(2007/11) November MTBs

ShaneDiao
haha, i wouldn't call it talking lah... more of babbling. i'm like you, i will be hopeful that she puts on weight each time i visit the clinic. by the way, how much ur boi drinking? My gal hor, can drink as little as 60-70ml each feed! I think she's the 'champion' here. She feeds more at night subconsciously when i latch her in. She is very resistant and distracted in the day when i try to latch her on.

larryle
did you mean the Si Shen powder? If yes, then the saleperson advise i add half teaspoon into baby's milk or into porridge if bb has started on solids. No need to cook.

k@ye
totally agree with you that diff PD has diff school of thoughts. can be very confusing at times. ultimately, i believe it's more of trial and error and what suits your bb best.

tinkabel
i think you should only try the same food for a couple of days and observe esp for foods that will cause allergy, for eg. strawberry, egg, nuts, etc.

K@ye, S@L, me will rethink about the walker. Which walker brand and where did you get walker from? I used to have a Combi one for my son but it's a bit old. And I don't seem to find Combi walkers at department stores now. Not sure if Tai Seng has. Any recommendation?

summer, the tin says Brown Rice Si Shen Powder, quite a big tin. I think yours is the Si Shen powder only?

yah, agree with you. There're so many different theories. Dunno listen or follow whose...

Jules, my walker is Chicco brand and got it in HK. My Mum helped me to lug it back one.. I got this walker based on my Mum's recommendation but not this color.

1420780.jpg

larryle
yours should be the Chao Mi Si Shen Powder. Yes, mine is only the Si Shen powder which is finer and dun have to cook. But the salesperson did mention for the Brown Rice Si Shen Powder... that i can be added into milk or cooked like porridge.

kaye,
Garreth is ok with her COS she comes to my place 2x in a wk to visit him, for fear that he will not recognise her and dun want her. But he super hates it when she bathes him at her place, will always cry..haha..dun ask me why.

Goodness! This forum is super efficient. Thanks so much for all the welcome and encouragement... *giant grin*

Skye: Yes, my hubby and I were from NUS Crusade. That was where we first met! hahaha... one of many crusade couples. He was from engin and I was from arts. What about you? We had been involved in meta camp and GBS till Joash was born. Now too inconvenient to join their activities much.

Kitty and K@ye, what are your blogs' URL?

Plim: Thanks for the advice concerning the 'wind' part though I'm not very convinced about such things. But I'll definitely watch out for signs of tummy ache and allergy. I used organic ones and made enough to last to weeks. I blended them, slow cooked them, put them in airtight Avent containers and put them in the fridge... will add some into his cereal every dinner starting tonight. Carrots are the next on my list after Joash is ok with broccoli.

Walkers: I'm a SAHM without any helpers so the walker is fantastic! ... For about 15 mins... ha ha.... Joash gets bored easily.
But I've a few "stations" at home: walker, bouncer, comforter on the floor with toys, musical toys section, cot with mobile and toy and reading station... so I rotate him around these stations once he is tired of one.
Anyways, I put a rail at the door of his room and made the entire room baby safe so its ok to use the walker. As for difficulty walking... there are so many of us who grew up using the walker and I dun think we have any probs because of it. Joash has been using it since 4 months old and he seems to sit quite straightly and stand with quite a good posture too.... so, no worries lah...

poochi,

thx for the weaning tips, will print out n try it! so far during wkends, i only let chloe have cereal+water (sometimes w pureed carrots) once or twice a day, wif milk prior to it.

ur gal so chubby liao... mine still san tiu poh :D

RE: Walker
My gal sat in walker from 5mos+ onwards but her feet will not touch the floor just yet but on the mat instead. and yes lor, her legs always looked bended like dat...

k@ye: cannot mix the milk powder? oh gosh.. now i am mixing it for the past 1wk liao.. my sil told me to mix it and gradually switch to stage 2 wor~.. not like that meh? i wonder is it this due to the changes of her poo color -_-"

Poochi, thanks for the Gina Ford instructions. Btw, arent we suppose to introduce one food type every 3-5 days in case of food allergies, then it's easier to identify which one is causing it?

Summer,
Wow! Your baby can say mama already! Cool! Like you said, dont stress about size and milestones. All babies are different. Joseph is a very big baby (according to Dr) at 10.6kg at almost 6 mths. The downside to that is that he does not like being on his belly still and hasn't learnt to roll over. I was worried at first but Dr said it's ok.

