(2007/11) November MTBs

Oh btw mummies, i heard the we are most fertile say within 6 months after giviing birth.

No wonder my mum always said who and who had finally conceived after so many years of marriage. Then she will add, if a person has difficulty conceiving the 1st one,and eventually she did, they better hurry and try for the 2nd one.. it can happen very fast.

Same for m/c case. If m/c, also gotta try to conceive again asap (if mentally ready).

Hi Pig

Dun be sad ok....look at yr darling Kiros who is so adorable....imagine yr little bb growing inside u know will be as cute as Gor Gor....

The going will be tough but once you weather it for the next 2 yrs, u'll have the last laugh cos by then u can shake leg liao....look on the bright side, the siblings get to grow up together and their bond will be very strong.....they can do everything together....i'm sure you'll reap alot of joy watching them grow up together...

Once again, congratulations! We're all very excited for ya.....

To all mummies, it's true that we're indeed more fertile in the first few mths after giving birth......my gynae saw that i've started ovulating in my 3rd month and i was doing full time breastfeeding back then.......i suspect my menses will come soon....sigh....

Pig, *hugs* Dun feel depressed okie. Just be positive and everything will be alright. As long as ur family is supportive of you and give u help, then everything will be alright!

Cindy, Travis like Barney! Will u get sick of Barney?

pig:: yea hugs hugs, we are all happy for you! hehe
be careful when you carry kiros now oh! hehe

kaye:: yes i am already sick of him! hahaha even when not playing the vcd, the song is playing somewhere at the back of my mind. hahaha!!

pig,

cheer up & lots of *hugs* from us here ya!
thk positive, you have them 1 after another so if xin gu, all at one time... then like you said, when they are about 2 or 3, life will be easier coz the hard part is over liao.

jia you!

my gal FINALLY slept thru the whole nite last nite! yippeee.....!!!

she dozed off around 8.15pm and only woke up around 440am - and i just stuff the pacifier to her and she continue to zzz... and finally hunger strike at 650am!

i so happy... finally a good nite's rest! wahaha... hope the cycle repeats again tonite!!

pig07: Sayang and cheer up. Guess it's an unexpected news for u, hence the mixed feeling. Gd thing is u're not wking, so u have lesser to worry and concentrate on yr babies. In another 2-3 years time when u're shaking leg and chasing aft yr 2 kids, most of us here might be preggy w/our 2nd/3rd one nia.

pig,
dun worry u are stronger than you think you are. I guess its the scarifices that we have to make that makes us abit hesistant. Be positive there are those who wan to have bb but dun have, so treasure wat has been given.

Twiggy,
i also give my parents $$ cos they are no longer working, I see my mom so tired from looking after Hazel that I feel bad so I "reward" her with extra $$ so she can spend during weekends. My husband also gives money to his parents. We believe in supporting our parents till they are old cos much of their earnings was spent on us when we were young and now they have little savings.

I tink I understd where ur mum coming fr cos there are people who enjoy their freedom and independence dun tink its so much the money la mayb she's afraid she has no social life if she stays at home.

Thanks for the encouragement and assurances. Will jus cross it when it comes. perhaps its really lots easier and not as bad as i think its gonna be.

Hi Cindy,

Maybe very soon yr house will be packed with different items of Barney.

My twin nephew adore Thomas Train. They will watch it on youtube too. Their mummy bought so many engines for them. Guess what, there was once the same Thomas Train song were playing in my head the whole night. Moment i wake up to make milk for Kiros, the song started again.

kittybride:: CONGRATSSSSS!! i look fwd to the day my travis can sleeeeep through! sigh!!! I last fed him at 9pm last night, and he got up at 1245 and again at 515am. BAH!

pig:: hahaha!! i've got some colleages whose kids ADORE thomas toooo!!! i really don't understand why hahaha. who knows what will kiros like next time? hehe!!

cindy,

thx... this is only the 1st nite... and i really hope the cycle continues...else my or bak kak will be permanent fixture on my face liao, wah piang... so sianz just thinking about it! ahahaa...

travis so fast oredi chop his favourite toy liao ah? good lah, easier to buy gifts for him next time coz no nid to think too hard! hahaha...

