(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Hi blackbatz & violetice,

The La Senza nursing bras belong to their "So Free" collection. It comes with under-wire. I really have not checked out other bras. So can't really compare though. But I am hoping to find some value for money (and affordable) nursing bras =)

I was at Mothercare last night with a gal friend who is due next week. The staff at Mothercare said I should wait till 1 or 2 weeks before my due date before getting my nursing bras. That's when my boobs would have stablise in size lor. Hmm..

Btw, my gal friend was still busy doing last min shopping at mothercare last night with me. She is due next Sat. Today, she msg me to tell me that she is already going into hospital for delivery! So fast.

Swollen legs..
Mine start to swell some time ago. =( I have been living on my birkenstocks since then. No covered shoes anymore. Even at work, I alternate between slippers and safety boots. I actually have to "up-size" my safety boots as the original size feels kinda of tight already. Feel like Ronald McDonald sometimes. =P

I am taking whole day leave tomorrow for some R&R before seeing my gynae in the afternoon. Need a break from my project after so much walking about and stress... Don't care already. Going to pamper myself with a lunch appointment with my buddy and then later on shopping in town. =)

violetlce
Depending on your co, usually you can take up to 30 days MC and 60 days hospitalisation. If your boss dun mind, then ask your gynae for a month of rest. Tell your boss you not feeling well and gyane suggest you rest at home lor. Hee... Then hor, you wanna go shopping with me??!!

Can I check with you guys if you intend to work till you pop or take leave to rest at home before your edd (eg 1 to 2 weeks before edd)? And what is your company HR policy on accounting the 3 months of maternitly leave? Is it 22days X 3 months=66 days or 12 weeks X 5 days = 60 days ?

Kitsune,
Wendyg is correct. I have to take magnesium tablets and calcium tablets. Now, iron medicine to fight anaemic.

It : if I'm not wrong, there's a standard number of days given by MOM. Hospital will auto compute the number of days of maternity leave when you discharge.

bebe, seems like a few get out nick mixed up..heehee...

Fern, I didn't recommend the cheap massage.

Icy, who u getting to do massage for u?

Mei, how much is Grace charging? Ur gal also like that ah? Realised ur gal 1 mth older than mine...heehee...mine's a apr baby..is it a phase they go through? Very tired lehz..

Anyone know about Mdm Sadiah's service?

It: Here is the link from MOM:

http://www.mom.gov.sg/publish/momportal/en/communities/workplace_standards/employment_standards/the_employment_act/Maternity_Leave.html

Just a bit extracted out from the page:

Duration/Maternity Entitlement

An eligible female employee is entitled to absent herself from work for four weeks immediately before and eight weeks immediately after delivery, totalling 12 weeks.

Where there is a mutual agreement with the employer, the extended four weeks (9th to 12th week) of maternity leave can be taken flexibly over a six-month period after the child's birth. The employee can consume an equivalent of four weeks' worth of working days flexibly, up to a maximum of 24 days.

Steph, dun take FIL package. They always try to sell u things one...I got facial package with them till now sitting. Will go back after delivery. I dun like do facial and ppl keep sell me things and upgrade this and that. Service ok depends on who serves u.

I worry that my baby might be overdue, so I don't dare to start my leave so soon. But I will definately start my leave a few days before my due date, for rest and relax. I can't imagine going directly from my stressful workplace into the labour room... =S

Mom2Nat,

Haha, not a bad idea leh. Maybe like what Ah Capp mentioned, can shop for nursing bras closer to due date. I will ask gynae and see what he said next round.

Ah Capp,

Thought for nursing bra, better to get those without wire??

Blackbatz, me not keen to take another tablet leh. Already taking 3 per day, super sian. But I googled and got the following info, will try and eat more of magnesium rich food.

http://www.vaughns-1-pagers.com/food/magnesium-foods.htm

Babe, Grace has a promotion now, only $38 for 1.5 hrs. I booked on 8 Dec. Not very sure if she's good. Just trying to see.

AhCapp, think gynae will be able to advise closer to EDD. Got a colleague who got induced today (her EDD) cos her BB already very big but don't want to come out. She started her ML on 13 Nov to see if BB want to come out naturally but BB didn't come out. :p

hi mommies

today went out to Sogo in Hk cos they got sales ongoing. Quite nice wor....found a nursing bra that has got no wire but with a little bit of padding. Just nice if we insert the breast pad to prevent leakage. Price after discount is HKD185, so about SGD34. Tot the colour range look quite nice. they have stripe pink, black and green. Also have white lace.
The material is very soft and comfy.

Attaching picture here in case anyone interested. Again, let me know if you wanna buy. Their sales is until 22Nov.

