(2007/11) November MTBs

what's yr bb's milk time like nowadays? my eliza juz turned 3mths 1 week but she's still on 3hr milk schedule...i want to drop a feed or stretch her time but dunno how..then if i stretch her 3hrs it'll mess up her schedule...not sure how it'll go. sometimes she can go as long as 3 1/2 hrs..but then cos of the routine the rest of the milk times will be shorter interval.
her first milk of the day is 730am and last feed is at 1030am. once in a while she'll want milk in the middle of the night. she's drinking average 150ml each time sometimes more sometimes less

HI Ladies

Thanks for your comments on Elijah...yeah he is actually 'huge' for his age...he is in the 97th percentile, last I weighed him 2 weeks back he was 8.2kg at 3 months...feeling the ache every morning on my shoulders when I wake.

S@L, I haven't had a chance to use the baby rock sling yet...tried to put him in 2 days ago to try, somehow he didnt like it...thinking of getting a carrier instead...read from the post you recommend BECO? Or you think Baby Bjorn is good enough?

SStarlight, go to popular and get the book. Feeding your child right. Good book to own. It costs around $21. If u want to have a snapshot of the content. Give me your email. I can email you.
Try not to start solids before 6th month if u can.

Skye, is ok. why are u concerned she is on 3 hours schedule? 5oz is quite good intake leh.

K@ye, plumsource mentioned sth I missed out. Did u change her laundry detergent?

Skye, we have to meet liao. Your clothes still with me. I try to meet u this friday. Are u working? I am nt sure where I want to go. I am on leave from 14th to 20th March. Clearing my maternity leave.

Morn ladies!

Thanks for the advice on eczema. Dokie, ur article is very helpful, i might try that when she is 6mths old.

Basically, i changed her laundry detergent to baby detergent. I applied oil and lotsa moisturisers on her, changed all her clothes to cotton. Also, not to mention, keep her area clean, less dust etcc. For milk powder, she dun drink the soy milk powder, so i switched her to NAN HA 1, if it still dun work, i will have to switch to goat's milk powder.

Plumsource, Claire;s eczema is not as severe as your son but her hands & legs are still very rough. She also has a tendency to scratch her legs. Yup, i applied those greasy oilment or oil on her, her skin will be better. Its just that every time, she went for her jabs, it will flare up!

Plumsource, i just bought 5 diapers from GOON to save on the delivery. R u interested in getting the M size diapers from me? I got 2 packets and Claire is outgrowing the M size. I stayed in Bedok North.

Erika, my Misha actually loves to be in the Babyrock, and my hubby is the one who usually slings her around. But he cannot take her weight on one shoulder anymore. So i have bought a Synergy bb bjorn and it does take alot of weight off his shoulders. But the max is up to 12kg. i personally think tt u should buy beco or Ergo carrier as Elijah is almost outgrowing the bb bjorn weight limit. I could use the BECO with my 18kg son, so it is more worthwhile to spend on it for the mileage.

Mummies, i m starting another Drugstore spree. anyone interested? pls send ur orders thru email to me. BUT pls be informed that recently vpost shipment is kinda slow...so pls allow 3-4weeks as a gauge for items to arrive, for me to pack and send them out. only send me the orders if u can wait - no urgent items. thanks

Hi Dokie,

Have sent you a PM. Thanks!

S@L:
Would it be too early to buy the first teeth toothpaste now?
Cos our baby might start to have their first buds in May/June?

any of your babies has 'white spots'? on neck and/or and collar bone area?
over the weekend i found out my dd's lower cheeks and neck areas have quite a few patches of 'white spots' here n there

any treatment for it? i asked the nanny and she said she din notice... double

and those mommies who managed to clear bb's cradle cap, can recommend remedy? my dd's gotten it too! waaahhh... triple

sstarlight, hahaha i alrady stocked up on them since i was preggy! no worries cos expiry is at least a yr from now. in fact it says from 3rd mth can start to use on bb. the idea is to get them used to something in the mouth so tt when they start teething, they would nt reject brushing of teeth

kittybride, use olive oil apply onto scalp and leave overnight. next day can comb or use fingers to rub while bathing bb. repeat until the bigger pieces have dropped off/ FYI cradle cap come and go esp for the big pieces. now my gal stll hv teeny weeny pcs here and there but i m nt so bothered anymore. by 5mths they should all be cleared. some recommend using baby oil, but i didnt try tt.

kittybride, the white spots....like some white pimples isit? i used cotton wool soaked in cool boiled water and wipe baby kaira when she had them ... went away after a couple of days.... u may wish to try it!

now....very tempted to oso buy the jumperoooo..... ;p ;p

Hi Skye skye,
Joseph is still on a 3 hrly routine too. He's now 3 mths and 3 weeks old. Drinks 6 x 180ml a day. I thought of cutting down to 5 feeds of bigger quantities too but he's not ready to handle bigger feeds yet so I just keep it at 6 3-hrly feeds.

