(2007/11) November MTBs

Oh Michviv: Shannon does appear to hear us, she is definitely more reactive than a few weeks ago, prob due to the clearing up of middle ear fluid. But her left ear still fail the otoacoustic emission test. But the ENT figured it was cos the right ear cleared due to a number of discharge before and the left ear only once so far. So fluid still in left ear. Hopefully I get some good news tomorrow when I go back for a follow up.

tinkabel: Glad to hear that Shannon is better. =) Dun be too worried about the side effects. All drugs would have side effects and manufacturers are obliged by law to list down all the "potential" side effects that may occur. In any case, such symptoms like tinnitus and dizziness are difficult to diagnose in babies as small as Shannon as they can't communicate. Although the oral form of lincomycin may be associated with an increased risk of ototoxicity, it should not be a problem when administered topically. As for the risk of stopping, it would depend how long the ENT prescribed it for but I think it would at least be for 1-2 weeks. But since her hearing has improved, I would say that the treatment is working so you may want to continue and not stop abruptly if the doctor prescribed a longer treatment duration.

Ladies, Javier seems to be fine and the PD told me this morning that if he does not have vomiting now since the epsiode in the car, then the vomiting could also be due to the car motion.
But in any case, I'll be bringing him to a PD dentist to see if his tooth is affected. Apparently, the PD says that children tend to fall on the same spot repeatedly.

Thankss for the prayers and well wishes.

What to do? I have to learn to deal with the heartaches and exasperating situations. Contemplating to buy a cane to threaten him if he doesn;t listen and does dangerous stunts in future. Really resist the idea but figure that it's better than having something fatal happen.

#2 just went for jab this morning and now fussing... sigh...

smilemum: *phew* Really happy to see the update that J is ok. I think you don't need to buy the cane first, just have to keep reminding him of the incident and i think he shld be scared,at least for the next 1-2 weeks.

For mummies who are keen, there's a talk on childhood allergies in KKH. Details as follows:

Event: Treating Childhood Allergies: East Meets Wests (Public Forum)
Time: 14:00 - 16:30
Venue: KKH, Auditorium (Training Centre) Level 1, Women’s Tower
Registration Fee: S$8 per pax (S$5 for KKJC members)

Description: Childhood allergic diseases are common and have been increasing over the past decade in Singapore as well as many parts of the world. As many as 1 in 5 children complain of wheezing disease. Allergic rhinitis may be as high as 40% in many Asian countries. Eczema is common and may be a manifestation of food allergy in the first year of life.

Allergic disease is usually associated with a family history of allergic disease in close relatives. However many children with allergic diseases may not come from families with a history of allergic disease. Early diagnosis will enable these children to be adequately treated. Triggers should be properly identified especially in the cases of food allergy to ensure that the child is not inappropriately deprived of certain foods in a diet that may affect his nutrition and growth.

Cough is a common complaint and many parents are concerned that with prolonged cough, the child will become asthmatic. This forum will help you address some of these concerns.

Many parents in Singapore do believe in traditional Chinese medication for the treatment of many illnesses, including allergic diseases. This forum will also help to address questions with regards to the role of Traditional Chinese Medicine and ‘western’ medicine in the management of these diseases.

cactus: when is this talk? I am interested to go. see if I happen to be in Spore. Decided to bring Shannon back next week for a thorough check (even though she is getting better) before I lose my mind here.

Tinkabel: The talk is abt childhood allergy. It covers topics like eczema, prolong cough, TCM, etc. U can refer to the link below:
http://www.singhealth.com.sg/Interfaces/eCalendar/GetAttachment.aspx?attachmentid=dfae2d11-1203-466f-9642-89195d11843d

There's also a separate worksop on the same day (13/03/10) on First -Aid & CPR for children 1-8 years old which i think is also gd. Details are on the same website.

Good to bring Shannon back for a thorough check up for peace of mind. Whr will u be bringing her for the assesement? Shld bring to one who specialise in ENT. Let me knw if u need recommendation.

Cactus: Think 13 March is good. I thinking of leaving SH early next week and stay for a week, prob leave 14 March.

Ya agreed. Think I am getting really stressed up here, not knowing who I can trust. Did not return earlier as Shannon still has runny nose and fluid in ears so will be bad for her to travel as she prob cannot equalise her ears. Now that she is recovering and not more runny nose, I think it's prob time to go back and check. I am looking at Dr Chan Siew Chee at Glen E or Dr Andrew Loy at Mt E. I have personally seen Dr Loy myself when I had my ear infection in Dec. Dr Chan has been recommended by my friend's boss. Both have been really responsive to me cos I did call or email them to check on stuff during this period, which I am definitely really appreciative. Do you know who is better for babies? Or you have other recommendations for ENT PD?

Any one of u intending to go for both the allergy and teh first aid workshop? We can go together, will prob have to bring Shannon along since no one to help take care of her.

