(2007/11) November MTBs

twiggy abt the fm milk i realise i made a mistake that fm milk shouldn't leave more than 1 hr not 24hrs. i wii discard after 1 hr. ... pai sei....

twiggy, i usually pour half hot water n half cold after that than put the milk powder. beginning i usually monitor his timimg. if 3 hrs, i will prepare and standby before he start crying for milk.

Twiggy, its a hassle to bring the car seat when u take cab.

Yup, if taking the bus, just use a baby carrier. It is more convenient!

cindy,
my monster can hi-5 with urs, he also poos at nite, alot at times. i always make it a point to change his diaper ard 3-4am after his feed. else his poo/pee might overflow & dirty his clothes. there were a few times i was lazy & when i feed him ard 5-6am, he's already all wet & dirty. then i gotta wipe him & change all his clothes. so tiring! come to think of it, i'm awake for so many hrs at nite! each feed normally takes ard 30min (20min feed & 5-10min burp). there's at least 3 nite feeds & another 10min to change his diaper. so i'm awake for almost 2 hrs from 11pm-7am. OMG, how to tahan for a year plus? i think we can cry in each other's arms. too bad u not coming to the gathering, else we can share our woes.

k@ye,
my baby is not on US timing. in fact, he can sleep from 7pm-7am. just tat he wakes up every 2 hrs to feed. <font size="-2">good thing is he normally goes rite back to sleep after each feed.</font>

rast,
i had my menses last week too. quite puuzzled coz i tot BF will delay menses.

Next Child
i just hit my BIG 30 on 8th jan (3 days ago). my plan is to have 2 kids - 1st kid b4 30 (which i accomplished already) &amp; 2nd kid b4 i hit 35. So tat means i have ard 4yrs to recuperate &amp; try for another one... hehehe. but i haven think of wat chinese horoscope my next baby should be leh. now my only aim is to make my baby sleep thru the nite. i even made tat one of my new year resolution.

Caregiver
my mum is helping me to take care of baby during weekdays. sometimes i'm also abit worried coz she quite muddle-headed &amp; not v hygienic. wat i try is to remind her gently everytime i see something not quite rite. hope i can rest my mind when i go back to work. but i know she's trying her best lah, since this is her own grandchild, first one somemore. when i see her laugh so happily when playing with baby, i'm also v happy

tinkabel &amp; grace,
i stay at bukit merah central. we can share cab
my monster can meet ur angels first...hehehe

I'm using the Bfree bottle. Was using Nuk during the first few weeks then realise that there's always alot of bubbles when bb suckles and almost 20ml of the milk will be wasted coz too much bubbles at the end of the feed and we dun want to give it to bb. My boy also has lotsa wind in his stomach that's why i switched to Bfree. Can really see the diff, no bubbles at all as the bubbles will be channeled out thru the tube in the bottle. But, like what Twiggy mentioned, there's lotsa parts to assemble and wash. Need to use diff type of brush to clean thoroughly too, but no choice as long it's gd for bb. Avent and Bfree teats are exchangeable.

Re: Bringing bb out alone
Wanted to but HB asked me not to yet. So now, only bring him near the neighbourhood go walk walk.

Sigh...going bk to wk soon. Gonna miss those time spending all day with bb.

Gathering

oh i haven get "passport" from my mum &amp; HB to go for the gathering. wonder wat would their reaction be when i tell them i wan to bring baby out alone. hahaha. maybe they'll think i'm crazy =P i'll convince them to let me go coz i really wan to meet ur little angels
i haven decide wat to bring for the gathering. there's Fairprice, 2 bakeries, Hans, Old Chang Kee, KFC, Pizza Hut &amp; Mac near my place. Any one has any orders or suggestions, let me know. okie?

Re: Bring bb out alone
actually i never get passport to go out. today some mummies in the same area happen to be free and ask for tea session, i say ok then off i went. hubby didnt know till he came home. he didnt say anything, just asked if i can managed. well, i think as long as u feel confident, i think it will be ok. i am on tbf so i never bring bottles.... i just went to the nursing room. if really really dont have then i see how, may hide in handicap toilet or just find a quiet spot and use my nursing cover.

re: gathering
catherine, let me know if u sharing cab with me and tinkabel. she will also confirm closer to date.

catherine,
mine's a monster too, so have to vie for grace's angel. haha.

