(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

<font color="ff6000">deer2, i got malay fren baby baby name not in thier system, u know those JAWA script type, then she got to choose the nearest one</font>

Long time did pop in here? Last 2 weeks was really hectic! Got something really happy to share. Jr finally call my Mummy!!!! What a sweet sound. hahaha.

claire, how often do u give pediasure?

My jr is a terrily picky with food! Now he dun wanna eat his plain porridge anymore. He likes adult food, but don't have the habit of chewing his food.. though he got 4 molars popping out. Now i'm at a lost of what to cook for him liao? HOW!?!

So did anyone sign up with LNT? TPY got a branch rite? Shd be nearest to woodlands? Any idea how much is the trial class?

bluelily (bluelily)

my gal also got tired of porridge, starting to cook some pasta, yellow noodle, guo tiao, bee hoon soup for her. cos she jus started to have molars, haven really eat alot on rice yet.

my gal joined LNT in the mid term, so far went for 5 lessons at the bugis branch. TPY got branch, the last time i heard is trial class is $100 for 3 lessons.

haven't logged in here for a while, ever since my office banned the website. booo...

Louisa started her cc today...hehs. it was fun. She was so kay poh. walking all over the place, exploring everywhere. But coz she was so excited etc, when it was nap time, she didn't want to nap. When she finally remembered she was tired (which was abt 1 hr into everybody's nap time), she wanted to latch on!!! Cham manz, dunno how it will be when I'm not there. *worried* End up, she had only 1 hr nap and was cranky after that...but just nice, time to go home. so not so bad lah. Hehs.

Tomorrow, day 2. My biggest worry is how to get her to nap, even when I'm around.

<font color="aa00aa">morning mummies!!!!!

bluelily,
wow...your Jr has finally called u mummy.
faiq takes his porridge occasionally.
nowadays i made lots of food just for variety.
so far he had macaroni soup, mee suah, steam egg, stir fry veggies, veg soup, macaroni n cheese, baked macaroni, macaroni bolognaise, pan fry fish, baked fish with cheese, tofu n chicken nuggets, whole wheat pancakes, sandwiches (tuna, cucumber, tomato, peach with cream cheese), baked potato and he loves salad...plus lots more.
sometimes he will take rice with the dishes.
loves rice too.

LNT trial is $300 for 3 lessons.

csi,
on saturday me, hubby and faiq went down to lv again.
has finally registered for Jan 2010.
by then he will be in N1.
faiq was so happy there..not afraid of the teachers..can even hold their hands, walk around and pull them to play the toys and gym stuffs with him..hahaha!!!
glad to hear louisa is adjusting well to school.
i have the same worry as u..as in how to make my boy fall asleep at the designated nap time.
hope louisa transition into cc will be a smooth sailing one.
soon will be my turn liao..</font>

hi Lynzi, CSI,
the school would do the job to train the kids to nap. At least for my boy, now he sleeps 1time nia a day about 1.5-2hrs. in LV, they typically sleep after lunch (i suppose that's why he put on weight).But usually on wkend he'll tong until he's super duper tired then only kong out. At night he'll kong out at 9pm.

Lynzi
what kind of ingredients do u put into the macaroni soup/ mee sua to make it tasty? i'm bad at cooking.

Jeelo
I see that most CCs will let them sleep around noon. What time does Shawn sleep and wake up on school days? Cos i tried letting my boy nap once on weekends and he gets cranky by 6-7pm. N if he falls asleep too early at night, he gets up around 5-6am and will fall back to sleep again and sleep until 8am+. Like that how to go to school?

Eve,
Usually it'd be around 9pm, and he sleeps till about 7am. I tried putting him to bed before 8.30pm, he sleeps till about 7.30am a couple of times. If we pass 10pm then only make him sleep, we'll suffer before that. He'd turn cranky. I suppose the playgroup really tire him out on wkdays.

