(2007/11) November MTBs

newmummy --
your dotter, mine and yany's same birthday ....

Newmummy, cannot stay home all day ah... I will be bored to death. When outside, I move away when someone nearby coughs or sneezes. As for touching, I dunno how to stop those strangers leh. When I get home, I make sure I wipe his face, hands and legs.

Genting is always packed regardless sch holidays or not. Noticed that many China tourists there now. It's my hubby who wanna go and gamble, think I and bb will just stay in the room and sleep. Hehe..

dreamer@hk
oh issit must take their group photos when they meet each other so qiao. Aiyo so excited.

larryle
ya when someone coughs or sneezes I will not walk that path as the germ is airborne and if you walk pass will get it. If just stay inside hotel room shd b ok lah

Can slow down the pace, pls?! Start work liao, find it hard to keep up here.. haiz.. Anyway, here goes...

Re. Starting Solids
Just to share - Chloe has just taken her 3rd dose on Tue, 20th May! Amazingly, she did not even let out a cry! She could still look around curiously. She simply brightened up my day! As usual, the nurse who gave her the jab asked me if anything to ask.. I told her my gal’s poo suddenly reduced to once a day (usual: 3x a day) after taking some porridge. She advised me to start only when Chloe turns 6 mths (World Health std) – her organs r still small, so dun ‘over work’ with food.

Plumsource,
I think the sweaty part is normal cos my Chloe also perspires (apparent on the head), esp now the weather is so warm n humid!

Poochi,
U r not alone, dun worry! Me fix on getting chalet liao.. now thinking of the food. Hehe.

RE 1st Birthday Cake
Talking abt good cakes, any to recommend?? How many kilos to order?! Personally I love Sweet Secrets leh.

Janlee,
Welcome~ So when is your son’s bday?

Langlao,
*Jia You* on your blog! Happy writing.. I ‘nua’ already.. the adjustment of the text n pics just got me stuck.. *sighz*

Re. No-spill training cups
I have gotten mine fr Kiddy Palace.

Larryle,
Happy for u – ‘dark’ dayz r over! Enjoy your motherhood!

Poissons/Tinkerbel,
Wah, so happening ah, didnt realise my ah girls clothings so hot property heehee. yeh! i got 2 sets of boys clothes now.

Yany,
u received the item already?

Grace, yalor... U bought too many nice clothing for Ash liao... Most of Claire's nice clothes are bought by her doting Popo, Yipo & Yiyi... If not, its hand me downs... Most of my frens have gals!! Muahhaaa!!!

I think i spend a bomb on Claire's toys!

Re: 1st Yr Celebration
I tot of chalet also... but the moment of doing the BBQ myself... send shivers down my spine... So i guess most likely it will be buffet at my home lor...

U know something, i told my hubby that i want to celebrate my 30 yr old birthday with a big bash. He immediately throw cold water over me by saying that turning 30 must celebrate with a low profile! At that moment, i felt like throwing my shoe at my hubby!

Annie, Claire can also tear down the house with her cries!

Hey mummies, need your advice.

I'm feeding my boy daily on the following:
1st feed 930am: Brown rice (3teaspoons with abt 80ml water) + 1/4 fuji apple
1030am: 120ml FM
1pm: 180-210ml FM
430pm: 3/4 fuji apple OR 180-210ml FM
7pm: 180-210ml FM
1030pm: 180ml (4scoops FM + 2 scoops rice cereal)

I dunno how to gauge how much to give him for solid food. Am I doing correctly? Am I feeding my bb too much? Like Yvonne mentioned, did I make his organs over-work?

Thank you all for the support... Guess I am just under the weather. Actually I know what baby needs, just cant escape the knowledge that I am not always in my best mode when he needs me.

Anyway, reading all the posts made me feel better. Actually, I have a part time helper, but I am a bit of a clean freak. And my hubby tends to leave things around the house, so i end up picking after him. But he's quite helpful when I ask him to do tasks, specific tasks, he never grumbles.

All of u r right... happy mummy = happy baby..
I just need to get past these 4 months.. and my studies will be over.

