(2007/11) November MTBs

winwin, wa, so fast u hv to return to work already? i am only planning to go back after CNY, hopefully my boss dun make me go back earlier... wan to continue with BF'ing and dun wan to waste my effort in doing so within these 3 months since this time round i hv much more supply than last time...

actually i'm not sure if feeding bb FM as her last feed at night really lasts her longer or not? cos previously i tot so and always try to give her FM as last feed... however, for the past few days, hv been giving her EBM as last feed (also 100ml, same as when i give FM), she also wakes up at the same time wor...

for me, i usually pump after i wake up in the night to feed bb, usually spend up to an hour awake for feeding and pumping... after which, can't wait to get back to sleep, cos in another 1 or 2 hrs time, it's day break and time to wake up again :S

plim,
sorry, i can't giv u the brand name, cos it is a korea brand and it written in korean words. u need to make with water cos it is honey and the different with those normal honey is that they added ginger into the honey and u can really see slices of ginger inside the honey.

if u interested my massage therapist, her contact is 9476 7836(maya), jus tell her rachel recommended.

plim,
sorry, 4get to tell u, to engage her u need to sign 10 sessions package, cos she dun take one session by one session basis.

plim,
no problem, hee...

Happy New Year 2008 to all mummies...
May all yr dreams ome true. Babies stay healthy and smile always.

Gillian, how's yr baby constipation? My baby only poos every alternate days. PD asked me to change to NAN or Enfalac HA. But I tot yr baby is having NAN rite? Still have prob pooing? PD also asked me to give glucose water or water abt 3 oz a day. Now my baby will sleep thru the nite after the last feed at 12 or 1am. Next feed will be around 5am or 6am. He is 2 mths old liao. Taking abt 125ml with an interval of 3 hrly sometimes 4.

To all BF mmmies - salute to all.... I know how tiring u all are. Jia you. Feeling sad and down and depress... Just throw and vent all yr anger here. We are al here for all of u... That what tis forum is for...

yoko, my baby poos either once a day or once in 2 days, never exceed once in 2 days. But when I ask the PD, she ask me if the stools are hard. They are not, but i mentioned to her that he uses quite a bit of force to get them out, so i asked if i should change the FM. the PD says altho he's using strength to get the stools out, it does not equate to constipation. It's just that baby needs to use strength to push it out and as long as the stools are not hard and comes out in a single piece, like banana, then its ok. She mentioned to me that all formulaes are the same. She prescribed RIDWIND for my baby and told me that it will help baby to pass out more easily. It's only to be given once a day or as per required. I do feed my baby water, he doesnt like it so I followed wat my gynae taught me-feed him diluted apple juice. Only the gerber apple juice, not others. he drinks quite a bit of water, i think definitely more than 3 oz, altho i dun track exactly how much. My baby is still not sleeping thru'out the night. he's drinking 4oz of milk but wakes up about 3 hourly still....

I am feeling a bit depressed now... cos I am taking a night coz that requires me to attend tuts for Mons and Weds nights from 630 -930 or 10 at times and I have to place baby overnight at my mum's place. Tmr is the 1st night I am doing it.. it makes me upset just thinking about it. Its not that my mum cant do a good job but more like I feel that I am very selfish to go for my personal commitments and leave baby elsewhere.. its "guilt" acting up now.. so i cant get to sleep..

S@L, I no longer wake up at night to pump because baby sleeps through but from 12 midnight till next morning. So I also sleep through.
Should be ok not to wake up to pump. Supply wont dip simply doing once or twice. remember proper rest is also one contributing factor to consistent supply.
now staying awake to work. I very sianz
tomo my sis's wedding, I still have to log in to work.

Cindy, how much does he take per feed? Do u know? If he still wakes up at night even though he feeds on regular schedule in the day, could it be your bm is not sufficient for him.

then hor i super depressed. I don have any nice clothes to wear for her wedding. I am still round
I cant wear my normal clothes.

ladies, my daughter seems to be tanking up/rooting all the time last night. she would demand constant feeding but not strong suckling all the time. at times, she would fall asleep. then last night, she only fed for 5 mins and then slept till now.. which is 7am! is that ok? i pumped at 2am, cos i'm afraid ss would drop if i don't do it.

Dokie, but what i mean here is not jus once or twice...it will be every night. meaning i pump in the day aft feed / latch. but at night i only latch and nt pump...it will stabilie somehow someday right?

My gal also same as Cindy's bb, cannot sleep thru the night. but i dun think its got to do with supply le...i still can pump out a decent amt at feeds...sometimes i thnk its the bb's 'pattern'. like for my son, he was on BM+FM in the day and 100% FM for all night feeds. he also did nt sleep thru the night until 1 yr old! can u imagine my eyes were like panda. but as he reaches ard 5-6mths he only wakes for 1 time night feed, nt as bad as the beginning like 2-3 feeds. so for Mischa i m nt pinnin much hope she can sleep thru so soon....

