(2007/11) November MTBs

hi catherine,

ya lor during my leave i was totally occupied, did log on at times but really no time to post..
only manage to read some posts...
now back to work more free...hahaha

i totally agree with Nov1mom, my SIL also always comment y i so busy..i always feel like i dunno how to take care of him when she says tat...
but my boy really a tough 1 to handle lor..
during the past 2 months when i was taking care of him alone, i hardly even have time to express milk leh, resulting in frequent block ducts in my breasts...haiz...
the block ducts so frequent tat i simply juz ignored them..
then 1 day i got infection, dr advised me to stop BF..i felt so sad even till today

my bb was 3.03kg at birth...
i sent bb aaron to a nanny, its my neighbour's sis but planning to send him to infant care when he's 6 mths or older so tat he can learn and socialise...

Re: Force Feeding Water to baby

Claire also will push out the teat when she realised its water. So, i use the spoon to force feed her lor... Usually, she will use stunts like act sleep (i will pinch her nose), or purposely cough or choke... etcc....

I think i quite "heartless", when she act her stunts, i will take a break for her to recover and continue again. Her wails are enough to tear down the house. One thing i realised, if she wails, its even better coz she will swallow the water... If not, all the water will flow out!

Anyway, the 1st time i did it... Heart pain.. After a while, its for her good.. So, i got used to it liao...

Zzz, Claire had drunk soy milk formula due to her eczema. She dun like the taste (din finish her milk) and she got problem pooing so I changed it to Nestle Nan - Hypoallergenic one. When i fed Claire on soy milk, i also gave her honey water so that she has no problem pooing.

zzz, k@ye,

Me too having problem forcing my bb to drink water!! Same feeling, machiam forcing him to drink "poison"! once put in mouth one suck and he reject! Think bbs nowadays really smart loh!!

Duno how ah, now on BM so not so jiat lak, once switch to FM, no mater wat muz drink water liao loh!

Hey no one answer me on bb zz sideway leh. I dunno how to put him zz sideway still!

yoko,

thanks for your advice. But I am more curious about the contract side of things. For example,here are some of my questions;

if i hire a new maid, the contract is for 2 yrs right? What happens if i decide i don't want to continue before the 2yrs is up?

what is the loan?

how do i pay my maid?

do i have to pay tax for her?

what are the pros and cons of hiring a transfer maid?

Is the agent's fee one off or do I have to pay more hidden cost?

And apart from the maid's salary and the goverment's levy what else do I have to pay on a monthly basis? (aside from basic cost of living)

appreciate if anyone can answer my questions..thanks :p

Another point to add on force feeding water, the hubby or the elders might disapprove and attempt to stop. Dun give in, do tell them that its for the baby's good.

Even though PD says no need to give babies water coz BF or FM got water. I dun believe in that. Water is good coz it helps to purge toxins. And, Claire's pee is not so smelly or yellowish when she is force feed water 3 times a day.

In fact, i was also force fed water when i m a baby.. Also, my Mum cultivated the habit of drinking a cup of water every morning in me. I guess i will pass this habit to Claire or any future children.

here's my bb aaron, wanted to take a shot of him pouting but till now still no chance..
always turn to cries/screams too quickly..
tis time i try to pre-empt, see he not happy liaoz quickly standby but he juz keep staring at the camera and refuse to pout...hahaha

anyway, bb Aaron wishes all mummies and babies happy CNY and gong xi fa cai

1243911.jpg

hi plim/catherine, i am from new mom from dec thread..like to know who u gals handle the pump equipment when you are at work...like what do you use to wash the pump, how to sterilize (no sterilizer at work leh) and do you put the milk in the freezer or just lower comparment? me going back to work next week bo...so many things to bring and duno how to handle the pump equipments..

K@ye,

RE: force feed water
wah, so dat is ur tactics huh... hee hee... my gf oso told me to use spoon or even worst, pinch their nose so bb will swallow... which i thk a bit cruel leh... my bb stil refuse water, drink a bit then start to open mouth n use tongue to push out the bottle or just pretend to suck but the water level still the same.