for chloe, she's still exploring... and seems like she doesn't really like toys at this stage, will 'hantam' them wif her hands and legs ala WWF styles! very violent gal lah... even the pooh bears in her cot, she will sweep them away ~ maybe she dun wan them to share her cot/bed! hahaha...

oh well... i just hope she will not be choosy in her selection... can save us tonnes of $$$ coz nowadays the toys are so expensive and they outgrow them way too fast! :D

btw, those looking for icecube trays can try isetan.
It comes with lid n has 8 big cubes. Cost ard $4 but I got it for $2 during sales. To those who got from littlejetplane, my personal take is, its too expensive n useless. It doesnt seal properly at all, and my concern is the puree will have taste of freezer burn and if your freezer oreadi smells funky, using the one from littlejetplane will make ur puree smells funky as well.

updating my baby's wieght. She's at 9 kg at 5 months. PD says got to monitor weight...

1)plumsource- baby Luis - 6.55kg on BM (4mths)
2) grace - baby Ash - 7.2 kg on BM(4 mth 5 days)
3) rast- baby Jadon-5.98kg on FM (4 mths 10 days)
4) Jules - baby Natalie - 6.9 on FM (4 mths 1 wk)
5) Kaye - baby Claire - 7.2kg on FM (5mth 1 week++)
6) Ueno - baby Leroy - 6kg on BM (3mth 1 week++)
7) Poissons - baby Garreth - 8.04kg (3mth 4 days)
8) baby40 - baby Nicole : 5.1kg on BM (11weeks)
9) michviv - baby Ethan: 8.85kg on BM (3 months 3 wks)
10) Plim - baby Bevis - 5.2kg on BM (11weeks)
11) Tinkabel - baby matthias - 6.385kg on BM (3 mths and 3 weeks)
12) S@L - baby Mischa - 7.6kg on BM (3mth 3wks)
13) Yami - baby Kaelyn - 6.6kg on FM (3mths)
14) Superhappymum - baby YongWei - 6.9kg on BM & FM (3 months )
15) Beloved_daughter-baby Matthias - 6.5kg on FM & BM (3months 1wks)
16) Skyeskye - baby Eliza - 6.8kg on BM (3mths)
17) Catherine - baby Jovan - 7.65kg on BM (4 months 9 days)
18) Cindy - baby travis - 7.2kg on FM and BM (5months)
19) fanny - baby cayenne - 5.9kg on FM (12 wks 2 days)
20) Jadefeet - baby Ethan =- 7 kg on FM (10 wks 4 days)
21) Sowie - baby Jaeanne - 7.85kg on BM (3mths)
22) Joey - baby Javier - 6kg on BM (11weeks)
23) Adelinechew - baby Amber - 8kg on FM ( 5mths )
24) yoko - baby Jordan - 6.78kg on FM (3mths and 2 days)
25) winwin - baby carrie - 5.6kg o FM (3 months)
26) efynn - baby xuan - 8.06kg on BM & FM (4 mth 1 week)
27) nov1mom - baby tailoong - 6.35 kg on BM & FM (3mths)
28) gemini19 - baby ying ching - 9 kg on FM (5 mths 1 week)
29) fushiastar - baby Luke - 6.1 kg on BM (10wks)
30) dokiesim - baby brayden - 7 kg on BM (3 mths)
31) Queenaire - baby Darius - 7.1kg on FM (3 mths + 1 week)
32) Twiggy - baby Joseph - 7kg on FM (3mths)
33) langlao3 - baby Ashlee - 7.85kg on FM (4 mths 3 wks)
34) Gloomybear - baby Arielle - 5.67kg on BM (4mths)
35) annietoh1981 - baby Leroy - 10kg on FM & BM (4 mths 2wks)
36) koh gillian - name? - 7.7kg (4mths 4 days)
37) jay - baby jaydyn - 4.8kg on BM (4mths)
38) kittybride - baby chloe - 6.2kg on FM (4mths 2 days)
39) dreamer@hk - baby kaira - 7.1 kg on FM (4 mths 4 days)
40) petitegurl - baby Jarrell - 7.3kg on FM(4mths 1wk)
41) Yvonne - baby Chloe aka Shuen - 5.8kg on BM (3 mths 28 days)
42)weishy-baby hayley-6.75kg on FM (4mths 2wk)
43)happy74- baby Hanns - 8.7 kg on FM (4mths 2wk)
44) mambobb - baby cailyn - 5.7kg on FM (4mths 3 wks)
45)meow - baby Daniel - 8.4 kg on FM & BM (5 mths)

