(2007/11) November MTBs

Cindy,

Ashlee has the same romper as Travis...thr's also whale & frog design

dokie, I stay in Sengkang. I have been to the organic shop at dempsey rd to check it out b4. Would be good if you can let me know where are good places to buy organic stuff so that i have more choices.

so you buying the organic rice cereal?

Hi Langlao, oh i didn't know that only heinz carried cereals for 4mths onwards. thks!

dokie,
I usually keep milk in the fridge for max 3-4 days. Although it's recommended it's 48 hrs, but I do see some websites say 4-8 days. But I think 8 days is too much. So max for me 3-4 days.

suz, if you go to the supermarket, thr is also another brand of cereals for 4 mths old but i dun feel comfortable buying it. I cant rem the brand but it has chinese wordings. Their cereals hv ingredients such as ikan bilis (but may not be the one for 4 mths babys).

suzanne, ueno, I am not familar with your areas.
I stay in the west.
ueno,suz probably u can consider ordering through phone. U just paying a delivery charges $8.U can call nature glory 62271318 located at outram road. You need to order a week before for delivery. eg Ring them on friday for next tue delivery. Their stock comes every tue.
Alternatively, if u have someone to share with you in your estate, can ring ban choong marketing.Ban choong marketing sells in bulk.
I only order in carton for juicing items.
My other org veg/fruits, I get from shunfu market. anyone stays near there? I can give you the stall nos.

Suz, you can ask s@l and plim if they are keen to share for sengkang delivery. But i think only to a single location.

tinkabel, ok i will use it to feed my elder son for tue afternoon feed. feel sayang to throw away.

Suz, dempsey org shop very pricey. they source their products from europe. other shops usually order from australia or states.

Suz, ueno, rice cereals, dried products, can get it from vivocity organic supermarkets. perishables order via phone

estee;there's a shop at yishun interchange selling organic food stuffs.Thinking of adding cereal to my gal's last milk feeding (which is abt 9ish) so that she's fuller.Usually she sleeps from 9ish till 5ish and she'll start waking up,so trying at least she can tahan till 7am :p

Hi Twiggy

My gal has the same routine as your baby. Her last feed is normally at 11 pm and she drinks 180 ml, 3 hrly 6 times a day. According to her PD, she's feeding ok, at the lower end of what is needed for her weight though. She's at 8 kg on the 4th month. My hubby tried to increase her feed to 210 ml, 4 hrly, 5 times a day but i realise my gal throws up a bit after each drink. (though she consumes all) so i guess, cannot increase too much at one go, so cut back now and try to increase slowly.

Between, what is the teat size you are using now for avent milk bottles? I'm still using size 2.

dokie thanks for the info on where to purchase organic food stuff. I will try to give them a call to check out the price range too. I don't mind ordering for the whole family. Shunfu Market has a stall selling organic foodstuff? I go there sometimes to get the Choc and spice muffins haha! so that might be an alternative.

weishy do you have the address of the yishun shop? Maybe i can check it out.

suz, is called yong xu organics at blk 921. I just gave the address to plim. u can ask her.

there is a stall . Unit 01-39. isnt it far for u?

tinkabel,
i remembered tat ur milk ss is v good. u must have stored alot of forzen BM. i think u should continue to store for rainy days, but not in excess. maybe limit ur storage to a certain volume so tat it wun take up to much freezer space. my freezer has 2 layers & i "reserved" 1 layer for my BM. i'm glad i did freeze my BM coz it was put to use when my milk ss dipped v drastically. i still let bb Jovan take 1 packet (200ml) of frozen BM at least once a week so tat he wun reject frozen BM later on when i need to use them. maybe u can try tat too?

Catherine,
I stored quite a bit in Singapore, but then being the practical daddy, he says hard to bring over to SH. So before we left, I defrosted those and gave Matt BM bath for a few days. So started all over again to store them in SH. Now I got about 3-4L in the freezer. Dun want to store too much, cos I have limited freezer space here. I still express out about 1 litre a day now, 4 times.

tinkerbel:great video taken,think next time ur matt will soon be able to stand up and wrestle with daddy loooooo hehehheheheh

May i noe if any mommies bringing their bbs to any classes or playgroups for bbs only???though i'm not a sahm i hv quite alot of free time,pls do invite us for tea or lunchies kekkeke tks tks.anyone organising?saw in other threads those mommies are having 6 months party hehhehehe

Hi Tinkabel,

Matt seems to be enjoying himself. When daddy was 'punching' him, he seemed tickled by it.. hahha..

Tinkabel,
Matt is so adorable..as playful as my boy..haha.

Today brought bb Garreth for his 4th month jab, he weighs 9.1kg and is now 70cm. PD said that his growth is still very FAST..haha..

This is botak Garreth..we shaved him when he turned 4 months last week:

1315651.jpg

poissons,
HV has an organic shop but i feel shd be ex.

