(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

noelle n botanist,
after his bath at 6 in the evening my boy will nap for 1 hr then he'll wake up and play with daddy and sleep again from 9 pm til about 7 am,sometime til 8 or 9+...he gets restless few times past midnite but with eyes remain closed.
sometime i'm worried he's restless coz hungry or his diaper's wet but many times it's not,he won't open his mouth even when i try to feed him til i worry he'll get starved!
recently he'll wake up with eyes open big big 1-2 times at nite but he'll just talk to himself,his elephant plush toy or the mobile...then he'll go back to sleep by himself..

joanne,

ur gal is so adorable leh... i always think bb gals are cuter

botanist,

alamak i nvr knew bbies hv reaction to book :p..i do read for my bbies, but i din notice if they hv reaction :p...i just buy any books that looks simple enough.ooh i had a series which is very good, but i search high low but cant find them on sale here... a series of very short sentences with animals as the theme... my gals liked them

joanne,
for me,i establish routine by trying to do the same things at around the same time everyday (but flexible,rather than rigid)...so baby knows what to expect eg after wakes up in the morning,he'll get his first feed,then he'll have his bath then if weather permits i take him for a walk then he'll have his morning nap (if he wants another feed at this time,i'll feed him again)...try to see your baby's pattern so can establish routnie easily eg whether her feed can last her 2-3 hours? etc...
i believe some mummies here use the EASY method,as in EAT (feed baby),then do an ACTIVITY then baby SLEEPs and finally Y for what ah? ahahah i think YOUR TIME (as in mummy's free time)...
but for myself sometime feed first then activity but sometime baby not interested in feeding so i do activity with him first then feed then sleep...

WOW! Haven't been in here for 2 days and I've missed out so much.

SAHM
A big salute to all mummies who gave up promising careers and financial independence to be SAHMs.

Baby carriers
BECO so nice! But I've got a Baby Bjorn already (2nd hand) ... and my hb will surely make noise if I buy another one. So I'll keep a lookout the next time I'm out, maybe I'll spot one of the Dec mummies with your BECOs/ PIKOLOs/ERGOs

Pumping
These days I pump every 5-6 hours (getting very lazy) and I get about 300ml in total. My boy is not drinking as much so I have lots of frozen bags in the freezer. Sometimes there's so much supply that I don't know how to manage.

Rash
My boy has a VERY bad case of rashes. Initially I thought it was heat rash, but it developed into something very nasty - his whole body is covered with red patches (in clusters, like world map!). I took him to the pd the day before I started work (i needed a peace of mind) ... did a lab test and concluded it is not a fungal infection but an allergy. So doc asked me to stop eating (get this) (1) all dairy foods (2) wheat (i.e. all bread & biscuits) (3) corn fed meats (4) soy (soya bean drink, tofu, etc) (5) peanut.

It's very tough because I survive mostly on milk and bread everyday. Not eating them is like asking me to fast! But no choice ... for baby's sake, I have to keep to a strict diet of mostly fruits and veg now.

I believe I'm one of the older mummies in this thread, although I very much want to be forever 25! heehee ...

Weight
I lost all 13kg I put on during pregnancy within 1 month. From the 2nd month onwards, I lost even more weight. I'm now 3kg below my pre-preg weight. Can fit into all my old clothes and my shorts / jeans / skirts are in fact very loose. Sometimes I'm a bit worried about this weight loss. I swear I'm eating more than normal and I don't even have time to exercise, but why do I keep losing weight?

Books
I only have 2 colourful board books for my boy - ABC & 123
I think the heavy-going stuff can wait. Don't want to stress him at such a young age.

my boy is on pacifier but recently he prefers his knuckle, thumb & fingers more than pacifier. Sometimes when he's on pacifier, he will still try to insert his finger into his mouth!! hence pacifier & finger in his mouth. Many times we push away his fingers but still .. sigh

wah! really salute the mommies, reading to your babies!

hi valeriet,

its normal to loose alot of wt when u ate TBF.I loose alot of wt too with my #1 n #2 time esp when i ret to work... i was as light as 41-42kg tt time though i eat alot, so i was the envy of many female cols hehe.