Superhappymum, oh ya regarding the Organic milk tea, i was wondering how come they added mint and lemon into it? cos i read tt Lemon and mint will decrease supply....weird..

cindy,
maybe u can try n keep yr baby awake during the day? GF recommend that baby gets 4 hrs max sleep during the day. My boy stays awake from 3pm and he goes down well at 7.

S@L,
I didnt wake up at night tp pump and my supply didnt drop, i read somewhere that after 2 months of feeding, supply should be established already right? Will it drop suddenly?

S@L,
Actually I was following the instructions from the FM (Enfalac A+) I bought so I fed him with 150ml. But I observed that he will spit out a little bit of milk after every feed, so I reckon that I might be overfeeding him so have decreased to 130ml instead. For BM, he has no problem taking 150ml and will demand for another feed in either 2 or 2.5hrs. However, my supply is decreasing and I will soon convert all his feeds to FM.

My bb altho drink so much still can't sleep through..sigh. I'm trying to get him awake on day time, esp after 3 or 4pm, but he will get sleepy and if I dun let him sleep, he will scream and tear the whole house down..aiyo..damn fierce.

dokie, Gillian, S@L,
I am having depression for 3 days already. I don't know why I have been crying on and off. Just feel very down. Are we still have potential to have post natal depression after 2 months of birth ? When will we be in the "save" time ? My menses is back tho I am still pumping.

Thinking of returning to work also make me sad. I am considering being a SAHM so that I can "see" my 2 girls grow. On the other hand, I feel that that is a very BIG sacrifice for me. Does it worth ? There are so many FTWM out there and their children grown up perfectly, why do I have to sacrifice just because I don't like the way my MIL taking care of my children. Indirectly, so-called "kao" her. I am in such a dilemma.

ueno:: the problem is he's pretty much awake in the day time too hahah but that's roughly around 12 to 3. but sometimes he'll nap from 4 plus till 7 aiya. it's very difficult. cause he'll fuss a lot if he wants to sleep and we don't let him sleep.

dokie:: i don't know ley, maybe it's really not sufficient? in the day time he can feed and last 2.5 to 3hours, night time he'll wake up and feed for about 5 to 10mins and fall back asleep so i don't know. Now i'm doing direct latching on so i don't know how much he feeds but i realise that when i feed him FM, he doesn't take much, about 80 to 90mL at most. sigh. I'm trying slowly to replace the direct latch ons with FM btl feeding, wonder if this will cause supply to decrease for other feeding sessions?

s@l:: i also think it's the sleeping pattern or the bed? i realise he can sleep much better on our bed. my bed i mean. haha this morning i fed him at 7 and he slept all the way till 1030 for next feed. but on his own bed he can't sleep that long. i wonder if it's the mattress or what. so usually i will let him sleep on my bed after his morning feed.

Cindy, ya same here..i also think Mischa seems to like daddy+mummy's bed more...daytime i will still train her to sleep in her own cot, but tummy down. nightime aft i latch her laying down sometimes we both jus fall aleep and i dun move her bk to her cot.

Superhappymum, i think if ur family can cope with single income (fromh hb) then i encourage you to try out being a SAHM. i think it will nt help much in SS inc but more for maintaining as i think the dosage for fenugreek nt enough.

i take the tea only 1x cos throughtout the day alot of things to drink, fish soup, milo, water...hahaha..

Ueno, yes ss will be established, but will still drop if due stress, tiredness n nt emptying breasts often...tats why i m scared.
btw how do u keep bb awake according to the time? i tried to follow feeding time, but she will jus fall asleep earlier than the time given. nomatter how i try to distract her too. she will get cranky if she wan to sleep n i dun let her...thus i suspect she sleeps too much daytime, hence night still wake up.

btw i think i asked this before, anyone interested in tupperwares? new promo now. can email me for details.

Twiggy, now when i pump it's not until the breasts are empty. Usually, i can pump out at least 120ml. So now, once pump out abt 80 ml, i will stop. Can see ss decreasing already and i don't get engorgement that fast.

had a fight with gabrielle this morning during shower... wana feed her after shower but she scream n scream till i surrender n dress her up n fed her then shower again... now she having greenish stool again... sad....
for 5 week old bb shd we use teat 2 or avent btl? she seem liked very frusted when drinking milk teat1... tot she dun wan and took out n she will started crying like no business again...
wana increaed her feed from 90 to 110ml but she alys cant finish... as i wana let the interval to 3hrs instead of 2 hrs... mummies how u all managed to increase the feed???
bb gabrielle dun reali slp in the daytime... n nite time wake up 2-3 time... izit normal????

i'm finally online.. me, baby luke and his older sis just recovered fr HFMD.. no fun
.. everyone talking about bf-ing now...

heard that this tea called organic mothers milk tea is good but haven't tried myself.. also trying to get the contented baby book to use on luke.. used the contented toddler years for my older girl and it worked v well..

