2007 sahm n bf mom

Hi Gretel,
i find the Ergo really good as it is designed with the aim of spreading baby's weight to our hips as opposed to the shoulders and back. Friend of mine who had a Baby Bjorn ended up buying the Ergo as the Bjorn gave her backaches after awhile. But downside is that it doesn't have a front facing carry option. My baby girl has no probs facing in for now, but when she's bigger n more curious, i'll opt for the side carry or carry her backpack style.

As for heat, don't think it'll be a prob when doing housework. U can try doing it during the mornings or evenings when it gets cooler, or switch on the fan/air con.

Yah, know what u mean about thinking twice/thrice abt purchases. Apart from the Ergo and the Maclaran stroller, baby's other big ticket items were handmedowns or gifts. Prob can use both until baby's about 2 years old. For me, i really needed to get out of e house n these 2 items enabled me to have that mobility. Another option u can consider is secondhand purchases from other mums, from ebay, yahoo or this forum.

Any baby carrier, be it sling, pouch, or a soft structured carrier like beco or ergo can be hot for the mum and baby but the ease of use (sometimes just need more practise) and ability to go out alone hands free more than makes up for it. Can take a look at some of the Beco carriers some of us have under the 2 May archives

Wah, last nite so many posts. All mummies staying up late. Me too but too busy w my boy, trying to make him sleep after coming back fr my mum's place at 11+, guess what, he still wanted to play in bed & it was already past 1am, we were so tired! Hubby & I knocked out while he was still playing... dun noe wat time he actually sleep!! haha, we both woke up at 11 today. Good, almost half day gone.

Glad to ve so many mummies joining the thread. A warm welcome

Chergamine, u v good mummy, still pump to mix w ur DS food. I gave up pumping at 5mths, always latch on since he refused bottle. Now my pump has been resting there collecting dust. My hubby complain tt i spend so much $ ($700 plus) on the pump & i dun use it. Then I said I save $$ on ur son's milk powder, tt's expensive too.

Goon2, it takes me a quite a while to adapt to SAHM, need to prepare mentally tt life will be different. No more meeting friends & shopping after work, no more fanciful clothes to wear to work, also means no free air-con hehe. U become lazy to put on make-up (at least for me)..., I was feeling quite sad & lost in the beginning, as I keep questioning myself why I give up a relatively high paid job to stay at home, why wanna get myself messy & sweaty all day, why dun just send my son to infant care & save all the troubles... etc... But slowly, i learned to appreciate staying at home, can c my son is very close to me. I can witness his every development, his cheeky face, smile & laughther will really melt ur heart. After all, when they r older, they prefer friends than mummy, why dun i spend time to build good relationship w my son & teach him good values.

Hi gretel, i also more auntie liao. I always say must save $$$ really hard for my son, but everytime see nice toys & clothes, so tempted to buy for him. Now my house has turned into a mini infant care centre... maybe I shd consider becoming a nanny at home to cover my expenses

How much is the Ergo? it seems to v good comment on this.

I stay at Bt Batok, keen to meet up if there's outing

Hi gretel, mami35,

My mom stays in woodlands and my boy boy is there on Mondays and Fridays. So can arrange for a meet up on those days.

I'm one of the lucky ones, my mum takes care of my boy on weekdays, stays with me from tuesday to thursday.So i am pretty free on weekdays. Weekends are a nightmare but hubby has got morning duties so at least I can wake up late.

