(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

wah, some of you mummies can get gynaes to give you hospitalisation leave ah...good also. then can rest well. My co have hosp leave lah, but dunno how to get gynae to give me that leh. heehee...I'm just lazy lah. Although I'm in office 7am to 8pm kinda timing, it's already pretty relaxed...so it's just lazy me. kekeke...

higgledy,

I also use the breastpump during my stay at gleneagles for my first girl but they charge me rental per day and I didn't use it much. I don't have milk then. I think I will bring my own breastpump this time.

valeriet, after a talk with my sis, i think i will get Dr Low to deliver if bb decide to pop during that period when Dr Sim is on holidays.

can anyone recommend a paediatrician at mount e?
my gynae doesn't 'choose' for her patients and i have no idea which paediatrician to go for after delivery

durians do "wonders" to the babies' weight! at least for mine. hahaha

my baby was "obese" during the detailed scan coz during the first 3 mths i had durians. after the scan, i had to avoid durians to bring my baby's weight back to average.

Constance, thanks for the info.

Bluelily, you can go and check out the website www.breastfeeding.org.sg

They even have breast pumps that u mommies can try first before u decide to buy one. For those looking for the lansinoh milk storage bags, they do sell them too.

I have decided to start my maternity leave tomorrow liao cos really very taxing now..Cannot sleep at nite due to leg cramps and contraction..Walk also difficult, so decided to take maternity leave and start resting at home in order to "store" energy for actual "D-Day"..

coco,
no la, i'm still working. I thick skinned asked from her during the last visit about getting a letter to allow me to work from home. but she said give mc/hosp leave instead. i didn't take the last time i visited her. would get from her this saturday. and i'll probably stay home n do nothing from early dec onwards

jean,
rest well and relax at home ya.

Hi CSI
I took a lot of durians during my first few mths of this preg too. Gynae warned me abt it cos worried my bb will bcome too big. Now cos of premature contractions, hoping to let bb gain wt in case i go into early labour.

I wanna start my ML too!!! But I wanna use it closer to delivery date so I can spend more time with my babye. Dilemma! Every morning gotta drag my sorry ass to work!

Wonder if Dr can gimme hosp leave to stay at home 1st.

hello Fairylander

I am from the feb thread - can you share with me your hospital cost for c-section? I am also delivering in glen-e as well. tks!

hi fairylander,
my boy is in SCN blue zone. i was at SCN yesterday evening with my parents and saw a couple in the isolation room with a baby gal.. was that you?? my mum was saying that the baby gal was so fair and pretty

i will be at SCN around 12 - 2pm later to meet with the lactation consultant for my blocked ducts. maybe will see you there

wow, i m not the onli one having sleepless night.. i have been like tis for past 2 days... Sun afternoon took a small nap, then whole nite cannot slp.. After Hubby went to work. ytd requested to work from home. after lunch took a 1.5hrs.. then again, at night cannot slp.. argh!!!!

Can't wait to stay home too...

so u ladies managed to get hospitalised leave? My gynae dun seem to be on with this idea...

constance,
for good durians, you can try 717 trading at Kovan area. It's somewhere near to Highland Centre and they have a few tables set up for people to eat on the spot, just like Geylang. It's just along the road so you will not miss it for sure!

and for those who think their bosses are slave drivers and you need more rest, do discuss with your gynae about the possibility of giving you hosp. leave to rest early. don't be pai seh la... your little one is more important!!

dodo,

didn't work for me leh. Gynae gave me MC for a week yesterday. Now I am sitting infront of my PC working from home. Boss has been calling since 10am...and thou I am on MC till coming Sun, boss jus called to inform me there is going to b a bz. lunch on Friday =(

bad night's sleep for me too. Every night past midnight then zzz, and get up in the middle of the nite to pee. Then early in the morning my #1 will wake up and force us to wake up too. oh man, cant imagine when this one is out, how much zzz will i actually get. and coz my probably relief teachers are taking their a-levels now, havent even confirm who'll take over yet! will definitely have to be on call during ML liao...so tempted to take nopayleave till June hols, but I worried will affect PB and connect plan.

Hi dodo
I stay at P21, near Kovan. Everytime our car will pass by the fruit stall you mentioned, but didn't really notice the durians there. Will tell HB tonite.

ooh...the durians are at Kovan...aiyah, so far away for me. heehee...just drooling over the thought of eating durians. *slurp* my bb is now 2.9kg at week 37. Dunno how much more she will grow...kekeke...