I don't put in much effort to make Shawn's food tasty. I could just boil the 2tbspoon of minced pork/chicken. Add some peas/wolfberries/green veg. And then the noodles or pasta. And serve. Taste horrible actually but it is a quick meal to make and he eats. So ok la

Jeelo
I see... so usually by the time they come home n have dinner, will knock out very soon right? seems like v little time to spend wif them after coming home. wonder how to squeeze in time to cook dinner.

<font color="aa00aa">eve,
i will use stock to make the soup base, then add in fish, veg like carrot, spinach, broccoli, cabbage and must always add wolfberries and tofu.
faiq loves wolfberries and tofu..hehehe.

jeelo,
now faiq naps once a day but not at a specific timing like after lunch.
he always nap before lunch like around 10.30 or 11am.</font>

Thanks Lyzi for sharing the LTN cost. Wow not cheapleh.
Actually at a dilemma, not sure to send him to enrichment class or not. He like running around and short attn span. Right now, he can oni says dad dad and no other words...sigh. Any advise?
Just got his boosterjab last Fri. The polyclinic doctor and nurse ask aren't you concern that he is not talking?
Some of my frens say their child start talking at 2 yrs old so I thot it shld be ok, right?

starz,

we went for the trial at LNT parkway and we paid $100 for 3 lessons. I went with another dec mummy. our kids really enjoyed the lessons and they preferred LNt than shichida so we had decided to sign up for the next term.

jeelo,
yap. think the school would be able to do that. hehs...with some (or a lot of) crying involved. Louisa has always been napping at the same time as LV's schedule (12.30pm to 3pm). But I guess the different environment gets her all excited...for now.

Every morning will have kids crying. My heart goes out to them manz...

<font color="aa00aa">starz,
apparently i read that most kids especially boys will start talking around 2.
i told my hubby, im already prepared to go to a speech therapist if faiq still has not spoken by age of 2.

miracle,
u went for the trial?
good rite?
oh btw u went with who to the trial?

csi,
at least with the nap time being the same louisa wont have so much problem.
every morning got kids cry?
if the kids cry for a short while then later stop when the parents are gone should be ok rite?
i think most kids will still have that slight separation anxiety.
the 2 trips i made while the kids were in, i saw that all looked so happy and well adjusted.</font>

miracle, u went for the LNT n found it good huh? hmmm.. i'm not a hardworking mummy, i scared i bring my girl go then on other days i dun practise with her den it would render the classes useless =(

i got sr some flash cards and really not disciplined enuf to go thru dem with her daily leh.. feel so bad =(

starz, if u really r worried den go c specialist to 'buy' u some assurance. Being parents, although we noe diff kids develop differently, we would still compare to other kids and b worried when our kids fall back on development..

slimz... hi! ya it's a natural instinct to compare... but gotta give our bbs e space to grow n develop at their pace.. else we'r jus gonna be so kancheong everytime. smthing i gotta learn myself. heehee.. fyi.. in e end, we din sign arvin up for d'story. considering GUG n LNT. aft mtg u, we went n scouted arnd for othr ccs. eventually i realised i'm not at all ready to send him for cc. i think it's a personal thing la... can't let go n get smone else to look aft him... maybe also coz my mom can still handle n of coz if can get family to look aft tt'll be better. so eventually we ended up getting a domestic helper. so far so gd.. she follows arvin n helps my mum whenever nded.

starz,
if it's any consolation to u... arvin doesn't 'talk' much either.. still babbles... i havn't gotten my 'mummy/ma/mama/amma' frm him either

hi any mummies who do flashcards daily?

nd adv. do ur bbs allow u to hold the cards to flash or insist to touch n hold them now... arvin used to sit n allow me to flash the cards. but last couple of days, he insists to hold them... he stil 'reads' them but like this how to intro new cards.. ie.. flash them to him at eye level etc. is this a natural transition frm flashing the cards to them to them actually reading the cards in their hands?

Slimz, Agree with you, that is exactly the kind of feeling I am in now.

