2007 sahm n bf mom

geez i hope all babies and mummies are alright. but if mummies get the bug too can pass your immunity via ur milk to babies and babies can recover faster... :)

that time my gal also got pneumonia, she was hospitalized. she just turn 2 yrs old and I am still in confinement, but i stop my confinement and travel to and fro with my baby boy to visit her. my hb overnight with my gal in the hospital. it was very stressful time for me. it is best to vacinate which cost $170 per jab (3 mths old - 4 jabs, 6 months old - 3 jabs, 1 yr - 2 jabs and 2 yr - 1 jab), stay in hospital spend like $1000 plus...

bena, i think with the jab he will not get the pneumonia that caused by pnemococal bacteria (which is deadly), he may still get pneumonia from other types of bacteria (which not so deadly).

Sleek, db,
Aiyo.. so jialat. Pay so much still not fully protected.. sigh.. each jab cost $165 excluding consultation.. 3 jabs in all..very shiong for my pocket leh..

bena, ya lor but at least we protect them from the deadly ones via vaccine. my gal got her jab when she was 2 yrs plus so only one jab. my boy maybe will give him when he is 1 yr old, so 2 jabs...

bena, actually why did you start him so young if you're a SAHM? normally if you only intend to send your child for infant care then need to start the vax at such a young age, if not can just do 1 before kindergarten.

went to Dr Goh last nite after dinner. Charlotte's nose wasnt gettin better n mucus still yellow..sigh no choice muz take abx

Dr Goh suggested we let her share same Augmentine as joshua since he only take 5days n will hav alot of leftover..at least save money..
My hub oso kana oredi...more babies to look after

Sleek,
Cuz I paranoid mummy.. he gets passed around in church every sunday..There are alot of kids there..

Fiona, so sorry to hear abt Charlotte and Joshua.. really hope they will recover very very soon..

Bena: oh, then you're right in giving him pneumoccocal vax, think as long as there is alot of exposure to the baby/ child in group settings, it's better to be safe than sorry

sleek/bena, my gal only play on her own downstairs also kena pneumonia... so it is best to vaccine whether or not the kid goes to childcare or stays at home...

db , you yourself said earlier "bena, i think with the jab he will not get the pneumonia that caused by pnemococal bacteria (which is deadly), he may still get pneumonia from other types of bacteria (which not so deadly)."

so they are not connected, even if you had vaccinated your daughter against pneumococcal then, she would still have gotten pneumonia. btw, SARS is also a type of pneumonia, but being vax against pneumococcal wont stop you from getting SARS.

Pneumonia is an infection of the lungs. Many different organisms can cause it, including bacteria, viruses, and fungi.Pneumonia can range from mild to severe, and can even be deadly. The severity depends on the type of organism causing pneumonia, as well as your age and underlying health.

Sleek,db,
I'm really very ignorant when it comes to vaccination. In fact I always get confused with which is for what. But I guess with the limited knowledge we have, we all try to protect our children from harm as much as possible. Vaccination is just one way of minimising (though not totally eliminating) chances of catching some illnesses.. esp some deadly ones..

May our children be in the pink of health, always..

bena, nothing wrong with being ignorant, but I just want to share what I know, cos some parents think that vax = prevent everything and then they get upset or blame the vax/ themselves when their child still gets the same thing. Just like flu vax doesnt protect from ALL strains of flu, only 80%, so your child or you still can get the flu.

sleek, tt time my gal haven get her vaccination yet... so she got infected by just playing downstairs on her own... she was hospitalized because of tt... i was thinking if i hv vaccinated her earlier, her condition will not be tt serious till need to be hospitalized...

yah..the vac does not cover all , just like flu vac.

db, looks like we in same boat with our girls. so scary hor..i stayed 5 days with her in mt a. vv shiong n girl's face shrunk till so small...lost a lot of weight for her, not me..

fiona, r kids better?

sleek, it is the pnemococcal one + other bacteria, mycoplasm or something attacking her.... same symptoms cough, running nose, fever that cannot go away for 1 over weeks...the scary part is the fever temp is almost 40deg...geezz... we wanted to jab her but delay and delay and she get it before we could jab her.... anyway i still let her have the vaccine just in case...

amy, yup so scary plus i just gave birth one month ago when she went to hospital. i was so worried because i cannot be there for her since i need to take care of my boy. and i was so scared that my boy get infected too... thank God, he did not... if not i also dunno what will happen...