botanist,

i read ladybird books to my son and he loves them.. i like those big board books that come with sound.. eg. the Noisy Fairy Tales.. bought from Tokomama last time. my books were all bought during #1 time.. karen katz, Dr seuss etc

i'm thinking of buying eric carle's books.. any BP coming?? *WINK* or any recommendation where to buy them cheap cheap?

hi all, been some while since i came in here.

seems like i dun loose that much weight even though I still on TBF leh...lost some but still 7Kg above the pre preg weight. thk coz i eat alot too...sian...

valeriet, envy u leh, lose so much weight!

while im a SAHm for the time being, I find not so much time to do reading etc...already doing the GD program is a lot liao! where to find time to do all the housewk??

check with BF mums here, I still latching on mi gal but these 2-3 days, she's being fretting at the breast after a while. even though I try to latch her on again on both sides, she'll cry. dunno why like that coz i do have milk but thk she's frustrated at the slowing down of flow. any way to keep her latching on?

Dinut,

Ok i will monitor her & hope can establish a routine up soon.

Books-I have yet to start reading books to my gal. Seems that some mummies here are dillgently reading books to bb. Really Peifu Peifu

I'm from the 2008 Jan's thread, since my gal born 01.01.08, I figure that I should join this thread to get better information. :p

My gal turning 3 months next week. Wonder how much milk does your child drinks? I'm partial BF her now, since my milk is little, always top up with FM. Now back at work, I ask MIL to give her either 150ml BM or 120FM every 3hrly. since FM is not easy to digest i give a bit lesser. I can see her bloated tummy every time i got back from work, not sure I'm giving her too much to drink.

I'm trying to boost up my milk, can only produce 100ml every 3 hrs. Still sorting out good pumping time in office. hai....

Sleeping Pattern
Ha! my gal's sleeping pattern pretty bad. Dosn't nap well. her naps always last for 10min-30min. then wake up wanna play or just cry n cry. Anyone have this problem? Night time at least could sleep for 5hrs. I let her sleep yao lan in day time and tummy down in cot during night, she sleeps better tummy down, or else I die, cos she wans me to rock and pat her in my arms before fall sleep, and will definitely wake up if i put her facing up.

cookiemz,

i wrote to a local website to ask if can offer better pricing on books if we buy in a larger bulk - i believe quite a few mummes here would be keen to purchase books for their babies..

hope i get a favourable reply

pierced,
me oso TBF .. oso eat alot .. haha.. so till ve wt to lose =P

alien,
i dun read nursery rhymes.. hahaa .. i sing them..coz we got the nursery rhymes cd from kiddy palace (5 cds) and i play dem to my dotter everyday .. but now i start work le, ve delegated this duty to my mum ..
but my mum cant sing .. haha.. so i sometimes will sing some while i latch bb on wen i'm hm..

suddenly my eyes beam again with the magic word, BP! haaha!

slimz, me too i got the nursery rhymes cd from kiddy palace but mine is 3 cds one. i actually sing to my boy whenever the cd is on hehee. And since the cds doesnt come with the lyrics list, i went internet to compile the list.

haha...linda u very Onz mummy leh, still can compile list of lyrics from the web.

I only can remember some of my childhood ones...the rest all forget liao.

slimz, i got some books from www.babysoft.com.sg. quite good buys as above $80 got free delivery.

i bought this "wee sing , children's songs n fingerplays". it comes with a 64-page book n 1-hr cd. i counted there are more than 70 songs with lyrics n some are illustrated by the use of finger motions/fingerplay. i was told the teachers in shichida are using this cd . i bght mine from kinokuniya but always out of stock so i placed an order n it tk them abt 1-2wks to restock. retail price is $17.33 but i paid $13+ after 20% during eir member sale.

previously i bght some cloth books at $5/bk during the mph warehouse at sin expo, if i don remember wrongly they r having a warehouse sale at expo again, starting fr tomorrow. can go there aft visiting d baby fair.

i cant sing lah.. dun wan to end up baby and hb laugh at me.. keke.. iread for him whenever i feed, bath, diaper change him.. he likes it thou

Re: Cup Size

Yes i got a hot figure cause boobs so big then waist look smaller .. But very ugly lor .. I dun like boobs so big ..

My tummy still flabby leh .. Mainly cause i have c-sect .. So cannot so excerise .. During pregnancy i gain 20kg!! now left about 2 kg only ..

