(2007/11) November MTBs

starz,
i'm also exclusively BF-ing, all EBM, i express twice at work and twice at home. and my gal doesn't know how to latch on anymore, cos i would latch her on if she wakes up at night, but it hasn't happened for a long while till recently she woke up and it's for milk, and discovered she doesn't want to latch on.
it's true that stress will affect BM supply, happened to me before. also i try to drink more water & fluids, i realized that helps cos at times i'm so busy i don't drink water and the EBM is lesser by 20-30ml.

any mummies here express 3 times daily only? i want to reduce to 3 times but afraid supply will drop. i lazy lah...plus work getting busier, then takes up 1hr of my work time expressing at work. :S everytime hope i can quickly express and get back to work.

sigh...Eliza's caught a running nose from me...she was quite cranky today and occasionally i can hear her phlegm but i dunno where and how it can come out. should i bring her to the doctor? she doesn't have fever at all. took her a long long time to get to sleep today, cos she'll need me to carry her and when i put her down she'll cry. luckily, my mil came to 'save' me cos daddy only made her cry more,and i'm so frustrated, exhausted & sick. funny how she doesn't like daddy at bedtime too

Dreamer

I think you are right. They start recognizing people at about 4 month ...Mine, at about 3 months, still o.k. with people carrying him too. But now, facing me 24/7, other people he doesn't want : ( ...cannot tahan ...

He is still constipating : ( .....Try giving him the "Fatty Water" ...Gripe Water ...see how it goes ...

pig07
I guess it's because I had a defficult labor, going through about 16 hours, and in the end Ethan has to be vaccumed out, and there was terrible tear "down there" ...doctor said 3rd degree tear which she said very bad ....so I took long time to heal ....now about 5 months already still hurt sometimes ....so until now, my husband dare not touch me, worried that "down there" pain pain ...I want a second one, hopefully a girl. I like girl girl : ) ....so my Gynae said wait for a while since my birth first time was so bad that actually I need to have blood transfusion as I lost a lot of blood, and also I had IV infection until I had high fever, (the stupid nurse poked my arm also don't know how many times until infected ...so mad!!) and worst thing... when I came home after 5 days, "down there" gushing out a lot of blood until I almost faint as I had already lost so much blood during delivery, and still loosing blood ...my bed was all stained with blood that my husband had to call 911 for ambulance....My mum who came to US to do confinement for me cried when she saw me gushing out so much blood on the bed....She said "piah hueh" -- "rush blood" in teochew .. no good ...I heard already alomost faint I thot I was dying then ....very serious ..... Lucky I was o.k. ...haven't met GOD yet...haaaa...I was kind of scared also cos' my friend in SIN told me that her friend gave birth after a week ...then she died ...don't know for what reason ....After this dramatic/tramatic incidence, my Gynae kind of worried for me .....

Mommies...

Recently my son doesn't want bottle at all no matter how much I force it into his mouth ...die die .... my BM is pretty low and he also doesn't drink a lot of FM previously -- about 2-3 ounces each time ....now totally reject bottle ...very stressful for me ....but he doesn't mind drinking water ....but also cannot let him drink too much water too .....doctor keeps reminding me not to give him water before 6 month but I don't really care much ....he's constipating now, how not to give him water ...."sigh".....

Just got the sling from my neighbor, and the min I put him down, he sleeps like a piglet ...wow really save my arms from breaking... I use snuggli on him but he doesn't like, have one of the beco but he doesn't like so gave away ...don't know why sling works ...miracle....haaa....I only know 2 ways to use the sling, any other way?
1353766.jpg

s@l:: hahhaaaaa!! i can't remember whether i paid for total or just items only ma.. okay! i will let u know when i receive the items! thank you dear!

skye, mayb can arrange ur pumpg sessions such that u pump once once at wk? i pump 4 times a day, but only once at wk after lunch.

hi pig07,
i feel that my MIL just wanna hao lian to her relatives that she can control / insult her DIL and get away with it lah. she not really educated + taking revenge for her injustices last time mah. i also know. but hor, it's backfiring on her. i buay song her, her relatives also can't stand it, try to help me also. they see her monopolising my bb, they go take the bb from her, carry a bit, then return me. of coz she'll then try to grab him back from me, but at least she cannot hang on to him all the time.

once she complained and looked super buay song that i am still bf-ing, but her own sis said i was doing the right thing and shut her up lor.

even my FIL now asks her to hand the bb back to me to let me carry in the car, so sometimes she even more unhappy.

so there are still silver linings. i just dun like her. but honestly the rest are ok. she is just unfair to me lor, but i just take my own sweet time to get to her place and tolerate for a few hours then rush home lor.

i dun want my hubby to fight with her also. i just made it clear i dun like her and asked him how far he would go to serving his responsibilities to the family. since he said it ends with the money every month and the weekly visits, i am ok lor. dun wanna give her more reasons to complain abt me. i'm still a good DIL, even if she wanna be evil. will not stoop to her level lor. i just make sure my hubby knows the limit can liao. dun expect us to take care of her solely when his youngest bro take all their money lor, and the second bro lives off them. we are the only contributors. i was scared if they sick or anything, we end up paying and taking care of them some more. but my hubby assured me that the 500 a month is all, considering how he paid back 24k to them, when his uni fees were only 22k, and he gives them money every month, plus bonus and new year money. so enuff liao, if they wanna throw the money away, then so be it. we are not responsible.