I guess its tough for me to put baby on a schedule.. cos my mum cant do it and I also cant bear it. although i know that he does not need it. He still wakes up 2 times a night now. 12am last feed, then 3am then 5.30 am he rouses..

For feeding solids, I fed my baby many stuffs.. a little spinach, broccoli, carrots, sweet potates, potatoes, peas, pumpkin, avocado, pear, apple, banana. Gonna try tomato soon.. Anyway, he has 2 meals a day. One is the rice cereal with 2 cubes of veg/ fruit mixed with milk and the other is chinese porridge with fish . he does not like chinese porridge so much yet cos he just started. sometimes, I give him a little sweet treat or tea. like banans with apples, or pumpkin with sweetcorn. I asked my PD, she said its ok for babies to start now.

wow!! thread is soooo long ...I skip read instead of speed read now...heeeee....can't really catch up too ....

Gillian
I'm repeating what other mummies said, "Don't give yourself more stress on top of your work and studies." Mommies always want the best for their kids and we do what we can to help our bbs grow. As a SAHM, I spend most of my time with Ethan doing stuff together, but I have cons too....I have no earning power to spend on Ethan even though my hb spends the most on him. I try to save by buying less clothes (usually try to get hang it downs from friend who have two boys) and unnecessary toys (usually I am his talking toy--haaa...) ....flashcards are not a must, and there are also other ways to help bbs grow their brain beside flashing cards. When you are with your bb, you could do horizontal spin, horizontal rotation, horizontal pitching, acceleration (up and down), and vertical rocking to help baby develop the balance areas of the brain. I am referring to "How Smart Is Your Baby" by Glenn Doman pg 170-173. Each activity only takes about 3 min ....your playing with him also helps your bb to learn too ....Babies need a lot of touch and cuddle and most of all love by the parents ....you are great mommy and I am sure your bb feels your love ...don't blame yourself for not doing enough.....just do what you can .....

I bring Ethan to hte library 3 times a week to listen to storytelling, and the following are some fun that I learned from the library that I use when playing with Ethan, and he loves it.
1) Peek a Boo - (to the tune of Frere Jacques) Peek a boo! Peek a boo! I see you, I see you. I see your tiny toes, I see your button nose! Peek A boo! Peek a boo! 2) Round and Round the Garden
Round and roudn the garden (make a circle around child's belly button), goes the teddy bear. One step, two steps (finger walk aound child's body) Tickle under there! (tickle child's tummy) 3)Slowly, Slowly. Slowly, slowly, very slowly, Creep the garden snail. Slowly, slowly, very slowly, up the wooden rail.(Fingers creep up child's body) Quickly, quickly, very quickly, runs the little mouse. Quickly, quickly, very quickly, round about the house (fingers run all over child's body) Trot, trot, trot to (London)use any name of place- (bounce baby on knees) Trot, trot, trot to (Dover),look out (child's name) Or you might fall over (tip child to one side) Trot, trot, trot to (Boston) Trot, trot, trot to (Lynn), look out (child's name), or you might fall in (lower child between legs) ......

ueno : ha ha my mom watches ch.8 so sometimes I'll sit ard and watch. Hmm I jus found out the actress name is Jessica Liu. Fr pics ur simle and everthing looks like her! Fwah u Ming Xing Mummy leh!

Re: 1st Yr Celebration
Yvonne wow u fast worker efficient mummmy. As for cake tink u can ask the cakeshop to est the size as long as u know the pax. My cousin bought a 3D elmo cake for her son , v cute but we were laughing cos the daddy had to chop off elmo's head - samurai style!

K@ye ya boy BBQ not easy but nowadys u can order online- but than the BBQing part must DIY or ask the men to do it la! :p

gillian,
tomato is a high ALLERGIC food, its recommended to be given to babies 1 yr n above!

poochi,
Think the pic is v small thats y u have this illusion, false effect. Jessica is prettier.

k@ye, Langlao, mambo, yvonne,
thanks for feedback on baby sweating, yes its always around the head, and like you Langlao I have to have blanket at night whereas my baby will leave a patch wet sweat on his mattress! We always make sure we have a muslin cloth on standby to wipe his head throughout the day.