My boy has started to wake up once or twice a night for the past two weeks. Not sure why but I am exhausted Let's hope it is just a phase... Also putting everything into his mouth and taking an interest in climbing. Learnt to climb stairs a few weeks ago and tried to scale the TV console just now... sigh, scares and bump are gonna be plenty

ange,
me too..hv a maclaren quest..luv it!and ive got all sorts of carrier.bjorn,mim,pouches...woah..still all shoulder pain.@ least now ds more discipline.wants to sit longer at MR MaCLAREN(we named it)so he'll understands that,if momi's getting ready wit MR MaClaren...means kai2 time

babydoll,
dats an ex set of pump.medela?
me,settled with pigeon cos i never imagine i'll bfeed this long.but i still prefer medela.
and me?a v good mummy?*wink* i try to...evry1 of us do..rite..rite
some of my close frens named me 'tits nazi'!!haha goin gaga about nursing and breast milk

ange,
i would love to ve my bb in routine too, so that hubby & I can ve personal time when bb sleeps early at nite. I brought the Gina Ford book & try to follow suite, but it doesn't work out. My hubby wants to play w him after coming back fr work & he normally reach home around 9. I also ve to bring my son out 3-4 times a week (got to let my mum & mil see him lor)& this really disrupt all his routines... my son is a super late sleeper!

cookie,
u v fortunate ur mum can help u. My mum dun want to look after my son. She is a working mum (workholic type). My PIL dun visit me as they stay quite far @ Eunos I am normally alone at home w bb. My mil is looking after my sil's daughter & she wants me to bring my son there so that she can help to look afer tog, but i dun want to as their values are different. FIL smokes heavily & they always talk abt 4D. Got one time I heard my mil say four letter words to scold her hubby, I believe bb r like sponge, they will absorb whatever they hear or learn fr... so better be safe. I would rather look after myself.

chergamine,
it's medela pump in style, i brought a medela mini electric pump but it doesn't work well for me, as my bm supply is low in beginning. Then seek help fr lactaction consultant & she recommended me the pump in style. No regret as it has stimulator & takes me only 15 mins to pump both sides.

I also dun know i can bf till now. thought would ve stopped at 6 mths, i still taking fengugreek to maintain my ss.

looks like all our kiddos are at the "mouthing" stage now yeah? soon we will be complaining to each other when they start running around and pulling things off tables and shelves! lol.

Have a happy mummies day all, in adv!

morning mommies..
coolmama,
oh definitely 'mouthing' stage..just got a mothers' day cake & ds attacked it!!ARRRGG..
cant decide to be angry or happy!!rather funny though..LOL
HAPPY MOTHERS' DAY TO ALL BEAUTIFUL LADIES HERE..

chergamine, gosh, i think i would have fainted if i saw my DS sitting at 4 mths !! mine only sat close to 8 mths.

cookie, great, we should meet one of these days.

re : Ergo
Gretel you are interested too ? Would you mind going to Punggol to try out the carrier ? The seller operate from home in Punggol. I am also considering the cost, plus not sure how long DS would allow me to carry him. Even now he can't sit still in the stroller for long, he would try to stand on the stroller. But without a carrier I cant go out with him hands free balancing diaper bag.

Jang, Erika, Beco vs Ergo, your comments ?

re : routine
I wish and pray DS would have a routine but it is too difficult maybe cos I am not a routine nor very organized mummy :-( ...

ange, i envy you.

babydoll, ya though DH comes back early but he loves to play with DS at anytime including just before bedtime, and MIL too. my DS sleeps used to sleep between 12 to 1am, but recently i would start around 1030pm, though he would doze off to sleep but still would wake up and finally fall alseep close to 1130 to 12 midnight

re : separation anxiety
DS had a brief moment of it when he was 5 to 6 months old, but now at 9 months, he seems ok with people.

re : sleep
I need advise. I have been carrying DS to sleep all these while. I can't kick his habit. I have tried the cry it out method but it does not work plus DH and MIL heartpain and would carry him when he cried. So I am at a lost, I wonder when can he actually start to sleep on his own.

sorry for the long post last but not least HAPPY MOTHER'S DAY !!! Remember you are the GREATEST !

to all the mummies out there, happy mother's day!

thanks for all the encouraging words.i have read somewhere that it might be good to set up a routine for the kids and their mummies so that it provides a guide or objective for both the kiddies and mum. have anyone do something like this?

ange
i bet your hubby is a military man just like mine. i have also spent a sabbatical year in Canberra. i simply love it there. till today, i still miss that place... :p

muttmum
my younger baby is an august baby.

