? really look forward to have that "special feel"... and it may also serve as some communications bet bb & us.. so sweet...

for my #1, i felt it abt 5m i think.. first few days it was just bubbling in tummy.. then confirmed felt the movement.

hi JanBB,

me oso never see baby movement during wk10 scan. Hopefully next scan, can see more movement...maybe baby gender. i oso experience some slight cramp & pain (last few seconds) this morning, hope it's alright.
Did u manage to buy any clothes from E style?
So far, u ladies got any changes on your looks? nose got start to get big? more pimples or oily t zones ? or look more radient?

goldenpig,
it is exciting to keep yr colleagues in suspense...especially when they found out u preggie, the look on their face astonish!haha..

Joyce,
re: angela lee sad story. I didn't want to make u ladies worry but just wanna share & realise how fortunate we are, to take gd care of ourselves throughout pregnancy, dun take anything for granted.

hi icy,

send our regards to lynn. meat (bah gua) can export/take to Japan meh? How's weather in Japan, turing hotter in Aug right?

Steph- no, didn't manage to go j pt that day... long time didn't shop cos feel like lazing at home during wkend... a bit scare of those shopping crowd..see so many plp walk here & there make me "gong" haahaa..

talking abt cramp - wonder is it stomach hungry or cramp..sometimes i really cun tell.. juz know that my mouth cun stop munching snacks.. my office drawer become small tibbits store now.. heehee ;)

hi ladies...wah this thread really moves very fast...have a hard time catching up.

Ambrasia, your vein broke and the doc gave u only 2 days MC? Since it's due to stress and hardwork..u better take care yourself and not overwork.

Icy, yah, the package is really quite good. But still, i'm vexing over how and the procedures of the actual delivery when the time comes. The 3 weeks ah..maybe 1 week before delivery and 2 weeks after lah. Ru currently based in Japan now? So when do u plan to return to Sg for delivery?

Me too very gan cheong to visit my gynae this Sat, would be my 12th week liao...wondering if i'd be able to see movement?

i do get cramp sometimes ... a sharp pain ....kind of unbearable ....

I have oily t zone
must wash face frequently leh

For me, my face has always been oily so cannot tell lah. haha

But friends (who do not know that i am expecting) said i looked paler and quite skinny

look like a drug-addict . oh dear !

Steph,
I am surprised that she could bring in, she did mentioned that custom questioned a bit, but since just 1 package then let go bah. lol. Now it is a rainy season in Tokyo.. so will just get cloudly and rain every other day.. temp ard 24-28. And by August would be the hot season where the temperature will go as high as 35 degree!

I not sure the skin change becos of the climate here or because i am preggy, my face are peeling now.. becoming very dry.

JanBB,
really envy that u can take in food, somehow i still not gaining my appettite yet and my hb keep nagging me day after day. I dun exactly puke and feel hungry.. When i am hungry, the puke feeling would already be here and i would feel terrible.

mylife,
We have to take it slowly when we go see gynae.. when closer date, i suppose the gynae will explain the procedures to us bah.. afterall.. now a days should be quite common to have the fathers working overseas.

I am currently based in Japan.. i think the latest i could be staying here would be around 30th week.. i don't want it to be too late or too early cos I also scare that have to settle some hospitalisation paper work and etc.. also wanna my gynae to be familar with my bb situation then. When I am back here, i would be staying either with my mil or my mum.

My hb manage to talk to his boss and get 1 mth to come back.. since anyway it is near CNY and he have to come back anyway.. hope my delivery date wont be too far for CNY.. then easier to plan.

icy
same for me, if i go too long without eating, the nausea will be very bad. So i really hv to nibble in between meals. At least the stomach acids hv smthg to digest and wun generate so much gas.

Hey goldenpig, ur complexion also affected? I have some pimples on my face that dun seem to fade away though its like recovering...the scar seems to be there all the time..boohoo... on the higher part of my forehead also tend to develop a bit more spots...tot i read second trimester skin gets glowing...haha..i really wonder if mine will...

About the baby movement topic, I think just wait a bit and see bah...so happen if baby is active at that point, will move, if not probably at a later stage will feel the kicking? I wonder what that would feel like..

hammies
i recently started taking the prenatal supplement la.. plus my usual daily coffee or milo, then some more heaty food for lunch. So suddenly got bumps n blemishes lor. Also haven't been to facial for 2yrs.. can't imagine all the blackheads whiteheads hiding in there... *yuck*