(2007/11) November MTBs

kaye:: yes! have moved up to number 2 since last weeeek! hehehe
Yes can really help us have some FREEE timeee!!

mummies... do ur cuties wake up in the wee morning n do a lot of talking??? litta gabrielle woke up at 5am yday n talk for abt 15mins then cried as she is due for her milk... daddy actuali wana go n see wat shez doing but i stopped him coz i dun wan her to think we will play wif her once she make noise... scary...

langlao3,
you can buy teething gel at any pharmacy, i bought the Dentinox one.

Erika,
the problem with the teething rings is that Eliza won't hold it for long and she'll drop it..and can't be bothered with it enough to chew it. mayb cos she's still young..doesn't grip things too well yet..other than her pillow and my sleeve. oh teething gel has a local anaesthetic to relieve pain & soothe gums. we rub it at her gums. it think the rubbing & the cooling gel (cos we put it in the fridge) reliefs some of the pain or itchiness. yup it's safe to use..says can be used frm birth. my sil oso use for her sons..when they were teething.

Hi Suzanne, I'm planning to start end a week before May when she's nearing 6 months. Currently, I'm feeding my daughter rice cereal, Heinz type with puree. My MIL say can start 5 and a half months. She did it at 4 months for my son but because I'm SAHM now and don't live with in-laws, I think I'll delay a little. A bit lazy too

Suzanne, it'll get a little messy the first time your BB has solids. They'll keep spitting out or shake a little (like Russian dolls like that). But as you introduce solids as routine, they'll get very excited when they see it's 'mum mum' time. My daughter kicks and boxes whenever she see me with the bowl and bib
Quite cute & funny!

skye, thx will chk it out. my mum says both me & my bro only start teething after 1yr old and start walking at 10 mths so she insisted my gal will follow our pattern.

Ashlee is 5 mths old today
She finished 4 teaspoons of rice cereals mixed with a little milk. The last few days, when she sees the spoon, she naturally open her mouth and greedily swallow the cereals and cry a little when she finished all. It's such a joy to watch her.

Kaye, really blessed that my grandma is strong enuff to take care of my son. If not it's either infant care or I'll have to stay at home (which is what my hubby wants).

Jules, you mean they will behave like that when you feed them! so funny! Heinz cereal with puree do you mean the one with either apple or prune flavour or the bottle kind?

I might try the rice cereal this wkend secretly see how it goes.

Can anyone tell me when to feed as in, I should only try 1 or 2 sppons first then feed milk and only start it out once a day first is it? No idea how to get started.

suzanne,
best is start abt noon so that if thr's any allergic reaction can still see a doc. for 1st day, u juz need to prepare a little bit and try to feed abt 1/2 teaspoon. gradually increase the feed.

I think i must have overfed kiros then. He had more than 5 spoons of the heinz sweet potato. I using combi spoon.

He is very greedy. couldnt stop eating. will opn his mouth and lean nearer when being fed.

i gave him the sweet potato puree and thot maybe dont give him milk so soon. who knoWS, the 'alarm clock' in him is so accurate one. When its milk time, he started making noise liao.

K@ye: U brght Claire to KK yesterday? Me too brght Eagan there for his routine check up. We were there at abt 2+ for his 250pm appointment.

Feeding: My mil tried feeding Eagan porridge abt 2 wks ago. He likes it alot. But we've tried feeding him porridge abt 3 times only, will officially start in another 2-3 wks when he is at least 5 months ba.

My mil tried only tiny amount. I bght the pigeon bowl and spoon set. Find it very useful coz the bowl comes in 2 section, 1 part to put the porridge, the other part is with rough base to smash the porridge or any other food to be given in smaller portion to our bb.

baby Jovan is likely to start teething soon. last week we brought him to PD (for his cough) & PD said his lower gums are swollen. so he's the kind tat will teeth early.

Cactus, I din bring Claire to KKH. Its my hubby & my Mum that brought her there coz i can't take leave due to work.

Her appt is 2.10pm and I think they wait like crazy. Brought her to see the so called specialist clinic for her eczema. Ended up being referred to another dermatologist in KKH in July. I was like WT.... again!

