(2007/11) November MTBs

kaye,
I'm also tempted to get the jumperoo cos' my boy is quite bored with his bouncy chair and playgym. Where do you intend to get?

That day I showed him a toy that has blinking lights and music, he burst into tears immediately...aiyo..must expose him to more stuff so that he won't be so suaku and cry at every other thing.

Poissons, mabbe end of this month when pay day is here coz i spent a bit on her stuff this mth.. Hehe....

Do remember to put Garreth on the jumperoo at taka and let him try to see he likes it or not..

Guess what my Claire does not like boys in general! HEhee, my PT nannies' boys tried to play with her, she pouted and threatened to cry and a 2yr old boy came over and say hi to her... She also pout!

K@ye,

claire playing hard to get izzit? hee hee...

re: jumperoo
i tried chloe in the jumperoo at taka but she doesn't seem to appreciate it at all... maybe her size still too small lah, coz both her hands went inside the seat and she like almost topple over ~ her neck still not strong enuf. thk she also blur looking at so many toys on the dashboard. hee hee...

wanna check wtih those who bought the bumbo seat..
how long can bb sit in it huh??
there is some promo for this at isetan private sale..
dunno if I shld buy...

ZZZ, based on the bumbo seat instructions... as long as the bb can't get out of the seat by themselves. They can sit till very long.

Kitty, yalor... That's what my sis says also! Claire's has to stretch her feet a bit to jump but she enjoys it. She was so happy man! She quite funny, she will lick the seat abit and continue jumping after that!

Hi Pig07,

The maid I am considering is actually my part-time maid at the moment, so she's quite family with my housework. But she prefers to be full-time w a family so asked me if I want to take her. I'm offering her a salary of $400 and Sundays off. She's Catholic so I believe she should have Sundays off for church and rest. Btw, do you know how much I should be paying an agency to do the transfer maid documents?

RE : Playmats / LG bumper mat
Anyone has the LG bumper mat? Is it waterproof material on the surface? I'm looking for something to put on my living room floor that baby can lie on that is waterproof. So its easier to clean and my cats won't try to pee on it.

Just wanna complain!

My dear hubby went to fix my younger SIL's pc yesterday and my younger SIL's BIL told my hubby that Claire's eczema is due to fengshui in my house.. Blah blah...

I was so pissed off with my hubby for anyhow giving ppl Claire's birth date & timing. Plus, that BIL told my hubby all these can resolve by putting certain things in my house etc etc..

I m not a Christian and i believe in some fengshui but not all. I was so angry man... Ever since Claire got eczema, its like my fault. My fault for eating dunno what things during my pregnancy and now the house fengshui.

Then nevermind, ask him to get the baby food maker from our home to put in my parents' place. He also din bring the whole set. So pissed off, things he should listen, never listen... Things never to be listen, go and listen.

Now, i have to make the trip to my house during lunch to get the baby food maker. Sian!

Twiggy, i saw in the forum, got 1 lady selling her playmat/LG bumper mat. U might want to check with her. I did email her and ask her abt the $$ but it was beyond my budget so i dropped it.

This is her email [email protected]

Hi Cindy,

As i have cracked nipple on one side, it bled when i pumped. then everytime i will have to thorow away the milk as i feel it's 'contaminated' though it may not be. The process is more tiring than pumping.

Then i begin to pump lesser as frankly i havent been eating lots of nutitious food and in fact been on fast food and soft drinks. I think it's really no good for baby's lungs. So i guess it decrease naturally when i decrease my pumping sessions. Somehow these few days my breast is no longer engorge when i wake up in morning. and in fact feel tender.

by this weekend kiros would have turned 4 month old, i feel less guilty to stop bf-ing at tis time vs when i initially intend to stop at 1-2month.

Hi Twiggy,
Regarding maid transfer.. i have no idea what is the costs. Paiseh ah.

Hi Kaye,
Thanks for the bumper mat contact. I found someone called Alien who does the BP. Have contacted her.

Hi Pig07,
No prob! thnaks for sharing w me what you know.

