(2007/11) November MTBs

re: Pigeon teether
i also got the same one for my daughter, however, just yesterday, while i left her to play with it, when i turned around to check on her (1-2 mins later), i saw some blood on her nose... i was so shocked, quickly use tissue to wipe it off (and take away the teether) and noticed there's a small cut there... hmm, i quickly felt the teether if there's any sharp ends but no leh, all the edges dun feel sharp at all! sigh, now must be more careful when letting her play with it... last night i see the scar still there
but healing...

do your babies still sleep alot during daytime? when I look after my boy over the wkend, realised that he only nap half an hour..only like about twice in the day and then he will knock out at 7-8ish. Can't do much stuff during the wkend cos' he's always awake..sigh.

poissons,
my gal quite different from ur boy leh... during daytime, after morning shower and feed, she will zonk off for 30mins or up to 2+hrs... in the afternoon, same thing, she can sleep and wake up in intervals of 30mins or sometimes can sleep for 2-3 hrs... towards the evening, she will be a little awake, but after taking her evening feed, ard 7pm, she may play for a little while but always fussing after that cos she wans to sleep, but she doesn't sleep long either! longer if someone is carrying her, otherwise, 15-30mins nap only, then she's up again! only after her last feed at ard 10pm then i can make her sleep till next day...

yeah, i understand it's kinda difficult to do ur stuff during wkend if he's always awake... why not rotate with ur hb... so u get ur own free time on wkends as well? ;)

pig and poissons:: haha thanks for the info on the pearl powder! my MIL has the same comments as what poisson said! but well, it's up to individual but i think i too will get some to try. Everything in moderation shuold be okay la. ahaha

poissons:: maybe garreth wants to play with you lah!! my boy naps for 3.5 to 4 hrs during the day time, each time about 30min to 1.5hrs. after his 6pm feed, about 7plus 8 he wants to zzz already, and he gets really FUSSY if he can't sleep. Although i know he is not hungry, i just latch him on to zzz around 8 hahaha. Then i wake him again about 1030 to eat. BUT he'll still wake up once in the midnight!! sian!!!

poissons:
Matt's like that too. Sleeps abt 30 mins to 1 hr each time for max 3 times a day. And then knocks out ard 7-8pm. He's down with running nose and cough these 2 days. Knocks out at 5-6pm and sleeps until next morning 7-8am, except for the feeds i wake him up. Very sad, brought him to an angmo PD here, she nvr gave medicine, just asked me to use BM to apply to his nose and he shd build up enuf anti-bodies with my BM. Sigh.. His growth kinda slowed down. He's 6.385kg and 62 cm as compared to 6.07kg and 60 cm 3 weeks ago. But he's eating and sleeping well, maybe he's burning more fats trying to keep warm.

gosh i'm soo sleepy today, Eliza woke up almost every hour last night, not really for milk but i did eventually feed her at 6am. anyway do you babies wake up in the middle of the night not for milk? i don't think it's the need for pacifier though cos i'll swaddle her and she'll fall asleep..otherwise she'll be kicking and waving her arms about. or maybe i should just feed her just to get her to sleep.

i'm dropping lots of hair too! it's all over the house!

poissons:
did garreth take the 6-in-1 or 5-in-1? I am trying to follow up on his jabs in SH and finally understood what's the diff. Poor matt got to suffer more shots cos he's on a 5-in-1. but thot it's standard as the nurse makes the appt for us. Me blur mummy. thot just follow booklet can already

Hi twiggy,
I am still bf-ing. my mense came full force in february.

Hi plim,
guess we all must watch out since many of us using tat same make of teether.

Pearl powder
ya. i guess i will try a bit then. moderation. maybe alternate days iso daily.

hi poissons,
kiros sleeps like 30-45min in the day each time. each time he wakes up, it can last him 1-1.5hr before he requires his next beauty sleep. its no more like last time when he can sleep for 1-2hours. night sleep will be at 9plus which used to be 7plus.

hi tinkabel,
kiros taking his 6 in 1. 3 jabs at pd. going for his second one soon. if we had chosen polyclinic in first place, tat means he has to undergo 5 jabs.

