2007 sahm n bf mom

Jang me too got the CArnical prints!i love it!

erika as for the pain on shoulders, yes a little aft a while. maybe ur sumo really sumo la. my gal only 8.1kg nia. but i petite la so feel the wt.

Jang, really? Ergo feel more wtless? im still deliberating betwn Patapum (almost like Ergo) or Buterfly. cos i already hv 4th gen...hmm..hubby ok with it cos he say its really a good carrier and we can use for overseas trips. my worry is the thickness of the butterfly cos my gal already perspire like crazy inside the 4th gen!

and i saw patapum has a very nice hot pink col! Gosh help!!!

Hi mummies, finally really tried my Butterfly today, maybe for about an hour plus...feel shoulder a little achy..surprise my boy fell asleep in it for about half hour.
S@L, think I know what you mean by the butterfly being hot...think I could feel the heat also when my boy slept in it. Not so sure how hot it is compared to 4th gen...like I offered, if you want, you can come my place to try it out

I also saw the Patapum when searching for a carrier, looks pretty nice too.

Wah Sleek, you mean your boy was in the carrier for 5hours!!! amazing...did you feel the heat?

Just went to the PD today for my boy's 5th month jab...he is now 9.6kg...think his weight slowed down compared to the last few months when he put on 1kg every month.

erika: he wasn't in the carrier for the whole 5 hours (his total time in it about 4 hours though), was referring to the 1st 2 hours before I felt the shoulder ache. didnt feel hot cos was in the shopping center the whole time, purposely went there to 'hide' from the heat outside. weight/ height should slow down alot already, cant possibly keep growing at the same rate as 1st 6 mths, our babies will be giants if they do

i'll try to bring Beco on an endurance test soon when i go for a long shopping trip :p

one thing to note though, the cover for the head for Beco is more troublesome because it is a separate piece, if need to use, its rather troublesome to hook it on. For Ergo, it is sewn together with the carrier, so whenever i need to use, just need to button it up to the shoulder strap. Because my boy is longer/taller, he definitely needs the cover when he is sleeping.

But i still LOVE my BECO!

i love my Carnival print so much that i already ordered a handy sack (similar to diaper clutch) that has the SAME carnival print! *evil grin*

Thread is very quiet past 2 days...everyone went shopping? Just went T3 today for lunch, must say the nursing rooms are clean and comfortable. T3 is also very spacious...so good to just relax and take a walk with your baby in the stroller.

So Jang, have you tried your beco further? Whats the conclusion Ergo vs Beco? Which one make you tire faster?

Hi Erika,

just want to check re: T3, where are the other nursing rooms other than the one beside Coffee Bean? Yeah, agree that it's really nice to take a stroll there. Plenty of space

hello mummies, hope i can join your thread. let me intro myself .. sahm at yishun, DS 9 month, born in july 2007

by the way, love my bumper mat too, from alien .. but i got the normal size.

coincidently, was at T3 too ! but was there for dinner at food court.

Hi ankh, not sure where is coffee bean but i remember there is one near bangawan solo at the departure hall.

Erika,Jang,

me got another BECO..couldn resist le. i finally can lay my hands on the AVA print! wohohohohoho...dun care if its hot or not now...hahaha..VAIN!

Hi Mami35, welcome!

HI Ankh,
Like what mami35 said, the other one is near bangawan solo...nearer to the escalators leading to the shops and restaurants. Not sure if there are more nursing rooms at the basement floors, so far only used this 2

S@L, wah...must be excited...I also like the Ava print, wanted to get that if I didnt get the Addison...so no need to try from me already lah..hehehe.

Hi erika, thank you.

seems like this BECO is very popular ? I am using baby bjorn and pouch sling. Bjorn seems to be getting smaller while DS is difficult to restrain while in the sling as he is more free to grab things off the shelves . hangers in shopping malls.

HI Mami35,

How is your pouch sling? Thought of getting one too as its much easier to just put baby in. Just that my baby is about 9.6kg now at 5months...so not sure if the sling puts a strain on the shoulders immediately?

erika, the pouch is easy to use. If the fit is good i dont feel the strain immediately but as all carriers it is not meant for long period of use. DS is 8.6kg at 9 months and i feel ok after an hour, DS tires me more than the pouch.

One disadvantage is that i dont find the size fits all as it so claims. A small size is too small for me while the medium is too big, so i had it altered a bit to fit DS better. If you know how to use the ring sling then pouch is easier.