If I rem correctly, there is a wide range of baby food at the cold storage at United Sq including organic products.

michviv,
i get about 200-300+ when i express, really depends on the time intervals. mornings i can get about at least 300ml, after abt 7-8hrs. day time 200ml+..really depends cos i use the manual pump at work, then sometimes i gancheong, got to get back to work quickly so won't bother to express more.

poissons,
wow garreth is growing very fast. I weighed and measured Matt on Sat at 4 mths 1 week. Think he is only 6.8kg and 65cm. You've got a big boy... He's cute, everytime u post a picture, he is always so smiley...

tinkabel,
maybe becos' garreth is on FM, that's why the growth is so fast bah..i rem when he was on my BM, he hasn't balloon up yet

Yeh, he's a smiley baby, small little things tickle him easily but he doesn't seem to like old people, he cries whenever he sees his great grandma..haha..

poissons, u can go sunnychoice at railway mall(hillview), eat organic at bukit timah (besides coronotion plaza) or Organic for less (bukit batok) If i remember correctly, you stay in jurong area hor.
Of the 3 , eat organic has the best and most fresh selection.
Actually can buy organic rice cereal first and then slowly slowly find ways to buy the perishables such as pumpkin, apples.

When I first started organic , I went to eat organic at bukit timah.

Cat, thanks for your advice on BM mixtures. Was joking with my hubby the other day that we need to find a good milk cocktail for my boy. Tried mixing fresh BM with frozen stock and he hated it. only drank 120mls when his usual is 180ml. Today, tried mixing 1 scoop of formula with water and adding it to the defrosted BM and apparently he drank all! Will try to decrease the amount of formula tomorrow.

tinkabel, I agree that you should pump more now. My advice is to keep more 'current' stock as those are more acceptable to baby. By 'current' I mean 1 month or less. The fishy smell gets progressively stronger if kept longer. My only regret is that I should have defrosted milk for my boy more often to keep my frozen BM more 'current'. More importantly, you want to have more available when they start to drink more. Ethan currently drinks 180mls and its so unfortunate that when he started to drink more, my milk supply dropped. You never know when their growth spurt will be.

Poisson, our sons should hi-5 each other. haha. Garreth is past 97th percentile right? =)

skye skye, I know what you mean when you say rush off to work. I used to be able to express 300mls in 10minutes cos my letdown was gd. Now, it takes me nearly 0.5h to get 200mls.

cindy, I read that you should only start solids after 6 mths to decrease the chance of allergies developing and when you start, you should introduce during the afternoon feed by mixing some rice cereal into breastmilk. Make it diluted at first and gradually increase thickness. Also recall that we should only introduce 1 food at a time, spaced 1 week or at least 3-4 days apart so that we can monitor for allergies. =) I'm also getting very excited about feeding Ethan some solids.

Hi Poissons and Tinkabel,

Kiros weighs 8.1kg today. I guess being sick for the past few days has bring down his weight a little. He was already 8kg last week.

Garreth is very fair.. Is that yr leg propping him? Then he must have taken after your complexion?

Hi Poissons, Michviv,

My son Elijah's weight very much the same as you too. Took him for his 4 months jab last week and he measure 9.03kg, 66cm. PD called him Bui Bui when he saw him. His weight is at the 97 percentile, but height 75-90 percentile...haha, dont know if he will end up short and fat (hehehe).

Anyways, any mothers have any experience of their babies not wanting the bottle even when they were given the bottle much earlier (mine was given at 3 weeks). Problem is I am a SAHM, so I direct latch all the time, only occasionally (very rarely in fact), my baby is bottle fed. He used to be able to drink from the bottle since 3 weeks old, but suddenly 2 weeks back, he rejected it, and cry very very terribly, as if given poison. Sigh!, how to go out of the house w/o him now?

Suz, i got the contact from dokie mainly to get the almond powder... if u ordering let me know...

tinkabel, ur boy so cute, he's enjoying the wrestling!
poissons, garreth always looks so cheerful and smiley in photos, i bet he likes taking photos? ;)

Gemini, for high chair i got the white one from ikea, simple, easy to clean and lasts... serves my elder girl till now... she's coming to 3... hmm, may hv to uprade my elder one to chair so Bevis can use it in the coming months!

i'm yawning away now, eyes so watery... only managed to sleep at 1am last night, working, and up at 6 this morning

and thruout the night at 3+, 4+, 5+, my gitl keep whininh once her paci dropped and she realized it... hv to stuff it back in her mouth... so sian, every night hv to do that.... wonder how long it will b, b4 she dun depend on the paci in her mouth...

Erika, I experienced exactly the same problem with the bottle feeding! By right, we should not be facing this situation as we started with the bottle at a good time of 3-4 weeks, any earlier and you may face nipple rejection and any later, it would be difficult to feed via bottle. Its even stranger for my boy as he was feeding fine on Avent/pigeon, then one day when I was out a wedding dinner, my hubby could not feed him at all cos he fussed so much.

