(2007/11) November MTBs

RE : Swimming
Seems like a lot of babies love swimming! I'm thinking to teach my baby swimming too but wondering if I can just do it myself? Anyone tried that?

RE : Cleaning mouth
May mum said I should use a cloth to clean the inside of baby's mouth. Are we suppose to clean their mouths? If so, how and how often?

RE: Cats in the house
I'm so pissed off with my two cats. One of them keeps pissing on the carpet, which is bad enouhg but yesterday someone pissed on baby's playmat. Really annoyed. It's so troublesome having pets when you have a baby. I use to adore the cats but now I'm just annoyed with them. :p No wonder my cats are jealous of baby.

RE : Turning over
My baby is now 16 weeks old and shows no sign of wanting to turn over. How??? He hates tummy time and cries everytime I put him on belly. Should I just put him on belly and let him wail?

Twiggy,
Don't force him if he hate it. It may be because he is not ready yet. My nephew turn when he is 7 months old. Don't worry too much, Re every baby R different. Don't u feel heart pain when he wail?

twiggy,

turning over:

my boy also show no sign of turning over but i am not worry cos i know one day he will turn, some turn at 3 mth, some at 4 mth some at 4.5 mth. some bb wail when on tummy time, it is quite normal, read a book and it said just like weight lifter needs to make noise to lift up heavy weight, so in order to push himself up, they will wail and cry, just lie down and distract him with his favourite toy or sing a loud song, slowly he will get used to it and start smiling :)

cleaning gum:

since birth, everyday we clean him gum and tongue, my mum said worry he gets milk residue leftover on his tongue and becomes whitish, for me, I do that becos i wanted him to get used to cleaning his mouth so that next time when i start to brush his teeth, he will not reject and refused to open his mouth or bite my finger :)

swimming:

all babies are born swimmer, no need to teach, went to punggol plaza today and the min i put my bb down in the tub, he is quite ok and started to kick and push against the tub and he went in circle. saw a 6,7 mth bb crying and according to the guy there, he said becos the mum took him swimming too late and he is not comfortable liao, should bring him earlier cos they still remember the feeling of swimming in our womb and should not be crying. Punggol plaza charges $25 per session and he mentioned that harbour front one might charge $30 but those package signed at punggol plaza can be used in harbourfront, so i signed up cos i stayed in the west and harbourfront is nearer :)

helloo happy! I am sooo tempted!

And haha i also want to sign up for harbour front one cause it's nearer to me as i also stay in west. Can i ask if it's open already? where's the maritime plaza? haha.

Hi Twiggy

Re: Cleanin Gum/Tongue
I understand we have to clean the tongue so that the baby wont reject milk as milk residue on tongue will affect their appetite. But i also read that cleaning the tongue of the residue is for momentary effect only. the next round one will find thicker milk residual. So the cleaning has to go on and on.

As for gum cleaning, is it time for us for us start using the 'First teeth' thingy already? I thought so lei.

Re: Cleaning Mouth
I did not do this at all till my baby was 3 months. Now I do it twice a day before I bathe him. I wet some sterile gauze to clean his eyes and his face before turning it inside out to clean his mouth. Ethan really likes it. I also think that its a good habit to inculcate in preparation for teeth brushing.

Re: turning over
My boy was able to flip over when he was 3 months old. Before that, he really hated tummy time and his head control was really poor. So I instructed my MIL/dad/husband to put him on his tummy for 10 minutes at least each day and now my PD has commented that his head control is very good. He still gets put on his tummy everyday but he is less resistant to it. Am able to put him on his tummy for 15-20minutes now before he get tired.

I got a "tummy time" cushion for Ethan. That helped alot in getting him used to being on his tummy.
1288978.jpg

queenaire,
as adviced by a few friends, they told me that the portion of milk powder i added in might b a bit too thick. so i try to add lesser and now he can fin 100ml to 120ml compared to last time he only drink 60ml. (last time i used to add 3 scoops of FM into 90ml water, but now i add 3 scoops of FM into 120ml water) so far i find it work, u may want to try it too.

Twiggy, my baby still hates tummy times. Sigh! I donno how . But he is showing signs that he wants to turn.
I am not so worried about learning how to turn because my elder boy only turns at 5.5 months because he was big and heavy

My main worry is tummy times. How to train? He really hates it.
where to buy tummy times cushion?

rast, where did u shave? normal salon? I am thinking of bringing my baby to united square children salon to shave. that would cost me $15

I am so upset. trying to train my elder son to be diaper free at night. He pee until the whole mattress. He refused to go toilet before bed to prevent accident.
I am really going insane training him. haiz...
I wonder how many mattress I have to throw away.
any mummies has any advice?

S@l, i was thinking of renting the jumperoo too but its also like quite troublesome coz i have to pay for the delivery charges too.

