4. Tinkabel (chocolate mousse cake)
5. Yoko
6. Gillian - pasta
7. tweety - sandwiches and beverages
8. PLim (cheesecake again?)
9. Catherine
10. starz (tentative)
11. baby40

Ueno, I need the address cos I forgot how to travel there liao. This time, i will be attempting to drive there with my baby in car seat alone. the last time I took a cab. please sms me at 91548677.. thanks.

Dokie,
Already seen LC a few times. Doris, my LC taught me a method of hand expressing that is not so painful but there's nothing she can do about the blocked ducts and constant pain when the breast is filling up. So have decided to give up. Otherwise, I'm just grumpy all the time because of the pain.

Elaine,
It sounds painful indeed.
So sorry to hear that. Are you able to feed baby with the milk you express now?

Lazykat,
I've taken the tablet yesterday and stopped expressing. Last night, I had sharp shooting pain on my left side. Couldnt sleep at all even though i was really tired. Can't wait for the pain and the milk production to stop. I did feel sad to be giving up, especially when I have good supply, but I really can't take the constant pain anymore. Btw, can I ask you, were you leaking like mad on the first few days? I had to change breastpads 3 times during the night, and bra and shirt all yet. How did you get round the problem?

Olivetree,
It's good you did the gradual method instead of taking meds. Sicne you have problem w fridge in office, why not use the Pigeon FTG? It can store milk cold for up to 12 hrs.

S@L,
Nice of you to donate the milk to that mummy. But ya, she seems a bit unappreciative. Did she say why she couldnt come to your house?

I took baby out for the first time on my own yesterday coz I had to go to Dr. Feel so much more confident now that I've done it once.

Gillian,

Re. driving there alone with bb in car seat - do you think your bb will be ok ? I normally have at least an adult sitting at the back seat with her. Thus, I'm reluctant to drive out alone with her, particularly so young @ 2+ months...

Are you bring a pram?

Fushiastar - yeah, i think I'll do that : boiling water for the rubber teats. By the way, just soak the teats into a cup of boiling water, yah, e.g. from a vacuum flash ?

RE : Philips Dect Baby Moniter for sale
Btw, anyone wants a baby moniter? I got another one as a present and now have this one as an extra which I dont use. I bought for $179. Willing to sell at $150. Let me know if anyone keen.

Twiggy, she jus say she nt familiar with my area and her hubby also not familiar...cant be right. spore is so small, there is a thing call street directory, GPS, asking ppl ard and take cabs lo...anyway tt is nt impt..but jus be appreciative right..

Baby40, oh ok. Guess i was just being paranoid, i bought her to see the pd last Sat. The PD told me that its ok for her to take the jabs.

<font color="0000ff">bottle rejection</font>
yesterday i brought my girl back to TMC Mrs Wong for "bottle feeding training"... juz to share my "case"...
im using NUK latex teats.. first thing e midwife (Mrs Wong not around at first) said to me was "huh, u still using e small hole for her ar? even e newborns in my nursery dont wana use tis leh..."
then after tat she tried feeding my girl my EBM from e bottle.

1st attempt, she took 20-30ml n fell asleep... midwife said she not reli hungry, n let my girl sleep in e cot in their waiting area.. ask me to go "walk walk" or "drink coffee", come back 1hr later.
when i went back 1hr later, Mrs Wong was back... she said my girl had NO PROBLEM with bottle feeding... BUT she used e LARGE HOLE teat for her... she said cos my girl used to my breast, flow is fast. so when i use e small hole teat, its asking her to go backwards, n need more effort to suckle, which is why she's so resistant. Mrs wong said she fed my girl 90ml of EBM with no fuss within 10mins...

when i came home to try, there's improvement!!! altho she stil fuss abit, but at least she manage to drink up MOST of e 100ml i put in e bottle...

b4 tis, i've tried many different brands of teats, but all still "newborn" size hole.. which is prob why she rejected everything. i had not thought of switching to a bigger hole cos my son (14mths) is still using e large hole now.. so afraid my girl might "choke" or "gag" with e bigger hole... but never lor...

juz sharing.. for those who facing bottle rejection.. can try tis b4 u waste e $60 for training..

<font color="0000ff">gathering</font>
i most likely able to go... <font color="ff6000">ueno</font> can u pls email tweety's addy to me? my email is [email protected]
but looking at e lists... what other type of food wld u all like??? i'll be buying, no time to cook/prepare with 2 to handle...

Ueno, how u managed to be a SAHM?

Frankly speaking, i was contemplating of being a SAHM for 1 yr but a lot of thoughts pulling me in different direction, like financial issue, can I tahan doing housework and being with Claire 24/7?

Even though, my 1st priority is Claire but i still want to maintain my financial independence! Sigh! Not easy to make a decision!

