(2007/11) November MTBs

poohbee,
my son still can not wave and french kiss.

agree with dreamer@ndl, all must back to individual. we not really care if he don't want to wave, cause from what we look, he will do it if he wants to & if he likes it.
Aidan can hold pen, hold his own bottle, flip his book and sometimes he asked us to read, but still don't want to wave.
next month is our appointment with PD, so not sure what must I said if he asking what Aidan can wave or not

Hi poohbee,

i think its very much individual though i would recommend you continue monitoring.

my uncle didn't learn to speak in sentences until 5 year.

my nephew couldnt quite take instructions until age of 4 and my sister brought him to kkh for assessment, a private school for assessment and also to a child physcologist at RMG for observation.

fortunately or unfortunately that we went only last year, he has been diagnosed with speech and language delay. he is like 6 months behind his peers in time of learning and speaking. The test result is very precise. he is currrenly attending lessons at leapfrog and has shown vast improvement. but this is at age 4. things could hve been better if we had gone earlier.

but for your case, it might be too early to do any tests or assessment.

one more thing, i noticed that whether its kkh or rmg or leapfrog, one common question they asked is if there are family members whom had the same 'issues' when young. it could be genetic.

Dreamer, thanks! But i think Claire has the rashes liao leh... dunno isit becoz she is allergic to egg... Or eczema flare up coz its too heaty (the jabs) for her!

weishy,
ok see u on 30th mar then...how many boxes ah?

poochi,
the last time we spoke to Chel, she thinks is ok for us to join the dooddle bugs class. its basically the same with 1 extra activity. only difference is they will sit on the chair instead of floor for the activity. so = 2 art sessions.

kaye,
think it's quite common for the rashes, cos' one classmate from our PDS class (Javier) also had the same rashes after his MMR jab, so dun think it's allergic to eggs or heaty bah. I'm still delaying the jab..probably give him after he takes his 18th mth jab.

poohbee: can your son say at least 1 or 2 words? If so, then it is acceptable for now. Now maybe too early to tell so doctors usually recommend to wait to 18 months when you're doing the developmental assessment before you are able to get a more accurate picture.

poochi,
i think they have your details bah? you filled up the form during yr trial last time? otherwise its quite simple...just pay and they give u a form to fill in and the receipt. If this sat cannot start then maybe the following week? haahaa can check with Chel? I am fine with any. As for lesson on 4th Apr, i may ask hubb to attend or skip and do a replacement class. Depends on how the eyes go.

RE: Rashes

Problem is doc told me that the rashes/side effects will come in like 3 days later... But her rashes came in like 1 day later liao... That;s y i was wondering whether is she allergic to the egg or what lor! Heheh, Claire will break out if she has contact with egg but if we feed into her mouth directly, no rashes!

Weishy, i wont be bringing her to KKH to the allergy test coz the PDs dun advise as its very invasive. Blood test & prick test, alot of discomfort.... And the best part is what they re allergic now might go off as they grow up!

Jekartik, errm... Basically i got to check what Claire is in contact with lor... If she has no contact with things that caused her to flare up, then most likely its the side effect of the rashes lor.

So quiet today....

It was so funny... Yesterday the MRT stn staff asked me how s Claire? coz he saw me carrying her early morning... Today, Claire seems to know that she needs to be seen by him...

The moment i pushed her stroller out of the MRT lift, she was making alot of noise... as if telling him that she is here!

K@ye, Dreamer,
ZY also had her MMR more than a wk ago, no rashes so far, but down with a cold/cough. Have been super sticky, juz came back fr in law's place cos she knew we r putting her there. the PD din mention abt rashes part tho she mentions occurence of fever is 10%, and it can happen the day after the jab or even 1 wk thereafter.. strange.

Grace,
paiseh also, 10am too early for us (especially if i hv to cook her food somemore this time), let us know the feedback.

LASIK I hv been procrastinating but i am the type that cant wear specs all day long, dunno how to survive the pre-test, not to mention the ops.

kat,
yap, gracekids trial suppose to go on sat 2.30pm.
if the PDS dont work out, then i will most prob go.

as for lasik, you may want to go for the pretest first. its not that bad...heehee
A keep pulling off my glasses, tell her no, she cry. And i cannot wear my contacts for long already, eyes are strained.

grace,
my glasses hv been damaged by ZY also.. but instead of spending $$ on frames + lenses, thot might as well just go thru the LASIK this time. But i plan to hv #2, so thot its not the best time to go for it now leh..

yr glasses also ah. she attempted to pull my hubb's but didnt suceed cos he loud loud say no.
i asked the doc previously and he said that as long as not preggy when go thru the surgery it is fine. otherwise need to wait 3 - 6 months after give birth. Also depend on whether u bfeeding. Mainly due to the hormones change.

even if i plan for number 2, i will start trying in june. so this should have no effect on mine.

