(2007/11) November MTBs

RE : Dropping the 11pm feed
Happy, Skye skye etc, how do you all drop the 11pm feed and yet make sure baby has enough to drink? Joseph now feeds 6 x 180ml. So he wakes up 8am every morning and feeds 3 hrly, last feed 11pm. But if I drop the last feed, does that mean I have to feed him 210ml 5 times a day instead? Skye skye, you mentioned try bringing it forward bit by bit everyday... But won't it become too close to the 8pm feed? A bit confused... sorry...

I'm thinking to continue to let him wake up at 11pm to have the feed. After all, we're usually still awake at 11pm. But is it ok? Does that mean he is having disrupted sleep? Anything wrong w letting im continue to have last feed at 11pm?

Tinkabel,
Agree that having a routine is so much easier. Like you, I sometimes go out w friends for about 2-3 hrs and during that time, he may not need to feed or change diaper if i manage to feed and change him just before going out. And he seems less cranky when he has a routine vs not having one.

Happy,
Joseph weighs the same as your baby. He's 8.2kg at 4 mths a few days old. What's his lenght? People keep telling me my baby looks fat, i don't know if it's because he's short. But according to Dr, I'm not feeding him too much.

twiggy,
i haven't dropped the 11pm feed yet...and while i'm thinking of stretching her feeds, i haven't come to a conclusion on how to do so without messing up her current routine.

anyway the Babywise book writes that an indicator of moving frm a 3 to 3 1/2hr or 4hr routine is when you have to consistently wake yr bb for his or her daytime feedings.
then about the late-evening feeding, an indicator is when yr bb shows signs of being disinterested in another feeding or is difficult to awaken to receive a feeding. the pushing feeds fwd, they write to feed bb at 15mins earlier for a couple of days, and push the timing backward until you reach yr goal, whatever yr goal is. they say it's ok even if it's less than 3 hrs. honestly i don't quite get how it's supposed to work.

Tinkabel & happy,
i also agree that putting bb on routine made life so much easier for everyone..and also the principle of keeping in mind context, ie. being flexible enough in off-routine situations. tho of cos i'm wondering how to make the transition to stretch the feedings...then again, i also dare to try to change too much yet, esp on my workdays. how did u stretch yr 3hr feedings to now 4hr ones?

Skye skye,
I dropped one feed by giving him slightly more each time now. So that he is able to last that extra hour. Seems better, cos then dun hv to keep worrying about feeding him or changing his diapers cos got more time between feeds.

Hi Tinkabel,

Personally i prefer boys with small slit eyes lei. Like very cool.. An example would be Paul Wong from the Hong Kong Band-Beyond.. WOHOOO.. So handsome..

Twiggy, dun worry too much abt Joseph's length as long as PD says he is ok. U can't stop ppl from commenting on him. In my case, my sisters-in-laws always comment about Claire's eczema... which got me very pissed off. Now, i just bo chap their comments.

Tinkabel, dun worry abt the single eyelid/double eyelid. My younger brother not only has single eyelids and his eyes are very small. But somehow, his gal classmates/friends all like him. I guess it all boils down to personality!

Frankly speaking, Matt is very cute.... Can i book him as Claire's boyfren? Hehe, think i m very greedy, booked quite a lot of potential bfs here for Claire!

BF,
I've got a white spot on my nipple and its quite painful when I BF. Anyone got any idea what it is and how do I relieve the pain?
I feel like lancing it!!!

I love all the photos if the babies, they are soo adorable and cute!!

K@ye,
I've noticed you have 'booked' a lot of potential boyfriends for Claire!! hehe...indeed very greedy, I think I better keep a lookout for potential girlfriends for Luis because boys outnumber the girls!!

Plumsource, yalor i m a greedy Mummy!

Ladies who have baby gals, does ur gals have this funny habit like Claire does? Claire will pout and sometimes cried whenever boys called her name or tried to play with her. Claire only like selected males!

Really sianz, today at work... Wonders how my hubby is coping with bringing Claire alone to the PD for her jabs!

plumsource, i used to have. the pain is bearable. I checked with lactation consultant who advised me to leave it. continue to bf and it would disappear. indeed it did go away

thanks dokie,

yes the pain is bearable (just)! Is it a sharp pain when u had it? Its just one small spot on the tip of my nipple...but your comment has put my mind at ease. thanks

Hi Kaye,

You booked Matt this time then what is going to happen to Kiros.. hahah...