Hi Kaye,

wa lau. if i am you hor, i will flare lor. when something happened to the baby, mummies are the one always being accused of eating the wrong things la, never listen to old folks regarding the pantang thingy la..

ya lor true leh..
my bb got a lot of blue black patches leh..
then they say is cos we painted the bb's room when I was preg..
then make me feel very guilty...

Pig, yalor i really very fed up liao. Next round, if the in laws said such thing again, i will just bring Claire and myself home.....

ZZZ, the Bumbo seat is till 18mths and if ur baby has fat thighs like my Claire. Then will outgrown faster...

Claire also has some blue black patches on her butt and knee.

Dokie, yup.. My PD told me to give her rice cereals when she is 6mths but can give her apples from 5mths. I changed all her products liao.. Basically, whatever needs to be done, i just do liao. Will be bringing her to KKH to see whether they can do any skin prick or blood test to check the root of any possible allergies

long time no post. been busy with work...
baby jovan is going to be 4 months old this friday. intend to shave him coz he's going botak. i'm also dropping alot of hair. i can cry after every shampoo *sob*
baby jovan loves tummy time. he screams in anger when we stop/prevent him from flipping over to enjoy tummy time on his own. he will squeal in delight when he's on his tummy. my mum said he managed to flip from tummy-down to tummy-up once, but i never saw him do it b4.
i'm going to tell u mummies something which i myself find crazy. baby jovan is trying/learning to crawl! HB put him on the ABC mat this morning & placed a toy in front on him when he flipped on his tummy. baby jovan tried to reach for the toy & his nails screeched on the mat. makes us so scared tat his nails might give way.

I was telling dh in taka that the jumperoo is very poopular now. He just take a look at it from a distance away and commented that if walker can be harmful to baby's leg, this jumperoo is even worst, cos the baby gotto tip-toe all the time when they do the jumping.
make sense?

Dokie, no jumperoo is not the same as walker. but i guess both also not suppose to put bb in too long. i hv a walker at my mum's plc was thinking i dun wan to start Mischa on walker so early so i feel like buying jumperoo for her jump-jump
u buying too?

Queenaire, actually walker is not harmful at all. i really dun understand why PDs are so against it nowadays. i guess ppl of our age all grew up using walkers too. my son was in walker too, i dun see any problem till now. are PDs against it becos of the 'tip-toeing' too besides the so-called hazard if the walkers flipped?

yoko,

You poor thing! Have to travel up and down to sort out baby Jordan. It is only your second time out with him alone, so its still trial and error here and there. I think you coped pretty well considering he has just had surgery. He has every right to be cranky. Remember the mummy in the baby room who came up to you to tell you your son must have colic and should be held upwards??? I know she was trying to be helpful, but personally I hate busy bodies who think they know better. I was silently cursing under my breath. Had that been me in your shoes I would be very upset. Its like saying you don't know how to take care of your own baby and an outsider has to tell you that they know best!
What are you going to do with your current stroller if you are getting another one?

I tried the Jumperoo with Luis but he didn't like it and he did slip under as he isn't big enough, then I saw another baby try it and he was also 4mths, however he looked like he loved it and sat really well. So, you got to try it out with your baby and look see.

I wouldn't even consider the bumbo seat because you can't utilse it for long and babies grow very fast so to me it'll be a white elephant.

Blue patches,
They are Mongolian bruises, which are very very common in asian babies, it will disappear as the baby grows and has NOTHING to do with the mother's diet or myths such as decorating the house. All my son have it on their bottoms. The older boy's have all disappeared.

baby walkers,

I use them for both my older boys and I think it aided them in mastering the skills of walking. The problem with walkers is over uses. Like S@L mentioned. You shouldn't use it for too long and some babies are very quick in them, they can race along at break neck speed and bump against the wall, furnitures etc..imagine the neck strain! (I know. my kids have had loads of crashes)
Docs also feel that it is bad for the babies leg and their growth. It is for this reason that I am having second thoughts about getting a walker, although I have to say it both my older boys loved it!