I feel that it also depends on the baby. In the Bjorn, DS is restricted cos he is locked in so I can really go hands free except when he is sleeping. In the pouch, he has more space to turn left right and he is a bit active. Maybe i have not master how to use yet so I feel i dont feel safe totally handsfree especially when he fidgets. HTH

welcome mami!

erika: whereabouts do you stay? maybe can meet up so you can try my pouch and I can show you how to use your sling? pm me if you want, cos your pm is turned off. and what mami says is very true about pouch, the fit must be right if not it wont be comfortable.

sal: wah means you have 3 becos??!!!

thank you sleek. seems like mummies do get carried away buying carriers, hee hee thought i was a bit crazy to have 3 different carriers !! me too own a MIM sling but used it only 3 times cos DS was younger then and very very grouchy so it was quite difficult to put him in and having to adjust the ring.

mami: haha, think we get carried away with everything not only carriers, prams/ diapers/ clothes/ etc. but personally for carriers (and prams), it's really important to try different types to find the most suitable, if only there is a person/ company that has all the different carriers to try out before buying... !

Mami35, thanks for sharing on the pouch sling...now not so sure if I want to get one...especially mine is also very fidgety.

Sleek : Thank you for the offer...I stay at Kembangan, will let you know if I am interested in getting a pouch slong. How you like your butterfly so far?

About being carried away, I think I have to agree...past few days, I have been in the BP section, going crazy with all the BPs on offer...so whenever I am 'free' of my baby, I will check that section..crazy yah...hahaha.

Erika,ya...couldnt wait la .i figured some how should be the same as my 4th gen, jus with the extra layers, and i looked thru the videos from youtube over and over again to convince myself before i placed the orders!

Sleek, no la, only 2 BECOS, but i hv 1 bb bjorn, 1 babyrock , 2 littlepods...hmm....crazy me

Erika, my suggestion is pouch wont work in ur baby. U know why? cos the babyrock which u bought from me supposedly is more flexi than a pouch sling. but i cannot handle, only my hb can. in the end he also cannot tahan the weight cos its all on 1 shoulder. imagine my Mischa is only 8.1kg. ur SUMO sure will kill ur back!

as for pouch slings, i feel tt we need to really holdbb snugly and with my gal's thunder thighs, it s jus impossible to squeeze her in and my BF oobs doesnt help at all! Then if i get a bigger pouch, i feel the back strain...but i still love my bb bjorn for nearby trips and the carriers are more for shopping and outdoors etc.

S@L,

Actually I tried the baby rock sling again with my baby just last week...he seems ok now...problem is I have a lot of trouble putting him in the sling...cos maybe I am weak..haha. I have to use almost all my strength to lift him up on one arm, then when I want to almost put him in..he become stiff and I cant put his legs through...by that time I already out of breath...he is now about 69cm..so not sure if its the height problem ...or can you share with me if I am doing it correctly?

Erika, same problem here. my gal also 'stretch' herself so that her legs are straightened and i cannot put her into the carrier. But i saw the web demo, we should lift bb up and rest them over our shoulders. hehehe..hv nt tried tt cos anyway i m hopeless carrying her weight. i m too used to the bb bjorn for the moment.

but i still like the babyrock cos of the netting material

Erika,

we have yet to venture on long trips with the BECO, cannot feedback yet. But i do find BECO more troublesome in putting on because i still have to slot the legs under the straps. whereas on Ergo, i can just put him on and buckle up. But Jaeden seems happy to be in either carrier..

Talking about carriers,

i have one MIM sling, one MIM pouch (both collecting dust), once owned a BJORN (already sold), now relying on one Ergo and one Beco.. hehe.. I don't own a single stroller though..

S@L, yes I also saw the demo in the web, problem is I am also hopeless lifting my baby and resting him on my shoulders...think I need to go to the gym ...hehehe

Jang, for the Ergo, when do you feel the ache setting in? Heard rave reviews on the Ergo also. Well, at least Jaeden is happy in both
Wow, you dont have a stroller? Then how does Jaeden sleep when you go on a long shopping trip?

Hi Jang, gosh, ya how do you make it during shopping trips ? I only bring along the stroller when DH goes shopping with me on weekends, if out alone i would survive on Bjorn. Yishun is an old estate so I cannot imagine lugging the stroller on / off buses !!

As for the lift baby on shoulder, I would like to caution though cos i was rather ambitious when I got my MIM sling and tried that position, and I ALMOST DROPPED MY DS !!! My heart nearly burst ... DS was about 3 to 4 months then.

hoho.. finally.. for the conclusion..

After adjusting and re-adjusting the Beco, seems that i've finally got it right. Went for high tea yesterday, had a walk and took train back home. It seems that the weight distribution between Ergo and Beco feels almost the same.

