(2007/11) November MTBs

yami, I ever asked my gynae whether i can exercise. She said can do 5 sit ups a day. Swim slowly. can't do too many laps. yoga m not sure.

Fanny, I read it says MDX enhancer. Duno if it is duramine. It is a blue n white capsule. plus add fat blocker.

Koala, I tin u can get it from normal GP for the medication. Forgetton the name of med.

3rd if u count merchant court ueno

grace,
u can bring baby out alone. I am sure you wil be ok with it. Just get the cab driver to help you with the closing and opening of the pram. Hmm, the last time I din bring a pram also, we just let the babies sleep on whatever tweety has (ie car seat, gym mat, sofa etc)

tweety,
didnt get the chance to try yr sandwiches, will u be ordering them again?
Btw does yr shop do delivery? if i need to cater?

hi tinkebel,
yah i think i will be ok. more confident now than last time. but i wont be bringing pram..too mahfan.

since its potluck, let me know what to bring. then i can get them earlier or on the way..

Summary of msn list:
joey - [email protected]
tinkabel - [email protected]
lazykat - [email protected]
S@L - [email protected]
cindy - [email protected]
yoko - [email protected]
plim - [email protected]
ueno - [email protected]
cactusnah - [email protected]
grace - [email protected]
tweetypie - [email protected]
supperhappymum - [email protected]
Koh Gillian - [email protected]
K@ye - [email protected]
Yamiyogurt - [email protected]
kittybride - [email protected]

Just add on to this... Cheers...

ueno,
If we are still doing gathering on weekday, then I will provide sandwiches again.
Hopefully this time more people will turn up because I had 2 platters last time and we only finished 1. But yes we do delivery

since its close to chinese new year.. i will bring some chinese new year goodies(bbq pork etc)

3rd gathering for Nov 2007 mums
POT LUCK
23rd Jan, wednesday 12pm
Everyone's welcome!
Venue: Tweety's place

1. ueno - cake
2. S@L
3. Grace - cny goodies (bbq pork)
4. Tinkabel
5. Yoko
6. Gillian
7. tweety

good idea Yoko, your curry puffs went untouched last time..I'm sure this time round there will be more mummies and babies, I want to see your amazing weigh lost!

tweety, u mean those sandwiches are from ur shop? urs a cafe? the sandwiches were very nice, i was telling hb abt those sandwiches when i went home,yummy!

yoko

My duromine is brown and grey whereas phenteramine is red and transparent w a lot of white tiny pearls. Yesterday is my 1st day taking the medicine and had a light sleep during the night and i woke up 6.30am today and have not taken a nap till now and i am not tired at all. Is this insomnia?

koala

U can get the medicine from the GP but u have to see the doctor 1st b4 u can get the medicine. That time the doctor gave me 2 kinds of medi. One is like tic tac (to stop the milk duct to produce milk), u have to take half in the morning for 2 day and 1 is yellow pill (to flush out the water from the breast).

After taking the yellow pill, i took a longer time in the toilet to finish my "small biz" coz u will pee the excess fluids from the breasts. During the period, your breasts are like rocks and remember don't massage and pump. There will be stinging pains (can take panadol) and dripping of milk so u have to wear breast pads. It takes around 1 week, then your breasts will become soft and will have some lumps. Eventually the lumps will disappear.

If u intend to stop BM w/o taking medi, u can try wearing tight bra, use cabbage leaves for 24 hrs, dont pump and massage to stimulate the milk supply. But u have to go thru the engorgement and it takes more time to stop the BM. Taking medi is the fastest way lah but my friend say that taking those kind of medi will cause breast cancer. I still take lah, hope that i am not so suay.

fanny, ya tat is insomnia. Need to rest more and drink lots of water. If not very thirsty. if still insomnia, try to take stilnox. provided someone is taking care of yr bb. u can take during day if u wan to nap and if u r not taking care of yr bb or at nite. depend on yr schedule.

Have u all heard of 7 in 1 jab? The additional medicine added is to prevent prevnar.

