(2007/11) November MTBs

ueno/kaye,
my hubby juz came back from sydney and apparently he could only find the organic rice cereals in those supermarkets he went and nothing else. Just went to their website and realise that they no longer carry the organic cereals and various flavoured cereals, maybe that's why.

On Milk Powder: I've always heard ppl saying have to mix Step 1 & step 2 in single feed gradually. To be double sure, i just called both my PD and my milk powder supplier. And here's their reply:

Step 1: For 0 - 6 months
Step 2: From 7 - 18 months

Best to start mixing from 6.5months onwards (since step 2 is for 7 month and above babies). For example: If bb is drinking 6 ounces:

5 scoops Step 1 + 1 scoop step 2 - 1st wk
4 scoops Step 1 + 2 scoops step 2 - 2nd wk
3 scoops Step 1 + 3 scoops step 2 - 3rd wk
.......replace 1 scoop each wk with step 2 till bb is fully on step 2.

Actually, the supplier did mention that bb shld be fine with the same brand of FM. If we were to switch to diff brand, def need to mix gradually. Hence, this could well explain why some bb are ok to switch to step 2 direct. but i kiasu, prefer to mix slowly though on the same brand.

Summer, that's the url for rafferty garden's cereal.

http://www.raffertysgarden.com/best_baby_food.php

Poissons, yup the website no more rice cereal. Nvm, i think my colleague will get the last batch for me. I told her to get 40 packets for me!

Ueno, the rice cereal has added sunflower lecithin. So it will taste better than other brands rice cereal. Nevertheless, I m trying out another brand, Healthy Times for her.

my mummy just fed bb heinz organice rice cereal. Says she loves it! Sigh... my bb's "first time" gave to my mum liao...
She fed her cos she say the bm i gave her machiam not enough. She used to drink only 4oz before trip to tokyo. now after coming back from tokyo, her demand increased to 5.5oz, but my milk supply dipped by 30%. Sigh....

btw, here's video of bb arielle boo-booing: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jqANTPiI9HA

gloomybear - kaira likes to do that now!!! hahaha ... they are funnie ones .... =)

can i check on baby sleeping patterns now that they are 6mths or so .... kaira recently always "ai koon mai koon"!! quite frustrating.

cos she's like rubbing her eyes, yawning .. and when put her in bed, she simply refuses to sleep...juz keep rolling over. so i tot, ok, don't want to sleep, then i play with u lor...but she not interetsed in her toys or the singing or the flashcards ... then she gets frustrated, she cries! and wants to be carried. then after a while, dun want to be carried, wants to lie down...flip and crawl.

after a while cry again and the cycle repeats! until she "kam guan" to sleep ... aiyo ... i find it very frustrating...cos like don't know what she wants!

anyone facing the same problem as me ah? i hope this is a phase and it passes over soooooooooon.

dreamer: reply u liao =D

glommybear: wow.. your girl boobooing so gentle one..
unlike my girl.. sigh.. so chor lou one leh.. her face will frown and squeeze all the 'milk power' she has and booboo.. *shake head - tsk tsk tsk*.. my hubby would scold her for doing that.. haha..

btw, mummies.. i just need to confirm hor.. from the websites, i kept reading that by 4mths, bb knows how to say 'ba', 'ma', 'pa'.. similar sound.. but mine hor.. only 'arh'... 'ha'... 'oh'.. niah.. is it normal?

dreamer: sama sama leh.. our girls really can be good jie mei lor.. her pattern same as your kaira.. every night so tired after going over the same cycle.. by the time she sleeps... me also sleeps liao.. no more strength to walk arnd to do other stuff... no wonder our name also 'serene'.. haha.. our girls are so similar..

Summer, each packet is 125g and costs AU$2. Claire 's nanny gave her 5 scoops (milk powder scoop) of rice cereal every day. That's y very fast finished up.

Gloomybear, can't view youtube in the office. Claire also likes to boo boo and i hate it that she boo boo with milk. And she machiam boo the milk like a fountain! And i scold her for playing with food.

Mambobb, normal lah... Claire is going to be 7 mths soon and she still arh, ha, oh, sometimes ta, ba and boo....