Hi Plumsource,

I used to have a white pimple like on my aerola area. It was a little painful and imagine when i was expressing, the same pimple has to go thru the suctioning.. But when i saw Dr Karen Yap for my engorgement, she told me that the pimple like thing on my aerola will go away. It did go away but took a while.

thanks for the suggestions skye_skye & sstarlight.

thanks pig07! i will definitely preserve on!

happy, i think wat u said is v logical. too bad bb Jovan is taken care by my mother during weekdays, there is no routine to talk abt at all! his so called routine depends on wat time he wakes up. he can drink anything from 500-700ml of EBM during the day. his nap times are also haywire, sometimes 2hrs sometimes 4hrs. there was only 1 day when he drank 800ml & naptimes were close to GF schedule. he did woke up once tat nite but i managed to pat him back to sleep! imagine how refreshed i felt the following morning! but tat was only ONCE *sigh*

bb Jovan went for his 2nd 6-in-1 jab & rotavirus vaccine today (at 4 months 8 days old). he weighs 7.65kg, length 66.5cm & head circumference 43.5cm. PD said his flesh is v tough, not fatty type ... hahhaa. his weight is at the 90th percentile & length is >95th percentile! actually his weight gain has already slowed down alot. he was 6.7kg at 2.5 months, so he put on only 1kg within 1.5 months.

last week, Jovan started to have greenish poo & he poos only a small patch once a day. asked the PD abt this & she said it's normal as babies of this age absorbs differently as compared to when they were new born. I started to take calcium & DHA supplements so tat affects his poo color as well. Jovan will sometimes dun poo for 3-4 days. this is also normal for BF babies as this means tat they have absorbed all the nutrients ie no wastage!

Pig, hehehe... Booked many potential bfs for Claire first mah!

Catherine, ur BF is powerful! That's y Jovan growth is fanastic! Btw, it means Jovan is full of muscles not fats!

catherine, so glad to hear tat it's normal for BF bb to go w/o poo for few days! baby Bevis often goes w/o poo for 2 days and we keep wondering why... now i know... it's not something tat is bad! :D

catherine,
yeah..glad to know that too..cos Eliza has an occasional green poo the past few days..tho the longest she has gone w/o poo-ing is one day. like today too...and she's not drinking as much too.mayb cos she's still full.

any mummies went to the Expo baby fair yet? how's it? cos i'm contemplating whether to go tmr or not.

k@ye,
pig07 is getting jealous about ur claire booking too many boyfriends. Coincidentally, Matt and kiros are born on the same day. Haha. 2 pig brothers going to fight..

Matt also has a big/small eye issue. Hope it will go away soon

Re: eating fingers
I was wkg from home for 2 days this week and gosh, being with Matt full time, he keeps putting the fingers / hands into his mouth. So one night, I cannot take it. I beat his hand every time I see him do that. Then he stopped doing that, as if he knew it would lead to a "beating". The next morning, he tried, being a forgetful baby. The moment I raised my hand slowly, he quicky took out the hand. The sight was hilarous. He still tries to sneak his fingers in when we dun notice. But less often.

Catherine:
No poo for a few days means they absorb? Then that's bad for Matt, cos he still poos like 3 times a day. Gosh... No wonder he is still small, think he is now only 6.8kg at 4 months and 1 week. I just weighed him today.

Catherine:
MAtt's taken care by my MIL also. What I do to ensure his routine is followed is I write down his timing for feeds and naps on a piece of paper and put it on the fridge. I tell my MIL to stick by this and get hubby to explain to her why canoot nap too long (ie we need to sleep at night in order to go to wk the next day) I also prepare the 5 feeds for the day to put in the fridge, with the exact amts that I know Matt will take. Since birth, Matt's always finished whatever I give him.

Also let your mum do not let him sleep too long, only max 1 hr each time for 3 times a day between the feeds.

This will help although not fool proof.

re:putting finger into mouth gabrielle oso like 2 put fingerS n even FIST into her mouth even 'beat' her everytime i saw it but she nt scare leh... Her silvia is everywhr n make sucking sound like so shiok.. Haiz... help! Tml gng MlL plaCE! Help!

So sad...my milk supply has dwindled significantly so much so that I must start to consider supplementing my boy's diet with formula milk. =((( My target was 6 months on TBF but it looks like now its not possible cos even though I have like 10 litres of frozen milk, he hates it once its beyond 1 month old.