well, if my hubby goes back on his words, i'll divorce him and take his money away so he cannot go back on his word also. i worked so hard to ensure a good life for us and our bb. i wun allow anyone to ruin it. wun allow his bros and the china woman to spend all our hard earned money also. i am evil but i dun care.

she smart lah, she doesn't 'say' me in front of my hubby, she always waits for him to be out of the room. so actually, she is just attacking me.

it's gotten to the point that even my mom is pissed, and i din tell her what happened. my mom is pissed coz she buay zi dong, the day i delivered, my mom even had to send her home, when it was super out of the way. then in the car, my MIL said some stuff to my mom that pissed her off.

now my MIL tells the whole world how much her grandson looks like my hubby and even my FIL, but not at all like me. sadly, everyone else says looks 100% like me, even her relatives. hahaha... she makes a face whenever anyone says so. quite funny.

i trying to cheer myself up... later got to go there again. then when i smell my bb's head later, i'll end up smelling her BO again. damn sian, she loves to kiap his head under her armpit. sigh.

S@L
Thanks, will check with my Gynae if she can prescribe for me the Reglan .... my production is super low ....don't know can go til 6 month or not .... see how it goes ....

Awfully busy with Conrad as well as work... no time to log in. Wow! This thread has ballooned over just one week.

Pig,
Congratulations! Do take good care of yourself and eat well.

Parents-in-law
I'm quite lucky. I stay with my PILs and they are really quite nice... Except, I've discovered that in the past week, when I had to work late, they were letting Conrad lick on fruit! Conrad's on TBF and got slight eczema too, and I really don't want an allergy outbreak! Sigh...

Skye,
I express three times daily, at work only... I latch Conrad on before I go to work and express every 3-4 hours. When I get home, I just latch him on... Haven't expressed in the evening and night since early Feb when I went back to work... Milk supply ok, enough to sustain his feeds.

Conrad's putting everything he can get his hands on into his mouth recently. Any mummies also having this prob? Is it a sign of teething?

Hi Shanediao,

Haha.. i think we are almost the same wrt delivery. But i think i am slightly more fortunate as i dont have blood gushing out afther the stitch. I had 16 hours labour too. i started pushing when at say 8cm but baby's head was still high. In the end, gynae came and used FORCEPS. He go on explaining will cause a mark on the baby's head for dont know 3 days o 3 weeks or 3 months. I dont care liao. I jus want to get my son out. I jus sign the consent form and he start to 'kiap' my son out. And yes, I got a tear down there too.I was pushed to the operating theatre for the stitch as too much blood was being lost. And was given morphine for the stitch as the epidural doesnt seem to work already. I can only hear something like rubber pads were being being inserted 'down there' to absorb the blood. And i hear the nurses couting the number of stitches as the gynae was stitching away. i thot i heard 3 times of 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10.. making it total of 30 stitches all in all. And the following morning, the gynae came and remove the pads by pulling out the 3 rubber pads from 'down there' and i heard from the nurse whom washed me that it swelled very badly 'down there'. for 3 weeks, i think i couldnt stand for very long. i had to be seated. i can barely stand beyong 1 minute as i feel that my whole 'V' is like dropping down due to gravity. I also do not know if its the normal feeling every mummy going thru for normal delivery or becos i had a tear. Plus the final 3 hours of labour were very bad. I can feel the pull 'down there'.. through out until the final 3 hours i didnt feel anyting as i was on epi moment i admit for induce. until today i also dont know what is the pain 'down there' that i was experiecing during the final 3 hours. was that contractions or was that baby's head coming out? I still very blur. That is why i am bit apprehensive of my next labour. And i thought i am imagining thing when i still feel a slight pain 'down there' when i exert too much force.

Did you then check with your gynae when is a better time for you to try conceiving? Perhaps wanted you to 'heal' and treat your body first. both for yourself and for the 2nd child.

Hi Nov1mom,
At least your hubby is siding you and is aware that his mum is 'bullying' you. This makes things lots easier for you.
I think your mil must hve been very possessive lor. so much so that even relatives and fil can ask her to pass baby back to you. she must have done until very chu4 bin3 (in hokkien). Too much. Good for you that you not staying with her and also only get to see her once a week.

Hi Waileng,
My boy also placed everything that he can hold into his mouth. Like our fingers, his fingers, any toy that he can lay his hands on. And he enjoys blowing bubbles and play with his saliva. But i dont think he is teething yet.

Recently he is making the 'mmmmmmmmm mmmmmmmm mmmmmmm' sound like toking to us. And when he wants milk, he will start making noise and 'meh meh meh', sometimes i imagine it as him calling out to me.. hahahaha..

I just received my order from babycenter, and it's too loose for me @ the
underbust area.

This is the Original Nursing Bra -Plus, in S.
On the product info, it says that S is good for 32-36, C-D. But I think it's
will be quite loose
for 32 (i'm a 32).

You can view the product at
http://store.babycenter.com/product/maternity/the+original+nursing+bra+-+plus.do?

Designed with care in Canada, Made with pride in Mexico.

