2007 sahm n bf mom

Erika: I bought a 2300x 1400x15mm sweet bear mat from Alien's previous bp. It's super big but I bought it for the thickness cos was worried since my son is quite the risk taker. Initially used it for when he was playing in the living rm then kept away in the storerm after each use but he didn't like playing on it outside. Now we've moved his play yard (used as cot) outside and put the mat on our bedrm floor as his play/ sleep area and he seems to enjoy being on it much more. haha so weird but guess it's his preference though he's still not willing to sleep on his mattress on it. The mat is really vibrant and all the adults love it for it's soft yet firm comfort, haha, we wish we could sleep on it.

Btw girls, I'm driving myself crazy waiting for my beco to arrive, hahaha.

Welcome Yany.

Welcome Yany!, maybe you can post some pics of your boys and cutest girl...hehehe

Sleek,
I bought the same dimensions as you, design is Yellow Bear. Initially wanted the smaller dimension cos room not so big, but then decided the bigger one cos more space for my baby, and also like you mentioned, for the thickness. Hope my boy will like it...its arriving this Thursday, but cant use it till I get rid of the sofa bed in the room.

Re: Beco, I am also like you, can't wait for my beco to arrive, should be in a week's time. Hope my boy takes to it though.

welcome the new mummies! ^^

Bena: *hugs hugs* that's what everyone here for. to pour our woes and encourage each other. honest, sometimes just want to "give up" and go work, so free and easy, will have more time to myself. but see the children, guess will just endure.

Hi yany: me making "ang mo" food too. blend and freeze. scientifically proven good method and saves me a lot of time and sanity. :p

Sleek: how much you get the mat for? didn't see the BP there leh... i saw then big roll out mat,with pooh bear design and such, at a gift shop or something... is it the same?

as for cooking, i practically cook 7 days a week.. and my huby, not so sweet like baby doll. mine will grumble if he has to eat out... :T
I HATE the washing up too! kekeke....

Don't think you will regret buying it, only depends if your boy will like it.
Here's mine enjoying himself on his. Really love the colours, so vibrant!

1359320.jpg

Think if your boy is ok with being in a sling/ pouch/ carrier, he should be fine with the beco! Must post photos once you get yours ok

cool: $266 with free delivery from http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1336952.html?1208271798 or you can buy similar at $270 from smallsmallworld (original retailer who bring LG mats in)

Errrm, think you're talking about the minitoons mat? cannot compare!!! I saw and felt it myself after I bought my LG mat and was really appalled at the minitoons mat. The minitoons mat is so light and made of foam (similar to our dishwashing sponge) which I doubt will protect a child who has fallen. The LG mat is about 10-12kg so you can tell that it is very dense(!), yet it is soft and pliable, and of course it's very comfortable, kekek!

HI Sleek,

Frankly, haven't tried my boy on a pouch or carrier yet. Tried him on a sling (bought the Baby rock sling) and he squirm in it and don't like it, so hope he takes to the beco. Hey your boy really looks very happy on the may...he looks so cute..is that a nursing pillow ?

Coolmama, I have to fully agree with Sleek, cos I learnt about this mat from my friend when I saw it in her house, the material and the comfort is really good, minitoons mat is incomparable to the LG mat. Just bought from Alien, so go check out the thread which sleek has mentioned above. Happy browsing the different designs

Erika: heh, thanks. Yeap, that's a nursing pillow my mum made for my boy and me, she made 2 but now I don't really use them as he is much bigger and it's more comfortable just to use my arm/ thighs to support him so instead he gets to play with the pillow. I too, decided to go ahead with the purchase after I came across the mat irl at another mum's house. Btw, which position did you try with your son in the sling?

