(2007/11) November MTBs

gloomybear: The english term is: Amniocentesis. You can read the following link (page 2) to learn more: http://www.nuh.com.sg/_og/files/DiagnosticTestForChromosomalAbnormalities.pdf

Speak to the doctor abt yr concern. My sis also did the test when she had my nephew, result came out to be ok. Of course the waiting of the test result was painful, but at least she din have to worry through to the end of her pregnancy. Dun worry, i'm sure yrs will be ok too. Take care

thanks.... sigh.. shouldn't have done the OSCAR if I'm not doing the Amniocentesis when OSCAR reading says "high risk" ya?

I have a gal who was born in Nov 2007. She has started to attend childcare recently. However, she has been sick after attending childcare. Does anyone here encounter this before?

jennifer: It's common and i guess it may also be a way for the child to build up his immunity. My son falls sick almost every mth now that he is in school. I guess we can all try to prevent but it's hard. Just need to teach him to exercise hygiene, like washing hands, cover mouth when sneeze / cough etc. Guess this is all part of growing up...

Wow! How exciting...all coming up really soon! =)My maternity leave is until the end of June and I'll be going back to work in July. So that means I can visit Poissons and lazykat during your confinement! haha.

At this rate, we can form another Playdays class for our little tiggers. haha.

Kitty: Thanks for the well wishes. Its a big help now that Ethan is in school. Don't know how I will be able to manage both of them, esp when Evan starts to move around. Glad to hear that Chloe is eating well now. Don't worry, she will bounce back in no time.

Jennifer: As tinkabel mentioned, my son has been going to school since Jan and he has fallen sick every month. Sometime, 2 times a month. I've spoken to the PD about this and she said that this will continue till his 6 month in childcare. Can't be helped.

Thanks Tinkabel and michviv.

My gal is sick again. She had a high fever last night. I really hope she will not pass the virus to her little sister. Been to the PD but nothing helps. Very worried.

gloomybear,
dun over stress yourself. the test results r not 100% certain.

when i was pregnant w gaby, the results was also not very encouraging on the neck fluid, plus i was diagnosed with pregnancy diabetic. but all in moderation and maintain a positive energy is very important lah.

i also didn't do amnio test... coz subsequent tests showed everythg was back to normal. so have faith in yourself & bb, all will be fine!

jia you!!

michviv,
have a good confinement!

jennifer,
yes, all our toddlers fell sick at one point or another once they started going childcare. like tinkabel said, it's all a phase they have to go through. u have to stay strong and bear with it for a little longer. your gal immunity system will build up eventually. take care!!

Hallo Ladies!

Sneaking a break now...

Kat, on drinking from teats & straw. My dentist told me by drinking from the teats, our toddlers are in a comfortable lying position... so the tendency of them falling asleep while drinking is high...

Thus, the milk will stain their teeth n might cause tooth decay. If they fall asleep with milk still in their mouth. That's y he told me if possible to wean them off the milk bottle... or cut the nite feed.

Kittybride, no going to HK disneyland lah... no definite plans but i know i m going there to get even fatter.

jennifer:

Fevers usually last 5 days, up and down and should break themselves by then. Other than one time where my son's fever shot up to 40 degrees and we had him on antibiotics, now we usually monitor for 4-5 days 1st. U might also want to monitor her. If no symptoms of cold, please get her urine checked, cos fever with no other symptoms can mean it could be UTI and that u definitely have to treat with antibiotics cos it's bacteria.

Have a read at this re: colds and its complications. I find the infor here very useful.

http://www.askdrsears.com/html/11/T081000.asp

laxykat~the teeth ma....related to milk looo.....but if brush teeth regualrly should be oki.

friend's girl of 3 yrs old hv to go extract 8 teeth n the rest decay...

jennifer~hihi
yup they do get sick very often but then again also build up their immune system looo

Kat, same here but the milk stains on Claire's teeth really buey tahan.. so put her on straw bottle. Sometimes we let her drink from cup too..

Plus difficult to brush her teeth.

Weishy, look for u in HK if we can meet up... Will be there from 26th Mar till 16th April

Thanks weishy,

I brought my children to their PD at Thomson.. Gosh! Their bill came up to $300++!! And is already the 2nd visit for the same week. Paid $300++ just 3 days ago.. Dr says if not well will have to bring them back again on 26 March. *Faint...

K@ye~sure but will be back only on 16th onwards or few days b4 cos i hv to move house la.... me on sick leave now till end of april ma.

Jennifer~very ex le......usually i go GP :p so far so good

weishy, my friend ask me to go polyclinic... not too sure if it's a better choice coz need to wait for very long and it's always different doc... I am very new here but I feel all mummies here are very kind and helpful. Thanks everyone for making me feel better over here. ;)

All wonderful Mummies,

Do you have Facebook (FB)? My FB acc is: Jennifer Chng. Do add me if you have.

Weishy, oh.. now u in SG isit? Then i think not so easy to meet up with u in HK leh.

