(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

etelle,
den wher u get the maternity pads...tot of getting cotton types....

leejo....
me lor..maybe getting newbaby...coz i stay in bedok and natal essentials only cater lunch for bedok areas except bedok reservoir..weird!

pretty,
we have the normal scans (those black and white) for everi visit but no print outs lor....
and aso unlike some mummies here still have final scan etc
we dun have final scan...we only have detailed scan done at 5th month and the printouts of our normal scans everi visit is not given to us since the 4th or 5th month...

Belle 08/Pretty,
My gynae will listen to baby's heartbeat then scan the baby but she wont give me a copy of the scan, since week 20. She did not measure my belly leh.. wat for?

Hi 2nd MTB,

A few Qns to ask:-

i) When should i request for epidural to be done? Is it after water bag burst? I heard must top up the medicine every 2 hrs is it true?

ii) Do u feel pain when doc adminster epidural to your back?

I have heard all different comments from my friends who recently gave birth. Some tell me epidural injection is pain some tell me no feeling.

As i someone who is having low pain threshold so would like to prepare myself beforehand cos worry wait i scared then anyhow move, the epidural might inject wrongly into my spine.

Hope someone can enlight me on the above.

just went momsinmind.com.sg to buy nursing bras, disposable panties and bra extenders haha
the nursing bra veyr basic one only $20but buy 2 at $18 each...cuz i be only wearing at home so buy cheap ones..

Joane
i) once u enter into delivery ward after ur gynae come and see you he will ask u if u want epidural le...if not ah when he go off later u want then u have to tell the nurse then they contact ur gynae for greeen light then gynae will ask them to call anesthetist lor..the epidural is in those tube form one not eveyr 2 hr la before it runs out the nurse will refill..but the amt u pay is not by amt of dosage dun worrie.

ii)eh pain is like injection pain lor..not super dying kinda pain la...alright le...something lke draw blood kinda pain...

that time the nurse told me not to move but when epidural was injected i jerk a bit cuz cool feeling running down spine but it depends on hw good ur anesthetist is mah some actions is natural reaction cannot control one...

my threshold of pain also rather low one le..for me epidural injection is alright...before i experience for myself i also ehar horror stories about it but hor once i experience feel okie le normal in jection lor.

My gynae also had not being giving me a copy of the bb scan since 24 weeks onwards. Is it norm?

Normally she will hear the heartbeat then scan & make sure the bb is ok. Thereafter out to cashier to make payment. So my time wif gynae the most 15mins & it is not cheap lor every visit we go.

Amy - eh how come they dun scan till 36 wks? My gynae will scan every time I go there leh.

eve78 - I also stay near bedok res.

jeelomeelo - I bathe everyday with the herbal and also wash my hair and using the normal shampoo and body foam. As for V, I use the feminie wash and wash off with herbal bath too.

Hi Etelle,

So it is not necessary to adminster epidural once water bag burst rite cos contraction dun start immediate.

I'm thinking of adminster epidural wifout experiencing contractions cos i know i sure cant tahan contractions pain.

amy
weird hor first time i ehard of gynae dun do scan one le...i thought only those kkh paying public subsidise one maybe so private also meh?

CSI
i also dun know until after i deiver my #1 the nurse at Mt A put 2 pads one on top of the other then hor it really helps in making the sound cushioned and less pain le..haha dun know la one pad sounds too thin like so near the wound haha...

Agnes
buy from online lor momsinmind.com.sg and its cotton type actually anywhere also hv but think 1 of the mummy once said this momsinmind the disposable maternity undies very comfy so worth trying 5 pc for $3.60 at least have to get one month supply..hee

joanne
when my water bag burst ah i got very mild contraction those no feeling type but u know its contraction cuz it happens regularly like every 15 mins can feel tummy contract....haha thats my thoughts thats why once i admit gynae check me le ask me want epi immediately said yes haha cuz first time mom dun know what kidna pain to expect better run risk..thats what i think then

belle
mine is check the tummy by pressing around then ah proceed to scan...mine also never listen to heartbeat one...

so far my gynae will scan every visit but for the print out he has stop passing to me since wk28. he will measure e circumference of my bb head, tummy & length of the leg.