Wah, db, can't imagine how difficult a time it must be for you.. so glad that everything is alright now..

What are the symptoms of a normal pneumonia?

Hi ladies..
wah last few days all serious topic...
My kids still down
Josh's coughin quite abit but thk God he's appetite's still normal n no vomitin fr coughin..my gal's nose still alittle gumy tho no more yellow..sigh..really hope they get well by mon as we are flyin to melbourne..

db,
joshua oso kana mycoplasma b4...very serious n deadly bug..In UK esp its serious as kids die fr it.He was admited to NUH a had to do a series of blood test which they were sooooo bad at.Hub n i decided NUH's the worst hospital for kids.They cant even draw blood for my son properly n its a doc dats doin it wif 3 nurses to assist!! In TMC,it was only a lab staff n it only took her 20sec n all is done..i had to stay there wif him n was due in 2wks..hub juz flew in dat mornin..
Mycoplasma is hard to get well n super contagious.I cried n cried when i saw hw they(nuh) wrap my son up like popiah tryin to draw blood n nothin i could do.I complained on their incapabality til the professor had to come n pacify me personally n arranged a much more experience doc to handle my son personally.

bena, i think as long the fever dun stretch too long like more than 3 days, and it is not 39 deg andn above, it could be mild ones... once fever is stretch more than 3 days and even not 3 days but almost 40 deg, better see PD.

fiona, ya lor quite bad for her, because her lungs are filled with phlegm... tt is why the PD ask her to be hospitalized to be safe. she also need to be on neubalizer... even at tmc, that time it seems that no PD is ard, so the ask a GP to poke drip on my gal's hand, wrap her until siow... she scream and scream... so heartbreaking... and in the end, the doc come out and said sorry not successful need to wait for PD. wah fed up leh... in the first place dun do it lor... both my gal's hand bruised because of tt...sigh...

db, aiyoh so scary for you. you must be so glad that everything is ok now.

Fiona: really hope your kids get well before you guys leave for melb, so fun, get to enjoy autumn there

I've actually had mycoplasma before as I picked it up from when I worked at a childcare. I didn't have a fever but I had a cough for mths on end, think 3-4 mths before I finally went to a chest specialist where I did the blood test and had to take 2 rounds of really exp special abx to get rid of it.

Good morning mummies,
How's everyone today?

Fiona, how are your kids? Better already? Btw, I can't join the playdate next tues cuz some friends are coming over my place to celebrate my birthday..

db,
poor thing..when kids kana hospitalize,we mom always very heartpain.My experience in KKH was better when it comes to puttin drip.My son was hospitalize for suspected rotarvirus n was in bad shape.He couldnt eat n was throwin up n cant retain water,he cant even stand up..oso diahrroea
They had to admit him n put on drip.They brought him to treatmt rm where parents had to wait outside.He was cryin n screamin mommy mommy n i was outside cryin my eyeballs out wif hub aiyo very drama..but at least it was done fast n accurate..was tokin to hub the other day,touch wood if kids hav to admit hospital,we much rather go KKH..

Bena
my son still coughin which is worryin me n my gal's still drippin abit.They seems to be gettin better dan at times seems not..very confusin n worrysome sigh..

i oso cant do playdate next wk as we are on wait list for tic to melbourne on wed so i'll be bz packin.The last time i was there it was only me n hub..now hav to pack for kids so abit stressful plus weather abit cold(19C) there for kids..
sooooo celebratin bday....niiiiice...

sleek,
ya im lookin fwd to he cooler weather

I always go aus durin winter as i find goin in summer is waste of money since so hot.Hub n i not good wif heat,we get really grouchy..we luv their winter there.We had a gd time when we brought josh there.We did alot of walkin n no sweat,it was nice walkin the park n feedin their ducks w/o feelin sticky n sweaty..
This is my shoppin treat since i dun do shoppin here for myself..

Hi Fiona,
Same here. Zac is like sometimes dripping sometimes dry. But one thing for sure, he has ALOT of phlegm in him.. I'm very scared it'll become pneumonia, so asking Db for advice..

Hope your darlings get well way before your trip. Else it'll be so worrisome for you..