Poochi, paiseh, I read that Tinkebal had asked the same thing just after i made my post. I guess maybe the foods that we introduce at week 1 are considered low risk in allergy so ok to introduce one every two days.

summer,
Just a remark. Strictly NO nuts and eggs until later. I read nuts is a no no until after 1 years old. Eggs, I cannot remember. Sigh, so many things to remember...

Re: Weaning
no probs.. tink its only a guide we shd use it as we deem fit for our kids la.

Kitty- ya she getting abit pui piu liao.. BTW u attend ST Mary? Cos read ur blog.. my family goes there except me ha ha...

Tinkabel ya many things to remember! u know I tink i read the GF book so many times jus to get things rite - my memory failing gosh! Eggs can give the yolk cooked @8mths, 1 yr can give the egg white cos egg white suppose to cos allergy fresh cow milk also 1 yr.

RE:Switching milk powder
I am using Similac and the customer svc lady told me to mix the powder in this way:
1st week: 2 scoops Stage 1 & 1 scoop Stage 2
2nd week: 1 scoop Stage 1 & 2 scoops Stage 2

But i din follow thru cos run out of stage 1 and after a few days just gave stage 2 immed.

Re: walker
My girl has been in the walker since 5 mths. Most of the time she just bite the toys attached to it and look at the mirror on it lol.

summer
I have five feed: first feed in the morning he usually takes 60ml (2 ounces), and subsequently, 90 ml (3 ounces) the rest of 4 feeds ...so total for the whole day is like 14 ounces. went to see PD on Sunday and was told that he should be drinking his weight multiply by 2 ..he is 14lbs so he should be drinking 28 ounces per day, but he only drinks 14 ounces ...haiz ...so very worried ...and PD said can start solid food ...so I started him on cereal which he loves it very much ...hopefully his weight will increase lor ....haiz ....

larryle
I use the Yu Ren Shen Si shen powder ... I use one tablespoon mixed with water the first day and I slow boil until it becomes a paste ...and yesterday I use the milk powder scoop - one scoop of the course rice mixed with one scoop of milk formula which is already mixed with 60ml water, I add some boiling water when it's too thick ..not sure if it's the right serving for my boy cos' the instruction never says how much to give for how many month old baby ...so kind of agar agar loh .....so far my boy finishes both scoops and ask for more but my hb says don't give him too much as he just started his solid food, so have to give him slowly as he also has serious eczema .....

K@ye, wow! Your mom is super! They used to carry Chicco brand in Singapore but I don't see much products except during the Taka Baby Fair. Am going to Orchard this Saturday so maybe I'll pop by Isetan and Tangs to take a look. Thanks!

wow... this thread seems to be flying!

Re: Walkers
I never put my kids into walkers but to keep sane, I use the exersaucers instead... lol. It has the same concept as walkers except they come with a base and is stationary. It should come with lots of toys to keep baby occupied. I didn't like the idea of babies cruising as my home has steps.... so to avoid falling, no walkers were allowed ;) I also read about babies tip toeing using walkers and may actually delay them from walking as they use different set of muscle. Not sure how true it is and cannot comment coz I have no experience with it ;)

Oh... Kyra loves to vocalized. On Mothers day, she accidently said the word "ma" and I'm taking it as her first word... hahahaha. When they cannot talk, we yearn to listen. When they start arguing back (like my 5 year old), I wish they would shut up!!! lol

Oh.. I don't have a blog but I did start a webpage (or something like that) when I had Ryan. http://ryan.aboutmybaby.com/

Shane, I also have the Yu Ren Shen Si Shen Powder. Actually i regretted buying as i din know muz cook. I super slack la. Anyway I try it last sat, I find it a bit troublesome to cook such a small amt even with my tiny pot and hv to ensure dun the water is enough else will get burnt. I mix the paste (like ji ma hu) with my veg & fruit puree.

can anyone share how much to give bb rice cereal ah? I just started Ethan with rice cereal and for two days I give 1 scoop rice cereal and 1 scoop milk formula, is it too much or too little ah? should I give 2 scoop of rice cereal? So far he finishes 1 scoop of each, so don't know should I remain or increase the no. of scoops for rice cereal ....