<font color="0000ff">pumping @ work</font>
what i did last year was, i bought a "LOCK N LOCK" container tats big enough to put my pump &amp; bottles. at home after boiling (i dont use steriliser), i put straight in, drain e water n lock it. nex morning @ work can use straight for e 1st pump. After pumping, i wash with baby bottle cleanser, then "sterilise" by pouring HOT water from e office pantry vacumm pot (i make sure i press boil again to bring it to reli boiling pt before using), cover/lock e container for a few minutes.. drain off all e water, n its ready for my 2nd pump later in e day.

Twiggy,
guess my supply by then has reduced quite a bit as I was initially trying to reduce the pumped amt - decided to throw in the white towel after a few days. First 2 or 3 days, will hv T-shirt soaked thru, I rem hving to wake up every ~3 hrs to replace cabbage/pads, after which becomes more bearable. Stay positive, yr body juz need a bit more time to get used to the medi. Rem to reduce any form of stimulation as much as u can. Take care.

Re: BB Recognizing places
My gal was also doing the look here and there stints when i brought her to my in-law place.. this morning she even cried out loud as my MIL tried to bathe her for the 1st time. (She has always enjoyed her bathing session) So for those who intend to hv yr in-law take care of the little one, better start early for transition so they can get used and settle well in the new place.

Re: Being SAHM
I had always envisioned this option cos dread going back to work.. but hving second thots now cos its really not easy if u r alone facing the bb most of the time. I may still consider this when bb is older, at least my DH is not against the idea.. he is more worried if i will go crazy facing the cranky one all day long?! I hv known of a fren who ended up hving to hire a maid cos she cant cope alone!

starz, from what u said abt changing of teats, i will give it a try too cos my gal still drinking 90ml-100ml at 9weeks. so now i know why she falls asleep everytime on a btl..hahah..cos too slow and boring for her i suppose.....

but i ever read tt breastfed bb should be given size 1 teat so tt the flow is nt too fast and they might reject the nipple as compared latching flow is slower...so abit puzzled by the logic Mrs Wong brought up...anyway shall give it a try jus worried if flow too fast she might reject latching.

Re: SAHM,
i know i cant be a SAHM aft yesterday..haha...as much as i love kids, i also love to work....so today will have some peaceful time working alone, quite a nice change for a while.

pig07,
i am also currently staying at home with baby alone. had a part time cleaner previously but she cant work already as school has started and she owns a stall in the school canteen. time flies real quickly each day. actually cant imagine its almost faster than working in office.
of course all these need time to get used to.
take care

S@L, i seldom let her latch liao, only when she was crying mad for milk and the EBM not ready. Your son can accept your milk, tat's good! my elder gal refused to drink even when I gave her the chilled ones. So, no choice, I am always giving bb the frozen ones and occasionally some fresh chilled bm.

I am still toying with the idea of stopping bf. my milk supply has stabilised so even if i stretch my pumping session, i still yield about the same when i pump regularly.

i will be starting work on 18 feb, so see how first..if i don't have mastitis or blocked ducts attack again, then i will prob go and check out fridge-to-go.

re: bm donor
dun donate to her lah..sounds like she taking u for granted. since she already has this attitude, she might not "utilised" your bm fully. who knows she might just throw it away?!!

my maid and i ever used my bm to bathe when i was bf my #1! it is quite oily and sticky lah...so we only tried twice. heheh... sometimes, i use the bm to water the plants. u can consider doing that? it's better than giving to incosiderate and unappreciative pple!

twiggy, i can understand your feelings nw, coz like u, supply is good but, pain is killing me and wearing me out. don't be sad at your decision to stop bf, coz if it is gg to make u happier, and painless, u will have more time to focus on bb. that's how i console myself when i decide to stop bf at times.

michviv, i am not buying anymore ameda items liao...now i am more comfortable in using my avent manual pump. used to it liao. dun want to spend $$ liao. hehehe...

Lazykat,
Thanks, you take care too.

Re. being a SAHM, I realize it's not for me. I guess not everyone's cut out to be a SAHM. THe last two months feel like much longer than that and I realize my moods have been really bad. Dont like not having anyone to talk to all day. And my marriage is affected too because i get grumpy w hubby all the time. I think I'll go back to work in in a few months time. I did wonder if my mood swings are due to my bad experience w BFing. Now that I stopped BFing, hopefully I can take baby out and do more stuff. Am planning to take him to the botanical gardens, zoo etc for walks and picnics etc. Maybe having more to do will make me enjoy motherhood more.