To make it easier for me to put Jae into the Beco, i need to loosen the 2 straps for the legs everytime i put him in. The extension for the head doesnt seem to be that hard to put on anymore, but it doesn't seem as comfortable compared to Ergo.

btw, Ergo has a little pouch in front where i can put my stuff when i go for short trips but Beco doesn't has.

also, Beco is slightly hotter than Ergo when putting on.

Erika, mami35,

normally for long shopping trips, hubby will be around to Ergo Jaeden. If i need to bring him out by myself, i'll stick to 2-3 hours shopping.

I actually have a hand me down stroller which is collecting dust. It seems to be as heavy as Jaeden. I don't have the confidence to push the stroller up and down escalators. Also, now that i'm so used to get from point A to point B without obstructions, using a pram became a liability. hehe..

Jang,

Think I will also need to re-adjust the Beco, still feel not so totally comfortable in it...somehow baby seems a little lopsided sometimes. And I think I will follow your method, to re-adjust the 2 straps for the legs, cos I realise I always have problems taking him out because of his fat thighs. Also, I feel the heat between his body and me even in air-conditioned places...so think cant't last so long after a couple of hours. Not so sure how it compares vs other carriers cos never used others before, but what I like about it at least is that my baby can fall asleep on it, and now I can go out with him alone

Now, scouting around for another carrier...hehe...

Hi mummies, talking abt going w bb alone, what do u usually bring? My bag like forever heavy, 2 diapers, teething biscuits, sometimes porridge, 1 set bb cloth, umbrella, water bottle, wet wipes, bb toy, etc all add up quite heavy liao. Any good bag to recommend? I normally use sling to bring my bb out.

Erika,

Why do u need another carrier? I'm ok with taking him out of the carrier but have problems with putting in, so gotto lengthen the leg straps before i put him in.

I realised why i felt uncomfortable when i first put on the carrier. It was because i didn't loosen the strap on the back at the shoulder blades. It was too tight and sitting on the area nearer my neck instead on the shoulder blades.

Baby_doll,

For short trips, 1-2 hours, i usually bring nothing except my purse. For long trips 3-4hours, i'll bring everything that u've mentioned and diaper cream, one set of extra clothes and even hand sanitiser.No porridge and umbrella. If the trip go pass dinner time, i'll bring along porridge.

My diaper bag is a super big, roomy, shoulder carry gucci bag.

I'm new here too and I'm a SAHM with a 10 month old boy. He's longish but he looks quite thin. PD says its because he's too active. I live in the Novena area (opp. Novena Sq). Feeling bored looking after my son full time now that hubby has started working. I would love to meet up with other SAHMs around the area and make friends.

I use the ERGO too and its good stuff! My husband and I bought a Mclaren Techno and it was bad...We recommend ERGO sling is the way to go...

HI Timeless, welcome

Jang, actually dun need another carrier, just feel like buying one more, and also to see if there is another carrier that does not make baby feel so hot in it ...hehe..was eyeing the Angelpack LX, which has pretty nice prints...but think not as popular as the Beco ,Ergo or the Pikkolo. Also not so sure what is the maximum weight it can carry. Yes, a couple of time, I also forgot to adjust the strap at the shoulder blades, so really uncomfortable.

Baby-doll, think I can't compare with you cos my baby only 5 months, and he is on direct latch on, so my bag only has his diapers, 1-2 rompers, changing mat, diaper cream,wipes, nursing cover and a couple of hand towels. I was also looking at some diaper bags...just missed the OiOi diaper bag BP few weeks back. Just 2 days back, was looking at this designer brand called Caden Lane, really looks cool...but really ex..probably about over $200 with shipping

Welcome Timeless

Jang, wah, got big roomy branded gucci bag, i also want leh...
Got lobang or not, hehe, my hubby got his bonus, he wants to get something for me. I better ask for something tt i fancy lor.

Normally I just dump everything into a backpack & go out. i kiasu, go nearby shopping also bring everything except porridge. Only w hubby around, then i will carry smaller & nicer bag, the rest all pass to hubby.

Erika, me also direct latch on, good also cos no need to bring milk powder, bottle & vacuum flask. I also looking for diaper bag. We keep on eye on the BP
Any pic for Caden Lane?

Hello to all

I am a SAHM with a 9 month old boy. I was actually working from home since I quit my job last Nov, and this week, I just resigned completely. Now devoting all my time to care of my son. Great feeling, not having to rush to check my emails every now and then

I am staying in Sengkang...hope can meet some SAHMs because most mummies I know are FTWMs...

