(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

Oh, oh...I just thought of it...

What other costs do we have to consider when engaging a maid? The banker's g'tee, what else?

Hmmm, Twiggy, I'm going to go through my cousin's fren (not sure of agency's name though. Can help u ask).

miorei, wad u mean by rich? Not good is it? Which brand u use.. maybe i shld change.. those who are applying.. apply liao.. wont see SM is it?? am i seeing the correct thing ...

i just went to one agency with my hubby ytd.. pay in advance wadever the maid owes the agency. usually $2500. beside that the agent fee..
indo maid cost : $300 - $350 Fresh
Phil Maid Cost: $450

The agent asked mi not to fire phil ones. .cos they are more problematic. Better hire fresh ones.. then got to train them patiently.

mine due in DEc. the agent said can hire liao.. cos got to train them.. do those admin thingy..

Agencies got package fee, from $99 onwards. Then they got package, like within 1 year can change up to 3 maids etc. The lesser the employer pays, the more your maid is going to pay for herself.

Then most agencies, we got to pay upfront for maid. Usually is $2200-$2600. The wages are from $280-$310 fro fresh Indo. Filipino, I don't have experience.

Got another fee which is the insurance, it will cost ard $100. This insurance is to insured the security bond, if your maid runs away from your house. So far no other money involved liao.

for mummies looking for maids,
i went to Nation... the one where Xiang Yun is the poster gal. They have many branches and I went to the one at Jurong East. This was recommended by a couple of my friends who were happy with their service and their maids hired. you can check out their website at www.nation.com.sg

As its the first time I am hiring a maid, I need to take a test, a new regulation that came into effect recently. I took the on-line version which is so much more convenient. I paid about $30+ for this test. You'll need to pass the test before you can hire a maid. you can go to www.mom.gov.sg to find out more.

At the agency, I paid about $600+ in total, which includes the admin cost etc, and also some basic insurance for the maid.

the lead time for the maid to come in could range from one to two months, depending on whether the maid you are hiring has a passport or not. As I am hiring a freshie, she had no passport and extra lead time is required to do it. Thus, my maid will take about 2 months. She's coming in end-Oct to early Nov.

CSI Fan
other cost includes medical check up,Personal Accident Insurance (some agency will include within the agency fee). Entry test think is around $60. Starting next year employer have to buy dunno Medical/Hospital Insurance (forget is which one liao) for the maid. [not very sure if this apply to all existing & new maids or only NEW MAIDS employed in Year 2008]

Twiggy
My agency is at People's Park, my cousins & aunties all uses this agency. So far my maid is quite good,she got initative & already familar with my housework. she started in Aug, actually plan to have the maid in oct/nov but due to the increase in salary got her in earlier, so still at the old rate.
Think u might need to get the maid in slightly earlier coz still need to train her, she also needs time to adapt n familiarize with the new employer.

hi amy, what is the name of the agent that i went to..

dodo, wow.. got to pay 600 plus first time.. on top of the salary.. wow.. a lot of $$.. oh no.. broke man

Mine is from JPB cos my SIL happens to befriend the lady boss. I was with BestHelper and that agency really cannot make it when problem occurs.

BestHelper's maid not as up to standard as JPB cos I went there few times and the Indo maids know how to sing up to standard nursery songs etc. Though, their maid might need to wait up to 6 weeks or more, I can see that they really come out of a good school.

Besthelper's maid know no shit and dare to "recommend" a so call highly recommended maid. Think their maid bribe the school for a good review for the local agencies here.

i am having a bad lower back pain at my right hip now... ai yo.. every step I take is a torture! It's fine if I am sitting or standing though... Anyone can advise what is the cause and what can I do to relieve the pain?? Thanks in advance!

just went for my checkup today. tmrw will be wk 32. baby weighs abt 1.9kg... doc says normal weight. but looking at some of yours, mine seems a bit small. anyway i guess, it's akright as long as baby is growing healthily & doc says ok.

jasmine,
i just asked my gynae if there's any scan in 3rd tri. he said no need. will only be doing the strep b swap test at wk 36.

T&P,
are your cramps painful? if not, shd be braxton kicks. maybe u want to call yr gynae to confirm?

