(2007/11) November MTBs

tinkabel:glad that u guys are asfe n sound
take care ya very cold now

michviv:need some time for urself n Ethan
as long as he is in good hands ur'e safe liao.

grace:helper sometimes like strike toto le....base on alot of luck. kampong very important.some comes here for holiday only.

cindy:me 3rd hehehheh can go or not :p pot luck willbe good or catering also wont be ex le.

michviv:: yes gg to send her to Eton. She turns 18mths this aug (OMG! time flies!!) so i have actually enquired if they will have vacancies in sept they said most likely not. So worse come to worse, i enroll her only in jan2011 where she will be 23months. Travis started when he was 20mths hhaa!

michviv, kaye, grace, weishy:: SURE LA. if CNY not much visiting u all actually can come. The wkend on CNY, i am planning to hold hsewarming cum trishelle's first bday but think having a day to ourselves is much better, wahahah!!

Thanks Grace.

RE: Playgroup
Send my son to 2 hrs playgroup. I realized that he is moe dependent and clingy to me at my presence. But when I am not around, the teacher was saying he is still quite cooperative but he did cry abit though. I guess I will be more hard hearted and let him have the concept of going to school and pick him up after school.

Michviv: Hope E will adapt to his new environment soon. I guess full-day probably a little traumatized for him as longer hours in school as of now till he get used to it.

Cindy: How much is Eton for full day childcare? Was thinking of putting him into fullday next year. Just a thought... Oh, I wanna to check out the skybridge too! Heehee... :p

RE: Bathtub
Ever since he can stand properly, I have already stop using the bathtub. Either me or hubby will shower him.

Lazyat: are you putting your dd in any playgroup and full day childcare?

Thanks Grace.

RE: Playgroup
Send my son to 2 hrs playgroup. I realized that he is moe dependent and clingy to me at my presence. But when I am not around, the teacher was saying he is still quite cooperative but he did cry abit though. I guess I will be more hard hearted and let him have the concept of going to school and pick him up after school.

Michviv: Hope E will adapt to his new environment soon. I guess full-day probably a little traumatized for him as longer hours in school as of now till he get used to it.

Cindy: How much is Eton for full day childcare? Was thinking of putting him into fullday next year. Just a thought... Oh, I wanna to check out the skybridge too! Heehee... :p

RE: Bathtub
Ever since he can stand properly, I have already stop using the bathtub. Either me or hubby will shower him.

Lazyat: are you putting your dd in any playgroup and full day childcare?

RE : Pre-school
I also think ZY will hv the same prob when it comes to napping and bathing - hv delayed her entry into CC until Mar, since PIL & myself can still handle her until they hv another little baby (niece) to take care during end Feb.

Meanwhile, I will bring her to familiarize with the school compound and teachers, so she has no school nor enrichment for these 2 mths. (we juz stop her LNT lessons) Already she was asking me why no school today cos she particularly like the Chinese teacher there.

My fren's son ultimate, after 1 yr of going fullday CC, will still cry every morning after a wkend/holiday without fail... guess its their little way of expressing sadness to part with their dearest ones.

lazykat:: talking about bath, travis has no more bathtime since he is in N1 now. other mommies? your kid still got bathtime? think it's like tha for travis too, cry after school hols. at home enjoy like a king ma. sigh.

gelyn:: welcome to my home anytime. haha and eton vanda is now 770 per month after subsidy. BUT they are raising the costs in march, forgot how much already haha!

missA:: yes ley! the teachers say N1 no more bath ley. a bit weird hor? HAHAH!! maybe i go ask them again. yup cheapy so that's why they raising up price ah. can't remember how much. think to 850. not sure haha!

Cindy: Act Matt doesnt get bathed in the school I put him in too. I think it is fine la, esp for us, it's winter. I can't risk them keep bathing the kids and them catching a chill.

Ya time flies, Shannon is now almost 5 months now. Very soon, she can start solids...

Cindy weird leh... Claire's cc got bath time for all the levels!

Tinkabel, in winter... its ok not to bath everyday but not in hot & humid SG! Will stink!

tinkabel, so sweet. I tink ur gal looks like u!