Db,
My boy doesn't have fever, but when he cries I can hear thick phelgm. Is it dangerous? Been like this for 2 weeks already

bena, that means is not as bad as pneumonia, it could just the normal flu but i think you should clear the phlegm leh... scared it gets accumulated in the lungs. hv you been to PD yet? and if the phlegm is yellowish/green, that means got infection.

fiona, ya lor really heartpain. my fren told me if go to mt alvernia, they allow parents to enter when they do the drip/draw out blood leh... tmc dun allow... ayo, i pray hard that none of the kids get hospitalized again... very traumatic for them and me...

btw, for those mums who have nursed their older babies, how do you carry them when walking around & nursing outside? Or you don't carry and walk, just sit down or stay at the nursing rm. My 7mo has been 8kg since he was 5mo and it just gets harder to carry him and nurse him. At least at home, I have my nursing pillow or can lie down on bed.

db,
ya lor.I worry abt his phlegm. It's transparent but I wonder how to get rid of them. Been to PD twice already.

Sleek,
My son is also 8kg plus. I just let his weight rest on my lap and arm when nursing him. And I'll rest my arm on the arm rest if possible.

I learning a lot from all your post on the sickness stuff... it must have been really terrible. tat's why they say, prevention is better than cure... but living in this world right now, its so hard to prevent... sigh... -_-"
Hope all mummies and babies get well real soon. god bless you.
Sleek, i just sit down and let ariel sit on my lap and nurse, all the way till 2 yrs old. my coming 6 months audrey is 10kg (super over wgt), also rst on my lap to nurse if I am too tired from carrying her. When we are outside, i can still manage to sling her and nurse her though.

I let him lie or sit on my lap too but my arm gets very tired after while, maybe my boy can latch on for a long time? At least 20mins, sometimes even 1 hour
I asked my friend how to nurse in the pouch (not ring sling) and she showed me a photo online of nursing in side carry so I shall have to practice that at home, hopefully can use this method when out & about.

Hope all sick babies get well soon! Now my son has a runny nose after his cough.. *sigh* plus he is teething now, bottom 2 teeth together, makes him a very fussy & whiny baby.

Bena: not sure if your son has other symptoms but if he only has a runny nose, my PD mentioned that it can run for 2-3 weeks sometimes, as long as it's clear and there's no high fever.

Sleek,
I also wonder if Zac (now 6 months) is teething. He's very cranky these days and mouth everything he can get his hands on.

Bena: maybe? The main diff that lets me know my son is teething besides him crying and whining for no reason (not hungry/ tired/ wet diaper) is that I can actually see the tooth out from his gums instead of just seeing white underneath the gums. Cos mine's been mouthing everything he can get his hands on for quite a few mths now and he's actually stopped drooling excessively compared to a few mths ago.

sleek, yup! very good....i only used for a while nearby la...cos i intend to sell and get the Butterfly mode instead! my hb even tried slinging with my 18kg boy in it..no sweat! i think support wise is better than bb bjorn. u wanna buy too?

S@L: I wanted to buy but ash doesn't have rdy stock anymore for the 4th gen since they're discontinued. So maybe I will try from overseas seller, wait till the new model comes out in july or wait till I have my 2nd child. Why you want to sell?

sleek, i wan to get the butterfly mode. i actually like my carrier alot..the print OOS evrywhere! hehee...but i vain la see the butterfly mode designs even nicer!

Hi bena,
kids are definately gettin better,thx for askin

We got the nasal swap culture test result on mon, thk God it was neg for any bacteria,dan ped got worried dat it could be mycoplasma as mycoplasma can only be chk thru blood test.. but as my kids were actually gettin better so she rule it out.They juz had to be on longer Augmentine,charlotte 7days n joshua 10days instead of Dr Goh's 5days..This time the bugs's very strong,i hear alot of kids coughin badly eitheroutside or in church..my boy has miss sch for 8days n we are flyinoff tonite to Perth so decided he dub go sch at all.We cancelled melbourne n book perth instead..was talkin to hub while waitin for SIA to confirm our tic.Charlotte's not a good travellin mate on the road n she hates carseat.Melbourne's huge n u need to drive about in long distance if u wan to see area which we think may not be ideal for charlotte's 1st trip.We dan decided perth is more family friendly n easier to travel.Their transport system r better n car rental oso cheaper.Im goin to pig out their beef which is sooo cheap even in supermart.Im only apprehensive on the weather as its the 1st time im there on early autume..im always there durin winter wif temp btwn 4-13C...anyway got holiday better dan no holiday hor..i havent travel since my gal was born..so change alot of aussie dollar for shoppin n eatin n doin outdr activities like fruit pickin n snooklin i hope

This will be my last entry til i come hm fr down under...see you later mate!!!