RE: sticking out tongue
i realised for the past couple of days, my bb's very active in sticking out her tongue and it is like continuously doing it for few minutes. my mom said her gums itchy, maybe wana grow teeth liao... i like: Huh?! how can, so early meh?? this started after she started playing wif saliva... sigh, dun know wat's next?!

pretty,
i bring an airtight container and also a container (for washing the equipment) to work (on top of all the pumping equipment).
i will sterilize the pumps in the morning b4 i come to work, put them in airtight container. after i use the pump, will wash them in tap water using the container then will use hot water to scald the pumping equipment. afterwhich, i put them into the airtight container for the next use... dunno if this is good enough but feel better than keeping the pump in the freezer after use (without washing)... hehe

for milk, i will put the EBM into my usual milk bags and then put into a lock-n-lock container (afraid that the smell from the fridge will get into the milk).. i then put the lock-n-lock container into the chill compartment of the fridge.. end of day, i just collect my EBM from the chill compartment and put it into my FTG (which i placed in the freezer compartment) and bring home...
so far this is what i hv done for yesterday... before i start work on monday, i actually hv to think thru this entire process on how i wan to pump in office and how to transport the milk from office... end up hv to bring so many things :p

Hi November Mommies, Happy New Year! Long time no post. I recently quitted to become SAHM for a few more months.

Yoko, read somewhere that you mentioned you're an agent. Just want to ask - generally, is Filipino or Burmese maid better for taking care of babies? I have to leave baby with maid so she has to be hands-on when I go back to work while my in-laws will supervise.

tks alot plim..didnt know got so much procedures..hahah...and "barang" to bring..i am using my laptop bag those trolley type to put all the barang inside..duno if big enuff...haha...so need to bring brush and bottle detergents to wash the pump?

Here's ChLoE wishing every kor kor, jie jie, didi n mei mei a HaPPy NeW yEaR

1244108.jpg

n to all mommies, Gong Xi Fa Chai... Ang Pow Lai Yi Ge... hee hee hee...

Joey, i think just put the baby on the side and support the baby's back with pillows. Anyway, i tried putting Claire to sleep on her side but she scream murder!

Kittybride, i dun think sticking out tongue got to do with the teeth leh. Claire likes to stick out her tongue when she s 1 mth old. I think at 3mths+, babies like to play with saliva. The old folks mentioned that dribbling is one such sign of teething.

Joey : sleeping on the side -- besides supporting the baby's back with pillow, i also roll up a towel and let her hug like a bolster.

i place her on her swaddling cloth, put her to the side and use the cloth to wrap her...so that her legs can keep down.

initially she also doesn't like to sleep on the side, after a few tries, she gets it now and whenever i put her on the side, she seems to know it's nap time. quite fast will fall asleep.

hmm i am also interested in putting my bb to sleep on the side...
when we say sleeping on the side, is it totally on the side like 90deg or only partially like 45deg??
i tink i tried once but bb screamed oso, so dunno if i have done it wrongly..
nowadays i try to put him on his front/abdominals...
seems to sleep better..
but he will scream the moment he wakes up..

pretty, no problem... actually yesterday i forgot to bring brush and detergent to wash the equipment... tot that the things will be oily cos BM mah, but then after washing and scalding with hot water seems ok wor... so today i din bring also :p

k@ye, dreamer,
i find it difficult to put my gal on the side, she keep turning to sleep on her back, even though i put a bolster behind her to keep her in position, she stil manage to push it away and sleep on her back... anyway, she will resist/cry when i try to put her on side.