Jus a qn to mummies here, r most of ur kids toliet trained already? When u send to playgroup/nursery do they need to be toliet trained?

cindy,
i oso wana go sky bridge... hiak hiak hiak...
re: N1 no bath
i didn't know that, still pack towel and change of clothings for chloe every day... hahahhaa... but i'm sure still have at her CC coz her towel always damp when she rch home leh.

and chloe very lucky lor, there's only 3 toddlers in her class now leh, so they all mix together with the other 5 N1 kiddos...
not sure when will newbies join in, but heard from another teacher should be around mid-year.

michviv,
hang in there, E will get use to the new school/routine soon, esp when he 'target' one fav teacher n cling to her, everything will fall into place. fyi, chloe sometimes still wana show me the 'wana cry liao' face when i drop her off in the mrng... i thk they also have mood bah :D

re: bath/shower
chloe will dictate who bath her - usually i can't escape lor... but sometimes she will want her daddy to bath her. and usually wkdays she'll have her evening showers after dinner while wkends will be in the bath tub - esp when she saw her didi splashing water in the bathtub, she also wana play lor... monkey see monkey do! hahaha...

tinkabel,
loveeee.... that pic of matt & shannon.
getting my 2 rascal to take that shot is more difficult that striking TOTO! hahaha...

Poochi, it depends on the sch. One church told me that its preferable that the children to be toilet trained before they admit them coz simple reason, they dun hv enough man power to help them change diaper.

poochi, my A still not "properly" toilet train. She willnot auto tell us she want lor but if we ask her she may comply by peeing in the potty. Last weekend my mum taught her to squat & pee in the shower area!

tinkabel: Such a lovely photo captured at the correct moment! =)Shannon is so pretty! Love her thick hair...

Poochi: I think it will depend on the school. Some will not admit to N1 unless potty trained. Luckily for us, MC is accommodating in this aspect.

Kitty: Thanks for the encouragement. I'm seeing improvements already. Today the crying lasted on 20minutes vs. 40 minutes on Friday. *crosses fingers*

Poochi: I'm thinking of training E once he gets used to school. The last time I tried to force him to sit on the potty, he went on a food strike and refused to eat so that he won't have to poop. Aiyo...that boy is too clever for me. Now, I don't want to force him anymore but I will always ask if he wants to pee in the potty. There was a time that he was quite cooperative. Think I will have to go diaper-less one weekend to teach him.

Michviv,
you're not alone
G also just started new school 2 days ago and it's not looking too good. He is ok when accompanied by either of us in the class, but will cry buckets when he found us missing. Today's a 2-hr orientation with 1 accompanied parent and we are thinking of leaving him in the good hands of the teachers and just hang around in the school compound. Come Thur he is supposed to take the school bus himself to school, and I'm not sure if he can handle that or just cry all the way in the bus to school. Sigh...that boy ah..must have been living in the comfort of my mil's presence in the childcare center in the past liao..

hi mummies! long time did not login!

Ashton started his first day of school yesterday and luckily he is ok for this 2 days. I was standing outside his classroom, chatting with the other mummies and he did not look for me at all, except in the outdoor playground, he was asking for me. Not sure if he can adapt fully come thu when no parents are allowed at all...

Anyone keen to meet up for coffee or lunch next week?

Hi ASHM,

Good to see you back! Me due in early May. Well, at least Ashton is ok with you standing outside, mine will cry when he sees me outside and head for the door to ask me to join him. Today the same thing..jialat!

ashm,
Long time no see... WAVES!
can you post the latest picture of your babies...heeehee

poissons,
it will take awhile for garreth to get used to it. i think last time, he sees yr MIL there, so he is not afraid..heehee

Regarding MAIDS:
Can you all advise if you give yr maid offdays? if so, how often..hahah
i have frens who say dont give, cos they will learn bad things. I have frens who say, its soo cruel not to give. And i say hear from a maid herself who says its like prison.... so what are yr opinions.

Catusnah,
Forgot to say thanks the last time for the infor you gave me. I saved it all up liao...

Poissons, Grace - Waves

Grace - I dont know how to post Isabella's pics online leh.... She is now 62cm and weighs 6.5kg as of 2 weeks ago....now 2.5months... When are you due? Prince or princess?

Maids' Off Day - I give both my maids to go off once a month. I heard of this story that there was this maid does not have any off days and she still get pregnant...guess from who...? The postman!!!! I guess it's only fair to let them out once or twice a month, they need to send $$ back, or buy something back for their family.....

So long did not see you guys, must catch up leh. I am going back to work in mid march....

hahaha, send the picture to me, i help you post. hahah. Me due in July. Boy or girl dont know yet.
this sat go see gynae, if boy should be able to see otherwise will have to wait another month for the detailed scan.