Gemini, wow ur gal is really BIG!
My gal weighed 7.1kg last week at the PD due to eczema. I got a shock cos her weight at 4mths was already 7.8kg. so was a bit worried that she actually lost weight but i seriously dun feel tt way.so when i weigh her again at hm, she was 8.1kg. Hiaz..duno what happened to the weighing scale at the PD's. my gal also at 5mths now. u have pics to share of ur gal? wanna see the 'sumo'

Twiggy

My hubby also not too pleased that I gave my parents too much. Coz on top of that, I still have to pay for my parents medical bills which is quite a lot. I got a brother who is staying with my parents not contributing much at all so my hubby quite pissed off. All the more now, my brother just got a daughter two months back, and getting my mum to look after also (so my mum got 2 to look after). The problem is my mum is not in good health, she cannot carry heavy stuff including babies. So I actually got a maid to help her out. I do not mind acutally if my brother did not share the cost of the maid with me coz I thought he's not earning much. But guess what, he bought a brand new car... When my hubby learn of it, he's quite mad. On one hand, keep saying no money, then on the other hand, can buy car. Since he got money right, I ask him to share the maid cost with me and he says NO, maid is I want one, NOT him. He dun need a maid, my mum can look after he says. So upset as he did not consider that my mum's condition and the way he treats me. In the past, he's not like that. My hubby so mad till keep hinting me to put my gal in infant care now.

S@L,

I so scared she's too big for comfort. So keep asking the PD is she ok? Both my hubby and myself is not too big in size though.

Can can, tonight, cannot upload pictures in the office.

Due to her size, I was thinking of getting a beco or ergo carrier. Back hurting quite badly just carrying her around plus she cannot keep still one.

hi gemini19,

wow, ur baby really big size leh!

do post a pic when you can ya, very interested to see the little sumo!

i can understand your situation ~ jing dui liang nan! for me & hb, we give our own parents allowance from our own pocket, so how much we give; the other party have no say... but usually i got the SAY lah :)p) esp now we have baby liao, he must put priority to his own family rather than still contributing same amt to his mom as when he's still a bachelor lor.

hope things turn out ok for you... and dun let the situation affect your relationship with your hubby, ok?

Hi Gemini,
Joseph coming to 5 months too and I suspect he'll be about 9kg by then. Dr so far didnt tell me to wathc his weight but he was 8.1kg at 4 mths already. I don't know if she'll ask me to watch his weight this time.

It's quite understandable that your hubby gets upset with your brother. It does seems a bit selfish. Are you going to put your girl in infant care then? I'm still wondering that myself. Don't want any conflicts later between my mum, me and my hubby.

Gemini, dun mind me saying this, your bro kinda selfish and inconsiderate. How can he say such things to u abt the maid and forget abt ur Mum's health condition?

Twiggy, dun worry too much abt Joseph's weight lah. I think babies growth slow down after 3 mths.

Yesterday bought Claire to KKH to see a doctor, her weight is 7.33kg and 66cm at 5mths 3weeks.

k@ye, that's why my hubby quite angry. Even my close friends who know my family quite well also say my brother is taking advantage of me. And I know he's not giving my parents much allowance though husband and wife staying at my parents place, with the wife sister also. My hubby says my parents spoil him (a bit zhong nan qing nu) and they know I very soft heart, will always give in one. You know, even when I heavily pregnant that time, my bro also never offer to bring my parents for check up. His wife still tell her daughter, auntie (ie me) buy more clothes for your cousin, you will have many clothes to wear. And guess what? she drinks the same milk powder as my gal. Took my can and never pay me...

ya Twiggy, my PD says weight will stabilize soon. By the way, my gal is born quite big, at 4.17 kg.