Mambo, Larryle,
I'm also going to genting!! I've never been there and to be honest its not my choice. But my older boys seem to find it an adventure to ride on a coach!!!! Its the school holidays so I have to take them somewhere, unfortunately we only have the weekend to play with.
I called up the coach company and ask them where would my baby sit, and their reply was that the baby should sit on your lap on the entire journey!! I intend on bringing my maxicosi car seat and placing it infront of my seat. I think theres enough space right?
I haven't booked my hotel yet, but I know that its almost booked up. Any advice on which hotel is good?

Gillian and all the stressed out mummies...
Don't despair you are doing a wonderful job. At the end of the day we're all here for eachother to offer support and encouragements. Plus 'we' totally understand

Sales.
Anyone got any bargains? Wheres the best sales? hehe

Re: Leappad
Hey, any mummies know if the Leappad Learning System (dunno if that's the right name) @ SGD 69.95 is considered cheap or not ah? i tot prev i saw some BP going on, but never note the price...

BTW, GSS starts TODAY! *Happy Shopping!*

poochi,
muahahah... ur gal looks so shiok and like big boss in her bath tub!

gillian,
cheer up... i think many mummies here also are stressed up like you... hving to juggle work and family... it's really a challenge to do that, but i've learnt to take it easy now... spend whatever time i can with them... if i'm tired, juz let others (my mum, maid) take over them for a while... like what someone mentioned, at this stage, it's love and love and love that they need, so juz give them lotsa LOVE! :D

aunty K@ye hmmm dun wan la...
1438896.jpg

plim: ya my mum calls her "tow key nuei" lady boss. She likes to hold onto the side of tub and her car seat! Sometimes she will hold onto the seat wif one hand and the other she tap her thigh.. buey tahan her!

Gillian,

i can empathize with u. Jovan got no routine at all until only 2 weeks ago. AND he can wake up for up to 4 times everynight fussing (not for milk) coz he cant get back to sleep on his own. sometimes i can use up to 1hr to coax him back to sleep. i'm v sleep-deprived & my chinese sinseh warned my husband tat i may collaspe anytime. mummies who went to the gathering can see how pale-looking I am.

i dun do flashcards with Jovan also. no time! weekends also just really wan to zzzz. i believe all this is just a passing phase. many mothers also go thru this. it'll go by b4 u even know it. at this age, our babies need more love & concern than toys & books. AND we need to take good care of ourselves in order to shower them with our love. *HUGS* take care!

Poochi,
Hazel is so CUTE!!! i agree with plim - she's like big boss in her bath tub. the pic just made me smile. Jovan sometimes sits like tat when he's in his stroller. when we pause for awhile & stop pushing the stroller, he will sit up straight, turn ard & look up at us . like saying "halo, dun stop pushing leh" then we gotta start pushing, else he will "eee eee aaa aaa"

Haha, that photo of Hazel really screams, "Dun wan"!

Claire also likes to hold on the side of the tub and sometimes, she will slide to submerge herself... So, i will always ask her, "Boss, comfry or not?" She will give me that cheeky smile! Now, she knows how to splash the water ard!

Catherine - ya this pic never fails to make me laugh! Their little actions r jus hilarious at times... bb jus love goin jalan jalan hor?

Aunty K@ye tempt u wif another pics.. cos I know its lunch time soon. Pls be gentle!
1438962.jpg

Mummy says i should shake hands wif claire cos we both like v "chor lor" for lil gals.

poochi,
Baby Hazel's thighs are so tempting! check out the lines in the inner thighs, my mil will tell u that ur next bb will be a BOY! dunno how true la..that's what the old folks say. BB garreth has those too, when I heard that comment, sian half liao.

OMG Poochi... Hazel's thighs are so.... 'YUMMY! ahhahaa... and she does have the towkay neo look at the bath tub!! so cute

my HB also calls my dd 'towkay neo' when she sits in her pram and puts her feet up on the railbar! very funny actually and i thk most babies that age do that!

gillian & catherine,
you both must really take care of your body and JIA YOU JIA YOU!!! *hugz*

re: baby sweating
yup, may gal also in the same category... usually her head sweat buckets when she drinks or about to sleep. and we sleep in aircon room (nowadays weather so warm, bo pian liao) almost every nite and i blast the fan at the same time till the air's cooler than switch off ~ yet can still feel the sweat at the back of her head. sometimes really makes her head so stinko... ahaha...

shane,
aiyoh, so happy that you posted the little stories coz i think i will use it on my gal too. she's getting a little bored of my "koochi koochi koochi koo..." but sometimes still entertain me by laughing out loud lah... Kam sia kam sia! :D

Poochi, later i might go buy chicken drumstick to eat for lunch!