Hi etelle,

Thanks for your enlightment. Think i will also adminster epidural fast cos i dun wan to take the risk of pain. Haha :0

joanne
no worries share share infor hee

elaine
weird hor...i thought all gynaes scan and definitely give print outs. Mine sure give me one at least le...

hi cocoangel, I've talked to my hubby before and he is very upset about it .. This also cause his relationship with his sister getting worse and worse .. Now things have improved .. Before that she kept bringing her bf home and stay overnight .. Imagine the flat is already so crowded .. Sometimes my hb will tell his parents etc but i rather he don't say anything .. My hb more straight forward and he love me too much to put me in such an situation .. So another way round people might think i'm talking behind their back to my hb u see .. So sometimes i just kept everything to myself and try not to let my hb worry about this .. We wanted to move out and we are trying to rent a flat from HDB .. Right now all we can do is to wait .. HDB says at least we got to wait 6-9mths .. We already decide not to get a flat first as baby is arriving and we don't want to have such a big finacial burden out of a sudden .. Baby, flat etc .. So prioty is given to baby first .. Now we can only bear with it in order to have a better life next time .. My SIL is very young only .. She is about 18years old .. About the room i also don't want my hb to make a big fuss about it .. I know he is going to explode cause of this .. Sigh

Mel,
In that case, bear with it 1st, u can always vent your frustration with us, mei wen ti de
its unhealthy to bottle things up. Right now, just be happy and wait for baby to arrive, maybe when baby has returned home, your hubby will tell them off if they are too noisy, then u dun hve to be the bad gal liao!

Sigh .. Last time my hb, me and his siblings quite close one .. But after that boyfriend incident, my hb feel that having another guy at home is not very good after we got married .. This makes his sister think is cause of me then her bf is not allowed to come .. I also don't want my hb to blow his top .. Sometimes very very fustrating but what to do .. Only can bear with it lor .. Till now i just stay away from this family .. I will lock myself in my room till my hb returns .. Imagine when i'm hungry and wanted to order mac when is raining heavily, my father in law can even insist i eat maggie mee .. I think they even forgot that i'm pregnant .. Sigh .. Which is more unhealthy ? Mac or maggie mee .. Mac is more oily but at least there is meat etc. But he force me to eat plain maggie mee which is not maggie brand but some weird brand that is like 5packet for $1!!! Gosh ..

hi all mtbs!! been busy these few days as my staff is on long week leave, sob sob!! still have 3 more days to go....

anyway, my gynae still measure bb and let me listen to bb's heartbeat, passing me the scan pix....

Joanne,
I advice you not to ask for epidural as soon as waterbag broke or experiencing little cramp cos epidural will have its side effect especially WHEN labour is very long. Mom will experience vomitting, dizzy, think baby will also be affected. Only when labour is too long. Mine 12 hours, epidural for close to 8 hours but me no side effect.

mel,
If you read my postings, I am not a pang tang type of person BUT I believe when pregnant, try not to quarrel with anyone. I feel that it will affect the baby, like something bad will happen. Dunno why leh.

My gynae still scan to see the amount of water inside enough or not, see the heartbeat and measure the head, press my leg(see I got water retention or not) then ok go outside pay money.

missylan, not say pang tang lor .. When i'm boiling inside i feel baby is feel so uneasy and sometimes my tummy will harden and feel so tense up .. I'm not really angry with them but more of feeling hurt why are they like this ..

mel,
I also got some issues... my parents and brothers living together. Haiz... dunno where to start also. All I can say that if brothers marry a good wife, you can sure to see brothers' changes to the better. There is one saying "Hao Er Zi Bu Ru Hao Xi Fu". If the DIL is bad/nasty, the son is gone. If the DIL is nice/considerate, the son remains. How to live with yr FIL when he insist that you just eat plain maggie mee? They are not concern about you even their grandchild lor. Living under 1 roof really needs communication, understanding and the best is close 2 eyes! Pray for your unit. Hahaha... Cool down.