I also dunno how long can Claire outlast the toy. My hubby commented that we should buy it and then rent to others to get our portion of our $$ back.

Happy, really ah... Then i must bring Claire there for her maiden swim soon... If not, she will scream the next time i try to bring her to a pool!

Re: cleaning the mouth
I din clean Claire's mouth but my confinement lady did and Claire will protest when she cleans her mouth. But, i do know that those milk residues on the tongue, better not to clean using a cloth but to clear them by feeding the baby water.

Re: Tummy Time
Like most babies here, Claire hates that. So, what i did was to actually put her on my body. That she is not so resistant to it. Guess what, when she is on my body, she can actually lift her head high up as compared when i put her on the mattress.

I guess hor, we Mummies dun have to worry too much. The time for them to do flipping etcc is up to them... What we can do is to encourage.

K@ye,

agree wif you on tummy time. bb chloe is still struggling with tummy time and won't last for 5 mins and she'll start to wail... and she has yet to show signs of wanting to turn, i have to turn her over myself to let her get used to it.

me oso tempted to get chloe for the swim but punggol plaza is oh so far... any1 knows when harbour front branch opens?

Re: mouth cleaning.
yup, my CL also clean bb's mouth during the 1st month but thereafter, lazy mommy only did it once a week and now she dislike it to bits! my current nanny also uses the 'feed water will do' method.

cindy,

you need to go punggol plaza, signed up there, then the card (4 times + 1 time free)can be used in harbourfront centre when it is open end of March, but if you sign up at harbourfront then i dunno how much will they charge you, mostly likely $30 instead of $25. Better to let your bb try out first before sign up cos some bb very tense up and kept crying lor.

dokie, how old is your son now? my son was toilet trained within 1 week at 3yrs old. According to the teachers in his Childcare centre, they will only successfully be toilet trained when they are ready and can hold their bowels/ wake up to go toilet.I tried to toilet train him when he was abt 2yrs old but failed. He will surely wet the bed at night. So i still let him wear diapers at night, daytime will be jus underwear.

Then at 2.5yrs old he was really ready as his diapers were dry throughout the night and he will go to the toilet first thing in the morning.then 1 week later i stop using diapers on him totally. I personally feel that toilet training is less stressful for the toddler and parents when they are truly ready for it. hence i dun believe in toilet training from 3mths. So u might wan to take it slowly and dun reprimand him if he does wet his bed. Otherwise it might backfire.

Re: haircut,
ya i agree if wan to shave totally, dun need to go baby salon..too exp..unless u wan to give him a nice haircut then ok.

k@ye,one of the toy rental website dun charge delivery if rental fees is over $30. A jumperoo rental is ard $40, so no need to pay delivery charge. I dun think i will rent, cos no worth if i intend to buy in the end. I will prob buy instead and sell it away when Mischa outgrows it.

Agree with u regards to tummy time etc...actually really no need to panic , compare with other bb's milestones or worry at all. every bb learns at their own pace.when i had my son, I nvr even gave him ANY tummy time at all. he started to flip at 4mths!

some mummies here said the float costs $35 and if sign up VIP card ( package) is $30 but i overheard the guy there mentioned it is $30 if sign up card is $28, so be informed and beware, think they dun really have a standard price, cos when he told the guy infront of me the price of the float, his eyes is looking around ( like kinda of worry, ppl heard the price that he quoted) maybe some of you might wanna negotiate to $25 with him if you really wanna buy ;-) who knows he might give that price to you ha ha ha

btw, sgmambobaby might start a 2nd BP, ( i contacted her cos wanted to buy the tub and float, but lookin at the amt of water, i think forget it), she does not have BP now for the float but quoted me $25.90 if i dun want to wait for BP.

Ergo carrier:

went to mummysmilk to get the ergo carrier, tried it on and so much better than my current baby bjorn air. bb bjorn on my shoulder hurts but ergo is so much better and i got the hawaiian print :)

S@l, i also want to buy the jumperoo but i m worried that it might become a white elephant like the Bumbo seat... On 2nd tots, when i saw Claire jumping up & down in the jumperoo... I felt so tempted to buy!

Happy, agreed with u that the Babybjorn air is no good on the shoulders. That's y i m tempted to get the BECO carrier (the one that S@l recommended) but my hubby dun let me buy.

Re: Hair Shaving
Can just go to any hair salon that has shaved babies' hair before. Claire got her hair shaved for $6 at a hair salon near my Mum's place.

RE : Cleaning mouth
Eeeks! Blur mummy me has never cleaned his mouth. Didn't know I was suppose to. Ok, will start doing so. Thanks for all the advise.