plim, mebbe some babies jus prefer not to sleep on the side. so, whatever suits the baby best

actually for my case, initially she was resistant too... so initially i wait until she quite drowsy, then put her down and put her to the side...like that, less resistance ;p also, i will place my hand on her for a while, like patting her... use pillow to support her back mebbe better than bolster..cos the pillow so big, it cannot "move away" like the bolster...if u know what i mean. the pillow will be placed behind her and it reaches to the other side of the cot...cannot move liao... ;p

i had to try placing her on the side to sleep cos in the day, when she sleeps on her back, her nap times very short (less than an hour, usually 30 mins or so...i so pek chek!) somehow, she wakes herself up. but on the side, its much better, she can sleep for 2 hrs at least...sometimes 3.

pretty,

wat i bring to ofc for pumping everyday:
1. clean & sterilized pump (bottles, funnel, valve, etc) in 1 container
2. clean & sterilized milk bottle (put this inside #3)
3. insulated milk bottle holder
4. pump equipment (motor, adaptor, etc) into another container
all these are put into the bag tat comes with my Ameda Lactaline pump. i lug this bag to nursing room so my colleagues & boss know i go pumping when they dun see me & this bag at my desk.

pumping environment:
there's 2 nursing room (called mother's room) in my ofc. i booked the room with the bigger fridge. it's a solid fridge (the normal type at home) while the other room has only a small bar fridge. the fridges in the mother's room are dedicated for storage of milk & pump for nursing mothers & only nursing mothers got keys to the rooms so i'm not so worried abt the hygiene level

storage:
1. pump container store in chiller compartment of fridge
2. milk in milk bottle store in chiller compartment of fridge
3. insulated milk bottle holder in bag & bring back to ofc desk
4. pump equipment in bag & bring back to ofc desk

transport:
at the end of the day, i'll put a few pcs of ice cubes into the insulated milk bottle holder & put the milk bottle inside. i have tested this storage method before & it can last me a good 4hrs. so i know next time i can still join frenz/colleagues for a quick dinner after work.

oh btw, i'm using Ameda Lactaline. the manufacturer & distributed had advised to sterilize the pump only once a day. so i dun sterilize in ofc. even at home, i also sterilize the pump only once a day. AND normally i pump only once in ofc (twice at home).

zzz... ahaha i loove aaron's hairstyle! and bb chloe is soooo cute kittybride!

here's monster travis wishing all a GREAT yr ahead!
1244313.jpg

tks catherine, i am using medela swing, i didnt know pump can only sterilize once a day. i usually sterilize it in the avent sterilizer after pump, so total 4 times per day...hahha..
think i will use hot water method to clean the pump after use and then keep it in the freezer for next use...

Cindy,
Travis is so cute esp the photo with his hands clenched at his chesk. my Jovan likes to do tat too but i nvr had a chance to take photo of him doing tat. during this CNY festive season, i'll put his hands infront of his chest & say "gong xi gong xi" or "gong xi fa cai". then he'll usually smile until his eyes become 2 thin lines. my relatives/frens will also laugh. hehehe

catherine, wa, u very detailed... hehe... better than me :p
i also using Ameda Lactaline, know that it did mention somewhere to sterilise once a day but i dun care wor, at home, how many times i pump (i'm on full EBM), i will sterilise tat many times...

so, for those times at home (where u pump 2 times a day), after u pump for the 1st time, wat do u do with the pump if u only sterilize it once a day?

plim,

i'm long-winded =P

i got my Ameda Lactaline from Hwei from Mumsfairy. i asked Hwei & she did cfm tat need to sterilize only once a day. so how many times do u pump at home (besidespumping 3x in ofc)?

after pumping at home, i'll wash the parts with baby bottle detergent & put them into a container. when i need to pump, i'll rinse the bottles with boiled hot water (from thermal flask) & run the hot water thru the pump parts where the milk will flow.

other mummies using Ameda Lactaline,
do u sterilize each time u use the pump? if not, how do u handle the pump after the 1st pump & before the next pump?

catherine:: haha yes yes! now they play with their hands soo cute!!