Cactus, will confirm with you in a while and will u be able to help to reg for me then?

Tinkabel: Ok, glad u already have a few specialist in mind. Better to follow thru with them since they've her history.

Forums: No prob to help u register. But bear in mind that if u're going for both workshop, it's gonna be one whole day. First aid & CPR (am) and Talk on allergies (pm). I guess there's some hands on for the CPR wkshop, may not be convenient for u if u're alone with S. Furthermore, u'll be leaving on the following day, dun over strain yrself and S before leaving. U decide and let me knw ya.

HELLOOO mummies, kaye, grace, missA, ASHM, michviv:: please send me an sms and i shall reply you back with my address okay!

see you on saturday, buffet starts 1130am.

Hi Cindy, sorry got to give this sat a miss because ashton is down with viral fever. Hopefully he will recover by then. I will sms you on sat morning if we can come or not ya... thanks!`

long time no chat!

C's down with bad bouts of fever for the past one week, on and off and on again, usually at nite and can reach up to 40C. we went in n out of KK Hospital few times last week! very scary!

anyway, she's on antibiotics now but still need to monitor her for a couple of days more. hopefully she recovers soon.., coz she's getting too cranky at home n with everyone else and too too too sticky to me. very tiring.

cindy,
sorry, this sat we have to give your place a miss. you ladies enjoy yourselves ya!

ASHM,
hope A gets well soon too!

K@ye & kittybride - thanks!

Mummies - Went to Ash's PD today and he advised that ash should do the circumcsion since he had one episode of infection. Anyone had gone through it? He needs to go under GA and its a 30minute procedure..... pee as per normal, but he may feel a little bit painful and the doc will give him painkillers...Not sure if he should go through this trauma at this age??

ASHM: I think if he needs it, better do when he is younger, else even he is bigger, that body part's mass is bigger, I think even more painful. Matt's birdie was slightly red that day at the tip and complained it was painful. I happened to bring him to the PD for his MMR jab (finally!!!) and got the PD to check. He said prob some abrasion and ask me to keep an eye on it in case it got worse, but Matt never complained about pain anymore so I assume it's ok. But he dun let me touch and clean though. Sigh. I ask his dad to check on him this morning haha...

ASHM, my nephew went for the circumision last mth. He was 7 mths old n he was okie, din cry or what.... Just fussed a bit only. My nephew got it done at Mount E. Its better for Ash to go for it now as compared to when he is older.

My bro went for it when he was 8 years old. It was a horrifying experience for him coz the doc accidentally cut one of the veins during the op n he was bleeding.. He was walking like a crab for the entire 2 weeks...

Now we asked him abt it, he told my Mum tt she should let him done it earlier so that he has no concept of pain or fear!

cindy, i mite hv to give it a miss. while I'm away this week, my dad had a surgery yesterday so tmr i prob hv to visit him. Everything happenned so fast. He suspected he has colon cancer and did a scope followed by a CT scan last Sat. On Tue he get the test results and was scheduled to hv surgery on Thurs. I am still not aware of his condition in details. I'll be back to sg early this morning.

smilemum, hope J is fine by now.

Weishy: Sorry to hear the news. Try to do mini-confinement, drink red date soup ( boiled with dang shen & black dates). U can also go to medical hall to ask for their advise. Also, DUN take cold drinks, take hot milo and sleep adequately. Very impt...Be strong gal. Let me knw if u need any help.

Missa, oh Dear, hope all is Okie with your dad. And no worries la!!!

Weishy sorry to hear the news. I also went for once before travis. Its very fast de.... Jia you!

Tinkabel / K@ye - Totally agree that if really need to do it, should do it now. My girlfriend's son who is 10years now, has the same condition and doctor advised to do circumsion, but the boy is so conscious about it and refuse to do it no matter how the parents coax him.....

Tinkable - Their birdie must really clean well, the last time ash was in so much pain till he dare not pee...poor fellow!

K@ye - Ash is scheduled to do it at Mt E Medical Centre - Surgery Centre for Children. But I am seeking a second opinion before we confirm the appointment.

Did your nephew undergo GA for this surgery? The only thing I am not comfortable is the GA part, not sure what is the side effect?

weishy - please do a mini confinement and dont get stressed out ya.... when are you back to sin?

miss A - Hope your dad is ok.

michviv - Good to bump into you last night and you looked good! Jia you for next week! Got the name for your second prince?

ASHM- try to do la :p

yup back in sin Liao.

How to clean e birdie n from when har?really clueless about it le

Tinkabel-I'm oki la at least it's e really initial stage

ASHM, ya my nephew went under GA... can't see any side effects from him... But heard from my cousin tt he did fuss a bit at nite...

So, no worries for Ash!

Weishy, as far as i recollect, when i bath my bro, will get him to push the foreskin n wash that side... I think u can get Andrew to clean for him... Coz guys know better. :p

Weishy, will know one lah.... dun worry!
My fren also asked her hubby to settle the son... coz she is also clueless...