Has anyone tried adding formula milk to frozen milk to help mask the taste?

Also, any advice on which formula milk to get? Nan or Similac?

Need advice urgently cos I may need to buy later this PM. Thanks.

michviv:: what happened dear? Why did it drop so much? The brands on which FM to get differs from baby to baby, it depends on what suits your bb best. I'm giving travis enfalac with BM, day feeds at FM and night feeds are latch on BMs and his poo is either everyday or alternate days. So i think it's fine that he's on enfalac, but one thing though, he's drinking only like 120 to 160mL each time, I have read somewhere that enfalac is not quite tasty as compared to other FM brands - like friso, but i don't think i'm changing as now he poos fine on enfa and it's the best FM ard. hahaa...

HUGsss.

michviv,
I used to add like 1/2 scoop of similac into my BM for the 1st and last feed. But I read somewhere that we shouldnt be doing that, cos FM +BM will change the composition of BM/FM that becomes too concentrate for the bb's little kidneys. The only reason tis shd be done is prob if requested by PD if he says bb needs more calories. See the link attached. I stopped doing that now. Now just tinkg of giving a few feeds of FM a week to finish the opened milk powder. Such a waste

http://www.babycenter.com/404_can-i-mix-breast-milk-and-formula_8883.bc

Cindy: Think its due to a combination of factors - stress at work & lack of time to pump so there was once when I only pumped once during work. I took leave on Thurs so I've latched him on exclusively these 4 days, hopefully, it will help with my supply.

Tinkabel & Cindy: thank you both for your advice on formula milk. Just went this afternoon to buy NAN. Have decided against adding formula to breastmilk mainly becos my boy is already overweight +++ and I dun want to increase his calorie intake further. =P

Hopefully I can provide him with sufficient breastmilk for 1 more month...How much milk are you mummies producing now? Each time I pump, I'm only able to get about 200-240mls.

Skye skye,
Ya, I don't quite understand what the books are saying on how to rule out the night feeds too. I suppose will need to increase the other feeds to make up for the missed last feed then. But he's on 180ml x 6 feeds now. If I drop one feed, will be 210ml per feed. Not sure if he can handle such a big feed, so I guess I better wait.

Michviv,
The drop in bs could be temporary, dont worry. it's possible due to change in stress levels or diet etc. Try to drink more fluids, eat more protein and get sufficient rest and the bs will go back up. Jia you!!!

michviv:: How? have you tried NAN on your little one?
I don't know how much I can produce lah ahha cause i don't pump, that's why I'm doing partial BF, if want BM, then you got no choice but to latch hahaha.. But don't worry, like twiggy says, can go back up de! KEep your spirits up!

Here's Matt trying to learn to sit on all tables ie dining table, dresser and living room table. I just got a friend to help me buy a BUMBO, just wondering if that's going to be a white elephant soon.

1312937.jpg
1312938.jpg
1312939.jpg

Tinkabel,
Matt is so active. I think you going to have a hard time keeping him in the bumbo seat. Ha ha. In the 2nd pic, he seemed to be listening intently to the person infront of him. The pic is so natural and nice.

Hi Cindy,
Travis seemed able to sit upright very well. Wow, he is really fast in everything. I remember he can lift his head when being flipped at barely 3 month old. Did you trim Travis's hair? Very neat. I dont know if i should be trimming kiros's hair or just leave it till it got messy.

thanks K@ye.
i'm also glad tat Jovan is growing well on my BM (altho he is not on TBF coz he's given one bedtime FM)

plim / skye_skye,
i'm also relived when the PD told us tat it's normal for BF babies to go w/o poo for few days. my husband's colleague TBF her 5 month old baby son & he can go w/o poo for up to a week!

michviv,
i think it's normal for milk ss to dip, it will come back up. 200-240ml per session is still considered v good! my milk ss is so little compared to yours! on weekdays, i pump at ard 7am, 11am, 330pm & 9pm. i get only ard 240, 180, 180, 200 respectively. i latch jovan on weekends & also try to come home early to latch him on weekday evenings. keep your spirits up!

tinkabel:: hahahaha!! bet you can't wait for summer!

pig:: no lahs, hahaha see, got bolster at the back to support him mah hehehe!! kiros seem to have brown hair eh!
i think don't trim la, i went to trim it once before CNY cause it was long and messy and there, he started dropping hair, so regret. and kiros is still one of my fav bbs! he's sooo cute lah!