ya lr .. After that day he insist that i save up the money ordering mac and eat maggie mee, i really feel very upset about it .. Seriously i prefer to eat mac than maggie mee if i don' have a choice on a rainy day .. Now all i can is to wait .. Maybe i might go and find those MP and help me write a letter to HDB hoping the flat will come asap .. Seriously i don't want my baby to grow up in that kind of enviroment .. If i got to wait for 9 months i guess my son will even have to learn walking in our small and cramp room ..

Sometimes i'm even thinking when i deliver, will my hb family just go like 'Oh baby is born arh' that's all .. If so i rather they leave me and baby alone .. And i can't imagine how am i going to survive through confinement .. Even now sometimes dinner is like plain rice with fried crabmeat and hotdog .. Yes they can eat that everyday .. Everything is fried .. Makes me vomit when i smell the oil .. Won't be surprise if i end up eating that during confinement .. I can already feel that throughout my confinement, my hb will have war with his family ..

ya lr .. After that day he insist that i save up the money ordering mac and eat maggie mee, i really feel very upset about it .. Seriously i prefer to eat mac than maggie mee if i don' have a choice on a rainy day .. Now all i can is to wait .. Maybe i might go and find those MP and help me write a letter to HDB hoping the flat will come asap .. Seriously i don't want my baby to grow up in that kind of enviroment .. If i got to wait for 9 months i guess my son will even have to learn walking in our small and cramp room ..

Sometimes i'm even thinking when i deliver, will my hb family just go like 'Oh baby is born arh' that's all .. If so i rather they leave me and baby alone .. And i can't imagine how am i going to survive through confinement .. Even now sometimes dinner is like plain rice with fried crabmeat and hotdog .. Yes they can eat that everyday .. Everything is fried .. Makes me vomit when i smell the oil .. Won't be surprise if i end up eating that during confinement .. I can already feel that throughout my confinement, my hb will have war with his family ..

which brand of milk powder is good? Dunno which brand to choose... so many different brands in the market...

hi mel,
don't bottle things up. i guess this is one good place where you can vent your frustrations. If you keep it to yourself, you'll end up stressing/upsetting yourself and the baby only. anyway, pray for you get you'll get your unit soon. take care

mel, can really see u're a very nice person and really can 'ren'!! muz say pei-fu u man!! If i were u, then i would have exploded & move out of yr ILs place long time ago.

wat i can suggest is u go out & have yr dinner or lunch whenever u can now lor, not good to be eating maggie mee or mac everyday. even if u dun feel like eating, gotta think for yr baby, or drink milo or milk lor, get something better & put in yr room lor, so u won't go hungry lor.

yes, agree with all mummies here, juz come in here to vent yr frustrations, we're all ears for u! :D

hey Mel, You are one strong lady! I dun think I would have been able to tolerate for so long...

any possibility of going to another relative's place during your confinement? Yah, maybe you really should go to your MP...like now. Coz baby due soon...processing application etc will take a while too...

Crystalz,
what kind of milk powder are you referring to? Formula milk for baby?

crystalz
if u talking about formulae for baby. Actually its more of your own preference. When in hospital as you don't have milk yet so normally will supplement with FM. Then u can choose the brand of milk u want. Hospital will have. I chose similac for my kiddo

hi all mtbs,

just went for my 31st week checkup and doctor'll press on my stomach before scanning me, listen to baby's heartbeat, measuring his head, showing me his spinal, legs, hands, stomach etc and also my placenta. Baby is estimated to be weighing at 1.9kg to 2kg at week 31.

But he also never print out scan pic for me after my detailed scanning.

