(2007/11) November MTBs

dokie, u havr a good one to recommend in the west? i ask my MIL if she needs, if so, i get contact from you?

hi dokie & pig07...

sorrie for the late reply.. cos was out for dinner last nite.. and only managed to logged on now..
yes, Dr karen Yap is in Mt E.. her number is 68368238 for those who are also keen to see her..
her chances of succeeding in removing the lump by aspirations are very high..
actually, before i went to see her, i went to see a gynae and was advised to go for the op.. but i decided to seek a 2nd opionon.. and went to see Dr Karen Yap, she is very nice and patient and suggested dat i tried aspirations instead to see if we can get rid of the lump tis way... and she managed to do it!!!! although i had to do 8 times.. but tis is much better than going for the op!!!

good luck to u gals.. hope dat ur case is not as bad as mine.. cos she said dat im her HIGH score.. the 1st aspirations drew out 90ml of pus!!!! dats y i hv to do 8 times!

<font color="0000ff">underwire nursing bras</font>
i bought mine frm Moms R Us @ united sq since my 1st child.. i think once my SS was established, wearing underwired bras didnt cause any problems for me tho'.. but i rem not cheap, abt $40+- each lor...

<font color="0000ff">mummies with 2 kids</font>
im in e same boat as u all on tis lor... but my #1 is only 14mths old.. dunno how to talk, juz walking not very stable yet.. plus he's teething (top "dracula teeth" + bottom molars).. he's been super cranky n bad tempered recently leh.. dunno how much of it is due to sibling rivalry/jealousy too... my dilemma is rather #2 cries wakes him up, cos he's a very light sleeper.. n once he doesnt nap well.. his temper is 10x worse... my mum + maid is going to take care of both when i return to work... but im still very stressed up when i think abt tis... *haiz*...
how many of u going to e gathering tis wed??? we can share our experience (i.e. complain &amp; empathise session) on tis....
<font color="ff6000">dokie</font>, im like u, prefer not to go out cos TOO many barang barang to bring, cooking for my son too... but stay @ home they like very "ke lian" no exposure to e "outside world"... dilemma....

<font color="ff6000">koh gillian</font>
im staying @ Hougang st 51.. near Hougang Green mall... convenient to "tompang" u???

<font color="ff6000">sabrina</font>
i used to b on Diane-35 pre-preg.. no weight gain problem, i took it for my complexion problems cos had v oily skin &amp; pimples... after stopping e pill also no weight gain either..
but cos im bf-ing, cant take it now.. otherwise, i'd gladly start taking it again, cos scared of another "accident"...

<font color="ff6000">S@L</font>
im taking calcium supplement from GNC.. juz ask them if its ok for bf-ing mummies n they said no problem...
im e "kiasu" + "kiasee" one here.. cos i stopped drinking milk b4 turning 1yr old (cos auntie who took care of me "force" me to give up e bottle), so now super scared kena osteoprorosis (spelling?) in future.. now taking all my pre-natal vit + calcium pills + drink milk/soya bean whenever i can.....

dokie, i take the multi vit contains iron and others. the nurse at the clinic always refer that to iron pills.. heehee..

skye,
i found a Singaporean lady cleaner near my area. she says she has a fren who is looking for cleaning jobs too. i stay near tiong bahru. if u want her contact, pls let me know.

I am joining for the gathering too but w/o baby.. so i can act as yr extra pair of hands shld u require.. hee.

3rd gathering for Nov 2007 mums
POT LUCK
23rd Jan, wednesday 12pm
Everyone's welcome!
Venue: Tweety's place
1. ueno - famous delicious soon kueh
2. S@L - prawn with fruit salad
3. Grace - chicken nuggets
4. Tinkabel (chocolate mousse cake)
5. Yoko
6. Gillian - pasta
7. tweety - sandwiches and beverages
8. PLim - potato salad
9. Catherine
10. starz
11. baby40
12. Skye skye
13. lazykat - fruits (prob grapes)

re: mummies with 2 kids
thanks for all the replies! looks like i am not the only one having headache. plim, my situation very similar to yours! i also involved my gal in helping out, initially, she was happy to lend a hand, after sometime, she sian liao...and only help when she is in good mood.

i also try to give her more attention and let her feel that she is special. on weekends, i will bring her out together with hubby and my parents. yesterday, we went to terminal 3, left the younger one at home with maid. initially she was super happy, running around with her balloon. but when it was time to go home, she screamed loudly at the carpark "i dun want to go home!!!"

i think the screaming part is not due to having another "competitor" (mei mei), but more so of the "terrible twos" stage nw that she is gg thru. no matter how much we tell her that we love her, and shower her with toys and storybooks, the situation doesn't improve.