Jennifer, its like that.. whenever i bring my gal to the PD... sure got a heart attack upon seeing the bill.

jennifer: me too. Spent so much at PD for my #2 in the last 2-3 months cos she has been sick the entire winter. When she had UTI in Dec and we were back in Sg, we had to do a series of tests to make sure it was not an inborn prob of reflux etc. Poor baby, had to go thru all those tests and think the total bill came up to 1k (including my visit to Glen E emergency cos the fever came up on 1 Jan, none of the PD were open). Sigh... but I do not think bringing to polyclinic is a gd idea cos too many pple. Might end up catching bugs that u wld not otherwise, so I wld pay a bit more at least at a private GP.

Not sure if u know, I am actually currently in residing in Shanghai. The 1st time I brought my baby to a local hospital, but pay a bit more for the foreign service so that there is much less queue. But for the tests I stil hv to go to the local side. I almost fainted at the number of children I see in the hospt. So I told myself, no way I am going to bring to the local side and risk catching a bug that she wld not otherwise have.

jennifer~there;s a few jennifer chng le
maybe u can add me :p

polyclinc~ya can be tedious.....tats why i go to those lesser patients GP hehheheh

tinkabel~think shannon had been thru loads n she will surely be stronger day by day

hospitals in china~its pretty normal n deoending on one's budget :p me on tight budget so...no choice they hv to go GP looooo.seriously never been to a PD b4

hi ladies, long time no chat..! Just got back to work last Mon and my engine is still warming up.

K@ye - You quit your job? Going to be SAHM?

Weishy - Surprised to see you that day, do you always go there? We can always meet for lunch cos my office is just round the corner.

SAHM - I am toying with the idea if I should quit and be a SAHM...Both Isabella and Ash are so cute now... Especially Ash will keep singing at home (although not very accurate) and you can tell he is learning something from his school. Isabella is 5months old this Thu... she will kust keep smiling if she sees you.. She was 8.5kg two weeks ago...

PD - I brought both kids to see Dr Elizabeth Khor last week and she is very good! Very commited to her job and even called me up last night to check how is little bella doing. Ash has running nose which had unfortunately passed on to his baby sister....

Michviv - Congrats and i love the name Evan! How is your confinement getting on? Ethan ok with his baby brother?

Jennifer - I think the balloon booth just outside Mothercare at Parkway Parade has the walking dog balloons... You may want to call the mall and check it out.

ASHM, me can't be SAHM even if hubby can afford to support me financially. I had resigned from my job without a job coz i need to serve 2 mths notice. So will be going to HK first for a 3 weeks break n then coming back to look for job lah!

How long is Isabella? I m sure she will be as tall as her kor kor too!

Jennifer on the walking dogs ballons that ASHM mentioned, i think it cause ard $12 when my cousin wanted to get one for Claire.

K@ye - Bella was 68cm two weeks ago....heehee, i think so too, she will be as tall and fair as kor kor...

Same here, i would need to give two months notice so am thinking to quit first then see how things go lah....

HK - I love HK, was there in Feb and weather was perfect for shopping! It was a short weekend, arrived on Fri and flew back on Sun, but it was fantastic... Enjoy your break there

ASHM/K@ye~walkign balloons...tot its $16....i ordered online b4 not blown up....was less than $3 each :p btu made in china looooo quality nt as good.

ASHM~sure sure!!!!! me just a few bus stops away hehehheh i always meet up with friends there for lunch too...like tat day la....we ate the $18 claypot crab beehoon,nice!

Bella~ehhehehhe think lucas havent touch 8kgs le :p

Are we having a gathering soon?will be in sin till end of april ma
HORT PARK? or there's a park next to caribbean condo....there's UCC etc there with a big space for kite flying or cycling

Next Gathering - Hort Park Good Idea!! Please count me in....but I can only make it either fri, sat, sun...

Weishy - Ok, let me settle down in the office first and will plan our lunch date!

ashm, when kaira was in sg, we also see dr khor. she's good hor ... i like her too. but sometimes can be very aunty.... hahaha.

k@ye, u in hkg now? the pollution index now super duper high rite? due to sand storm in china -- do take care. especially the little one, if she's there with u. if u r going later, then hope that it will be better soon!

hello jennifer! welcome

Dreamer, me in SG... going to HK this Friday...

On the sandstorm, i also dunno leh... Just keep fingers crossed... if no choice, we might just come home earlier.

Weishy, on the balloons.. isit? Increased to $16 liao? For the walking balloons, i told my cousin not to get it for Claire... Rather she spent the $$ on food... coz it was not any special occassion!

I've finally settled J in my school. He still cries when I leave but only for a short while. And, he's such a darling w/o me ard.
He's able to sleep @ school, adapting well.

My younger one is very demanding. Always asking for attention. So, I' a bit scared.. but he's very cute lah.. Wat to do? I'm bullied by the two of them.

