(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

tongtong
autism
true anot??? vernon now almost no single word yet.
although he got say mum mum, duno is he calling me or is he refering for food

mylvera
3 hours will suffice for her to check and get back to me. i called QSH at 9.30am
i am typing a complaint email as of now. if she doesnt reply me, i will send to the right parties. ST if need be

Cheryl, I searched for info on autism and one of the screening that can be done is to check that, but of course not only that factor. It also lists down other factors as well. Shaun can only say mum mum(EAT) and his baby language didi dada. So I consider that as no single word lor.

errr tongtong, cheryl
i disagree.
didi dada, mum-mum are words. i think "no single word" means no sound coming out from their mouth?
simply means they refuse to speak. autistic people are generally withdrawn in their own world, hence not speaking much or at all.

more hotel promotion...

ORCHARD HOTEL Singapore (GSS09 Standard Chartered Card)
Shop, Relax & Indulge at $299++
Highlights of the package:
* One night stay in Superior room
* Buffet Breakfast for 2 persons
* Welcome in-room fruit platter
* 15% off Teochew Muay Buffet at La Terrasse
* DFS Shopping Voucher

- Valid from 23 May to 20 July 2008, for check in on Friday, Saturday, Sunday, Eve of PH & PH only.
- General Terms and Conditions apply.

I also agree with pixie. Didi dada, mum mum are also words. My girl also baby talk for hours and I don't understand 70% of it. Maybe give your child a bit more time to pick up speech?

I was scanning through the thread but all I can see is MYLVERA CAUGHT BLACK WIDOW AND HAS SB+. NOT FAIR!!! You started playing later than me somemore. Last night, I play until 140am some more cos hubby slept late. Why I don't have black widow?

Pixie, how come KK service so bad? What ward is your sis staying and who is her gynae? Last time, I ask for LC to come the day after I deliver and she came. Twice in 2-3 days somemore. Ask your sis to ask for Teo Yen Ping. She's super good, my saviour.

pixie,
didnt know that KKH has such a bad service. always thought that they r pro-bf. Anyway, I had bad experience with KKH personally too, so confirm will not use them unless no choice.

Re: Autism
I did my research paper on autism kids during my masters degree. There is alot of factors to consider before the child is diagnosed as autistic child. But in spore, usually the doctor will not confirm until the child is abt 3-4yrs old which make early treatment difficult.

Fern,

Hao Re's eczema has already improved A LOT just after 1x of the elomet cream and oilatum plus bath. I feel so much better now. I will stop the cream and the bath either tomorrow or one more day.

Tongtong,

The PD said fish oil helps to improve eczema. I read that probiotics helps.

Tongtong/cheryl,

I disagree too. If he can say mum mum (either for mum or for food), that's consider saying words, and also include baby talks. Like pixie said, autism child refuses to interact with people, and so they refuse to say any word. If you son is showing the interest to interact with you and others, but just can't say the word out, and willing to make eye contact with people,it's okay, no concern, sooner or later, he will start talking non-stop.

I talked to my brother yesterday. He said they monitor thier #2 closely. There is some great improvement recently, so though they are concern, they are not worry yet, will continue to monitor for 2 more months to see if really needs to seek consultation. I pray hard that he will be okay.

kam, tongtong
actually i oso disagree.. :p

vernon got eye contact with us 1...

nowadays he very the what... cos he dun let his daddy carry him... but playing he is ok... when we bring him to n fro from infantcare, he only wan me to carry. even if his father carry liao he will still struggle with his father and wan me to carry piangz

Mylvera, I also sound very diligently leh. After 10am (after depositing my gal at ILs), I'll sound almost every 15mins if I'm at home. Then after 9+pm (after my gal sleeps) last time until 140am somemore, I also do the same. Why no black widow mouse yet? Pout!

Kam, good to hear that your bro said there is great improvement. Hope he'll be ok too. Don't think can get appt so fast for autism consulation and the actual assessment. Your bro can consider making the appt first, if after 2 months, your nephew is truly ok then can call to cancel the appt. If not, after 2 months, he calls, got to wait yet another 2 months. Keep dragging not good for the boy also. :p

Mylvera, ya but ninja mouse not worth much gold and definitely no SB+. :p

Mei, are you talking about bed or mattress? Bed got brand one meh?

kitsune,

Thanks for your concern. I leave it to them to decide, they know their son best. My brother said they are concern but not worry yet, so I guess most likely they are not going to do anything now.