Gillian, do u have any books or websites to recommend? i wish to find out more on how to discipline my demanding child.

i also do not wish to use the cane to threaten her now, coz hubby said it will make her scared and cause her mental mind unstable.

re: maid
i am blessed with a good helper. she has been with my family for 6 years liao, so i can trust her well. she took care of my elder gal well, so i can trust her to take care of the kids when i return to work. she is "bao ka liao" in my family - take care of the kids when i am busy, clean the house, cook simple meals. with an extra pair of hands, i still feel drained at times. esp, after pumping and also taking care of the younger one in the wee hours. but alas, she will be returning to indo for good in oct.

dokie, i salute u! can take care of both kids yourself. i cannot do that, esp, my hubby doesn't know my kids' pattern. he is only hands on in changing diaper, bathing them, and feeding them. he doesn't know how to coax them, so if my maid is not ard, i will sure go crazy.

i also feel very tense at home. esp, when i see my elder gal went close to my younger gal. she will sometime sayang her mei mei and then suddenly pull or pinch her! scared scared!!

S@L, i am the BAD guy at home. my hb is usually the one who gives in coz he dunno how to coax them. hahha

about the sorella bras, they are the normal bra type.

as for the calcium pills, my gynae also advice me to continue, but i din lah...coz' i am the kind that hates medicine. already took the pills during pregnancy, now still want to continue, sian lah! so, she adviced me to drink at least 2 cups of ANMUM (for breastfeeding) daily. a better alternative for me coz' i like to drink milk. hehe

re: contraceptive pill
my gynae also told me the side effects will be weight gain and pimples. so, i will opt this out, plus, i super sotong, sure will forget to take the pills diligently.

i asked my hb to "sacrifice" instead, either no sex or he sterilise himself. hehehee...dun wish to take the risk and have #3!! i want to close production liao.

re: abcess
pig07, elaine - hugzzz to both of u! hope u both recover soon!! can empathise with u, coz' i was a victim of mastitis twice. pls try to rest as much as u need a strong body to fight the infection.

ttl, thanks for your contact! i might need to see her before i stop bfing as i also have a small lump that refuse to go away. thou' there is no pain now, but i worried, it might lead to abcess when i try to stop bfing.

dokie:: got min hrs? is it come everyday or once a wk or once in 2 days? or it's our choice? what does she do? clean up place - mop, vacuum and wash - dishes and clothes? what about ironing and so on? hhe thank you!

re: 2 kids
it is tough.. my older one is in full day cc now cos i still can't drive (bottom still painful) so hubby still sends her to and fro.. can't wait for healing so she'll be back to just a half day prgm again.. hubby also works irreg hours and maid doesn't look after kids so also sole parenting.. really don;t know what to do sometimes when i want to bf baby and my older girl will plonk herself on my lap and refuse to get up!
i also give my older girl priority since she;s not home so much and think at this terrible twos stage, needs more guidance.. getting more and more naughty and hubby wants to cane
but i don't want to let it get to that stage..

yami and s@l: received the organic mothers milk tea. thanks! it's v effective! can i ask where to buy?..

Olivetree,
Feeling much better now although still some slight pain and difficulty in carrying baby. The engorgement has gone down and boobs size shrunk significantly from when engorged. So that's good. Still a few lumps but I think should go away gradually. Fingers crossed. R you still bfing?

TTL,
Thanks for the warning. I think it's very true that many new mummies like us dont know the danger of mastitis till it becomes an absess. Sorry you had to go thru that. Did you have surgery in the end or the needle?

