(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

pauline,
errr y u cannot sit upfront while maid sits at the back in the middle with the 2 carseats?
u not supposed to be carrying bb and BF in the car mah...that's what the carseats are for :p

blackbatz
Thanks. You can see my cruise photos in my fb.
Free to meet up for lunch?? I might got for the Dora show at T3 next thur. Wanna go tog?

2563169.jpg
2563170.jpg

grumpus, cos I need to BF baby in the car sometimes mah. If I sit in front, how to access the baby? :p

Mom2nat, nice pic. Natalie seems to have put on a bit of weight ya? What did Elliot eat on the cruise ship? Did you need to bring anything to cook?

Grumpus, just read your post more carefully. I will BF baby if she is hungry, plus car got privacy and air con. Ask me to seat the baby in the car seat while she is bawling her heart out for milk, I don't hve the heart lor. But I'll ask hubby to drive more slowly and carefully when I'm BF baby cos 2 lives are at risk. Then when finish BF then transfer baby back to the car seat. You mean you have never BF your baby in the car before?

kitsune
My dear son ate white rice everyday. NO ingredients. sometimes a little soup, tats all. Cos I din bring my blender lah, and he dunno how to chew veg. The fish sometimes fried. So most of the time he ate plain rice and cereal. Hee...
Nat's weight abt the same, she and Elliot opposite, one tan one fair, one tough one tofu. Sigh...

kitsune,
nope, i'm one of those that lets her bawl her heart out lor...but actually after the 1st few months my girl had a fairly predictable routine already so we just scheduled our outings in between feeds lor...make sure we get to our destination before her milk time or leave just after feeding her...

actually cos i'm a SAHM and i move around alot alone with bb...so no choice, i'm driving have to just let her cry

Mom2nat, I see, my hubby actually suggested bringing our gal for a cruise before but I was worried about what is she going to eat on the cruise. The cabin so small and I think no fridge so difficult to cook for her. But even Elliot did well on plain white rice so maybe I worried too much. :p

Grumpus, I see, ya when you are driving and alone, cannot BF her, can understand. RaeAnne is not an easy baby to look after, not predictable, even now. Last time, she woke up crying and screaming so many times that both me and hubby are zombies. I don't know if it's because she is teething or because she is hungry. :p

Mom2nat,
I thought can request them to cook porridge on the star cruise le..
I remembered reading it in the forum. That's why always felt that cruise is a good idea. Onboard cruise, no need to worry so much. did u bring your helper along? This round, I have a whole entourage of 7..haha..will tell u how I manage when I get back next week.

Would love to join u but my schedule very luan..carpenter coming in to fix up the living room.

Pauline,
I stayed up late to touch up the paper. like to finish my work before I go for my holiday.

Brough #1 on a cruise two years ago, he was about 4. fussy eater..Everything ate so little, finally he was so hungry..asked my hubby to buy wantan mee for him and finished the whole plate..Sometimes no need to worry so much.

blackbatz, I see, my hubby also, got so many testimonials to finish cos he's teaching Year 2s this year.

I see, 4 years quite ok liao cos can eat outside food. Mine only 16months plus so I'm still restricting her diet to occasional low seasoning outside food or home cooked food. I like crystal jade cos they have plain sweet potato porridge so I can let her eat as much as she want. Star cruise got plain porridge I think but the dishes that go with the porridge will be too salty for her. :p

kitsune,
haha my girl also not easy and not predictable...especially when it comes to food..
i've been a zombie the last 2 days too cos my girl's been crying every hr....

re: outside food
what i used to do last time is rinse the food in a bit a hot water to wash off as much of the salt and seasoning as possible before feeding her.

kitsune,
personal thoughts abt installing car seat at the front seat. If accident happened, airbag with carseat in front can be fatal, so it would have defeat the purpose of the carseat.

Actually hor, i think better dun get the habit of BF baby in the car.. first of all, they wont get used to car seats, and soon prefer to be carried in car. i know of friend of mine, who always end up bf in the car, becos baby somehow likes it.