Grace, also trying for a Tigger baby?

Talking abt Lasik, i also wanna go for it coz sometimes its so cumbersome to wear the glasses plus can't wear contact lenses!~ Haizzzzzzz

kaye, yes it will be tiger if we confirm we want the 2nd one. still sorting out the childcare problems leh. Ashlyn now in infant care and hubb works shifts. Even if i put second one to infant care, i must be able to manage the two of them when hub is on night shift. tough ah.... dont tell me about maid. cos no one is home to monitor maid. even if can put webcam, i am not comfortable cos hubb has to sleep often at home when he come back from nite shift and before nite shift.

as for MIL - she never take care of her son till 6 yrs old so no hope, plus her leg and body nt well.

as for my mum - she is still working and i dont think she wants to give it up. hinted before already. my dad lagi best, tell me dont need another one liao ah.

how..i cant think of any other way except if i really want, got to bite bullet and bear with it loh.

Grace: Ya I think must bite the bullet and try to handle. I guess it will be tough for the 1st 2 years but after that, it shd get better. You may also want to talk to ur mum again and see how. Perhaps she will be more willing once u have a gd talk with her?

dear,
i dont think so my mum keen lah. she is working and have income and happy happy go holiday with my dad. every fri and sat nite play MJ.
Will see how lah...if accident then bopian liao but for now, cannot have any accident =)

grace:eek:nly 2 tubes la dun worry,
grace kids issit trial lesson?any chance hayley can join too?

grace same like my parents la...cant take care of kids....play for 30 mins oki .... they go tour /line dancing etc...so busy....

Glasses:me give up long time looooo now go around without it and contacts kakakkakak.

Grace, i also got the same dilemma like u lor... even though my Mum can help but physically she cant liao... But, i guess just bite the bullet & bear it lor!

My hubby's fren also no maid but 2 toddlers! The elder one gone to childcare and the younger one is looked after by nanny....

Claire is feverish now... MMR in effect liao! :p

mummies, any of yr tots like to sleep in with you? Not sure is it teething for mine, he is like wanting to sleep with us. We will let him sleep with us after his night feed. And after he sozed off, we will put him back on his playpen. But these few weeks, he will wake up in the middle of the night and when realised that he is in the playpen he will cry. This happens a few times a night... hmm.... wonder any mummies got any advice?

kaye,
how many days after the jab then the fever kicks in? how come you also can't wear contact lens? i have been wearing that since pri school, if never wear my face feels very naked..haha..

Tinkabel/Lazykat/MM,
I'll be going to HK in 2 weeks time. Last min planning coz my HB will be busy with wk from May to Aug, so decided to go for a short trip. Hence, i'll not be able to apply leave to go for lunch with u on 16th April. So paisei...

Mummies who are available, pls join them for kunch.

Lunchie at Merchant Court Ellenborough
Date: 16/04/09
Time: 12:00 to 14:30

1) Tinkabel
2) Lazykat
3) Mischa's Mummy

I'll be free to meet up on weekdays evening if anyone keen.

Poissons, Claire took the jab on Sat and it will be 3 days (as what the PD said) after the jab coz last nite, we find her a bit feverish...

So we gave her the Panadol & sleep in aircon room.

My eyes get tired & dry easily after wearing contact lenses. Then ended up, always rub my eyes... So i stopped wearing contact lenses after my customary wedding in Jan 07 till now... HAha

K@ye,
ZY also feeling feverish a few days after the MMR jab, but as its not really fever, so din really give her the fever medi.

Rachel,
We have been facing this same problem for some mths liao..
but as we dun really want to try the cry out method, so usually we let her sleep with us during the nights when she wakes up - but its sure becoming a habit!

Re: contact lenses
I am also a prolonged user of contact lenses, but unless u hv dry eyes, most lenses should last comfortably up to 8 hours. I wear like 12 - a5 hours a day and its only the last few hours that I start to feel uncomfortable. Maybe you need to try another brand - I can only use Acuevue II 8.3 BC hence choices very limited.

Cactus,
too bad lor. Enjoy yr trip!

I rem Rachel is joining right? Added u in.

1) Tinkabel
2) Lazykat
3) Mischa's Mummy
4) Rachel C

hi all, we're back! A enjoyed most at the trip
Once back, sick with fever again

No time to read past week's posts, hope not missing much.

MissA,
good to hear that, how was Club Med Bali? Update more when u free ah.. Can't wait to go for my hol too!

A prob played too hard also

MissA, welcome back! Normal for kids to fall sick after their trip coz of the change in climate.