Haha, yalor Claire also very chor lor... Put her legs up on railbar in the pram. During sleeping time, will sleep with one leg up if not, both legs open wide wide....

k@ye,

ahaha... sama sama as my chor lor chloe.. especially before sleep her legs will be going up and down slamdunk a few times either on the mattress, pillows (which i put at her side) or my face/stomach/arms etc whichever is closest & within reach of her legs & arms! :D

then when finally zzz time, can see her arms in "W" position and her legs "M" position - sometimes upside down "V" position... very funny!

wow poochi,
her thighs are so thunderous.

re: sweating
my gal also perspire like crazy type. plus she got lots of hair, so literally drooping sometimes... got to change her so many times in a day now. my dad went to buy some clothes for her, got holes holes type after my mum complains those clothes i buy for her always so think.

Gelyn

I got it in the forum. PM you her details later.

S@L

Just transferred the money to you. If you have pink and clear will be good. otherwise, any colour will do.

Here's a latest picture of my gal

1439054.jpg

Gillian

I'm like you also. Very stressed out lately, pimples popping out everywhere. Very ugly now

Me too, trying to juggle between work and home. Got a helper but in the process of changing. The thought of training the new one all over again just make me eek!!!

Work not much better for me, been losing my mind lately, as work keeps piling and piling.

I gave up my music lessons also, wanted to take a dip but simply no time to practise. Everyday, its mum's house, own house, workplace. So doing leisure playing only.

Poochi, your little girls hands and legs like sausage. So yummy & juicy!
The bath panty so cute, got a ducky at the right spot.

K@ye, you recommend I put milk powder in rice cereal. My daughter normally drinks 180 ml, 4 feeds per day and take 2 solids meals. So how much milk powder do you think I should add to the cereal ah?

wow so many posts ..... juz this one morning!!

kaira after trying the rice cereal 2 times decides that she doesn't like it! yesterday and today simply refuse to eat the rice cereal .... haizzz....

any advice mummies? think i shall stop and wait a few days and try again......

dreamer: cailyn not wanting to eat her puree too when trying to feed her yest.. turing her head left and right.. I told her to look at daddy coz daddy also "mum mum.." then she will start eating.. haha.. she will be very curious whenever we are eating, so i try this technique to get her eat too.. hope it helps abit.. =p

ha kittybride, k@ye tink the lil gals shd meet sure can click! Kittyb. wen I collect the bbmall loot fr u hopefully can let the 2 gals wif same birthday meet!

Gemini ur gal also v cute cute chubby wif big eyes!

Jules - ha ha like breadrolls too!

dreamerhk- ya mayb u can wait or try something else ie. sweet potato/ apples etc? To test if she either don't like the cereal or she has not master swallowing.

poochi,

ya hor... then let the 2 of them 'face-off' and see who's more chor lor! ahaha...

but my gal a bit scared of new faces... actually she scared of my in-laws more than strangers! aahaa... every time (once a week kind) they come over n try to carry her, she will wail n cry in protest... i thk my in-law oso bo pian can only play wif her with us around... :D

but i'm sure she'll like to hang around with frenz her AGE! should be fun for them to look at each other and say 'hello'...

Jules, no hard and fast rules lah. Claire's nanny put 6 scoops of rice cereal with 2 scoops of FM. Mabbe u put like 4 scoops of cereal with 3 scoops of FM?

Gemini, Claire wears singlet at home one.... Those singlet i bought for her makes her look like ah pek....

Dreamer, try Mamboobb's method of mum mum or open the mouth big big and ah ah... If not, u can mix the rice cereal with pumpkin puree.

Kittybride, Claire ok with my in laws playing with her but when they wan to carry her out to kai kai w/o familiar faces. She will cry!