Goon Goon, ange - both ur hubbies in the army too? We can form an army wives' group...haha. Do your hbs travel overseas alot too?

Goon Goon - which day was ur baby born? Mine on 1st...

S@L - maybe we can meet up someday...you know of other SAHMs staying in Sengkang/Punggol area?

Happy Mother's Day to all!

Mami35 - I dunno why I cannot accept PM...hmmm...I need to activate or something? I can PM people but I cannot receive PMs. How abt email?

mami35,

in terns of functionality and ease of use, Ergo wins. Ergo has a small zipper pocket which i find it useful for short trips.

Of course Beco looks much better although slightly more troublesome to put on.

To change my statement about the weight distribution, both seemed to carry weight really well

mattmum, can email me at [email protected]
I am planning to go back to sengkang on monday (12 May)

hi jang, thanks, i think your girl is older than my DS (9mth) which position do you carry her most often ? Does she fuss with the back carry and the position facing you ?

HI All Mummies

Wow, a few days of not logging in, so many posts. Have been busy past few days.
Happy Mother's Day to everyone here

Timeless, tks for sharing your recipe on the beef stew...will definitely try it out!!

Mami35, I dont have a Ergo , so cant do a comparison vs beco. But like Jang mentioned, think the butterfly not so easy to use even though this is my 1st carrier .

Happy mum's day!

mattmum, my girl is oso on 1st aug. what a coincidence!my dh travels quite a fair bit. so most of the time, can only rely on me to bring kids around.

Welcome pinksunnysummer!

My 2cents. I would like to say I find my beco butterfly is really easy to use. I've used prams (quinny zapp & an aprica), a cheap 'bjorn' copycat carrier and 2 diff brands of pouches. But of course I haven't used an ergo, so I can't compare ease of use to it. And 1 thing I've noticed, after being out and about, 1 min my son will be wide awake and the next he seems to fall asleep instantly in the butterfly

mami35,

my boyboy is younger than yours. he is only 8.5months.
I'm using the front facing only. he keeps pulling my ponytail if i back-carry him!! He practically grew up in carriers, so he never fuss when i put him in either an Ergo or a Beco, front or back positions.

When he was about a month old, i started him on the Bjorn which outgrew at about 3-4months where he hit 10kg. Next came Ergo, which was a total lifesaver! Being vain, i acquired a Beco Butterfly. hehe..

Welcome to the carriers club! time to ditch the strollers.. hehe

Hope all mummies had a wonderful Mother's Day yesterday!

Goon2,
i think our HBs probably went for the same course in Canberra. Which year were you there and do you know Philip and Nina Moses? I was there in 2006.

Mattmum,
Yes, an army's wives club would be fun
My HB travels once a yr for about 3 weeks each time.

ange
Yes i know them. we were there in 2004.

i would assume ange and mattmum hubbies are from army and not the other two services. ya? :)

Wow how i lost in the thread!

HAPPY BELATED MOTHER"S DAY mummies!

was sooo... busy over the weekend, really tribute to all SAHM (and so myself) haha!

brought ds for his 1st swim ytd, at yishun safra. the toilet stinks. told hubby no need to waste $ next time just go to public pool can already hahaha gosh i'm really getting more and more auntie nowadays;p

mami35 (mami35)
i stay yishun (my mum's place) on some days. we can meet go northpt - dun be too ambitious 1st, slowly then maybe can 'progress' to causeway pt, J8 hahahaha. can pm me so we don't flood the thread here =)

thanks all who advised on the carrier (i'm really lost who replied wat)... and there's a mummy who taught the chicken/beef stew which, over the weekedn i go and buy the ingredients already but still haven't got the chance to cook them ;p also read abt mummies sharing their relatives tink they are crazy for being a sahm, waste of degree lar, your company not bad wat, so young teach wat??! your mother can help look after wat. why? u dun like her to look after your child? u no good w her meh? then dig dig and dig hoping for some 'juicy news' and san ba away. i get this too man! initially i was quite pissed and got defensive and will 'shut them up' by saying nastily 'aiya it's my child'. but now i learn to just smile and no comments. afterall i'll try to remember they are well-meaning.

