(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Thanks Shooting star and Tg, for all the information.

QingQing, oh your family ZU PU, 2nd character is de. Hmm.... My hubby and i looked through the JIA PU but seemed like no one follow the JIA PU. According to my hubby's sister, she said if follow ZU PU 2nd character is Zen.

Anyone know what's the meaning of Ligation?

hi joyce

info avail on the net

Tubal ligation (informally known as getting one's "tubes tied") is a permanent form of female sterilization, in which the fallopian tubes are severed and sealed or "pinched shut", in order to prevent fertilization. Hormone production, libido, and the menstrual cycle are not affected by a tubal ligation.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tubal_ligation

goldenpig
my mum say as long as give birth to healthy baby is a blessing fr god. If baby fall sick later then no choice..we gotta take extra care. imperfect as in? autistic child? depends xian tian or hou tian ?

hey ladies,
fyi, kiddy palace is no longer having storewide sales. 20% disc is only for members only.
Anyone heard of Andrea Leonard maternity wear? Not bad leh, i bought one polo tee wif embroidery at $29.52

jus found this thread! Me too gonna be delivering in Jan 08. Can someone add me in as well?

Nick: mylife
EDD: 17/1/08
Gynae: Dr Chua Yang
Hospital: TMC
Child: #1

Wat else? Yah..me one of those dat actually lost weight during my 1st trimester. Totally no appetite at all and dunno wat to expect. To top it off, my hubby prob gonna be posted to HK for 2 yrs contract..so naturally am following suit...but would still wanna give birth in Spore. Now checking around to see wat's my option.

steph
every child is a blessing from God.. there must be a reason if God grants us a baby with health problems..
my colleague's son was born with a cleft lip.. she's super extra protective of him.. took 1 year unpaid leave to care for him. Only 4YO, but he has 5-6 times day-op already (under GA) due to ear infection etc. No insurance company wants to cover him, so his upcoming major op in few years time gonna be borne by husband and wife's earnings.
The boy is completely assured that he won't be neglected nor brushed aside due to his physical imperfection.

too many kids i know who were born unhealthy or imperfect. 100% salute to their loving parents who care for them and treasure them. Special children hv extra special daddies & mommies.

hi mylife, welcome & congrats

Are u a SAHM ? if not, to quit yr job & follow yr hubby is difficult huh.

Shooting Star and TG, i have called up the clinic and check abt the charges. The staff i spoken to is very friendly, her name is Amy.
I go back home and discuss with my hubby. Mostly will see one of them.

Wah, i dun dare to think so much leh goldenpig. Let god decide for me...i think i am not that strong person. Ma Ma zhen wei da!

I also dun want to think so much, but yes indeed, every Child is a blessing from GOD and I suppose there is a purpose for everyone, whether born this way or that. I think most impt is baby is healthy all the way thruout pregnancy then birth. After that is another phase altogether.

Wah, sounds like you got quite some good buys Steph. Are u on leave today?

hammies,
hehe..yup on leave..clear leave cos i kept my annual leave for next yr Japan trip but now gone case so clear slowly loh.

joyce
He's a happy boy. Still frequently hv ear infection, cannot go swimming as often as he likes, can't enunciate his words properly... but who cares, the whole family just returned from HK (disneyland) and the teachers complained he forgot his alphabet coz played too much & 1 week didn't attend nursery. Doesn't look as handsome as other kids, but nontheless he's being loved to bits by his mom, dad, sis, granny etc

As long as they are healthy and happy, it's good. Golden pig, ur colleague's son is lucky that he has such loving and caring parents.
We should all think positive and hope for the best. Health is the single most important factor before anything else. I guess god will not give u more than u can handle. =)

will go check out carrano garment one of these days. i daren't try internet shopping too, as i am scared that the sizes don't fit me properly. I like to touch and feel before i buy anyway.
Steph, where is Andrea Leonard maternity wear?

Heard that ox is hardworking... but maybe it means that pple born that year have to work very hard??!!