My boy only sleeps from 11pm to 7 plus am. Once he is asleep, he is ok, usually wake up once only. But then putting him to sleep is a challenge every night and he is also more difficult during the evenings. Can't imagine how to tahan when go back to work.

Re:Next kid
Me also want to have another one. This time must have a girl, seeing how grace dolls up her little angel. So nice. Boys so boring. But then every time think of having sleepless night, I sianz already. Thot having little Mickey is good, but too near already. but then after that cow (work whole life) and tiger (not so gd for gals). Haiz...

Twiggy, its not taht i nvr tot of giving away my EFBM. but i very scared ppl will reject the idea. i wanted to give to my SIL's adopted son but she has a younger sis also TBF now, i think she also giving her some. if i insist to give her, i scared my BM will go to waste. As for strangers, nt sure how I will feel if the BM are nt in good hands...let me think abt it..recently i read in one of the thread there was this perverted MAN who wanted to buy BM from some mummies to 'cure' hos asthma in the end no one sold to him cos nt sure his real intention.but currently freezer really running out of space!

Tinkabel, i m still TBF. Like you i hope to do at least 6-12mths. was even telling hb maybe i will miss pumping and all by 12mth and continue to 18mth! he said i better nt stretch to 24mths like what my fren did.

Re: bringing bb out alone,
hehehe today was telling hb some mummies' hubbies dun like the idea of their wife bringin bb out alone. i asked him why he nvr stopped me even for my 1st born last time. is it becos he is confident / trust me or he simply dun care....hahaha..jus trying to be difficult sometimes.
of course he say he trust tt i can do it la...wonder how true.

Grace, actually with a nursing cover, u can BF anywhere. if with nursing wear, basically dun even need to cover! today i was having noodle at Centrpt and carrying Mischa on the other hand cos it was her feeding time..haha...tiring but can kill 2 bird with 1 stone!

Tweety and mummies,
i will bring something healthy for the gathering la! hahaha...i bring homemade PRAWN with FRUITS SALAD ok?

Gathering

YES i got my passport from my HB this morning. he DID suggest letting my mum tag along so she could help but i said no need...hehehe
oh, btw, i'm still having slight cold &amp; cough. if i dun recover fully by then, i wun go for the gathering, coz dun wan to pass the virus to any mummy or baby.

grace,
ya i wan to share cab with u &amp; tinkabel. we contact each other nearer to gathering date

I'm new here but I've been lurking for several months now... :)

Anyone of you ladies stay in the East? I gave birth to my girl on 4 Nov at NUH, delivered by c-section by Prof Mary Rauff.

Wanna exchange notes on PD and care centers.

I'm seeing Dr Vasanthi at Parkway and while she was on leave, saw Dr Cheng at the Siglap clinic. He is quite good too. I'm supposed to start work end Jan, but have asked for and granted NPL for Feb, so will start work in Mar. Plan to send my bb to infant care. Anyone planning on infant care?

Perhaps we can meet up for coffee at Parkway or something????

Cheryl.

hi baby40,
welcome! so cute you still dress your baby up. haha i did not dress her at all, just her normal clothes.

beloved,
do u want to join us for the gathering? long time never see u since we met at the clinic. i rem u stay in bukit merah area too.... not sure if we can sit 4 mummies/babies in a cab, otherwise we can split 2 cabs if u want to go?
ask your hubby... =)

catherine/tinkabel,
haha what makes u think my little girl is an angel. she may look like one only heehee...

s@l,
Even with nursing wear, i think will expose abit of nip when i latch her. And i fumble alot so i feel more comfortable with cover. i feed her before in the crystal jade korean rest in centrepoint while eating rice heehee...but of cos with cover. Dry food easier to eat with one hand. nowadays, my left hand also can type liao when i feeding baby haha...multitasking..

gathering
3rd gathering for Nov 2007 mums
POT LUCK
23rd Jan, wednesday 12pm
Everyone's welcome!
Venue: Tweety's place
1. ueno - famous delicious soon kueh
2. S@L - prawn with fruit salad
3. Grace - chicken nuggets
4. Tinkabel (chocolate mousse cake)
5. Yoko
6. Gillian
7. tweety - sandwiches and beverages
8. PLim (cheesecake again?)
9. Catherine
10. starz (tentative)
11. baby40

Baby40 i've added u on the list.