Plim,
I think problems w stopping /bf are more likely to occur when you stop suddenly. On hindsight, I recall all my LCs and my gyne telling me to stop gradually rather than take medicine. When take med, u're not suppose to stimulate breasts by pumping / feeding, so engorgemt gets quite bad, hence mastitis and absess. Best way to stop bfing seems to b gradually reducing supply over period of 3-4 weeks. If ss good, maybe even longer.

RE : Taking pill
I was on pill for years before pregnant. Didnt put on weight and no side effects. Nowadays dosage very low, so side effects less likely.

Pig07,
Quickly go see Dr Yap. I hope it's not absess. had a funny thought today. For the last 11 months (9 pregnant and 2 breastfeeding), I think about everything I eat. I consciously force myself to eat more protein and veg etc and assess the nutritional value of what I eat for baby's sake. Now, it's become a habit, but suddenly what I eat does not affect baby anymore. It's a really strange feeling. Kinda relieved but actually more of an empty feeling. It was kinda nice knowing there's a "higher purpose" to your diet.

Dokie,
You're amazing coping with so many things w/o help. Same to all those mothers who are doing the same. I have a part-time maid who comes and do my housework 2-3 times a week. If you keen, I can chekc w her if she's free to take up another household. Where do you stay?

RE : Taking baby out
My family always has lunch out on Sundays. Now with baby, I have to always think of baby-friendly places that are either al fresco (in case baby starts bawling his lungs out), spacious enough to sit at table w the pram, and no stairs. So far we've been to Chjimes, Clarke Quay, Millenia Walk, but I'm still raking my brains what places we can go. Any suggestions on where you've taken your babies with all the barang, the pram and the restuarant is not too squeezy to accomodate that?

Things to give away
Now that I've stopped breastfeeding, I've got things to give away if anyone interested.

1. Almost full can of Anmum milk for BF mothers
2. Avent nipple cream - full tube but box thrown away
3. Neurogain - 3/4 bottle left
4. Milk freezer bags from FirstFewYears. - about 20 bags left

pig07,
Regarding my doggie. There were many kind souls who helped us to find my doggie eventually. Firstly, there's 2 small boys who saw my doggie running ard. But they couldn't keep dogs so they passed her to another kind soul who put her up with his own dog for the time being. This dog owner had wanted to put posters/advert to find us but was too busy as he was about to move house. Then there's this 4th kind soul (he knew the dog owner) who saw the poster/flyer tat my bro distributed &amp; contacted my bro. So my doggie was found with the help of all these people. I'm so suprised there's so many kind people out there. I was still worried tat my doggie might be ill-treated by some evil person (saw quite a few reports of this sort before). My doggie has been pampered for the past few days. She's groomed &amp; bathed, fed alot of doggie treats &amp; sent to vet for checkup too. She's doing fine although she was obviously tired out &amp; had an eye infection.

Weight:
i am only 1kg from my pre-preg weight. (oh i weigh after pumping leh...hahaha). Just now i plucked up courage to try my old Levi's jeans. i can fit in &amp; i can button up! YIPPEE! BUT the jeans were obviously tighter &amp; my flabby tummy is STILL THERE! =(

Caregiver:
my plan was to let my mum take care of baby during weekdays. she'll stay over at my house during weekdays. last sat nite, she suddenly told me she dun wan to take care of baby anymore. i was so upset i cried for 1hr+. i cant bear the tot of letting any other outsiders take care of my baby. i'm willing to quit my job if my mum really dun wan to take care of baby. my HB scolded me for being silly. say cry also no use. plus he know i cant stand being a SAHM &amp; face baby 24/7 AND we also need the extra income. now we are trying to find out the reason why my mum suddenly changed her mind &amp; also look out for alternatives to take care of baby. i can only think of infant care, nanny or maid.

mummies, i am looking for infant care centre OR nanny around west area i.e. Redhill / Bukit Merah / Queenstown / Tiong Bahru? Any recommendation? i am also looking out for part-time maid tat can work in Hougang. Anyone knows where i can get part-time maid?

i remembered a mummy who used to own a maid agency but i cant remember who. Can u pls PM me &amp; tell me wat to look out for when hiring a maid?

grace
i am fine with both options. ya we can meet ard 11-1130am. think we need to exchange mobile &amp; address. i have PM'ed u &amp; tinkabel my mobile &amp; address. oh i dun have tweety's address. S@L, can u PM me tweety's address?

