(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

etelle,
congrats! your bb is so big!

Wah, missylan, that was your weight when u were born? That's nice...I was a 3-pounder (1+kg) baby when born. Dunno how big my baby will be...heehee...

Hmmm, need sterilised cotton ball? Oh...hmmm....didn't know...

hi baked beans,

i've seen the link already.. opps.. didn't know about this at all leh..

maybe i'll ask dr wong this fri when i go to see her about this PD.. see what she has to say..

i realised that the negative comments were about a year old.. recently got a few good ones.. so maybe he's been reading this forum and decided to buck up? hehe..

what do u think? thinking of changing PD? anyway u're giving birth in Mt A right? maybe u can request a PD from there instead od TMC?

missylan,

roughly how much does a sterilised package of cotton cost? if i use normal cotton balls can or not?

pierced,
I am MTB from Jan thread... Heard that Dr Loh will be on leave from 6 Dec to 28 Dec... Do you know who is taking over him? Can we choose a gynae?

Oh no I'm gonna give birth at TMC instead. Maybe u can update me after ur check-up. Mine is next mon.

But yah, the last 2 comments on him seem to be a lil better.

are you all referring to clean the wound with the sterilised cotton? Else will get infection? Just wash with plain water right?

Hope i m not missing anything out...

no problem.. will check with dr wong this friday..

i think we can try him out first and if really dun like.. then we can go to another PD right?

can i ask if dr wong has done any VE for you yet? i'll be in week 38 tmr and to date.. no VE yet leh.. just wondering when she will do it.. hehe

Hi yen, oh isit? havent heard he will be on leave. will be seeing him later in the evening. will ask him about it den. oh no... den who's gg to deliver for mi?

belle,

Tats wat i tot...plain water will do...hehe

wat about other mummies? 2nd, 3rd time mummies...how did u all do it?

I'm week 36+ and she did the VE for me on monday coz baby's fully engaged. I guess it's based on situation?

Dun worry... she's v gentle. Not painful at all.

bluelily
i stayed in the double bedded convert to single bedded new room on first day and today i stayed in the deluxe suite....very nice new roooms.....

missylan
yeah MT A got the sterilising lotion and 2 packet of cotton balls....

baked beans, if nt comfy with the PD, then u switch over to Dr Ong EK, my sis had nothing but praises of him even my gynae highly recommended him, u may want to consider wor.

pierced, aiya, ya lor, this boy of mine har! Anyway i think it will be soon la, since i have some of the signs liao, just a matter when my notti boy want to pop only.

aiya, missylan, just now boh tell me, i was outside, haha, ok ok, tmr then i go and buy the sterilised cotton balls, today cannot liao, one short short trip today enuff to make my back and legs aching with the pelvic pain...

don worry pierced, normally ur gynae will assign one or two standin gynaes for the patients. My gynae is going holidays soon and she already arranged 2 standin gynaes during the period when she not in.

etelle and elaine, congrats!

missycow, my doc also told me today if bb doesn't come out by 30 Nov (my edd actually shifted), then will have to induce her by dec 2. he also mentioned something about placenta ageing... :x

no prob, baked bean, at least in TMC, u have another PD to consider if u not comfy with the current one.

oh ya, missylan, dono if i will be able to see u in TMC, hahaa, in case my notti boy decide to pop on the same day as urs, lol! I will also be bringing the laptop over too.

tub
did she explain what's it meant by ageing placenta?...quite curious abt it....mine told me baby not likely to be early..........keke, so i may be among the last few liao.

hi all, was reading through.. ?? need cotton balls?

my gynae already asked me buy this antiseptic solution to spray onto e wound whenever i pee... nurses @ the clinic just ask me to wash wif clean water after every pee... dab dry, den use the spray to spray onto the wound leh... never say about buying cotton balls....

do we have to buy?

jasmine
spray ah........so coolz......mine is those solution in a blue bottle using cotton balls dabbed in the solution then apply on the wound lor....

hey steffi, angel and jasmine, basically as you approach the end of the pregnancy, the placenta will start to degenerate. won't affect baby very much but if placenta ages, then gynae would most probably induce. i am 40 weeks this week. so i guess u gals don't have to worry as u r earlier on in your pregnancies.

oh ya, btw, for those who bgt the little dreamers' healing bottom spray, u can bring along to the hosp also wor. hehee, i just rem i got this spray and i checked with mama ash, so i think i don have to get the sterilised cotton balls le!

baked beans,

will let u know.. and i'll also ask her about the PD that linda has mentioned.. then post it here..

thanks linda for the info too..

petrina, hehee, i dono, cos i nvr used b4, but it shld be good bah as i saw the ingredients contains lavender, chamonmile, distilled water, witch hazel and aloe vera which ehlp in healing stitches and soothing the skin, it works as a wound and skin cleanser, maybe u want to check with mama ash

pierced,
Hmm... TMC gave sterilized ones and guardian is selling sterilized ones also... come with a plastic tong, so that we will not have contact with the rest of the cotton ball. Very professional!

