(2007/11) November MTBs

Hi, I'm a Nov mommy. I've been reading the thread but seldom post.

My gal is drinking NAN1 HA currently and her poo is watery green, sometimes yellow and she poos twice a day. I heard from my friend that bb drinking FM should have soft stool instead of watery. Is this true?

Hallo ladies!

I sent my gal for her 1st 5-in-1 jab at the polyclinic on thursday, she came down with a fever yesterday. Boy, was she cranky and notti. Refused to sleep and just want ppl to rock her to sleep on her bouncer!

I really buey tahan those polyclinic doctors. Now, i understand y some ppl willing to pay alot extra to go to the PD for the jabs. Claire has a bit of blocked nose so i check with the doc whether Claire can still go for the jab.

The doc asked me this dumb qn,"How do u know ur baby has a blocked nose?" I was like WTF!!! Then, she continued,"Babies can't talk what, they can only cry... So how u know she has a blocked nose?" I really want to slap the doc.... Thruout, the examination of Claire, she was so rough... treating her like a doll.

Re: Baby being carried
Claire has started to want ppl to carry her and usually, i will "scold" her for that. Then, she will look at u with those bambi eyes like, "Y u dun carry me?" When my Mum "scold" her, she will make noises in retort.....

I told my Mum not to spoil her by carrying her and let Claire make those buey gum noise as long as its not major wailing!

At times, i also let her cry it out loud especially when all methods to pacify her has failed!

Babies are real smart, i observed Claire when she is in those tearing house down mode. She will wail and wail, then pause, open her eyes to see. Then continue wailing, once she realised noone is there to attend to her wails. She will stop crying and sometimes fall asleep. In fact, its quite entertaining at times to see her reaction even though the wails get on your nerves!

S@L,
My hubby refuses to use a sling.
Says it's too kuniang but at least the BBjorn he happily use.

Dokie,
The crib musical wll be a good investment I'm sure.
My baby loves lying in his crib and just watching it. Like macam kena hypnotised by the mobile sometimes, very funny.

Elaine,
Are you still seeing the breast surgeon? Pls let her know that your mastitis and lump is still there. She may think tt you'll be ok after the antibiotics but maybe you need something else. Did you have to go for surgery after all?
I've seen the Dr 4 times since Monday, 3 different doctors. The one at KK was the worse, didnt even bother to check my breast. Turns out I had mastitis after I stopped BF. Luckily, Dr Han at Raffles Women's Centre was very empathetic and she asked me to see her immediately to ensure it is not a breast absess. Fortunately, it was mastitis but not absess and she said if Sat still not feeling better see her again. It's important not to take mastitis lightly because it can very quickly elevate into something more serious like multiples absesses. I hope you feel better soon.

CAn really empathise w mummies who had trouble w BF after my own experience. I sometimes wonder why BFing seems so easy for some pple and yet so tough and problematic for others. My Dr very candidly said "suay lor". I wish I had found the right Dr who had diagnosed the root of my problem as thrush right away so I didnt have to put up with all the pain thinking it was normal, and eventually causing me to give up BFing. Hang in there girls, and I hope you have the loving support of your hubbies.

Oh, i forgot to mention that those crib musical and play gyms are quite effective in letting the babies play by themselves.

They will be so fanscinated by the colours and sounds.

hi twiggy,

it's so weird but for my BB Chloe, she doesn't seem to like musical mobile.
i put one on her yaolan (with windchime sound when moving) and she like very unhappy or displeased n kept wailing until i have to remove it! then a few minutes of rocking her yaolan, she'll be snoring away liao... hee hee...

As for play gym, she dun even wana see the cute little stuffs hanging over her head... sigh...

kaye and dokie:: yes the lights and sounds can serve to attract them but after a while, think 10mins, he gets bored liao HAHAHAHA!!! then the 'music' starts.

heh just to share, another travis when taking bath, he shocked me and MIL by standing up suddenly!! person bathin him is MIL. hehe

1207530.jpg

Cindy, Travis is so active. Claire is so lazy, on tummy, she will struggle and then wail. She refused to raise her head and exercise her neck muscles!

Re: Babies getting sick
Seems like many babies are sick, so is mine. My boy has cough and phelgm since last Wed, went to the PD but seems like no improvement. She said my boy is most likely having sensitive nose (like mine!) or a mild case of flu. Weird, cos none of my family member is sick and we hardly bring him out, so dunno what's the cause of it. And since my boy is still small, she only gave saline drop and nasal decongestant. May I know those whose babies are sick and having cough and phelgm, what did your doc prescribed?