Maid's Off Day
Then do you pay her extra for the weekends she work? As in is she actually entitled to every sunday off, then we pay her 3 sundays and give the last sunday off? Sorry if i have asked a silly question cos i really dont know...=)

Grace,
Yah..have to let him get used to it, but hate to see him cry. Envious those todds who are so independent, they totally ignore the presence of their parents there! haha..

With regards to phone interviews with maids, bear in mind that they are also "trained" to give you a "standard reply" by their agencies there. But that's a good guage on how well they can speak english. When I was helping my sis to interview for her maid, I even asked the maid to sing a lullaby..and there's one when I asked her what will she do if the baby keeps crying, she replied she will ask the baby to calm down. Faints..how can the baby understand you?? Hahaha..so obviously she's not selected.

Poissons: If you still have time to hang around school then maybe you can try to leave G alone but tell him you are coming back after a particular time, like after chinese class etc. This week E is much better, now he will stop crying 5 min after my MIL drops him off at school, participate in class and not to go home the first time he catches sight of us anymore. *crosses fingers*

Which school is G going to now?

ASHM: Hihi!!! Its been a long time. Hope all is well at home.=) My EDD is 17 Mar so I'm counting down the weeks now but I think my gynae is planning to induce me in week 38 or 39.

Grace: My maid didn't have off days in her first 2 year contract. If she wants a day off during the month, I pay her $20 less. We try to make up for it by bringing her out now and then to get out of the house. For her 2nd contract, she gets 1 off day a month.

Thanks Cindy!!! Haha...when there is a gathering, we will go and explore your place. :p

Tinkabel: Love the pic of your prince & princess. They look so adorable and smiley!

RE: Maid
Mine said she doesn't want off days cos she scare she will spend her money away. So we didn't pay her extra as it was agreed beforehand.

ASHM: any pics of your little princess? :)

Kittybride: Hope you can take a shot of both your princr & princess soon. I guess you just have to catch both of them in good mood. Heehee..

A's teacher complain we bring too many extra things to school and they hv a hard time taking them away fr her so we were told to limit to her snack container
In fact we don't her let bring more things to schoolexcept her cap leh

Grace, sorry for disappearing last Sat. My hubby din want to chg so we immed zoom home. Hubby say from this week, they will not change out of the wet suits as he want to reinforce the lesson in our pool. A loves the lesson, the whole day keep asking for more swimming.

Michviv,
G is with SJCK now, it's the 3hr Pre-N class. I did try the trick you mentioned, but once he hears me leaving, he will hold my hand tight and cling on to my leg to stop me from leaving. Arielle's mummy was there to witness that as well..her gal is really gungho, very independent! Or shld I say most of the gals in his class are gungho..haha.

MissA,
No problem at all. I would have thought you guys have gone home so that A wont catch cold, so dont worry. And she did very well for the first class.
I found out later why mine is cranky.. Apparently while we were talking on the sofa, Jack made a Monster face at Ashlyn so that's why she is so pissed...hahahaha so funny.

hi poissons,

how's SJCK? me still undecided if wanna go ahead for my kids to be there cos abit too far for me, but west side does not seem to have any suitable one for them, so still undecided even though paid deposit :-( thought of going for Glory kindergarten in bt timah open house in feb/mar first to decide, can update me on SJCK?

Hanns started his japanese kindergarten for playgroup, 3rd day, crying too and this kindergarten very troublesome, everything must bring for him, spoon, cup, fork, cloth placemat and everything must label even socks, underwear etc...,

everyday give snack like jelly,(artificial type, in a long plastic tube type, very sweet) biscuit, gummi, sweets, canned peach, tibits,etc

today they have pounding mochi ceremony and teacher will give him mochi ( pray that nothing will happen, kept reminding teacher that he is very young so be very very careful, might choke :-( but teacher said will let cut small pc)

