(2007/11) November MTBs

hi dreamer@hk,

hi-5 on bb crying prior to nap/sleep...
been thru it over the wkend twice wif BB chloe.
i truly truly believe it's due to over-stimulation... coz b4 nap, we spend time playing wif her and she can laugh/chuckle at even the most simplest action.

then when she sleepy n rubbing her eyes YET can't sleep, she will cry, wail, scream til face red red... no matter how i carry her; diff positions also wun do... once it was pretty bad till i almost shouted at her to stop crying!

but lesson learnt, now i wun play wif her too much when it's almost time for her nap; usually play wif her when she just wake up or just after milk.

any of you with yr baby on full FM? Kiros is now on full FM-DUMEX MAMEX. I thot now that he no longer on BM, his poo should not be watery. However for the past few days, his poo is still watery and alot, except that it isnt as watery and seedy as when on BM.

I am worried that his poo is a little too watery and might be stomach discomfort.

langlao3,
actually, unless Eliza plays herself to sleepiness in her own cot, she doesn't really sleep on her own in her cot. her sleep association is her pacifier. i'll put her in her cot, give her pacifier and pat her a bit and tell her it's nap time. if she's tired, she'll be asleep in 10mins. if she's not she'll spit out her pacifier and squeal & coo at me. bedtime routine is a lil more elaborate but she falls to sleep in 10-30mins. i gave up carrying her to sleep cos during the early days it was tiring me out and giving me backaches. i also watch for cues so i know whether to put her to bedtime earlier or later...save me the trouble of putting her to sleep when she isn't sleepy

hi dreamer, kittybride,
this happen to me over the weekend too, bb cry n cry, legs very straight, dun wan pacifier. i was so frustrated and nearly gave her 2 tight slap

eventually gave her milk milk tho not time yet n she guai guai zzz....phew!

langlao,

understand your feelings... i was super stressed out coz was alone wif her n she cried n screamed for almost an hour on n off! gave pacifier, suck a while then spit out and cry, gave milk but dun want, almost choke, then carry her upright position, stop a while then cry, carry her other positions also same thg...

then put her on bed she cry, carry her she cry, wah... so pissed i shouted at her while she screamed till face red red n like out of breath... then regretted my shouting n continue to pacify her... very cham... i myself almost wana cry liao....

finally i thk she cried till super tired so finally able to sleep.... so very impt lesson for me (also gave warning to my hb) NOT to over stimulate baby...

hi kittybride, langlao, phew, glad i not alone !! i was thinking is my baby the only one so cranky??? ;(

hmmm, next time i shall try and not overstmilate her ...

usually what happens is that when i see her rubbing her eyes while we are on the playmat, i will bring her into the room and put her on the mattress. and give her pacifier... to let her know its nap time. then let her lie there abit before attempting to put her to sleep.

juz that, recent nap times, she simply refuse to sleep....k, hope tomorrow will be a better day!!

re: crying baby before bedtime
my gal also like that recently... i think she's too tired, so when i give her the milk b4 her bedtime, she will jus drink a little and cry cry cry... any positions also cannot, except i hold her upright and her looking over my shoulder... had to try many times to pat her and hold her to sleep for like 15 mins b4 i can give her milk again... end up her bedtime feed plus putting her to sleep can last an hour!

sigh... juz hope it is temporary...

Dokie, do u have a bath tub at home? If u have, u can put your baby there to swim instead of getting a pail. Coz the pail has to be super big for the baby to swim!

Re: Over stimulation before Bedtime
That's wat i did last weekend. My hubby & I put Claire into the jumperoo and she was jumping for joy. After that we put her to sleep, guess what after 30mins, she cried big time. Give her milk, she also cried... Carry her in all sorts of position also cannot...., give her pacifier, cried even louder...

In the end, i carried her upright and walked around the house, then she gradually fell asleep.

Re: Watery Poo
Pig, i think as long as its not diahorrea, should be ok. Coz my gal sometimes will poo like that for a while, then next day back to normal.