My parents keep insisting that it's the FM that is causing the phelgm but the doc said it's not leh...sigh...see him cough I very heartache, last night cried when he coughed so badly

skye, we going to Tweeties place. somewhere near East coast area. leave ur email, i will send u the add.

3rd gathering for Nov 2007 mums
POT LUCK
23rd Jan, wednesday 12pm
Everyone's welcome!
Venue: Tweety's place
1. ueno - famous delicious soon kueh
2. S@L - prawn with fruit salad
3. Grace - chicken nuggets
4. Tinkabel (chocolate mousse cake)
5. Yoko
6. Gillian - pasta
7. tweety - sandwiches and beverages
8. PLim (cheesecake again?)
9. Catherine
10. starz
11. baby40
12.Skye skye

GOOD NEWS! I have figured out a way to fit my baby's huge pram into my tiny little car.... So, I will see you all this Wed.

Problem is, I really don't know what to bring... How about some CNY goodies? (early celebration hee hee hee).

cheryl

Cindy, travis puff up a little hor...:p
U going on 23rd?

Twiggy, alot of challenges to bf. Have to hang on. what I learnt is never be shy to seek help when have any difficulty. In my first child, I am super KS. A bit A bit pay money to go and see lactation consultant to clear my bf problem.

cindy,

travis looking more handsome liao leh... hee hee

k@ye,
my bb now likes bathing a bit more liao, besides kicking like a frog while on her tummy, she gets upset when we take her out of the tub too soon! hahaha...

RE: BB milk rash
my gal's face is so 'rough' and it's really disheartening. tried to just clean with boiled cool water (even spray with evian after cleaning) but seems like there's no improvement, and getting worst; can even see bit of open pores!! i dun know if it's really milk rash liao, could it be ecezema? any1 got any other remedies??

cindy, ur boy is so cute... and he's progressing really fast huh, able to hold his head up so well and even 'stand'!

was wondering for mommies who are still BF, is it ok to wear bras with underwire or we have to stick to wearing those without underwire? Heard before that bras with underwire will hamper with milk supply leh, is it true?

S@L, dokie,
wow, the website on the clothes looks good.. but is there any other easier way to view and find which one i like huh? a bit troublesome to scroll page by page and zooming in to see the pic leh...

S@L and dokie,

just wanted to share my experience on buying the clothings from ebay.

last year i did the same n order 3 dresses based on the pictures from one seller by the nick of ai*ei. when i received the dresses, was disappointed and upset coz of the followings:

1. size stated is actually smaller than their stated measurement

2. colors fabric is also different from the pictures; so expect it to be 2nd grade type. if they state chiffon, dun expect it to really be nice chiffon but those china-made ah lian type of fabric (it's true, end up i NEVER even wear those dresses)

3. quality issues - found 'hole' on one of the dress, and some loose strings/thread not properly sewn and again fabric is ah lian type. sigh!

So better check on the refund/return policies coz last time, i like kena 'cheated' like dat... dun wan u all to end up like me. Just my sharing!

dokie:: i wanna go ley but hubby and MIL nag nag nag when i say i want to bring out on my own. sigh. so i guess i can't again, unless it's on a wkend. sighs.

plim and s@l:: hahah thank you!! plim, yes that's what i heard too. like one of the ways to reduce milk or stop lactating is to wear underwire bra. hehe but don't know if it works.

Kittybride,
Buying stuff on ebay can be quite tricky. Need to really check the rating of the seller before you buy. But even then, sometimes when you come across a bad seller, bo pian. Depends on luck one. But ya true, it's good to choose sellers with return policies.

plim, the left side panel can select which catergory,e.g. tops, dresses etc..the click on the one u like, scroll down tt pg to see a bigger photo below.

btw better nt wear underwired..nt really abt reducing ss, but more worried it will cause block ducts.

kittybride,
i know wat u mean. i hv bought dresses in 'chiffon' material with such quality before. so far i only buy those in Free sizes n can stretch kind cos i agree with u tt the sizes usually nt tt accurate. but i know i cant expect the quality to be any fantastic cos looking at the price we can tell. for me i can still accept la cos nt particular abt tt. but hv nt come across tt bad ones. i think u're right tt its good to highlight tt to those who nvr purchased before cos nt everyone can accept the kind of standard.