Later we found a bottle that he was willing to accept (chose NUK Wide Neck Latex Teats), and trained him to accept the bottle during the afternoon feeds. Sometimes, he completely refused to drink and he would be so hungry at the next feed that he will have no choice but to drink. Now he knows that when mummy is away at work, he will get the bottle but if we give it to him at night when I'm home he gets very angry as he knows he can latch on. haha. Such a manipulative baby huh?

So the long and short of it, its tough but it can be overcome! =)

plim, the contact at yishun also sells organic stuff but I don buy perishables or any organic stuff from them. I give u because it is proximity to your place.

If u and suz interested to get perishables, can call nature glory.

Any mummies here sign up with the Pix n Portraits package? I signed up the new born package with free 1, 4, 8, 12th mth studio pics. But when I want to call and make appt for my bb's 4th mth pic, couldn't get them at all. Keep going to the mailbox for 3 days already. And when I found a hp to call on the brochure, the gal Val says she's no longer working for the company anymore. After which she hangs up her phone when I call again. DID THE COMPANY CLOSE DOWN? Anyone's make a appt with them recently? Or did anyone pass by the shop at Novena Sq and see that they are open/closed? Can PM me if you know anything? Thks! So sad, was looking forward to take my bb's 4th mth pic.

Morn ladies!

Tinkabel, now i know the reason y Matt has so much hair & fair skin! It must be the breastmilk bath! I should have get the excess from you to bath Claire, mabbe it might help in her eczema!

Claire went for her 6-in-1 jab last Sat, she weighs 7.2kg but din managed to get the height coz her wailing distracted my Mum and my hubby! This round, her eczema din flared up as bad as her last 2 jabs. Now, got to wait till she is 1yr old onwards for the rest of her jabs!

Pig, Claire dun pretend to fall asleep during water parade now. She literally tears down the house with her cries and kicking! She can even use her hand to knock away the water!

Hehe, something to share... Claire finally rolled over last week and now it's her new hobby! She will roll over and tried to crawl forward. Its so funny seeing her like that.

I also put her sitting on the potty. My Mum even better, this morn, she put Claire on the potty and against the wall. My Mum is trying to train her to sit on the potty by herself!

michviv, erika,
Yeah..garreth's weight is on the 97th percentile. Yday at the clinic, we were sitting beside an Australian lady with her 6 month old son, we chatted and she told me her son weighs 8.4kg..when I told her my boy is 9kg, she got a shock..haha..

Pig07,
Yah, those are my fair and fat thighs..haha..you very observant leh

Plim,
I think Garreth has got used to the camera, cos' I have been taking photos of him everyday since day 1 he was born but not so often now (only weekends) cos already back at work.

Ladies, I have started to train Garreth to sleep through since last Thur. These few nights when my mum wasn't around, he was actually ok, only whine a little and then went back to sleep. Early this morning (6am) he made some noise and we ignored, then the noise became louder and my mum dashed into my room and kept asking me to make milk for him cos he must be starving. I told her to go back to sleep and will give my boy some water instead then she pointed her finger at me and accused me for being chek ark (cruel)...she repeated this 3 times in my face and I was quite pissed. She even suggested that tonight I will place Garreth back into her room and sleep together with her instead..sigh..no way man..if I really do so, all my hard work will be gone!

poissons: way to go. Will definitely support you. Dun place your boy back to your mum's room, else hv to start all over again.

k@ye: haha, nah prob the lack of sun here, cos all covered up every day. My MIL always wear a lot of clothes for him. Scared he is cold. but summer's coming and it's time to tan the fat fair thighs of his. haha.

Tinkabel, its normal for the elders to dress the babies up in many layers as they re worried abt babies catching a cold.

To all the 2nd time/3rd time Mummies here, isit true that once our babies hit the 6 mths mark, their body resistance is not as strong as before?

Poissons, give u moral support!

Babies are damned smart! For Claire, she knows she can't mess with me or my Mum but she will bully her father. Everytime, i chide her and my hubby is around. She will open her eyes big big like Bambi's eyes and turn to her father for help like that. *Faints*

K@ye, actually they get stronger le...for e.g. i stop sterilising the btls etc when my son hit 6mths..jus rinse or sterilise 1x in the day. why do u say tt its not as strong ?

Hi Gemini,
Yeah, I think Joseph will spit up a lot too if I try feeding him 210ml. So I decided to keep him at 6 feeds a day instead of cutting to 5. I'm still using Avent level 2 as well. Wondering whether to up to level 3 now.

S@l, hmm.. My Mum told me that after 6mths, babies tend to get sick easier as compared to before...

Hehe, actually i m quite lazy Mummy. I also sterilised Claire's bottles once in the morning!

S@l, what invites?

tinkabel, not so early. after a year if u really really want to. unless he falls sick easily then u consider it.
i started my elder boy only after he went childcare at 26months.

langlao, pls give me ur email addy. I dun have everyone's..sorry.

K@ye, u didnt receive? its the yahoo group thingy...give me ur email as well.

Dokie, u got too?