K@ye, I just borrowed a brand new float from my cousin. I am getting a friend to get the tub for me from geylang malay village. Shouldnt cost much. I am not keen to bring baby to punggol plaza because of the distance. My colleague did the tub method at home since 2 years ago.

similac infant FM for sale

i was given 2 tins of Similac Infant FM by a friend but my girls are supp on Nan Nestle. looking at selling these two tins off at $60. anyone keen do sms me at 94770974

Dokie, i brought Claire to Punggol Plaza for the swim last Sat. She hates the float ard her neck. Anyway, my hubby & I felt that its quite expensive to go swim there. Btw, the tub u re getting from Malay Village is how big har? Mabbe i get it there.. If not, i gotta go to my cousin's house and borrow her bath tub liao!

Dreamer, i m going to HK next month. In HK, does the shopping centres have diaper changing places? If not, very stress to find a place to change diaper.

i really feel so guilty for being angry with bb for crying. my dad told me that when i was an infant, he slapped me for crying non-stop and regretted it for life.

langlao3,

dun reprimand yourself... i oso felt guilty when i shouted at my gal for screaming & crying when she tried to sleep but can't.

put it behind you, since we all now know why babies does that... learn from our mistakes and move on... it's all part and parcel of parenthood!

jia you!

hello mummies
been a while since i posted. i brought my gal who is 4mo today to PD yesterday for a checkup. Was told by PD that she is very small and weight is actually gliding off the percentile scale. She was born 3.5kg at birth (75percentile) and now only 5.5kg (10percentile)!

My gal's is on BM and during the day she will be fed EBM by my mum and when i am home and weekends, it's total latch on. The problem is she is drinking very little in the day... my mum can give her 60ml and that will take her 2 time to finish them. And i rem one mummy suggesting feeding baby during sleepy times, tried and she drank 50ml. Overall her intake is less than 200ml while i am at work!!! Help! She is drinking well direct though.. but only evenings and night. And because of this weight issue, PD say cannot wean her off her night feeds coz she isn't drinking in the day. So what i do now is to wake up and feed her each time she stir a bit, very tired.

How do i encourage her to take the bottle.. she will stir and spit out the teat and suckle and stop. It's worrying me. PD told me to start her on cereal today, in hope that her weight will pick up. Have to go for review in a month's time. If weight still din pick up, she say will categorise her as "failure to thrive" then have to do a series of tests. Any mummies with similar drinking problem, esp for those BF mummies? Advice pls?

[email protected] of the mega shopping malls have e.g. IFC (my fav changing room!! heehee), Times Square, TST LCX, Harbour City etc.

these are the mega shopping centres...smaller ones i am not sure...cos i only go to those places which i know have diaper changing places

langlao...dun feel so bad ... next time we juz remind ourselves to exercise some "self control"...i oso sometimes cannot tahan my gal's crying and will "beat" her backside! ;p after that...feel very bad...but haizzz...already beat liao .... so everytime try to tell myself control control....or walk away and take a deep breath then come back again...

Langlao3, I'm also guilty of spanking my daughter (on her thighs) when she refused to sleep or drink milk properly. Poor Natalie cry until like shivering like that. I felt so so terrible. We are humans after all. It's not easy taking care of baby. I find a lot encouragement from other mommies here. So don't feel bad... We learn something new everyday

Hi dreamer@hk, have you tried playing some soothing music? During daytime, I play "spa" kind of music cos quite noisy from near construction. I used to do same for night time too.

My husband's theory is that baby is not tired enough. Same thing happened, I always force my daughter to sleep too (thinking she's tired, rubbing eyes and keep yawning) and in the end frustrate myself cos she keeps fussing. So we talk to her, carry around then try putting her to bed again half hour later.

hey, there is a mummy who shared about her baby falling sick for many weeks.the baby has alot of phlemgh etc what is her name?

jules, kittybride, dreamer & all,
yes we have to stay positive & calm. it is not easy, at this age bb wont know why we are frustrated. kam pa tei all!

hi jules, yes, i do play soothing music for her.... i put on worship songs every nap time.

actually, i tink mebbe your hubbie is rite....baby not tired enuff...but when she gets too tired...also cranky...lolol...difficult both ways!

these 2 days i realise, she seems to want to be carried before sleeping. cos, since she's crying, i carry her for a while, she will calm down ...and when i put her down on the mattress again, she's ok.... altho she's not asleep yet, she kuai kuai, let me turn her to the side and pat her to bed..... funnie...