I've been told by the older generation to mix the milk powder if we're switching typ of formula but I realised that none of the docs recommend that so I just switched from stage 1 to 2 without transitions. It was fine with Joash leh...

shane u can increase gradually. You will know when to increase the amt. Mine cried when i gave too little so fr then i increase the amt. Now I dun mix with FM anymore. I mix with purees. Today she will try carrot puree

langlao
yalor quite troublesome must cook..but bo bian leh ..if don't cook then bb cannot digest leh ...my friend actually advise me not to use those cereal on the shelves ...she said those instant type are already cooked and dried so just add hot water, and those must cook type may not be good cos' don't know what the manufacturer add onto the tin ...so she says the best is to grind your own brown rice ...I heard already almost "PENG" ...where got so much time ...not easy ...my friend's mum bought her own brown rice (top quality) she said, and grinds it .....she says better for bbs ...haiz ...I also know ..but need a lot of hard work maybe add some sweat into it too ...haaaaa.....

Dreamer, cannot mix the milk powder!! The PD says strictly NO MIXING!!!

Jaclyn, my blog addy is clairerascal.blogspot.com

Jules, i think noone can fight with my Mum liao. When my sis and I are kids, she bought the 2 of us to HK, lugging my Sis's sarong frame too! Juz that now age caught up with her, so she cant lug as much as b4. I even lugged Claire's sarong spring etc to HK.

I think the Chicco walkers are being sold in Singapore but u hv to check with the distributors, www.taime.com

Re: Talking
Claire likes to utter "ta ta ta". My hubby very funny, he kept on teaching her, "Papa, papa"

langlao
you don't mix with FM, then how you cook the rice powder? with water? ... Isn't it mix with FM, it has more nutrients then?

re: brown rice
my mum buys the brown rice from the medical hall near her place (apparently trusted one lah)... i believe it was grounded by them before they pack into packets... but me too find it troublesome to cook also, so i resort to using 'instant' ones lor, juz add water :p
my mum now giving my girl the instant one first, until she can eat bigger amt then will buy the grounded brown rice to cook for her...

re: walker
hmm, have to see lor... i am ok to let them sit in walker lah, my elder one sat in walker also, learnt to walk when she turned 13 mths... so to make life easier for everyone, will prob take out the walker to let Bevis try soon!

re: mixing milk from one stage to the next
um, i never knew i had to mix the FM when they progress from one stage to the next... i never did that for my elder girl and she was ok with it...
i need to get the above 6 mths FM for Bevis as backup soon!

hi langlao
how do you make purees?

ShaneDiao
ok your boi buddy with my ger. PD also says at her age she should be drinking about 150ml every 3-4hourly. But the prob with her is she don't cry for milk, i have to take the initiative to feed her. And each time when i feed her, i have to hold something (toy or anything new) to distract her so that she will forget and continue sucking. I have not started Si Shen powder for her, maybe will start over the weekend. It is meant to increase appetite, hope it works on her. by the way, PD advised me to start her on cereals when she is 4MO due to her weight. I started with 2 teaspoons but slowly i used amount of BM as a guide. I will add 20ml BM and mix in the cereal gradually, so far she is taking it well. Now my mum lazy, will simply add in 3 teaspoons into her morning milk of about 60-80ml.

I am just thinking mummies whom babies are drinking 150-180ml of milk per feed must be wondering how can our baby survive on so little... haha!

Tinkabel
yup, i know nuts (esp peanuts) can cause allergies and egg white gotta be introduced after 1YO and gradually

HONG KONG
do we have any mummies who is familiar with HK here? I am going on hols in Jul and am looking for hotels... any recommendations. Must be clean, heehee! Citadines HK Ashley - the svc apt... good? Also, where to visit when in HK?

shane, according to the sales lady, cook the yu ren shen si shen powder with plain water and not FM cos might spoilt the milk. after cooking with plain water then mix wif FM.

I also use the off the shelve Heinze cereal which i mixed with FM initally. After i make my own puree, I mix the cereal with hot water and mix in the purees. I dun cook the cereal.

summer, i follow the book First Foods. I usu steam the fruit or veg then put in the U Like blender to blend till smooth. As i am working, I hv to store the purees in 1 oz freezer pots which I bring to the babysitter house for her to feed.

Shane- if ethan not taking much milk u can try to add milk in his meals so he gets enuf milk. I started with 2 FM scoops (abt 2 tsp) wif 1 scoop milk+ water. Consistency/thickness depends on wat bb likes. If he's taking well gradually incr. U can also add in like pumkin and sweet potato etc.

Dun worry my bb gal also v fussy wif drinking milk but I wait for her to finish cos I rem u say u dun wan him to make it a habit. My gals record time was 1.5hrs include burp/change/drink 160ml. Now she abit betta mayb she knows she needs to finish cos mummy wont let her off the hook!

BTW wat is his weight and height now? Cos I know we all like chubby babies, my gal was 2.13KG wen born - so I was very stress to see her so small and thin. But as long as he hasnt slipped in his growth be positive!