Twiggy,
my menses juz came, end Feb even though I have stopped BF by end Dec, took me almost 2 mths. And there were still some trickles of milk yesterday after stopping for so long!

Re: Mums returning to work
How are u coping? I feel its hard to focus, and worse when all things seem to be happening and need my attention. It has been a mth since I return to workforce but I still feel mentally "elsewhere" at times. And memory loss continues..

lazykat
Yes, i agree with you. Now working is really taking it one day at a time. Not so much of career anymore, no ambitions and only for the sake of income. While at work, keep looking fwd to hols and weekends.

plim,
haha..maybe we shld swop babies for a change! my hubby has to work on most Sats, so I have to look after garreth myself. it's my mum's "off day" too, so I dun wanna trouble her. It's only when he sleeps that I can change bedsheets, surf net, read newspapers, etc..when he's awake, I have to entertain him though i can still leave him in his bouncy chair and play gym for abt 30mins each. Nowadays must keep a look out on him, cos' he like his fists too much, sometimes he attempt to put both into his mouth and then will hear him wanna puke, that silly boy. he doesn't seem to like the teether I bought him too. Sigh..

Cindy,
Good for you, travis still sleeps alot in the day. For the past 2 weeks, garreth will have last feed at 7ish and then 11pm I will wake him up for the dream feed. That will only last him till 5.30am..and not later, wonder when he will be able to sleep thru' leh..

welcome annietoh,
wow ur baby is big leh. 9kg!!!

michviv,
u can pump 300ml each time! how many times do u pump in the ofc & how many times at home? my milk ss has also decreased. tot i could increase it when i increase my pumping session at work but not much improvement. so now i try to latch baby when i'm with him. can see improvement only if i do latch.

langlao3,
ur baby cab flip over & back ah? then u gotta watch over him carefully. baby jovan can only flip over from his right side & enjoy his tummy time. when he gets bored on his tummy, he doesnt know to flip back & cries for help. hahah. btw, how much did u pay for the 18mm bumper mat? wat design & u got from where? sorry many qns coz i still thinking whether it's worthwhile to invest in a bumper mat.

Joey,
u can checkout this website to see if there's any nursing room near ur workplace
http://www.parentingjoy.com/nursingrooms.htm
i also wan to get bumbo chair for baby Jovan. do u think $40 for a second hand lime green one is a good deal?

pig07,
i'm also experiencing hair loss. somemore jovan likes to pull my hair now. *ouch* can see my long hair all over the house. thinking of cutting it real short (maybe bob cut). now my hair is almost waist-length.

thanks summer

twiggy,
i am also bfing. my mensese came in jan. feb i even had 10 days of P. first day of CNY till 10th day!

had a nice weekend??
i bought the teether for my boy too..
he also seems to prefer his fist...
i was thinking maybe the teether is not chucky enuff or rubber dun taste as good as his flesh..hehe

Sstarlight,
ya i got my BECO on sat! i like it but thinking of buying the Butterfly mode instead cos mine is 4th gen. u keen to take over mine? i feel the weight distribution is better than bb bjorn. can hold bb weight much longer and dun feel much weight on the shoulders.

if u keen, PM/email me to discuss.

hi catherine,

i bought the 15mm bumpermat, i tink its quite good leh..
felt quite comfy...
alien says her next bp coming soon, so i will prob be getting 1 more but smaller and thinner to put at the nanny's place..

like u i oso wondering if its worth getting a 2nd hand bumbo at $40 leh..
i heard some bb do not like and will outgrow quite fast...

S@l, i saw you & your family at Coffee Club in Taka last Sat (Mischa easily recognised). I wanted to go over and say hi to you but seeing too many ppl ard... Scared i might be too intrusive...

ZZZ, the Bumbo seat is quite good. Claire will sit for a while but after that, no entertainment, she will go "air air"... That means time to get her out of it. I admit, this seat is good for feeding babies.