Kekeke. Okay, I join for the drugstore spree for the toothpaste. Now I already using cloth towel to clean his gums and tongue during bath time

Kittybride:
I used olive oil on my baby's cradle cap before. It works, but somehow it leaves a yellow stain on the rest of the scab. I guess its my olive oil not pure enough.

Then I use johnson baby oil after that. It did help to clear the cradle cap after few washes, but during first few rounds, I wasn't careful enough, some of the baby oil flow down to my baby face. End up got tiny pimples there. Kena scold by my doc. He say just use little bit can already, why i pour so much :p
Anyway, tat was few months ago. Now all cradle cap clear.

What you do it, massage the oil onto the cradle cap area, leave it a few mins, then comb it through then wash baby's head.

Oh those mummies who likes leapfrog products, can get the LeapFrog Spin & Sing Alphabet Zoo at Toys R Us for $29.95. very cheap :p

Was selling $49.90 at Taka fair now. (Lucky I didn't get it at Taka fair).

k@ye, u refering to the Pigeon baby laundry detergent (powder) right? just checked, doesn't say whether it's biodegradeable or not, jus said phosphate free...

re: cradle cap
i tot my gal dun hv, until abt few weeks back i noticed flakes from her head... i decided to use S@L's method, but with bb oil... put bb oil on her head (area where there's cradle cap), leave it over night, next day, try to comb it off... my mum has this comb where she used to comb off all the cradle cap, quite effectively... i did tat for abt 3 days and she's clear...
kittybride, you might want to try it...

Erika, i bought it from the BP held few weeks ago. there are new stocks coming in May. but there wont be anymore BP,u can purchse from her website.

but i intend to order online aft they are done with the retrofitting of the Butterfly range. i can email u the details.

Came across this on another thread

JUST TO SHARE....=))

PASS THIS ON EVEN IF YOU DO NOT USE IT

Recently this past week, my cousin Nicole Dishuk (age
31...newly graduated student with a doctoral degree about to
start her new career as a Doctor...) was flown into a nearby
hospital, because she passed out.

They found a blood clot in her neck, and immediately took her
by helicopter to the ER to operate. by the time they removed
the right half of her skull to relieve the pressure on her
brain, the clot had spread to her brain causing severe damage.

Since last Wednesday night, she was battling.. they induced her
into a coma to stop the blood flow, They operated 3 times..
Finally, they said there was nothing left that they could do..
they found multiple clots in the left side of her brain.. the
swelling wouldn't stop, and she was on life support..

She died at 4:30 yesterday. She leaves behind a husband, and a
2yr old Brandon and a 4yr old Justin... The CAUSE of DEATH -
they found was a birth control she was taking that allows you
to only have your period 3 times a year... They said it
interrupts life's menstrual cycle, and although it is FDA
approved... shouldn't be - So to the women in my address book -
I ask you to boycott this product & deal with your period

once a month - so you can live the rest of the months that your
life has in store for you.

*Please send this to every woman you know - you may save
someone's
life... Remember, you have a CYCLE for a reason!

Fyi.

The name of this new birth control pill is Lybrel. If you go to
Lybrel.com
http://lybrel.com/ , you will find at least 26 pages of
information regarding this drug.

The second birth control pill is, Seasonique. If you go to the
website of,
Seasonique.com http://seasonique .com/ , you will find 43 pages
of information regarding this drug.
The warnings and side effects regarding both pills are
horrible. Please, please forward this information to as many
daughters AND sons, co-workers, friends and relatives. Several
lives have already been changed.

i am also interested in the jumperoo, din know can try at Taka fair
will try to go again and chk it out if my girl likes it.

We put her on the exersaucer and she loves it tho she is not tall enuff and has to tip toe. can hold her attn for abt 10 mins.