Dreamer, Claire also same same.. Its a phrase they re going thru.

summer
the ERS rice cereal can cook first and put in the Tiger jar?

k@ye
wow! Claire eats 5 scoops of rice cereal ah? that's a lot .... so do you give her milk before eating the cereal? Ethan drinks 4 ounces of milk and about half hour later I give him 1 scoop rice cereal and 1 scoop FM mixed ....don't know if it will be too "PONG" for him after drinking milk and take the cereal ....so how many meals is Claire on solid food liao? I only give cereal once a day during lunch to Ethan ...when can I start giving 2 times cereal ah?

Catherine
hope your boy will sleep well soon after the training .....take care of your health ya....

mambobb
cute girl leh ...know how to stick out tongue ....haaa...

pig07/tinklebel/poissons/mambobb
happy 6 months ya .....

Shane, Claire is on 2 solid meals per day. Morn is porridge, in the evening is rice cereal. I dun give her milk before eating the cereal.

gloomybear,
my girl loves to do the boo-ing as well! we thought she's quite good at it... hahaha

re: feeding
my girl has been fed rice cereals since monday and seems like still doesn't know how to swallow... she will suck on the spoon machiam like the teats... aiyo and also 'blow' the watery cereal on the spoon... haha...

Dreamer,
Your daughter can hi-5 with my son. Already know that he want to sleep, rubbing his eyes, yawning and even closing his eyes already. But within seconds, he will roll left and right and then get frustrated. After awhile, he decided to flip over and lie on his tummy and sleep. Just awhile only, he cried. Hence, I flip him over but then he will flip again, get frustrated and cry.

I repeat the cycle for umpteen times till I feel so frustrated too. I was wondering…aiyoh, you feel sleepy then sleep lah. So difficult to fall asleep? When his eyes already closed and I know he is sleepy cos he like to scratch his head, pillow, bolster when getting to sleep.

Glommybear, saw the clip. Your little girl so funny! Was laughing to myself. I realized when babies makes screaming "ah, ah" noises, it's because they're happy. My girlfriend's daughter does that & my daughter, Natalie, does it too

re: feeding

My mum says for 1 feed today, bb drinks only 4oz and refuse to drink anymore... so my mum mixed the remaining 1 oz with 1 teaspoon of cereal and try to let her eat, and she finished it all up! And we thought she was full already!

Dreamer/ Gelyn/ k@ye

my gal also like that... very frustrating sometimes, dun know what she wants. Trying to make her sleep by 10 pm everyday, she will ee ee ak ak, make herself so sweaty until you also sweat with her.

how can i make her sleep earlier huh? trying to make her sleep by 9 plus leh...

ma gal just managed to get up herself yesterday in a sitting position. Not very steady yet though...

k@ye

wow, 5 scoops. I dun know whether its better to give her cereals or more milk. only giving her 2 scoops daily, with one fruit/ veg in between. enough or not?

S@L: okok.. will order from there

Gemini: me also try to make my girl to sleep by 10pm.. and she will flip here and there.. ee ee ak ak, rub her eyes.. pull her ears and hair.. ahiyo.. every night have to go thru this process.. as k@ye mentioned, every bb needs to go thru this phase -_O".. how to have 2nd one when there are so many phases to go thru.. haha..

Poochi,
Thanks for typing out the GF feeding routine. Coincidentally, Joseph feeds at 7, 11, 2:30, 6 and 9, almost like the GF feeding times recommend, so it's quite easy for me to follow. I've done two days of feeding him rice cereals at 11am and he likes it so far. Usually I start him with the rice then fill him up with the milk. Because if I do it the other way round, he may get upset because he doesnt like his milk bottle taken away from him. At 11am for the last two days, he'll have 1 teaspoon of rice mixed with about 30ml of milk, then 150ml milk after that. I'll try introducing pear at 11am tomorrow.

gemini, Monday I'll prob bring my hubby as he needs to drive us thr. But if no hubby want to join, will make him go jalan jalan lor heehee.