Gee, I feel better after reading lynzi n mimeole comments. Will just monitor and wait till 2 yrs old. Hopefully by then, there is some improvement. I have thot of flash cards too. But like wat slimz say got no discipline cos after working very tiredliao.

Mimeole, If your boy holds it, will he crumpled the cards?

Miracle, So you will be signing for a term? Is it also at $600? How many lessons per term? What is the duration per lesson?

<font color="aa00aa">mimeole,
i do flashcards daily.
nope i dont let him play with the flashcards cos it will make him think that flashcards are toys and not for learning so if i keep letting him play with it he wont take flashcard time as something serious.
i do have another set of picture books and those normal kinds of flashcards just for him to hold, look at and toy with lying around for him to pick up as and when he likes.

slimz,
yup must be quite diligent in order for the lessons to be effective and stay relevant for the child.</font>

lynzi,

i went with li-anne.

starz,
yes i m signing for the july term. we went for the weekday class so its $550 for 12 weeks. each lesson is 1hr.
i am a lazy sahm ;) my son is not going for any playgroup yet so i thot this LNT is good exposure for him n he can learn at the same time. li-anne n myself actually pick up some jap too! my son enjoys the memory games n fine motor skills training.

if u r interested u may pm me for their current promo now!

lynzi,

every morning, got A LOT of kids cry. aiyoh!! some can cry until vomit. wah lau. some are toddlers, some are older kids. I see also heart pain.

I just left Louisa to her teachers. heehee...I left when they went to shower. I was waiting outside, just in case lah (more like, I cannot let go. hahaha). The teachers tell me she's ok. Cry a bit, but when they explain things to her, she can understand and she stopped crying. Phew! heehee...so now I can go enjoy my lunch. Some kids, explain to them, they will still continue crying...

Think some kids will stop crying after a while, some can cry the whole day. The past 2 days, there was this 2 kids, that cried every waking moment! The only time they were quiet, was during nap time. poor things. But think today they are better already.

louisa would settle in soon
Last time Shawn took like 2wks b4 he stopped crying during bye bye time. When i pick him up in the evenings, he oso drama cry with me like why did i leave him there. Now, we part happily in the morning and greet each other happily in the evening.

<font color="ff6000">Stef cried fr first 3 weeks at cc, really need to be strong for all this crying stuff. at the 3rd week of cc, wen i fecth my gal she is crying with dun noe why, then got one of this mother come and asked: "oh she is ur gal ah, yoooooh y cry untill like that, u know my boy 2nd day cc won cry liao"

u know mummies, immediate my tears dropped infront of her. my feeling is down and upset.

i've trying hard to be strong all this weeks, cos of her comment really making me down</font>

<font color="ff6000"> thank GOD that she stopped crying and happily say bye bye to me in the morning. sometime she even dun want to go hme wen i fecth her.

Sorry to that mother for i cannot be fren with her, cos she is so motivate-less and "hao lian" hhahahhaha</font>

jeelo,
hahaha...yah lorh. she cry, I also cry. cham. but ok lah. I think the teachers have also found the style of coaxing her, which works with her...haiz, seems like mummy is the one that needs coaxing now. hahaha...oh, but I realised how strong louisa is. she will struggle (twist and turn so much) and pull away from her teachers...and she is so fast. her teacher put her down a bit, she sprints off to the door. fast...

is Shawn still under infant care? I'm wondering, for the toddlers, if they arrive in the morning, still sleepy (or sleeping), how ah? So far, I dun see anyone arriving asleep lah (except louisa). haha.

oh lynzi, forgot to add...I think why this period of time got a lot of crying kids, is probably coz it's the June school holidays. some kids probably went for holidays with parents and older sibling. so now they have to adjust all over again.