last nite, i smeared LIME juice all over my teats to stop bb from comfort latching. it seems to work! tis mornign he doesn't dare ask for it. poor thing. but no choice got to teach him how to soothe himself to sleep. i tried lemon juice b4, it doesn't work, now try lime;p

gretel: beco 4th gen is no longer in production and the butterfly is supposed to be the upgraded improved version of the 4th gen. the main diffs between the 2 is the part where the child sits, the infant insert and the number of ways you can use the carrier.

gretel, sure thing to meet up :)

are you weaning your DS or just does not want him to comfort suckle at night ?

I only BF partial and have weaned him during the day, so now thinking how to do it for the night cos DS is FOREVER searching for comfort suckling ALL NIGHT to the extend that he could do it every few mins. Very tiring for both of us. And he refuses pacifier in the night. He does not know how to fall asleep on his own, must be carried all the time.

Is it safe to smear lime juice ?

hi mami35,

huh? how come cannot accept pm, how to set it? k k i pm u later. and i just read cookie is with us too - north ;>

blueangel30
hey hey u so clever, your website gives me alot of pleasant surprises - so nice! i've since forwarded to my best fren who's obsessed abt dressing up her daughter haha. mine's a son. everytime see all the pretty dresses and nice nice hair accessories i'll tell hubby i want a daughter soon. then i'll say nvm at least i save some money. which is well, not true, mummy will jus find things to buy, whether boy or girl;p

thanks sleek! for the clarifications. they all look so fanciful, maybe i'll just get a ergo one, cos i want to encourage hubby to use. actually was planning to get it for his bday next mth. he's been lamenting 'cannot carry bb cos the MIM sling v gu-niang'...which i told him is total rubbish (but in my heart i do agree to some extent;p hardly see man wearing slings huh?)

so 'get him' a carrier but actually i'll be using most of the times... hahaha sounds good plan. *evil laughter* keekee

mami35, ok to smear lime juice. tis 'recipe' was taught by mrs wong bb. she told me to smear bitter gourd + lemon juice. i was so shocked when i 1st heard tat. even say 'huh? are u sure, a bit only is it??' she says 'no, smear ALOT'. but my attempt failed then cos 'no heart' to smear 'alot' - end up my ever hungry bb lick it all up and continue sucking, of cos w complaints lotsa ;p

lime seems to work for me, touch wood 1st. must see later how. he's asleep will sure wake up 2am later - it's not tt he's hungry, poor sleep habit. same here, ds dun like pacifier...in fact actually it was me and hubby's 'fault' - we were so concerned of building up bm back then that we let him suck all day/ night to stimulate. and bcos we read tat pacifer is 'no good', we NEVER introduce to him until when his latch-on-to-sleep prob gives me hell i try offering pacifier at 6mths plus by then he totally rejects it...

was just telling hubby - we did all the 'model' method - tbf (as a result now ss not enuff he rejects fm), no pacifier, no water when tbf (as a result bb rejects water) etc etc, but somethings really need experiences and not wat the teacher/ books tell u. my next child i'll intro pacifier at the right time.. be more flexible and not follow 'model' answers strictly, and comfort suck is definitely no-no. sigh.

nite mummies...

gretel: hehe, my hb has used my beco 2x already, initially he was quite hesitant to try it too but after 'complaining' that I purposely chose a plain pattern so he can use it and that he said he would try to use it before I bought. When he finally used it the 1st time, he said he likes carrying baby in it cos it's actually very comfortable and not tiring like when hand-carrying!