tinkabel,
i think it differs for each baby. 6.8kg at 4months is a good weight, not small at all. u r so fortunate tat baby Matt finish all his milk, i'm sure his weight gain will be much better than Jovan. bb Jovan now drinks only 120-140ml ard every 3hrs & his total daily milk intake is only abt 700ml. it's so little for his weight.

baby Matt looks so handsome, bright & alert in his photos. love him to bits! he can sit so steadily now! i was shocked when i saw the photo, coz jovan still wobbles & falls down to his side when i sit him on the sofa

cindy: you bet I am waiting for the early summer to come. Already got ready Matt's summer collection of clothes, bathrobe and swimming trunks. haha. but not looking forward to July/August though. Can be terribly hot at 40 deg here in SH. Practically like walking in an oven.

pig07: Haha the 2nd photo I was actually snapping at the mirror ie that's Matt's reflection. I like to seat him in front of the mirror and he seems to be quite amazed at his own reflection staring back at him

catherine: Matt does take more, 5 feeds a day (1st & last feed 180ML and 3 day feeds of 150ML = total of 810ML daily) But gosh, he still poos like 3 times a day. Nah, not complaining about his weight, cos based on the growth chart, his height and weight are both at 50% percentile. Just that he seems much smaller than the babies here.

As for the sitting, he does still wobble. But there are moments he can sit by himself. Just that he still doesnt have sufficient strength to push himself up when he really falls, although he does use his hands on the table to try to push himself up.

Tinkabel: Matt has such a lovely head of hair! Your boy looks more and more like his daddy. =)Especially when I saw the photos you posted on facebook. The video of him linking on his chicken drumstick is so cute! haha.

Cindy: Tried feeding Ethan NAN this evening and he was so unhappy! Aiya, but my boy is very fussy. Need to break him in to formula milk slowly. In the end, he drank everything but with his eyes closed in protest! So poor thing.

He is really too big for his own good though, weighed/measured him today and he has hit 9.5kg and is 70cm. My little zhu zhu is already wearing clothes for 6 month old babies. sheesh!

He flips very well now but he still needs more practice sitting. Think he likes to stand much more than anything. Just like your Travis I recall? =)

Catherine, Twiggy: Thanks for the encouragement. It means alot. I just feel that its such a waste that I will have to throw away my breastmilk in the freezer cos my boy only drinks up to 1 month old milk. Nevertheless, will perservere!
1313194.jpg
1313195.jpg

Hi Glommybear,

Aiyo, yr princess has such beautiful eyes lei.. big and bright.

Hi Michviv,
Wow wow.. yr BM so powerful.. 9.5kg.. tat's very good weight.. So cheerful the sofa pic..

Hi Tinkabel,
I tried yr method of hitting the hand when i see kiros putting his fingers into his mouth. Gosh, he atually 'cried' each time i hit his hand. Moment i stop, he stop crying, and contd his sucking.. and the cycle repeats.. They are so smart and is beginning to pretend and bullying the adults.

Just Like kaye's daughter, pretending to fall asleep during water parade.. hahahah..

Hi Cindy,
Ya, i also think better not trum unless really long and perspire too much. my parents commented that he had brown hair too...but i ever read that it will go away before they turn 3 year old.. Someone even commented that it was because i went to colour my hair when i was pregnant. Hahaha..

michiv:: hahhaa!! yes your BM really POWERFUL!!! hehh i loove the pict of him in the bumbo.
and yes travis also likes standing more.
he cannot sit for long in his bumbo chair hahaha... dn't think so much, i'm sure your milk ss will be back up sooner than u think!

tinkabel and cat:: hahaha!! you really make it sound sooo fun in SH! wells, much better than in the boring SG lah ahhaha. travis is only drinking 120 to 150 every 4hrly ah! so don't worry la, i am also worried abt his small vol intake but i've come to realise it really differs from bb to bb. as long as they still continue to grow and be in the 50 percentile, i'm fine.
travis also 6.8kg when he was 4mths..

Hi mummies, all your experiences sounds so familiar...
Pig 07, Zac has learned the art of screaming when he wants to be carried. I tried hitting his hand and told him "no" but he kept on going on and on sigh... And i agree they bully us!

Tinkabel, matt v kuai.. always finish his milk my son only finishes if he's like half asleep or if he is v hungry. have to coax and coax v tiring. His weight is 6.4kg on the lighter side was so worried about his weight initially now i try to tell myself to take it easy.