JTS, my period finally came back after 18mths of pregnancy and nursing. So sian cos I really enjoyed not having them!!!! Mums, when did your menses come back while nursing?

oops.. i haven been checking and the thread became so active...

re: playmat
i love the LG playmat, definitely a good investment

re: beco
mine is finally coming back next monday, shall take pose and take picture for gingerleaf *evil grin*

re: period
mine is not here and i'm enjoying it... baby already going to 8 months.

re: cooking
i'm not a great cook, but luckily hubby is not fussy and is ok with tabao food also..

wow...beco, beco and beco...haha...ginger, sleek and josbaby, looks like its beco club here leh..me cannot get lah..bang head now.

re-cooking: me also trying out new stuff. just did chicken stew and chicken porridge last week. fried rice has beena common dish since i've been at home..haha...washing is really bad, although i do have a dish-washer, which was seldom used nowadays. hubby said must use more frequently and i said must get more cutlery so that machine is fully loaded for each wash lor. maid just arrived adn i dun intend to teach her to use the washer. so i guess washer will be a 'storage' machine for time being.

sleek, my menses came back when 6 mths after 1st birth. for this 2nd birth,c ame back at 4-5th mth...but vvvv light period and last only 2 days.

Hey, I got the smallest & thinest yellow mat, and is regretting loads, coz its so comfofortable to lie on! Shld have gotten the biggest n thickest one

Erika,
Fried rice v easy to cook. Normally I'll cook extra rice on previous day, then i used the left over rice to cook. I will beat the eggs & fry first, (normally i use 3 eggs for 2 person), then cut into small pieces. Later, put the chopped garlic, add in frozen mixed veg (those w peas, carrot, corn), cabbage and ham to fry with the rice. Must add salt & soy sauce. If u like pepper, can add it in too

I HATE the washing part!

Re: Period
mine also ve not come too, bb 7.5mths. quite shiok without mensus hehe

Re: Beco
so envy u gals w the beco, trying to persuade my hubby to let me buy, but he said no pt since we already ve the carrier & sling

amy: heehee, we're like some fan club here enticing every1. why you cant get? urrrgh mine is not light, quite heavy flow, I suspected something was going to change when my boy recently drop from 7 down to 5 nursings since he was taking more solids.

ginger: can sell off your mat and get a new one, heehee :p

jang, I was wondering who this josbaby is, talking to us in such a familiar manner!

re cooking: I am the world's laziest and lousiest cook/ washer upper, really lucky my mum cooks for all of us to eat.

bbdoll: sell off those 2, heheee. omg, I'm trying to enable you!

sleek,

yah!.. when i came back to read then realised.. blur liao... i think gingerleaf also shock, y a stranger also wanna show off her Beco to her... hehe

Erika,

I cook using the mocrowave. There are recipe books on using the microwave. easier cos can still attend to BB while cooking unlike using the stove.
I'm lucky cos hubby always do the washing cos he says i cook mah. :p

Beco... I also want but hubby says cannot cos i'm not working no spending power liao. Can't even buy the bumper mat have to use those ABC kind (but minus the ABC cos find those hard to clean, imagine have to take out all the alphabets to wipe off BB's drool!)
My Little Prince
1361603.jpg

HI All Mummies,

Wow, one day, and so many posts. Went out today with hubby for our 3rd year anniversary (of cos with baby cos no one to look after),so quite different from previous years, and not so romantic..hahaha.

Sleek, I used the cradle position I believe for the sling. So hopefully with beco, he will like it if he is upright? (keep my fingers crossed).

Baby_doll, thanks for sharing with me your fried rice recipe..will try it out when my MIL goes to europe for 3 weeks!!! Have to really learn how to cook then

CiN, I know exactly what you mean cos my MIL cooks almost everything with the microwave so yes I agree its much easier, also less messy. And believe it or not, the food still taste great

Regarding period, my son is only 4 and half months, so far my period hasnt come, hope it doesnt come for a long time...

Btw mummies, my boy now seemed to recognise faces, so everytime someone carries him (other than me, my husband, and my in laws), he will cry. Sigh, quite sad especially for my mother. My MIL claims that he is quite young to recognise faces, do any of your babies do that?

CiN,
ur bb very cute, eyes like my son's. He got sharp nose too

Erika,
My son also start around 4 mths plus, i must be prresence then he will let others carry him. Think they know who's the closet ones to them, they need security.