The pneumococcus is a bacteria that causes serious infections in adults and children, including pneumonia, blood infections, and meningitis. This bacteria is also the number one cause of sinusitis and ear infections.
(extracted from http://www.keepkidshealthy.com/prevnar.html)

I wonder this additional jab found in 7 in 1 is the same as the pneumococcal included in the 6 in 1 jab. Any mummy can advise?

Hi everybody,

I am new here, just chanced upon this website. I delivered my bb gal on 7 Nov 07 in TMC.

My gal's height and weight is 60cm and 5kg at 2 mths. My pd commented that she was on the "big" side. Anyone happen to know what is the average or supposed acceptable height and weight for baby gals of 2mths?

I am quite worried that I may overfeed her.

pig, i went to guardian and they sell it, but it's like in a big box, i don't know how to measure the 10g for one descaling procedure though...

ladies, i will try to persuade hubby to let me go for the gathering. but if it's a wkend most likely i can come. wkday it's quite hard for me to convince me to go out on my own..

really upset. baby has rejected the btl of FM yet AGAIN. it's the 3rd night already. goodness. i'm gg to try it in the day time, hope he won't reject it again, if not i'll consider changing the FM brand already. don't know if he's rejecting btl or rejecting the FM. sighs. how to stop BF like that!!

fattymum, my gal born same day at TMC too! PD commented ur bb big? i think is ok base on the guide. my bb Mischa is bigger in tt case....but i dun think i overfed her cos i latch most of the time.n if base on the chart, she could be overwt.

<font color="0000ff">bottle feeding</font>
been wanting to come n ask for some help... does all ur babes drink from e bottle now??? my girl is now 7weeks old, we've started introducing e bottle of EBM to her abt 2 weeks ago, starting from 1 feed per day then tried to increase to 2 feeds a day... she simply refuse to take e teat! she'll rather cry n cry... then go off to sleep... the whole afternoon (last latch @ 10 or 11am) till 6-7pm she'll only take e bottle when she's "desperate", i.e. total of maybe 2 times, n drink 70-100ml per feed...
i've tried:
- letting someone else feed her, n i'll hide "far far away" so she cant smell me...
- change few types of teats (started with NUK, pigeon, tollyjoy, cheap medicine hall type)
e only way she'll drink is after 3+ to 4hrs, when she's reli reli hungry (when im latching her, she drinks every 2-2.5hrly), n she knows she got no choice but to take e bottle. But she'll only take e "minimal" for her to be full, then start all over again....
any advise????
<font color="ff6000">cindy</font>, have ur boy taken e bottle before??? does he reject it previously, or suddenly???

<font color="0000ff">milk intake</font>
dont mind me asking... how much are ur babes drinking now??? i've been bf-ing since day 1 till now... not too sure how much will be "enough" for my girl... how much EBM does ur 7 week old babe drink???

<font color="0000ff">gathering</font>
i wld love to join u all... but may i ask where is <font color="ff6000">tweety's</font> place?? wld u all welcome tis "stranger"?? juz hoping i dont hv to go back to work yet... cos my boss been rushing me to go back... but my girl dunno how to drink from bottle yet... so cant go back to work for now lor...

Sorry to interrupt. I have some complimentary Rustic Nirvana's Adventurine Green Kuasa Tummy Slimming voucher, meant for post-natal, to be given away.

It says: Adventurine green kuasa is concentrated at the tummy area, followed by a stress relief tummy massage plus tummy wrap. This wrap may be kept on for the next few hours. Also helps banish toxins and water retention, improves circulation, retaining heat and keeping inches at bay. (U.P. $120)

Should you be keen, pls pm me. Thanks!

starz, Tweety stays somewhere in the East, near east coast area. u are sure welcome to join us. jus ad ur name in the list with ur email addy and tweety will send u email with details of her plc

i also have the same problem recently regrding btl rejection. i intro btl earlier than u, but still the same case. i guess its cos we latch very often, bb somehow prefer the bond. today my gal smiled at me when i was latching her-so sweet
. i also prefer to latch if i dun need to work at all, but tats nt possible.

now will let my mum or hb feed my gal and i will 'stay away' somehow it works when i m nt ard. and usually when she dozes off to sleep i will push the teat into her mouth, surprising she will finish the feed.