Dokie,i rented a pc from justgown for a corporat event. didn't want to buy gown cos i know that i will slim dowm
quite cheap. u can chk it out... new designs avail too. cos i just return it on 31 dec.

Gillian, Sometimes i think that is gd to give yrself a little break. Dun have to feel depress abt it. Maybe u can spend bit more time with yr hubby and have lovey dovey moments once in awhile.

superhappymum, dun hv to be depress la. u shoud be happy cos yr hubby can support all of u with his income only. Maybe u can do some part time or like s@l doing online drugstore spree. Perhaps that will make u feel better rather than feeling that u only need to take care children like 'si lai' "auntie'. My gynae and doc said that post natal blues will be from delivery to 6 mths. But must be careful so tht it dosen't turn into post natal depression. It is normal for u to cry wo a reason. I am also having bad post natal blues. So bad till silly tots came to my mind. But now i try to go out as often as i can or whenever i got chance i will sneak out. It make me feel so much better rather than staying at home waiting for hubby to come home and facing the four walls. Or rent dvd HK series and watch. At least these work for me.

Hi Elaine,

my boy using teat 1 avent at current week 7. on BM and FM.

One of the posts i read and if i remember correctly advises using teat 1 for BM, Teat 2 when on FM, and variable when 3month and above.

My boy taking 160ml now. I increaed it gradually 10ml by 10ml.. but that is provided he can finish the previous say 150ml before i start on 160ml.. and he was on 150ml every 3 hour interval for say like 1week plus. got to depends.

All this depends on you observing your baby and how much to give and increase. Also the weight of the baby. I guess there isnt any fix amount to give for a particular week old child. Those are probably a guide only.

Ya, yoko, its true yah... i feel much better now, my mum also tells me its ok; she will do a good job for me. i guess she is my best help now.
Superhappymummy, r u depressed because u r not OK with the way ur MIL looks after the chn? If so, you have to figure out if being a SAHM is the best choice for u or employing a nanny is a better choice. Of cos since ur hubby can take care of all the finances himself, its best that u can be a SAHM, but I also must say that not all women can be SAHM. u have to determine the cause of ur unhappiness to solve the issue. Dun quit then realise u r still unhappy. or maybe can tell ur mil wat u r unhappy about? I dunno how to solve also, but try to cheer urself up, cos baby and kid needs a happy jovial mummy.

S@L: u still taking orders for the drugstore spree2?? is the desitin cream in? also, can still order for the 2nd spree? when is the stock coming in?

Elaine, i have been reading ur posts and it seems like Gabrielle and my 2 mth old gal are similar. My gal is a high-need baby and taking care of her can be draining sometimes. She will scream (not just a whimper cry..) when she wants something. When feeding, she will scream her heads off if i'm late to thaw and heat up EBM. This girl of mine when she wants something, she wants it NOW!!

As for shower time, i will always do it after her feed. If not, she will scream. What i do when taking care of my gal is i follow a pattern. Eating-Activity-Sleep. Always in this order. High-need baby likes predictability and also we don't have to second guess why our babies are screaming.

If Gabrielle can't finish the increase in feed, nvm. Anyway isn't 110ml per feed for a 5 wks old baby abit much? A baby's stomach is as big as her fist. So some babies really can't take alot because of stomach size, it's not that they don't want to.

So don't fret... whatever challenges we face when taking care of high-need babies will be rewarded later (maybe much later.. keke!)

<font color="0000ff">Happy 2008 to all mummies and babies</font>

been MIA for a few days already. so many posts to read &amp; many things to update too. Sorry for the long post =P

About Baby Jovan
1. He nearly "teared" the house down last week with all his crying. He had sore throat in the end. Poor thing. We took him to PD &amp; he was given 3 bottles of medicine. He likes the med though... hahaha

2. He weighs 5.63kg at 6W1D old. I kept asking the PD if I overfed him =P He still drinks 110ml at 2-3hr interval in the daytime and I still need to latch him every 2hrs at night.

3. We gave him 125ml of FM for the bedtime feed but he still wakes up after 2 hrs! Somehow I agree with S@L tat it's the baby's pattern. Maybe we should try to keep baby wake during daytime so tat he will be more sleepy than hungry at nite, like wat ueno recommended. But daytime we have many things to do, where got time to keep baby awake?