Weishy: Sorry to hear about your news. Have a good rest and take care.

missA: Hope all is well with your dad.

ASHM: Thanks babe. You looked great as well. I was just commenting to Grace when we met at Cindy's place. What 20kg? Think you lost everything you put on during your last pregnancy lor.

Cindy: Thanks once again for opening your beautiful home and having us over. Catch up again soon ya? Maybe one of these days after my confinement at Polliwogs. hehe.

Grace: Great catching up with you too! All the best for your pregnancy.

Tinkabel: Hope Shannon is doing better. Are you back in SG?

michviv - heehee....i am still trying to get my flat tummy back! You must be very excited now, baby is due anytime right...

k@ye - thanks for the heads up! have decided to let ashton go through the surgery on coming thu...

weishy - Back in Sin already, wanna meet up with Yoko this week? I am starting work on the 15th....

Ladies - i am selling ashton's 5months old little tikes sports car twin bed... let me know if anyone is keen ok. TIA

ASHM, icc.. better to let Ash go thru it quick n recover quick too! So fast hor, going back to work for u liao!

Cindy, must post pix of ur "open house" last Sat. Claire still hving her running nose...

Btw, check with u ladies.... Dunno why Claire nowadays like to cry first before telling us what happened? Her pants were wet coz the diapers overflown, the way she cried machiam like in Great Pain.... I was like -_-|||, dunno isit just a phrase or what....

Michviv: Ya Fudan ENT discharged Shannon last wed, fully recovered. This weekend, I was cleaning her ears and the cotton bud was slightly damp (feel alarm cos it wasnt after bathing). but cotton bud's still white with very faint yellow (like ear wax) and no foul smell. Then saw her putting her ear and hair. I freak out again. But I was thinkg to myself, cannot be leh, she doesnt hv runny nose. This morning called my ENT in Singapore, he was like, please calm down and not be overly anxious. He says it's normal, prob ear wax liquidifying. Think if this happens some more, I am going to have nervous breakdown. Somemore, my 2 kiddos take turn to fall sick. Now Shannon is ok, Matt fell sick over the wkend when the temp dipped. And I am leaving for Singapore tomorrow nite. Hopefully he will be ok by the time I leave.

ASHM/ Weishy: When are you girls meeting up? Can join u, though technically I am supposed to be working half the time in Singapore. Hahaha...

ASHM: Yup. Am scheduled for a C-Sect this Wednesday. Wish me luck! Can't wait to see our little one.

Tinkabel: Great to hear Shannon has recovered. =) Hopefully, they will all be well soon. I know what you mean. Hubby and myself are also all worried about Ethan. So far, he has been sick once every month. Sigh...I'm praying he does not infect his little brother.

Michviv,
Good luck this Wed! How come you are going for c-sect and not natural birth?

Weishy,
sorry to hear that, pls take care and have good rest.

Tinkabel, ya... it can't be helped that you will be paranoid! Matt will be alright, the weather in SG also no good... Claire caught some bug from her classmates n now, she is hvg constipation problem.... we also headache!

Michviv, jiayou!

Poissons, how s ur pregnancy going along? When ur due date?

michviv, hv a smooth delivery!

ladies, thanks for the well wishes.this period really very tiring, hv to worry abt dadandwork is no better.

Poissons: Thanks! Had no choice this time round cos baby is breech. Tried turning him manually also refused to budge. Aw well. As long as he's healthy, I dun mind putting up with a little more pain.

missA, k@ye: Thanks ladies...=)

michviv: Good luck and looking forward to see ur little addition soon. ya, Matt also falls sick monthly, sigh... Now we always tell him to cover his mouth when sneeze or cough. or we even try to keep him away from the little one. Sigh but no choice la. But you may have to accept the fact that it is prob more susceptible the 2nd one falls sick more often than the 1st cos of the virus the 1st brings home from school. I guess for me and happy, it's been like that.

kaye,
I'm fine, thanks, just getting bulkier by the day and can't wait to download...me 31 weeks liao. My edd is 11 May, gynae was speculating that I might get a May day baby..haha..

Michviv,
I see, manually turn must be painful! For mine, she has already turned during the last chkup and her head has been pressing hard onto my pelvic that sometimes walking can be a chore, sigh. What's the weight of your bb now?

ASHM-harrrrr so fast !!!!!!! Can't le unless tml....will be back on 10-19th

Michviv-wow so soon!!! Have a smooth one!remember to bring binder to bind ,drink prune juice so tat stools are "smoother" heehhehe n lozenges for dry throat afterwards!really helps

possions -may day good!!!! 05-05-10 also heheheh 5+5=10 ma :p

k@ye-how come Claire has????thought vege school Liao????

Tinkabel -oooooooooh bad weather everywhere making them sick.touch wood both kiddos so far oki...... Haiz tough working n taking care of them.... U take care ya,if u fall sick then "champ" Liao