Hmmm, constance, yah, true...it's a good idea to just eat some, to try and boost baby's weight before u deliver. But also impt to eat good food in the rest of your diet.

i m suffering from tummy cramps everyday, long stretch for few weeks already.. its painful kind, anyone has this experience?

btw, just a suggestion, you may want to put a pack of small wet wipes in ur hosp bag. it is very useful for cleaning the bottom after big biz coz wet wipe is softer, less abrasion (bottom will b painful after natural delivery). since its wet, easier to clean the poo on our bottom too... i have been doing this for my pass 2 delivery, a friend taught me n i find it works

hi coco,

u mean dr tan gave u hosp leave?! so nice!! i asked for it last fri coz i m very tired already and work is stressful too. worst is i hv been having bad tummy cramps for couple weeks.she checked and say i m 1 week away from delivery yet she refused to give me MC and insisted i start my ML if i want... so sad.

fortunately my company has flex work and i am working from home whole of this week and start my ML nx week

claire
at least ur #1 wakes u up only in the morning..dun know why, my gal has been waking up every 2 hrs and asking for milk for the past week........mum says maybe she knew didi will be out soon, so start to be manja

t&p,
well, normally it is like that if you have no backup yet. tell your boss you need to handover your things!! for the time being, bo pian lor but at least you will not be going in office so will be able to rest more.

as for biz lunch, just tell him u r on MC, how to go?? u better dun go else he'll think you are still fit to work despite being on MC!

CSI_Fan, u can try AMK Hub NTUC, cos i remember seeing them i think 2weeks back! lots of them! hahaha... but normally i get the durian puffs, love it so much! haha..

Steffi, my #1 gal also like tat & she'll cry in the middle of the nite, seems like for the past 3-4weeks oredi started!! though she's sleeping in the living room with my hb, & me alone in the room, but i still hear she cry badly, & worst if i appear, but i so heart pain to juz sleep when she's crying... hope she gets better after didi is born...

Heehee CSI
Nowadays i keep on eating junk food, eg potato chips, ice cream. Best part is, my hb and son join me. My mum sees us like that, can only shake her head.

Hi blessed
is your cramp like menses cramp? I have been having menses like cramp and backache for past few days. Heng my gynae gave me a week of Hosp leave to rest at home.

i cant take durians for now, bb is already 2.6kg and gynea already commented that he is quite tall, so i bttr siam durians, hehe!

o btw, seem my feet back to normal, last week i could see they were swollen a bit... Hope they stay that way..

Constance,
Oh you too? Lately I've got this cravings to eat chips, ice cream, fast food.. all junks!! And i wonder why?!!! Seems like i'm not alone ;p

Blessed,
Yah dr tan gave me a week's of hospitalisation leaves, very surprising hor.. when she asked me to take off, i thot she only meant yesterday cos of the contractions then when i confirm with her, she said 'no, for rest of this week' but i tink its bcos of the side effect of the med, will cos heartbeat to increase and she said i cant concentrate working. sure enough, i din sleep the whole nite last nite!! was beating so fast tat i felt flushed then headache.. kept tossing and turning...

I was having contraction since Friday nite. It is just so strange that these contraction will just go away in the Morning. On Sunday morning, my contraction starts from 2am and I tahan till 4 plus am finally decided to check into hospital to see what is wrong.

Was strapped on to the CTG machine to monitor my contraction. There was indeed contraction thus was admitted. Nurse check and found that I am ardy 2 cm dilated and bleeding started after she check.

Gynea came by and check and say need jab as baby is still considered premature so it will be better to have an injection to mature his lung. The injection takes 12 hours to take full effect. After the injection, my boy decided not to come out after all as the contraction stops.

I wasted my whole Sunday in the delivery suite watching TV and trying to sleep. As soon as I am discharge, my contraction came back.

I have been having irregular contraction every night from 5pm to 11pm. Anyone facing the same problem as me?

hi constance,

YES! like menses cramps and backache, to me its painful tt's y always awake whole night coz cant sleep.