K@ye , REALLY?! aiyo why didnt u cm over?
i was with my pri sch mate! hahha...too bad i nvr seen u before so didnt recognise u
so cute u can recognise Mischa....hahaha....

zzz,
do you have the link to alien's bp? am thinking of getting a bumper mat too, provided the $ is reasonable, also hv to find a 'place' to park the mat if not using...

plim...wonder if u saw mine...it was lying on the floor ahhhaa...i usually fold and chuck under my TV console....cos no room to spread it out.

i got mine from SSW at $119 if u like tt design la. cos Alien's bp dun hv tt design. I think Alien starting BP tomorrow, she say will put up the link (u read Dec thread

Hi S@L,

Thanks. I am more interested in the butterfly series. So fast u wanna sell away ah. U just bought it only. Just wanan get feedback if its as good as ergo. Cos I used ergo before and the weight distribution is very good.

S@L, aiyah, no leh, din see urs... mayb next time when i go over ur place again will check it out... really thinking hard to buy or not cos if i buy really need to utilise it, utilise will mean need to spread it on the floor, otherwise if roll up, end up might not use it... but if put on the floor, scared my elder gal will go stepping on it, also need to find a place... arrggghhhh! so dilemma... haha...

Cindy i had add u to my msn. Your son R really cute. I had a bumbo too. My MIL didn't like it cause my son thigh always get stuck when we place him in. I will try to post his pictures later. My son will be going to the Indian temple at River Vallery this coming sat to shave his hair.

Hi Cindy,

I am not on total bf-ing. on EBM and FM. all the while from 2nd month onward. And my mense came end feb. Sigh, miss those days when i was pregnant and no mense.. haha..

Dear Mums, good noon to you all!I came in to seek help, upon my friend, Sophia's suggestion. She is an avid member here and has actually help me seek successful help from here before and thus, here i am myself!

Allow me to intro abt myself..
I am Yiping, a postgraduate student in NUS..I am currently doing a research looking for a particular type of cells in breast milk.

This is my thesis for my Ph D actually and I am trying to culture cells found in breast milk and identify this group of cells. If our hypothesis is proven true, it might open a potential use of
breastmilk and its benefits for the breastfed infant might thus be more than what is already known.

With that note, I would like to seek your help to participate in this study by donating about 30 to 50ml of breastmilk (an amount that you are
comfortable with, at a frequency that you are confortable with) and I can go collect from you at your place when you are convenient. As I am using the cellular component, I would actually require fresh breastmilk (of not more than half a day old) for study and as freezing is detrimental for the cells, the milk should be kept at room temperature or at best 4deg such that they arent frozen, upon which cells that I am interested in would most likely be lysed.

Please feel free to contact me at 93826595, or email me at [email protected] if u have any queries. Hope you would be willing to help and hope to hear from
you soon. I would appreciate to start milk collection as soon as possible, with immediate effect, actually.

Hope to hear from you all soon!

P/S: i have been doing this for the last 3 years and there are promising results presented in various symposiums/ conferences and also published in a peer-reviewed journal..Study has also been approved by a local hospital's ethical review board.. So, neednt worry tt its weird study or wat, k....

Really hope to hear from you especially if you are able to express more than your baby's demand!! And u aint committed or obliged to help me for very long... that is to say, you can stop anytime you want.. If you have questions, please drop a line too! I will try my best to help!

my son resist milk. everytime cry and struggle when he sees the bottle. he is taking only 200-300 ml a day only

Normal at this stage?

Hi Queenaire,

Is your son putting on weight? passing motion and urine frequency? How long has he been like this? could it be the teat hole size? Gotta monitor and ensure that he has sufficient water to prevent dehydration.

plim,

ya the bp not started yet, she say she will send me the link when it's up...
let u know again...
i tink its nice, quite comfy, juz tat quite heavy when need to bring it out and then keep it later...

btw, my boy's hair was not shaven well during his first month.
i am also thinking of shaving him again on his 4th month leh..
anyone know where can i go to give him a good and clean shave??