Are any of your bbies balding? or shedding hair? travis has one line of bald spot across his head. SO ugly.

cath, i pump 3 other times (if not, will be 2 times) at home, one time when i wake up in the morning, the other 2 times is when i go home and 1 before i sleep... so u can imagine the number of times i actually sterilise my pumping equipment!

cindy, i think it's common for babies to bald or hv patches of bald on the head... think cld be due to they sleep on the area too much... haha... dunno true or not but tat's wat i always tot... dun worry, travis will out-grow it in next few months and hv beautiful hair...

cindy,
baby jovan is also balding. think it's quite common. intend to shave him when he's 4 months old. hokkien belief.

plim,
wow u pump so many times a day. 5 in total. i pump only 3 times a day (when i wake up, midday in ofc, before i sleep). how much milk do u get per day? i get ard 600-800ml. i v lazy hor =P intend to increase my pumping sessions only when i have used up at least half of my frozen BM stash. limited space in freezer & my baby also refuse the frozen BM sometimes.

cath, although i pump so many times hor, my output is also ard 700-800ml per day leh... u do direct latch on at home, that's why ur supply is more... me on exclusive pumping...

my frozen stash was wiped out when i went for my taiwan trip and then later on my US trip... now, if i hv extra, will freeze them for my subsequent business trips

Cindy, Travis is so cute!

Catherine, serious ah... A hokkien belief to shave hair when 4 mths old... How come my MIL never tell me? She says no hokkien belief on shaving hair... but i heck lah.. I shave Claire's hair when she is 3 mths old... Anyway, i find Claire cuter being botak.

Poisson,
Garreth is so handsome and cute. Hair grown quite a bit huh. Me happy to see my boy's hair growing well aft shaving in his 1st month.

Yoko,
I also applying the same rules on maid. In addition, i also ask my helper to inform me when she takes her shower coz i may need her help to make milk etc. Also, my HB will not step into the bb room alone if he wants to see bb. My mil, helper and bb sleep in the same rm, we dun want her to accuse my HB of molest. Will usually talk nicely but firm w her, coz like my sis always, they only earn abt $10 a day, so dun expect too much from them, not fair.

Aiyo, my mil wrist got swollen and went to see doc. Doc asked her if she's been carrying anything heavy, she said "yes, my dear grandson lor". Doc asked her not to carry too much, she told doc, ask me dun write too many 4D numbers can, but ask me not to carry my grandson, cannot. Ha ha...ask her to entrust the helper a bit and train her to carry, she refused. More so now that she saw the maid abuse bb clips.

aiyoooo, fanny....so sad....cannot bear to continue reading the blog leh...already in tears reading the first few paragraphs...sob sob...

Matt's habit has just gone haywire. Previously, he was like a night animal, dun sleep until 11pm to 12 midnight. Then the wk before CNY,it got better, sleeps after his last feed ard 10pm, which is what I was trying to cultivate to. Then I tink these few days CNY visiting, he is dead tired. For 3 days in a row already, his last feed is 4 pm. Then he wants to go to sleep at 7pm and refuse to feed. I am worried now. Last 2 nights, i had to wake him up at midnight to feed, as I am worried that he will be hungry. He also took some jabs yesterday. Not sure if that had contributed, but he doesnt have any fever, so i figured it should be ok. Anyone encounter something like dat?

Joseph's sleeping pattern has gone a bit haywire too. Instead of waking up at 7am, he wakes up every night at 430 now. Should I feed him at 430? If I don't, he doenst want to go back to sleep. But I'm trying to get him to go back to sleeping thru the night. Is it because he's not getting enough to feed? He's drinking about 900 ml of FM everyday now at 12 weeks old.

hi twiggy

Ashlee also drinks abt 900ml everyday. how many ml do you feed at everytime? I feed her 150ml and baby sitter feed her 180ml.

twiggy and langlao:: can i ask how many hrly do you feed your bbies? i feed like 3.5 to 4 hrly and still he doesn't sleep through and even the times i feed, sometimes he's not really hungry, like most mommies, appetite seems decreasing. Have to remind him: MILK TIME!