HI Mattmum, welcome
I also stopped working totally when I delivered last Nov. Yeah, its a nice feeling not feeling stressed about answering emails, and dealing with office politics
However, now I am more 'auntie'...haha, haven't gotten a haircut since last October...and clothes wise, a little boring as I tend to wear more comfy clothes out since I have to think about nursing outside

Baby_doll, you can take a look at the website http://cadenlane.com/ They have quite a number of range like totes, messengers, backpacks, hobo, bowlers...like the brand for its simplistic yet chic style
Ya, you better ask you hubby to get you something you like, dont bother about the price...hehehehe.

Baby_doll,

mine is a gucci princy bow large tote. Bad thing about it is, there's only one zipper compartment. Alot of time i have to dig around before i can find my stuff. hehe.. got it cheap from a friend's contact. If you are eyeing branded bag from hubby as Mother's day gift, why not considered LV neverfull GM? That is a really nice HUGE diaper bag alternative. hehee.. u deserve the nice treat..

hello timeless, my DS is 9 mth PD said he is considered long but weight is light so he falls into the 50th percentile and said he is ok, as long as he is active and growing. DS has a small appetite and dislikes milk, he is only taking milk once a day !!

Hi mattmum, I used to live in SK before moving to yishun and i still go back to sk to visit my sisters and their kids so maybe we can meet one of these days :)

re : diaper bag
I have gave up looking for the PERFECT diaper bag .. hee hee .. in the beginning I used my sports bag, and after DH complained he got me another bag and i have been using it since then.

I noticed that diapers bags are usually big and bulky and had more compartments than normal roomy bags and I can't imagine the weight of it after all the barang barang goes in esp when my BF attemps failed and I had to relied on FM and hot water ...

anyway since DS is on porridge, I dont have so much stuff to pack unless we are out the whole day so diaper bag or not it does not matter anymore

re : carrier

erika, your baby is quite big right .. so he can still fit into Ergo ? I find that Bjorn is getting a bit small for my 8.6kg DS especially the thighs area and he does not even have thunder thighs.

HI mami35,

I have a beco which can carry up to 55lbs, although I can't imagine people carrying up to that weight cos my baby is about 9.6kg and I already feel achy after carrying him about an hour. Ergo as Jang says is as good as beco...you might want to consider getting another carrier as I heard Bjorn doesnt really work once your baby gets heavier

Greetings to all! Hope the PH was a good and relaxing one for all

Erika - I understand the auntie part. Haha, I think we can hi-5. My last haircut was last Nov. ALthough I am not nursing anymore, I wear comfy clothes that can withstand my boy's tugging, pulling, and material which doesnt show so much when he drools on me

Mami35 - which part of SK did you used to stay? Yeah, Maybe we can meet up one of these days when you come to visit

Mami35, Timeless - I guess most boys are longish...compared to girls. Mine has also outgrown the length of his PJs for 6-9 mths...now using 12-18 mths...haha. I guess as long as they're active, healthy and putting on steady weight, should be ok.

Re the diaper bag...embarrassed to say that I am not using an authentic diaper bag...haha. I dug up one of my old totes to use. It's from Project Shop and is quite roomy. Lots of compartments as well so I am quite happy with it.

I am actually looking for a diaper clutch with a changing mat and lots of pockets. Any recommendations?

Hi mami35,

there are a few retailers in Singapore.

http://www.ergobabycarrier.com/retailers/asia

i bought it from babysneed.com. a mummy recommended me to her site. but its down now, not sure why.
there's a mobile number in the above link, u may want to give the lady, Chloe, a call if you are interested. She's staying in Rivervale, and could arrange to let you have a fitting if you are nearby..

and i agree with Erika, time to ditch the Bjorn. i was once a Bjorn user. and now i'm a Ergo convert. hehe..

jang, erika - thanks have contacted chloe will wait for her reply, rivervale is the right place for me.

mattmum - used to stay at blk 253 near the minimart, compassvale sec school. :)

re : diaper clutch, i am not using one, i just bring a mat and use it on the changing station. what are you using now ? or can just use old pillow case to recycle.

re : hair, yeah i am sure an auntie, DH just confirmed last night but he said he does not mind lah ... ha ha ... i had my facial 6 months ago !!!

jang thanks for the offer, yeah a bit far out for me, will let you know if I need to try the Beco ...I have contacted chloe, but her husband answered my sms , Edmund, he said will let me know if I can try today, since I am going back to SK.

by the way, what is the diff between Ergo and Beco ? I saw the pic, the Ergo has a fastener at the back, can i clip it by myself ?