Like I told coco, my gynae refused to give me any MC (same gynae as hers) even when she checked and say 1 week away from delivery.... but lucky my co is very flex where working is concerned... so i work from home whole week this week. i wonder y my gynae so strict with me on MC, i do hear other friends managed to get MC from her to rest.... she is very popular with pp from my co, mayb she want to keep her reputation.

Linda,
Some ppl said if swollen feet goes back to normal, its a sign of delivery soon? ehehehe...
I think i better watch wat i eat now cos i dun want baby to grow too big, my gynae said tat my pelvic bone is not extremely big, dunno if she meant tat i will hve problem delivering naturally

blessed
then after we used the wipe for big biz in hospital, where to throw the wipes? For me think din get to poo in hospital le...haha cuz hor no sai le haha but the nurses will ask one hor cuz they want to make sure u can pee and pee before u go home...

starry70,
my hospital bill came out abt 5k.
gynae deliver fee =$1800
epidural =$500
hosp stay =$2450
tis exclude my baby bill coz my baby was in nicu.
u can claim up to $3200 from medisave.im having emergency c-sect so its abit expensive.if normal delivery wil be cheaper.

cookiemz,
i was wearing a dark blue jacket i duno whether u saw the right one hehe.i was there since 4pm till abt 8pm.ur boy in which bed?what name?i wont be gg to see her til tis sat only my hubby wil go coz my mil dun allow me to go out too often.all the best to u n ur boy

ladies, thks for the concern. No lah.. my boss din ask me to work during ML. Just that my col was thinking he might. But anyway, I'm entitled to the leave.. so I will reject bluntly if he really ask. I'm betting he wont, he's ang mo with 4 kids loh. He shd know best.

coco, Al, we got the same fate as me. I also no handover yet. No one to handover to. Actually, I dun mind working, just not stay late and not too stress loh. So, today I'm going home early no matter wat. Dun care. :p Maybe I'll try complaining to gynae.. see if he gives me mc to rest. But I prefer to mc later leh.. so can mc till ML all the way. hahaha! See how ba. I got many days of mc left anyway. :p Al what you say is very true. I better relax till bb full term.. then after tt pop liao work not my biz already. :p Bb most impt now.

For hospitalization leave, you can just take without prove of being hospitalised? I always tot need to stay in hosp then can take.

BBnGG, i think i same as u, last week the contractions will start in the early morning, but nowadays it always start after 7 or 8pm.

I am too paiseh to ask for hosp. leave as I will be on leave from 1dec onwards, so just tahan a bit for another week and i out of the office for the following 13weeks! Afterall, i already handover most of my work to my collis, so it's just staying in the office shake legs, surf net, etc, hehee!

Coco, huh, u don't scare me la, really har, maybe it's just a myth, :p

Bluelily,
I also prefer to take MC just before my ML then can rest all the way liao.. like now, i dunno if my work will pile when i go back next week!! actually my gynae wanted to give me 1 week of MC but when she asked how days of MC i hve got left, i told her only a few days bah, she wrote me hospitalisation leave instead. but must stay at home lah...
i also dun mind gng to work but cannot leh.. too many things and sure work late. poor baby suffer leh.. everyday must wait till 9pm+ to have dinner.

Linda,
maybe its myth hehe.. i also heard from my sil 2 weeks back.. tats wat happened to her. maybe only coincidence :p

Hi bluelily
sometimes hosp. leave can also mean homecare, so dun have to stay in hospital actually.

hey linda and BBnGG, my contractions are only in the mornings, but back is breaking. Backache killing me.

Blessed, very siong rite? Now can't sleep well, got contractions and backache, and still got 2 elder kids to take care of. Poor us....

blessed/constance
you too very steady le got 2 kiddos to take care and pregnant with 3rd...any helper or anyone to help out?

BBnGG,
ya.. i also normally have contractions at nite... also dunno why. so far, its not as regular that i need to alert my gynae.

Hi blulily,

I am sure your boss will not be like that . this is becos Ang mo mentaily very different from chnese boss. once your are on leave they will try notto disturb yuo cos they themselves dun liketo be disturb.

Linda same as you i will be on maternity leave from 3rd dec onwards. looking forward to the leave men.

Dinut, i believe you were asking which PD is good in ME. Well when i gave birth to my 1st one,
my gyane gave me Doc Kenny Ee from kinder clinic. he is very good but the cost is also very exp. kinder clinic has manay doc and their office is in paragon. I tried to bring my gal to see normal GP when she is sick , however only after she takes medicine from Kinder clinc then she will recover. every time burn a big hole in my pocket.