Grumpus, I do that sometimes. Today, I ask for hot water to heat up the cold tuna and cold prawn in our tuna and prawn salad. hee.

Icy, ya, some mummies make do by shifting the front passenger seat as far back as possible but who knows exactly how far is safe. No one actually tried and tested the safe distance in a real accident after all. :p

I like to BF in the car also because once we reach our destinaton usually home, I can put her straight to bed. It's faster for us to rest too. So far, RaeAnne is ok, maybe because she knows if I'm not BF her, she goes into the car seat. Agree that using car seat must be consistent, I know my cousin's kid hates the car seat cos she admits that with so many people to carry the baby, her mum in law, her maid or herself (if her hubby is driving), they end up not putting the boy into the car seat. I went through a period when we had to stick to 5-10 mins drive cos she hates her Maxi cosi front facing car seat. In hindsight, we probably upgraded her too early (less than 9kg then), she was too young to be curious about her surroundings or what's outside the car so she doesn't like her forward facing car seat. Now, I can leave her at the back and sit in front with hubby and she can amuse herself, play then throw her toys to the floor one by one. :p

kitsune
I din ask them cook porridge lah, cos in case later my son dun eat, waste pple's effort. Anyway he survived 3 days on white rice, so ok lah. Hoho... mean mommy!!!
NO fridge is a prob lah, cos I ask the crew to get my girl's medicine 2 times a day, so troublesome! The room is small lor, considering it is balcony class some more.

blackbatz
You gg cruise too? I went with my hb, my mom, maid and 2 kids, total 4A2C. I had 2 balcony class rooms. My hb say bring kids gotta bring maid lah, or else how to enjoy! You gg the phuket one too?

Mom2nt, blackbatz is the one who said you can request for porridge, not me. ;) Ya, I stayed at Balcony class, agree it's very small too, only good thing is the $100 F&B credit.

Pixie, I finally bought my Canon Ixus 110s today. Went to challenger to try out the camera, hubby tried it too and said it's not bad. And they gave me the same deal at PC show (same free gifts) with 1 extra screen protector and $20 off.

morning all,

how's weekend? mine was terrible haha i sank into a very moody mode n even shouted at my #1. i guess it could be the assam fish head tat i tried to cook for my frds to eat. i hate fish n i can't tahan the fishy smell, taste. end up i nearly puke when washing, cooking the dish haah. it was my first attempt in cooking tat dish and yet they passed me?! haha i tink they gave me face lah.

morning all. ;)

Mylvera: You are not alone. I suddenly CAN'T stand the butter or fish smell for 2 weeks ago. My hubby cooked salmon fish and he put a bit of butter, I had to run far from him! Suddenly he came near me and I smelled the fishy smell I shouted so loud and made him SHOCKED! Thanks God I feel better now but still no appetite. If your friends gave you face can always call them and explain the situation. I am sure they will understand.

Pauline: Canon Ixus is really good huh? We bought it few weeks ago and even my hubby agreed that the quality of pix and video are good.

Pixel: sorry to hear abt the car accident & glad to know everything is alright.

blessedbaby,

they know n understand haha they oso know i seldom eat fish (mayb once a year eat??) n i told them it's my first time buying fish head. i dun even know how to clean the fish head haha but they still wana eat assam fish head leh.. so i go ahead n cook for them lor (cos bday gal requested for it) haha but i din know the impact SO BAD! haha

I'm reporting from China now.

My dad passed away here from a heart attack on Friday night. My entire family flew in on Sat and the cremation took place yesterday. We are waiting for the documentation to be done today and will fly home with my father's ashes tomorrow.

We were really shocked by his sudden passing but were consoled by the fact that it was quick and he didn't suffer any pain. He left while singing KTV with his friends and in his hometown in China. We believe this is his way of "forcing" us to visit his hometown and relatives here as we never liked to visit china.

We are still trying to accept the fact but we feel much better after the cremation as it feels like he is still around and has gone travelling. It seems like he has everything planned becos even relatives from abroad was visiting at the same time and my grandma is just a short ride away.