Erika,
My boy will also cry when someone unfamilar carries him without my presence. If I'm there n he sees me he'll be ok with the 'stranger' but recently he seems to be 'scare' of old ppl. Whenever my grandma or ppl with white hair plays with him he'll cry. Weird!

Baby_Doll,
He's cute when he doesn't make his mummy angry. Haha!

Hi Baby Doll, Cin,

At least your bbs let others carry when you are present. Mine will still cry even when I am present, and when he sees me, sometimes he will cry even louder

My boy loves it so far. Ignore the outfit I am wearing, haha just eagerly put it on after postman finally delivered it at 5.30pm.

1365533.jpg

erika: you might want to try your son in the kangaroo carry position since he is already 4 mths old. Cradle will be uncomfortable for him since you he is quite big already and havent been slinging him since he was younger.

Hi Sleek

Wah,, fast work ah...your son really looks so happy in it..great

Is it easy to put on? You seem to learn pretty fast considering the postman just dropped it not so long ago...impressive. THe print looks nice. What is Kangaroo carry position?

HI Sleek, Thanks for the address on the kangaroo position. I guessed I have to try that with him with my sling again.
Should be getting my beco tomorrow, so hopefully I can be as quick as you in learning how to put on your beco...meanwhile enjoy

Hi Moms! My babe(gal) born in Nov 2006 but super close to 2007, right? So hoping we can join this thread
Baby Arumi turning 18th next month and mommy here is 25(only in July)/SAHM.

welcome aryanti.
wah.. Sleek, Nw all ur craving satisfied liao rite? Saw e demo on e beco, looks very interesting but stil rooting for sling. :p in fact, u saw my sling very worn alreay rite? Lookin for a 2nd sling nw... Jordan looks so cute, in ur beco & in person! Erika, cin, babydoll, my no. 2 nw 30weeks old have no prob wif ppl carrying but aft awhile she wil start crying for me, & wil cry even harder if she sees me. Seperation anxiety.. Well, as we all know its a passing phase. Next time, they wil run off to play b4 u can even open ur mouth to utter anything.

gingerleaf, sleek, Erika,

My beco is here! just dumped it into the washing machine.. shall pose for u all when its dry! *happy*

jang, yay for you! show us photos soon!

erika: any luck with kangaroo position in your sling and what happened to your beco?

cool: haha, yeah satisfied, I used it for 5 hours yesterday walking around in vivo. Only problem was my shoulders started aching when using in the front carry for too long, so just switch to back carry. you going to get another MIM sling, can just buy 2nd hand from this forum?

welcome aryanti!

Aryanti, Welcome

I got my beco on Sat ...yay!!...Jang, Yay for you too ..hehe...finally yah? I tried it on my boy yesterday and I think he wasnt too happy cos he was already not in a good mood. Today tried him on it, and he seemed fine and not struggling, though not overjoyed

Post some pics for you below
Sleek...havent tried the kangaroo position yet, will try soon after I find out how to do that with my sling in the website.
1369392.jpg
1369393.jpg

erika,
your beco looks good to. we are having a a beco parade yeah? heehee...

anyway, can nurse in beco?

sleek,
yeah loh, looking ard for a 2nd hand one.
as for the LG mat ah, hows is the surface like? i dun seem to find any info on that. is it furry like carpet cos you mention soft?...

erika: looks good! yours is addison? I would have loved to have gotten it. My boy is generally ok in it, but if I stop moving around he will start to whine. Prolly he's not used to being so constricted since he can crawl and cruise now.

Cool: for me, cannot nurse in the beco prolly cos I pull it really tight to my body and my boy is sitting high up in it (his head is same height as my mouth). Maybe if I loosen it so that my boy is lower like in erika's case then will be easier to nurse. the lg mat's surface is not furry, it's soft embossed pvc, dont know how to explain le, but maybe you can have an idea from this photo I took from alien's thread. http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1338773.jpg

Hi coolmama, sleek, thanks. Yeah its addison. Think its already out of stock and not in production. I actually bought from a mum in the forum who bought 2 and wanted to sell one away, but I had to wait some time for it as it was being retrofitted. I shall try it one of these days when I go shopping. Sleek, you mentioned your shoulders ached...was it after a long time? Reviews for this beco has always been good and so far didnt read any reviews from users on causing shoulders ache.