Thanks mei, for the update!

welcome mylife!!!! ..... joyce no no ... our 2nd character is Ke heehee ... maybe i phrase the sentence wrongly heeheehee sorry ....

u good lah no one follow for my father-in law he follow one ..... we even need to update all name list in the family tree then have to send back to china to our clan there to keep a copy of it ....

welcome mylife.. u have to decide whether to follow ur hubby to HK before week 32, was advised that we should not travel after that.

wah! qingqing, i think our family have stopped doing it since our generation. most of our family didn't follow, except one cousin's family. My dad said that it's coz the character didn't sound very nice, can't remember what it was. I have no idea how to pick the chinese name, and our parents have left it all up to us.

Qingqing, so far never ask whether have to follow or not but my hubby's eldest brother didn't follow. Same as you, we also need to update all name list in the family tree then have to send back to china to our clan there to update. Your hubby which dialect?

Golden pig, glad to hear that. agreed with shooting star healthy and happy is more important somemore he have loving and caring parents, sis and grandparents.

Hi Steph. No leh, gynae never let me listen to heart beat, only saw it flashing on screen, don't know why. Must ask her next time I see her.

My ex colleague who used this CL said she gave a $20 angpow before and after just as a token cos she already paid surcharge for CNY. Her no. 3 was born during CNY this year.

Superbee, hope you can to see more of your baby tomorrow.

I've just opted to go for OSCAR yesterday, think it's $315. I'll be 32 this year so better play safe and check. The appt is in late July, think it should be my 11 or 12th week then.

Actually, above 35 years old, advised to go. For those below 35, gynae usually let you decide whether you want to do it or not. But since blood test and ultrasound test not very painful and hardly any risk, I decided to do it for peace of mind.

>how old need to go for OSCAR?

Any age, as long as you are pregnant. However, it is optional.

Every pregnant woman has a Down Syndrome baby risk... it's a question of 1 in how many, eg. 1 in 300, or 1 in 20 or 1 in 8000, etc. Technically speaking, this risk assessment is for Trisomy 21 [1].

The other two risk assessments are for Trisomy 13 [2] and Trisomy 18 [3].

Results from OSCAR can be quite tramatic [4] for some couples, although it gives the affected parents more time to accept the new life.

References:
[1] http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Down_syndrome
[2] http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Patau_syndrome
[3] http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Edwards_syndrome
[4] http://www.babycenter.com/comments/pregnancy/prenatalhealth/118?i=0

TG
more time to accept the new life? Or not...
i guess it's fine to be prepared and everything, but as a decision to abort, i find that hard to swallow. Maybe it's better for the family, better for the world if 1 less DS baby (or any other imperfection) was born, but then... it's a LIFE... i think i'll be even more protective knowing that the lil one needs more of my love & care to make it in this world.

hi ladies morning!

thanks for so much info on the Oscar test. I will be seeing gynae at 1.30pm & see what he recon.
keep u all updated later!

it's quite sad but my aunt who is expecting her #2 will depend on the results of amnio test to decide whether to keep the baby. She's 42 this year. It was the same case for her #1.

She's already a real life mom to a beautiful little girl for nearly 2 years, and yet she can still harden her heart to abort #2 if the result isn't favourable. I pray that if it really turns out that way, she & her husband will be able to overcome the guilt that comes along with the decision. She's a back-slidden Christian.

I feel that its up to the couple to decide whatever tests to go for, or even to go for any tests. Every one has a different way of managing news (be it good or bad). Some would prefer to know earlier, whereas others wouldn't. Its how u deal with it in the end that is crucial. Waiting for results (if any results, even school results) are natually traumatic anyway. But, yeah i agree with TG that a later shock would be even more traumatic for some, and having to deal with post partum stress on top of that. Having a peace of mind (providing the results are good) could be a better option for some to sail thru their pregnancy, just as well having ample time to accept the fact earlier may be easier for some too (if result are bad). Anyway, to each it's own. Think we should not dwell on this and just think positive and be happy!!

ya .... should be ok one .... the nurse explain some test to me oso she say is optional ... i forget have what liao hehehe

oscar can be done at earlier stage too, I had it done at week 10 for my previous angel.. it would be done earlier if there is some complications like continuous spottings etc. But then i find the statistics a bit hard to decide on things.. the worst scenario would be 1:2.. which is 50%.. 50% is the most worst rate, it makes u feel like you are gambling. my stats was not so good for edward symdrome then, then angel decided to go b4 we decide on anything. Anyway I kind of think this angel had come back to me because the EDD is quite close to my current one. :D

mylife,
I also overseas with hb now.. also wanna deliver in sg.. I wanna come back around 30 weeks.. mil wasnt too happy with the decision, she thinks it would be too late and tiring for me.. yet I hope i can spend the max time with hb first, and if i go back sg, some form of freedom will be lost. *sigh*

oh ya,
i know its a bit to eat birdnest but because i have taiwanese friends coming to Japan, i am asking them to buy for me as i think Japan would be more ex. Just wondering how much is singapore selling for a bottle of concentrated birdnest and what is the size for it. Thanks.