Kittybride,
RE: BB Milk Rash
-> My boy has milk rashes since a month ago and when I went to see the PD for his 2nd jab, he said "it's normal" and told me that the rashes will disappear by itself. However recently the rashes have been really bad so I went to another PD and she told me that its ecezema, might be due to sensitive skin, milk rash, weather, etc..so she gave me option of giving my boy either steroid cream or non-steriod cream (protopic), I took the non-steriod cream of cos' cos steriod cream will thin the baby skin. Suggest if your baby's rashes still persist, better to consult the doc before they start to spread to the entire face.

re: bb milk rash
my gal also had rashes on her cheeks since wk 2 (i think)... it was pretty mild at first then became rather red, rough and angry-looking... all these lasted till only last wk when the rashes started to clear by itself...
did not apply anything to the rashes, what i did was to wipe the bb's face with warm boiled water during bath in the morning and night time wipe... also changed the mittens whenever dirty cos those are the likely causes of the milk rash...

S@L, thanks for the info on the clothing website... i realise that majority of these sites that are selling these clothing seem to fit the more petite sizes... sigh... too bad, my size has grown from S to M and now to L or even XL

huh, so means while i'm still doing BF, cannot wear underwire bras ah? very difficult to find nice looking non-underwire bras leh... need to find decent ones so that it will still look nice under my working clothes... do you know where i can get those?

kittybride,
my gal oso had some rash thingy, someone said it was milk rash so we tried to clean her face after her milk cos sometimes it gets over her face and she uses her mittens to 'clean' it. anyw my PD said to wash her face with the bathwater instead of the cooled boiled water. also gave me some cream to apply..gotta go check what it is..anyw in 2 days it cleared. i dun really know what rash it is but gd to check with yr PD.

S@L & dokie,
how to tell u which one i want? i have 2 i like

re: underwire bras
oh dear..i juz bought one! and now my size so different (cos i BF) i have to buy a new set of bras.
oh anywa i saw at Marks & Spencer, t-shirt bras at Plaza Singapura selling for half price (those were petite sizes so i couldn't fit into them..i used to be able to!), and also the normal ones on offer, buy one get the 2nd one half the price.

poissons, plim & skye skye,

thx for sharing...

my gal's rashes started some time back, so initial reaction was milk rash, oso consulted PD during her 1st month jab, same thg - PD said is normal n will clear off by itself. but ended up getting worst.

just dis aftn my MIL came by to see BB oso commented how come her face so 'rough' n red; etc.

skye skye,
wat's "bath water"? usually will clean BB face during her morning bath n evening will sponge her using mixture of cool boiled water n hot water (from the electric airpot).

can check for me the name of the cream given by your PD? can clear in 2 days, seems to be super effective hor.

plim, if u wan smooth cups ones can buy from MIM. go to their website and see. but i think better to go down to their showroom for a better fit.

i m mostly wearly mothercare nursing bras, although very exp but overall good. but i realise most nursing wear dun look good under clothes as they tend to 'wrinkle' up with breasts pads. so i started buying more tube bras with cup inserts. at least with these i can wear sleevelesss tops and BF is a breeze...plus the smoothness of the cup means no problem even wearing Tshirts.
I also came across some nursing bra tt comes with underwire. some mummies have mentioned they actually cut a slit and remove the wire. u might wan to try tt.

Plim, buy tops lo. dun buy dresses or try to get those cotton/stretchable ones.

Skye, same here...the thing i hate most abt BF is the increase in bust! so ugly now...cant wear dainty looking tops cos the bust always looks so 'huge'. although i have slimmed down to my pre preg, but cos of the bustline now, i still look very 'big'.now i cant wear all my bras too and have to buy new ones. so ijus buy tubes la since is cheaper and in future still can wear them.

as for the dress orders,u send PM/email to Dokiesim with the link included.

Hi Yoko,

Did your doc tell your what causes the absess? And how was the removal done for you?

can i use the cream if i am giving breast milk to my boy thru EBM? or perhaps if i can use it when i am not pumping?

Just got back from HK very late last night. Finally did some proper shopping without having to worry to rush home to see bb. HK having gd clearance sale... Lucky managed to get one of my colleague to bring back to SH for me haha.

Re: New bras
Yah me also need to get new bras.But still prefer the underwire bras, so still wearing them when going out. Only wear the non underwire nursing bras when at home. Just bought some Maidenform bras to try out. Quite like their cuts and pretty affordable.