Dun think will put in infant care la, actually, why I let my mum take care is because I think she's quite lonely at home, all grown up and no one to talk to. So got baby at home can keep her company. Who knows my sil also gets pregnant abt the same time. But thinking of putting her in childcare when she's 1.5 months. So looking around now. Anyone to recommend?

hi hi....

S@L,
im interested in e shoo shoo shoes... but can pls post e size chart??? thank u very much!!!

<font color="aa00aa">pig</font>
yupz, my boy is end-Oct'06, while my girl is 20 Nov'07 lor... i think i can say i understand how u feel n wat u r worried about now... hehehe.. i also prowled thru e entire forum looking for mummies in e same predicament as me tat time.. but couldnt find... luckily some of e more experienced Oct'06 mummies gave me lots of advise too on how to cope...
for me, i didnt even realise i was preggy until i was abt 3+mths.. cos i was still bf-ing my #1, menses never came... so it never cross my mind tat i might b preggy... then i started having dizzy spells n milk supply dropping very drastically.. so thought something muz be wrong then went to read up n my first thought was "S**T!!!". when i tested positive, i reli dont know to laugh or cry too... perhaps i had an quick n easy delivery &amp; my #1 was an easy baby to care for, so it helped my mentality... plus my gynae is super pro-family 1.. he was very reassuring n encouraging... plus last thing was, my hb not young anymore... we eventually want 2 kids anyway, so might as well "suffer" for these few years n "kiao kar" (hokkien) nex time...
im working FT, so my mum was taking care of my #1... she comes over to my hse in e morning b4 i go to work.. n she'll take care of my boy, plus cook dinner for all of us.. then after dinner then she'll go home. (btw, i stay in e opposite block only). so tat was my childcare arrangement... until i was 7+mths preggy with #2, then i hired a maid to take care of my #1, when #2 arrive, so tat my mum will take care of #2....
wat else would u like to know???
juz look on e bright side ok... im reli happy n contented at tis stage in my life now... when i look at e 2 of them, play with them.. its juz makes my life seem sooooo much more fulfilling n meaningful lor....

paiseh for e super long post...

GEmini, yes yes the carrier is a lifesaver! haha..my lil Mischa also cannot sit still. now whenever we go out we will bring both pram and the carrier (either bb bjorn or beco) cos sometime she will fuss and dun wan to be sitted in the pram...my hubby's arms also gonna break carrying her...in order for him to shop in peace with me, i need to have both pram and carriers!

Oh i'm a little slow..now then i read that Pig07 is preggy! CONGRATS! Dun feel sad, its true tt its better to 'get over and be done with'! i regretted not having no2 earlier but i wasnt financially stable at all back then aft no.1 ...so its better for me to drag a little.

its a blessing,think positively.

Hi Pig,

Congrats! I am excited for you and I think you are most likely pregnant :p Cos you seems to be more moody. Wah you cry in front of your gynae ah :p I can imagine how shock he is.

I intend to try for my 2nd one later part of this year. I had c-sect so gynae told me to rest for 1 year. But I told him "you previously say 9 months". Anyway I am waiting for my 9 months period to be over then try out.

Its a good thing to have your 2nd kid coming (if you are finanically prepared for the 2nd child).

Let me list down the good points:
- Your diaper changing days and late night waking up will last another 1-2 years (unless you want to have another 3rd kid)
- You can stop dieting and no one will say u are fat heh heh
- Kiros won't bug you to play with him cos he got a little sibling to play with him
- In 4-5 years time, when they can walk, you all can go for family tours without lugging bottles, powder etc..
- You can recycle the books kiros used and pass down to 2nd one when they are in school

Lots of other benefits. Heh heh.. I will try hard to have my 2nd one after June.

Hi mommies, long time no chat. Hope everyone is well. Natalie was having cough 2 weeks ago and brought her to PD 3 times that week. Now much better.

Pig07 - congratulations! Children are a blessing from God so stay cheerful! Like S@L too, my 2 kids are 7 years apart. Now starting all over again is very tiring.

