(2007/11) November MTBs

need a help from you gals...anyone has maid at home? can you share with me what's the procedure to hire a maid and what are the cost involve.

right now my mum helping me to take care my gal and she is very tired...and i hope to help her on all the housework so hubby and i thinking of hire a maid for my parents....so HELP pls...thanks alot

Dokie, yes even now i give my son the fresh chilled EBM first. so end up the frozen stash gets 'older' and 'older'....may i ask how u 'clear' every 2 weeks? cos no one to clear for me le...i ever heard some mummies add their extras EBM to their milo every morning...some even take milk bath or use as hand soak..hahaha....

Re: fever
Wanted to post here that Mischa also jus got fever. i woke up at 4am to feed her then felt her hot all over. i was so worried quickyly woke hb up and went to Mt. Alvernia 24hrs clinic to see the Dr. I gave her the paracetamol as prescribed, but very reluctantly...bt no choice i jus to bring down her fever. i think she got it from my son (who got it from my dad last week..hiaz....).my son had running nose, coughand fever for 2 days already . hopefully like what u said, since Mischa on TBF since birth, she can recover fast and not have the other symptoms like her bro.

BTW, i m drinking the Almond drink now. its quite ok for me cos initially was quite afraid that i cant get used to the taste cos i always hated almond jelly dessert.

Ueno, my mum used a clean wet hanky to clean Mischa's tongue. it came off easily...but the milk 'stain' comes bk easily too.

Sabrina, wahahaha....ur hb same as mine..always ask me what abt bb if i go out ....? but bringing 2 tods out is really nt an easy feat....
Thanks for the milk bags BTW, but i dun see any 'broken seal' as mentioned....even so i m fine with it.

S@L,
It's a blessing to have so much milk.
How long you plan to breastfeed for?

Yoko, Lazykat,
I finally decided to stop BM. CAnnot take it anymore. Pain and blocked again. Every pumping session is a chore and seriously lack sleep because must get up everynight twice to pump for an hr each. Going to see a Dr today to get the medicine. How long does it take for the engorgement to subside after taking med?

S@L, my elder son is on total BM. He drinks 3 times a day 240ml or 8oz each time. Sometimes he asks me for MORE.

I have to sell away my unopen milk powder.
So it is pretty easy for me to clear.
I can don store daily as I can ask him to drink.
He will gladly finish it for me and he loves it COLD. :p

S@L, that is why last friday I was very very tense. Afraid son will pass on to the baby. So isolate them. Really MAX OUT out because 2 also want ME.
Even though he has no more fever since Sat, I am still monitoring him. I don allow them to be too close.
This is a problem when we have 2 and one goes to childcare.

twiggy
ya went bacl gleneargle again today... problem still not resolved... dr actuali open up a bigger hole n thus more painful
on stronger dose antibotic now... cant stop expressing coz had to solve my problem to prevent further problem... no choice wait till it to heal then go n get med to eat loh...

S@L, I only bring my 2 kids out alone when going to nearby shops. The elder in a stroller and the baby in a sling. Even then, i get watever i want quickly and then go straight home. Abt the "broken seal", haiyah... it's my hb who said the seal is broken coz he d one pack the stuff into the bag. after smsing u, i checkd again, it was dented not broken. he dropped that box. At least, the bags n pump are put to good use now, not kept in cold storage.

yday, i was amazed that sengkang to holland v is actually nearer than sembawang to holland v. no wonder u reached so fast d other day!

sabrina, haha really? so i m nt tt far at all.....

dokie, my dad la, nt hb...but my dad did put on mask...but somehow still get lo. cos he fetched my son hm n was nt sick then...it started in the evenin..too late.

Twiggy,
sorry to hear that the pain is coming back again. For my case, engorgement was bad for the first 2-3 days, so much so i hv to put cabbage most of the time, thereafter, its bearable, but during those 2-3 days, i try not to carry baby so much so as not to hv too much stimulation. It takes almost 1 wk before my BM stops to occasional leakage.