hi twiggy, good to hear that u are feeling better. i am still bfing (mainly pumping, only latch when the ebm is still warming up) coz' i still have some time to go before i return to work on 18 feb. during this period of time, if i have terrible pain, then i will opt to stop bfing. currently, pumping as much to store so that bb can have the bm should i stop bfing totally.

for my first bfing experience, i foolishly tried to stop my bm supply within 48 hours. i didnt pump at all during that time and end up with heavily engorged breasts. i was in pain and did not even use cabbage to ease it. luckily, i managed to stop the bm supply after a few days without any lumps.

this time, i am not gg to do the stupid way and will gradually reduce the pumping sessions if i intend to stop bfing.

Catherine,

I'm putting my baby in infant care when I return to work in March. But I live in the east, so can't recommend one for you in the west.

What I did was to go to the MCDS website and manually search their database. The centers are sorted by zone - north, south, east, west.

Then call up those shortlisted one and request to take a look at the place.

Good luck.

catherine, yah i waiting for hubby to wake up. he just came home from work this morning (nite shift) then we will pop down, its 3 blocks away from my place. and if u live in bm central, its 1 busstop away for u.

Cindy, I think 4 hours min . Why not u ring her? U want her HP? I can pm u. She does everything except washing. But if u insist she will do it.

Twiggy, I have a parttime helper for 2 years (the one I am recommending to Cindy) but recently terminated her service because I engaged my auntie instead. My aunt not working and in her fifties. So ask her to help me to clean up. In this way, I am supporting her.

Zoe , I am going to take my organic mother milk . U reminded me that I still have a box untouched. :p

catherine/tinkabel,
ok the plan is i will go off at 11am, get a cab, pick catherine then tinkabel. catherine, pls be ready by 11am, once i hop into the cab, u can come downstairs. my place to yours is only 5 mins away by taxi. tinkabel, same same, once i pick catherine, i call you.. =)

Ladies, some personal advice (IMO) on infant care.

I sent my baby to the infant care centre and I withdraw her after 1.5 weeks there due to her skin rashes caused by the air-conditioning envt and lack of proper care.

Basically, the infant care centre will change the diapers (disposable) for the babies every 2 hours. The bottles and clothes for the babies are to be washed/sterilised by ourselves at the end of the day when we fetch the babies home.

Infant care centre is definitely not as good as 1-to-1 care by grandparents/nanny but most imptly is the staff ratio, my gal's centre has 18 babies but 4 teachers (understaffed). There is 2 occassions that really pissed me off, they din clean her properly coz i discovered her hair caked with milk stains. Another occassion is that i went to fetch her, the staff passed her to me even though they hadn't finished feeding her!

I was quite upset as much as i understand that they re understaffed but still, they have to finish feeding her!

So, to the ladies sending your babies to the infant care centres. Do take note of the staff ratio. It is the most impt!

RE: supplements,
actually my hb have a big box of multi vits in the fridge and he asked me to take. but i nt nt sure if its ok for BF or any kinds of multi vits should be fine. Also some of u mentioned pre-natal suppements, is Obimin one of them? i still hv a few btls left can still take right? but i remembered during pregg i will hv constipation whenever i take Obimin cos of the high iron contents. and aft delivery i actually had piles a few times liao..so very scared if i start on Iron again will hv same problem. can cry in the toilet kind...

Twiggy, i m interested in the Neurogain if its still within expiry date.

Zoe' mummy,
u find the tea effective? i feel it doesnt necessary boost my ss, but i thnk it helps in let down. I think so far can only find in the drugstore. U may wan to join those overseas spree and order some. ? cos i might nt be starting a spree so soon cos nothing much to buy. there is another brand "Yogi" nursing tea also from drugstore. i m waiting for my shipment to arrive and try then compare with the Traditional Medicinal's one.

Olivetree, drinking milk is definately ok but i jus afraid it will pile on unnecessary fats even though those low fat milk. anyway i prefer to swallow pills..faster...hehehe..

All mummies here already got ur Baby bonus and opened the CDA acc? i have nt done it - super lazy and forgetful...they wont forfeit the 1st payment of $750 right? eheheh...