I put his cup and stuff in ziplock but teacher told me to try to used nice cartoon cloth bag to put these stuff so to encourage him to put back the things in himself ( typical japanese, last 2 weeks being searching around for all his school things already now still have to go and made nice cartoon drawstring cloth bag!!!) even shoes needs 2 pairs, one to wear there and home, one for wearing within school area, therefore i need to keep track lots of things and wash lots of things everyday too, poor hanns need to bring lots of things too and the teacher there really make him take their own stuff ( i overprotective hor :)

basically no schedule for his class, just play and play with toys and learn to drink from cup, sit at toilet bowl, use underwear instead of diaper, brush teeth etc..they believe in learning all these.... I am okay with it but main teacher though is japanese, assistant is local and they find that hanns more comfortable to use english so using english on him which I dun really like the idea, I thought I wanted to put him there for a year to learn japanese and then N1 to local school. But these few days as he is crying, they leave him with the local assistant who speaks english to him :-(

tinkabel,

nice pic, so envy. hanns so active and naughty, only bully mei mei and mei mei sees kor kor coming near to her, will automatically close her eyes or blink very fast like something gonna land on her that kind of look :)

Wah so many posts to read... hee...

tinkabel: nice picture u've got there!

CC: I'm thinking of sending J to FD CC when he hits 28 months, just before I return to work. Cos my mum will take care of #2 in the day.

Maid: ,my new maid's coming in tmr... i still am hoping things turn out good... sigh.

poissons:: i'm sure G will be able to adapt soon. he's a good boy, and a SUPER friendly one. he'll open up definitely. Hang in there. Maybe can give him one of his favourite toys and u put in his bag, u tell him that whenever he feels like it, take out to play. that'w what i do with travis.

tinkabel:: SO SWEET. really love their hair so much!!

michviv:: congrats to ethan improving each day.

kaye, missA:: i write to the teachers liao, she say no bath for N1 onwards ley. but they will give him a wipedown after lunch before nap. so bo bian. i don't really know how clean is the wipedown. his hair smells of sweat when he comes home ahaha. And the next time i am going to ask if they will be diaper training him. On wkends, I remove his diapers, told him to pee in potty. I even put the potty near where he is playing, but end up, he play with his urine, and come and tell us, dirty! mess! OMG. so we sort of give up at home.

happy:: haha so funny. travis also don't like to play with meimei. but meimei is SUPER DUPER THICK SKINNED! kanna wacked and hit and pushed by korkor so many times, she still WANT to go near him and play with his toys. Infuriating. on the other hand, when he is not playing with his toys, he will go touch and kiss her, and will ask her to sit with him when watching TV, when he wakes up, he will look into the cot: Meimei wake up! and when he eats/drinks, he will give her a share. THERE was once we cut up some pieces of soft pear for him after dinner and he gave her 1 piece!! MIL and i were scared stiff. Heng she greedy girl, can still chew with 2 small teeth. haha.

smilemum,
have you popped? still around?

Happy,
Now still early to tell whether the school is good, it's only G's 3rd yday.

Cindy,
Thanks for the encouragement. G is not as friendly now lor, in fact, he's quite shy when approached by strangers and only open up after some warm up. The school dun really allow toys brought from home, even if they need security blanket, the parents are supposed to cut a portion of the blanket for him to bring to school only. His favourite toy now is his ee-yore stuff toy, i can't imaging him hugging it around the class everyday..hahaha.

ASHM, welcome back!!! Ya, do send the pix to Grace & get her to post it for us!!!

Happy, i like the way that kindergarden teaches them things but not the snacks they provided Hanns with!

On childcare, Claire's bag very simple, 4 pieces of diapers, 1 set of PE clothes, 1 blanket, 1 towel & 1 waterbottle. Once she is toilet trained, no need to bring diapers for her. But the school allows for her smelly cat. In fact, the teachers told me tt they allow the older kids to bring their stuffed toys to nap too!

cindy, your cc no orientation? During the orientation, the teacher informed us once our child is ready for toilet training, the parent & teacher will work together at it. Once we start the toilet training process, we have to bring extra pants to school in case there are any mishaps.

I have yet to ask the teacher if we need to bring comb

k@Ye, in addition to the things you mentioned, I also bring her pillow & Bolster every mon and take them back every Fri including the blanket.

ASHM, Wow good size for your girl. My Shannon at 4 months was only 58cm and 5.55kg. Very small. She's coming to 5 mths soon.

happy: haha, Matt now getting very cheeky. He knows I will be unhappy if I hear him say Bu Yao Mei Mei. So he keeps saying it. But I dont think he means it cos he will say Bu Yao Ma Ma, Pa Pa too. But there was 1-2 occasions he wanted to beat Shannon cos I was busy with Shannon and had no time for him and he wanted somethg badly. Sigh... Hopes these are just a few isolated events.