Anyway, my Mum told me that KKH nurse quite careless. The nurse told my Mum to put Claire on the weighing machine. She din realised that the weighing machine & the measuring tape is so close to each other and there was a newborn at the measuring tape!

Claire likes to kick and she almost kicked the baby. The parents of the newborn shot daggers at my Mum. Thank god, another nurse saw it and move the measuring tape away.

Re: Teething
Last nite did a dental check on Claire, din see anything, gum wasn't swollen. Hehe, she din protest but she bit my finger!

Kitty, did Chloe slept thru the nite yesterday? I wish Claire will too!

pig: congrats!!

baby luke is 6.6kg on BM at 4m!

1)plumsource- baby Luis - 6.55kg on BM (4mths)
2) grace - baby Ash - 7.2 kg on BM(4 mth 5 days)
3) rast- baby Jadon-5.98kg on FM (4 mths 10 days)
4) Jules - baby Natalie - 6.9 on FM (4 mths 1 wk)
5) Kaye - baby Claire - 7.2kg on FM (5mth 1 week++)
6) Ueno - baby Leroy - 6kg on BM (3mth 1 week++)
7) Poissons - baby Garreth - 8.04kg (3mth 4 days)
8) baby40 - baby Nicole : 5.1kg on BM (11weeks)
9) michviv - baby Ethan: 8.85kg on BM (3 months 3 wks)
10) Plim - baby Bevis - 5.2kg on BM (11weeks)
11) Tinkabel - baby matthias - 6.385kg on BM (3 mths and 3 weeks)
12) S@L - baby Mischa - 7.6kg on BM (3mth 3wks)
13) Yami - baby Kaelyn - 6.6kg on FM (3mths)
14) Superhappymum - baby YongWei - 6.9kg on BM & FM (3 months )
15) Beloved_daughter-baby Matthias - 6.5kg on FM & BM (3months 1wks)
16) Skyeskye - baby Eliza - 6.8kg on BM (3mths)
17) Catherine - baby Jovan - 7.65kg on BM (4 months 9 days)
18) Cindy - baby travis - 7.2kg on FM and BM (5months)
19) fanny - baby cayenne - 5.9kg on FM (12 wks 2 days)
20) Jadefeet - baby Ethan =- 7 kg on FM (10 wks 4 days)
21) Sowie - baby Jaeanne - 7.85kg on BM (3mths)
22) Joey - baby Javier - 6kg on BM (11weeks)
23) Adelinechew - baby Amber - 8kg on FM ( 5mths )
24) yoko - baby Jordan - 6.78kg on FM (3mths and 2 days)
25) winwin - baby carrie - 5.6kg o FM (3 months)
26) efynn - baby xuan - 8.06kg on BM & FM (4 mth 1 week)
27) nov1mom - baby tailoong - 6.35 kg on BM & FM (3mths)
28) gemini19 - baby ying ching - 9 kg on FM (5 mths 1 week)
29) fushiastar - baby Luke - 6.6 kg on BM (4M)
30) dokiesim - baby brayden - 7 kg on BM (3 mths)
31) Queenaire - baby Darius - 7.1kg on FM (3 mths + 1 week)
32) Twiggy - baby Joseph - 7kg on FM (3mths)
33) langlao3 - baby Ashlee - 7.85kg on FM (4 mths 3 wks)
34) Gloomybear - baby Arielle - 5.67kg on BM (4mths)
35) annietoh1981 - baby Leroy - 10kg on FM & BM (4 mths 2wks)
36) koh gillian - name? - 7.7kg (4mths 4 days)
37) jay - baby jaydyn - 4.8kg on BM (4mths)
38) kittybride - baby chloe - 6.2kg on FM (4mths 2 days)
39) dreamer@hk - baby kaira - 7.1 kg on FM (4 mths 4 days)
40) petitegurl - baby Jarrell - 7.3kg on FM(4mths 1wk)
41) Yvonne - baby Chloe aka Shuen - 5.8kg on BM (3 mths 28 days)
42)weishy-baby hayley-6.75kg on FM (4mths 2wk)
43)happy74- baby Hanns - 8.7 kg on FM (4mths 2wk)
44) mambobb - baby cailyn - 5.7kg on FM (4mths 3 wks)
45)meow - baby Daniel - 8.4 kg on FM & BM (5 mths)

k@ye,

my happiness is truly short-lived... chloe was up for over 2hrs last nite after her 12.30am feed... i almost died trying to get her back to sleep! i thk at the end, i dozed off while she was still sucking her pacifier... lucky thing is that me n hb didn't accidentally 'crushed' her coz she was sandwiched between us last nite... i couldn't stand the constant getting in and out of bed just to check on her... really can DIE ah!