CSI, hehee hang on there. you'll get past this stage. yea, he's still under infant care. Next month to PG. Now everyday he mingles with the PG kids and teachers liao.

i can't manage shawn esp when he wrestles and kicks me off from carrying him esp when he demands to WALK WALK. He's a tyrant!!! Now throwing tantrum in public is like a very norm thing. we realised that he bullies us (my hb n I) then anyone else. Granduncles and aunties manages him easy peasily. Uggghhh!!! plus now with my mood swing, I lagi cannot tolerate his behaviour.

sunshinesummer, yea think that mom is just so proud that her kid stopped crying at 2nd day. Pls la all kids have different adjustment rate ma... indeed veri haolian :p

wah sunshinesummer,
that mother is so terrible. so hao lian. buay tahan. Can totally understand how u felt. Hmmm, now that I have time to think about it, if I come across such a mummy now (though I dun think it would coz it's daddy who would pick louisa, heehee...), I think i'll probably retort back: "yah, coz my gal and I have very strong bonding. If the bond is not as strong and she can't wait to get away from me, I think she probably won't cry after the 2nd day too." *hiak hiak hiak*

CSI..
ya true... was gonna tell sunshinesummer e same thing too... her bb loves her more as compared to the woman's. LOL!

Starz,
i am using the YBCR cards. no doesn't crumple easily. at least for nw.. this 'new' habit has jus gone on for 3-4days.

lynzi,
arvin's not playing with them. he jus insists to hold them in his hands n he diligently 'reads' ie. does e action for each card. so in tt sense it's ok. he is actually reading like a bk... but tt's not hw e flash card process works rite? hmm... confused.. hoping it's a pasing phase.

<font color="aa00aa">sunshinesummer,
oooh..that mother is horrible.
most kids will take few months to fully adjust leh.
how dare she say that!

csi,
oh thanks for that good comeback.
will remember that if anyone say the same thing to me later.

miracle,
oh, btw lianne has moved to the east rite?
i forgot liao.
oh, and who are u?
i cannot seem to recall.</font>

sunshinesummer,

I just use cotton bud (those meant for babies) to dig out. hee...but must wet it first...I think it's easier and go gently.

CSI,

dun worry... ur ger will adapt soon... the worst case i ever seen for a child to adapt the sch is 2 months! Hehe...

About sleeping 1x, i changed my ger to this routine many months back... at 1st, she will get tired easily... but give ur child some time, they will get used to the new routine quite fast. My ger sleep time is abt 1pm to bed and she wake up ard 3 to 3.30. And bedtime is 8pm and wake up ard 6.30am to 7am.

hI ladies,
Hee, back from a trip! Totally rejunvenated!
2 weeks bonding with Ryan pays off, he can say or pronounce many words now, or try to repeat words after me
Haha, but he also mispronounces certain words and it sounds really funny! Like 'fork' becomes 'f**k', the 4-letter word.

Wow, your boy is steady man! My boy oso had a haircut by his daddy last week. Cry like mad like someone beaten very hard. End up a lot of lobangs on his head like chinese saying kena bitten by dog...keke.

Hi to all Dec mummies,

I am new to this thread n my 1st born was also a dec 07 baby. Would like to join you mummies in this forum.

I have only just started my gal on full rice diet. But I have very poor cooking skills so would like to know what do you mummies cook for your little ones? And what do you all offer for tea break apart from bread n cookies?

Desparately need more ideas on what to cook for my gal.

I think Louisa shd be able to adapt quickly...but anyway, hb decided to withdraw her and put her back in when she's older (fickle-minded man! hahaha). She had nightmares every night. She screams "no! no! outside! outside! Go there! Door...open! mummy! Daddy! bao bao!..." And when at home, shd won't go inside the room. Go in, she will want to go out and stay out, hanging on to me.

That's one of the factors hb considered before making the decision. The other trigger points were:-

(1) During the 3 days there, Louisa didn't eat at all (didn't eat breakfast, lunch and afternoon tea). And she didn't drink much water (except her FM feed at abt 12.30pm - 1pm). and she didn't sleep a wink at all. I'd think it's normal lah, afterall, she was so excited abt new surroundings. But he felt that the teachers didn't do anything to try to ensure she gets some food or water. Why didn't they do anything? Coz they were so busy attending to the other crying kids. It happened that the day he saw all that, Louisa's teacher was on MC. And the mother tongue teacher was the one handling everything, and basically, they can't cope.