My #1 nephew (not the #2) actually is also the quiet type, he is a totally stay-home kid, he doesn't like, sometime refuse to go out. But he is a very bright kid. He has no problem with his development, just a bit anti-social, until recently after he went to kindergarden, he grows a lot! My #1 nephew can already recognised and said all the numbers and all 26 alphabet before 18 months! By the age of 3+ years old, He can sing almost all nursery rythms, be it English and Chinese, and later, at 4 years, he can read the whole book of "san zhi jing", and can pointed out if we read wrongly or point to the wrong word. Played computer game as early as 3 years old. Then know how to do google search by the age of 4 years old. Even know how to crack password for the downloaded game (after my brother showed him once). Now 5 years old, play games on FB..... I am not saying playing computer games and all is good, but I am trying to say he learns things very fast, he is very observant. Only thing is he doesn't like food, every meal is like a torture to him, luckily after attending kindergarden, also improved a lot. I love my nephew very much, intil sometime I call Hao Re with his name, which makes my hubby jealous :)

mei
thanks for the bose info, will go and check. maybe get a pod dock

kitsune
my sis is in C class ward. terrible level of service. how could you get a pc of wet tissue to massage your engorged breasts!! will tell my sis about the LC.

the QSM called me back. she say KKH is trying to say this ameda pump is the best for mothers, so would recommend all patients to use. but i told her, the nurse just told my sis "CANNOT" without offering an explanation wat...wtf...very hot very hot...now they let her use her own pump liao...

Pixie/krystle/kam, oh I cic. Yea think my son is trying hard to speak but cant. When he was excited and wanna express himself, his whole face gets red but he just cant utter out the word, can just erh erh erk like “gek sai” like dat LOL. Btw kam, hopefully ur nephew will be alright!

Actually autistic ppl very intelligent one hor? Like got super iq in some areas.

Pauline, seems like u super engrossed with the games liao.

Cheryl: my son doesn’t like the daddy also, only wants me. Same like Vernon leh. Don’t want father to carry. So the father always forcefully carries him to bring him to nanny’s house, and must distract him by letting him hold something, or for him to play with, or let him eat something.

Mei, what is bose

Re: bed
Dunlop

pixie, cool down! i heard tht kkh service is nt gd, so nt surprised at all. my frend gav birth last yr, and the nurses didnt even ask her if she wan breasfeed, in the end, they juz fed her bb with the 'free'infant nilk for the mth.

Hehe, Kam, I'm not surprised, your family seems to be the brainy sort. If not also cannot get scholarship to study at Cambridge. Your no. 1 nephew sounds like a genius and Hao Re is not far behind. ;) If my gal is so brainy then I can be SAHM forever liao, cos she can go on scholarship. My worry is if she needs to study uni overseas but I got no $$ to send her so I think will still need to go back to work so that hae more savings in future. :p

pixie,

my friend also has a very bad experience during her stay in C ward. seems like they always discriminate patient according to the ward they stay. must complain and complain then they will provide better service. that time my friend complain to the nurse manager.

Hmm... Mei, seem to recall we answered this question before cos I remember quite a few mummies use Sealy mattress. Me too.

But my dream mattress is Simmons. ;)

Tongtong, ok lar, initially more hooked but now taking it more slowly cos I know it also depends on luck NOT skill to play this game. So far, i play using my hubby account, he always does better than me. So I sian halfway liao. Must try out Restaurant City soon. Sounds fun. ;)

Pixie, I see, C ward. I was there before cos last time RaeAnne was hospitalised for jaundice and they kept most of jaundiced baby in C ward. Sorry to say, but yes I do think the service standards will tend to slip up there cos there are simply too many patients ( I saw many Malays with huge families) and the staff themselves are probably suffering from fatigue and heat. Ya, your sis better keep complaining until she gets what she wants that. Pstients get drowned out at C wards, those with the loudest voice or the noisest family wins. :p

haiyoh wrong nick again
mylvera
i never told the QSM about the wet towel in the first place. i just feedback to her and i say this level of care in unacceptable.
i told her if i ever hear another incident that defies common sense again i will lodge a complain against KKH. hurhur!!

aqua
wah that sounds bad
i hope they could offer better care to all C class patients.