Would like to sell at SGD$50.

shanediao,
my email is [email protected]
my Eliza is born on 30th nov too! hi-5 to yr son!

tinkabel,
i'm thinking about pumping once at work, i have tried that twice, but on non-work days, also because i had to go out for long hours. but reverted back to 4 times cos i scared supply will dip. if i do once at work, then come home abt 8pm, the next pump at 11plus won't it be so close? plus after work at home, there's so much to do b4 i can so called take a break at 9pm++.

waileng,
Eliza also puts everything she gets her hands on into her mouth, even when i carry her upright at my shoulder, she'll be sucking my shoulder. i give her a toy that's clean to put into her mouth and let her suck or lick to her heart's content. would prefer that to the pacifier though. also suspect she's teething..but i think it's normal for babies to explore most things by putting in their mouth.

about bringing baby out late, i try to be home latest 9pm, and also to make sure she sleeps more in the day. but i do admit it does get a lil hard to get her to sleep if she comes home late, also cos she'll zz in the car, and come home wide-eyed & awake.

skyeskye,
I pump at 7plus in the mornign and then once at 1plus after lunch, then ard 8pm and midnight back at home. I guess after a while, your supply will be establish, even though the night pumps are closer tog.

Skye

yeh!! Hi-5 to Eliza : ) Maybe we can match-make ...heeee .... Ethan came out late at night I think about 11.30+pm (forgot the exact time must ask HB ...hee...)

pig07
thanks for the sling link...ya...our delivery very xiong ....MY HB witnessed the delivery, and he kind of gross out ..he said the doctor put both of her hands into my "V" to clean the area before vacuuming the baby out... no wonder the tear so big lah....put both hands in .....actually I kind of stupid also ...when I was pushing for about 10 hours, the doctor said the baby's head too big and kind of stuck on my pelvic bone, and asked me if I wanted the baby to be vacuumed out .... I was stubborned and told her I would try pushing hard ....after 4 hours of pushing still couldn't, and I was already very exhausted and kept vomitting cos' of the epidural...doctor asked again but I si si also want to push ...after trying again for another 2 hours (16 hours) ... I cannot liao ..quickly get the doctor to come and said I want to vacuum out ....Wow..Doctor said she would try vacuum maximum 3 times ...if head still stuck ...have to go for C-section already ...wow liao!!! I heard already want to faint ....I pushed for 16 hours , vacuum also not gauranteed can come out ah??? must go c-section if can't come out. ...die la ....I didn't want to have c-section ...down there already pain, and if c-section , tummy pain ...then both side pain ..very xiong...then I pushed with all my might....within 1 min...Ethan came out finally.......yo... I tell myself....vacuum so fast... I should have chosen vacuumed earlier on....don't have to suffer so much hours liao....actually I hestitated vacuuming cos I worried of marks and brain damage....don't know that vacuuming is quite safe... moroon me.....if I have another one, maybe I don't want normal birth ... very scared history will come back again .... c-section should be quite safe hor? ..maybe not so pain compared to "down there" ..... so your son gets any marks after using the forcep? How come the doctor never vacuum instead ....my SIL's sis'son also used forcep and until now 7 years old liao still got the forcep mark near the eyes : (
Me too, I feel my "V" not the same anymore after this tragic labor... now cannot squat too long...walk for 1-2 hours also must sit down to rest... I feel the pressure down there, and hurts a little...like a little aching like that
...I want another baby but kind of scared...my hb witnessed the whole delivery also feel the pain for me... until now, he is scared to "do", worried that I feel pain....sometime I told him my "down there" pain....he feels sorry for me....
so now, you have another one? when is it due? So you have this one when your first one is 3 months old? ....I also want to try leh , but very scared ...phobia .....I haven't checked with Gynae yet...scared to go there cos' everytime I go, she will "pry" open my "V" to check if it's healed .... I told her I am o.k. , but she wants to make sure every time ..cost my delivery was a bad one ....will asked her when I see her in a month's time ... my son also recently ..keep "who who who, and hei, hei ,hei " ...I don't know what is he whoing and heiing about ....maybe trying to talk liao ....

ShaneDiao/ Pig07

Wow, very scary leh, the process which you described.

I tried natural birth, but failed, so had to be C-section. I'm actually induced by my gynae at 2 cm dilation. After a few hours, still 2 cm, he says, baby not coming down, and unlikely to come down even a few hours later. So either C-section now or a few hours later. So I was thinking either way C-section, I do it now so lesser pain. My gal also C-section with forcep.

shane/pig, you 2 are very "strong" ladies!! reading what u go through ... makes me shudder !

and i really peifu u 2 that after all these... u are planning/going to have 2nd child! jia you!!!

Hi Shanediao,

I think yrs is more jiat lat than mine lei. yr gynae act put both hands in to clean. and You actually tried pushing for more than 1 hour. I 1 hour of pushing already cant make it liao. And the midwife was telling me, after 1 our pushing and still no result, the doc will come in and help. i am like why must be an hour? why cant it be immed? I can no longer tahan the pain liao. Not even for few more seconds. I am dying for doc to give me anathesia and let me go sleep and do what he wants like a c-sect.