Btw, Claire has 1 "boyfren" liao... Its the nephew of her nanny. I went to fetch Claire last Friday, her nanny's nephew cried when we bring her back. Then, my hubby & i told Claire,"No wonder that kor kor thinks u re his girlfren lah... U wearing his clothes and diapers!"

heehee, this mummy vain vain ma. like to dress her up but no chance to do so during weekdays, so thought, she got so many clothes, might as well wear them at home. If not, sure outgrow very fast. now weather so hot, no choice la, also let her wear home clothes now...

kittybride

my gal also like that with her ah gong and ah ma. tomorrow, they coming to my house somemore, and i need to bring my mum for her therapy, also dun know hubby can cope with her alone or not. haiz

K@ye: Already found someone to swop colour with me. :)

Gemini/ Gillian: Me too. Though my MIL is helping me but I still take care of bb at night. He will wake up one or twice at night for feeding. Recently, he was sick and he has to be pat to sleep almost every hour. Wonder how long I can take it! And I still have to do housework on weekend. Weekdays, not much time to do much except to play with him till his sleeping time.

poochi
yo...look at the thunder thigh ....*envy envy* ...I will be very happy if Ethan has half of the thigh....heeee.....very cute

Gemini19
wow! your girl so much hair ah! ...very cute too

kittybride
you're welcome...

anyone has tried grinding brown rice? Have to wash the brown rice before grinding or not? If wash hor, must air dry then grind right? I want to try grinding cos' Ethan seems to be allergic to Eu Ren Sheng Shi sen powder, and I also try Earth Best Organic rice cereal, he is also seems to be allergic ...haiz ...don't know what cereal to give him liao, so want to try grinding own rice ....just don't know must wash or not.....

k@ye,

wah your nanny put more cereal than FM ah?
mine opposite, i ask her to put 1 scoop cereal and 4 scoop FM for her normal feed. then 2 cereal rice + puree carrot/vege for lunch n dinner.

gemini,
i thk if your hb is there, ur gal should be ok. coz last nite my FIL came over n my HB was at home w my gal (i got time off to go library myself.. wahaha...) so when i came back, can hear my gal cry from outside the door, then i came in and saw my HB about take over my gal from my FIL... my gal very notti lor, every her gong2 carry her to kai kai oso she dun allow. ahaha...

yeh!! Now 1am, Friday morning liao ...got long weekend here cos' Monday Memorial Day....will be away for road trip..so won't be able to log in for a few days ....."see" you mommies when I am back o.k.?? Go slow ah, not too fast...old liao cannot catch up soooo many threads ...heee....

re: change different stage of FM

any mommies here started the transition already?
i just ask my nanny to try from today onwards, replace one scoop first, maybe for 1 wk then change to 2 scoops on the following week. hopefully my gal is ok with it ~ must monitor her reaction/output... :D

shane,

so good hor... enjoy your road trip hor...
and do take pics leh.. wana see ethan during the roadtrip!

happy holiday!!

Kitty, it is meant to be part of her 2 solid meals.

My Mum will give Claire porridge ard her 11am/12pm feed. Then, go to Nanny ard 4-5pm, will have rice cereal lor!

Re: Changing the FM
My PD advised not to mix the milk powder. Eg, 5 meals of Stage 1, then u replace like 4 meals of stage 1 FM and 1 meal of stage 2 FM.. Till all 5 meals are Stage 2 FM.

Shane, must wash and air dry the rice before grinding.

Gelyn, no problem.

Re: Changing FM
My gal is on enfa, I asked and she told me better to do it like out of 5 feeds feed 1 feed on new milk gradually incr. no. of times feed wif new milk- its like wat K@ye mentioned. But she did say some ppl mix the milk which is fine also.

Re: Brown rice
yes u need to wash and dry it after dat grind and place in air tight container.

kitty: i have proceed to another stage of FM liao.. at nanny's side still mixing stage1 with stage2 (diff brand).. at home fully stage2.. she is ok with that.. her poo change colour liao.. -_-"

as K@ye mentioned, some PD advise not to mix but some PD is ok with it. Up to individual lor. so far my bb is ok