Claire fell sick everytime back to SG one! Hehee!

KAt, coz usually Claire will break out fever fast due to her heaty body by nature.. So the KS parents sure will give her medication to prevent her from acting cranky!

On Contact lenses, the one that i can tahan longer is the Acuvue 1 day disposable one..

Wat about ASHM?

1) Tinkabel
2) Lazykat
3) Mischa's Mummy
4) Rachel C
5) ASHM ???

Hey lazykat, can help to make reservations? I will only be back in Singpaore on 11 April. Think might be too late to call by then

lazykat, basically plenty to eat & drink whole day but my parents din really like the quality of the food tho thr is chinese food. There is a baby's corner in the main restaurant whr thy hv the steriliser,food warmer and baby food (4-6mths). A ate somebaby food mix with adult food. She loves to swim, hated the sand (she has jie pi!). We joined the water aerobics class which she enjoyed very much. Every night there'll be performance and my parents will chop the 1st row cos A also enjoyed watching the entertainment. Only thing is she got many mosquitoes bites despite splashing anti-repellent
I'm sure you'll enjoy ur trip to Phuket.

k@ye, A had a bad landing when back in sg,she wail nonstop and was shivering. Fever also kicked in then. On the way there,noprob with take off & landing.Just that while queuing at the immigration, she super friendly and hugged one small blonde boy and kena bitten on the cheek.The teeth marks was deep, she tried to push him away and ended up in a struggle on the floor. She cried so loud, the immigration officer let us thru immediately.

MissA, aiyo... So bad ah, the young boy... I think she is starting to fall sick that's y wailing nonstop & shivering when back.

Kat, when u going to Phuket?

MissA,
i thot can request sterilizer in the room? ZY has started eating table food as us, so she prob gets to eat half half like A.

I also worried abt mosquito bites but i only bought those stick-on types - so far she hasnt got much bites when we r outdoors, touchwood!

Poor A, gotten "love bite" on the cheek. I usually also let ZY goes shaking hands with others.. i better keep a watchful eye..

Kat, hehe.. Cheer up, its end of Mar soon.. I m also looking forward to my UK trip in Mid May.

Dreamer, i might be going to Holland on 17-19 May to see the tulips!

Merchant Court Ellenborough no. is 62391848.
I can still help to make reservation, etc if u want...

Miss A: Whr did u go? Sorry if i miss yr post. And glad that A enjoyed.

Welcome back MissA!

Tinkabel - Yes should be ok for me to meet up for lunch on the 16th...i will just take 1/2 day and see you ladies at 12.45pm. So please go ahead to start first on that day.

1) Tinkabel
2) Lazykat
3) Mischa's Mummy
4) Rachel C
5) ASHM

Cactus,
dun worry, I can just give a call later but wanna confirm any more mummies joining before I reserve.

ASHM,
dun worry, we will take our own sweet time to eat and wait for yr arrival

Long time no chat...hehehe... Not easy with 3 kids so I am super duper busy all day long!

Lazykat, just wondering if ZY's hair is growing? I've shaved Luis twice but his hair is still very fine and super slow growth-wise!! He still looks botak!

About lasik...Just to share my experience, I had PRK about 8yrs ago, so what you have now is far more advance and accurate to what I had done. Like most of you I can't wear contacts for long, and it irritates my eyes too often. So when the eye surgery came along I didn't even have a second thought. I just went and had it done immediately. 8yrs down the line, I still have 20/20 vision, dispite my abuse to my eyes...(reading at night...prolong hours infront of PC...etc..)
To me its nothing short of a miracle. So, I'm very happy with my eyesight now. Obviously nothing is guaranteed, but I just feel that since mine was done 8yrs ago and produced such good results, then the results should be even better in this time and age with the advance technology.

1) Tinkabel
2) Lazykat
3) Mischa's Mummy
4) Rachel C
5) ASHM
6) Plumsource (tentatively)

I'll put my name down for the lunchies...Just have to work out the logistics for my boys to make their own way home!! Will let you know nearer the date if its possible or not. thanks

Lazykat:
Thanks for helping me to put in my name. You have good memory.

hmm... tonight will try whether no1 wants to sleep with hub on the floor.

Cindy was saying that she might come.

Cindy:
u joining the lunch?

Hey Plumsource - Longtime no hear from you!! Yes must be super busy with 3 boys, i can imagine

Hope we can see you on the 16th for lunch! Take care!

Plumsource,
till today, ZY's hair is "intact" - she has not had any haircut so far, or rather not required, haha. Compared to when she was 1, its definitely more, but still thin and short. But she also can sweat profusely when she sleeps, just like L!

Which explains why she likes to mess with other's hair, ASHM's Ash was one victim recently.