(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

i dunno.. want to scold IDIOT also cannot coz dunno who off the switch!!! I pump one time nia in office coz he only drink one time in daycare. that's why no stock liao...

He is under the weather again. He had sudden fever on Sunday morning 5am hitting 39degC. Touchwood no more fever until now. Cough like dunno what and puke out his meals. double sianz!Think I got to pump extra time to build up a bit of stock coz I'm still reluctant to let go nursing.
Problem lies with me...

my daughter fell ill on day aft v-day as well n her temp rose up to a whopping 40.7! i tink i almost died. but doc was damn cool. he prescribed her wif antibiotics n panadol. n advised me not to breakdown cz i tink i was delirious. lucky thing, she got better e following day. just wanted to b nursed all e time.

wah.. why our kids fell sick on 15Feb de???

anyway, now, while i'm eating my lunch... i just feel like killing the person who switched off the switch... darn...

jeelo..

u damn funny. mayb u shld paste somethg abv e switch after this terrible incident. somethg that says, "switch off and ur head goes off as well" rem to hv it translated in mandarin/malay, dependg on lang e cleaner understds.

hello, this is the master of defrosted BM speaking. steffie and jeelo, remember my whole fridge of defrosted BM? i went through that and i reeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeally understand the shitty feeling. but jeelo, at least i knew the culprit for my case - it was THE husband. i must have killed him a thousand times in my mind. i still talk about it today.

Tub and Jeelo,
Hee, my hubby and I are not fair at all. Wonder why my son is fair-skinned.

Jeelo n Steffietan,
ARGGGG!!! Oh my!!! That's alot of damage man! 250 bags!

Feeding
Still not giving my boy outside food. If friends or anyone ask, I'll just said that I am a control freak
Haha, no one then dare to feed him anything else. So far ok

cocoangel,
yah lorh. heng manz....yup, my BIL didn't do anything. Maybe he also subscribes to the reasoning, that it will make the boys healthier? I dunno lah. hahaha. Just counting my lucky stars...

cloverluv,
Oh my....your ILs also quite jiat lat. Why are some grandparents like that leh? hahaha. Haiz...

steffietan,
oh my!!! 250 bags!! That's a lot! I would be so pissed. But, Alexis (did I get the name right? heehee...) is past 1 yr liaoz, so, dun be too hard on yourself. Can use it to soak your feet...at least give your feet a treat.
They will be smoother, and those callouses/corns (if any) and dry skin will be so nourished and smooth.
That's what I did to my expired stock of EBM when maid didn't do a proper job of handling them...

jeelo,
jia you...just have to be more hardworking with the pumping now...grrrr...but, dun let that get you down.

steffie
glad that you've still got your sense of humour

tub
Congrats! I just had a similar conversation with hb this morning when he was sending me to work today. Asked him when he's going to be confirmed and if he'll get a raise...he straight away guessed that I watned to stop working. He said the best I've ever heard, asked me to go ahead and plan, and tell my HOD early so she can find replacement! Yippee!

was just talking to another fellow colg. she had to throw away 3L... wah.. i oso heartpain for her. her bub is just <6mths old... faint...

my hb was q nice..he feels so bad abt not 'jaga-ing' the milk (cz this job is under his jurisdiction) n i had to be e one consoling him cz it affected his mood at work n lost his temper at e workers. wahh..

claire,

wahhhhhhh..tts good news.

tub, claire

congrats to u both for deciding to stop working to care for yr kiddos.

steffie,

fwah... 250 bags of milk. gosh. u really good leh. i can't imagine accumulating so much milk! nowt hat its gone, i'm sure u also heart pain! u plan to pump more to built up new supply??

claire... hehhehheh welcome to the club!
i was thinking wat to do with little susu at home when she's not attending childcare. i'll still send her for cc, prob 3 hours a day so i get to breathe and do some housework or run errands.

steffie, u dun really have to pump right? if A latches on and takes the milk from the source...

tub/ botanist,

i pumped becz she gets her fill fr one side only (small eater) n i'm v afraid of lopsided-ness (happened w #1) but yes, ive slowed down alot on pumpg.. sometimes i only express out for her cereal..anyway, my hb cleared out e freezer last nite,,, pails n pails of bm were thrown away.. i wasnt even anywhere close...aft he finished, he looked like he did somethg murderous..he felt super bad..wat to do...

oh n we found out e culprit for tis, it was none other than alexis herself..we found out tt t thermostat knob was right at e bottom n e helper remembered seeing her crawl ard there touchg it..so there u hv it...

other than cereals or purees, can u moms share wif me wat other food u feed ur bbs wif for breakfast? A has been rejectg e abv of late n prefers bread n stuff..BUT she doesnt hv many teeth to begin wif! only 2 teeny weeny teeth jus cut thru..how to chew laa?

pancakes , hotcakes , kueh ( all minus the sauce )and bread for breakfast! this is on top of the cereal + puree. kekeke

I give L bread (plain or with apple puree as spread), yogurt, cheese, oats, scrambled eggs, hard boiled egg yolk. The bread has to be teeny bits lah...coz no molars...

We usually gives him yogurt with fresh fruits or dried fruits like apple, raisin, apricot, cranberry... intend to give bread and pancakes liao

steffie, i give susu egg yolk and bread at times. can chew la... cos bread is really soft wat. i think jeelo suggested rolled oats the other time but su doesn't like.