my gal is 8weeks now and drinks abt 80-100ml. some bb here are drinking alot more, but tt is nt a cause for worry as long as the bb is putting on enough weight.

whoa... so many posts!
this afternoon, disappeared for 6 hrs to go do my hair... color, perm, treatment... sit until my backside so numb... haha...

re: sterilizer
S@L, i hv both pigeon and avent ones... i think the pigeon one is pretty good value for $... for it's size, can accomodate quite a number of items, not restricted to the 'lots' like avent one... as for the locking of the cover, am not sure if it is a safety feature, such that if u do not lock it, it will not start to sterilize... can't rem if i had read that somewhere... din get to try it out... hehe

however, i do not know how often shld one descale the sterilizer? i know those stains do form at the bottom, but i juz pour away the water leh...

re: gathering
yes, i'd love to come... just hope that on that day i do not have any adhoc work-related matters to attend to...

Cindy, you might wan to try putting EBM in the bottle (try with a little bit first to avoid wastage) to see if ur boy is rejecting bottle or FM, else very waste to keep trying different FM as each time need to get a whole tin wor...

POT LUCK
23rd Jan, wednesday 12pm
Everyone's welcome!

1. ueno - cake
2. S@L
4. Tinkabel
5. Yoko
6. Gillian
7. tweety
8. PLim (cheesecake again?)

cactusnah, i also dread going back to work... but no choice lah...

since i'll b returning to work very soon, i'm not sure if i can keep up with my pumping sessions... currently pumping at 2 hrly intervals (morning), 3-4 hrly (afternoon), wondering if supply will b affected say i gradually start to drag the morning pumping sessions interval to 3 hrly? all in all, this will reduce my daily pumping sessions by 1 or 2 leh...

currently can still pump around 700-800ml per day, if i reduce the number of sessions, this volume of EBM will reduce also right?

plim:: ya.. think i might try that later! heehe thanks dear!

s@l:: does mischa still have problem with the btl now? or still have to reject many times? i also tried to let other ppl feed him but he just cry very loudly! in the end my hubby and MIL give up also, just ask me to latch first. though i like the feeling but hahaha need to find a soln!

starz:: previously was fine, i don't know why suddenly he is rejecting it. it's only for the past 3 days. i wonder why really.

plim,
I think the supply will stabilise after while. When Matt was about 2-3 wks, I was trying to increase supply, so pump every 3 hrs. But that just doesnt wk out, cos every 3 hrs, u will sit there and pump 20 mins. So I increase to 4 hours (ie 6 times a day). Now getting lazier, haha. Only pump 4 times a day, so average 6 hrs pump once. but my milk supply has quite stabilised, so can pump about 800 to 1L a day.

tinkabel, when u mean stabilize do u mean to say that now i'm getting that much (in a way stabilized), so if i adjust my pumping sessions will i see myself pumping less and eventually this stabilize to a new, lesser volume pump out every day?

Summary of msn list:
joey - [email protected]
tinkabel - [email protected]
lazykat - [email protected]
S@L - [email protected]
cindy - [email protected]
yoko - [email protected]
plim - [email protected]
ueno - [email protected]
cactusnah - [email protected]
grace - [email protected]
tweetypie - [email protected]
supperhappymum - [email protected]
Koh Gillian - [email protected]
K@ye - [email protected]
Yamiyogurt - [email protected]
kittybride - [email protected]
Adeline Chew - [email protected]
Catherine - [email protected]

Just add on to this... Cheers...

fattymum,
my baby is 5.6kg when we weighed him at 6weeks old. my PD said he's "meaty" but not fat. i suspect my baby has heavy bones, tat's why. i think ur baby is fine, dun worry

starz,
my baby takes ard 80-110ml of EBM every 2-3hrs during the day. he is now 8weeks old &amp; started drinking 110ml since he was 6weeks old.

Gathering,
i would love to join the gathering. i never brought baby out alone but (like grace) i have more confidence as compared to b4. i'm not sure wat i can bring for the gathering. there's Fairprice &amp; 2 bakeries near my place. u ladies have any cravings or any suggestions? Tweety, can i use ur toilet when i wan to latch baby? eh i still v shy to latch infront of others =P

POT LUCK
23rd Jan, wednesday 12pm
Everyone's welcome!