Re men using slings: slowly but surely more and more local men are slinging their babies/ kids in SG. however I do agree that the MIM sling is quite gu-niang (I dont like the look of them myself, heh). perhaps a plain blue or black sling would be better for him. You could show him photos online of men who use slings!

hi, any parents who are Indonesians??
I'm half-indo though my bahasa sucks since we didn't use the language at home when young. :p

I hope my baby will pick up bahasa as a 3rd language. Good to communicate with her aunts & uncles & cousins too in Bali.

anyone knows if there are playgroups or nursery using Bahasa Indonesian and English?

on the side...know where I can get all the indo dishes' bumbu? Can't fly back to Bali all the time now

gretel,
does the 'smearing lime & bitter gourd' realli works.im ok with comfort suckling at times but really wish to kick ds habit of comfort suckling in the middle of the nite.
wish me luck..thanx for the tip

Hi chergamine,

it seems to work for me, in fact the lactation consultant mrs wong swear by it.

now my son doesn't head straight 'there' each time i carry him. when his urge gets strong and it IS, meal time, i let him suck. i only dun let him suck and use the 'concoction' in the middle of the night cos i wan to encourage (pray hard man!) him to sleep thru the night. he's 9 and half mths liao and still waking up 2x the night, every 4 hrly.... =.(

gretel,
oh!im not sure bout others bout my ds went thru a lot of phases.up till 6mths he does woke up max 2x @ nite.then after intro to solids he woke up @ least once or not at all till aft 9am.after which @ 9mths,he started to wake up 2x AGAIN..most probably bcos of teething..as he kept BITING me..ouch!! and currently there were a few occasions where his last feed was at 11pm++ and he soothed himself to sleep..(REALLI HOPES THIS STAYS)
since i couldnt sleep last nite, i tried smearing lime(in case he woke up for comfort suckle,surprisingly..he doesnt!!)LOL
btw,we're still bunking in together(found that he sleeps better this way as compared to placing in his cot or in his room.

chergamine,

lucky for you. hope it stays tis way. but dun say in front of him. last time i dun believe in tis saying, brush it off say so superstitious, but there was this ONE night he soothe himself to sleep THROUGHOUT the nite (gosh! u can imagine how thankful i was!!!) i keep exclaiming to everyone 'yeah!!! my bb can FINALLY zzz thru the nite'. THEN, the VERY NEXT DAY!!! go back to square one. arghhh...

ya, he sleeps w me too, in fact, ON me. middle of nite will roll roll crawl, climb ON me. and sleep in the weirdest position. put him back his cot he gets supperr upset. sigh. the sleeping prob is tearing me apart. sigh. trying v hard to train him to learn to SOOTHE HIMSELF to sleep ...never realise it's a skill to be mastered. me and hubby doze off like nobody's business. sigh sigh sigh

oh, today i back work (agree to come back help) tat's y can log in so often, if at home tis hour sure busy liao xiao cleaning his mess after lunch can only login at wee hrs when he's asleep. =(

been quite a while since i last logged in. I am a sahm living in the east side. Will be interested for any meet ups and discussions.

Hi. new in this thread. a SAHM n TBF in Woodlands near Vista Park. Have an 8.5 mths girl (28Aug07).

Ergo: I have an Ergo and absolutely love it! My husband too. In fact he used it first. I was at first struggling with MIM sling... We were at first worried about the high cost but totally worth it. Now hardly use my even more expensive stroller. I don't dare to use it for shopping at malls cos scared to go down down the escalators. hehe...

In case some of you want to buy, look out for Metro storewide 20% sale. I saw it at Causeway Point.

Definitely don't mind meet-ups.

My girl is also putting everything, as in everything, into her mouth. Wonder if that's the reason why she has been having diarrhea... But how to stop? it's how they discover and learn about things right?

She also wake up 2 - 3 times every night!!! Very tempted to try the lime method. Tried the let-her-cry method but she's very persistent. kept crying so loudly. I gave up after 1 night.