Anyway, sorry to share this news on a monday morning. Just wanted to let it out.

Hi, Yvonne.

Sorry to hear that news. I believe you can stay strong for your family. My deep condolences for you. Anything just leave a note here. Mummies here are all very supportive.

Please take care of yourself.

kitsune
so how was the verdict of the camera? issit good? is that the one in few colours? my fren bought the exact model of mine, 2nd hand, for $280, with a 2gb&32mb card, tripod, case, blah blah from a fella. good deal. i think she loves my camera so she sourced for one. another converted lover! welcome to the ixus club!
remember to set the preview to "off" so that you can snap pics of raeanne very fast. click, click, click. no need to wait for preview in order to snap the 2nd, 3rd picture again. set iso to high, pictures wont be so blurry. then can view the pictures, slowly delete them when you have time.
macro function on ixus is normal, but you can try playing with it - like i do, snap parts of xandall's body when he is asleep hurhur

blessedbaby, blackbatz
thanks. im just very glad everyone is allright from the crash.

the front of the car is really gone, everything smashed up, change bonnet, change lights, change radiator, change the bars etc etc....i think at least 3k ......sob sob...premium gonna be sky high

Yvonne, do take care..My deepest condolences.

Blackbatz, still got 2 weeks left of hols..can try to meet up.

Grumpus, what have you been up to with your gal?

Mom2nat, you keen on dora show? must buy things to go one?

thanks moms for all the claypot recipes...will try it out..

Blessedbaby, replied your email a few weeks back but didn't hear from you. Busy with preparing to go overseas? Joining your hb in tokyo?

Yvonne, my deepest condolences. pls take care.

mummies, can i check whether do any of u know where can i print photobook? or how can i go about doing it? intend to make one for my gal.

hi Aqua and Shannobaby,

you 2 also live nearby Old airport area? Me also looking at the childcare but most likely sending in after feb?

there is a place in botanic garden whereby kids can feed the fish (with self bringing bread)....anyone knows where? as in which part?

aqua, my gal is in that childcare nw. her class teachers r very gentle n patient to her. she is the youngest in the class at 17mth old. i put her in early cos want her to settle down before #2 arrives in oct. u putting ur child there also? hopefully our kids can be classmates but i might be pulling her out if we shift to somewhere further east like simei as we are looking for bigger house to accomodate my ILs after my baby arrives.

kellie, i am staying at east coast rd. but the childcare outside my house (2 min walk) is charging 1400 per mth. my hb not willing to pay that amt esp since we have a maid at home n #2 is coming.

babe
I am not too sure, seems like redeem the pass can watch liao. But limited ones. Oso, spend $20 can play at the bouncy castle I live near airport, take bus less than 5 bus stops. So prob see when I free, will go take a look.

I just came back from downtown east explorer kids with my girl. Aiyo, she make me climb up and down with her.. good exercise for me ah. Tonight gg night safari

We stays at Geylang.

Shannonbaby, the childcare you saying isit the one at Katong CC (schoolhouse by the bay). I like that school very much...set up a bit like a mini primary school...have all the faacilties...but the price also very nice!!!

shannonbaby: yes, i am considering it coz it is within walking dis from my hse. but will still wait for my hubby to go n take alook first. they say can enrol when child is 18mths? ur shayne is in so early? i tot min age is 18mths?

kellie:ther is also a quite a new childcare at sim ave called kyra preschool, the place is clean n they display lots of kids' artwork. shld be near ur hoise?

Yvonne, my condolences, ya, be thankful that it was quick and he passed away in his hometown, his place of birth.

Pixie, still trying to learn about the camera. Don't know how to off the preview leh cos this model very few buttons, a lot of on screen instructions. :p Canon ixus 110 comes in light blue, light pink, silver and gold. I took the light blue.

Pixie, blessedbaby, camera so far, so good, I took some photos today cos had a mini playdate with 2 Feb08 mummies and their gals at my home. Take a look at the pics http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=2025573&id=1048181766&saved#/photo.php?pid=492734&id=1048181766&ref=nf