Steffietan
Could it be Alexis' way of telling you she wants something new other than BM? :p

The 'food strike' has struck me. QJ has been refusing porridge, soup + rice or anything I cook for lunch and dinner. He has been sustaining on bread and more bread and yogurt. Big sigh.

steffie,
can A gum her food well? probably by giving her small pieces of bread or any other food with soft texture she can 'practice' and will be able to 'chew' even without teeth?

same with many here...my alternative to cereal for breakie including scrambled egg often with tomato n mushroom added and bread,typically with cheese (ds loves 'emmi',nt as salty as many other brands...) or other purees...pumpkin,avocado etc

valeriet,

ya..actually now she lagi action papaya..she actually chooses e side she wants to b fed on. best. but at least there's alternation. hahaah..

dinut,

yea, she seems to b quite good at it apparently. i'm not surprised if she tinks she has teeth. she loves eatg watever we eat, which is worryg cz we all hv teeth n she doesnt hv many of it..haha..

hi steffie.. condolences on the milk.

jus to update.. arvin sprouting his first tooth. jus cut thru. yippee! last to the finishing line but victorious nontheless.

mimeole.. that time i went PD, she told me her clinic nurse's daughter's 1st teeth came at 3yrs!
so no worries =D

slimz... wow! at 3yrs.... tt's a reaaallly long wait.
well totally understand tt bbs got their own timeline for everything but cannot help to be concerned. but ya getting less kancheong wif time.

Woohoo! I found the way to QJ's stomach again ---Bovril. He ate the whole bowl of porridge+fish+spinach. I'm so pleased cos this is the most he had eaten for lunch/dinner in >1 week.

Hi Muumies,

I need some advice. My son (also born in Dec07)is still not sleeping thru at night. Some folks say give him water when he wakes up at night. I tried but he reject it and started crying... He still wants his milk... I've no choice but to give it to him...

Any ways to get him sleep thru?

cheryl,
it may be something that he needs time to grow out of. My colleague's girl was born Oct07 and she's still waking up once a night for milk.

hey mummies who still breastfeed,
Have you started weaning yet or would be continuing till your child self-weans? I've been trying to start the weaning process, e.g. giving FM and trying to avoid nursing if I can help it. But, the result is that Jerielle wants me to feed her even more. Every now and then, if she has nothing to do, she'll cling onto my legs and wouldn't let go till I feed her. Then before sleeping ,she also needs to feed, otherwise she can't sleep. These days she's been waking up once or twice at night and cry till I feed her back to sleep. She has already been sleeping through for a couple of months and now she's back to waking up again. Is this normal? Do you experience this?

At this rate, I feel like giving up weaning and just feed her till goodness knows when.

Steffietan,
You can give scrambled eggs with tomatoes and cheese. Bread is alright. Just give bite-sized. pieces. Fruit, like banana. I think even with 2 small teeth, it's alright to give food that needs to be chewed. Perhaps, that will help massage her gums and encourage the teeth to cut through?

rachel,

err..i learnt not to deprive her fr being breastfed. e more i resist, e more she gets erractic w her 'requests'. so i only feed her bfore she zzs. her sleepg habits are so far OK (keepg fingers crossed) but she does wake up at least once in e middle of e nite for comfort feedg. aiya, i know i'm lying to myself when i say she'll self-wean anytime soon. at tis rate i'm going, i'm sure i'll cross e 2 yr mark. *gulps* ..just last nite, i spoke to a lady n guess wat, she allowed her daughter to suckle till 5yo, despite NOT hvg milk already!! her daughter just HAD to suckle for comfort. MY GAWWWD!

steffie, i'm in similar shoes as u ... i tried letting sr cry it out a few nites.. but end up she kept hitting her head against me .. =( gave in lor..
and yes, she does wake up in mid nite for comfort suckle .. and by 5plus morning will have real suckling for milk..

Hi deerdeer,

I gave him meat+vegetable porridge at about 6.30pm and gave him his usual milk (Gain IQ - 180ml) at about 8.45pm before he sleep.

Tried to give him more milk, but he auto-stop at 180ml.

i tried to ignore his "request" at night, but eventually gave in... asked PD before, he also says they will grow out of it.

But with my #2 coming, I am hoping he can sleep thru...

slimz,
the other time when u brought SR to wild wild wet, did u bring yr own float or they will provide? is the place friendly for bathing them?

ehh..sr din like her own float =P its a white elephant .. oni use once nia..
wwwet has lifevest for diff weight groups.. hee.. she din like to use it .. can c her twisted face from here
2178219.jpg

we din bath her there.. we brought her back to bathe.. furthermore, she fell asleep aft her "swim"

hmm.. so can still bring our own float there right? it does look uncomfortable on her.

thinking of buying a float. not sure if better to buy those where they can sit in or buy those that can put on the arms.

Eve
Speaking from my personal experience, if Ethan is already very familiar with water / swimming, then you should get him the arm type so that he can have more freedom to move around. However, if he is quite new to swimming and water activities, a float which allows him to sit in will be better.

Steffietan,
Hearing from you, I feel somewhat comforted that I'm not alone. Most of my friends weaned off when they became pregnant.

Slimz,
Was that a baby lifejacket that you put on your gal? COs if it isnt', it'll more dangerous than helpful.

valeriet
Thanks. THis sat is going to be Ethan's first swim. Probably will get him the sit in float first, then later on buy the arm float ones.