1074423.jpg

1074424.jpg

1074425.jpg

re: Pre natal massage
I know we can have pre natal massage after our 5th month pregnancy...but anyone knows up to when it's safe for us to continue? Is it still safe to go for prenatal massage at 36-37 week? Scared will trigger premature labour. :p

re: buying nursing bras b4 due date
>> My experience was that my boobs really got huge only after my milk came in abt 4 days after i popped. When i went back to work after ML, I got a shock when i passed a mirror and had a glance at my profile. I exclaimed and my colleague gave me a withering look "now then u know...." I couldn't fit into my regular work blouses for the 10m duration that i breastfed. I had to wear tank tops with cardigan over. And i was quite fearful that they would remain that way forever! Thank God they shrank after i stopped bfg.
That time i din know nuts, i only started shopping for nursing bras after my confinement ended. Same as bebe, dowan to waste $$ coz i din know how bfg would work out. Only after supply established did i start to shop for bfg accessories, eg pump, nursing wear, breastpad etc.

<font color="aa00aa">leg cramps and swollen feet</font>
i think the amt of sodium does contribute to these ailments. cutting down on sodium and drinking more water definitely helps. also, wat i do is flex my feet towards myself every morning b4 i get out of bed, or after sitting for long hours. i hvnt got any cramps thro'out this preg *touch wood*!

<font color="119911">wendy</font>
i too wanted an epi after 3 hrs+ of pain. but at that pt, nurse measured me again n said too late liao oredi 7cm dilated. so she suggested i take pethadine injection instead as that would make it dilate even faster. so that's wat i had. luckily bb came out ok (not drowsy drowsy like wat some pple told me the injection would do to the bb). anywya i guess everyone's experience is different
even with our #1 n #2, the experience i'm sure will be different too!

<font color="ff0000">swaddle cloth</font>
i guess some of u have oredi bot swaddles? can i find out wat material u bot? ie cotton or muslin? dunno which one is better leh.

Good Fri morning ladies,

It feels good not having to rush to work and slave my life away today, even though it's just 1 day..

My gal friend has popped! Baby is 3.28kg. Her labour pain only lasted for 3 hrs. Lucky her. This is her 2nd child so that's why much faster. So happy for her. =) I can't wait for my turn to hold my baby in my arms.

Hi Violetice,

Don't know if with or without under wire is better for nursing bra.. Hmm... sorry.

Hi Kitsune,

Ok. Will wait for the gynae to advise me when I am closer to my due date. =)

Hi michelle,

Swaddle Cloth..

I bought a pack of Annaku baby napkins (10 pieces/ pack). Pigeon also have the same kinda. U can use it for swaddle cloth (according to my confinement lady) or as cloth diaper.

I also bought a pack of swaddle cloth (2 pieces/ pack) from Thomson Medical Centre Mrs Wong after my pre-natal class with her at the ParentCraft Centre. The material is really soft, reminds me of those cloth which comes with our spectacle case to wipe our specs. Currently all sold out at the ParentCraft Centre. Mrs Wong said that she personally check every batch of cotton before she gives the green light for the cotton to be cut into swaddle clothes. So have to wait for another batch of cotton to pass QC before the new batch of swaddle clothes arrive.

Hi mylife,

Happy shopping in HK! =) My mum is currently in HK too. I have already asked her to help me get some front open pyjamas for me to wear after I gave birth. HK seem to be selling them cheaper than here.

Btw, can I wear front open pyjamas (tops + pants) instead of night dresses? Anyone has any feedback? I was told that wearing pyjamams pants will be a torture when u need to pull it down to go to the toilet. =(

ahcapp
oh your mom in HK too? Can ask her to go Ladies Market to buy those front button PJs.HK can be cheaper than SG, but that's solely due to the strengthening of the SGD. But then again, if u got Steph's lobang, she seems to have the ability to find lots of nice stuffs at good prices!

i rem asking Mrs Wong during my class with her on wearing underwired bras...she said it's ok for us to wear now, but after birth and during BF-ing time, dont, cos the wire will cause our milk supply to drop. So, better not. Think some of the 2nd time mommies here can also attest to that.

Yah...i have the same feeling as u...cant wait for my baby to come out so i can hold and cuddle her....

babe
Yah...weather turning slightly colder...but not as cold as i'd like it to be...
I rem last time when i stayed here, it's supp to be around 16-18C during this time of the year...now it's fluctuating around 22-26C. Global warming. Urgh. Haiyah, as for the shopping, jus trying to find some good deals since SGD is strengthening ma....more worth it to buy certain things here. Also want to share with u all if i find anything good. Then again, altho i find alot of cute baby clothes here...it's darn expensive even after the discounts.