Yesterday I reached home after work and took my avent pump bottles, then Matt said " Mummy pump milk" and followed me into the room and watched TV. He's getting very vocal. Now always tell me I want this, I want that. Ma Ma buy this... hahaah

ASHM:: agree with tinkabel. good size for your little isabelle. Trishelle at 10 months now ha. i think only 7kg or a little bit more! VERY SMALL! haha.

tinkabel:: agree. whenever we ask travis to wear his shoes, telling him we're going out, he will look at us and ask: buy thomas?

missA:: got orientation, but we didn't go cause the time is during his nap time loh. Sian!

cindy: haha ya, Matt's like that too. Now winter right, maybe my Matt's a winter baby. Not scared of cold at all. At home, dont want to wear socks. Sleep, dun want to cover with blanket. Then go out, dont want to wear jacket. Today we went out with him having only 2 sweatshirts on. No jacket. The guard at the school gate was so shocked. It was like 2 degrees this morning. So I bluff him say if he wears socks / jacket, we go out buy thomas. He then guai guai let us wear for him. But haiz, same trick cannot use too many times. hahah...

MissA, the cc din tell me to bring that either!!

Tinkabel, ya... they re very smart & can see thru the tricks soon!

so far everyday received notes from hanns school, today received a set of notes of what to bring to school etc... goodness, we even have to bring our own bedsheet for his mattress everyweek and change it on friday, given the measurement for bedsheet, towel, dinning mat, type of school bag allowed etc.... I already very stressed up with 3 kids to take care (incl my 4 yrs old nephew) and the school still wanna " play me" like this, aiyo!buay tahan!

kokomi now 5 mths plus, very very girl type, cry with plenty of tears unlike hanns, very very boy type, cry w/o tears and scream and damn "la sap" and rough type too, after eating just wipe on his shirt or pant, typical "la sap" boy! and thick skin type, last weekend brought him to fly kite in west coast, one malay family having picnic and eating nuts, hanns passed by and my god, he actually went over and stretched out his hand, asking for the nuts, so embarrassed man!

kokomi can recognised ppl very early, about 3,4 mths already can do that, see familiar face will smile, the rest cry, when hanns was smaller, he bo chap type. one is so girl and the other so boy, aiyo, i more or less can imagine how my life gonna be like when they are bigger, kokomi sure complains every single thing about hanns and hanns sure cannot be bother with this "woman". just that day, hanns snatched kokomi's doll and started to pull the doll's arm and legs, so typical right. now she still dunno how to complain, wait till hanns do that to all her barbie dolls, my household gonna be turn upside down by both of them.

hanns also more vocal now, starts to recite all the DVD he saw, especially dora "bridge, jungle, volcano, where's the volcano? ah, that's the volcano!" "which one is the dolphin? ah this one! good job good job" talking all these stuff now to himself. when i play songs for him, irrgardless of what language, cd is playing chinese version of twinkle twinkle, he dun care, just sing his english version loudly, or playing twinkle twinkle little star but he singing ABC song with the rythem. London bridge is falling down and he sings london bitch is falling down loudly and proudly! sometimes I look at him and asked him :" hanns you really dun care hor?" as usual he dun bother to answer me, sigh...my son!

my hb asked me, so many things for kids to bring to school and back, how are they going to grow tall with such a heavy load on their shoulder?

hanns running towards me and trying to balance his big heavy bag, swinging left and right like bu tao wong:-(

kept telling myself, i must let go, must learn to let go fast.

tinkabel,

hanns the same, he dun want to wear socks and blanket and bring him out to try on clothes can draw a crowd type like as if i kidnapping a kid. His school got to wear the yellow hat when going and leaving school, the teacher put it on for him, he take it out and throw it on the floor, the teacher put it on again, he throw again, took half an hour to change shoes, to put on that hat before finally leading him out to me :) and still can see the sweat on teacher's forehead

HAppy, no sweat!! No need to be gan cheong, i know easy to say but tough to do... I also worried for Claire mah... but i realised the more i worry for her... the more she sensed my anxiety... the worse it is..

U will be surprised by how sensitive our children are n how fast they can pick up our vibes!

Claire also super bo chap by nature... Sometimes i also headache how to teach her & discipline her.

As she is sick, so this week we din bring her to the cc. Today, she went to "ransack" my Mum's sewing machine n played with her sewing stuff while my Mum was washing the dishes in the kitchen.

The best part is Claire actually DRUNK my Mum's Singer Sewing Machine Oil! She spilled all the oil on her body... Made my Mum so scared & angry at the same time.