Ladies, would you all go for those health screening check-up when you are pregnant? You know those type that companies sometimes organise for their staff - blood pressure, blood glucose, hep A, B screening sort of tests??

for me, the blood test for hep b and glucose are done as a package with HIV (compulsory required by Govt unless you opt out). not sure if you can choose just to test a few of the items

wahhh....so many posts liao.

Steph..yup am a SAHM..sort of..cos i also own a nail spa but i seldom go down cos the smell totally makes me wanna throw up and furthermore, my gynae said the acryllic and the nail polish smell is quite harmful for baby. As for the relocation, chances are i will be following my hubby to HK, then perhaps nearing to my edd, i will fly back to Spore. Both SQ and CX quoted they allow preggie mom-to-be to fly up to 35th and 36th week respectively but with letter from gynae certifying i'm fit to travel. Am praying hard my pregnancy is gonna be a smooth one with no hiccups. Heard the gynaes in HK not very good and delivery wards are always full cos of the infulx of China women going to HK to give birth to get HK citizenship.

Goldenpig, i tot my gynae told me the risk of DS for a baby born to a mother above 35yr old is only high if it's a firstborn for the mom. If your aunt is already a mother of one child, then there's no issue. At least dats wat i was told.

mylife,
i think u better search where to go for checkup before u are in hk. U need some recommendation? I can help u ask my HK friends.

Another issue to consider is after bb born then where should we bring them for injections. At least hk, language not a problem.. me in Japan.. every checkup is a hectic thing.. the nurses all cannot speak english and we just have to pt here and there... last checkup, I even left before an midwife consulation because i dun even know there is one.

Icy,
If you need help in Japan, try to look for foreigners (not tourist of cos). I realised most the foreigners there can speak some Japanese. They may be able to help in translating.

I was there with a japanese language book. Spoke to them in my "Japanese" and they can't understand! Accent different lah.. sigh..

i am back fr gynae's clinic. Me too able to see baby's tiny hands & legs, bb measure 4.38cm at 10.5wks. Gynae say bb is really growing very fast. The crown of the head is big too! Next appt will be 16July.
Gynae say i can go for the triple test instead of Oscar test but it is still up to us "the couple" decision. So, me & hubby decided to go for the normal triple test & wait for the results during next visit. Like what shooting star say, we just think positive & be happy!

mylife,
Wah...be your own boss is gd. Where is your nail spa located ? i go support next time!
I am not so sure abt gynaes in HK but i think they r not as gd compare to S'pore. Will yr MIL or yr mum or CL be taking care of yr confinement ?

G tan,
Do u mean another separate blood test for hep B and glucose (package with HIV) is required ? This blood test is different fr triple test for DS izit? so confusing...
And how abt urine test ?

i oso have the triple test in the package..... steph wow ur baby is growing ... mine is only 3.14cm 10 weeks and 5 days now

my life where is ur nail spa? i wanna go for mani pedi cos Got couple of dinner to go but i heard cannot do rite so sad my nails are so long now and I dun cut it myself esp my toes nail cos is very hard

qingqing,
did yr gynae mentioned abt taking fish oil ? he say will gave me multi-vit (calcium+iron) & fish oil during next visit wor....must we really take fish oil ? Now, i am still taking the hormone pills till Mid July then can stop liao...by then pregnancy consider stable. Are u still taking an tai pills now ?

fishia,
i cant tell who is foreigner in that hospital lor.. yah yah.. they wont understand our accent even if we speak it. Then the clinic that all speak english, doesnt have the scanning equipement, so i have no choice but stick to the red cross hospital in japan.. dun even know what tests i have to go thro.. haha.