Hort Park outing
I'm keen too! Haven met all of u for a long time.
Choose days first then the date
Sat (3rd, 17th or 24th)
Sun (4th, 11th, 18th or 25th)

I would prefer a saturday.

I have a boy in Nov 2007 and my #2 EDD is coming this Sun.
Tigger and Piglet.

Any tips to reduce jealousy faced by the 1st? I have prepared one gift to give to #1 at hospital and another to give him at home.

I am very attached to my first and worry that I can't take care of two. The guilt of not being able to spend enough time with the first, sets in every now and then.

Hi Jennifer and Jzz: Welcome to the thread!

Jennifer: I've added u & u've accepted me on FB:)

ASHM: Go ahead and quit yr job if u can afford to. It's gd to be by their side during this growing up phrase.

Hort Park Outing: I want to meet up too! I shld be able to make it on the following dates:
Sat (3rd, 10th)
Sun (4th, 11th)

Weishy: Hw are u doing? Gd to be bk in Spore since the air pollution index is quite bad these few days.

Mummies, i just bought a Baby safe toddler pillow for E over the weekend and realised he might be allergic to the pillow?! His cheeks were red and a little swollen after his afternoon nap yesterday and we thought it's mosquitoe bites but i did find it weird coz why the mosquitoes only attack his cheeks and not any other parts of his body since he was wearing sleeveless. Then this morning, my mil called and said the same thing happen again and we're rather sure it's the pillow that's causing it.

E has been using the 2 different types of infant pillow from the same brand since he was 2 months old but this is the first time this is happening. Wanna check if any mummies experience/heard of such allergy to pillow. Thanks.

Thanks cactusnah!

My gal is currently 28 mth (Nov 2007) but she only weighs 11.8kg... PD says she is underweight...tried pedisure but didn't seem to improve...any help here?

cactus, unless he's alergic to latex - cos abbysafe is latex material? My girl also uses babysafe pillow but no such allergy.

Jennifer, welcome! Hmm.. under weight you could try giving her some multivits to supplement her meals. Is she eating and drinking well?

cactusnah~maybe be......allergic to pillow who knows... or issit bed bugs????

jennifer~har 11.8 still underweight ar? then hayley too le......she's been the 10kg gal for a lonnnnnng time liao

jzz~hihi
i hv #2 too n the gap was pretty close...how to reduce ma.....humm b4 delivery can tell #1 about the new sibling....probs ask to choose some stuffs for#2 .get him/her involved

but after bb comes out it will be totally diff dependign on the #1 character......sure there will be jeolousy but how much of it
parents n caretakers play a major part ......always put #1 first for me.

wats ur no 1 sex n DOB????name too .we can update ourselves here n get to know each other more

Cactus, ya some children are allergic to latex. Bed bugs bites are like mosquitoes bit like that, will be itchy n red like rashes!

Another good pillow will be cotton stuffed one... can get from the market.

Tks Weishy. yah, i probably can get him to choose some bb toy/clothes.
my no.1 is Zhipeng,15.11.2007, chubby boy at 16kg. :p
we don't know the gender for my no.2, want to keep as surprise.

ya, they shd be at least 13-15kg now... PD also give multivitz n supp but no improvement...

She eats v little and doesn't like green veg...

Poochi/Weishy/K@ye: Thks for the replies. I've checked with Babysafe distributor and they told me they've never heard of such allergy case. I doubt E is allergy to latex coz his bb & infant pillows are both made from the same latex material according to the distributor. They've asked me to stop using it and observe for the next 1-2 days. I've taken a few photos of his cheeks and they wld want to take a look too.

Hmm..i've never thought of bed bug coz the rash came immediately aft we changed the pillow and the rash is on his face only. Ok, i shall go home and check his mattress thoroughly. Will be worst if it's bed bug. Sian~~~

cactus, how does the baby first pillow look like? The one I have is rectangular and flat which I supposed is the infant pillow?

I've not been following this thread for the past 2-3 weeks. Hows everyone? We have new members?

Would like to meet at hort park. 3rd is good as it's term break from swimming class.

MissA: The one u mentioned is an infant pillow which is for up to 2.5 years old, E has no problem using that and the newborn pillow. He is also using the bolster and even the sleep positioner when he was a baby, all are made from the same material. The one i just purchased is the kids pillow. Actually we were quite amused when he first tried the pillow. He exclaimed "啊,好舒服啊" the moment he tries it. But if he is really allergic to it, i'll have to give it away
Anyways, here's the photos:

3770885.jpg
3770886.jpg

L: Infant Pillow
R: Kid Pillow

cactus:: travis loooves the kid pillow. he's using that in school since last yr.

jzz:: wow. 16kg!! that's good. my boy is stuck at 12kg for the LONGEST TIME like weishy. sigh.

Cindy: Ya lor, v comfy. Even i like it:) Nvm, i'll let him try it again few days later. Oh, btw the staff from Babysafe told me we're not supposed to sun the pillow under direct sunlight, just air it will do.