Cindy, haha hi 5! Zac oso only drinks 120-150 4 hrly. and he still wakes up for his 3am feed. I am soooo tired. trying to drop but haven't succeed. I tried Tinkabel's method of giving him pacifier and carrying him, i tried feeding him extra for his last feed but still cannot maybe i should wait till he reaches 6mths?

Any mummies any advise?

michiv,
u should be proud of urself! ur BM can "yield" a 9.5kg 4-month-old! POW-DER-FUL siah!
btw, forgot to tell u my experience abt frozen BM. bb Jovan intially wun take frozen BM at all! i was so upset coz tat would mean my 5L frozen BM will ALL go to waste! so i tried a few methods:
1. give frozen BM for 1st quarter / half of feed when he's v hungry
2. mix frozen BM with fresh ones in different proportions until bb wans to take it
3. dun thaw BM overnite in fridge (i think the fishy taste gets stronger when left overnite). i'll put the frozen BM in a bowl/cup of cool tap water & place it in the fridge in the morning. then it can be used for the afternoon/evening feeds.
my mum suggested mixing FM with my frozen BM but i never tried b4 coz i was afraid she will continue to mix FM with my fresh BM. i think u got to trial & error to see which methold suits ur baby most. better than wasting all ur frozen stash of 10L (wah heartpain leh). Best of luck!

Cat, michviv,
I tried giving frozen BM when Matt was 2 mths. He was ok then. Havent given him in a while, since the spare milk tat I couldnt bring to SH, I used it for his BM bath before we left Singapore. Now I am building up my supplies, just started storing them away. I hv excess of about 200ML a day. My hubby thinks I shouldnt be pumping so much so that Matt can have fresh BM and also not take up too much space in the fridge. My concern is what if my supply cannot keep up in the long run. better pump more when available. What do you gals think?

suzanne:: HAHAHAHA!!! SAME SAME LAH!! travis also still wakes up at 3am to eat. SIAN. haha want to give him more milk in the day time also he can't finish and will give me the vomit look, sighs, no idea. Maybe it'll be better when we start them on solids? hope sooo!

mummies, our bb's are gg to turn 6months SOON! hehehe any advise how to start to intro cereals? Is it to replace a milk feed or initially just give a few spoonfuls and top up with milk until can totally replace a milk feed? Which milk feed to start intro solids first?

dokie:: the other time i think i remember seeing this title at kino, costs 40plus le ahhaha so i bought the ginaford's book of weaning loh! her book says to feed milk and top up with cereals slowly and until after 1wk plus then replace that whole feed. and hers is to start with the 11am feed and then to the 6pm feed. but after the 6th month, then the 7th to 9th month she says to feed 3solid meals a day, then i blurrr liao! hahaha OKAY i go popular check it out!

Hi Cindy

Lately I notice my bb showed interest when we eat so I feel she might be ready for solids. We started her on cereals last Sat. As the cereal is in the spoon she does not really know how to take the food in and even after we successfully put the cereal in the mouth, she does not know how to swallow and keep spitting out. Eventually she managed to eat 1 teaspoon. It was quite fun tho.

Hi Cindy, Let's keep our fingers crossed then. I'm planning to start Zac when he reaches 6 and a half months.

Hi dokie, Is the cover of the book quite colourful? With green and blue and a picture of a kid? Was planning to get that too because it gives mostly local recipes that's more useful to me. The other books seem to be quite westernised.

Langlao, which brand did you try? My friend started her 6mth old son on friso crem. The cereal smells so good.

Any mummies into organic? I am thinking of letting Zac go organic dunno if it's worth the hassle or money.

Cindy, not so ex . It cost around $21 by times publisher.

Suz, it is dark pink in colour. Yes it is useful because it is local recipe.
I am on organics. It is definitely worth it. Child will get higher intake of nutrients, stronger immunity and falling sick less frequently.
where do u stay? I can advise you where to buy.

anyone tries feeding ebm for more than 48 hours?
I have a bottle of milk expressed on sunday am. contemplating whether to feed my son on tue afternoon. that would be around 72 hours

Hi Cindy, Suzanne

I bought Heinz which is suitable from 4 mths and is iron enriched. Most other brands are for babies 6 mths & above.

At the moment, only feeding at most 2 teaspoons per day so cant replace milk intake yet.