(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

Hi Petrina
Numbness of fingers and swollen is caused by water retention. So dun need to be afraid.
I did my prenatal massage, I tin is gd to get rid of water retention. And u feel very sleepy and refreshing too after the massage.

I bought corset too from wacoal tat cost me 190+ from top to thigh only can get in Robinson. cos many places dun sell and only limited shipment. There is a hole in the centre and is gd that u dun have to remove to pee. It will not affect breastfeeding too cos there no bra. But i heard from sales gal that it is gd for back support s well. I find the rest not toght enuf to slim. I think i saw quite a number of brands that sellscorset but some till the panty line only. I feel that it is necessary to wear to the thigh cos i put on weight at the thigh area too.
I am planning for c section so i tin i can only put on like 10 days later. Btw i put on 20kg. haha that is alot. Used to be 45kg before preggie. Another AI SWEE mother (ME).

Hi Gina, nowadays even indonesian also love to work for expats. But it is not easy for Indonesian cos of the language barrier. Filipino likes to work cos sometimes they have 2 or more off days. Also expats don't chk on maids like we chinese do. So the maids hav alot of freedom. Also the expats are not stingy abt the salary. But of cos they must meet their criteria. If they met single guy expat even better. (u know wat i mean) You don't need to sent yr current maid back. U can wait till yr new maid arrive and u still have 7 days grace to cancel from yr name. Your agt should know what to do. Cos if u send her back u have to incurred airticket for her repatraition. If this maid is gd, they gonna bring her back again and this poor maid will have to pay another set of loan again to the agency. So if the new employer took test on monday by this week her new employer application should be approve already. MAybe u wan to double chk w yr agency again. New maid u always have to be more patience. No choice. Keep yr fingers cross hopefuly she don't have home sick or don't understand yr english.

Belle, u can chk w the sales gal how many maids can you change and r there any charges like insurance, application etc.Even now the maid comes with salary of 300, later on when she mingle with other maids and realise that her salary should be more also they will try to create trouble. Everything they promise you make sure they write in Black and white on the contract. Red carefully. Make sure the loan of the maid that u pay can be refunded. Cos there are some agency that i know they charge cheap fees but the loan are nt refundable. Of cos there should be counselling. Home service depends on the agt. Some will charge 50 per visit, some don't. It all depends on individual agt. The one that i hired from only do home service unless u request to meet her in her office. She is very selective of maids. COs i find that is easier for us. Should there be anything that happen (touch wood) we can just call her to come over. Don't need to drive all the way down. Btw i also stay Tampines. I had a gf that tooke a maid from Tampines st 82. Currently she had change 3 maids already she is not due till mid nov. But the agency keep asking her to get new maid cos new maid's loan is high. If take exp or txf maid the agency will have to refund her the balance unused loan.

Usually they will say that they have training for 3 days, honestly it is not really true la. They only trying to get the maid to get used to the environment and learning for the test.

I book my massage lady for 2 weeks. But she said towards the end need not to massage everyday. Mayb every alternate day. I ever think of slimmingcentre. But i know is gonn cost a bomb and they will add and add to yr package. I rather spend those $$ on vaser or lipo. I heard the flabby tummy will still be there. Oh no!! But vaser oso u spend alot of $$$ and might not have the time.
I went to this doc who is gd at weight management and consider cheap la for me to shed off my weigt. I think one month supply is 100 but not for when u want to breast feed. Currently my hubby is taking it. Seems that is working. But got bit side effect like heart beat fast. Insomnia, getting cranky. But i suppose is much better dan going for slimming centre. My hubby don't have these side effect only getting very active. But last time i used to take when i feel that i put on few kgs and want to shed off. I will feel this way. I prefer this method than excercise cos i hate to exercise. Hehe.

yoko, i think i used to take the pills tt ur hubby is taking now. i still have quite a lot of supply.. tt one pretty good..

tt time when i took, i lost total of 12kg in jus few months... but we cannot take tt when WE are breastfeeding....

yoko,tks for the tips on the agency. ytd i went to one, nearly choose a maid.. my hubby everything also okie. we really have no idea how to choose one .... insurance/ bond and entry visa cannot be transferred. REst can do contra. (is it suppose to be like tt) Anyone? the one tt i went ytd cost bt $188 but $330 per month. a bit not worth it right? really have no idea how to choose... gave up and went bk last nite...

u also staying in tampines? Yup, i went to one at st 82 as well... is the one at St 82 good? The agent fee is $388. i know there are 2 agencies at St 82. i am thinknig to get it from one tt is near Tampines.. any feedback from ur gf? The agent reliable? Yup, i think i will also get fresh maid.. got to check if they are good.. earlier for mi too.. else i have to travel up and down.. if touchwood anything happen...