is it really pantang to praise kids in front of them? coz most old folks believe it will turn out the opposite so they usually prefer to say the opposite of what they think.

eg. our babies are so cute n sweet but they will say; aiyoh so ugly ah..., etc etc..

sigh... i'm completely zombied out today...

Kitty.. u poor gal!

actually this issue about saying stuff abt bb infront of them- actually when Hazel was born I use to argue wif my mom abt this ridiculous "myth" cos she's catholic.

But then after awhile the myth kind of became real- cos each time I praise my dd i.e. drink milk fast etc. the next day it will be opposite :p So jus to play on the safe side and makes things easier for us I jus follow wat the old folks tell me!

BTW jus check wif u ladies, are r babies head steady? Cos my dd likes to arch her back and her head still abit wobble at times she'll always lean on one side of the pram for support- tink she lazy!

kittybride, my gal also woke up last night ard 2+am, and was playing with her blanket (cloth nappy) and after that the bean pillow *faint*... i was so sleepy and drowsy that i think i saw her playing with those, quickly reoved it from her, put back the pacifier... end up she turned herself over on her tummy and slept tat way... but subsequently every hour she woke up, i had to wake up to put the pacifier in her mouth... sigh!

re: praising kids in front of them
i dun use to believe that, but juz to be safe, i avoid saying good things about them to others in front of them... haiz...

poochi,
dun think ur gal lazy lah... mine also tends to arch her back and when we carry her (either back face us or front face us), she has the tendency to look towards the floor! i am wondering if that's bcos her head/neck not strong enough yet?

as for leaning to a side of the pram, think they are not stable yet to hold themselves in position...

Kitty & Plim, i also dun praise or say good things in front of them. Many times, ppl praised Claire (esp my in laws), the next moment Claire either merlion or refused to drink milk, or be notti. So, its a big taboo for me!

Plim, Claire also like to look towards the floor. My Mum says this is very common among babies! Also, my Claire now knows what is called going out liao. Everytime, she heard the iron grille door opened, she will kick excitedly and look towards the direction!

hi poochi,
my family catholic oso hence i din really have these pantang thingy though my MIL (she's buddhist) usually will tell me not to say in front of my gal... but you know lah, when MIL not around and only me, hb & baby, we just talk as usual w/out any restriction mah... sigh, i thk from now on, i will say the opposite liao!

last nite just commented to my hb our baby is smaller size compare to other babies here, etc... hopefully the opposite will be true soon! ahahaa...

plim,
oh dear, you too ah? ahaha... so teruk hor...

my gal still dun know how to turn over on her own but she likes to pull out her pacifier (notti hands keep touching and pulling out the pacifier!) and then dun know how to put back; end up crying for help!! sigh, so tiring to get up just to put back the pacifier in her mouth so many times!

re: bb's neck
my gal also the same, neck not strong n slated to one side when seated in the pram. but funny thing is, she likes to STAND up rather than sit!

K@ye,
your gal is shopping queen in the making ah? so fast wana go kai kai liao har? hee hee...
as for chloe, she will frown n almost wana cry if she sees me taking out the sling! ahaha... she prefers to be hand-carried or sitting in her pram

Kitty, Claire is the kai kai queen liao. No need to train, she has been trained since day 1 before she was born. Coz i always go out when i was pregnant with her.

Hmm, Claire dun like to sit in the pram. She likes to be carried front facing in the babybjorn. Mabbe u should try that for Chloe, then she won' frown?

Hehe, in fact i dun like ppl to touch or praise Claire open in front of me. Ppl who dunno will say i "ba pei" (in Cantonese) coz they dunno that Claire got eczema, cannot anyhow touch. Cannot praise is coz of big taboo... I m quite supersitious when it comes to all these.