The only way is to empty the breasts regularly to prevent engorgement for us, unfortunately. I understand the pain that u r gg thru now - as many times i also worried if i will kena mastitis, to a point of breaking down. Hang in there..

winwin (vine712), u can just go to a maid agency . The cost of the maid varies, their monthly pay ranges from 300-400... Depends on which country they come from, prior experience etc etc. Maid levy is $175 for family with children, The maid agency will also charge agency fees. Check out MOM website , there are details on employer foreign domestic helper.

I brought my 2 month old son to my mum's place ytday. It wasnt the 1st time we went. But he was crying very loudly ytday. He was never seen like this before. i got a shock and thot what had happened. he cried very very long and didnt want to sleep at all. we carried him and he didnt want too. until my mum carried him and he fell asleep. But moment we put him down, he cried again.

I was wondering if he is beginning to 'recognise' place? That that is not his sleeping place and home? Can a 2 month old baby tell?

Or if he misses his 'beauty sleep' in the morning as we left house at 830am and he only slept in our arms and not his usual beauty sleep in the cradle or cot.

It really worries me if he is beginning to 'recognise' place and not want to go my mum's place as my initial plan was to stay at my mum's place when my CL leaves end of this month. He seemed tobe as his eyes were rolling rolling and looking around.. OMG.

Headache.

Pig, they re starting to recognise places & people from 2 mths onwards....

My daughter whenever she goes to a new place, she will be like the lead actress in those Tamil/Hindi shows. Turn her head from left to right, right to left till i also feel dizzy.

elaine, twiggy,

I also intend to stop bf soon, currently, i am pumping about 3 times a day, stretching my pumping sessions. i will not pump in the middle of the night, so after i pump around 9pm, i will pump at 6 or 7am the next day, then follow by 6-7 hourly pumping for the entire day.

I can see my milk supply slowly decreasing. As i am returning to work after CNY, I can gradually stop my bf.

elaine, wrt to the operation, will it leaves a scar? also was it painful afte the GA wears off?

now i am constantly massaging, hoping that the lumps will become smaller. so far, i have a "smooth week" last week, without any pain.

twiggy: like u, i am always having mixed feelings. when i have no pain and can empty my breasts successfully, i am super happy and want to continue with bf. but when i am in pain, i want to quit immediately!

was telling my hubby that i feel unfair for my #2 as i couldn't give her bf for 6 mths. i bf my #1 for 6 mths plus. sigh....

btw, any one wants ameda dual pump or do u have any frens looking for one?

since i am gg to stop bf, would like to sell away mine at $250. bought in dec 2007, so warranty still on. used about 10 times coz, i am mostly using avent manual to clear my lumps..

i also got the pumping pal and supershield, can sell everything at $290.

let me know yeah via pm or call me 9826 9728. TIA!

Olivetree, so sad to hear u giving up BF.....LC cannot help in ur case? u managed to BF ur 1st bb , and i tot 2nd time should be a breeze. hope ur pain goes off real soon and u hang on BF longer...

mummies, i chanced upon a thread with a mummy posting asking for BM for her bb. i emailed her to give her the frozen stash i have. but i made it clear to her what my diet consist of.but i do hv some reservations as in wat r the responsibilities of a BM 'donour'? will i be held responsible if bb is 'allergic' to my milk in some ways?

S@L, i din consult any LC yet, coz' dun know any good ones. perhaps i will go to doris (the one recommended by twiggy and elaine) to solve my stubbon lump prob before i stop bf totally.

another reason why i want to stop is becoz' the friges in my office are not in good working condition. so, i can't store my milk.

when i was bf my #1, i had to go without pumping for 12 hours while i was at work, (that means, not pumping at all in office) and it was quite painful. imagine, carrying 2 hard rocks and squeeze into the super crowded mrt after work! i dun want to go thru that again esp. now i have more blocked ducts probs.

i also thot bf this time will be a breeze, but my body shows otherwise. the only good thing is that i did not take any fenugreek or medicine this time to boost my supply.

Belle, Eevee's cute!