Question on frozen EBM
How long can frozen EBM be kept in fridge after it's been taken out of freezer to thaw? I've move two bottles from the freezer to fridge but it takes ages to thaw. How soon must it be consumes?

olivetree, huh? didnt know tt plants can take oily BM..hahaha...

my son can take the BM only when i add to his milk powder.so i guess he cant tell the taste la...anyway dare nt try giving 100% bm to him in case he rejects then i gotta throw? but i ever toyed with the idea of adding them to our food.e.g.curry, desserts etc..hahah tt day hb was asking if i added any BM into his milo..he so scared..

is it true tt the ss stabilised already, even if inc pumping time/ sessions wont help ? cos i tot if bb growth spurt or any reason i need more BM i can inc by doing tt?

twiggy, frozen EBM can be kept in the fridge for only 24 hours after it has been taken out of the freezer to thaw.

i also became grumpier this time round, always had small arguments with hubby. i think partially becoz of the breasts pain and also it is difficult for me to handle 2 kids now.

S@L, plants can take in oily bm lah! won't die, in fact they grow better...coz got our nutrients leh! hehehe

my hubby ever drank my bm before and he spit it out! said taste fishy....must be the fish that i ate. hehee...he also die die dun dare to drink my bm now, even thou i suggested to put into his fresh milk!

if ss stabilised, i think u still can try to increase ss thru constant pumping as our body works in ss=dd theory. u can also continue with fenugreek and blessed thistle to boost your supply.

My hubby &amp; I drank my BM before. All i could say that it has a funny taste to it!

Twiggy, being away from the baby will make u appreciate your baby even more. Like me, as much as i m toying with the idea of a SAHM, i doubt i can tahan facing my daughter 24/7 (during my confinement &amp; maternity leave)

I think its best to bring our baby to gardens &amp; beaches when they re older! Currently, the places i bring Claire is shopping mall but when she is 6 mths old, i will bring her to learn swimming, to beaches &amp; gardens stuff. It beats shopping!

btw, does anyone of u have stinging pain on your breasts?

i have this stinging sensation on my breasts every now and then...making me so uncomfortable.

olivetree, yup, i want to quit due to work and also coz i can't cope with pumping coz my kids are really small. Difficult to find peaceful time to pump coz both my kids always screaming for my attention. Right now doing partial bf and gradually will stop totally. I saw that u are already selling off your ameda. I'm thinking of selling off mine also. My ss increase maybe due to the medication that i took for my indigestion problems..haiyah..

does anyone knows how old can start drinking gripe water? my gal's appetite has been dropping dunnoe why....my mum say may be give her grip water try try...hmmm

btw thanks for the info on maid...but my parents dislike the idea about having a stranger at home...so now may get a part time to clean the hse...

sabrina...opps...ya i think is the medicine.suppose to use to prevent vomitting/heartburn....so it does work
i keeping my dose for emergency when i need to inc ss..

Olivetree, ya i also have the stinging sensation once a while...then let down..

sabrina, hi-5 again! i also have 2 kids, and the elder one is always asking for attention. sometimes, can't focus on my pumping sessions. she is coming to 3 in march and now still in the terrible "two" stage.

my blood pressure level has been in a rollercoaster state whenever i see her approaching her sister. she will try to hit her when she is in bad mood. so scary!

winwin, i think newborn can take gripewater already. actually my mum gave gripewater to all the babies tt she babysit last time. but i refused to give my kids..hahaa...i still think gripewater is a form of medicine.
sabrina, i thk it helps to inc appetite cos it expels the air out from the tummy. the gas/air is prob causing the bb to feel bloated hence lack of appetite

i very scared of the stinging pain coz i worried that it is a sign that LUMPS are forming again. S@L, i dun have let down after the pain leh...sigh...my breasts very stubbon...seldom got let down. even if i go without pumping for 12 hours, my breast pads also not soaking wet!

medicine that prevent vomit can increase bm ss??? first time heard of this.

olivetree/Sabrina, yes can understand the lack of time to pump with a older tod ard.and moreever ur tods are still very young. tt why i quite glad tt my 2nd one is planned 4yrs aprt..at least my elder can take my instructions. when i 1st started pumping, he used to come into the room and disturb me...meddle with my pump, jump on the bed etc..but aft a fewtimes i told him to go out of the room or to behave,he can understand. now whenever he comes in when i m preparing to pump, i will ask him :"mummy is going to pump milk now, what must u do?" he will answer :"dun disturb"...haha...oh ya and i am quite particular. even if hb walks into the room and leave the door ajar, i will jump! i told him tt it will affect my letdowns cos no privacy/. although my MIL seen my 'teats' in the hospital before...hahaha..but i still feel weird lo. when i pump alone at hme i also close the door..jus want to feel 'safe'

thanks S@L

Sabrina
ya, the gripewater suppose to help get ride wind from tummy so bb less bloated and will want to eat again..thats why in chinese its known as fei zai shui (fat son water - direct translate hhaha)

olivetree, me too, breast pads nvr 'soaked' ..jus some drops i think...but i do get 'painful'letdowns esp when i haven pumped/latched for 4-5hrs onwards.

as for the gripewater, my mum used to feed the babies everytime aft their morning bath. but the parents are aware of course. for my case i didnt give at all.

ya the medicine which my gynae refused to prescribe to me when i 'pleaded' with him due to low ss when i had my 1st bb. the increase in ss is actually the side effect of the medication. he believed in the natural way, so didnt give to me.

