(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

pet i second meiji milk. sometimes give that with cheerios for breakie for shawn.

hi alvina,
welcome. my boi oso same bday as tassie. :p

dylan's mum, hope dylan would be okay soon. take care!

pet/jeelomeelo
ok... thanks. will try that out for ethan this weekend.

btw any tips how to train yr kids to drink from the straw? Ethan finds it fun to just touch the straw with his lips, but he doesn't know how to drink from it. either he use his lips to touch n then withdraw n chuckle away, if not he'll just bite it.

CSI_Fan
Thanks for the info. Saves me a trip to SS.

Steffi
Are you referring to Abott's rewards scheme?

Actually my friend told me about this provision shop called 'Ang Mo' which sells the 1.8kg tin at $49 (ntuc $52+) - there's one in punggol and one in AMK Ave 10. I just haven't had the time to go hunt down the shop.

Eve
I also give QJ meiji fresh milk, which he loves. It is not a replacement for his FM. I give it to him sometimes as a drink during b/f or into between meals as a drink.

Drinking from straw
We didn't teach QJ how to suck, he just did it on his own. Perhaps you start with the small straw that comes with packet drinks - shorter and narrower, easier for him to handle. QJ cannot drink from the regular-sized straw because he tends to suck too much fluid and choke.

mummies, sob. my supply is so little now. dunno why... dipped ever since susu had the fake measles. think i was too stressed. was little to start wif... now it's just meagre. can oni pump out one feed for her daily.

i also think susu doesn't like cereal anymore. she would cry whenever the teachers feed her. now cracking my brains thinking what to feed her for tea at about 2 plus in sch. maybe bread hor...

val,
she's better now. a little crankier than usual but spots subsiding already. hope QJ recovers soon!

tub, are you pumping once a day at work? i'm pumping twice again. managed to get 5day supply excess after pumping 2times in office for 2wks+ (after that fridge off incident) More labourious la...

jeelo,

hi-5! i also give that with cheerios!! hahhaha

straw drinking..

mikaela just started drinking from straw from 9 months.. and eversince that time.. when she sees straw.. she'll want coz it means nice drink.. haha

got to let them ownself experiment i guess..

jeelo, ya... just once in the office and once at night. aiyo... dunno if i should pump once more. it's super tiring... kudos to u man!

eve, tink straw drinking its really up to them to pick up leh.. i was oso trying to train sr .. den suddenly one day i come home, my mum jux tell me she can drink from straw le .. we gave her a small water bottle, so the straw is small de..

val, that ang mo i noe.. my mum freq it .. its really cheaper dan ntuc? hmmm... i ve oni jux started sr on gainIQ.. din take part in the abott rewards scheme, oni scheme is the ntuc rebates points earned when i buy gainQI from ntuc wor.. abott scheme how to take part? i rem dey ever sent me a sample tin when sr turned 1.. someone called but since den bo lang called me, i oso duno/dun care to find out more =P

dawn
aiyoh, poor dylan. Hope he recovers soon.

YR better now, only coughing in the mornings. Her poo is back to normal and still super-active. She was Isomil when had diarrhoea and she finished every drop. Then I got Mamil soy coz it's $10 cheaper, but she won't finish. Back to leaving 2 oz in the bottle. Argh.

li sa, you can apply the member online. for the points just send the receipt to abbott they will update for you. with sufficient points able to redeem milk powder. at times they hv promo on milk powder as well. i just bought 2 tin of 900g gain iq from abbott estore cos $56 but free 1 tin 900g

QJ's fever has subsided. He is back to his usual active mode

Gabby's mum
Wow! That is a good deal. I just placed my order online yesterday, didn't see this promo leh.

slimz ... next week more ba cos in our slot all full liaoz

me looking at 22nd which also full liaoz from our list. probably looking at morning session liaoz

slimz
yes.. got a call from them just now too. they said will schedule me for next wk. Hopefully can get the 4pm class cos better timing for my boy. but think most going on 15th morning class, right?