Summer, HK is extremely hot in Jul, even worse than Sg. Tung Chung Citygate factory outlets good for shopping esp for Nike, Adidas & Puma stuff. If u like outdoors, can do trekking on the Dragon's back. It was leg breaking for me coz i m not that fit.. Can also go to those outlying islands, very nice.

Hehe, u can ask Dreamer & Weishy... Both of them are based in HK for a while!

RE: Eggs
My Godma in HK let Claire taste a bit of egg white. Piang, the next min, immediate reaction, the mouth area starts to turn red followed by the face. After that, my colleague told me, can only give egg yolks first, egg whites only after 1 yrs old!

Dreamer, hehee.... Thank god, my Mum was there when the PD told her how to change the FM from Stage 1 to 2.

Btw, how s ur preparation to go to the land of Tulips?

Ha dreamer - mixing FM my mom time also she mix FM-sis and I turn out ok. But of cos to be on safe side dun mix unless bb got issues wif new milk?!

dreamer
u make me jealous. Tulips are my favourite flowers. Been to the Netherlands twice and missed the tulips season both times. I just saw on facebook my friend's photos (he's studying in Amsterdam now). Saw him in the garden full of tulips. So Envious

k@ye,
wa, eye whites are a no-no b4 1 yr old leh... reason being it's a common allergic food for a lot of bb... and some more Claire got eczema, thus must be even more careful in giving her food... what happened after that? what did u do to make the redness go down?

k@ye -- nothing much to prepare =P cos everything that needs to be there already sent there...now juz waiting for hubbie to come back and bring us over!! yea!!

tinkabel .. heehee...i promise to post more photos of tulips for u here k ?!

summer -- u prefer to stay hong kong island or kowloon side? kowloon side, several hotels like Prudential, Eaton, YMCA, Langham Place are well located and easily accessible.

hong kong side, hotels will prob be more ex, but u can look at express by holiday inn (very new but small), rosedale at causeway bay, cosmopolitan and metropolitan.

so much to do in Hkg!! so, it all depends on the " main purpose" of your trip.... hee.

woohoo... am going to Amsterdam in June! but for work lah... dunno got time to shop or not... hehe... after Amsterdam will be Paris... *Grin*

Re: cereal
Actually, I find the instant baby cereals are very good first food. Most of them are fortified with iron (which is lacking in natural grains) and vitamins. I always start with those first and then gradually introduce pureed veg & fruits. I tend to make them thick so I can add BM to it when feeding.
I just went to buy organic avocado, sweet potato, pumpkin and carrots. Cost a leg and a bomb man! Going to make them tomorrow and use ice-cube trays as I did with my other 2 kids ;) I tend to feed them "ang moh" style first before graduating to porridge later. So far, kids are healthy and hardly see the doctor (except for jabs)
. Oh... and I refer to Ruth Yaron book which I find really helpful!

plim,
you travel alot with your work? What do you do?
Been to Amsterdam & Paris eons ago. Loved Amsterdam... but Paris, hmm.. didn't enjoy it that much. Still don't quite like the French.... although I love the food there

Plim, i wasn't in HK when my godma gave it to Claire. My Mum immediately held Claire's hands to prevent her from scratching, the redness went away after 1-2 hours later.

Dreamer, ya... Post pix of tulips!

Plim can start a spree for LV bags!

yany,
i do occasional travels but for europe and US region will be mayb juz once or twice a yr... most frequent travel is to Penang! hahaha (almost monthly)...
haven't been to both places so quite excited!

dreamer,
LV! that's one of the thing i want to check out there! kekeke... heard it's cheapest there?
don't mind taking orders just that i dunno if got time to shop there boh and also where i go to find the outlets/shops and also how to bring back... haha... if anyone can advise, that will be great! :p

plim, LV i wan i wan!!

my parents took my ger to Jack's Place & fed her mash potato few weeks ago!!!! So angry with my dad leh, last time also fed my dog food we usu eat even tho I told him countless times not to do that, hiaz.

k@ye
oh will take note of that factory outlet you mentioned. any others besides that? I am not active type of person so trekking out for me, haha!

hi dreamer
i go there for food and shopping. so where should i stay? is Nathan hotel good?

Yany
really ah.. your kids hardly sick? Ok think i will also get the ruth yaron book u mention.. what's the complete title? My elder gal was on BM for 9 months and supposedly supposed to have better immunity right? But she is falling sick every now and then..

plim
wah! your job sounds interesting lei! can send you to Amsterdam and Paris?!! I only get to go KL! haha!