Cactus, after reading ur post i realise i shd only switch FM at the end of 6mths but I did that once baby turns 6 mths and she has been on stage 2 since. o o o

Dreamer, I replied ur email liao.

ueno, my colleague is in melbourne & i told him to help buy thr Rafferty cereal but since it's no longer avail, I guess by the time he comes bak nx week sure empty handed, sob sob.

mambobb/gemini/gelyn/k@ye : wow, i am quite glad i am not alone in facing this frustrating sleep cycle !!! =P and lets pray hard this phase will be over very soon!!!!

sometimes i so pek chek i beat her backside....lol ... keep asking her also, want to sleep y cannot sleep??? and she can smile back at me *faints*

re : solids

can i check, when we introduce solids, we can do away with the nite feed isit? cos now, her last feed is ard 1030pm and its a dream feed....when i start solid .. does that mean i can eliminate this feed liao? saw poochi's posting on gina ford's feeding schedule ... seems like no need to feed after "dinner" liao??

mambobb / tinkabel / poissons / pig07,
happy 6 months to your babies!
1424091.gif

mambobb
ok thanks. Looking forward to your update.

Hi folks

So sorry but i cannot go for the 19 May gathering :-(

Husband got a free hotel stay at Ritz Carlton and we are staying there Sunday night. Likely to return home mid-late afternoon on Monday.

Hope to be able to join next time!

Btw, any one of you giving broccoli?

Those who freeze, when you make ice cubes of a veggie like sweet potato, after steaming the sw potato do you just mash it and freeze? Or do you mix with water and mash then freeze? I find when I mash and freeze the texture is rather rough i.e. not runny. Then again the infant care has no problem defrosting / warming it up with my EBM...

langlao,
I would prepare my porridge like this- 1 milk scoop of Japanese Rice Grains + 1 milk scoop of Ground Brown Rice Powder + About 300ml of Tap Water - using electric slow cooker to cook for at least 2 hours.
This way, the porridge will be really soft.

my MIL bought the ground brown rice from a medical hall. jap rice is softer but alot more expensive. i tried using normal rice n its ok too. My slow cooker is the medium sized type.

heehee dreamer

me also, so pek chek that i beat her on her backside or simply stare at her. she so funny one, will use her boaster and cover her face when she sees me angry and then try to peek peek...

langlao

my hubby also not sure whether to tag along or not. I've never bring baby out alone before and if baby is coming, he might need to come.

mummies, pls note that I am not able to pass the potty/ trainers to you all on Mon gathering as I can only collect on Tues. Hence we need to meet someone for collection or have to come to my pl to collect.

As for the gatherin, Langlao, I cannot confirm as yet cos my parents are away, cannot help me to take care of my son. My hubby have a last min appt...sob sob....i cannot handle 2 kiddos. i m trying to get someone to tag along with me. Will see how. otherwise i will post ur stuff if i cannot make it. pai seh ah

gemini, so far i've brought baby out once to meet my friends for abt 3 hrs and very short mrt ride. United sq quite far so hubby has to send us esp have to bring many barang barang everytime we go out. ask him to go la, worst case all daddies sit one table and chit chat.

My boy sleeps from 7pm to 7am most of the time. He goes to sleep without any fuss right after the bedtime prayer and I leave the his room after I put him in bed.

It was really tough training him to sleep since he slept only 4 hrs a day during the first month!!! I used the cry it out method. After the bedtime routine at first, Joash cried for 2 hours before sleeping... but after a few days, he got the message that no one will come no matter how much he cries. This method is REALLY only for mothers with steel hearts. My heart nearly broke into a million pieces during the initial training period. But I think it is worth it though...

His naps are a different story though. he hardly naps and each nap will be only 15-30 min. Since I go out quite often, I can't let him cry to sleep outside cos will disturb others. So to be consistent, I always carry him and pat pat him to sleep for his nap. It is during those times that he exhibits all the "pattern" that you gals talk about. Very tiring... I must say. It is worse when we are outside cos he wanna play even though he is super tired and fussy already... *faint* Sometimes I even have to whip out my sarong sling and sarong him to sleep! I became the human "Yo mua" :p

anyways, it is ok for me to join the gathering on Monday? I'm still new and feel kinda paiseh... heh heh...

Jaclyn
I agree with u. Matt's been difficult for the 1st 2 plus months when he takes like 2 hours to sleep each night. I felt like I was just falling apart, even though he takes long naps in the afternoon, but I just couldnt get to rest in the afternoon.