Cathering- how about the char siew puffs from HANs? just a thought

twiggy, you can still make it to gathering after your doc's appointment. tinkabel did the same thing for our last gathering...It will be ok, if you don't think about taking your baby out as such a feat it won't be. Hop on taxi and hop out..just rem to pack your essentials.

twiggy
thankz for giving mi Doris no. went to see her yday n she was shocked that my gynae din cover m wif antibotic... she tried to massage but failed n said i had mastitis...and if i shd has go n see her 1 week ago i might b able to b save frm aspiration...now quite serious n wanted mi to go n see a breast surgeon to had a biopsy cum fine needle aspiration...
went gleneargle med centre n immediately got a mini op... dr said i nearly need to do an op under GA to get the abscess out n had to b hospitation... haiz...now the lump still there n had to go back to c her on mon morning... mayb need another mini operation again... yi po wei ping yi po you qi... sad... real sad... not going to had another bb again...

elaine,

i also have a hard lump which din go away after i recovered from mastitis. occasionally, it will be painful, but sometimes, no pain at all.

how did u manage to diagnose that it is abscess?

how much is the consultation with doris? where is the location?

olivertree
mine... got feverish on n off... n itz red like bruises... Doris is at NUH but she got her own clinic...she tried to massage for mi but she failed to so she sent mi to the breast surgoen at gleneargle at once for treatment...
re consultation fee coz she said for my case...i need more support n i cld b saved frm mastitis if my gynae gave mi antibiotic eariler so she din charge mi...
btw u still BF-ing???

twiggy

u do not need super hot water to make FM.

luke warm water is good enough.
some brand of FM is not so easily dissolved hence u may wan to use chopstick to stir and dissolve.

i am using friso and it is easily dissolved. there will small lumps of FM not disoolved but its ok

Have any of you succumbed to yao lan yet? My sis got me one and my hubby and I are quite reluctant to use it, but come Monday when my mum comes, she will definitely use it and I'm worried that my boy will get addicted once he's in it.

Btw, juz realised that I need to get a car seat cos' the one which my sis supposed to pass to me is in pretty bad condition. Any recommendation? I dun intend to spend alot on it.

hi poissons,

me oredi succumbed to yao lan almost 2 wks back coz BB needs to be carried n rocked to sleep... coz she quite light sleeper lor, bit of noise she will wake up crying, etc... which tired all of us out at home.

anyway, the yao lan is only for afternoon naps (when it's more noisy) and the yaolan sort of gave her the security feeling she badly needed. other than that, she's ok to sleep in her own cot at nite.

i dun rock her so much when i put her in, just pop in her pacifier, put the bean sprout pillow on her tummy and rock a few times then leave the room... she'll fall asleep herself after dat... n every1's happy

Today went to the PD clinic and $130 poorer! My gal went to the infant care for 8 days and ended up with dry skin and a blocked nose due to the air conditioning!

She was breathing like Darth Varder and can't sleep properly during the nite! Din want to bring her to the PD but will be getting her jab on this coming Thursday. No choice but to get a peace of mind from the PD!

RE: Yao Lan aka Sarong

It depends on individual babies' preference. Like my daughter, i put her once or twice in it when she was 1 mth+. She can sleep longer back then. I attempted to put her once 2 weeks ago, boy she tore the house down with her cries! So dun worry too much abt it!

Like what Kittybride says, as long as everyone is happy! No problem onE!

Re: Yao Lan
My sis also advised me to get one when my boy was crying almost whole day for the past 2 wks and needs to be carried all day, we were tired out. Initially we thot its colic, but think it's due to wind in his stomach and he is much better now.My niece has colic bk then and sarong did great help.

I'll be getting the sarong stand from my sis's colleague to standby just in case we really need it. But my MIL is against it and said she'll try to coax him. Luckily my boy is much better these few days.