Fiona,
Sounds really exciting.. have alot of fun and come back to tell us more stories and show us lotsa pics..stay safe and healthy!

Hiiiiii ladies!!!!
IM BACK!!!!
wah hw come nobody's been chattin since i left huh?Has all been bz?
Db,u missin again?
Perth was nice but very HOT,but at least its dry heat so u dun hav the sticky feelin..on some days it was 36C,i feel like a meat on the roastin rack!!
Shoppin was fantastic!!Target juz started their summer sale when we were there n i bought about 17pairs of shoes for my kids!!!Can u believe the Birkenstock lookalike sandal in white/diamond or pink goin only A$4+!!My hub who usually complains dat my kids hav too many shoes,didnt complain this time as it was so cheap n nice.My most expensive was only A$8..n my luggage weighs 34kg when we got back hehe.
I oso bought essential oil,basil dry herbs n at least 6bags of choc!!
Wish i got more hands to buy beef,their ribeye steak is only $7/kg!!In spore its $30++/kg i think..
We did alot of shoppin n eattin out n my kids enjoy chasin birds at the park when we had pinic there..n pattin kangaroos n koalas etc
too many things to say..will chat again,now muz go hav some asian breakfast

Hi sleek

i didnt go harbour town as i had too many branded clothes for my kids b4 the trip so didnt wan to waste time..
We found this huge shoppin ctr in cannington call The Carousel,its like our suntec city..alot of shops n of cos my fav Target n Kmart..n a shop call Best for Less..They oso hav a big foodct there which has nice roast n jap food yummy

But food there quite ex when eatin out..averagely at the foodct 1 plate cost A$9+..
cheaper to buy fr Woolworth n bring back to cook.
U been to perth?

hi ladies... long time no chat..

wow fiona, must hv enjoy urself in Australia...

ayo my AF is here again, no wonder my supply is low... i thought it is drying up...

i hope later it will not be raining, crossing my finger... going out with the kids to meet an old fren in the evening...

Fiona: my hb is from perth
haha yeah carousel is not bad. maybe next time when you go back to perth, you can find out how to go to garden city in booragoon. http://www.gardencity.com.au/. Eating out is always exp in aus compared to SG but the portions are normally big so 2 ppl can share 1.

Hey sleek,
ah no wonder,oz hub..i heard of Garden City,been there once when my 1st trip there..ya most of the time hub,son n i share 2 plates n my bb will eat the jap ricewif jar food.I like their bb food option at the supermart,alot of variety.I brought in muesli bars fr Heinze n kid's pasta shell etc..but the heat is quite bad.
We walk fr carousel to the train station in the aftern sun,wa....can faint..soooo hot.My gal got roosy cheeks by the time we reach the station..
This is my 3rd time there but 1st time for summer
I always buy essential oil fr frementle mkt when im there but dun buy much fr Target as it'll be winter sale.This time ,its my 1st time at Target for summer sale,waaaa can go crazy..the salegal look at me like ive gone mad when i pass her all the shoes hehe..

Hey db,
yah u mia so long hor
I enjoyed the shoppin this time..i give up on pumpin liao..spoke the ped hen my kids saw her b4 the holiday.She told me bm will not be sufficient for gal after she turn 1,so i thot i'll intro fm to her after next wk so no point luggin my pump n bottles to Aus n hav to stress on sterilizin..i'll still be bf til she weans off by herself

but travellin wif 2kids quite stressful,esp my gal,she keeps cryin whenever she dun see me n wan to nurse all the time,since the trip she's been peak again in her separation anxiety..n she has started wakin up in middle of the nite for comfort suck

chanced upon this thread.. i have been a long member here but i am always stuck at the march MTB thread..hope to join u ladies in Bfing discussion.

Here's a short intro about myself and baby:
SAHM - 12 months old baby ger who is on TBM (direct latch) cos she refuse the bottle.
I have been thinking of weaning her liao, in fact, been thinking seriously about it for about a month but so far no action.
anyone looking to wean their baby off the breast too?