(2007/11) November MTBs

S@L, u mean the one carrying mischa is huimin?!!!! couldn't recgonise her without her specs! yes, i rem huiying is prefect, that's why familiar. hehehe...

for bm storage, i wrote the date, time of expressed and amount on the liner using marker, so can find the oldest bm loh.

Need help here.
My gal dun wan to sleep in e daytime. Tried all ways yaolan,pacifier all no use. Even if i carry her she will sleep but will wake up after 5mins. Going crazy soon still need to attend to my elder son. Mummies out there any solution for me? she can sleep very well at nite time just that day time dunnoe y she can't sleep.

Hi, Adeline, if u really wanna try a solution, i think the only one is try to estabish a routine for the child. Personally, however, I didnt do the routine thing cos i believe more in the nurturing method. My child's also cranky.. hahaha... some people will say i spoil my kid, but i think each kid is different and so long as he zzz well @ night then its fine. so it really depends on wat u want.

Re Holiday
I am gonna be stuck in SG i think... hahaha... cos got no $$, so probbly have to wait till he turns one.. earliest will be in Dec 08.. so I can spend more time to decide on destintion.

Lazycat, there is a spree in bulk purchase section for the Baby Bjorn now...otherwise can get from mothercare.i think 10% disc for SBI or FBI card.

olivetree, yah tats Huimin. BTW, She married

Dokie, yes i m interested, the clothes are quite similar to the ones i ordered. But before i buy anymore,let me wait till my loot arrives then see if it fits me. if ok then i will join u next time ok? Cos some say the cutting is more for smaller chested gals...now BF la, the bust up by 1-2 sizes so abit scared cant fit.

Can i jus check this seller we jus need to click buy now and pay thru paypal? no minimum required?
gillian, i PM u and send u email le...did u receive?

Gillian, i tried to PM and email u, but cant get u le. Do u wan me to pass the desitin to u at Tweetie's place or mail to you? pls email me or sms me ok? i dun hv ur contact. sori

Hi Lots of posts to read... Had been really busy with work these few days. Also company DnD and so many events going on. At nite also need to look after my cranky boy. I tin now at 2 mths all bb are cranky. Hehe. Mine wans to play and refuse to sleep. When he is so tired and wanted to get some sleep he will cry his head off. Need abt 4 adults to pacify just a little boy.

Twiggy, Sorry for late reply. Mine took abt 2-3 days to stop BM. I suggest that u can take pain killers. I know is very suffering during this period but just have to tolerate. If yr breast still engorge and got lumps, pls go and see the LC immediately. Maybe they still can massage it out. Mine need to attend Breast Surgeon cos is pretty bad already. I had prescription of anti biotic fr Dr Joy Lee to see if it subside after the course dan decide whether to operate. Cos the process can be damn painful. luckily she is pretty good not asking me to do it immed.

Don't feel bad. I felt that way when i stop my BM. I was force to give up too. Cos of rashes , acne and .... I felt sad and very guilty as well. My flow also really gd. Too bad...
. But after awhile u will feel so relax. pls don't mistaken I am not encouraging anyone to stop BF. If u can that will be the best. If u can't due to certain reasons I tin u have no choice. Cos if u insists and continue, u will feel very lousy. At the end of the day u won't be happy at all. Sad mummy = sad bb. BB can feel yr emotion as well and all the people around u will feel bad too. Like me, when i stop BF or EBM, I can go and colored my hair, go shopping wo worrying tat my breast will engorge and just enjoy a glass of wine after dinner...dun have to worry abt what u can eat or u can't.

S@L, Maybe u would like to spare me yr extra BM. I dun mind. I can pick it up u during the gathering if not too troublsome for u. Or I can pick up from yr place.

Regarding yao lan,
I usuallu use yao lan in the morning and afternoon when bb at my mom's place. At nite i will just leave him on his baby cot or my bed. As I dun wan him to get use to yaolan and depend on it. Maybe u would like to try this method. It work for my son.