Mel,

I empthazise with ur situation..
Seriously, i agree with other mummies here..u are a great person..high tolerance...and think so much for ur hb....
But looking at the food u eat nw, seriously its not healthy at all..how cum they like tat one...
r u able to have dinner with ur hb outside? after work b4 heading hme, go for a gd dinner...
aso, r u able to move in w ur parents during ur confinement?
yes..pray hard tt ur application is successful and come back fast....
yes...try writing to MP is aso a gd idea...at least tat is 1 alternative to a successful application..no harm trying...be preserverance...

etelle,

can i do total breastfeeding?? I feel kinda contridicting leh... Let them suckle more to have more milk.. bb dun need so much milk for the 1st few days... but heard from a mother that her child keep crying and realise she dun have enuff milk and bb keep crying... aiyo

CSI,
ya.. the brand of formulae milk for the bb...

Mel,
Stock up some ready food in your room, in situation where you are really hungry and hubby is not around, at least they can fill up your tummy 1st. Try to buy food back after work, if your MIL is not cooking.
So who will do the confinement for you?
Agree with Agnes that perhaps you can shift in to your parents during confinement.. you need plenty of rest and take care of baby, if they cont to be inconsiderate, you might turn depressive you know..

Mel,
I also admire your high tolerance! I'm too much of a spoilt brat myself. Will never submit to such treatment!

Moving out is probably the best option. Financially it may be heavy, but having such inconsiderate people around will not be good for your child's upbringing. Besides HDB, how about renting just a room from someone else first? Temporary solution until the flat is available.

hi crystalz,
hmmm...my BIL used S26 for the first few weeks of his bb's birth. Then they switched to Similac. Not sure why also. I think it's a bit of a trial and error also...coz some babies seem to be able to take Brand A but not Brand B kinda thing.

hi agnes,
are you going to try out the trial meal by new baby first? seems like we don't really have much alternatives. Another contact for the catering would be Melrose - if you are interested, I can send you the info...

my gynae would just do the normal scan, measure the heartbeat, weight of the Bb...no scan printouts was given since week 24, if I don't remember wrongly...I think my gynae should be experienced enough to know what he is doing coz he didn't even do the detailed scanning for my Bb during week 20...Oops... My Bb weighs 1.5kg at week 30...is that avaerage or big?

I just went for another 3D scan yesterday. But couldn't see bb's face. Doc says bb too big by now, very difficult to see. So only did the usual measurements.

BB is now head down, but his back is tilted to my front, no wonder I always feel uncomfortable when he moves, coz he is punching and kicking me internally.

Hi MTBS,
After reading the last few postings about milk to give to your baby at the hospital, I can't help but mention this.
If you plan to BF, you should not supplement with FM, or you're going to have more problems with BF. At the beginning, if you don't have much milk, the baby can still survive for a few days without feed. After nursing for a few days and trying to feed your baby, you should get milk eventually. And, the more you feed your baby, the more milk you will have.

etelle:

ic. mi dunno leh. thks for the info.

cocoangel/bluelilly/jeelomeelo:

i noe. in fact i got so stressed out tat i kena a nightmare abt tat tis morning. :p keeping my fingers crossed till my bb's delivered. :-S

ya lor. i told my hb abt the breastfeeding oso. i wld feel v weird if my MIL n SIL n any1 else sees me breastfeeding. :p

mama_ash:

sure. let me noe b4 u order.
like ur MIL, mine oso has the keys. wondering how i can cope wif her ard. :p

mel:

i'm sorry to hear abt tat. i hope ur SIL will b "zi dong" abit. otherwise, move to ur parents during confinement else sure cant tahan them 1.

hi agnes/cocoangel, mine is totally no scanning at all (no blank and white scanning), nothing...just listen to heartbeat and measure my belly. all i know is that the length of the belly from bottom to the top should equal to the no. of weeks u're pregnant..eg: i am now 29th weeks, the measurement shld be around 29cm..something like that...i am very sad that i dun even get to see my bb and no actual measurement of head or length was done on her...so how i know if it's normal...damn sian..i asked gynae before, he says no need to keep scanning since it's normal, but how does he know right? there's once i asked for scanning, end up i hv to pay extra just for the b/w scanning and a pic...u see i was on this package from 20th weeks which incl consultation, ctg and duno wat...from then on, 1 scanning at 20th wk, then on 24th wk, i asked for the scanning end up paying for it...from then on, no more scanning...so sad...this fri i die die wan a scan and measurement...dun care if i hv to pay for it...