RE: Tummy time and turning over
I thought they were suppose to be showing signs of turning now. Good to know that there's no hurry. I thought it was because I don't give him emough tummy time. But now he hates tummy time which is important for them to learn pyschomotor skills.

RE : Hiring maid
I'm interviwing a potential maid this afternoon. Any of you know what sort of questions I should be asking? Also, I know a maid who is looking for employer. She already has work permit so what do I need to do if I want to hire her?

happy:: but woah! punggol plaza so far ley hahaha. hmm okokay maybe i go this wkend or something hahaha! or maybe i wait till HF outlet opens.
thank you sooo much!!

mummies, do your babes cry during car rides? aiyo...mine, suddenly like don't like to take car rides....when younger, no problem. these 2 days, she will wail and wail in the car...very jialat.

i used to take her on the bus, taxi in hong kong also no problem...come back to sg...take car....gave me a earful this little kaira.

any tips ??

seashell, went to united square liao. cost me $18..phew! kind of silly but my hubby feels safer.

S@L, he was potty trained at 22th months, 26th months for poo and now 3 years old , I thought it is time to start training him to be diaper free during sleeping time. I don know why I am so anxious. He can hold if I make him pee before bed but sometimes he refuses to do so.
May be I should reconsider training him now.

I brought baby brayden for jab today. I told PD about his weakness in lifting his head up. PD tested him and commented he is alright. I just need to hold his hands down during tummy times. He said he tends to lift up his hands and buttock at tummy times and this is the cause of him unable to lift up his head. I feel relieved hearing him.

what is jumperoo?

Langlao, thanks for advice on uploading photo. Will try again cos I'm using my husband's Mac and not used to it

Re: Cleaning Mouth
I usually do this before bath time daily. It's sort of a routine when I tell her to open her mouth, she seems to know that mommy is going to clean her gums and tongue. I normally use the corner of her small face towel & wrap it around my index. Lately, she's been biting my fingers whenever I clean her mouth.

There's a product called Spiffies Baby Tooth Wipes, which is naturally sweetened with Xylitol (not sure what this is though). It's designed for use on infants over 4 months. Comes in a small foil pack. Think it's available at Guardian. Can check it out if interested.

mysteriousm, ha, ha.. It's going to messier
I bought the Heinz bottle puree too - the vegetables type like parsnip, carrot, pumpkin. Suitable for 4 to 6 months. They have organic ones but cost 2 times more.

Hi Poissons,

Garreth is so handsome lei. A charmer.

I brought Kiros to the PD last saturday for his vaccine. he weighs 7.6kg and length at 66.5cm.

LOSING WEIGHT

any of you attempted to lose weight after pregnancy and has successful stories to share? Care to share the 'secret'?

I am already back to my pre-pregnancy weight but am still Not satisfied with the present weight.

By the way, do you all have the sagging skin/flesh just above the abdomen area (below breast area) I keep consloing myself that it will go away. And i really hope it will.

poissons:: garreth is sooo cuteee!! i looove him!

and tinkabel:: hahaha i loove the second pict of him. YUMMY!!

pig:: m ore picts of kiro ley! i miss him! hahaha and good for you lah! i haven't gone back to prepreg weight yet! always got 1 to 2 kg more! some of my old pants, can fit, some can't. sian!!! and hahaha i also got a flabby pc but mine is like FlABBY tummy. i don't think it'll go away. -.-""

here's my monster. getting more and more monstrous as the days go by. Well, what can i say! He has already learnt how to flip 2 wks ago and since then, each time u put him down, HE FLIPPED over before you know it! esp the after bath time. haven't finished putting powder, he flip over liao! GRrr..
1290784.jpg

1290785.jpg

kaye,pig07,cindy,
thanks for the compliments! my boy is also a monster..last night woke up at 3am to "sing song" then went back to sleep, 7am also did the same thing then drifted back to sleep..really can faint. My mum said they will develop new "pattern" every month, I do hope that their patterns will be better each month and not otherwise.. =P

elaine:: hahaha i used adobe photoshop to combine the photos first. 4 photos combined into 1 file.

poissons:: haha that's whatmy MIL say too! she says each month is different. Sigh. hahaha but time flies so fasttt!

poissons:
Mine's no better. This morning finally slept thru and only start making some noises at 6am. Then after a few mins, he quieten down. Then I thot he so guai, go back to sleep himself. Guess wat, he was sucking his fist. I pulled it out and then put the pacifier for him. He actually use his hand to pull of the pacifier and suck his fist again. Happened for 3 times until finally decided to take the pacifier and go back to sleep. Gosh...I was so shocked that he already know how to pull off his pacifier.

