(2007/11) November MTBs

wow, so many posts today... took some time to read.

Re: SAHM
Hmm, my hubby also asked if I were interested. In fact, most of our sporean friends in shanghai that have kids, the wives are all SAHM. Sigh, but think that is not for me. I need time alone for myself as well. Don't think I can face bb 24 hrs a day for a prolonged period of time. I will prob get very cranky

olivetree, yah do go check out the pigeon FTG. I am using it, so far so good. Intend to use this to store BM when pumped out in office as I cannot imagine using the common fridge in the pantry to store BM.

tinkabel,
can you hire a maid in Shanghai ? Other than being financial independent and being ah soh....SAHM with maid is good. I will call that "Tai Tai".
I am going back to work tomorrow. So stress now.

GATHERING:
I am thinking of taking leave to go for the gathering. Let me go back work to see how much thing is waiting for me to decide

gloomybear,
my part-time cleaner does service for the katong area only. the other i asked if she's available for other jobs but her schedule is packed. i can ask her again. r u staying around this area?

re: SAHM
to me, my baby is 1st priority so i choose to be SAHM. No regrets, for me, thats my 1 n only choice. i cant imagine my mother or mil bringing up my baby. i want to be there for them, i eat,live n breathe my kids. cant get enough of him. Of cos, now is only Leroy but the rest are on the way! Looking forward....
It really boils down to personal choice.

baby40, gillian,
re;driving baby

i drove around with baby alone since day 1. No problem. u will find that when baby's crying the motion of the moving car will help calm him down. Dont panic when baby starts crying cos when yr car starts moving he stops! Try it!

3rd gathering for Nov 2007 mums
POT LUCK
23rd Jan, wednesday 12pm
Everyone's welcome!
Venue: Tweety's place
1. ueno - famous delicious soon kueh
2. S@L - prawn with fruit salad
3. Grace - chicken nuggets
4. Tinkabel (chocolate mousse cake)
5. Yoko
6. Gillian - pasta
7. tweety - sandwiches and beverages
8. PLim (cheesecake again?)
9. Catherine
10. starz (tentative)
11. baby40
12. starz

3rd gathering for Nov 2007 mums
POT LUCK
23rd Jan, wednesday 12pm
Everyone's welcome!
Venue: Tweety's place
1. ueno - famous delicious soon kueh
2. S@L - prawn with fruit salad
3. Grace - chicken nuggets
4. Tinkabel (chocolate mousse cake)
5. Yoko
6. Gillian - pasta
7. tweety - sandwiches and beverages
8. PLim (cheesecake again?)
9. Catherine
10. starz
11. baby40

superhappymummy,
Yah can hire a Ah Yee. But then hard to find trusted ones. Cos hear of stories u come home and they are gone with the kids. Somemore, China so big, hard to find them if gone. So my PILs are going over to help us for a few months, then bring my mum up. Will decide whether to hire more help later.

Re: driving with bb
Yah agree with ueno. One of the good ways to calm a crying bb is to bring him on a spin in the car. They like the motion, like rocking them. My bb always fall asleep when travelling in the car.

Is it ok to bring 6 months old baby for vacation? any risk?
I am thinking of going japan in april with family. Havent speak to PD yet. wondering anyone can share any experience heard of or personally encountered.
thanks in advance.

dokie,
i brought my baby to Melbourne when he was 6 weeks old! We enjoyed ourselves n had a great time! PD said its ok so it depends on whether u are comfortable with the idea

dokie,
dun worry, bb can travel as young as 3 weeks old as long as he is healthy (according to my gynae and PD). I am bringing my bb back to Shanghai after CNY, which he will be 3 months.

my bro's dog went missing since yday morning. my bro brought her (the dog) to his gf hse yday & she ran away. till now still cant find =( she ran away a few times before but she was in my parents' house vicinity (familiar grounds) so she was found quite fast. now this time, i doubt can find her back anymore since she never went to his gf hse before & she never went missing for so long before.

i feel so sad (crying now). she was my best soulmate during my most down period. when i go back to my parents' hse, she is one of the "person" i missed the most. i haven seen her since i gave birth. Looks like i wun be able to see her anymore *SOB* *SOB*

Catherine, dun give up hope. My dog ran away too cos the automatic gate opened in the middle of the night. We put up posters and drove through the estate but to no avail. A couple of days later, some kind soul turned her in to the SPCA and they placed an advert in the classified ads. Can try looking out for that or calling SPCA. My doggie now has a chip implanted. She ran from our house in holland v to hougang! Can you imagine?! In any case, I know how you feel.