mel,
do try to make other arrangements for your confinement... you must really take good care of yourself during that period so that you can take good care of your baby! you need to eat and rest well. Going back to your mum's place is a good option if its available. If not, you probably need to get your hubby to do marketing and cook for you during confinement if the others in the family do not care.

take care there and stay positive! I really admire your tolerance level.

mel
you are a superwoman. If my ils treated me like that, it'll be WW3

I'm really not looking foward to confinement. clash of ideas is one thing, lack of privacy is another. And all thru my 1st confinement, felt like i was being bossed around all the time. sigh. Hoping for a natural birth, if csec, wont be able to carry my #1 for at least a mth, i think i cant tahan even if my girl can.

talking abt bfing, my il side actually more zi dong. When i'm bfing, they'll all zao and leave me alone. My own mom and granma will sit next to me and give me a ton of advice (which is quite irrelevant...) until i finish then they'll carry the bb away. When i was in hospital, my grandfather just sit by my bed while i bf. So damn paiseh! Had to ask my hb to stand next to me to block. Sometimes dun understand why they cant be more sensitive. also dunno what to expect this time round. Just pray that my hb will be able to spend as much time at home as the last time with #1 coz he was my main support all the way thru the 1st mth. Being unable to go out to bring my girl for her 1st check at the pd was really tough, and i dun think things will be any easier with the 2nd one. Juz want to spend as much time with my 2 darlings as i can before i have to go back to work.

Pretty,
How much did you pay for the package? Maybe its cheap tats why not many scanning? And if top up, how much do you hve to pay? So sian when you cant see the baby hor... if its me, i would rather pay for it leh.. like very insecure when the gynae only measure my belly.

hi leejo,

i dun tink im getting a trial...
one of my gf whose colleagues tried newbaby recently said the food is gd..she doesnt seem to have any complaint abt newbaby...

melrose? is it gd? heard any comments frm any1 who has tried? u have their website...prob..can provide me with tat...

pretty,
u mean tat everitime u visit the gynae, he doesnt scan for u and so far u did onli 2 scans and no detailed scan???

Mel,
You're really a wonderful person. I'd have lost my temper by now if I were you. Like the other mummies said, do eat well and try to get someone to cook you confinement food later. Can you move in with your parents? Otherwise, I know people who may be willing to rent a room out.

Anyone has problem sleeping because of backache? I wake up everynight and can't go back to sleep becuase of the backache and must sleep in sitting position for an hour or so before I can go back to sleep. So tired from insomia now.

Hearing all the MIL horror stories, I'm quite thankful my MIL is ang moh and doenst have all these pantang interfering ways. Otherwise sure fight one coz I'm very stubborn.

Yesterday I met up with the Cordlife salesperson to sign the contract. And she was telling me that another client of her gave birth in the car!! I was like HUH??? Apparently it's her third child and her labour was only an hour. After hearing that, my hubby asked me to pack my hospital bag today and check what is the shortest way from our new house to hospital. Haha!

hi agnes, ya lor...
20th wk - 1 scan
21st wk - no scan
24th wk - 1 scan (initialy no scan, but i asked for it and pay for it)
27th wk - no scan
29th wk - tis fri duno got scan or not

Same as Twiggy, I also very appreciative that my ILs don't interfere much. Although they are mainland Chinese, and have a huge lot of cultural differences with us Singaporeans, they respect me very much.

Once in a while, they may tell me not to do this/that. I tell them it is ok, no need to worry. And they'll just leave it as that.

There are bound to be many differences in opinion, different ways of bringing up bb. I'm the very firm and stubborn kind. Just keeping my fingers crossed that this peaceful lifestyle will remain after bb arrives.