I am always thinking why he did not use vacuum on me instead. I always thot maybe vacuum not as pain compared to forcep. But could me cos my boy's head was still high, and perhaps suction wont be strong enough to get him out. Gynae did warn me about marks etc, but told me will go away after a while. But hor, there wasnt any cleaning up like putting both hands in. I just saw him tearing away the forcep's cover, and my gosh, it was as long as a bbq charcoal tong. Shaped just like tat and bigger. That kind of black tong which we use to 'kiap' charcoal during bbq one. After kiap my son out, i thot is over. he told there is placenta also. Yes, i am also thinking that maybe i will opt for c-sect for the next time delivery. But people whom went thru c-sect told me its very very pain. given a choice should go for normal. But hor, i am thinking if they could be referring to common normal delivery and not cases like ours where there are tears and also assisted with forcep and vacuum. Dont know lei. But of course, if c-sect it will be harder to nurse the baby and also may take much longer to heal.

Maybe cos it was my first delivery, unknown to me that it shouldnt be so 'tragic'. I cont'd to talk like normal and sit on the bed (not for very long) and watch tv etc. I even walk to toilet by myself.

Then i keep thinking to myself, aiya, my boy borned too big size la. That why need forcep. He was borned at 3.615kg. Plus i have retroverted uterus, which could also contribute to the difficult labour.

He no longer has any forcep mark on his face/head after a few days. I dont even know if what i saw on his head and face marks caused by forcep boh..

i went back to have my stitches checked at week 6. Gynae told me everything's ok already. But hor, i didnt tell him i can still feel slight pain when force was exerted.

my hubby witnessed the whole delivery event too. I think he was grossed out too. And also feel the pain for me. That's why he is concern that this 2nd unintended pregnancy may take the toll on me.

Dreamer@hk,
i think hor, not that we are 'strong' lei. But hor, is buay3 hiao2 gia1-in hokkien (dont know to be scared). Cos didnt know that isnt the norm. Like blur blur go in, blur blur come out..Even the doc whom came to visit me and the ward nurses came into the room told me, oh i heard that you had a very bad tear etc. but you seemed to be coping very well. I am like, huh..? I think if we are unaware that what we are going through is abnormal, then probably wont wallow in self pity and keep thinking of the pain down there. hahaha..

Hi Gemini,
Ya lor. if the doc had given me the option that time, i will opt for c-sect immed too. Rather then going thru all the unnecessary pain.

As for this second one, i will be seeing the gynae tis week. Gotta hear wat he going to say then.

Today is my 3rd day in HK. Had a super traumatic flight taking SQ. Just finished sending out a complaint email to them.

Pig, dun be so hard on yourself on your 2nd pregnancy okie. U will come to terms with it slowly.

Shane, ginseng not heaty in nature. Mabbe u cook with other stuff that caused it to be heaty. Also, can give Ethan a bit of honey water if u dare. It helps in constipation.

Btw, in HK... They really very very jialat, noone heard of goat's milk formula for babies at the supermarket (like our NTUC). Looks like i hv to go to those Cold Storage type liao... Sigh!

More updates later on! Take care ladies!

k@ye, u looking for goat's milk formula, go to this place call eugene club (if u are on hkg island, its next to H&M). they stock it there. i not sure abt their locations on kowloon side.

if u are on kowloon, u go to supermarket like city super, should have.

Hi K@ye,

oh.. must have been a very bad experience that you cant wait till back in SG then send out your complaint.

BTW, I gave kiros his milk at 11pm last night with rice cereal. (200ml milk and 2 tablespoon of rice cereal). And he only wake up for milk at 5.50am. I think he can tahan beyond 5.50am as when i come back with milk at 5.50am, he was asleep again.

His usual intake is 200ml milk and can tahan for 4.5hours during night time sleep. ytday, he managed to make it almost to 6hour. Hope its not becos he was tired out from going out last evening.

Hi Shanediao,

My dad keep insisting i give Gripe Water to my boy as he claimed that my boy is heaty. Lots of gum in both his eyes especially after he wakes up. I gave him like 1 teaspoon a day but mixed with 60ml of water. He wil usually drink only 30ml of it.

pig07,
Wow, yr boy is drinking so much ah? My boy is still drinking 150ml every 3hrly since 2-3 months lei.

Anyone here still experiencing wrist pain? My left wrist pain, seen sinseh once but still pain lei. Can feel the "clik kok" sound. Also, my back a bit ache after sitting for too long. I din use epidural, so am sure it's not due to that. Sigh...hopefully these are temp and will go away soon, else feel like ah ma.

s@l,
i havent receive ur email yet leh... so i wait till receive ur email liaoz then trf e $$$ over to u hor... thank you once again!

<font color="ff6000">shiane</font>
oic.. but no menses definitely DOES NOT mean u r not ovulating leh... i got my #2 even tho i didnt have my menses then...
after reading urs n pig's delivery stories... now i understand both ur concerns... well, for ur case now, its reli up to u how u feel mentally n physically to decide if u'd want to try again now or not... juz have an open mind tat every pregnancy is different n every delivery is different lor....