Wah Sabrina, your gal is heavier than my boy at 10 weeks. He was only 6.7kg then.

I have been down with a cold and sore throat since yesterday. sigh...think this illness has affected my BM supply - It has decreased substantially. Feel sad cos all the while I have been blessed with oversupply of BM.
Any mummies experienced this sudden decrease in BM?

michviv,

wow ur doggie must have quite an adventure tat time. my bro just called to say some1 spotted our dog. really hope he can find her this evening after he knocks off from work. thanks

i'm still recovering from cold & cough. my milk ss din decrease alot. maybe only 50ml lesser per day? i think the best way is to have lots of rest & take loads of water during this time. when my mum is not ard to help me, i sleep whenever my baby sleeps. hahaha

S@L,tinkabel,michviv,
I'm also surprised at my baby gal's weight. At 8 weeks, she has to wear size M big-cutting diaper already coz her thighs damn fat le! Feel like biting into them! keke!

Catherine, take care and abt ur dog, don give up hope.

RE : Stinging sensation
I've always get the stinging pain when I'm having letdown. I use to think it was unusual, didnt realize so many of you have that too.

I started taking the med to stop lactation on Mon afternoon and since then have been in pain. Breasts are painful from engorgement but to make matters worse, from time to time, there is sharp shooting pain every few seconds. This lasts for an hr or so and is excruciating! I went to see another gyne who gave me ponstan for the pain. Really cant' wait for the pain to subside.

Yoko, Lazykat,
Can I ask, how long does it take for the engorgement to start going down? Dr says I'm one of those cases that will need another dose of anti-lacation tablet next week. So sad...

michviv,
i had sore throat yesterday too..and i was tired and in need of a nap, but baby wasn't sleeping well, plus she was wanting to nurse every 2 hours. when i tried pumping in the evening, it was only 80ml from 2 sides.
usually i can pump about 150ml.
i think i was stressed too..cos my mil not around to help & hubby only back at night. it's better today..but one side like still not much supply leh...

Twiggy,
mine was really bad for 2-3 days, cant sleep well as well, but i put a lot of cabbages for comfort to beat engorgement, the stinging pain wont go away until quite sometime cos usually will get it when there's let down (I was taking this anti-swell medi call danzen concurrently - 2 wks of it).. understand the pain that u r currently going thru, cos i was also black faced during those few days cos super uncomfy. Thereafter, will be the farnie sore/soft breasts that u will hv to get used to.. but once over, its sunshine after rain. Hang in there!

Twiggy, I know how uncomfortable engorgement must feel but to experience the shooting pain for an hour or so sounds quite terrible. I do hope it goes away soon.

Sabrina, I know how you feel, when I went to the PD last week, she said my boy was at the 97th percentile but she told me his weight will slow down soon and may even drop a little when I go back to work. My husband insists he has gotten thinner ever since I fell sick. Wanted to feed him more. Now my boy is drinking 120-130mls of BM per feed.

skye skye, I know how you feel. usually, after latching, I will be able to pump 80-100mls from both breasts. Now only half that amount. Maybe my boy is drinking more and I'm still getting used to his new demands but my breasts just don't feel as full leh. hai...

Yay! American Idol starts tonight!

Michviv, dun be so hard on yourself lah! As long as your son is gaining weight... Dun stressed yourself!

My daughter was in the 97th percentile when she was 2 mths old and now she has fallen to the 50th percentile after a month... But PD says sge is growing fine.. So, i also bo chap!

Now i just want to balance out work & babysitting arrangement! Complaint abt it the next time!

Have a good evening ahead!

Sabrina,
Yeah, I think it's because my supply was good before i stopped BF. Dr was reluctant to give me Dostinex to stop BF but advised me to do it gradually but I stubborn.