Wah kam, your #1 nephew is a genius wor!!! I only learned how to use computer in 1996 I think when I’m at age of 18( paiseh, hehe) oh , only now I know you are grad from Cambridge ah! Wah sei, you genius too!! Haore sure another genius ehhe

tongtong
bose is a audio player brand lah

mei
i dunno which dock i aiming for but must go research

mylvera
harnor, wrong nick again. boo-boo!

kitsune
just now yen ping came over to check on my sis, so i told my sis to seek her help whenever required.

kitsune,

Aiyoh, pai-seh, it actually it's my professor who helped me to get the scholarship (he wrote a recommendation letter speaking very highly of me :)) and my good luck.

Children education is another BIG topic lor...... If my children are bright enough, I would rather let them study in local U than to study overseas. But that's another 18 years down the road, things may have changed a lot then......

Pixie, Yen Ping is THE BEST!!! She may be a bit forceful in clearing blocked duct or mastitis but 'chang tong bu ru duan tong' to me. And everytime I want to give up BF cos of the pain, she'll find words to encourage me and even accommodate seeing me at her lunch hour when she knows that my boss is not happy if I take time off to see LC.

Now that I'm going to TMC, I'm worried that I won't find a LC as nice as her over there. Wong Boi Boi don't say lar cos she's a mini celebrity but she doesn't know me, don't know how to request to see her also. :p

mei
wahhh...you very the wei-da. so you want to be like kitsune oso ah? i always pei-fu nurses coz they need to know everything and anything. like jack of all trades yah

my childhood ambition - vet
hurhur

are you going to get something from the scb promo?

Pixie, I'm no nurse hor, the nurse poke me with a needle also I don't dare to see. Let alone ask me to poke other people. Hehe. ;)

Kam, your professor wouldn't have recommended you to Cambridge if he didn't think you had the brains lor. My hubby write referral letters (upon request) for his JC2 students all the time. But sometimes he will tell me frankly that the kid has no chance to get in one lor cos he or she is not bright enough. :p

By the way, they are building the United World College for South East Asia a stone's throw from my house. Joked with my hubby, next time, my gal can study there liao. No need to travel to the west. haha.

QUESTION:
1. what's ur childhood ambition?
2. are u working as per ur childhood ambition?
3. if yes, congrats.
4. if no, will u go back to ur childhood ambition?

pixie,
haha. not wei-da lah. partly influence by my mum cos she was a nurse previously. i changed my mind at the point of signing-up. sometime i back back, i regret.

scb promotion, possible. must go down see see.

Wah kam, your #1 nephew is a genius wor!!! I only learned how to use computer in 1996 I think when I’m at age of 18( paiseh, hehe) oh , only now I know you are grad from Cambridge ah! Wah sei, you genius too!! Haore sure another genius ehhe

QUESTION:
1. what's ur childhood ambition?
tai tai

2. are u working as per ur childhood ambition?
no lor

3. if yes, congrats.
4. if no, will u go back to ur childhood ambition?
change hb mayb can. but not this hb haha

kitsune
wongbb always very bz, request her oso come in chop chop settle your case.
that time my super blocked ducts till armpit there, was the nurse on duty who helped me; a local indian nurse. she quite rolly polly so i guess she has the strength to presssssssss. she press left side on day 1, and the right side the next morning coz she knows i cant take both at one go. considerate rite...and she keep saying must press or else no milk (aka 'chang tong bu ru duan tong') too...so i was very thankful for her.
didnt request the LC to come over to me coz the hosp settled my case at the nurse level

Oops, just realised that the world college is not a university, it's a primary school cum secondary school instead. :p

Mei
QUESTION:
1. what's ur childhood ambition? Teacher/journalist/lawyer
2. are u working as per ur childhood ambition? Nope
3. if yes, congrats.
4. if no, will u go back to ur childhood ambition? Maybe teaching if the right opportunity comes along. ;)

QUESTION:
1. what's ur childhood ambition? vet
2. are u working as per ur childhood ambition? nope
3. if yes, congrats.
4. if no, will u go back to ur childhood ambition? yes, yes, yes

Kam,

Wow, you are really smart! Cambridge leh? No joke to get into such university loh.

My childhood ambition - doctor. But now I see blood and human tissues, I want to faint. Hahaha... It was never meant to be for me lah.

Recently just watched Angels and Demons. Very "pei fu" those academics. Got so much knowledge. I hope my girl can study until PHD next time. Hahaaa... If she can, I will definitely support her all the way. That is why now got to start saving and buying insurance for her.

Nope, pixie, the first campus is at Dover but they are building the 2nd campus at Tampines.
They are recruiting staff too. Imagine if I can work there, can walk to work everyday. Hee. ;)