<font color="ff6000">pig</font>
glad to hear tat things r going up for u... eh.. ur bukit batok flat is new tats y cant sell till Mar09 issit??? juz to share with u, an Oct06 mummy tat i know of, they r renting out their current flat (which they cant sell), n renting another unit tats near to her mum's place, cos her mum is taking care of her kid... as long as e rental on both sides break-even, u might wana consider tat option until Mar09.... tats wat she's doing till she's allowed to sell her own flat...
as for morning sickness, for #1 i didnt have it at all... in fact, i ate TOOOOOOO much till i gain 26kg in total. for #2, i had signs of morning sickness... but i kinda use "psychology" to battle it. tried damn hard not to allow myself to vomit... so manage to suppress it till sometime into my 2nd trimester then i didnt feel it anymore. i think when we r mothers, e "motherly love" is so strong tat we can fight almost anything with it... hehehe... at least tats wat i think lah...

<font color="ff6000">skye</font>
well... i've been stressed since day 1 i came back to work... n i already drink alot of water, easily more than 3litres a day as im used to it... same here, work is getting busier too, n sometimes when pumping, im stil thinking abt work n wana get back to it asap... so i think affected me too.... dunno how long more i can hang on altho i reli want to cont as long as possible.....

Hi Cactusnah,

I think from birth hor, he been a big drinker. At 1 month old, he is already drinking 100ml. Then CL slowly increase. Jus before she left at 2.5month old, he was drinking 170ml. So far i only increase twice and fix it at 190-200ml. He is currently on full FM and each time can tahan like 3.5hour during the day.

Have you tried to increase yr boy's intake? If he can take it, you may want to slowly increase his and hence drag the time longer instead of 3hourly. I understand that as they grow older, we should be able to stretch beyond 3 hour by giving them more milk.

My left wrist seemed better now. But i can still feel the strain especially when i try to carry my boy. As for backache, i will experience that too. I did use epi. Can feel the excruciating pain esp after having sit too long at a fixed position like feeding my boy. Then when i try to go back sleep, omg, can feel the strain on the back and the pain will go away only after a while.

Hi Starz,

Yes. Mine was a new flat at bukit batok that why need to wait for 5 years before we can sell it. We did think of renting a place near my parents and then rent out of bukit batok house. But my hubby a bit bu se de to rent out the bukit batok one as he had put in lots of effort in doing up the house and in fact we overspend on the appliances as well as reno. He is concern that the tenant will spoil our things and make it harder to sell out next year.

Meantime, it isnt a problem to stay at my parent's. In fact it's my parents whom jio me to come stay at sengkang one. They worry i go crazy staying at bukit batok whole day long. hahahaha..

Its just tat things will be slightly different if a second one comes along. But it may not be such a bad thing to do confinement at my own bukit batok house at least i am away from the hawk's eye (my mum).. and i can bathe and on aircon etc. My mum not modern like your mum. she will nag and nag ask me to rest and rest and dont on aircon, the fan cant be blowing at me. Wa lau, when she came to visit me during my last confinement, i had to off the aircon, turn the fan away, cover myself with blanket.. Wa lau, i was perspiring lor. She somemore go ask CL if i got bathe boh. CL ba1 gak3 with me and told my mum i only clean my body with wet towel. hahaha.. which actually i was washing my hair daily and was busying showering every afternoon.

Hi Pig / Shane,
Wah, hearing your labour stories make me go weak in the knees! My baby came out using forceps too. I pushed for an hour but still didnt crown so Dr said to try using vacuum. And like Pig said, after 3 tries, cannot use vaccum anymore or it can cause potential brain damage. So Dr swtich to using forceps. I think instead of letting me tear, she cut me down there. Joseph was born with a cone shape head (because of vacuum) and marks on his forehead (because of forceps). Very poor thing looking. But the marks went away after a few weeks. The cone head took awhile longer to go away. I think I will still go for natural next time because I think it is still less painful than caesarean.

Can I ask you girls a very gross question : Does it hurt down there when you try to have intercourse? Mine still does leh. I dunno why. The cut has healed well and didnt need too many stiches, but somehow it's really tight and painful when we try to have sex. Is it normal?

RE : Fat Joseph
Took Joseph for his 5th month visit today. Actually he'll be 5 mths old in 5 days time. And his weight is 9.6kg!!! Doctor said he's still not overweight, but he's above 95 percentile now. PD didnt say to control his weight or anything but no need to give him solids till he's 6 mths old.

hi mothers,

how do u all know u got a tear huh??
did ur gynae tell u or wat??
i also feel my wound was very painful tat time but dunno if its tear or wat leh...
my bb was also very high tat time, then i oso keep pushing wrongly..
hubby says he saw like gynae put her hands in to get my bb out leh..is tat possible??

Hi zzz,
I didnt know what was going on throughout my delivery. I chose not to look at the vacuum or the forceps or look down at all in case I got scared. But I remember that when the Dr finally had to resort to using forceps to get him out, there were two midwives who were pushing very hard on my stomach, to push the baby downwards. I had bruises on my ribs after delivery, haha! Then after he came out, i remember I felt her sewing... so that's how I know she made an incision, but because I was on epidural, I didnt even know when she made the cut.

Hi Twiggy,

Yes. it still hurts when we try to have intercourse. Even when trying to pass motion, if too much force is being exerted, i can feel the pain at a specific spot. i jus take it that the pain will go away after a few months. But todate, i still feel the pain at the same spot. DOnt know if its normal or if the tear has heal completely or not. Doc did mention previously that the stitches are fine.