Eve: Hope u are feeling better. btw wad kind of leakage did u have? Did the doc mentioned any cause by it?

oh doc really mentioned 2kg at week 32? Ok ok.. will check it out tmr.. mine gng to 32 week tmr... hopefully he really grow...

twiggy: Tks for the feedback.

Missylan: ur bb boy? So sweet... oh, can put plasric sheet over our bed? Heehee... else will dirty all our beds leh.. my dad has those super big plastic to cover furniture ones.. wondering if tt will work as well.. Else we got to wash our bedsheet regularly...

Yoko: wow.. u really v slim at 45kg leh...

Today rushing payroll.... gng off early to see dentist too...

twiggy
crislo :64383353

as for pacifier can get later, last time I also prepare everything end up lots of things never use. tried giving him the pacifier to stop him from crying, end up he was like going to vomit, and will spit the pacifier out

petrina, dun worry abt the numbeness of fingers and swollen feet. at least urs not often. mine everyday regardless of whatever diet i eat, less salt...so really depend on indiv as some dun get water retention so much.

eve, so both our bbs same same...thk prob 2kg is the average. juz hope as long itz growing coz another fren feedback that her fren's bb was still 2kg odd at 35/6 wks so muz induce.
ya! all the milk i drink go to myself...bb never absorb. haha

belle, let us know ur bb's growth tmr...

yoko, wah u so slim before preggy...nvm join the club...i put on 17kg too, and i wasnt that slim to begin with.

ytd my cousin admitted herself ard 7pm & was already 5cm dilated. average dilation will be 1hr 1cm, so most likely will be after midnight then give birth. but her bb gal anxious to see the world so came out 11+.
she called me tis morning @ 7am, & told me it was soooooo painful coz she endure without epidural. she almost broke her hubby hand..she said can feel the pain when gynae did epistomy & also when doing the stiches....she telll me must go thru e labour pain without epi, gosh sounded so painful, how to endure i oso wondering.

pierced, yup.. will let u know asap. hopefully my bb boy also got grow.. cos he also quite small at week 28. i haven been drinking the milk.. my doc also nv as
k mi to eat more... heehee... he knows i got a lot of extra for the bb.. hahaha

Amy, wow.. so brave of her.. i was also thinking of doing it without the epi..heehee.. see how my mummy feel..

but her labour also pretty short... just few hrs.. some pple took abt 16hrs before delivering...

hi eve/jeelo/T&P,

have you ladies booked the room already. Just went for my visit yesterday at 32 weeks...Bb weighs abt 2kg now...was handed the pre-admission letter by nurse for me to do the pre-admission anytime...she had booked the double room for me and i requested a change to single...the booking was confirmed immediately...

Any idea if we need to pay any deposit during the pre-admission procedure and how much?
Thanks in advance...=)

For the ladies who are looking for maid. Are you going to leave the baby under maid's care after maternity leave is over? I am looking for a maid to take care of baby cos both our parents are unable to take care of the baby. But I am kinda worried leaving baby alone with maid.

limko
maybe u can instal a camera so that at least u will know what she is doing...my current arrangement is my mum will be around with the maid. but if ever i need to leave her alone, I will sure instal the camera...think u can start to look for maid liao...

amy, wah ur cousin so brave, without epi. i oso dunno whether i can take the pain not. will try and see how. but luckily her labour quite short hor... no need suffer too long.

Hi Amy,

what kind of camera do you install? Where can I get it? I am thinking to look for maid later cos if the maid comes now, she will have nothing to do.

hi eve,

i did not do any malay massage or any other massage after my #1 n #2... my preg wt was 41/42kg.. for both #1 n #2..i managed to go back to my prepreg wt (n fit all clothings, seems like my body shape also din change much), after i ret to work (so abt 3 mths). I did not do anything special, no excercise, but I TBF my babies... enough to kill me n my fats haa.

so for this #3 i plan to do like #1 n #2 time.. but this time contemplating to get the BP wrap haa coz no3 liao, dont know the body can still go back to prepreg wt.