Lazykat,
This is the second day already. Hopefully after tomorrow the engorgement and pain will subside. I had a fever as well this afternoon. Is that normal? I'm already on antibiotics leh...

Ueno, I stay in thomson/novena area... guess that's out of the way for your p/t maid

Re SAHM:
If given a choice, I would wanna be one. I don't mind going without a maid. But my mum and hubby are strongly against it. Mum says that I should be out there earning money after all the money that my parents have spent sending me overseas :p and that woman should have their financial independence (speaking from her own experience). And as for my hubby, he's afraid that I become "ah soh". hahah
But if I have my #2, i would definately want to be a SAHM, with a maid :p
I somehow observed that kids with SAHM are more well behaved. Maybe cos most of my neices are brats. (they are taken care by mil, or maids).

RE travelling:
I'm also plannin to bring my BB to japan in either March (when she's 3month plus old) or May/June (about 5month plus) as my hubby won free tickets. Can't bear to leave her alone in Singapore. Still thinking whether to go in march or may. Any suggestion?
Ueno, is there anything that I should take note of when bring bb overseas? And when the plane and ascending and desending, does that pressure cause pain to bb's ear drums?

Elaine,
Just called Doris to ask if I should see her to see if she can help w my engorgement now. She mentioned you and sends her regards. She was wondering how you're doing after you saw her and I told her what happened. Hope you're feeling better.

RE SAHM:
I would love to be SAHM actually even tho the thought of spending time with baby 24/7 seems like madness i think there are ways to cope with it. but i'll still need to work, at least till we are more comfortable financially (still paying off reno installments & other debts). but for my no.2 i'll surely hope to be SAHM...just that i think it's gonna be crazy taking care of 2 kids. i think even tho i hav my mil to help, i feel it's impt that i can guide my children..after all no one does it better or cares for our children more than ourselves.

michviv,
hope our supply will come back again! my right side like still not much..weird.

I will consider being SAHM. Wanna go back to work 1st and then re-consider from there.
I am also not feeling well. I may take MC tomorrow. Milk supply also dropped. Sigh....already not much...drop again... no more liao.

gloomybear,
i guess u've to be prepared to bring all the baby stuff there . do bring extra cos u never know, eg diapers,wipes.. My boy is TBF n i latch him on all the time so i find it quite easy to move around n i need not worry abt bringing bottles n sterilizer etc. For take off n landing,i breast feed him so no problem. U can also try giving yr baby the pacifier if ur using one. When they suckling it helps relieve air pressure.

S@L, thanks for the link again! i find alicia familiar...she's from ur class?

during those times in cross country, i think i spoke more to huimin, coz she very cartoon, i liked to disturb her. hehee..

wow, u store ur milk so nicely! for me, i just throw them in the fridge. very messy lah.

re: stinging pains
thanks for the replies on the stinging pains, at least i know i am not the only odd one here. heng ah...this is not a sign of LUMPS forming.

panda eyes
i only have 3 hours of sleep last night. bb still can't differentiate days from nights. day time i tried to wake her up more often but she can't last more than 1 hour each time. today still the same so i think i will be night guard again.... haiz! when will this end?!! really envy mummies whose bb can sleep thru now.

olivetree, Alicia(huiying) used to be a prefect like u tats why u find her familiar

i hv to put my milk tat why le, otherwise how to find the oldest milk first? u can ?

ooppps, Olivetree, the names nt respectively as in the photos le...kekekee...the one next to me is actually Huimin aka Chelsea...i go update the picture w/ names again...

ueno, tinkabel, S@L,
I am the kancheong, paranoid , protective type. I am not sure whether I should bring baby. However, If I don bring him, I wont enjoy my vacation. haiz!
I have extended leave from maternity leave and so tot of getting away.

dokie,
maybe u can consider a resort vacation? In that case, u will be always in the resort if u need anything u can always go back to yr room. It should be fun for yr older child too.

ueno, i am thinking of japan because always have the perception that it is clean country. backup plan is perth but I have been to perth 3 times already. so a little sianz.
Melbourne I went there this year may 07. other parts of australia I am not interested.
resort vacation, no leh because I am not an outdoor person. I don like the SUN...:p

Hiya I've got my laptop back from the service center, turned out it was a faulty upgrade memory chip!!!!