I feel the tightness too during intercourse. But when i asked my hubby, he told me it feels the same like last time. not especially loose nor tight.

Hi zzz,

i was informed by the nurses and doc that i had a tear. even the nurses whom wheeled me to the room told me i had a tear and so poor thing tis and that and asked if i dare to have a second one boh? and even commented that i surely be scared to have 2nd one after tis bad tearing experience.

So is tearing really a big thing? i also dont know lei. and I dont think so bah. cos i heard KKH especially, has many tearing cases lor. Dont know which is which.

I know mine was exceptional when doc began to push me to operating theatre liao. He said he couldnt do my stitch at the labour ward. i have to be channelled to operating theatre. Then i was semi conscious. On the way to OT, they couldnt wait longer. they put in the morphine for me to relieve me of the pain. There were so many staff in the theatre. i think not less than 20. but of course some were jus sitting there and not all were there to attend to me.

But the same doctor whom administered my epi the morning i admit for induce, did the anesthetic for me at the OT. I was so surprise to see her. only then to realised that 16 hours has passed lor. that why she is back for duty at the hospital.

Hi Twiggy,

I suay lor. happened to see the doc tearing the cover from the forcep. wa lau. very scary lor. But i dont care la. The pain so intolerable i rather he do anything jus to bring him out.

Then as he put in the forcep to 'kiap' my boy, i can feel my leg pushing against the feet stand. I was trying to push myself backward as by doing so i dont feel so much pain.. then i heard him saying something like 'dont push tis way', or 'push this way'. I dont care and cont'd to push myself back cos by doing that, i dont feel the pain so much.

I dont have bruises. But can feel the strain on my chin/neck. Cos i was pushing so hard so badly. That my neck and chin was so pain even when after 1 day. The same kind of pain and sore when we do sit ups for too many times.

Guess what was in my mind when i was pushing so terribly? 7-UP. haha.. i was dying to have a sip of 7-UP. As thruout the whole 16 hours, i was on drip and can only take sips of warm water.

Then moment i was transferred to the room to rest, i told my hubby to go get me a soft drink. He bo bian, he went to buy though he know i shouldnt be drinking soft drinks at that time. I think he pitied me la. so give me the soft drink.
hahahahahaha

huh twiggy,
u mean if its a tear then no sewing required??
sorry i very blur, till today i still very blur..
my hubby said the gynae did cut leh but then i rem feeling my wound all the way to juz next to the anus leh...
if cut will cut till so far meh?? all the way to the anal area??

pig07,
wah ur experience really quite scary leh...
i cannot imagine the pain u went thru man...
but no worries lah, i heard first birth normally the most difficult..
so ur 2nd 1 shld be better...dun worry...

btw, does it mean that if got cut means no tear and vice versa??

pig07

I also think so that mine is very liat luck... I forgot to add on that after delivery with epidural,and stitching was done. I felt so urgent that I forgot that I was on epidural... I tried to move both of my legs and they seemed to move from left to right and from right to left...so I got down from the bed ...who knows ..my lower body was actually numb, and my legs had no strength at all and I fell down on my wound ...it happened that there was a metal stool near the bed and I stepped on it, and my whole "V" hit the mental stool ...OMG that time still numb so don't know pain yet ....after discharged , my "V" felt very pain ...then my hb said I backside itchy, why I went down the bed ...otherwise, I wouldn't have to stay extra 2 more days in the hospital ..... My total hospital bill was US$20K with 6 days stay in the hospital. Luckily, I am covered with health insurance, and we only paid US500 for the whole delivery ..... I guess my "down there" pain also due to the fall ..... I was like you ...don't know that wasn't the norm .... I thot tose who went for normal delivery will be like me ...didn't know that mine quite jiak luck ..... as you said, the back also pain ... sometimes I feel the pain on my back too ...it must be the epidural ...after labor, I don't feel myself anymore
... in many aspects "sigh"...

Dreamer/Gemini: Ya both of out labor quite bad ...and scary ...until now as I think about it, still phobia .... sometimes my husband still recaps for me what happened that day ...haaa... not that we are stronger, I agreed with pig07 ...I didn't know what to expect and what not to ...so blur blur just deliver ....they encourage normal delivery but still give me the option to choose the type of labor experience I want ..I told her I want to try normal but didn't know so bad experience ..If I know, I would choose C-section right away....... Actually I was induced also and the contraction was not stronger enough ... After induced I thot I can push liao but even after full dilation still couldn't come out ...I tried so many methods like walking around, using pilate ball,soak in the bathtub, try doggie position, all cannot ...so no choice ,,had to vacuum out after 16 hours

Starz: so how to know when I am ovulating? Do I have to get the ovulation kit to test?