My in laws always like to touch Claire and there was this time, my FIL kissed Claire so loud that i can hear the zud zud sound. I told my hubby to let his parents know not to kiss or touch Claire coz of her eczema. U know what my hubby responded to me, "Y dun u ask my parents to wash their hands in dettol before carrying Claire!"

I was so pissed off with him. It was so uncalled for, i m not those type of ppl who insisted on washing their hands before carrying Claire. I myself as the Mother dun even touch or kiss Claire.

As usual, my hubby din tell his parents. So got one fine day, my in laws came to visit us. His niece wants to touch Claire and Claire was having a flare up. I told the niece straight, "Dun touch her." After that everyone got the cue liao. Nevermind, my younger SIL even rubbed Claire 's hand and said, "So poor thing, still have not recovered!"

Inside my heart, i was like Claire is not poor thing or pitiful. Those babies who dun have milk to drink or being abandoned are pitiful. Somemore, eczema is not like a fever that will go away in 1-2 days.

Okie, end of complain!

Hi Suzanne, Langlao3, I also feed my BB one solid meal during the day, usually around late morning or early afternoon.

I mix the Heinz bottle puree - vegetables one (like parsnip, pumpkin, carrot) with about 2 tablespoons of Heinz rice cereal (I use the Enfalac milk powder scoop as measurement). You can add a little warm water too if you like. Depending on the texture, the very first time you intro solids, it'll be more watery or thin.

k@ye, understand what you mean in not letting pple touch or say good things in front of claire!
perhaps, you might want to get a t-shirt for claire that says "DO NOT TOUCH ME!"... hehe, that would be interesting

Hi K@ye,

those people so buay zi dong. Poor thing their head la. In fact try not to say oh poor baby or what what in the baby's presence.

Also, i always try not to say to kiros things like, oh go to sleep now. when you wake up we go shopping or where where where. i tell you.. super pantang also. He will not want to sleep the whole noon.

Plus before vaccination, i also avoid saying in kiros's presence oh you going for vaccine liao tis and tat.. like dont forewarn them. My sis taught me that. like very pantang in case develop fever or what.. hahaha.. i very kiasu. so better be safe than sorry.

haha... plim, dats a good idea!

re: solid food intro
so far i only add 1 - 1.5 scoop of cereal powder to chloe's milk. have yet to try any puree food for her...

maybe should try dis weekend, seems like most of the mommies here have already started liao
anyway, this wkend chloe's turning 5 months liao, maybe it's just about time too!

Plim, u re right man. I m going to find such a T-shirt in english & chinese! Hehe! *Evil idea*

Pig, actually i will tell Claire that i m bringing her out etcc but with a disclaimer, u dun sleep, no go out! Its very funny, quite a couple of times, Claire is sleeping and i told my hubby if she dun wake up we dun go out. The next moment, she will wake up.

Pig, sometimes Claire will oversleep and we ended up not bringing her out! Hehe

Just some thoughts, I realised that Claire is quite an easy baby to raise except for her eczema or isit that I m more experienced in looking after her now???

And hor, even though i dun hv much couple time with my hubby after my wedding in Jan last year. I think Claire will help me to resolve the differences bet my hubby & i.

Hi K@ye,

We hardly bring Kiros out as there are always someone to help with him. Coveniently, the 2 of us jus 'escape' leaving him to the maid and my parents.

Ya, since you feel that she is easy, then i guess she must have been. of course we experience times when we dont know why they cry non-stop. But overall, if we really have a difficult to raise kid, i bet we would have known by now. sleepless nights and more.

I also agree that a child can help resolve differences. Say we have our arguments or what the night before, but whenever we have a topic on kiros or started playing with him, the mood seemed to have eased up. no more tension. And the everything seemed to be back to normal.

I guess this is also what people meant when they said having an addition to the family will spice up the marriage life.

And sometimes i read that straying husbands also return to the family because of the children.

Pig, u re lucky to have ur parents and maid to look after Kiros for u so that ur hubby & u can have some couple time.

For me, i dun hv such luxury coz my Mum needs a break from Claire and plus, my in laws can't handle Claire either. Hehe, i always remember the classic look on my in laws' face when Claire stopped crying the min she saw me.