Symphysis Pubis Dysfunction (SPD)

What is the common condition that makes standing on one leg or climbing stairs unbearable for some pregnant women? Christine Hill examines SPD
What is Symphysis Pubis Dysfunction?
The symphysis pubis is the name given to where two bones meet at the front of the pelvis. The pelvic bone is roughly in the shape of a heart, and is actually formed by three bones, which are held together by very strong ligaments.

The bones meet to form three 'fixed' joints - at the front (the symphysis pubis) and at each side of the bottom of the spine (the sacro-iliac joints).

Normally, these joints are not designed to allow movement. However, when a woman becomes pregnant, a hormone called relaxin is produced which loosens all the pelvic ligaments in order to allow the pelvis slight movement at the time of birth.

For some reason, the ligaments occasionally loosen too much and too early before birth. This means they can't keep the pelvic joints stable so the pelvis moves, especially on weight bearing. All this is made worse by the increased weight of the growing baby and sometimes the symphysis pubis joint actually separates slightly. The result is mild to severe pain, usually in the pubic area, and is called SPD.

What are the symptoms?
The most common is pain and difficulty when walking. Some women describe the feeling of their pelvis coming apart. The pain is made worse when turning in bed or doing something that involves standing on one leg, such as climbing up stairs, getting dressed and getting in and out of a car.

The pain is generally felt in the pubis and/or the sacro-iliac joints, but can also be experienced in the groin, the inner side of the thighs, the hips and in one or both buttocks.

Is there any treatment?
Unfortunately there is no way of tightening the ligaments again during pregnancy, so no treatment will be able to cure SPD. This includes any sort of osteopathy, reflexology or acupuncture. However, after the birth the body stops producing the hormone, so the ligaments tighten up and (for the majority of women) the symptoms gradually disappear.

So what can be done?
The most important thing is to avoid doing anything that aggravates the condition, such as standing on one leg.

Sit on a chair to get dressed.
Be very careful to get into a car by putting your bottom on the seat first, and then lifting your legs into the car.
When you get out, lift your legs onto the pavement and then lift your bottom off the seat.
If you go swimming, don't swim breaststroke.
Always turn over in bed with your knees firmly together.
Make sure you get a rest (in bed) every day.
If you already have a child, you will need help, as you will find it difficult to lift him or her.
If the pain is severe, ask your GP for a referral to a physiotherapist, ideally one who has specialist training in obstetrics and is called a Physiotherapist in Woman?s Health. She or he will be able to assess you and may fit you with a pelvic support belt, which helps to stabilise the pelvis. Your GP will also be able to prescribe painkillers that are safe to take in pregnancy.

During labour and delivery
It's not really possible to decide in advance what position you will deliver in, because it all depends on how your labour goes and what you find comfortable at the time, but it is useful to have a few ideas. The most important thing is that the doctor or midwife who is delivering you knows you have SPD.
You will need to keep separation of your legs to a minimum - which is the tricky bit during delivery. If everything goes smoothly and you don't need an epidural, you might find it comfortable to deliver on all fours, kneel up against the back of the bed or lie on your side with your upper leg supported.

If you push in a sitting position during the second stage, do NOT let your feet be placed on your attendants' hips.

If you need an epidural, remember it will mask the warning pain of SPD as well as the contractions and the above is even more important.

If by any chance you need an assisted delivery, which requires you to have your legs in stirrups (lithotomy position), it is vital that your partner reminds your midwives that you have SPD. They will be very careful to lift your legs up together symmetrically. The same applies if you need stitches after your baby has been born.

Most women recover spontaneously soon after birth, but you will need to rest (as much as possible) and avoid doing anything that provokes the pain.

So if during delivery, have to keep the separation of legs to a minimum....can meh? I always thought open up bigger easier for BB to come out....

CSI
For my gal, my gynae actually help me by pushing both my knees together, towards the tummy.....