Re: Leg Cramps
I have them pretty often too. Once i was lying on the bed and i did a stretch...immediately, kena severe leg cramps on both legs at the same time jus like Mcfluffy....even though i attempted the Mrs Wong's method of flxing my toe also doesnt help...after the cramp, have to walk limping around, felt like calf muscles damaged.

<font color="aa00aa">zhao mummies,

fern, grace contact is in the Biz Thread. She having promotion now. i have not make a booking with her yet but her nov slots are taken up.

wendyg, tks. u wan me to get the critic acid sachets for u??</font>

kitsune u not alone i oso kanna leg cramp lately quite bad de .... my husband say maybe too cold cos i always kick the blanket away .... he insist me wearing long slacks to bed so i wear loh this morning same

<font color="aa00aa">cheryl
when u stretch leg straight, you flex your feet backwards towards yourself and not pointing your toes forward right? this way shd not have cramps mah?</font>

<font color="119911">nursing bras
mommies, pls dont get nursing bras with underwire cos u will get blocked ducts! and its very painful when u have to massage those lumps away...</font>

<font color="0000ff">mylife
haha - while the weather is getting cooler for u, it's getting warmer here! must be nice to give birth in winter hor. so cooling.. no need to bathe. for me, jan will be summer so i definitely wanna bathe. sure cannot tahan the heat one. n my current rented place no aircon

<font color="ff6000">ahcapp
i was wearing PJ that come with top n bottom during confinement, find it ok leh. where got pain?</font>

michelle

hee. at tat moment i just woke up, and stretch, i dun even knw which direction i stretch, shd be point toe forward leh...
cramp 1 time, the muscle machiam kana hurt like tat. will pain 2-3 days

leg cramps
hey sorry i posted wrongly about leg cramps earlier. it shd be a lack of sodium that may cause the cramps and not too much sodium. but then again, during pregnancy it may not be true, cos we are carrying more weight around hence may trigger the cramps. but nevemind just a few more wks to tahan only! :D

cheryl
exactly!!! me same like u...can pain 2-3days!

michelle
me not giving birth in HK...going bacck to SG for the delivery, then returning back after to HK after confinement. Cos i have booked everything and familiar with my gynae before hubby's relocation confirmation came along. Dats why now headache and gancheong with all the logistics issue.

QQ...cold can cause cramps one ah? Makes sense too cos i wearing those PJ dress...and didnt wear socks.

bebe,
I getting Hardial to do for me, my cousin and a few forum friends used her and she quite nice. :D Called her to book her and she was teaching me how to handle breastfeeding for the first few days. She used to be a midwive.

QQ,
I stayed with my mil.. so everything I do, have to be more careful. I am being watched. haha. But she is visiting my fil soon next week.. so after 20th Nov, I will be alone.

I think leg cramp is due to blood circulation problem....Keeping our feet warm do help. So far I dun have leg cramp problem yet (touch wood). I also wearing PJ dress, din wear socks and leg open big big when sleep.

mylife ya ... i went sabah resort very cold cos i oso kanna leg cramp several times .....

icy oh i see then free lady liao hahahah can mj liao

HI all,

I remember now.. The lady is Mona.. recommended by someone here... can that someone give me her contact details again... is she gd and how are her charges? I intend to do pre natal massage in Nov this mth.

thanks ya!

Hi Fern,
It was me.
Repost the thread for you
For tired and swollen legs, it's best to have pre-natal massage. Just did mine. Not with Mona though, Mona is very cheap ($32/hr or $38/hr, can't remember). Her business is good, so you need to book her way in advance. (Mona's Mobile :90260085). Don't expect fast response time. (best is to sms and wait). Sometimes, they are in the midst of massaging.
There are rave reviews about her post natal services. However, there are recent comments about her "MIA" even though appt was made.

For Grace, look into the BP (Business thread). Her email contact is there. She does response quite fast. http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/1067251.html?1195135458

I have the contacts of other ladies cos I have been trying around. If you need, then let me know.

I am counting down to 2.50pm going to see my precious lata heehee ... will update u all lata ..... hope she is growing well

michelle
yah...i have a "standby" gynae here in HK who was recommended by someone from the forum as well. But generally, if nothing wrong, i wont go lah....so will still stick to my gynae's appt in Spore. I will fly back cos the duration is monthly ma...so when hubby went over to HK, this was part of the negotiation deal, ie they will cover us flying back to Sg for my monthly checkup...in any case, it's only 2-3 times cos we came here only in Oct, and i'm due to return to Sg to prep for delivery on 8dec. So, me flying back 24-26 nov for my 32week checkup...so gan cheong to see my darling again.

QQ, bebe, cheryl
yah..my leg cramps also pretty bad i dont feel like my calves belong to me now...kekeke

wendy
my hubby also asked me to eat banana for the potassium, but i think read somewhere in the forum said cannot preggie cannot eat Dalmante banana...is it true?