Kaye,

We are ok la. from start i been wanting kiros to grow up in an environment where there are many different faces. I heard it helps especially when they are older and won't stick to 1 specific caregiver.

Ha, can imagine what is going thru your in laws' heads when they see Claire stopped crying the minute she saw you.

Pig, they will comment in Hokkien that Claire knows who is the Mother! I almost fainted! All babies know who is the Mother especially for BF babies!

Anyway, i used to be neutral abt my in laws before i gave birth to Claire but now, my dislike for them is getting stronger. Sigh, dunno isit me or what!

Gemini, same here. Nothing seems to be going right.

Oh ya, my in laws visited Claire yesterday. My Mum told them that Claire will be no longer staying at her place once she s back from HK (I m bring Claire to HK on Sat). My in laws immediately commented that who is going to look after Claire. My Mum told them that Claire will be ferried between Redhill & Bedok everyday.

I think later, my MIL will tell my hubby to find a nanny near Redhill.

sometimes, I really wonder why these people have to be so difficult on us. You know right now, I actually ferry my gal daily with my maid to my mum's place and at night bring her back? (hubby did not tag along? and via taxis as we dun have a car!)

Now I also dun dare to let my gal stay too long with my parents as they have another grandchild to take care of.

Not much couple time for me also with hubby, everyday back home close to 9 pm, play with my gal a while, stories a bit, then its bedtime for her. She normally sleeps around 10 plus, then that's the time I have to do other stuff. Dun dare to ask the maid to do so much, wait she complain overwork (wholeday at my mum's place)so by the time I rest, its past midnight. Got to wake up by 6 am to prepare things and leave the house by 7 am. Very tiring, sometimes, dun know why so hard on myself, also dun know for what purpose.

Gemini, i can understand ur feeling. Nvm, on weekends, u think u can take a break by asking the husband to look after the child for a while. It ended up u hv to do the job.

For my case, i told my hubby that i m sick & tired of nagging cum screaming and etc at him. He better helped me out with Claire. It seems that all fell on deaf ears. I had already threatened him that if he dun help me out, i will ban my in laws from seeing Claire totally.

Sounds very extreme hor?

I got to know about this forum from my Sin friend whose husband stationed in the US for 8 months. She told me about Sin motherhood forum, and I thought I want to join the discussion for Nov mommies as my son, Ethan was born on 30 Nov 2007. Nice knowing the mummies here.

Hi Gemini,
Your girl looks adorable in that chair! Btw, what chair is that? I'm thinking of getting one to let Joseph sit upright on his own coz he doesnt like to be on his back anymore. But the Bumbo doesnt seem to be able to last for long. I heard a few mummies say their babies outgrow it alrready leh. How is yours? Can it last till at least 1 yr old?

Sorry to being kaypo but it does sound like you are doing too much. Try to pass on some duties to your maid or get your hubby to help? You can't possibly do everything on your own.

Hi K@ye and Gemini,

me too me too.. i got very upset with my in laws lately. They didnt do anything specific to irritate me. But when a small action they do signal tat they are more interested in the other 2 grandsons other than mine make me furious. I dont care if they dote on my son or not. My son has many more people doting on him. But because they mind so much that i will mind them showing more concern for the other grandsons pissed me off. MIL will try to cover up saying she going to bil's house to visit them as very long no go liao.. she was saying tat to my son but meant for my ears. SICK RITE?

Its likes it never rained but pour. So when a little thing trigger me, i will go tink of all the past actions of theirs that make me more vex.

And i guess lately becos of the pregnancy hormones that send me getting angry easily but of course i did not make it known to my hubby that i damn du lan with the parents.

I used to be neutral towards them too. But things start to change after giving birth.

Hi Gemini,

Ever thought of getting your hubby to help?
But i will drop this idea myself as i know my hubby will make matters worse if he help. I rather do all myself which is faster.

How about getting a PT maid for few hours a week if you can afford. You can do it for few months unless your child is older or when not so much attention is required. In a way it can relieve you from the hardwork and another also show to your maid that you are also understand that she is tired working the whole day and that's why getting someone to help with housework, and not throwing everything to her.