Jaime,
I'm also an Indonesian - Chinese. But having stayed in Singapore since 4 yrs old, my Bahasa totally sucks... But my parents still in Indo. Not sure if my girl can pick up any of the language...

gretel,
same same here..ds sleeps all over me n being a 'light sleeper',i kept waking up(sometimes when not too tired) and reposition him.
oh , TELL ME ABOUT IT!! the sleeping patterns/probs tearing me apart too esp now as hubby is away(from jan-jun)...always tell myself..'i can and i will'!!!sigh

seriously,since he started walking around late last month...he sleeps better at nite(damn tired i guess) woohoo..hope it stays...
N YA..both me n hubby doze off almost immediately aft ds and at times when he still wants to play...we just let him b(too tired to entertain!!)and he'll snuggle in between when he gets tired..hahhaLOL

Hi Jenny, haha both of us cannot call ourselves Indo-Chinese (for me half indo-chinese) since our bahasa sucks!
Its still good to meet up though. Interested? I'm staying in the East.

Hi Jaime, no prob. some time next week? My mum came over this week so letting the girl spend some time with her grandma. how old is your child?

anybody else want to meet up? in town?

Finally have time to log in today!

goon goon - yes, my hb from the army. which vocation is yours from? My hb from Arty. So coincidental, our babies born on same day!
Dun tell me you also delivered at Raffles Hospital hor...haha. My boy was born in the afternoon, your girl too? Hee

ange - yeah...we could...maybe for a start we can link one another up in msn and facebook first? I have a few friends who have hbs in the army too. We always grumble and complain to one another...haha!

Mami35 - sorry I didnt log in for so long...aiyah missed the tryout. I will email you...if got another tryout you let me know? Thanks!

Hi pinksunnysummer, my boy and goon goon's girl also Aug babies...

hey jenny welcome to the thread ;)

may i know how much is the carrier? quite desperate to get... =(

my bb is also aug bb, but early aug - 2 aug ;) and yea, still wake up 2 times wooboobooo

chergamine
how old is your child? tink my boy seems to be able to walk soon, cos he's now 'walking' with support... but i'm actually not v anticipative of him walking at only 9 mths plus. cos my cousin's son walk too early (8 mths) and now his legs is curved. doc says it's cos he walks too early, not even when the leg's strong enough to take the weight - strange right? i tot this type of developmental growth is eh 'natural' - one at a time. means, strong liao tat's why can take the weight the stand and walk mah...no???

ds finally asleep...k need go see wat i have to cook for tonight. bye mummies ;)

gretel,
wooohoo..my ds been napping since 2.30pm(phew)
got to cook,eat,clean n now rest(err..b4 he gets up and ransack the whole hse again)
mine is turning 1 in 2weeks time.how time flies!!
legs curved when walked too early????
i tot that its natural too...and i hv frens whose bbs walked @9mths..as per norm..
well its all individual rite..its a matter of bbs bone structure..well im aint expert,but my hubby didnt walk early(15mths up) still curved legs and somemore an avid soccer player(hehe)
lets not worry,less its really so evidently that 'legs got curved as a result of early walking'

re bb carier(gretel)
so u getting ergo ya?was thinking of getting a wrap.u c,im into baby wearing.its proven that bbies r less cranky this way..u tink?http://www.sleepywrap.com/

oh..
welcome jenny..hi hi

Ergo: Metro selling at the normal retail price which is $182 or $189. Can't remember. a local website is selling at $182, unless they have BP, which i got mine for 15% discount. Sometimes they get at 20% discount i think. maybe somebody can arrange a BP again. Otherwise, getting from Metro is easy and you get the thing immediately.

Meet-up next weekday in town: Let's make it mid-week like Wed when we feel the most xian, around 3 to 6pm after our baby's first nap. at Orchard? Any baby-friendly cafe at Wheelock Place? So that can read some books to children at Borders and in case need to buy some groceries from the Japanese supermarket at Shaw Centre.

So far we have
1.Jenny
2.Jaime
3.Vally