Plumsource, u re right... The bumbo seat i bought is a white elephant liao... Even though i do force Claire to sit in it occassionally... Somehow, i dun understand y she likes to look down when she is in the seat.... Funny gal!

Re: Walker
A lot of debates on the walker such as causing spine problems or bow legged cases etc etc. For me, i also grew up in a walker. A walker is a hazard to everyone in the family except for the baby.... Coz i see the way some babies "sped" in the walker... Must really siam if not, kena hit.. Painful!

Re: Jumperoo...
Do u think we can get bulk discount if we all buy the jumperoos together leh? The only problem of buying in bulk is the delivery/collection point. Anyone knows how much is the Cheng Choon store selling for the jumperoo?

Its been such a long time since I last posted...so many posts to catch up with. Seems like everyone is enjoying motherhood . Managed to get some breathing space now that Elijah is turning 3 1/2 months old. He drinks less frequently now which gives me more free time to do my personal stuff like checking emails, checking out this forum . I am almost 100% direct latching. Just to share a couple of recent pics of my boy
1292218.jpg
1292219.jpg

Hi Erika,

yr boy has such stylo hairstyle lei.. i like the pic on the right. So cute. Dont you tink he looked like a korean baby?

HI Pig07,

Thanks...actually he had alot of hair when he was born, then by 2 months, alot dropped, and this is whats left, we didnt cut or shave...actually looks kinda funny haha.
Yeah, some people commented he looked like a korean baby...maybe cos my husband looks a little korean too probably

Erika, long time no see
wow ur boy boy also looks 'powerful'.

K@ye, cheong choon selling $225. there is someone selling $215, so far is the cheapest i cn find

re: hair drop

haha... i thk by now most bb and mommies hair start to drop liao... my bb oso getting botak patches liao. will shave her this weekend; no choice... MIL oredi asked me the XXXth times liao...

catherine,
everytime i wash my hair, i oso wana cry... during pregnancy my hair so healthy; din even drop much... now different story; even thot of cutting it much shorter!

My girl was born 25 Nov, am interested to join this thread. Here's a pic of her on tummy. Btw wats some of the feeding schedule for ur 3-mth old now?
1292446.jpg

k@ye, there's an Australian product called Gaia. It was developed by a mother for her son who has eczema. It's sold at Guardian. I recently bought the baby bath & body wash and the skin soothing lotion. It's pretty good & has organic ingredients in it. You might want to give little Claire a try.

hi mrs tan,

welcome! ur bb gal got strong neck!

wish my gal can do the same... she's 12 days older than your gal and still 'bo lat' to raise her head.

K@ye,
can go taka bb fair to get the Gaia products jules intro. now got sales...

Hey poissons, your son is so charming. Sure heart breaker when he grows up. I'll have to figure out how to upload my daughter's photo. Failed a few times cos image file too huge.

Queenaire, i think they should have u can call and check. but anyway KP also sell a few walkers.

welcome Mrs Tan.

Jules, any significant improvement aft using GAIA products? Cos my son has very senstitive skin, but PD didnt diagnose as eczema. i feel like giving it a try.

Plumsource
2nd time when i went to the toilet to change the nappy. There is this cleaning lady. So she trying to be nice nd play or pacify him while i am packing my stuff and suddnly i turn around i saw she using light to shine into my boy'seye. I really feel like &*%^ but i keep my cool and said don't shine into his eyes nicely. 2nd time she does that and i am abt to go. So i just pick my bb and leave. I knwo she trying to be nice but... Hiaz really feel like snapping at her. Ya, just like i duno what my bb wants when the lady told me. But my boy only loves to carry facing the front not the back. That why some pp are just trying to be nice but they don't know how we feel.....

I don't see any GAIA products at the baby fair. Where is it?