Think it shldnt be that bad if most of us grow up sleeping in one.

hahah kaye:: claire must be thinking:: why take photos AGAIN!!!! hehe...

my monster refused the BOTTLE AGAIN yesteeday!! headache headache..
1195083.jpg

hi cindy,

ur bb really got ver strong neck leh...
i tried my gal on tummy, but still unsuccessful, she still cant get used to it. prefer to lie flat on her back...

kittybride:: thank you!!
you must try more. Put chloe longer and you can try to help her lift up her head see if she can hold it there..
my boy really loooves it. hahha he talks to himself and makes noises and laughs when we put him on his tummy. So you can try and do it more often! heh

Re: Sarong,
Cactus, can be quite BAD! i grew up with yaolan and mum /dad says i was a very bad baby. without yaolan simply cannot live. they admit they made the wrong move by introducing yaolan cos no choice, i was taken care by my grandma in the daytime so old ppl will use yaolan. my dad says they have to rush home to let me sleep everytime they are out. only when my mum stopped helping my dad in his biz and become a SAHM, then she 'helped' to rectify this bad habit of mine. so she advised me nt to start yaolan at all..there are always other means.

heard from my husband that my baby Ethan refused the bottle 4 the first time yesterday when I was away at a wedding dinner. tried to feed him this morning at 10am but he only drank 10mls before spitting out bottle. Feel worried now cos i've 2 go back 2 work after CNY. Should I change the teat? I'm currently using avent &amp; pigeon bottles. Anyone has experience with this problem?

Cindy, your son's head control is really advanced 4 his age. Wow! how long do u put him on his tummy every day?
my ethan gets lazy after 15 min or so.
1195261.jpg

michviv:: u are not alone la.. my boy rather starve.. also like yours, 10 to 20mL spit out le. push the teat here n there.. or just hold it there without sucking... sighs no idea how to fox it... you're feeding him ebm? i gave mine FM but will try to give ebm to see if he's rejecting the btl or the FM.

haha... i put him on his tummy until i see that he's tired... ard 10 to 15min... thank you!!

hi regarding yao lan, my baby just refuse to sleep in it even if he is cranky. my mum also figured it out and we let him sleep on the matress now. we tried yao lan about 4 times, all failures!!

for the gathering, i m still pondering about what to bring... wat about pasta?

my hubby also allows me to bring bb out alone, just make sure i take the cab when i do so, cos i still cant drie with a wailing bb in the car seat.

i fell off the bed while cleaning bb up today... i thought i sat on the edge of the bed, but i wasnt.. i sat on air.. ha. so now i have a bruised shoulder n bruised leg. so painful.

Cindy, Claire has such an expression coz my bro was carrying her in an uncomfortable position!

I tried to put Claire on her tummy but she refused and my Mum scolded me for putting her on her tummy.

Cindy, I usually latch him on every 3-4hours and when I'm not in, my husband/parents/in-laws feed him ebm. Its been ok so far, so its very strange that he is rejecting the bottle now. One good thing though, my maid managed to feed him via the bottle this afternoon by putting him in his car seat and I ran away to hide so that he thinks I'm not around. haha. Will try again tomorrow to confirm that the car seat method actually works. =P

I put him on his tummy cushion for abt 10-15 min a day - its supposed to help strengthen his neck muscles. But after 2-3 minutes of head exercises, he gets lazy and puts his head down and starts kicking like he's swimming. Think I'm raising a swimmer at this rate.

K@ye, tummy time is recommended by PDs to help babies develop their neck muscles. Tell your mummy not to worry. =)

hhahhaha michviv:: wow you even have a tummy cushion! hahah i just put him on his bed or on our bed. or sometimes my hubby will put him on his chest while lying down.
you can try to do more times in a day..
hahha.. i tried the bottle of FM again today and still he rejected it. gooodness. HEHE

kaye:: hahaha!!! but that expression is realllly cute! hahah! and yes tummy time is really good. helps to get rid of wind in tummy. especially good after feeding cause when i do that i hear him burp and fart.

Yoko,
Good point, can make the FM beforehand since roughly know when baby will cry again. I think BM feeding intervals more unpredictable than FM feeds.

S@L,
Ya, that's true. Quite a pity to waste the milk.
why dont you feed to your baby? Frozen EBM still very good.

Tweety,
Ok, I'll try to make it. But will need to disappear for awhile to pump ok?
Either that or I just pop in for a little while to say hello. K@ye,
Ya, taking car seat and stroller out w baby is a pain in the ass. Espcially coz car seat quite hard to strap on with the taxi car straps. But hubby doesnt allow me to take taxi with baby without car seats. And I seldom take bus.