pig07: hi-5 ..my mum is the same ...cannot shower, cannot drink cold drink ...blah..blah blah.... How not to bathe wen "down there" needs to be cleaned everyday .... doctor told me to soak in warm bathtub everyday to kill the bacteria ..... my mum said must wipe body with some kind of herb ..also don't know what ...where got time to boil water and put herb ? I didn't care just bathe everyday ...actually when I told my mum that I drank 3 big mugs of cold cranberry juice with ice, she almost fainted ...haaa... can you imagine I didn't drink and eat for one whole day during labor, and immediately after labor, I was sooooooo thirsty... I asked the nurse for cold cranberry juice .....wow! I felt soooo good after that.... I kind of blame my mum to always wanting me to stay on the bed and not to walk ...and that's why I started to move slightly on the bed, the blood came gushing out ....Actually hor, the Ang Moh here, after delivery, they shower, and can go walk around shopping on the same day ... and that's why they heal very fast .... When my Ang Moh neighbor knew that I never leave the house for 1 month, she is very surprised .... Sometimes I wonder, those confinement stuff, is it really true or not ....like cannot use fan, cannot drink water, must drink the red dates , eat lots of ginger , and sesemese ...etc ...My mum supposedly came for my confinement but I told her not to cook confinement food, and she was quite mad .... All confinement food are so heaty,,,,I cannot poop for so many days, and I was feeling terrible ...so I stopped eating the food ....And when I gave birth was still winter, and 3rd day after borth must go back to see doctor for wellness checkup, and 2 weeks also ... my mum said cannot leave the house cos very cold and no good for body ...wow ...how not to leave the house, I need to see doctor leh .... in the end no choice, she insisted me to wear layers after layers ...like "bao bak chang" ....I already looked very bloated after birth still want me to wear so many layers ...those Ang Mohs must be thinking that I xiao .....

Hi zzz,

I think whether or not got tear will need to stitch back bah. But if there's a tear, probably more stitches are required. And also the stupid midwife inserted her finger into me so many times to check on the head.. then keep lubricating it and using so much to go round and round the v area. TMD.

No la, the tear wasnt to the anal area. But i suppose lots of blood type that require more stitches to stop the bleeding. Plus the 3 long rubber pads that were being inserted down there to absorb the blood was gross lor. Its like a condom. but 4 times the length.

Hi Pig07,
I think some doctors prefer to cut ratehr than let it tear naturally. That's because if tear, they can't control how bad the tear is going to be. If suay, then the tear can be so bad that it tears all the way to the anus. (I know, sounds damn gross). But seriously, I think cutting is better so the doctor can cut enough to let the baby come out and there's no risk of bad tearing.

ZZz,
If tear, must still sew. But some people give birth without having tear or cut because baby's head can fit thru. Those are the lucky ones.

Shane,
You very poor thing leh... if I were you, I may have phobia liao! You are a brave soul!

Hi shanediao,

Ya. i dont care too. i go bathe when second day at hospital. except that i off the aircon in the room first and make sure i dry my hair thoroughly with their hair dryer when i come out from the toilet. I am the type cant stand not bathing and washing hair for more than 24hours.

Ya, confinement food was very heaty. and accordingly, they claimed that its good for us becos our body was cooling. When i refused to drink the red date water made by the CL, she told me dont worry. the concotion she has wont make me constipate one. And its not true that its heaty. True enough, her red date water very good lei. instead it aid in my bowel movement.

When i was in hospital, I didnt poo too. And i thot i as abnormal and asked the doctor for anema (i stayed in hos for 6 days as my boy had jaundice so i stayed with him). Then the nurse was telling me, one dont poo so soon after delivery one. As all our internal organs are like having went thru a 'big thing', so its normal not to poo for few days or even 1 week. But becos we were given iron pills, i was given the syrup to soften my stools.

My mum also insisted i cant walk so much this and that. But how to? The more we lie down, the worse it gets. So aching also. And very groggy too.

Plus now we have to bring baby to check on jaundice after discharge.. how not to leave the house? I was carrying my boy in my arms and have to get up the car slowly. and imagine when my hubby was driving past the hump hor, i could feel the pain down there. then he will quickly apologise...hahahaha

huh pig07 how u noe??
u can see wat they doing to u down there meh??
i tink for me even after birth i still dunno wats the process...hahaha

but i rem something dunno to laugh or to be angry..
when i was pushing, everyone there keep saying im not pushing correctly...
then at times when im pushing correctly, my hubby will say "ok, ok"..
so i tot he meant can stop liaoz so i relax then the midwife/nurse tell me keep pushing, quickly b4 the contraction goes away...
i didnt even have time to catch my breath and they ask me to push again which i cannot lor...
very cham man...
i rem i felt like scolding my hubby tat time but couldnt bear to cos he's oso trying to help *sighz*...

then when i was still in the observation room, i sniffed laughing gas till quite high and drowsy...
then he interrupted and ask me not to sniff too much say its no good..
tats when i gave in to the epidual..

is it true the laughing gas is no good??

Twiggy
To tell you the truth... I gave birth in NOV..until now my hb and I haven't had sex .... I kind of scared too ...cos' "down there" still pain leh ...my hb also dare not "do " cos' he saw the whole delivery ...feel very gross and painful for me..... so I don't know will be pain or not when "do".....