BTW, mummies with KKH, have u all book the package for delivery liao?

wow... i oso having pelvic ache.. only when i toss and turn and just wake up... dunno serious anot... walking i'm still ok...

belle:

i find the gallenic 1 not as moisturising (i.e. rich enough) as i've v dry skin. using oil or cream will prevent me from scratching my skin too much.

missylan:

thks for sharing the info. i muz tk note on how i manoveour myself on bed & when boarding transport. :p

jeelomeelo & eve:

r u ladies still experiencing the discharge? mi still getting watery discharge on n off. not as much as b4 but still not like the normal 1s which we shld b expecting. :p

miorei
me getting more watery discharge nowadays...not those clear one, more yellowish....was puking this monday and the discharge just gushed out and wetted my pants...luckily i was at home then....otherwise it will be very embarrassing

CSI
No leh..last checkup was in week 28...maybe still too early...will be going next week...just that hubby not around to 'pay' ...keke

So did u opt for A ward? btw, when's ur edd? see if got any chance to meet u there....

thanks, missy lan for the info! so it looks like my back pain is related to SPD! ai yo.. no remedy ah... *faintz*

I just called my gynae and the nurse advised me to rest in bed more so that there's less strain on the back this way. And when getting up from sitting position, to use your hands for support to lift yourself up. That also relieves strain on the back.

watery discharge
i also have watery discharge le...and yeah like miorei abit yellowish one...by the way was diagnosised with having fungal infection le..have to treat with medicine...gng gynae next wed to treat. Think they say insert pessary into the V area to treat then be okie le....

Steffi,
Oh i see...my check up on week 27, they didn't ask me also and I forgot too. Then when making payment for week 30 check up, the nurse asked me lorh. So I guess yap, they'll probably ask you the next round. heehee...

Yah, I opted for A ward, coz 1st one mah, want hubby to be able to stay in as well. My EDD is 7 Dec, but a lot of pple look at me now and say my tummy looks big (maybe coz I'm small size lah) and looks like will come out early. haha. Me now in week 33 liaoz. Approaching week 34.

eve,

thanks! think i'll monitor and check with my gynae on my next visit! I didn't noe braxton kicks can be like tis. Tot it's only the hardening of the tummy..

Mummies delivering at GlenE,
Do you know if we really have to bring diapers and wet wipes to the hospital? According to the "What to Bring" list, it's stated we have to bring our own, plus maternity pads too. But lots of pple told me these are provided. Do you girls noe? Esp those who have attended the hospital tour?

MTBs who attended antenatal classes by Mrs BB Wong at TMC. How do you find the classes and her teaching? There's so much hype about BB Wong, but I think she's over rated. Not sure if anyone shares my sentiments?

Note: I'm not out to ruin her reputation. Just wanted to see if I'm the only one feeling that way.

Thanks Twiggy & VoNn....feeling relief now.
Ya i think i am scaring myself...Thanks thanks

T&P i will be delivering at Glen E...I went for the tour too. I havent prepare anything for myself but i guess if we really need diapers and wet wipes...it can be purchase from the hospital.
What abt the nursing nightgown? (with front opening)
Did anyone of you bought..I cant find any in Singapore.
Maternity theme sell but at $79 and design is lousy

steffi,

i have not booked my package yet. seeing gynae next week, probably will book then. have you decided which package to take up? our EDDs are very close, maybe will meet u at KKH kekeke.. ur girl was overdue right? did your gynae tell u whether #2 will be early?

my gynae said #2 will most probably come early for me as well.. if so will coincide with his year end leave!

u still puking in 3rd trimester ah?

dareve,

i didn't buy any nursing nightgown... quite hard to find nice designs with cooling material. those that i have seen so far are too thick for my liking... i managed with either button front pyjama sets or t-shirt with maternity/yoga stretch pants during confinement. when in hospital, i wore the robes provided by KKH and draped a shawl around when i have visitors.