Re: Baby flipping

My baby flip at 11 weeks .. Now i also got problem when changing diaper .. Can't seems to put diaper on properly cause keep wanting to flip!!

mel,
you're so funny. don't like boobs so big. You can still work on your core muscles even if u had a c-section. Go on your hands and feet, tug tummy and backside in and hold that position for abt 20 secs. Increase as you get stronger. Swimming should be fine even with c-section. But, of course, with green light from dr la.

My gal did something so funny last night. I put her on the cot, sleeping facing the side as per normal and after about 20 min, I went to take a look at her, she was at the top of the cot lying facing the top of the cot at one corner. So funny. Dunno how she got there. Any one of you had that experience as well?

hihi...so may posts to catch up with here.

BP queens in motion again. Now its books. Anyone organising bp for eric carle?? I have checked at borders and kinokuniya.

Eric Carle soft copy books are mostly around $14.93. Board books are at $16.05 - $17.07. Eric Carle ABC at $11.72. Brown bear and friends gift set is at $49.76. Papa please get the mmon for me board book is at $18.90.

If anyone can get cheaper than that will be good!

haha lynzi
the bp queens already very happening at yahoo group now. i.e. drugstore spree...

i think this week book fair is by times. Usually quite worthwhile to go. Children books r very cheap.

hi alien, can advise which california baby wash tat u buy for malcolm? wanna switch the bath & shampoo to CB as well. thks

mel, i'm interested in diaper clutch..

there's a BP for eric carle book in the forum but dun find the price cheap as compared to outside. in fact, certain books seems to be more ex.

jas, me also using CB babywash for Sarah. I'm using the Calming Shampoo and Bodywash. Bot from a mum here. One 17.5oz costs $25.50. U interested cn pass u her contact. Tink its quite cheap. A mom even wanted to sell me hers for $30!! Saying its the cheapest she cn gimme. :p

zu, i also stock up the cream hehee! cos jovan's hiao mummy oso used, hehe!

btw, my jovan flipped 360degree today! so excited! first he was flipping to lying on the tummy then he flipped again, back to lying on the back.
Ok la, i sound very excited, but i finally see him flipped cos the first time he flipped to lying on the tummy, i didnt manage to see it.

<font face="Bradley Hand ITC"> Went to the beach today... took photo of my Pikkolo in Somerset. Dunno is it Pikkolo or just my L plate sumo cannot facing outward. His both inner thighs were like cramped, they turned red. So got to carry him inward and he kept licking my shoulder strap. Picture below - he KO already</font>

1309708.jpg

missylan,

your pikkolo nice nice!! did you try tightening up the crotch area to allow your sumo's legs to hang more comfortably?

Missylan, i ordered burt's bees baby travel kit n e powder to try. I rem u bgt e powder, hw is it? I oso using their lip balm n onintment cream. Verdict? GOOD!

botanist / alien

My 2 becos already arrived liao. Both metropolis n cocoa butterfly all very nice.

Missylan
my mum asked me Y i buy 3?? becos. haha. I told her for friend one, but didnt tell her only one for friend, the other 2 r mine.
Hb haven seen yet.

constance,

hhaha how long can u hide from HB? Dun say.. i will be picking up my sky temple fr missylan on sunday.. then HB surely ask.. "Huh?? thought u bought pikkolo only..!>!??!"

our yahoo group DEFINITELy more happening than here! Hahah all the exciting deals are happening there..

hi alicia,

Drinking Pattern:
My boy jus turn 3 mths last wk and now he drinks much lesser than usual. Now can drink 150ml to 180ml, lasting for every 4-5hrs and he drinks v fast! Weighing over 7plus kg now. Think if she is able to drink, then it is a gd thing cos got a fren bb takes 1-2hrs to finish a bottle of milk. So my sis always said, it gd ur son drinks well...

Val, u are a winner man!! Losing more than ever.. many of us wonder why tt is not happening to us... *sob* hahaha

botanist
I confess already..
never get scolding leh, mayb cos he haven ask me how much per beco yet. haha
Anyway, hb say cocoa butterfly prettier leh.
like that i also dunno which one to sell already. Tried cocoa butterfly on my no 2. She is practically laughing with joy when i piggy back her. thinks i am a galloping horse. haha