Mummies with 2 kids, do u intend to put the $6K at one go or over the yrs? i calculated by the time mischa is due for playgroup/preschool, the money is gone...jus enough for gor gor to use..hehehe..better than nothing.

thanks baby40 / olivetree.

grace,
can PM the address &amp; contact of the infant care centre? can let me know ur comments once u visited the centre? thanks so much!

k@ye,
thanks for sharing ur view on infant care. will definitely take note!

Catherine, me too, the form still inside the envelope. the acc is for 2nd bb and above...think 1st born only have the $3K bonus right? We have the $1 for $1 acc...up to $6K for subsequent born..hehehe

S@l,
Obimin is fine, as I was taking also that during my pregnancy, and gynae actually told me i shld continue even after my delivery.. juz that i keep forgetting, for those who r still bf-ing, shld continue to take multi-vit as i realised i hv receding gums after my pregnancy.. sigh. Juz hv to increase yr fibre/fluid intake to prevent constipation..

Re: Baby bonus
guess i am the super KS mum.. did all paperwork while still in TMC, so received $$ by mid/end Nov liao. Since its given to us, muz claim asap.

WTG: 1 BN tin milk powder for bf mum
I think its Anmum (need to go home to confirm cos at in law place most of the time now).. if anyone keen, i can bring it along during Wed gathering.. cos i never like powdered milk.

twiggy, can i get the milk bags and ANMUM milk from u? where do u stay? if it is convenient to meet up, i will go and meet u. thanks!

S@L, i dun intend to deposit the sum of $6K now as now no hurry lah. i agree with u, the money is just enough for the elder one to use for childcare by the time the younger one grows up. $12K isn't that much after all....haiz

hi twiggy..

luckily i only hv to do aspirations although i did a total of 8 times... cos i tink most docs will recommend doing the op instead of aspirations as the latter is more tedious.. which is y i recommend Dr Karen Yap, cos she is very patient.

dokie:

catherine, agree with [email protected]:3 ratio is best..heard that sunflower babyhouse at watten is good..i hunted around the same areas as you while looking for IFC for my older girl too..v hard to find good one..finally found one that was v good when i put her there but it's changed over the years (not referring to sunflower babyhouse..).. can pm me to discuss if you want to

s@l:eek:k thanks
yes, find that breast gets more full laster..

zoe, good to know tt
i also think fenugreek helped me alot in the intial days and of course the constant latching. i m glad tt i persevered on during the growth spurt+demand feeding period. at least struggle a few days then and now more relaxed with good supply of ss.

mummies, do u realise ur bb take shorter time to feed on the breasts now and satisfied easily? my gal no longer suckle for comfort, if she wan to sleep, she JUST wan to sleep. i tried to offer my breasts to calm her down but she refused to even suck it!

Catherine,
I think Yoko use to own a maid agency.

Dokie,
How do I pass my Avent nipple cream to you? If you want, can pm me your address. I think it's small enough to mail to you by post.

S@L,
The Neurogain was bought only just two weeks ago as I hadn't planned to stop BFing then. So still far from expiry. How do I pass to you pls?

Olivetree,
You still have a month or so before returning to work, that's good. I think it can take up to 4 weeks to totally stop lactatign so you have to factor in how to pump when you return to work. Good luck and hope it's all smooth sailing from now on.

You can have the Anmum and milk bags. I stay in Sembawang. Where do you stay?

TTL,
Its good u could aspirate instead of doing surgery. Surgery much more painful I think. Poor you,
, hope the problem's over now.

RE : Infantcare
I"m thinking of going back to work in April. Any idea of good infantcare in the North, like Sembawang, Woodlands, Yishun, etc?
Kaye, thx for sharing, wat's considered a good ratio of staff to babies?

Twiggy, u stay in sembawang? wic part? My own flat is there too eventhough i spent most of my time at Holland village. My block is the one with the munchy donut's shop.

twiggy, i staying in tampines now! sembawang is too far for me. hehehe...is like another end of Singapore to me.

hence, pls give them to other mummies who are interested in them. thanks alot!!!