Langlao, its very funny to see our babies when put on the exersaucer or the jumperoo... Their feet on tip toes and they re excited abt the toys in front of them.

dokie,
abt the feeding...wondering if it's normal..cos i know some ppl go to abt 4hr intervals le..but Eliza can't...at most 3 1/2hrs for one of the interval.
ah...friday..mayb i'll try to make it to the taka baby fair. we can meet there if u can drop by there as well

kittybride,
Eliza still has cradle cap...gosh it's been so long...but it's not as bad as before. i now apply mustela cream for cradle cap at night and wash her head with shampoo for cradle cap, it's not completely clear but it's better. you can use olive oil as well and use comb to comb it off

S@L, dreamer@HK, sstarlight & plim,
thx all for the recommendation.
for the olive oil, it's not the 'cooking' type, rite? sorry ah, have to be sure lor... otherwise i need to go buy liao coz will have to get my nanny to do it for my gal.

plim,
same as you, i thk the cradle cap oredi there for some time liao but jus didnt notice until few days back i go and scruntinize her from top to toe (cos send to nanny's place dis mth, a bit kiasi lor)... then saw light patches on her scalp lor.

wah, ur mom's comb so powerful ah, 3 days cleared oredi ah? i got the pigeon comb set, thot of using it to comb her scalp lor.

RE: white spots
dreamer@hk, it's not the white milia seed but in chinese is called 'bai pan'... like one patch of discoloration like dat... sigh, dun know how to clear dat off her...

Langlao, i dun hv... But i did put Claire in it to try and she s like very happy.

Kittybride, i use the Ginvera olive oil.

Anyone wanna buy the Breast Pump conversion set? I have a brand new one:

Lets you collect milk directly from your breast pump
Can be used with both Avent's reusuable bottles and disposable bottles
Two breast pump converters for Avent Natural Feeding Bottles
Two breast pump converters for Avent Via Disposable Bases
Four disposable breast pads

1294795.jpg

Selling @ $20

seashell/langlao,
both 4th gen n butterfly CANNOT face out. can front carry, but bb faces u too. only diff is 4th gen can do 5 positions and butterfly only 2. but to me not tt impt cos the other positions are hip carry, cross hip carry and cradle position, not commonly used.

u can check out the website for more details and pics cos i also read from there la...me no expert

max weight is 55lbs, which is abt 25kg +- i think.

dreamer, u can go to Dr Ong E.K at TMC. he is good, ask Dokiesim
but u really have to Q and wait for each visit....i only went to him for my 2 kids when they jus born for the followup, aft tt i bring them bk to the PD near my plc.

dokie:: who's the author of the feeding your child right book?
I bought the gina ford's book of weaning. hehehe inside got day by day recipe and all, is it similar? Muacks.

Hi S@l, I bought Gaia bath wash cos of it's no-rinse formula. I'm trying it out. Currently I'm using Mustela, which I don't rinse off after bath although I need to. Lately, my daughter had terrible mosquito bites because of the weather and it became blisters. The mosquitoes were so fierce, even Badgers' anti-bug balm that contains citronella didn't keep them away. So I read that the Gaia soothing lotion can protect against mozzie bites after applying.

Hi Gloomybear,

I was looking high and low for a Avent conversion set for me to use my Medela Pump to pump milk directly into Avent bottles/VIA cups. Looked everywhere but to no avail. Does this serve this purpose?

I tired to call Philip the last time, they told me no more such product in market.

hi crystal,
it's safety 1st's exersaucer, it's not a walker and is stationery, more like an activity centre for baby to play. I am not sure whr can buy cos mine is given by someone.

hi everyone....i remember reading in this forum that for some babies when they reach 3+ months plus, they start to reduce their milk intake.... anyone can share whether that was a "temporary" thing from experience?

baby kaira now abt 3months 2+ weeks....and these 2 days, her milk intake like decrease by 40-60ml per feed

in the past drink abt 180ml per feed 5x a day, now abt 100-120ml and if want to finish her milk...must really try and try and try...its a struggle getting her to finish her milk. so wondering if it's temporary...or should i be more concerned.

i juz upgraded her teat not too long ago...not sure if should upgrade again so soon. as using bfree, if upgrade to level 3, that is for 6+ mths...not sure if she can handle the flow.

dreamer:: the SAME thing is happening to my travis. no idea when their milk intake is gg to stabilise!! always feed until so tiring and end up all sticky and sweaty hahaha..

hi pig07, yes, this is the one. serve the purpose.
I'm using it with my medela PIS to pump into my Avent bottles.
The person u spoke to @ Phillips must have ZERO product knowledge. haha

Hi all, been busy with wk and no chance to post for past wks.

On baby milk intake:
Eagan's milk intake also dropped since 3 months.Drinks abt 120ml each feed. One thing that worries me is, these 2 days he throws out his milk aft his feed. I fed him 2 days ago, he coughed a bit and threw out EVERYTHING! I so sim tia and actually had phobia, asked my HB to feed him instead. He is ok and still smile aft he threw out. Dunno why lei, so sad.