Mommies, can I check - I'm thinking of cooking porridge when Natalie turns 6 months by next month. For SAHM, how do you intend to cook it? Use slow cooker or 'dun' method? Last time, my MIL use slow cooker for my son but now, she use 'dun' over slow fire method for my SIL baby. Since I'm alone, should I get a small slow cooker?

Hi Grace, I'm interested in BabyLegs! I bought 3 pairs through my SIL, who ordered from States and cost $56. Still quite expensive. Then, I found someone selling at $17.80 per pair but got limited designs. Is your 'lobang' cheaper? Please PM me when you have details. Thanks so much!

jules, which method to use for preparing porridge depends on how much time u hv i guess... if u cook it over slow fire, you hv to be vigilant and watch over it, else porridge will get burnt and/or dry up... whereas for slow cooker, it is easier cos juz put everything in, set it to the level of heat u wan and leave it, minimal interference required... of course, slow cooker will take longer time as compared to cooking over slow fire...

Hi S@L, thanks! That's what I thought too
Don't have to worry about watching over the fire or burning the porridge. I have a medium sized one. Do you think it's ok to use that or should I get the small small one for cooking single serving?

Kittybride, good for you! my boy is still waking up for his 3am feed gosh my or ba kak is going to turn permanent oredi.

Ueno, how did the organic rice cereal go?

Sal, I remember you said you only started your boy on cereals when he waw 8 mths was it cereal mixed in his milk or was it the kind where you spoon feed? My grandma takes care of my boy and she said she don't want to start him on cereal till he is 8mths.

RE: Teething
My boy's bottom tooth can be seen oredi, so had to use the dental gel to soothe the gums so that he can drink better. Anybody's baby started teething oredi? I though babies only start teething when they are 6 mths plus?

jules, ya get a smaller one if its jus for bb food. cos the big ones aft u boil and all dun leave u much to feed

Suzanne, its thru bottle feed i started 8mths. Cereals spoonfed i started him at 5mths..couldnt wait hahhaa...Wow ur grandma is diff! Alot of the old folks wan to start solids ASAP....my mum wanted to start on my girl..i am trying to make it past the 6mths! another 1 month to go.

my boy started teething ard 4-5mths too...its normal.

Hi plim, that's true. While it's quite a routine for me during the day, I think still better to use slow cooker. No need to keep checking on the fire and it's 'safer' too in case forget while doing something else.

suzanne,

ur baby teething oredi?
my nanny oso said my gal drool a lot, mayb teething but isn't it a bit too fast?
guess i beta check her gums tonite! :D

Kitty, i heard from my colleague that put the finger and feel whether the gums swollen or not..

But i think i quite sotong mummy... So, even if i feel, i also dunno! Haha!

Cindy, have u upgraded Travis to height no 2 in the jumperoo? I had upgraded Claire to it. My Mum no longer complain abt the jumperoo being a white elephant coz Claire really enjoys jumping in it. Claire will jump even more when she saw us jumping with her!

S@l, my grandma says milk is more nutritous for babies she says more work now for us but better for baby. dunno? But I just let her do whatever she wants lor. She's already 81 so I wanted to start my boy on cereal so that we can take away his night feed cos I scared that she'll be too tired.

ok phew about the teething bit....

Jules, when you starting your porridge?

Kitty and Kaye, I actually opened his mouth and saw a tiny bit of white stuff then i used my finger to touch his gums and true enuff i felt his tooth v obvious difference.

Anybody added cereal and kiddo sleeps through the night? if it works i really am tempted to try hehe...

suzanne, wow, your grandma of 81 yo takes care of ur boy? amazing! and your grandma is really great! and did you say that she is also taking care of ur boy at night?

hmm, i must also go back and check my gal's gums tonight cos these 2 days she's very fidgety... more fidgety than before and cldn't sleep well in day time... on top of that also has lotsa saliva!

Ya.. i think the gynae got a shock too. Then he said never mind. lets do a scan first. then when couldnt see anything, he asked me to go urine test. Then he told me urine test shows pos, but u/s couldnt see anything. we will wait and see how. Plus its still so early to decide on anything (and i think i had chemical pregnancy one and record was in the same file). And he said to me, every pregnancy has a chance of m/c. So dont think too much for now. I guess that is his only word of 'consolation' at tat time.. hahaha..