Twiggy, oh u stay Sembawang.....abit far and nt too advisable to send perishable by post. i guess will give it a miss and give to other mummies too.
unless nobody wants then if i pass by Sembawang i go get it from you.

thanks alot anyway.

twiggy, ard sembawang area i've heard of appletree and at yishun it's carpe diem if i'm not wrong. There's one CC at sembawang mart but dono if have for infant.

I also have the following items to give away:

1. Approx 20 pieces of disposable breast pads (pigeon brand)
2. 1 tube of nipple cream from Mothercare (used a bit)

Do PM me or email me at [email protected] if u ladies want it.

Catherine, maybe find out what is ur mummy's concern 1st? cos I also had some unpleasantness with my mum some time back. We managed to iron out the differencces and I am so glad to say that our r/s has become better, @ least that's what I feel; and mummy will always help daughters unless they are unable to.

Infantcare: personally, my choice is against sending baby to infant care. cos at this stage, the baby requires more one to one engagement.. more interaction with people, whether they speak english, mandarin or malay or anything. Infants are beginning to trust their caregivers/ parents for their needs. In my humble opinion, infantcare cant really acheive this unless their ratio is 1:2 or maybe 1:3 but with assts to help. However, I do understand that their are limitations. Also, do not just check the ratio (most impt tho), check their policies, what they advocate, the cleaniness or the premises, qualifications of the caregivers. and, the no. of nurses.

olivetree, there are some bookshops like September21 which caters to the early childhood market, but if u need titles, i cant give them to u. most imptly, remind urselves that both the dad and mum had 10 months to come to terms with the fact that a baby is arriving. Plus tots are unable to grasp something that's visually not there as well as adults so, for them, the preparation only started when the bb arrived.

Terrible Twos stage
Personally, I am handling the twos in school and I have 8 this year, 12 last year. they are generally more demanding, and require constant attention. But they can also start reasoning at this stage. try to use positive reinforcement by using positive sentences. e.g. say, "please stand up and we can talk now", instead of "do not lie down on the floor". Give them options that u r prepared to give. If not, do not pose a question. Agree that they also deserve respect, by not commanding but direting. when chn feel good, they generally give lesser headache. also, u gotta ask urself if he/she has been behaving this way all along? if so, u have to accept it just like before. If u wish to correct it, please wait a while more, after he/she has accepted bro/sis.
But i guess, all those with chn in twos, u have to agree they are the most fun-loving at this stage!

starz, yes, ican give u a lift; please PM me ur address and I can give u my hp no. just in case, i get lost and u start wondering whether i've vanished.

omg, ladies.. hehe sorry need to share my excitement! travis has just turned on his tummy on his own!! shcoked me and MIL!!!

Cindy, wah! advance milestone ah...tt reminds me nt to leave Mischa on the bed alone! did i tell u all tt day i banged her head accidentally and hb was so furious with me i almost burst into tears....

wah cindy...
travis so li hai.. his neck has always been very strong.

s@l,
ah yo..be careful. surely u damn heartpain. now i hear anything abt bang head, i rem the bang toiletbowl baby and die. so kelian.so i very careful.

catherine/olivetree,
i cannot rem the name of the infant care centre. let me go see and i will give u all the full details later. i always just drive past and now they have upgrading, its all blocked up.

Cindy,
seems like yr regular tummy exercise works! Good for u! But gotta be careful now they know all these stunts.. need more supervision now.

I hope to witness more of such milestones before i went back to work.

S@l,
i hv accidentally knocked agst my gal head a few times already.. juz hv to be extra careful. Accidents do happen, so dun put all the blame on yrself.. its not easy being full time caregivers 24/7. Babies are much stronger then we think.

Sabrina,
I'm at Sembawang Walk, opposite the old sembawang shopping centre. Not sure where the Munchy Donut shop is. I moved here not too long ago actually, use to live on the opposite end of Singapore, next to Vivo. Still getting familiar w Sembawang now. :p Thanks for info on the infantcare. I go check it out.

Cindy,
Yay!! That's an exciting milestone. Now must make sure not to leave TRavis on any elevated space on his own already. How many weeks is Travis now? Am still waiting for my baby Jo to do the same.

Olivetree, S@L,
No prob.
If I do manage to drop by at the gathering on Wed, I'll bring for you.