Pacifier, i also let my son use. But he is not hook to it. Only when abt to sleep dan use. After that he will just spit out. Don't worry too much abt all this issues. As long as bb is happy I tin we will be stress free.

Gatherings,
If anyone stay Tampines or East, that needs a lift feel free to let me know....

SS@L, opps, sorry I wanted to reply but once i shut down the com, i forgot completely.. U can pass the ccreams to me when we meet at Tweety's place. Thanks yya.

LazyKat, u can also get Baby Bjorn at The First Few Years.

1. elephant noises when sleeping.

anyone of you having babies that makes lots of noises when sleeping? my baby makes lots of elephant noises when asleep. i wonder if he is actually sleeping or not, if i should just leave him alone since his eyes are shut, or if he will outgrow it?

2. pimple on aerola

any mummies here develop a pimple on their aerola? i am expressing bm. and there seemed to be a pimple on my aerola. this pimple liked thing has no 'head' and can get painful like a full blown pimple at times.

Lazykat,
The fever has subsided and not as painful anymore, thankfully. My gyne asked me to see her again yesterday and found that I have mastitis, but thankfully it did not develp into an absess.

Btw, you can get the Baby Bjorn sling from Mothercare. If you have the members card, can get discount. I find it very useful and very very easy to use. Highly recommend it.

Yoko,
Haha! I was laughing at your statement about "4 adults to pacify one baby". Heee...it's funny how a small little thing like that can get and demand so much attention.

I'm feeling much better today,thanks. I had high fever last two days and turned out i had mastitis but I think the worst is over (fingers crossed). Just waiting for pain to slowly subside and still using cabbages and cold compresses now.

Pig07,
My baby makes all kinds of strange noises when he sleep too. I think it's during the "active phase" of his sleep. It can go on for about and hr or so and he'll toss and turn a lot and make like what you call "elephant noises". Sometimes he grunts and chirps and sounds like a velociraptor. Quite funnny. I think it's quite normal, and they'll outgrow it. If not, never mind lor, quite funny to listen to it.

hahaha pig:: i think my bb also makes those noises. in the night. i just leave him be until i hear the first cry then i carry him up. haha, the noises get more prominent in the morning like say 7+am, think he's gathering momentum to shit! haahaha...

here's travis taking bath:
1205772.jpg

hi ladies, my gal is 7 weeks old but when i tried feeding her ebm (cos she has to take colic med), she drinks only 70 ml. this is a 2.5 - 3 hour feed. her weight gain is fine so far and she poos about twice a day.

is this alright? cos i read that some of your babies drink much more than 100 ml already.

sad sad sad...my gal down with fever yesterday....so poor thing only 2 and half month and fall ill liao...all the adults fault...spread virus in the hse and her daddy also cough still carry her...whole nite never sleep keep monitor her temp...heartbroken liao...so little yet need take med...
now finally understand why her appetite dropped...coz she is catching all the virus sigh

Thanks mummies on the advise on where to get the Bjorn sling.. cos baby enjoys us carrying her in that sitting position while she see see look look.. and she is getting too heavy to carry nowadays.. she is a drinker - 5oz of FM every 4 hr, 5 feeds. Is that a lot? cos i follow the FM recommendation for a baby of 2mth+.. and she can actually finish leh, no posseting watsoever.. dun think its growth spurts either. I guess juz hv to monitor as time goes by..

Adeline,
my gal hardly sleeps more than 1hr in the daytime recently, its mainly catnaps here and there. Luckily for me, i hv 2 doting PIL entertaining her, but not sure how long their stamina can last, ha.