Financially and everything else we are ok. Its jus my emotion and mental readiness bah. so i guess will be ok when time comes.

Hi Starz,

oh ya, check with you. yr boy was at what stage when you deliver yr girl? has he started walking? wont it be hard to take care of him as he is like neitehr big or small? if can walk, will hve headache running after him. if cant, then gotta carry also.

plus, before you deliver the 2nd one, your mum already taking care of him right? So he is quite used to your mum?

Now we are at my mum's place, so i guess if i am going to deliver, i will hve to bring kiros home with me. Then i am worried that kiros will hve problem adjusting. See, now at my mum's place we have so many people to change hands and play with him. If we move back to our own house, wont he be bored and uneasy as suddenly he has fewer people to play with? This is also one concern of mine. I hate to disrupt Kiros's routine in this way.

i thot about this long and hard but like couldnt work it out as my mum staying at sengkang and i am at bukit batok. omg. one end each.

I have started kiros on the Heinz Sweet potato puree. He likes it so much. he will greedily open his mouth for the next spoon.

As for rice cereal, i thot i wanted to start soon too. But i dont know which feed to add? my intention was to add to his last feed before he goes to sleep saY 11pm.. but my mum is saying if it will be too filling for the boy. Like cant digest. So i am still pondering.

But anyway, i will spoon feed the cereal also.. as its in a small tin. so can feed and also add into milk.

wah suzanne,
see wat you're getting all the moms to do to their babes tonite! ahaha...

as for adding cereal to bb's feed, i did that for the past 2 wks liao, just minus 1 scoop of milk powder from the normal preparation and replace with 1 scoop of cereal. i use friso crem since my gal drinks friso gold since birth.

initially she still wakes up at abt 3.5-4hrly feeds but recently it seems she can sleep thru at least 5 to 6hrs. last nite she broke record, sleep thru 9hrs! but once she got up, cried so loud for milk and can finish 160ml one shot, usually her intake is betweem 110ml - 130ml! hee hee...

Suzanne,
Leroy loved the cereal! Finished all of it! He was still hungry so I had to nurse him after that. I gave him 2 teaspoon of cereal for the 1st 2 days, then increased it to 4 now.

re: teething

I never check if kiros is teething. But when he was few days old, CL and i kpo and touch his gum while cleaning. then we feel a sharp thing and also see it (whitish). it feels exactly like a teeth. Then we brought him to pd. it turns out to be calcium deposit (epstein pearl). after some gel, it jus goes away. pd say the calcium deposit will cause some discomfort.

But for now, since most of our babies are into 5 month, i tink it wont be surprising to see teeth growing. My mum mentioned some are early, some are not. some can be as early as 3-4 month.

Haha Oh no quite a number of babies are going to have their gums checked tonight.

Plim, yes my grandma has to take care of my boy cos my mum and my MIL are both still working and none wants to give up working now cos their earning power higher than me ;o( so no choice got to get my grandma to help. She stays with me Mon-Fri I send her back during the wkends, and whenever i have impt meetings the next day i will pass my boy to her cos if not i will be a zombie during the meeting.

Pig07,calcium deposit? never heard of that b4. Maybe i shall get my son's teeth checked by his PD if it the "teeth" dosen't protrude out.
But congrats to your babe no.2. Me still thinking when I should plan for a 2nd one. Everybody keeps telling me don't wait too long easier to one shot get it over and done with then close shop.

Kittybride &amp; Ueno, I standyby frisocrem and the ballamy's organic rice cereal oredi just don't have the guts to try spoon feeding yet. If i try have to try during the wkends when my grandma not around if not surely kena nag hehe ;o)Maybe i'll start this wkend when he is officially 5mths. Think i'll add cereal into his milk later on when he's 7-8mths. Stress!

Suzanne, ur grandma must be very healthy &amp; fit at her age to take care of a baby!

Ya, my Mum told me that my younger sis cut her first tooth when she is 1 yr old. Claire sort of takes after my sis' traits when my sis is a baby. So, i think tonite 's dental check confirm will have no teeth!