Elaine,
Oh no....so sorry to hear that you had such an ordeal. Is it feeling better now? Are you on painkillers? Don't let this deter you from having baby again. Next time you know what to look out for so chances are you won't leave it till your mastitis gets so bad. Are you stopping BF now or continuing?

A couple of times I had blocked ducts and engorgement. Was very scared it was mastitis coz I can't tell the difference. So I very kiasu straight away go see lactation consultant before it gets worse. I guess it is always good to arrest the problem before it gets worse. The Dr at Raffles Women's Clinic at Causeway Pt is very good. She actually called me a few times to see how my engorgement was, to ensure it doesnt get worse. I guess she didnt wnat me to end up w an absess. Hope you feel better soon.

Olivetree,
Doris charged me $60 for an hour. I'm now using her method of expression to help my pumping and it's not so painful but seems to take me longer. I've started to reduce my BM. Trying to put cabbage leaves all the time now and hoping the BM quantity reduces gradually. If cannot, then I'll go get medicine from Dr to stop BM.

Ueno - how do I join MSN? Would like to chat however, I seldom use the PC becoz it takes forever to boot up, and sometimes it hangs / takes forever to load a page. Dunno what my hubby / son doing becoz they have lots of games on it and I think the memory is eaten away! Once I'm on (after like forever, my baby will cry for me to carry!) Can you email me instead of [email protected] ?

My bb is rejecting the bottle too, after accepting it at 4 weeks. Now 9 weeks plus. I read on the net that sometimes, at 8+ weeks, they'd refuse the bottle. I tried Nuk silicon &amp; rubber, &amp; Pigeon but no use! What to do? Any suggestions? Thing is my Mom and Hubby dun like to have her cry and after trying for like 5 mins and her crying, they'd ask me to BF her..*sigh* I will need to try it myself even though advised not to generally cos baby will know it's MOMMY and will hold out for the breast!

I din hv this problem with my 1st 2 kids - they took the bottle happily. That was 8 &amp; 11 years ago!

Re. gathering, my hubby din want me to bring baby becoz she just recovered from nasty virus (was hospitalized on 1st Jan for 3 days!) Bad cough &amp; phlegm and she refused to drink any milk! Not from breast and not from bottle. Now thank God she has recovered, but still slight 5% phlegm. So, what I may do is to pop in myself to Tweety's place and say hi to you ladies and your babies (provided my baby's not cranky and my Mom's ok to watch her for an hour or so). Would love to meet you ladies in person, and share experiences.

Cheryl

Twiggy, yes i give the frozen ones to my son, but the stash r too much for him to finish cos he takes 1-2 times of milk a day (abt 300ml of my BM n mix with his milk powder) but i pump abt 450-500ml per day aft latching my gal.he wont drink if i only give him pure BM. so always will hv extra. now i try to give my son the fresh ones too, so once the frozen ones expire, i will need to throw.

S@L, apply last in first out for your milk since u have excess. This is what I did. I always take the fresh one first. I clear Frozen every 2 weeks. qality of bm decreases with time.

Anyone has any comment? Last friday night at 8pm my son suddenly had high fever. 39 temp. I was worried to death because I was alone with him and baby.
I reluctantly fed him 3.5ml of panadol. Unwilling because I never like to feed him medicine. It is bad for the liver.
His fever didnt go away. It stayed within 38.5 to 39. I sponged him before bed and gave him additional bm at 1am (4oz) and 4am (8oz). When he woke up on Sat morning, he still has mild fever at 38. I gave him another course of panadol.
Miraculously the fever went away on Sat 1pm. No other symptons other than fever.

I am just wondering, could it be my bm that acts as a booster to fight against the virus.

leroy likes to sleep on his right n his head is getting flat! any ideas on what i can use to help him sleep on his left?

he also has his white coating on his tongue,despite my efforts to clean it,i cant get it off his tongue. PD said that its milk residue not thrush. any ideas how i can get rid of it?

ueno, my baby also has it. PD said leave it.

Recently I tried to use a damp cloth to clean it because I am afraid it would affect his milk intake. It doesnt totally eliminate it too. not sure whether is it wise to do so.

Re: Bringing baby out
My husband seems to be the 'odd-one-out' here. Coz sometimes when i go out w/o baby, he will ask y never bring baby with me... he truly loves me yah!