Twiggy,
glad to hear that the worst is over
- Yoko, u juz reminded me that i hvnt touch a glass of wine for a long, long time.. shall indulge in a glass of champagne very soon too.

winwin,
at this vulnerable stage, really hv to restrict the number of people carrying the baby, esp if they are unwell. Flu and cough are worst cos airborne - so muz say NO to caregivers, if really no choice, then ensure they observe high levels of hygiene from wearing masks all the time to ensuring they wash their hands before handling baby.

lazykat,
haiz really tried to avoid as much as we can..but the virus just came...it started from my dad..then my hubby ..then the hse full of virus so everyone abit sick here and there but already tried our best to keep the air circulation as good as possible...and put on masks as well...we actually tot of sending her to in law's place to hide away from the virus but end up in law there everyone also sick...so bo bian

haiz...first time mother facing her first time fall ill daughter...

S@l, I saw the BP, its selling Bjorn carrier air for $155, is that really a gd deal? But can only carry up to 11.3kg.. not sure if its worth to buy. Can i do a quick survey to ask mummies who are using this brand - which model did u get?

Lazykat, Yoko,
Ya, I can't wait to have my first glass of wine.

Lazykat,
I bought mine from mothercare at either $179 or $199, can't remember. It's the more expensive material, grey one which is made of a more breathable material so less warm. If it's the same one, $155 seems a good deal. Yeah, it's a pity can only be used till 11.3kg but I find it very useful. When baby whinging all day, I can just chuck him in it and carry on whatever I'm doing. But then again, sling also.... I never use sling before, so can't compare, sorry. I bought this carrier so my hubby can use as well. Sling a bit too kuniang for hubby to use.

Hi pig07, the elephant noises should be quite common cos I read aomewhere that babies do produce a lot of weird sounds when asleep. This is common and the site advises parents/ caregivers not to disturb the child by responding too quickly.

LazyKat, I bought two slings and the Baby Bjorn carrier, cos my child refuses to be in the sling. haha... he loves it in the carrier and both my hubby and myself enjoy carrying him in it, cos he's so smiley in the carrier. I bought the ACtive one for the lumbar support. Cant remember how much but there was a 20% discount when i bought it from First Few Years at KK. U can call both shops and ask for their px. that's what I did b4 going down to get it straight and ran off.

BTW, do i remember someone asking for PT helper contact??

lazykat,
i bought the Active model for lumbar support. They have a new model called Synergy, its the Air model(breathable material)+lumbar support. I would have gotten that if i dont have one.

Re: Drinking Wine
Although im TBF, i actually drank 2 glasses of champagne on Christmas Eve n 2 more on Christmas Day. My doc said a little is ok n try not to feed baby right after that, wait after 2hrs. I drank it at 7.30pm and my boy sleeps at 7pm till next morning,so i guess thats more than enough. The alcohol would have been gone by then. Yummy...hehe

My doggie has been found this morning
Thanks so much if you have helped to distribute this information.
I am so thankful tat she has been found. Last nite, i was still thinking abt her & cried myself to sleep.

lazykat,
i got the BBjorn Air version. the new version synergy that Ueno mentioned is very cool. i saw it in the mothercare store but it is really expensive at $299. the active version with lumbar support is selling at around $230. so see which one u prefer. u should bring baby down to try. Saw it in Mothercare Parkway parade.

Catherine..
good news that you found your doggie. now u can sleep properly.

girls, aiyo i want to complain.. i went to parkway parade shopping centre's nursing room. their nursing room can lock one. then u know what i found inside there.. 2 students locked themselves inside..doing i dont know what... now the students so smart one can use nursing room do hanky panky. i knocked on the door and they came out and NOT SHY>>>> the girl still say baby so cute. the boy was OBVIOUSLY irritated and best part is they are in school uniform.. so lihai hor..

reading about the bjorn.. i am quite keen. But would it seemed like the baby's thigh area will be 'clamped' or 'cut' by the side of the carrier?