I'm also considering a short trip with baby. I don't want to take him far, so a beach resort like Bintan is ideal, at least if I get paranoid about anything I just need to hop on the ferry. My main concern is the sun's glare and the heat...prob means I will be indoors most the time with Luis, while my older son and their father frolic on the beach!
I think a must-have is the steam steriliser, I'm BF but I still use the bottle now and again, so for the trip I intend on bringing the steriliser, car seat, stroller, sunblock, mozzie spray, bottled water, thermometer, plasters, calpol....the kitchen sink....etc....

RE: gathering

I think the turn out for this gathering is much better than the last, looks like theres loads of food too. We still have open invites for anyone who still wants to join.

Gloomybear,
I think if you're thinking of Japan, May is better than March. March is end of winter / start of spring and can still be a bit cold in most parts of Japan. You will need to bring warm clothing etc for baby which is very troublesome lor.

Tweetie,
You very funny... kitchen sink... haha!!
But it's true, a lot of nonsense to bring come think about it. I'm going back to NZ w hubby and baby next month and just thinking about logistics for the flight is a nightmare. Gotta call SQ to find out about baggage allowance for baby etc. Plus, whether can bring bottles of milk etc. Now flying regulations are so different.

RE : Being SAHM
I kinda agree w Gloomybear's parents actually. It feels like a bit of a waste to have spent so much money and effort on our education just for us to become a housewife. Like study so hard in school to do well in A levels, O levels, uni etc, then in the end become housewife seem so pointless. But I told myself my education allows me to be a better mum as I can impart my knowledge to my kids. So it's not totally a waste. I think my ideal situation would be to be a SAHM with a maid, and still have the time to do some part-time work from home or run my own business.

RE : Taking baby for vacation
Some friends are suggesting to go on trip w them to Bali in April. By then, baby's five months old. You reckon tt's alright? Hubby and I are also having bad withdrawal symptoms from diving. We thought the easiest might be to go to a place like Maldives where the dives are just an hour two away from the resort and we can take turns going for dives. But not sure when is considered "safe" to bring baby to such places.

Yoko,
I recall you mentioned earlier that after taking Dostinex to stop lactation, you had lumps that need to be massaged, but not stimulated...How to do so ah? My breasts still very engorged and painful. Last night, I had to go KK in middle of the night to get painkillers, and I got fever again. Wondering if I now got mastitis and I'm suppose to do something about it rather than just leaving it. Doesnt' seem to be getting any better, but worse.
My poor hubby now has to look after the baby totally on his own, plus juggle his own work from home.

wow seems like a lot of mummies are going for some trips! guess its becos of the long preggy days and sleep deprivation that we mummies have the urge to 'getaway'. hahaha...hb had been pestering me to go for a holiday when i was preggy. but i was too heavy and lazy and scared in fact, to move ard then. now i really want to go somewhere for a short trip but most prob will bring my 2 tods along and my parents too so tt we have more hands to help.

Wow! Everyone seems to be planning for really far getaways. With the oil prices as high as they are, I don't think we'll be going anywhere very far till my boy turns 1. We're just planning to stay at a hotel when he's 3-5 months, a 3day 2 night cruise and maybe a short getaway to Malaysia - perhaps Cameron highlands later in the year.

I think the hardest for me will be the trips I have to make abroad once I go back to work. Really worried about how my boy will manage without me. But I guess we'll cross the bridge when we come to it ya?

hello ladies,

I am organising a bulk purchase on the following baby sling.

It's very useful, fuss free with no tying. Interested, pls pm me . Retails at $42.90, selling now at $35.90 (include normal postage)

1204066.jpg

Twiggy,
if i rem correctly, my gynae asked me to take panadol shld i develop fever. Does putting cold compress/chilled cabbages help at all for u? Stinging pain will linger longer as so long u hv letdown, the pain will come.

Re: Baby sling
kinda give up on my MIM sling.. thinking of getting another.. i rem someone mention Bjorn carrier or smtg.. can i get it fr robinsons/JL?