Saw alot of mummies bringing breast pump to the hospital .. I ever ask a mummy (that is from breastfeeding support grp) that is bfing her 3 kids and she told me that we should pump in the first place .. After we delivery we produce colostrum .. Which is to protect our baby's intestine .. If we pump, we are coating the bottle with colostrum and moreover colostrum so very difficult to pump out ..

She advised to latch on as much as possible to let the baby suck colostrum and simulate the milk flow ..

Excessive pumping will cause engorement as our breast might think we are feeding twins .. We should concentrate more on latching in the beginning then concentrate more on pumping and how how much we have .. Once latching is stable, our body will produce what our baby needs ..

What she say does make sense to me .. So just to let u ladies know about this ..

hi coco,

I was on the same med for my 1st preg and on jab every week... but aiyo dr tan nvr gave me any MC to rest.

meanwhile take care of urself and rest well

hi gina,
thanks for the info...dunno if the doc is willing to pop by mt e anytime? coz looking for PD for delivery...afterwards i think i'll just go to clinic in the neighbourhood.
did u deliver #1 in mt e too?
i'm also searching info from mummies who delivered in mt e regarding bill size...anyone knows someone who delivered in mt e recently? or is there any threads on this?

mel,
huh... we shouldn't use breastpump in the first place as breastpump will not simulate milk supply. When I use breastpump, I will not feel the womb tightening effect, only when bb latch on then I will feel womb tightening. In fact, we shouldn't use breastpump for the first 3 weeks, best is to latch on every 2 hours UNLESS yr bb do not know how to latch on well or don't like latch on. Use it when milk supply is high liao. For my #1, I used breastpump for the 1st week and I had unsuccessful breastfeeding, that is why I learnt my lesson and was advice not to use breastpump for the first 3 weeks.

hi Etelle,

i treat the wipes as toilet paper n flush down the toilet bowl (same for my home if i use it on my elder gal). I will pass motion in hosp! coz my bowel movement seems very regular, 1x 1 day hehe.

hi constance,

ya shiong, coz my gals are closer to me then my hb. i do hv a maid to "help" out, but she only do chores and not handle my kids.. my hb help to bath the gals.. making of milk will b my hb or maid.. but bedtime, has to be me.

hi coco,

sigh... just my luck. but thank God i get to WFH this week... quite similar to MC only i need to be seen online :p and ready to ans any calls/qns

Hi all MTBs,
Request for Stool Softener, before you all discharge from hospital. I dare not push as there is a wound there... so request for that, ah boh scared constipation!

<font size="+2">STRIP Ministry of Waxing</font>
Sorry aah, that time someone recommended a lady at Wheelock to do the waxing... what is her name huh? In fact, how is the procedure? Can explain in detail. Me virgin leh... Wanting to try.

Yes missylan .. Is better not to use breastpump on intial days till breastfeeding are stablise .. Most importantly is latching not pumping .. Just latch and latch .. When everything is stable can start to pump to achieve let down for storing milk etc .. As for sahm can don't even bother to pump .. I didn't know i i've bought breastpump long ago .. zzz

Excessive pumping will cause breast to produce alot of milk which baby might only be able to drink foremilk and not hindmilk which will make them full ..

Actually i have no idea on breastfeeding .. first time mum .. Wanted to bf for long so went to research and different people said different things .. I choose to believe what it really make sense ..

wow cocoangel,
ur gynae so gd...let u have 1 week hospitalization leave...

den realise tat u have the same gynae as me....

now i see her weekly...this wk im seeing her..tot of next week see her den ask if she can give me 1 week mc....

u think she is flexible in giving mc? i heard frm one of my gfs shes not...i sianz liao....

coco, ya urs work till too late liao. I work till 7pm go home 8+ already v hungry. Cannot ah.

Anyway, I'm going to apply leave later liao. I'll take 18th, 19th, 21st, 24th Dec annnual leave 1st. Provided I dun pop by then. So effectively, 17th onwards I can be on leave. No need to waste the 2 public hols. *evil smile* Hope gynae can give me mc for the last wk.. so I can cancel n save my AL. :p Better to give boss and exact date when I'll be on leave... then they wont push too much work to me. hehe