Think i wld do without epi for a start... just to see how painful it is. If cannot tahan then take epi later lor. I just wanna feel how childbirth is like. Hope you all dun think I'm psycho.

btw, i put on 17kg for both #1, #2

tt's y i m very pro BF, save milk $, save time/$ washing n sterilising bottles, good for our fig/health and good for bb too!
... but i think my hb the happiest coz he nvr need to help with feeding or night feed!! coz by the time i put my kids on FM (abt 18mths) they already slept thru and know how to hold/drink the FM from bottle themselves.

i salute pp who can go w/o epi!! i only went thru early labour pain while waiting for the epi to b administered .. already cannot endure :p

I have a couple of qns...

any mummy use the BP wrap that some of you talking abt (pig one)? is it good? I have an osim wrap but i got the wrong size (L) so very uncomfortable to use.

any mummy has the contact to the chinatown shop tt sells bb pdts?

any mummy has suggestions of where I can get a "made to order" hamper. i can choose 1 n charge to my company, but i dont wish to get from the usual fareastflora or noelgifts as their hamper is over-priced for the items (n i looked thru, i dont need any of the items in their avail hampers!)

jeelomeelo,
S26 is under Wyeth... very very long history liao leh. Even me also a S26 baby. =)

eve,
Yup, you got to use a stirrer rather than most powder can just swirl the bottle to melt. Me no idea for NAN formula.

Just to share what my gynea list out for me ao I know when to get admitted: -

3 Symptons of Labour Pain: -

1) Show
- Bloodly Mucus
TO WAIT

2) Pain
- Regular 10 to 20 mins pain in the following form: -
a) Menses Cramp
b) Backache
c) Urge to pass motion but nothing comes out
GET ADMITTED

3) Waterbag break
a) Clear liquid or slightly yellowish
b) Green Meconium - thats when baby pass motion inside
GET ADMITTED

Limko, i dun advise u leavingg ur little one wit the maid.. i m leaving my bb with my mum. Maid is to help out my mum/ got mum ard to look at her when she take care of my bb. Agency also dun advise to leave the bb with the maid.

Y not u go for nanny instead if no one look after ur maid...

Oh ok thanks....ya what im thinking is waterbag don't burst.....only when having contractions.
But if the bag burst suddenly...it seems like im dirtying the pool instead keke
By dipping ourself in the water seems to be better then lying on the coach at home.
Maybe I will check with my gynae.
I also book with mrs sadiah.......

I think if it's the 1st baby, you can call Wyett/Abbott/etc and ask them to send you samples of their FM. Usually the 1st one is a 400g tin, can try out. I know that's what happened for my #1 when I contacted Wyett. Got a free tin of S26, and subsequent samples of the follow-on milk powders (promil, progress). That way u dun have to throw $$ down the drain if the FM doesnt agree with your NB.

Missylan,

Your boy so chubby
so S26 Formula is good, my cousin who was on this formula also round round one then grow up liao, the baby fats start coming off.

I told my gynea that i want to start on Pethidine (jab on thigh) then Entonox (laughing gas) and really really cannot tahan then go for epidural.

He told me its ala carte menu so feel free to chose what pain relief I want. But with my pain threshold I doubt I can go for the 1st two, most probably once admitted already ask for epidural liao. Hahahaha...

bbngg
Pethidine is no good, will actually slow down dilation...the other time i went for induction and experienced bearable contraction...midwife asked if i need pethidine..didnt know what it is for and agreed to it...in the end, my contraction/dilation stopped....laughing gas will make u giddy......

blessed, wah u very lucky hor...slim down so fast. muz be a very slim mummy...
I ordered the wrap the missylan mentioned, will try aft birth.

missylan, same im oso a S26 bb...so maybe i will oso use S26 next time aft finished bf.

BBnGG,
Must see S26 suits yr child or not also. Some take liao very heaty.