Her eyes are round & big!

Oh, any remedies for skin rashes? My gal has those around her eyes and on her knees.

k@ye, my girl has alot on her neck & ard the eyes as well.. those r heat rashes..

I boil some small bittergourds & use the water to bathe her.. It helps!!

olivetree, is it becos of the pain that you are giving up breastfeeding? Perhaps you can consider latching on baby for a short duration (eg 5 minutes), that always helps me to clear the "lumps" that develop.

k@ye, your baby girl sounds so cute with her tamil/hindi show antics.

Pumping @ work:
Any of you ladies planning to continue pumping back at work? How do you intend to sterilize your pumping gear while at work? Am thinking should I sterilize before hand and bring it to work.

michviv, the pain is the primary reason, another reason is due to work, as mentioned in my previous post.

my office does not have a fridge in good working condition, so i have no place to store my bm. it will be quite a waste to pump and throw.

i also dont want to tahan for 12 hours then rush home to pump.

michviv, ya i used to sterilise my pump first and put in ziplock bag. cos i only pump 1x at work, so no issue for the next pump. some mummies posted before tt they place the pump funnel and parts in fridge aft pump so tt they dun need to sterilise for the next pumping.

K@ye, ya i told the mummy so. hopefully she can understand should anything happen.

olivetree, u wan to consider getting a small fridge to place near ur workdesk? i saw a few mummy from Sep thread bought the fridge to keep their BM. u can also get the 'fridge-to-go'.but buy the longer hrs ones so tt ur BM can stay chilled by the time u reach home.
i think there is always a way out. as for blocked ducts i m thankful tt Mischa helped me to clear 2x cos pumping didnt help much. does ur gal latch?

I am a new Nov 07 mummy, introduced to this thread by Sabrina.

Am starting work this week, I will be having a baby sitter to look after my baby. So thinking to get an Avent Warmer for her to warm the milk.

I got questions regarding warming of EBM.
1. Would the warmer destroy the nutrients of chilled/frozen EBM?
2. How long does it take to warm up chilled EBM?
3. How long does it take to warm up frozen EBM?

Hi Efynn,

I bot a avent warmer too. But no chance to use. We always warm the bottle of EBM by placing in a cup of hot water from thermos flask for approx 5 minute.you will have to gauge the by touching the bottle.. When it's warm, then pour into the milk bottle.

The reason why I havent been using the avent warmer is becos from day 1, confinement lady hasnt been using and she told me it's troublesome to use. Slow. And too hot. Anyway, if i remember correctly, KKH used to give babies chilled EBM when my sis delivered in 2004.

As for frozen ones, I am not too sure. My supply of EBM are usually finished up within 48hours hence no frozen EBM.

Hi efynn, I'm currently using a tollyjoy food and bottle warmer and it works fine for me, it can accomodate both wide bottles like Avent and smaller bottles like pigeon. Personally, I feel that the Avent warmer is a little overpriced for a warmer. You can also check out the pigeon warmer as an alternative.

I've not utilized my frozen EBM stores yet so I can't comment but as for chilled EBM, it takes a few minutes to warm up using my warmer. Of course nothing beats fresh breast milk and you can expect that the quality of the BM will decrease the longer you store it or if you freeze it but despite this, I feel that there is still no alternative to BM.

I'm not sure abt other mummies, but once my EBM is warmed up, I make sure my baby consumes it within an hour.

Olivetree, I have the Ameda Flexshield which S@L mentioned and I really makes a difference when I pump. The fridge-to-go suggestion is a viable option as well so why not reconsider? =)

any of you here is a full time SAHM not staying with in laws etc?

my cl leaving soon. I woll most probably be at home with my little one for the whole day. Am thinking that time will be hard to pass with no one to tok to except the little one. Hubby will usually return at 8pm plus. I hve a maid though, but no wish to get her to come home with me. The maid is currently 'parked' at my parents' place.

pig07,
i am a full time SAHM not staying with in-laws n i've got no maid,only a part time cleaner who comes in once a week. Personally, i dont think its hard to pass time as i am occupied with the baby n doing some ad-hoc housework.