Then his entire schedule changed during CNY whr he din get to sleep much in the day. And he started going to bed at night around 7 plus PM. Since then, he's kept tis routine. Now, we just dun let him sleep much in the day by occupying his attention. Now he sleeps through from 9 plus PM to 7 plus AM in the morning and I must say, this is a blessing...else I will be so zonked out at work

wow, this thread is super active, can't even finish reading... hahahaa...

poochi,
thx for the gina ford method.
so far i can't follow as nanny's timing all chaotic n based on her instinct/bb's reaction. so i'm only able to try over the wkend.

re: BB Burping
just wana know if any of you still burp your baby after milk feed? sometimes i still do, esp when she drinks quite a bit and it takes a little longer than previously.

re: change of milk powder
any of you change milk brand when changing to stage II? m thinking of trying other brand coz bb's pooping still 2~3 days once and sometimes twice a day!

yupz... so blessed now.. and you know what? Joash now has permanent panda eyes cos of his competing for the Least-sleeping-baby award in his first two months! LOL... I wonder if the dark eye rings will ever fade away with time... ???

Happy 6 months old babies!!!!!
This thread really really goin very fast!
me need 30 mins to go thru.

started feeing my girl carrot,spinach,sweet potato(bt the other day think my helper fed her too much and she went poo poo 3 times),apple and banana.she like it all.bought lentils,chickpeas and millets...will try next week hehehehhehehe
used brown rice from thailand instead of white(they hv carrot and spinach rice too,got time take pixs and show u all,bought at siam paragon supermarket)
she's taking abt 3 tablespoons in total and mix with si sen powder.banana or apple is her snack in the noon.
milk intake.....usually 200ml,sometimes she's too tired to drink or busy with other stuffs(like outing)
abit worried abt her head circumference 25% le.....weight/height 50%.....which is normal.nothing i can do i supposed.

crawling...my girl moves 360 degrees le.....all over the bed,like tis end to another,normal?

Hkg trips,feel free to call me(i can be ur guide,if i;m in hkg) 61919605,[email protected],msn or e-mail

burping:me dun burp her now le....sometimes lor cos she'll burp herself usually now whilst playing.....anybody's bb also like that?or do we still burp them har?????

kitty... I agree. This thread is really super active... I bit culture shock since I'm new...

RE: Burping
No need to burp anymore. I just let him be upright. (hold him upright, let him sit upright or be in high chair/ walker. He'll burp automatically...

re:change of milk powder from stage 1 to 2

me changed kiros from from stage 1 to stage 2. I heard that for changing brands, still have to mix the milk powder. My fren whom didnt, her son LS-ed. But she felt that its not because of not mixing the powder. But the PD from KKH ever mentioned to my sister that have to mix when changing even though the brand might be the same.

Hi Kittybride,

Even though Kiros had been on full FM since month 4, his poo is still watery. Like mustard except its darker in colour. I was expecting it to be hard and solid type but it wasnt. My mum was telling me that Kiros wasnt being fed any solid prior to recently, how to have hard hard poo? His poo is like once a day or once in every 2 days.

gemini19,
my hubby coming too for the gathering..not sure if he'll stay or go jalan jalan. haa..

dreamer@hk
yeap tell me about not wanting to sleep. Eliza will also do that, i know she's sleepy, yawning, scratching, rubbing but she still wants to play! even in her cot. sometimes it takes as long as 45mins to get her to sleep! then if she sleeps not enough, after that she'll be quite cranky. of course there are times it's ok, i'll carry her, pat her and she'll sleep easily. but nowadays she wants to sleep with me carrying her tho..i dunno how long i can do that cos she's getting heavier leh.

mambobb,
Eliza squeals a lot but she doesn't seem to be saying ma, ba, pa either leh. occasionally got different sounds but i take it as heng heng only or her trying out sounds. also usually 'ah', 'eh', and all kinds of squeals.

re: sleeping thru the night
i put Eliza to sleep at 830pm, sometimes earlier cos usually her last nap ends aabt 5+ to 6pm..so by 8pm she's usually ready to sleep. just that, i come home at 8pm, need to eat dinner and play with her a while so 830pm becomes the norm...make her tahan 1/2hr more.
i can say she sleeps thru till 7-8am as in don't wake up for milk but then she still does wake up at night and fuss, kick her mattress and cry cry. so i'll have no choice but to pat her, give her pacifier to get her to zz..nowadays i just bring her to my bed to zz so i don't need to fully wake up.
mummies, do yr bb wake up at night? not for milk but not to play either..cos she doesn't fully wake (aka eyes big big looking at me).

re: burping
i lazy mummy...don't really burp her too...as long as she's upright, she'll burp on her own or when i pick her up frm lying down position, sometimes she'll also burp