S@L/olivetree, i also have letdown after the stinging pain.

hehe.. i always thought gripewater is only for colic symptoms.

S@L, so for ur 2nd baby, did u buy the medicine OTC at pharmacy?

olivetree, my elder gal turning 2 only... everytime i pump she will come and disturb me and want to "pump" also. I've resorted to giving her own "breastpump".. an old pigeon breastpump. And we will pump together! wahahah!! Sometime when i latch the baby, she will take her doll and "latch" the doll too. Scary.. coz if she can imitate these actions, she can imitate any other undesirable actions too!!!

sabrina, sorri whats OTC? i got the medicine from one of the mummy here.ehhhee.dunno can mention names or nt...she got the prescription from her gynae.it is a safe medi to take so i jus keep for emergency lo.but i take fenugreek+blessed thstle first and so far is good enough.

hahaha...sab, my gal also copying my actions too!

instead of giving her a pump to pump, i gave her the toilet paper roll to pump! she also pull up her shirt and "latch" her doll too!

scary? i find her actions cute leh...hehheee...

toliet paper roll? HAHAHAH! my elder gal can't be fooled leh!! she die die must have the same shape, same size object as my breastpump. I tried giving her a plastic cup, she threw back at me!!

S@L, Sabrina, your girls sound so cute! I couldn't help but laugh out loud when reading your posts.

Sabrina, is the medicine you are referring to "Domperidone"? If so, it is classified as a prescription only medicine (POM) in Singapore and you need a doctor to write you a prescription. Alternatively, you can get smaller quantities of this medicine from a pharmacist. But its definitely not an OTC medicine. You are right in saying that we are using a side effect of this medicine where it stimulates the release of a hormone called prolactin which helps in milk production. It is usually prescribed to treat indigestion.

olivetree, I do get that stinging pain you mentioned but it comes and goes and is not constant. For me, it usually occurs when my baby latches on or when my breast is filling up with milk. Think it is due to spasms in our milk ducts, this helps the milk to flow out better (eg: during the let-down reflex)

Starz, thanks for your advice on combating Bottle rejection. My hubby went out to by an NUK bottle today (medium hole) and it works! He managed to drink 120mls without fussing. Think its a combination of using a teat with a bigger hole and the latex NUK teat. Will try out the variable size Avent teat tomorrow and let you gals know.

Re: SAHM, I did consider staying at home as well but like many of you, I really wondered if I would feel cooped up at home and the issue of financial independance was another factor. So, for now, I guess I'll be going back to work and revisit the issue when I have my number 2.

Olivetree, hahaha was jus thinking abt u when i was pumping milk jus now. was thinking how many yrs ago we met in sch. now we are mothers already.u saw my blog? there is a pic of the gals in my 'gang'..hahah see how much we have 'grown up'..errr.old i mean.

if i didnt remember wrongly, u used to be in the cross-country club too?

Hi Hi,

My boy is still using Avent 1 teat for his EBM and formula milk. Should I change it to teat 2 since he is now 2 month old? He can finish his milk so far when using teat 1 but wondering if he ever gets tired sucking from teat 1.

S@L, can gimme ur blog link again?
time flies hor....we old liao lah. yup, i was in the cross country team. now cannot run liao lah

btw, are u in facebook?

S@L,
i'm worried my supply will go down if i don't pump at night and once i went out for like 6 hours w/o pumping. hope it doesn't affect my supply cos these few days i haven't been feeling engorged. plus baby has been wanting to drink milk every 2hrs tdy..so tiring! i was suspecting if i don't have enough milk that's y she's drinking so often

olivertree,
yup i used to have the stinging pain in my breasts...think it's milk coming in?? haven't felt that recently...suspecting it's either my BM ss go down or stabilized..hm

olivetree...haha ya me too used to be in the team le..but we seldom talked right?

my blog: http://sallyprecious.blogspot.com

i m in facebook...but hor tt programme very tedious..i cant catch up alot of fren send me this that..aiyo...very luan4.

skye, could be growth spurt. i encoutered twice...aft tt ok and i think ss increased.

S@L, i peeked into ur blog.. heheh! anyways, cute red booties there!!!
ur gal 6.2kg at 2 mths.. hmmm.. my gal now 10 wks and she's 7kg leh!!! no wonder, i tire out easily when carrying her.