I didn't take the first 2 options, I tahan until cannot liao, then got epidural. Cheaper... I was given a laughing gas or oxygen? I was confused... Think laughing gass bah... but no one tells me it is a laughing gas...

BBnGG, if waterbag break and it's a), we dun need to get admitted immediately right?

By the way, during antenatal class, we are advised not to eat during labour. Do we count labour as start of contractions? I dunno if I can tahan without food for more than 10 hrs and still try to keep some energy to push.

Amy,
wow! salute your cousin! glad her ordeal is quick!

Yoko/Belle,
oooo... tampines ppl. i oso tampines. me at st43. do u call it coincidence.. there are 4 units on the same floor, 3ladies are pregnant among these 4units

btw, those going glenE, i asked during the tour what brand of milk powder would they give, apparently, it depends what do their supplier provide.
1. Another thing about rooming in, GlenE only allows rooming in 1bedder (means you park your baby in your room with u).
2. And if you want nurses' help to change diaper you can ask for them to do so, when u opt for bb to room in
3. if you want total breastfeed, tell the nurses in advance. so if you're putting baby in the nursery, they'd not feed baby on FM, but would wheel baby to you during feeding time.
4. one last thing, got various food to choose from : confinement, western, vegetarian... can't remember the last one though...

baked beans,
Waterbag broke, no matter what discharge... waterbag broke must admit. You still can afford to bath first then admit.
I am unable to have heavy meal after my waterbag broke. Gynae said that I can take light meal like sandwich. Luckily my labours were during sleeping time. Gave birth in the morning 7am. 12 hours labour counted since waterbag broke... When contraction pain liao, you willl not have the appetite or mood to eat also.

petrina:

ur symptons sounds like wat my fren's wife had. she kena tis in her last 2 mths.

missylan:

ur bb's so cute!!
S26 is an established brand. like tat i muz ask TMC to let my bb try.

eve:

ic. mi still having leh. strange... wondering if i shld go for another chkup again. my nxt chkup is nxt wk oni.

amy:

wow, so brave of ur cousin. *deep bow* dun think i will try tat. :p die die oso i muz get some pain relief.

missylan & cocoangel:

i'm interested in the zuo-er BP too. but hor, sizing wise, how to determine huh?

limko
i do not have any camera at the moment, coz moving house after my confinement. maybe after settle down at new house. can search the web, the name is D Link.
don't forget if ur mum cannot help & really need to leave maid wif bb, u may neeed to get her in earlier so that at least she familiar wif the housework n after bb born u can coach her during ur maternity

ya I oso 'Pei Fu' her coz she quite determine this time not to get epidural. coz her 1st bb the epi was not done properly n she felt very pain n hurt. so she say unless really cannot bear with it then will opt.

but she claims that it is really dammn painful, the cut the sewing part. she so pain that she oso never really take a look at her bb...

Steffi,

I have no idea that Pethidine actually slow down dilation. Thanks for telling me ;) I guess I will opt for epidural instead.

bbngg
not sure if that's the case for all..but it did slow down dilation for me...even the midwife admit it......

hi claire,

Thanks for the contact!

hi pierced,

if u have my hectic lifestyle, anyone also will slim down :p... i TBf and no one helped me to bottle feed the bb unless i am not around (only happens during working time) my bbies dont sleep thru the night until at least 1 yo... so i nvr had uninterupted sleep... always like wake up 2 hrs, feed , try hard to sleep again only to find myself hving to wake up and bf again. and my job is quite stressful... have to work late kind... so its like sleep deprived (mayb 1 day max 5 hrs? n interupted) at the same time alot to do.

S26....it's been around for so long huh. hehs. I drank S26 FM 20+ years ago. hahahaha...I also dunno what brand of FM to stand by. Guess it'll be S26 too lah. heehee...

wah, blessed, ur job sounds like mine...have to work late kind. Like that how to build up health manz...haiz.

hi jeelo, wow.. so many pple staying in Tampines. I used to stay at St 42. Very near ur place. over weekend .. will go bk as well to stay at mummy's place...

usually when will bb be engaged? Will we feel anything when that happens? After engaging, does it mean very close to delivery already?

These few days, I keep having strange feeling at my pelvic area. Like something pushing. Sometimes even painful when I stand up from sitting position. Quite scary. I wonder if that is bb engaging.