Just tonight, Shawn suddenly had low grade fever and his feet and lower body has tiny red raised spots (roseola looking, from my previous experience). He was behaving normally earlier. I thought the rashes would only appear after the fever. Instead this one i see the rashes first. Tink tomolo i'll bring him to the doctor

wah.. sway.. brot him to the doctor today. it's confirmed hfmd. His fever is in safe range, mild fever in the morning. Now no more fever liao. Touchwood. We saw little red specks in his mouth, indicating ulcers. Looks like next week we're grounded at home. I shared his food this morning before the doctor, hopefully i din kena also. Doc said he looks pretty bad. Touchwood, he is so far so good. eating and drinking. My only problem is feeding him water nia. Put delrosa syrup for him to drink more water.

jeelo,

oh, shawn kenna same hfmd strain as dylan. also ulcers in his mouth. i did ask my PD if i will kenna also but he said unlikely cos we wld have got hfmd when we were kids... so hopefully u won't get also.

luckily dylan didn't really eat less or drink less even though he had those ulcers. Shawn only kenna fever, nothing else?? strangely dylan got a bad case of cough and phlgem... doc said that its because he is more prone to it, so that's why it occured together with the hfmd. It's already been about 3 days... gotta quarantine for another 3-4 days, but dylan is already much better.

hope shawn gets well soon!

Anyone has a evenflo exersaucer that i could rent for 2 months? My gal is turning 8 months but I do not want to buy one as will have no space to store it when she outgrew it. Willing to pay for the rental and collect from your place.

hi botanist...
Just realised his spots on feet/hands, some turned blistery (like with water inside, not big but looks ugly!). his face is not so spotty, but the body, bottom, limbs all polka dotted. Not very red but just seemed hundreds and thousands of it. Ugly!! My pd calls him Measely boy (coz she saw him with Roseola and now spotty hfmd) He had lots for dinner, then he didnt drink much milk before bedtime just now. Tomorrow, i'll boil barley for him. Heard that green bean suppose to help too. He didn't cough or had any runny nose.
hope dylan get well soon too!

deerdeer

I ever did give lactulose to my girl before. What's up? PD said it's even ok to take daily.

shawn and dylan, get well soon!

jeelo,

oh dear! poor shawn... so many spots! dylan don't have any spots, only the mouth ulcers but he kenna the horrible cough, until now, still hacking away. hope those spots clear soon, good to hear that he still eating as normal.

thanks eve, ankh.
He is taking his meals normally. Just tonight however, he didn't really want to drink milk. I think it's also partly because of teething. his canine teeth all 4 has been peeking out since wks ago and he's drooling alot. I suppose discomfort because of teething and that caused him dun want to suckle ba... hope he won't wake up in the midd of the night for milk!

botanist
i'm not sure if your pd recommended this, but dr ong gave YR prospan for cough and phlegm and I find that it works like a dream for her. If dylan's cough doesn't clear, u may wanna check on this med. It's made from ivy leaf, according to pd, is safe. And it tastes and smells like honey, v nice

claire,
great, i will check it out, dylans cough better but i still hear him coughing badfly in the day n with lots of phlgem.

No problem. YR was on Rhinathiol last time, but didn't manage to clear. Just happy to find something that works for her

MJ:
Just saw a BP on HK mahjong set. So itchy to get but if my gals see and play, i think they'll chip very fast. And quite expensive for MJ set.

yea, shawn had rhinathiol last time too. he coughed like 2-3wks. rhinathiol was the last medic doc prescribed. took 1wk plus before the cough subsided.

botanist, are you giving green bean soup or barley drink to him?

yea, i agree w claire.. ivy leaf was really good.. rhinathiol i felt was a tad too strong n din wrk for my boy then..

get well soon dylan n shawn.

Jeelo,

no, didn't give him any barley or green bean soup as he seems ok. the ulcers don't seem to be bothering him at all and he has no spots anywhere. now just have this lingering cough... am keen to try the ivy leaf thing.

he still on nubeliser... today is the last round liao and after that the doc gave some cough mixture. if that doesn't work after the next few days, i'll try the ivy leaf thing.

is shawn better already? did the PD say when the spots will clear?

jeelo,

ahz.. poor shawn.. must be very xin ku.. hope he get well soon.

botanist,
ahz... dylan oso tio hfmd. hope he is better now...

anyone has a CL to recommend? can PM me the contact? thanks!

Me too... if anyone who used their CL and feels good to recommend, can PM me too? I need one in Jun/Jul. Crystalz... hopefully won't clash with your EDD.

Btw, do u mummies remember how much in total (including food ingredients, etc) you spent on CL for confinement?

Think he's ok overall.. except looking ugly. I took these yesterday. Today, some of the blisters look a bit bigger and whitish... He saw one on his thumb knuckle there and try to pinch it out and put in his mouth!

2230783.jpg
2230784.jpg
2230785.jpg