My boy was difficult today. Woke up at 8AM and never sleep the whole day until 9 plus PM. Could tell he's tired but he just refused to sleep proper. So tired of taking care of him today, although I missed him so much being 2 days away from him. This morning I was playing with him, and he kept smiling at me. So sweet,melts my heart...

Think might not have the time to bake the cheesecake this time... changing to bringing potato salad...

3rd gathering for Nov 2007 mums
POT LUCK
23rd Jan, wednesday 12pm
Everyone's welcome!
Venue: Tweety's place
1. ueno - famous delicious soon kueh
2. S@L - prawn with fruit salad
3. Grace - chicken nuggets
4. Tinkabel (chocolate mousse cake)
5. Yoko
6. Gillian - pasta
7. tweety - sandwiches and beverages
8. PLim - potato salad
9. Catherine
10. starz
11. baby40
12.Skye skye

plim, u can try the soft-padded nursing bras from MIM. I got those and like them coz no matter how u fold the pads, they wont go out of shape or have crinkles. But i find the cutting abit tighter. HTH!

Kittybride, I am ok. I wont expect good quality with the price I am paying. If really not suitable, i will pass to my cousins who don mind or give it away. I really have no time to shop and prefer to buy online if I can.

Plim did u eat alot? How come u are expanding when u are bf?

Yoko, how was your slimming session? Effective?

I still have 4kg to clear...haiz. I can still squeeze into my existing office wear. I donno when I can confidently buy pre pregnancy clothes.

I am also looking for nursing bras. Feel sianz becos have to go and try.
Is it safe to buy online?

Tinkabel, my baby also didnt sleep from 5pm to 11pm. Kind of worried because he sleeps very little for baby.

Gathering, very tempted to go but dare not commit. My hubby said it is too far.
It would be nice to meet up and chitchat. Afterall we have been supporting one another through this forum during our preganancy days. It is time to "show face". Hee..hee

dokie,
do you mean 5AM to 11PM ? 5PM to 11PM is fine, cos usually my bb is awake the whole morning and sleeps after his noon feed all the way until 5PM in the evening. He stays awake the whole evening until his last feed around 10 plus or 11PM. But today is strange. Didn't sleep the whole day, quite unlike him, cos my bb sleeps quite a bit, although sleeping lesser now that he is getting older.

dokie,
oh, i think u misunderstood me... wat i meant was, b4 1st kid was S size, after 1st kid went to M/L size, now 2nd kid becomes L/XL size... sad right?

just got a few bottoms (work wear) cos tat day i tried my existing ones on, very tight like 'bah chang', not so nice lor...

tinkabel, from 5pm to 11pm. Ok is it?
anyway may be baby misses you as u were away.

plim, sad, I understand. For me is more on the weight. Size I am only up from S to M. Pre marriage, 47kg after marriage 52kg. Sign!
But I feel that too skinny also not nice. looks old. Must find the right weight and yet still look good. chime! :p

plim..hee..read the bah chang. Me too but cant buy leh in case lost some weight later on how?

It is kind of difficult this season because I have a sweet tooth and I can eat non stop cny cookies.
It was cakes and chocolate during nov and dec. Now it is chinese goodies..this time siao liao.
How to lose weight?

I'm also feeling a little jaded at the poor selection of nursing bras available. Bought 2 from Triumph and 3 from John Littles. Feel that the Triumph ones provide more support. Does anyone have any good brands to recommend that are reasonably priced? Around $30 plus?

S@l, where did you get your tube bras with cup inserts from? Did you buy them separately or together?

Re: Getting back in shape
I've abt 1kg more to shed before pre-pregnancy weight but I want to loose 2-3 more kgs and get more toned. Has anyone started working out at the gym yet? Think I will try to start working out tomorrow. Hopefully I can motivate myself the same way I did whilst preparing for my wedding. Those were the days when I went to the gym for lunch and ate apples when I was hungry. haha.

I was really tempted to get the baby bjorn carrier too but I'm afraid my boy will outgrow it soon. He's already 7kg. Currently, I'm surviving using the MIM sling and he's happy in it. Only thing is that my shoulder gets sore from carrying him after a while. Still undecided. For mummies who are using Baby Bjorn Active, is it really better than the original?