Joseph's just started having a runny nose. When he breathes, I can hear the mucus in his nose. Anyone had this problem and knows what to do?Should i take him to Dr?

kittybride and yoko, there is no booth for gaia pdts at taka baby fair, i had posted earlier that the gaia products will be having a booth and discounts up to 25% off at coming mother and baby fair from 21 to 23rd at expo. so if you want to get the gaia pdts at a discount, i think the mother & baby fair will be worth getting from.

dreamer@hk, i usually drip one or 2 drops of the gaia baby bath into the water. It can be used as no-rinse. HTH,

Twiggy, bring Joseph to the Dr and the Dr will give u a nasal spray to clear his nose. And i think Joseph will feel better... That time, Claire also breaths like Darth Vader and can't sleep, i bought her to the PD too.

Jules & Kitty, thanks for the info. Currently, I m using Jason's Earth Best organic cream for Claire's eczema. My Mum commented that she is an expensive baby coz her skin reacts very well to this L'occitane Mom & Baby balm that i got for her.

Actually, I m not so worried about her eczema as its common among babies and she will grow out of it when she gets older. What pains me is seeing her being bothered by the itchiness... And the stupid thing is my in laws & hubby instead of being understanding... Kept on giving me dumb excuses and reasons for her eczema.

Just something to share, if any babies got real sensitive skin. Olive oil is very good and also can bath the baby in bittergourd water. Ie boiled those dried bittergourd with water, or used bittergourd vines

erika, your babe is huge! little sumo!

S@L, I am kind of interested. u want to organise any bulk purchase?

plumsource, glad to hear clarification on Mongolian bruises. My baby brayden has it on the back,and arms. My mum also claims that I did something wrong when I was pregnant.

yoko, i need to get a maid. u have any lobang?

K@ye, I have some articles on eczema, I will forward to you later.

erika,

You boy's hair really stylo. Heh heh.

Re: Jumperoo
I let my boy tried on it. He doesn't like it. Cry immediately when we "hands off" him. Haha..

Re: Walker
I intend to get a walker too. Actually had try him on.. and he was so happy in it. So tempted to buy on the spot hearing his laughter. But the sales person say better to start when baby is 6 months old.

Now I wanted to look for a high chair, intend to start feeding him when he reach 5 months.
Do we need to buy any books to read up? Really dunno how to go abt starting.

thanks linda!

k, tomorrow i will start using the gaia baby bath on kaira!

k@ye, juz to share with u .... kaira has very mild eczema and my PD in hkg gave us this emollient cream to use for bathing (rather than using the baby baths available in the mkt).... and i muz say, it is really moisturing and also immediately, can see improvement! not sure if PDs in sg prescribe those...juz that it has no "scent" ..so bathe liao...like no bathe ...lolol ... tatz y now i want to add some baby bath ;)

dreamer@hk, the emollient u mentioned is Oilutum. Can be found in Guardian. I was prescribed that too when I was in UK. U just add a few drops to the baby bath and it will make the water 'soft' not 'hard'. It wil also coat the baby's skin. Another product I used K@YE, is 50/50. Have you heard of that? It is 50%white parafin and 50% something else (i think its another parafin or wax) I was prescribed that from the Children Hospital in London. It isn't harmful and is basically thicker than vaseline. I was told by the PD to cover my baby in this greasy ointment from head to toe. This way his skin won't dry out or get exposed to any irritating chemicals. I also took him off cow's milk and he had soya milk for 1yr and use non biological laundry liquid for him.
He recovered after 1yr of 'treatment'.

His, was severe eczema, open blisters, cracks, sores, and itchy itchy skin...very heart pain to see them cry in pain all the time. Now, his skin is fine. AND there is no sign of any eczema on him!!
So, don't worry, babies can outgrow this skin disease, you just have to work hard on keeping up with the routine.

Hi- i've a question to ask. Is immunisation compulsory in Singapore or it is the parents' choice? We live abroad so I've no clue. Thanks

Dokie, i am trying to work out with the mummy if i can collate more orders to enjoy discount.

Maybe those of you who are keen can list down here so tt i know how much to bargain:

For Nov 07 mummies ONLY:
interested in jumperoo
1)S@L
2)Dokie

dokie,
my boy shaved his hair near holland market. very cheap and good. she even keep all my boy's hair into a red packet and ask me to keep it for "heng heng".