Dreamer, thanks for the info. Its difficult to find a toilet in HK... That's y i m worried abt diaper changing facilities.

Dokie, thanks for the pix. The tub in the pix, definitely can't fit for Claire coz she likes to float doggy style! Its' true, not a must have for the babies! Imagine the amt of water used!

Re:Sleeping Habits
Claire's patterns changed now and then. When she is before 5mths old, she wants us to craddle her till she falls asleep.. If we put her to sleep on her side, she will protest.

Now, she refused to be craddled by us and has to sleep on the side b4 she s willing to sleep! Sometimes, i wonder how come such a small people can make us adults go crazy!

On sleeping:
Just last night, my boy cried and screamed aft just 5mins of sleep, as if he just had nightmare, not sure. In the end, we also gave him milk abt half an hr before his feeding time. He finished all and went bk to sleep.

Sigh, such a dilemma. By the time we reach home it's already past 7pm. In order not to over stimulate them, we cant really play with them. Can only speak and read to him, how boring. It's only on weekends that we can really play and 'stimulate' them. Sometimes really feel like OPP - Off Peak Parents. Just like off peak cars, can only use(see) aft 7pm and on weekends only.

dokie, u can also ask Dr Ong ek to plot the percentile for u on every visit. Its at the back pages of the health booklet. The nurses at Polyclinic always plot for me

K@ye,
Thanks for letting me know. Oohh... I blur mummy didnt even know that. I was thinking of just putting him in the pool to get teach him to swim...:p

Twiggy, no problem. As far as i know chlorine is irritating to the skin. Plus hor, condo pool has alot of ppl using it... Better not... Own bath tub, no fears of contamination only expensive utilites bill!
PDs only advised to bring babies to public swimming pools when they re at least 6 mths old!

We wont be bringing bb to public/condo swimming pool till he finishes all the basic jabs, i.e after 6months. Though we very keen and excited to bring him, but cant...shopping for swimming trunk for him now:)

Re: Crying before bedtime

Hi there! jaydyn sometimes cries frantically when she's overly exhuasted, over stimulation or when I'm not the one putting her to sleep. Somehow she associates sleep with mummy. Even daddy also cant put her to sleep. If daddy carries her to sleep, she'll cry n cry for almost 45min to 1h till she's too tired then she will fall asleep.

Nowadays very difficult to put her to sleep cos she's always very kahpoh, wanna look ard her. I hv to put her on my shoulder to put her to sleep. She doesnt like other positions. Sometimes it might take her 30min before she closes her eyes. Afterwhich i hv to hold her for abt another 15min b4 I can put her in e cot. sometimes while putting her down, she might wake up. If not, after putting her down, still need to pat pat some more. So sometimes it takes abt 1h or more jus for her to nap. Super tiring.

Then lately sick, so super cranky. Makes me more exhuasted. I even asked my hubby whether I can quit being a mum. hehe! ;)

After I brought her to another PD, her phelgm seems to be clearing up and her running nose stopped. So thankful that she is truly recovering now. =) I asked the PD whether I should start her on cereal. He said not to, wait till 6mths then start.

Hi dreamer@hk, that's good! My husband loves Michael Card. He has 2 albums for babies & children called - Sleep Sound in Jesus and Come to the Cradle. Can try them if run of songs to play

k@ye, that is what my mum think too. she said use the tub method more hygience..ha ha ha

S@L asking my cousin for her address. u wait huh...

I very stressed . Milk supply dropped alot esp one one side of the breast. very funnie..
Still have sufficient for a day except I cant store any. Strange huh one side dropped by half and the other breast slightly only.

dokie:: haha,... how comw? hahahah.. but i feel mine is so too. but sigh, can tahan then tahan how long loh hahaha.

cindy, troubled over the search of a maid. I am on leave this week . By right should be relax mood. Never would i expect to be so stressed up over maid issue.
Can tahan lah but still worried.

summer, latch on the other side more often and use swing to pump the stronger breast. :p haiz
very depressing

Hi Dokie,
Are you looking for new maid? I just got one this week. So far so good. But fingers crossed she won't change.