CSI_Fan
I was almost 9 pounds baby.

Petrina,
$1.80 per packet, dunno how many oinside though, difficult to count. Sterilized ones are preferred cos scared normal ones will be contaminated... wait further infects your wound more jiat lat! Not expensive also lah... we can spend ALOT on cosmetics, skincare... $1.80 is nothing. Not enough to buy a packet of santiary pad since we have been saving for almost 9 months liao! Kekeke....

Belle,
The sterilized cotton ball is to be used with the dunno what liquid to patpat our wound. Got to pat every pee pee and poo poo.

Linda,
Oh, I bought the confinement hair wash and body wash from Little Dreamers, dun dare to anyhow spray things down there leh. Saw that too, dun dare to try. hahaha... okok, maybe can see you in TMC.

this thread moves real fast... i just back from my brazillian wax and shopping. my poor feet are damm tired. i need a good massage desperately....

linda,

oic.. i thought u got use before.. haha.. but the ingredients do sound good though..

missylan,

i think i know what u're talking about.. i may have seen it before.. $1.80 is okie lah.. like what u say.. save so much on pads liao.. this one is lots cheaper.. hahaha..

sassy,

how was the wax? not too bad right? talking about shopping.. i'm planning to go christmas shopping this friday.. hopefully can get everything i need so dun need to go out too much already.. very tired to walk long periods of time now..

regarding aging placenta

my friend who just delivered also had this problem. Towards the end of her term, doctor feedback that there were aging spots on the placenta. The placenta is responsible for providing nutrients to your baby, so as it ages, it wont be able to provide as much nutrients for baby...

When my friend delivered (at 38th week), her placenta almost dislodged already. Once dislodged, baby wont have any oxygen so they couldn't let her do natural delivery and immediately went for C-section.

Dont worry - usually if you have aging placenta, your doctor will monitor carefully.
My cousin also had this problem but she has 3 kids already, all not affected by this. She simply delivered slightly earlier, all around 38 weeks also.

petrina,

the waxing was great! i felt like a virgin again..
LOL you might wanna reconsider going shopping on a friday. the weekend crowd is horrendous, especially nearing to the festive season now. morever with our little precious one inside, better not. ppl nowadays dun really care or give privilege to preggies.

icic... etelle... is urs chlorehexidine solution? the one found in pharmacy which is used to clean wound???

tub,
but how u koe the placenta starts degenerating??

Mummies who took epidural for prev deliveries before, do you have backache problem?
Dunno why, this time round, my back aching like "siao". Can't stand or sit.

hi jasmine, we won't know unless doc scanned thru ultrasound. docs will be able to see spots on the placenta called calcification. don't worry... if u r not towards the end of the term. docs will usually monitor for us.

Constance,
Me had epidural but didn't have backache. *touchwood

Think backache is due to bad posture during pregnancy, stressed the back liao. Confinement also musttake good care... rest our back... don't bend over to bath bb etc...

Etelle/ missylan
I had backache when preggie with no 2 also, but not as bad as this time round. Heng gynae gave me 2 weeks hosp leave due to my contractions. Today resting at home. Hope the ache will go away.
Come to think of it, I think i didn't really lay down and rest during my prev confinements. My CL was always nagging at me to go and rest on bed.

Sigh. The result of not listening to her.

Sassy & Petrina... did u both do the XXXX one? I was reading it online and thinking of which X to do. I've booked an appt for tomm since Agnes is on leave today. Quite excited - just hope that I wont kena contractions half way! That'll be really funny!

linda, hee oh ya, i oso got the healing bottom spray. will prob use that to spray den.

went for mi check up yest evening and doc said the amniotic fluid like not enuf for the bb, so had to do CTG. lie there till i wana fall aslp. luckily, everything still seems ok for movement.

Belle,
Don't think the cotton will stick onto wound cos we cannot rub, we pat... wet the cotton ball with sufficient liquid and pat.

Yalor, really got to rest our back man. The baby, water, blood, placetna all so heavy, the sudden increased of weight in front, so makes our back stressed up for that few months liao. Remember to take good care of our backs, ah boh really will have problem next time. =P Going to gynae later on and tomorrow will be going to induce. So scary...