Cindy,
Yah I also noticed appetite is decreasing. Matt used to finish the entire bottle, whatever I give. Now, there's always a good 20-30ML left. And on top of that, he is forgoing the last feed every day. Wonder why...

cindy,
i feed her at abt 7 or 8 am depending when she wakes and we try to play with her til she cry for milk. next feed is every 3-4 hourly so per day abt 4-5 feeds. however when she is at baby sitter, she very promptly cry for milk every 3 hrs.

last night was her 1st nite sleeping at babysitter and she woke up at 2.30am for milk and also poop! she has been sleeping thru the nites for many weeks til yesterday

my baby sitter says after jab baby will not drink so much. i will know after ashlee go for her 3rd mth jab which is nx friday.

btw anyone gave their babies the rotavirus jab or any add on jabs not in the schedule?

plim,
so far so good, i dunno why i'm not sleepy today, maybe cos i napped in the mrt on the way to work. i pumped twice and cos i don't really have space to bring my electric pump, i use a manual pump...and have to do it in the toilet. takes me abt 1/2hr incl washing & sterilizing. dun really like the sterilizing tablets...smells so rubbery but no choice. wanted to buy the sterilizing bag, those you can put the bottles in and microwave it, easier but somehow the stock has been discontinued, dunno why.

mummies on TBF and pumping at work,
how do u sterilize your pumps at work?

tinkabel:: ya loh! haha same same! now always have some left over and worse is he doens't seem hungry at all de.

langlao:: hahah i think she miss you ahahaha cause from wat i see your bb sitter feed her more often than you so i don't think it's because she's not fed enough during the day. haha..

catherine,
congrats on yr bb sleeping thru!! hee..i'm looking fwd to the day. but my bb's schedule's a lil haywire...she's so sleepy in the late mornings to lunchtime that i can't even wake her up. so can't really adhere to the GF naptimes.

plim,catherine
i also give baby pacifier when she wakes up in the middle of the night or early morning just to make sure that she isn't waking up cos of milk. sometimes it takes abt 10min - 30mins..i can't remember cos i'll be like sleepwalking...so sleepy.

Re: Baby drinking lesser milk at 3mths,
I personally dun think it is due to the jabs cos Mischa hasnt taken her jab until yday. but her decresing appetite started abt a week ago. i m puzzled cos i tot 3rd and 6th mth should be the growth spurt month and i was actually prepared for her constant feeding like what she did when she was going thru the growth spurt at 3weeks and 6 weeks!

and today i was so furious with my mum. becos of Mischa's recent drop in appetite, cant even finish 100ml each time she told me its time i give her FM! without thinking i jus shot her back saying tt its all crap. Its got nothing to do with BM or FM. I feel so sad cos i am really pro-BF and worked very hard to TBF till today. suffered all my engorgement, mid night feedings and pumpin, sore nips saggy boobs etc...and she jus treats my BM like any 'watery FM'! it hurts me so much tat my OWN mum dun see the hardwk i put thru even though Mischa thrived so well on my milk. When i told her tt she has nt been fed plain water since my birth, she was very worried. then when i told her BM is mostly water, she say 'yah lo, ur BM so watery...she drink no full'. DUH!!! i really give up on her...luckily my hb is supportive and i take care of Mischa most of the time otherwise i would have given up BF long time ago.

Plim, to me it is just courtesy and manners. Cos sometimes goes to other pp house oso she must behave same. If nt pp will say why maid so rude... Blah Blah....Also train her to be polite and that u care abt it. If nt, next time she will become more "Da Dan" Bold. If u r ok with it, just leave it alone.. If next time u asked her to do, maybe she don't like liao....