3rd gathering for Nov 2007 mums
POT LUCK
23rd Jan, wednesday 12pm
Everyone's welcome!
Venue: Tweety's place
1. ueno - famous delicious soon kueh
2. S@L - prawn with fruit salad
3. Grace - chicken nuggets
4. Tinkabel (chocolate mousse cake)
5. Yoko
6. Gillian
7. tweety - sandwiches and beverages
8. PLim (cheesecake again?)
9. Catherine
10. starz (tentative)
11. baby40

tweety's pc broke down so she cant log in. if u need her address, let me know.

Hi Ueno,

i really worry that time will be hard to pass. and shld baby suddenly become cranky, i will be alone at home. then i will be at loss of what to do.

i've been reading the posts but usually it's quite a lot so i haven't really gotten down to post anything much. tho this place has been quite a valuable source of info for me.

ueno,
i would love to join in the gathering too can u add me in? a lil change in environment will be good. tho i'm not too confident of bringing baby out alone so far only with hubby and with the stroller. i'm not good with the sling yet either tried it 3 times only..sigh..

anyway, anyone knows if BM supply will go down if i don't pump out at night? cos she'll only feed on one side and be quite full but i'm too tired to wake up and pump the other side. so i'll go almost 6 hours without pumping. i still want to BF my baby (who's 6 weeks old) at least till she's 6 mths

Hallo ladies!

Today is my 2nd day at work. Super blur yesterday but getting better and tonnes of stuff to do!

Btw, if the baby got blocked nose & cough can still go for jabs?

skye, same here, i also dun pump aft night feedings...can feel my breasts not as engorged when i wake up in the morning..guess it has 'stabilized'. if u pump regularly during daytime, i think supply will nt drop, but more like stabilized.

Re: giving breasts milk
mummies i feel so pissed today le. the mummy who wanted my milk ask me to meet her to pass her the milk, instead of coming to my place. She say she is nt familiar with my area and her HUBBY CANNOT HELP her!...i jus feel this is nt the right way. here i m already doing a goodwill without asking for anything in return.(FYI milk bags cost $$ and my effort /time spent pumping the milk)...then she expect me to bring the EFBM to her when i have 2 kiddos to lug along with me. which means i also need to pack the frozen EBM for her to make sure when she reach home they are still frozen...jus told hb and he said if tat mummy dun appreciate then dun give...so sad to have this kind of ppl...

k@ye,

if baby is sick, you should not bring him/her for jabs. Should wait for 1 week after recovered.

My girl just recovered early last week, and I had ot postpone her jab to this week. When in doubt, call the PD office and ask them.

Re. the gathering - I'm looking forward to it, although I may not bring Nicole. (I will need to match the username to your real names *grin*)

Ueno - hope to see you at the gathering. If we live near each other, it will be great! Are you SAHM ?

pig07, how i wish i have time to feel bored...my energy totally drained off cos yday both kiddos were down with fever....my little one was so cranky, wants to be carried when sleeping, the moment i put her in cot she wakes up...so today since they recovered, i really cannot tahan,i brought them to my mum plc jus now so tt i can rest and do my work today. its a good break once a while away from the kids...

Maybe u can go to ur parents' plc once a while to keep them company and also kinda a break for u when they help u tend to the bb? then u go for a short break to nearby mall or facial etc? good life le...

Anyone has any advise on the best way to sterlize rubber teat? I find that if I use the steam sterilizer it changes color.

I'm introducing my bb to the bottle. She seems to prefer rubber to silicon (i believe rubber is softer). But I'm concerned that the rubber changes color after sterilizing in the steam sterilizer.

pig07: i also have no time to be bored
just feeding baby, trying to establish routine, maintaining household eg buying groceries, paperwork.. not to mention sleep!!! and my older girl of course..
takes up the whole day..

baby40: think boiling water the best way.. i did that the last time with pigeon latex teats.. yah, you are right, with steam sterilizer, it changes colour and feels slimy..