K@ye/Seashell, actually a good carrier like Ergo or BECO or its equivelant really makes alot of diff.Although i still love my bb bjorn synergy alot, but the beco is a good investment for me cos hubby likes to go outdoor trips and will be a life-saver for us. when my son was too heavy to be carried, refuse the pram and dun wan to walk at ard 3yrs old, my pooor hubby had to carry him. and i tot Ergo was ugly and expensive then, so we got a metal structured carrier for such trips. now my son at 18kg, hubby tried carrying him with the beco and he felt like a feather! ahhaha...so it really can last long, i think is very worth it.

Dokie, jumperoo is this:

1290929.jpg

Jules, i bought Spiffies for my son last time. but he dun like...in the end wasted the whole box as only used 1 pc. I tasted it and it has a weird sweetness...i think using gauze or hanky is much better.

tinkabel,
haha..mine also know how to pull out the paci, sometimes spotted him playing his paci with his tongue and quickly suck it back, to and fro, to and fro, a couple of times. Then when we carry him (his head near our shoulder), he will prop himself on our shoulder and start feasting on his fist until our tees are wet...sigh..

Hi Cindy,

My camera is not working. no recent pic liao lei. got to wait for hubby to bring for repair.

Though back to pre-pregnancy weight, i am stil not satisfied. i think my milk supply is getting lesser and lesser. once kiros turned 4 month, he should be on full FM. by then i will start to take slimmng pills. Now waiting to hear if any mummies had started on tat and has successful stories to share. and if any good brands to recommend.

Jules,
Haha..so fast want to match-make? Ok lah..let's bring them out together one day and see if there's any "interest"..haha..but first must see your gal's pic la..*grin*

Hi Twiggy,

you mean the potential maid is a 'returned' maid by someone? else how come she has work permit? sorry ah, i am not so good in this aspect.

when i interviewed my maid, i asked her about her family. if she has kids there. if yes, who is helping her with the kids (jus to make sure she can work with peace of mind here that her kids has someone to take care). How old are her kids? what's her hubby working as? salary enough to sustain the family while she has no salary for the first few months in singapore?

if single,asked her about her parents. if her parents are working or what. as the same thing apply that she has no salary for the first few months.

Asked her if she worked before? and as what? what are her experiences?

let her know it's not like sleep at 8pm, wake up at 6am that kind. she has to be on her toes when needed..

Qns like off day. as i dont give off day to my maid, i reimburse her with additional $20. make sure she understands that she has no off day. and that if i allow her to go out on xmas or good friday, tat is 'bonus' to her. not her entitlement.

paiseh ah, i may be a bit over when doing my interview. but hor, is bo bian one. else if too nice to maids, they will take things for granted.

Wow, it seems like a long long time since my last post.

Jordan just went for an Hernia operation and back on sat. During the stay, i am so tired cos can't sleep well. But at least it was a gd stay and really spend my time with him withouth the help of my maid. Is really tiring.

At last, today I can finally settle down and get things done.

Plumsource, shopping for 3 hrs become 1 hr.. hahahaha..... Now i think i can handle so much better. After u left, he gets cranky again cos he is hungry. So I went to the nursery room. But i realise tat i left my milk powder in the nursery room on 3rd floor. Oh no, I am so panic. He is screaming his head off. So there are some balance 2 hrs ago, I just mix with some hot water in order to pacify and calm him down. Then I go up to pick up the powder.... Hahahaha. Blur and sotong mummy. I decide to get another stroller. My stroller seems to be so gigiantic. Even he is very comfortable in it. But I dun tin that i can carry him and push the bulky stroller all by myself. I find that I look like a clown. After his experience with his blur mummy, I think next time he will not have too high expectation of me. hahaha.

happy, Hope that u are coping well without a maid. Today, have been calling MOM for updates of yr status cos till now no status and response from them. They deserve to be !*#@. Hopefully there will be good news.

pig:: how u know your supply getting less and less? haha you pumped less and less or you always feel tender and soft? hhehe how many feeds of FM is kiros taking now? i find that travis takes very little from btl FM, only like 120mL to 140 or sometimes even lesser. the rest of the times are latching... he is currently taking 2 FM feeds but next wk onwards i will give him 3FM and hopefully continue to latch for the other 3 feeds at night, if milk ss don't drop. i also want to slim down! now still left like 2 kg and FLABBY tummy. sighs. let me know and share share too if u manage to succeed k!

Morn ladies,

Hehe, Claire also sing song in the middle of the nite and she can sing herself to sleep. Ya, she also knows how to pull out her pacifier and sometimes can successfully put it back into her mouth!

I think i will get the jumperoo soon. Claire likes to "jump" up and down when we put her sitting on our thighs!

Re: Losing Weight
I had gone back to my pre-pregnancy weight but my tummy has became more flabby and the pelvis area has expanded. Nothing much can be done abt the pelvis area... Just keep my fingers crossed that I can lose those flabs!