Pig07,

i think his wt more or less stays at what he was 3 weeks ago when he starts resisting milk. I have tried everything that I could think of..
- checked his pee projects
- switch between enfalac and similac
- switch between Nuk medium flow to pigeon prehis. teat
- tried given him glucose water, also same reaction
- dun think is sore throat cos he still talk rubbish very loudly and smiling away when we play with him
- dun think he is not feeling well cos he can smile sweetly the moment I take away the milk bottle

sigh..

pig:: hahaha! then u more lucky than me le. that time i only supplement one feed with FM and like 6 wks after lochia ended, M came! omg. sian. I also miss THOSE days no need to wear pad. hahah!!

queen:: did you go see PD? What FM was your little one taking previously? and all was well? How's his timing for feeds like? I think it's too little for him at this age alraedy... Maybe you wanna go consult your PD?

annie:: you sure ma? i don't see any prompting ley. u sure u added correctly? hahaha [email protected] or yu gimme your msn and i add you!

Hi mommies, I got my LG Prime Hello Kitty bumper mat from www.babejoy.com. Can check out website if interested. They offer free delivery too. It's 11 mm thick. Good enough I suppose.

hi catherine

i bought the bob the builder bumper mat @$310. Ashlee will flip to the right and while on tummy flip again towards right till she's at the other end of the mat. I feel 18mm is good as when she flip back her head will hit the flr quite hard.

contacted alien, can only get the mat mid to end march if join her new BP. Chinatown has yellow bear in stock so I just order over the phone this evening n they will deliver to me tonight

Hi mummies, for any of you who want to shave your babies' heads when they are 4 months old, can try the kids hairdresser at Suntec 3rd floor, next to Spring maternity.

Brought my boy to have his head shaved yesterday. (He's going to be 4 months in a weeks time so I jumped the gun, haha)I must admit that the lady there did a good job of getting a nice clean shave considering my son has a bump on his head still from the vacuum suction. *oops!* All shavers and brushes are sterilized before use and Ethan didn't cry at all! All in all, a good experience and I think we'll go back again. =)

Will be bringing Ethan for his 2nd jab tomorrow. Hope he does not get feverish. Wish us luck!

My milk supply is also back up. Yay! Must be getting used to the stress at work. heh.

Hi Queenaire,
my boy also drink not much, everytime i need to force him to fin 80-90ml. same as u, i'm so worry of my boy, and his weigh gain is very slow too. cos he dun drink much, so i feed him 7 times a day, what about u?

Hi Catherine, I latch Ethan on at 6.30am before I go to work. When I'm at work, I pump 2 times a day. Once around 10-11am plus and the other at 3-4pm. I find that drinking a hot drink like green tea or milo helps with to get "let-down" faster.
On average, I take about 15-20 minutes to pump 220-300 mls. Cannot take too long cos I've so much work to do.

Re: Sleeping during the day
My MIL and Dad take turns to look after my boy during the day when I'm away at work. They have managed to make him sleep more during the day (abt 2-3 hrs) and he has achieved so much more in terms of his developmental milestones. =) Perhaps he has more energy to focus on the tasks we set out for him. He can now hold his head and chest up when on his tummy, he has mastered fine grasp with his hands and can nearly stand without assistance.

zzz,
i rented the bumbo seat from rent-a-toy for $10 for a month (plus $7 for delivery..but it's waived if u spend $30 abv). got it today but i was at work so didn't see her use it..my mil say she was quite happy in it. i guess she'll outgrow it fast so i didn't really want to buy one.

re: on going back to work
maybe because i'm working 3-days i kinda enjoy my working time. and maybe also because my work isn't really stressful, i can go home on time, i'm still ok..and by the time i'm sian..it's wed and my 'weekend' starts. actually i find it more tiring staying home cos a lot to do at home, on top of housework and taking care of Eliza..tho i am always so happy to be with her.

Re: sleeping during the day
Eliza tends to be sleepier in the morning, maybe cos i wake her up at 730am for milk regardless of how late or early she sleeps. after that it can range from 1/2hr to 1hr max. on rare days she can sleep 2 hours at one go...but it has not happened for a long time. total daytime sleep ranges from 3-4+hr with her bedtime at about 830-9pm range.

gloomy:: i voted too!

annie:: hehe have added you and leroy is soo cute smiling!

skyeskye:: wow! what do u work as? haha 3 daays a wk is... GOOOOD!