But already, I'm feeling sad that I wont' be the primary caregiver for him when I go back to work. But alas, can't have the best of both worlds. I want a career and yet I want to spend a lot of time w baby. Not possible unless I work from home or start my own business or something.

Summer,
I recall in the books "Becoming Babywise" and the Gina Ford "Contented Baby", there are sections on failure to thrive. Let me dig it up and see what they say. But won't worry too much yet. Most likely your baby will start gaining a lot more weight once he starts cereals in his diet.

don't be depressed dokie! u depressed even worse. hahaha now me doing latching on at night and day is FM, so my ss drop even more lahs. but i don't wanna pump at work, too tiring to lug things from west to east to west everyday, so trying my best to achieve partial BF as long as possible. hahaha...

Twiggy, even i work from home (tats what i do now ) also cannot handle bb
rushing some work these few days and put bb with my mum. Gosh! i miss her so badly and sian too cos hv to watch the clock and 'cow-milking' ...sigh.....so troublesome. BUT when Mischa is ard, i cant get down to work at all...true enough, cant have the best of both worlds.

pumped at 330pm and latched on again at 430pm. after i burped him, a few minutes later, splitted out all the milk...heartached..
just comfort myself I can get more milk later on...

cindy, i pumped 3 times in office 9am, 1230pm, 4pm. then rushed home at 5 plus.
no choice. i prefer bf to fm. this is the sacrificial I have to make. everyday like aunty. lug so many items sometimes 4 bags. siao ah!

twiggy n s@l:: i also have same feeling. no one is the best giver except us but reality is we can't have what we want all the time. hahaha!! one person's income: can feed enough but not flexi enough. sigh. wonder if he'll forget me when i go back to work!! booo!

dokie:: hahaha, you really powers la! yes i'm a lazy mommy and don't want to make sacrifices. haha keep it up la dear, you're doing a great job! your boy knows it.

Here's travis in his jumperoo:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UxFN77nrBTk

wah dokie, you pump so many times in the office. I only pump one time in the office, around lunch time them rush home after work. I also prefer BM to FM but my lil' one having problems with suckling from bottle, only like latching on. Is it considered nipple confusion?

Twiggy
Yes, please let me know what the book says about this failure to thrive. She was putting on weight well during my maternity leave coz i am always around to latch her on but ever since i went back to work 2 months ago, her weight has been stagnant. Hope she does gain more weight after taking the cereals...

Dokie
you pumped so many times a day? I only can get down to pumping once in the office. Too disruptive and stressful even though I got my own office. Cos sometimes pple knock on the door, looking for me. So I pumped at 7 plus in the morning at home, then once in the office after lunch at 1 plus, then until 8pm I pumped again at home. Before I sleep at 12am, I pump again. I think my body kinda got used to it, it usually produces more milk when I pump at home. But these 2 days got some emergency at home and my ILs went back to Spore, I working from home, pumping schedule went haywire again. Really takes a lot of discipline to pump regularly. In the 1st 3 mths, there were abt 2-3 times my milk supply started dipping cos I was stretching the pumping sessions too long. But it just drives me crazy to pump every 3-4 hrs.

S@L:
I fully understand your concerns. These 2 days wkg from home. I just walk on a Ikea bf tray on the bed with Matt beside me. Sometimes, hv to type single handedly. Now he is sleeping in my lap. Sigh... What a challenge!

Seems that being working mothers not easy leh... Like what Twiggy mentioned, I also wanna work from home or start my own business...

As much as i want to spend more time with Claire but it drives me crazy to be with Claire 24/7 even though i love her very much!

Cindy, Travis won't forget u lah! He will make u unwilling to go back to work. Usually during month end closing, I have to work late mah. My cheeky gal will wait for me to be home b4 she willing to sleep... The moment she sees my face, she smiled so brilliantly at me!

Dokie, lug 4 bags? Cannot combine them into 1 big bag? Very siong leh!

Haha dokie, I also lug at least 3 bags. One hand bag, one laptop bag and one milk bag. If I got lots of docs to bring home to read, will have to take it in a 4th paper bag to bring home haha. So tiring man