I am currently using sling..but ah i really cant use it when i am alone. I need someone else to help me carry baby out of the sling or place baby in the sling.

grace, ueno,
$299 is out of my budget leh, din intend to splurge, since its mainly to carry baby when we are out and lazy to lug stroller.. also DH sure will complain seeing that MIM sling untouched, and still wanna splurge on this carrier.. i will somehow drag him to mothercare outlet to look see look see, tho he always comment the things there ex, in particular the stroller.

pig07,
u can check this BP.. think still on bah.
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1115080.html

Hi Pig07,
The BBjorn carrier has adjustments I think so you can adjust to your baby's size. At first I found it hard to put baby in and out too (in is harder) but now what I do is wear the sling on one side first, all clipped up, then put him in and just clip the other side. Like grace said, go try out at the shop in case your baby doesnt like it. Since it's so ex, will be a waste if baby doesnt want to use it.

Is the BBjorn carrier meant for our walking use only? Can i not remove the carrier and have the baby in it while seated?

RE; bb carrier,
i also thinking of getting one although i already have 3 slings ! hahah..cos sling i cannot tahan the weight, usually only sling Mischa when i go down stairs to buy some food etc. cant sling her for long. And she dun really like sitting in the stroller now so i tot of getting one for myself to bring her out.

Babybjorn is indeed very expensive. but looks cool compared to other brands. However i saw tt Combi also has a sling $149. Anyone used tt before? Any comments?cos i saw it has multi position. There is also another type of sling by Mothercare care called the 3 position carrier? my concern is how long the sling can last cos bb getting heavier each day, even can hold up to 11kg, i doubt i can take tt wt on my shoulders too...dilemma again...

I wan to scream! Today is my really unlucky day. Early in the morning sent my gal to my mum place, and my son to school so tt i can follow my hb to visit the job sites. AS we were in a rush, i didnt have time for my daily morning pump. so i quickly packed my Avent uno pump and went outthinking i can find a shopping mall aft i drop off the kids and pump.

so i latched Mischa while during the car journey heading to Tiong bahru plaza, and by the time i reached the place, was very engorged already.I searched high and low for the nursing room, hoping to find one with lock. in the end only 1 nursing room on 5th flr and next to the management office AND it cannot be locked! besides tt it was stuffy and smelly inside. so no choice, have to pump in the ladies.

So i quickly setup my pump, remove clothing already then realise tt i forgot to bring the battery out for my elec pump. Also didnt bring the manual parts which i usaully will remember jus in case run out of battery. So i bo bian, very lazy to pack my things and go buy batteries. So i resort to using my hands!

while <strike>pumping</strike> squeezing, i was thinking i cant give this BM to Mischa cos nt so 'clean'. maybe my son can take it since he is older, no need too clean'...hahaha...so i happily <strike>pump</strike> squeeze away.in the end managed to squeeze out 4oz of BM and hands already aching like mad so i decided to stop although have nt emptied my breasts. so i pour my milk into the milk bag which i brought along and then place into my Fridge-to-go. Then realise tt there is a pc of tissue paper inside the btl! I cleaned my breasts of the drips while i was squeezing, so i guess some of the tissue acidentally dropped into the btl....so cant even give to my son...have to throw...wah by then i very sian liao..all my hard work down the drain....

sorry for the ranting...today is really nt my day.

S@L, at least u clear your boobs. It will not affect supply later on.

I am very stressed up. My baby always wants to be carried. We carried from 11am to 430pm then he dozed off. Very shiong. I am worried for my caregivers when I return to work.

I bomian went to kiddy palace to buy a crib musical mobile for him. It costs me $61.
haiz. Hopefully this small investment can save us some time and energy as he can play by himself.

dokie, who will be the caregiver? BB mischa is better now..she dun really need to be carried tt often anymore..but she likes to 'talk'...she want alot of attention....wah ur boy so demanding needs to be carried so long? maybe u wan to consider getting a swing for him. me and hb almost wanted to cos there was a period when Mischa kept wanting to be carried, put down wil wail till we carry her up again. there is this FP swing, will swing by itself when bb cries....i still thinking of buying this..can convert to a toddler rocking chair...hehehe..

S@L, my parents but most of the time would be my mum. Very worried she cant cope.
By the way u staying with your MIL, how come baby mischa is looked after by your mum?