Plumsource

if i hire a new maid, the contract is for 2 yrs right? What happens if i decide i don't want to continue before the 2yrs is up?
If don't ned her service within 2 years, u can give her back to agency for txf to another employer. Or u can send her back. Provided her loan is finished. If u want to send he back within 2 years, u just have to pay for her ticket. But if she is the one who refuse to work for u, she must pay herself. Best get the agency to be involve and ask them to get it from her.

what is the loan? The loan is the amt that she owe to the overseas recruiter for her airticket and costs for her to deploy to sg. tax and etc... She gt no money to pay so the ageny will have to pay on her behalf 1st.

how do i pay my maid? Usually u have pay the loan to the agency on behalf of the maid, Agency will give u a repayment schedule for u to let her sign on every month that the amt that u should pay to her and for her to acknowledge the loan that she owes the agency, that you will deduct from her.

do i have to pay tax for her? Income tax... NO

what are the pros and cons of hiring a transfer maid? Sometimes i prefer txf maid cos u can interview her face to face. Of cos gt exceptional case, just like my gf also take txf and during interveiw everything ok.. When collecting her fr agency, less than 24hrs she dont want to work. If the maid is being abuse by other employer even better cos they will learn to appreciate u. (Depends on cases) It really depends on how honest is the agent and the true story behind....

Is the agent's fee one off or do I have to pay more hidden cost? it Varies. depends on the agency. That's y better find out properly before u sign anything.

And apart from the maid's salary and the goverment's levy what else do I have to pay on a monthly basis? (aside from basic cost of living)Basically nothing, but if u are nice, u can give her shampoo, soap, etc. But make sure she dun choose the brand. If she choose brand than ask her to buy herself. Cos it is not a must for u to get for her. For me, I provide her daily stuffs like toothpaste, shampoo, soap. But not her facial wash or cream.

langlao, that time did think abt getting the microwave one, but then not cheap also... hehe... and anyway, according to Cath, they also only advise to sterilise once a day...

re: bb drinking less
my bb was like tat 2 wks ago and occasionally as well... however, this wk, she seemed to want more after drinking 110ml as can tell that once the milk is finished and i pull out the teat from her mouth, she will start to fuss/whine and she's feeding ard 2-3 hrs each time... so erratic, the way they change their feeding pattern... hence i'm gradually increasing her feed to 120ml (in case she cannot finish)...

yoko, in fact what u hv mentioned reminded me of an incident the 1st wk she came to work for me... i brought her along when i visited my friend... after i left, the next day, my friend asked me why my maid like so rude, and putting on a black face, never even smile or address pple... i was so embarrassed by that comment... and immediately, during her 1st mth review, i told her tat i expect her to be polite and to address pple when she sees them, especially elders. it will reflect badly on her upbringing and manners if she doesn't do so... after which, she did try to do it, but can tell that sometimes she call people so softly that i dun even know if she did address them or not...

Jules, Just want to ask - generally, is Filipino or Burmese maid better for taking care of babies? I don't deal with burmese maids so am not verysure. Feedbacks from clients some said yes some said no. Cos usually burmese maids gt passport prob and dun work for 2 years or more.Their costs are much higher than fili. Let her take care of baby will u are still at home. Just close yr doors and listen. Make sure she can andle wo ur supervision. I always does tat. Cos am too tired to bother. Hehe. When my clients engage maids, I always ask them if there are any old pp at home. Like mom or MIL, cs sometimes, problems dun lies on u. Is them. They will pick on maids and start their nagging or scoldings. They will also nag at you if the maid don't work to their expectations. If yr mom or MIL naggy type, also inform the agency. So can prepared the maid. U will become frustrated too Esp u dun find anything wrong. Just monitor closely.

Cactusnah
true, I agree try not to. but sometimes bo pian. Depends on situation. Not all la. Also when sitting in car, i make sure my maid sits at the back of the car. If only hubby and maid.
My granny and mom too after seeing the clip. But ensure them, as long gt adults at home the maid can't abuse as well. take it easy. Ask yr mom, use eyes to watch, no need physically. If she can't carry better not, if not the injury will become worst.

Seems like all mummies are getting the same probs from BB (3mths to 4 mths). mine too. Refuse milk and kepp crying. These few nites got lots of function to attend. My granny just call me and complain abt me... Tht BB is more important.... Hiaz...