Zzzz

Actually my tear is until near to the anus ...and dcotor said if it's until there, it'sreally bad already ..... like pig07, sometime I poop also pain ....and if I "geng" too much, there will be a lump popping out . I think that's the himorrage(wrong spelling) ...for about two weeks after the stitching, I had blood whenever I poop...so I have to take stool softerner everyday .....I guess yours is a tear too ....I didn't feel anything cos' on epidural..but my hb told me the tear was bad ...very bloody .... like putting stuffing into the Turkey like that ...usually after birth, the doctor will bring the baby to the mother's chest and get the daddy to cut the cord...but for my case, I lost too much blood that time, and once the baby was out, they immediately cleaned the baby and started stitching me up, no time for the baby to get near me, and also my hb also got no chance to cut the cord, as the baby was stuck there for 16 hours, and they worried more for the baby than for my hb to cut the cord
....serious ah? c-section more painful? I thot normal delivery is more painful...

Hi Twiggy,

Wa lau. he should have cut me then so that i wont tear until so jiat lat. But i thot i could feel the snipping.

Now that down there is so 'vulnerable', i really wonder if it will tear more easily the next round after having being torn before.

Ya, i agree that shane ver poor thing. Somemore fell and hit on metal chair. omg.

my mum did warn me not to walk on my own and get up too suddenly the moment i wake up from delivery. She forsee that i will be too weak and will fall if i stand up too suddenly.

According to her, one of her frens fell down when trying to get off the bed. and died in the same hospital right after delivery.

Zzzz
My Ang Moh neighbor jsut gave birth to a baby girl and she told me the nurse used a mirror to show her the whole birth process...so amazing....that she dared to watch her own labor ..... When I was pushing and the doctor use vacuum that time ... I look through her reflection on her glasses ...I almost faint ...cos' her whole reflection on her glasses was bloody ....

Hi ZZZ,

I didnt know exactly what they were doing to me right after delivery as i was semi conscious nia. And i was being pushed to OT. But definitely i can hear in the OT that the doctor trying to tell me what rubber pad what bleeding, what 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10 x3. But i dont care liao. i was in and out of sleep when at the OT.

When at labour ward, i was slightly propped up. So i damn suay, see the doc tearing the cover from the forcep. Even when my boy was out, the doc placed him in my hand. i dont have the strength to even look at him. i just hold him lightly in my arms and has the slimey slimey feeling. I was so afraid to drop him as i wasnt supporting him. he was placed on my tummy.

Act better not to know. then you wont be so scared. Ignorance is really a bliss in this case. I am glad i am ignorant in certain aspect so that i will dare to step down the bed, go toilet and move around the ward and carry my son.

I still remember that the next morning when the doc came to visit me at ward, he told me he is going to remove the 3 rubber paddings (i still thot it will dissolve on its own). I can feel that there is something in my 'v' but i thot it is normal swelling. But act its swell plus the 3 rubber pads. i was lying down when he tried to pull out the rubber pad from me, and i can feel him the sensation of him pulling out the padding.. long long one. Still a bit painful. and then i did steal a few glances at the rubber padding. ER XIN LOR.

pig07

I guess it's not really a big thing for tearing ..it's just unfortnate that we have to go thru this
when I asked the doctor if the tear was normal for most delivery, she said it's normal for tearing but the degree of tear depends on individual ...... I had to take pain killer, oxycodon .. was told that it's the strongest one to combat the pain .....
wow ...you saw the forcep ... I sure faint ...so big ... I didn't get the chance to see the vacuum but according to my hb he said it's like the round suction thing that you stick on the shield window for GPS, or some bathroom soap holder like that ..... great that there is no marks on your bb's head .... don't know why my sil's sis' son still have marks ..... must be kiap too hard already ....my son's head also cone shape, now 4 months ...rounder already ....we kept "so-ing" the head ....haaa...

shane,

yes yes i oso same like u...
i cannot even sit leh...
then few days after i was discharged, 1 of the nurses from my gynae's clinic called to check on me..
i told her tat i was abt to call them the next day cos the pain like getting worse, i cannot even sit was feeling so terrible...
for me hor, dun need to geng leh, the lump is always there...

so wat i do is i always go to the toilet and use cold water to wash, i tink tat relieves the pain a bit and make me feel less stuffy and sticky down there...very painful lor...
the nurse told me to sit on tub of warm salt water to relieve the pain..
but i dun have bath tub at home, oso dunno how to get a pail to fit my butts nicely...hehe
most pple say normal delivery the wound will heal in abt 1 or 2 weeks but mine took more than 1 month leh

actually i feel like asking my gynae if i had a tear but dunno if she will tell me or not leh...

pig07

wow...so serious ...die ah? ..that time I was so blur and weak already ....just thinking that I want to pee cos' like very urgent ....stupid me ...didn't know that I was still numb ....now think about it , also scared .....want a second one, but worried that history come back again ..."sigh"

zzz

ya lor, people said 1-2 weeks will heal, mine also very long ...don't know why still very pain after a month ... I went to doctor for checkup and told the doctor, she "pry" open to check,and said stitches is healed already ...but I still feel pain leh ....so one day hor to kill my curiosity I bend down and look at the mirror onto my "V", wow lau, my "v" lip still abit swollen, and one lump near the anus ....I will be seeing the doctor again in 3 weeks times to ask her again ...cos' now over 4 months liao, still pain whenever I walk too long, and my whole"v" like falling apart like that...I fell before so sometimes I have to use oil to rub on the pelvic bones cos' very aching .....