Dareve,

You can look out if ur house nearby has pasar malam...Me bought 2 night gowns with zip in front..Very comfortable material also...6 bucks each only..

dareve
u can try mothercare, bought from there previously (4yrs old), still wearing it. Plain colour with buttons in front, very comfortable. I think it comes in a pack of 2pcs @ $49/$59

etelle and miorei,

u gals have v infection too? me 2... i went to a gynae near my place to treat the thrush yesterday as my own gynae doesn't open at night. really itchy so can't tahan anymore. he inserted some cream in the v area. then gave me some external medication to apply. however, today, i notice some warm milky white liquid/discharge flowing out. is this normal after such treatments?

how do we know if our water bag has broken? cos i read that sometimes it's just trickling and we may not be certain...

steffi:

cld it be thrush? is it smelly? u shld chk wif ur gynae abt tis. :p

etelle:

hmm. mine's all clear. :p sianz. wondering if i shld go gynae again?

valeriet:

i've attended her classes. i found them quite entertaining but this is my 1st time attending such classes so hard to comment. she's always overrunning the lessons until my hb wanna zzz liao. overall, i find them quite interesting.

tub:

i dun think mine's an infection cos i've kena tat b4. diff feeling leh. :p

T&P,

When I went for the Gleneagles Hospital tour, the lady confirmed that they will provide one packet of Pampers newborn (balance we can bring home).

For wet wipes, she did not mention so I'm not sure about that. However, for maternity pads, they only provide the loop type so if you prefer the adhesive type, must bring your own.

tub,
Waterbag broke, you will experience a HUGE gush of liquid flowing out of your vagina... Mine is in huge amount, worse than pee pee. You definitely will not mistaken as urine. Even with sanitary pad on, it will overflow kind of expression.

valeriet,
I attended her class 3 yrs ago, find her class interesting and not at all boring. Maybe then I was a 1st time mum, knew nuts so I manage to learn quite alot from her rather than "they all say hor, cannot this, cannot that".

Hi Steffi,

I oso haven book my package? Think when i go for my chkup next week, they will then approach me on the package ba. Still deciding which package to take up too?

Wa... Gleneagle and KKH are so different. Mine(TMC) booked months ago liao. You all don't scared not enough bed?

hi botanist,
yes there's a pack of wet wipes.

t&P,
if i recall correctly, one bb diapers, one pk of wet wipes, one pk of loop s. pads.

hi miorei,
yes stil have discharge, a bit lite lite yellow but thicker texture, not watery.

hi dodo,
worst case, get a maternity belt. that would ease, i think. get ur gynae to recommend. one my colg who carried twins needed that to support the tummy and have less impact on the groin/pelvic area.

hi dareve,
go to John little at orchard. Karmy ones selling at $9.90 only. after i read cocoangel's post, i went over the wkend and bought 3. :p

cookiemz / joanne
Same as for my #1, will be opting for the 4-bedded ward (how abt u)...gynae did not mention that delivery will be earlier this time round..in fact based on size of baby, edd was pushed back to 1 Jan during the last checkup.

yup still puking..nowadays get hungry easily and without warning, but cannot eat too much all at once.

Thanks for sharing the info on maid agencies. I'll try to give Nation and some others a call to find out more.

Amy, I was thinking to hire my maid early too. But at the moment, it's just me at home. Not much for her to do leh. And I kind of enjoy my privacy now especially since I stay home all day. I have a part-time cleaner who comes in 3 hrs twice a week to do my housework. So I was thinking worse comes to worse if my full time maid takes longer to come, i'll get my part-time in more often for the interim.

DarEve, I think a lot of mummies here bought pyjamas from Karmy. They are sold at most major dept stores like JL, Robinsons, Metro etc. Very cheap, only $10-18 bucks each. Designs are not great but I gave up coz the nice ones are too expensive.

I am also having thicker texture discharge, light yellow in colour. As compared to the early stage of my pregnancy, it is less watery now.

I have check with my gynea and he says that as long as no itch, dun have to worry too much.

valeriet,
initially, I also thot she was overrated. But some things I find quite informative and she can be rather funny too. As for hubby, he was skeptical about her at first (and was making noise at me for wanting to go for her classes - I'm not delivering at TMC, so more ex). Then subsequently, he enjoys her class so much, every week must be there early...haha. He especially like her coz she can substantiate what she says with research findings.

Missylan,
yah, I heard that TMC always very full house. So I guess that's why they have to let you all book first? Then again, even if book already, we still dunno exactly when BB will come out leh. So...how to "chope" beds?

CSI_Fan,
I don't know how they usually arrange. But I got a friend who booked for 2 bedded and no space, she is upgraded to 1 bedded for free. Think if booked 1 bedded, no space, you might be upgraded to suite. Hahahhaa... die die they have to arrange a better room for you.