Coolmama: I watched the video on beco showing how to nurse, and like what sleek mentioned, only if your baby is very young and small, then maybe can nurse, once its grown bigger, quite difficult to nurse in the carrier. I just bought the LG mat from Alien's BP, and just started using it in my boy's room a few days back...really nice
Like what sleek mentioned, its embossed pvc, you can take a look at http://lgmat.blogspot.com/ where Alien is still holding a BP on the lg mats, and also I believe you can have a closer look at the materials for some of the prints in there.

wow sleek and erika, both posting with the beco oreadi!
Soon will be jang's turn, where she will post with my fav carnival beco.

I can nurse with my beco, but its not really discreet. But mine is prob easier to nurse, coz mine do not have the Y panel as the butterfly becos.

Moms, thank you for the warm welcome

Jang!! Its good to know that I am not the only one ard here who is super young! Are you SAHM as well? How is the little one doing?

Erika, wow! nice hor. Hey, u lost a lot of weight ya?

Gingerleaf, can u teach me how to nurse?i almost dropped Little Mischa when i attempted to
hahhaa...so clumsy

Aryanti, your bb name's unique!

Hi S@L,

Well, I lost most of my pregnancy weight already, but haven't reached my pre-preg weight yet..still about 3-4kg
. By the way, I asked Cookie about the comparison between the Pikkolo and Butterfly, think she hasn't used it long enough to give it a fair review, 1st impression is Pikkolo is less warm than Butterfly, and with Pikkolo being able to do frony facing, she is not used to that as she feels her baby is like quite far from her.

For me, so far I haven't tried the Butterfly more than an hour, just downstairs today, and not sure why, I also feel a little ache on the shoulders maybe after half an hour...not sure if I am wearing it correctly though...do you feel ache on your 4th gen?
So have you already decided on Pikkolo or Butterfly?

hi Aryanti,

yeap. i'm SAHM. Jaeden is doing great now. In the very fun stage. He loves to smile alot which brings great joy to me

Jang, that carrier look so sweet! And that lil person look soooo chubby, just look as those arms and cheeks!! Is that Jaeden?

HI Jang

The Carnival looks nice! Have you tried out more of your carrier? How do you feel? Any shoulders ache? Have to ask you as your son is 13kg!! so you will feel it even more..hahaha. How does it compare to your Ergo?

Erika,

i have not tried out more of the Beco yet. I'm not sure if i had did it wrongly. But... my humble opinions of the 2 carriers are:

1. Ergo is easier to use when compared to Beco
2. Ergo gives a better weight distribution than Beco. Because the moment i put on the Beco, i could feel his weight, whereas Ergo doesn't give me this problem the moment i put it on.
3. Beco is definitely prettier than Ergo!

regarding the weight distribution thing, i want to give Beco a few more chances. Shall try it out a few more times before i really conclude that Ergo is better.

Thanks to my faithful 13kg baby for participating in the tests of carriers! hehe..

erika, re: shoulder ache, I think he was in it for almost 2 hours already and the shoulder ache gradually got more and more noticeable so I switched to back carry. but I always have shoulder ache anyways, so perhaps using the beco just aggravated my problem.

jang: wah jaden is so heavy!!! it's good that you have the ergo to compare it with. can you explain where the difference in weight distribution is between ergo and beco?

Hi Jang

Thanks for the feedback. I haven't tried Ergo yet, so would be good if you give beco a few more tries than let me know your conclusion. My boy is already 9.5kg last weighed last week at 5months, so your son who is heavy would be a good test on both carriers..hehe.

Sleek...hmmm 2 hours is actually quite long if he doesnt get out of the carrier during that time...how heavy is your son?

wah, all Beco look so nice. I like the butterfly carnivals, think can match most of the outfits.

Jang, Jaeden is such a cherry bb, likes his wide smile, want to pinch his cheeks hehe

Welcome Aryanti