RE : Non-underwired bras
I had the same problem and was searching for nice bras without underwire whcih can allow me to wear my halter and tube tops and dresses. CAn try Victoria Secrets website, or buy tube bras. Those adventurous enough can even wear bikini tops as bras coz a lot of bikinis have no wire.

Dokie,
Me got sweet tooth too leh, very jialat. I've been eating donuts, cakes, tong sui, chocolates etc. In fact, my LC told me my thrush infection is perpectuated by my high sugar diet because yeast thrives in high sugar environment and asked me to cut down, but I couldnt leh. :p

dokie,
I think it depends. Think they say it's better to take short naps. But then my boy takes 1 long nap a day in the afternoon of 4 hours, so he is usually wide awake in the evenings until 10 plus PM. Hard to try to change his routine and also din want to change. Now at least I get my afternoons off to do some stuff on my own.

Not sure if bb misses me, but he's more difficult when I came back. Last night, he woke up during his night feed at 330PM and didnt go back to sleep until ard 5 plus. Me so zonked out now.

Tinkabel, does he sleep throughout now?

Twiggy, jia lar lor.. Donno how. Feel like eating cny goodies now but I have nothing at home. For me, I have no control which is bad. I eats non stop until I almost finish the whole tin.

kittybride,
hee..bath water is her normal bathing water (aka water + baby soap) that we put in her bathtub. my PD said her face a lil oily...so to use that instead of cooled boiled water. initially my gal's cheeks also looked like ezema...pinkish & dry. the cream my PD prescribed was "Canesten HC" cream by Bayer. i still use it for that occasional 'breakout' she has on her face. now her face finally looks like baby skin! phews!

S@L,
i can't believe my bust size so big now..frm A to C cup..geez..i still prefer my previous smaller busts...tho my hubby prefers otherwise. haha... yeah tubes are a good idea, i have 2 for now..but need to get more :p

plim, u can try sorella bras. i bought some non-underwired ones from there. Colours: light blue, pink, black and beige. i dunno the actual name of the bras, u can ask the counter staff there. it's one of their new products last year. they are very comfy and cheap. always having promo, buy 2 get 1 free.

S@L, where did u get ur tube tops? i bought 2 during my pregnancy, but can't wear them now loh...same issues...bust grow bigger. hehehe

another prob with breasts...one bigger than the other. sigh...super loopsided now! condition worsen after 2nd delivery!

twiggy, how's ur condition now? did u manage to stop the bm supply now? how's the pain? hope u are feeling better now. can understand the pain u went thru and gg thru. this week is quite smooth for me, no pain at all, only some small lumps. i dunno how long will this "honeymoon" period last for me.

mummies with 2 kids:

how do u cope? my elder one kept screaming nowadays, and it is really getting on my nerves! wanted to slap her at times, but of coz control myself. she is coming to 3 yo in march and i know she is still at the "terrible twos" stage, need alot of attention. but she is damn demanding at times. if i dun give in to her, she will scream like mad and wake my sleepy younger gal up.

do u all use cane? i am toying with the idea of using that to "scare" her. but my hubby forbid that.

how do u discipline your elder one?

having headache over this now.
kao_frustrated.gif

hi.. to those ladies who are experiencing lumps in their breasts due to breastfeeding.. just like to share my experience with u all...

i too am a nov mummy and i always logged in to read on the threads but seldom post.. hehe..

i hv to give up BF abt 3 weeks ago cos i hv abcesss.. initially, i only experienced blocked ducts,. and i being the smart alec, tot dat i can maybe try to 'cure' myself by massaging using hot compress and pump more regularly.. so i kept doing this for 1 week.. however, my problem did not go away.. my lump in fact became even BIGGER.. and i started to experience pain,.. finally i decided to see the doc...

the doc told me dat i hv abcess.. and its abt 6cm BIG!!! the only solution is either to go for an operation which u to be under GA and the wound cannot be sewed back after the op, u hv to let the wound heal by itself and to go back to the clinic to do dressing everyday....
or do aspirations (which is inserting a needle into the infected area and draw out the pus but hv to do at last 8-10 times due to the large lump)
she said dat if i hv gone and see a doc or a LC earlier, i might not hv to go thru all these.. anitbotics might be able to 'cure' it..

so my word of advice, do see a LC or doc if u gals are experiencing any lumps before its too late.. and if anyone of u need any doc recommendation, i can recommend my doc, Dr Karen Yap.. she is a breast specialist.. she is very gd and patient.