1. ueno - cake
2. S@L
4. Tinkabel
5. Yoko
6. Gillian
7. tweety
9. Catherine

Due to the rainy session now, remember to let your babies wear more warm clothings. Try not to bring them to places with many people. My gal came down with flu yesterday. Seeing how difficult she is with her breathing, and how she couldn't drink her milk and couldn't sleep due to her nose blockage really make me heart pain.

tinkabel,
Thanks for the website.

S@L,
your bb born on the same day as mine? Maybe our babies met each other in the nursery before, haha. Heard from the nurses that there are many babies born on that day. I delivered in the morning, and there were no wards available for me till 2pm. And yes, that comment was made by PD, as my bb's height and weight was in the 90 and 75 percentile respectively for a 2mth old.

starz,
My bb is drinking 100ml now. My baby had the same problem when we first introduced bottles to her. She will refuse, cry and try to use her tongue to reject out the teats. There was once that she even vomitted out all the milk given to her using bottle. She only drink from the bottle when she's hungry. I guess the trick is to keep trying. After forcing her to drink from bottles a few times, she somehow got used to bottles and had no problem with bottles now.

Oh yah,

by the way, can I check if everyone will be bringing their babies for the rotavirus and pneumoccocal jabs? Is there anyone opting out of these 2 jabs? Any reasons for opting out?

These 2 jabs weren't cheap and hb and I was wondering if it's really necessary to go for so much jabs.

S@L,
i just went to ur blog site. wah u have so many bags of EBM! so envy! oh i saw ur Gerber milk bags from the pic. u lie the bag flat when u freeze them? look so nice &amp; flat. i leave them standing in a container when i freeze. am i doing it incorrectly?

f@ttymum and S@l,
our babies share the same Birthdate. I was admitted to ward the previous nite as water bag leaks and I dun feel comfy going home - also waited a few hrs before giving a ward, by which contractions coming more regularly. So ended up i made do with 2 bedder converted to single room @ TMC.

I took the rotavirus (5th wk) and will be taking the pneumoccocal (6th mth) as PD says if baby not going infant care or comes into contact with other babies, not so critical to take so early. Since can claim from company, so juz being kiasu and take lor..

thanks mummies...
i was getting kinda desperate, even thought of bringing her back to TMC parentcraft to see if they can help... but tot i'll give it a week or so more... (btw, we've been trying for e 3rd week tis week liaoz..., got one super stubborn girl on my hands...

now im regretting... with my elder son we juz intro e botl to him since newborn &amp; in TMC nursery.. he had no problems with both botl n direct latching.. with my girl, there was no need to intro botl, so never did... super regretted not starting earlier, then wont hv such a hard time now...
<font color="ff6000">S@L</font>, i love to latch her too.. its super convenient n she loves it too... but i can never be a SAHM, so got to "ren ming" lor...
btw, i hv a brand new Pigeon rapid steriliser (e big 1) never used b4 if u decide to get this.. cos my mum dont wana use it n using e "traditional" method of boiling e botls n teats in pot. BUT its been bought for abt 1yr liaoz.. sit in my cupboard never open... n i hvnt got around to posting it in e WTS section yet...

<font color="0000ff">gathering</font>
POT LUCK
23rd Jan, wednesday 12pm
Everyone's welcome!
1. ueno - cake
2. S@L
4. Tinkabel
5. Yoko
6. Gillian
7. tweety
9. Catherine
10. starz (tentative)

paiseh, i put down as tentative first, will confirm a few days b4 e gathering.. cos stil not sure when im going back to work yet....

<font color="ff6000">fattymum</font>
i let my elder son take rotavirus ard 5mths (forgot y, but PD recommend taking tis b4 6mths).. pneumoccocal only took at 1yr old (cos e younger they start, e more jabs... ). @ 1yr old, he only need to take 2 jabs... he also took chickenpox vaccine @ 1yr old.. n i will give him e flu vaccine juz b4 sending him to CC/playgrp in future....

mummies pls indicate if we should change our gathering date to a weekend. So that more mummies can come with the daddies for those of us who need support for outings