That same day happened to be the day a few kids were vomitting. At first I thought they cried till they vomitted. But subsequently we found out that these kids were down with stomach flu. Without much food, water &amp; rest, Louisa also caught the stomach flu. As of yesterday (Sunday), the centre has 19 kids with confirmed cases of stomach flu, 3 teachers with stomach flu and 1 HFMD. If it's the common flu, we're still ok, coz which kid dun fall sick? But stomach flu...it kinda got to us.

(2) We're not quite sure how stomach flu spreads, but their std of hygiene is something that we're not that comfy with (ok, maybe we high std lah...). That day her main teacher was on MC, we happened to witness this boy pee on the floor (it was in the toilet, but still...), but no teacher noticed it, and another baby/toddler, walked on that boy's pee, fell, butt landed on the pee. The teacher just picked up the other baby and continued to put on that kid's diaper, not realising what has happened.

(3) We noticed that after their nap time, during the diapering time, unless the kid poops, the teachers don't rinse off their butts. Just remove old diaper and put on new diaper. I'm not sure if other CCs do that too, but hey, even adults (ladies) go restroom, we also wipe ourselves right? But, admittedly, it is not easy to have to coordinate a few crying kids, and change their diapers at the same time. Kids will cry after their nap, coz some are still sleepy...

(4) Other times, we see the kids so tired and sleepy, that they just sprawled on the big bathroom mat to sleep (those kind you place outside your bathroom to dry your feet), and everyone had to walk around them.

I guess some of these things can't be helped lah...it's not easy handling so many kids at the same time. But we felt that the teachers can't cope lorh. So decided to wait till Louisa's body is stronger/tougher, such that she is less susceptible (hopefully) to germs etc. So now we have to take the steps to help her be more independent and by the time she goes back to school (after 2 yo), hopefully it will be easier for her. Hehs...

o man, the centre's standard of hygiene totally don't sound good at all and that's a lot of cases of stomach flu and even spread to teachers?! anyway, hope Louisa would get over her "stay" there soon. poor thing... having nightmares...hugs...

<font color="ff6000">hey CSI, which sch Louisa in liao ah? the cc sound so bad. well, maybe quite a number of cc is the same.. actually am quite envy of mommies who could stay wif thier bb at the cc for 1st few days. untill now i dun even know wats had happen at Stef cc. like wat she eat, is she Zzz well, who she meet etc...

i found that they shld NOT take in so much kids, especially todds if they dun have enaf manpower.. bt still if got business who dun wan rite?

I understand hw u feel, i was stressed for few weeks for all this here and there things, i even called the school "founder" the one who own the cc to 'comment' about all the stuff tt i cannot accept.

untill i realised that i CANNOT be keep continue like that, if not i will burst!!!

here then i decided to let go, so long STef is safe there, eat well, rest well. it should b fine.

after all i hv a thought that parent is the main factor for bb who goin to cc, if we dun have the confident &amp; not ready for cc we mindswell wait till we ready, is just like kids wen they start thier toilet train lo.

Dun wori CSI, Louisa will be STEADY one day.

Cheers</font>

ooh...I realised I can log on from work...just very very slow. haiz.

Jeelo,
yah...was quite surprised too. coz thot that centre was quite ok one. Thanks for the hugs...

sunshinesummer,
true lah...maybe other cc also the same. just that we dunno only. To me, it was...if I'm there and they already can't cope, then what if when I'm not there? Is my child being cared for?

That's why we thought, maybe when Louisa is older, perhaps she'll be stronger and tougher by then lah. Then send her to cc again. Think you are right...haha. parents need to be ready for cc first...hahaha