Dokie, cos my mum is a better caregiver

sorri for being crude/rude, but i can't stand the way my MIL takes care of kids...and i dun really communicate with her so if bb under her care, i will be very sad and sure quarrel with her....cos i hv seen those kids she babysitted last time during me and hb courtship days...i cant imagine my kids tt way....

S@L, my parents but most of the time would be my mum. Very worried she cant cope.
By the way u staying with your MIL, how come baby mischa is looked after by your mum?

sorry double post.

oic .If our own mother looks after, we can tell her off if she does things not our way. Somehow MIL difficult.

dokie and s@l:: my boy also wants to be carried all the time. day time me and MIL take turns to carry him. hand really aching and worse is, he will 'look' for me to carry him at times. when MIL carries him, he will cry like mad until i carry him over. sigh. i worry what's gg to happen when i go back to work.

Hi Cindy,

hearing from you all, i cant agree more that our little ones are beginning to 'recognise' people/places/things and choosing who to carry them.

my CL leaving next saturday. i hve already began my routine of taking care of my boy in the nite. really not easy especially it can be disturbing when i hear him make those grunts/elephant noises and also tossing his head.

haiz very sad my mastitis still din go away,... 1 week oreadi... been on antibiotic for 1 weelk oreadi n the lump still there but seen smaller... this afternoon suddenly nipple very painful duno y... izit blocked duct again... so sad.... duno wat to do... tiring of this issue oreadi...

wow, been MIA for a few days and so many posts to catch up... finally finished reading them!

went on a short break with hb and elder gal to taiwan... decided not to bring the little one along as dun think we can manage a trip with a tod and a little baby...
luckily i brought along both the avent manual pump and the Ameda pump (on battery) so that i can still pump at least 5 times a day... whatever i pumped out i actually gave it to my elder gal (so very little wastage :D)
was a bit hesistant to give her entire bottle of EBM cos not sure if she would be able to take it or not, but since it will either be wasted by pouring away or her not drinking it, i decided to give it a try... luckily she was ok with it, but i was very careful not to let her see me pour the EBM into her bottle :p

oh, and of course i missed the little one... when i came back, i carried her, and she was smiling at me, so sweet... (dunno if it's bcos she juz had her milk or if it's seeing me... keke)

re: baby falling sick
read that so many bbs here have fallen sick... so poor thing, hope all of the sick bbs get well soon...
on the 3rd day of my trip, my mum told me Bevis started to have running nose and little bit of cough, luckily did not develop fever but i was quite worried... my mum told me likely she caught it from the maid who was starting to fall sick (but din tell my mum!) and she happened to carry Bevis the whole day that day cos of some construction work going on in another unit!
My mum was so pissed off and told the maid off... that she shld say if she's sick cos bb is very vulnerable one... so angry!
lucky now Bevis is much better, occasional sneeze only...

re: slings and carrier
i hv 2 slings and 1 carrier... all hardly use (the most often used one was the carrier) as we prefer to carry bb by hand instead of using carrier as i often find it straineous on the shoulder and back and also very mah-fun to put baby in and taking them out...

Slings and carrier:
I have used the Baby Bjorn Original for my first kid and my advice is better to get the Active or the more expensive version where there is more support for the back. The Original cannot make it loh if ur baby is heavy... :p

btw, any mummies used the Ergo carrier before? Heard a lot of good reviews abt it eventhough looks-wise, to me, it's very obiang... keke!

gloomybear and elaine,
once the lump become smaller, it is a good sign cos will subside eventually.

Pig07, if there is no head u better be careful. It maybe a absess not pimple. if u can see it now, try to squeeze it out or use a needle to prick it. if not like me, have to cut and remove.

plim,
my bb also fall sick. so poor thing cough for 2weeks liao. my dad started it 1st and he spread to my bb. he was sick and he carried my bb w/o wearing mask. i'm so angry when my mum told me.