4. Jovan's 4 packets of Nepia diapers just arrived. Yet to try out. So far he has used Pampers, Huggies, Drypers &amp; Softlove. Pampers is still the best. I love the indicator but the size S seems too big for him now &amp; it's the most expensive. Drypers is not bad but it cant take big amt of urine, will leak. Think i might use Drypers for day &amp; Nepia for night.

About Mummy Catherine
1. I weighed myself at the PD visit - 45.3kg. Still got 2.8kg to my pre-preg weight. I lost 2kg in 2 weeks. No wonder my mum, who din see me for only 5 days (coz she went home for the long holis), said I looked like I lost quite abit of weight.

2. My body finally cannot tahan the "night duties" after exactly 4 weeks. I'm down with cough &amp; cold
Yday i force myself to nap in the daytime for 3.5hrs so tat i can still do nite duty. My HB wanted to take over but i know he surely cannot tahan. There was once he woke up at 2am to feed baby EBM. The next day he was so tired &amp; bad-tempered, he kept losing his temper!

3. I pumped out my own record of 310ml in the morning. Quite pleased with the amt but the quality still din improve. I already tried eating loads of fish (I used to hate fish!) &amp; lots of meat, but my BM doesn't seem thick enuff. It will separate into 2 layers - top 80% is slightly yellow &amp; bottom 20% is almost translucent. My fren's BM was so thick it could separate into 3 layers with the top layer being really yellow. Sometimes i even wonder if it's becoz my BM not thick enuff, tat's y Jovan gets hungry every 2 hrs. *sigh* <font color="0000ff">Mummies, do u have any advice/tips on how to improve the quality of BM?</font>

Hi Elaine

my gal is using teat 1 now at week 8 on FM. She's taking 120 ml FM 3 hourly.

As what pig07 says, alot depends on your baby and the size of your baby too.

According to my gal's PD, the amount she's taking is fine.

S@L,poissons,
initially when my boy fell asleep earlier than the time given, i allowed him 30-45mins of sleep after which i will wake him up by massaging his soles,hands n chest. Sometimes he gets upset when i do that but after awhile he stopped napping. GF said if bb cant stay awake from 3.15pm -7pm ,its ok to let them sleep max 1hr,4.15-5.15. After awhile,they should cut back this late afternoon nap.

Catherine, i guess the only way to "improve quality" of BM is to eat more fatty stuff. But like that can forget abt trim figure also. Try eating lots of oatmeal and also avocado and durians (super fattening fruits!!!). I've tried and my BM pretty thick looking. But i only tried for a few days lah. I don't want to balloon up for this.

cat:: nice to hear your updates11
I'm also abt 2 kg to my prepreg weight but i doubt can go back to my prepreg size...

sabrina:: think your way is good to reduce milk ss till it stops gradually. so u not gg to get med from doc?

s@l n all other mummies:: yes i think maybe our bb are light sleepers too. haha wake up 2 times guess its okay lah. my colleague's bb 5 mths already also wakes up 2x for food.

Cindy, right now i don't have any seroius problem yet wrt reducing ss, so i dont think i need any med yet. not for now at least.

Right now, I'm training my gal to sleep thru the night. Instead of feeding her milk when she wakes up in the wee mornings, I give her water. This way she will learn to associate that there's no incentive to wake up in the middle of the night coz she won't get milk. Have yet to see results coz i just started yday. Learnt this technique from my colleague. It worked for my first gal.

Catherine, but the first few nights baby might wake up more often coz used to being fed with milk and water isn't satisfying enough. So just take note of that. As usual, one method may work for one baby but not the other, so if this method doesn't work, don't shoot me hor!!! kekeke!!

rast shipment reached vpost. will arrive prob within a weeks time.

As for batch #2,i have nt sent out the orders cos still have nt reached USD200, shipping nt worth if i dun maximise the amt. Therefore hope those mummies who still wan to order can email me asap.
those mummies affected in batch #2 are:

Tub, Grace, Superhappymum, Lazycat. However i only managed to order 26 tubes of Desitin instead of 31 tubes in batch #1 as there were no more stocks. So i will allocate base on the urgency for those mummies who needs the Desitin cream. Hope you are all fine with tt.

S@L,
My hubby can support the family. It's just that I can't accept that I have no income. I don't like to get $$ from hubby to buy things I like. Sort of no freedom. I think being financial independent is very important nowadays. Besides, it wastes my effort for getting the degree.

(I don't mean to offend any SAHM here. It's just how I feel for myself at this moment.)

re: feeding water at nite..
hmmm...i personally feel tt nt too good to deprive them of milk...if she contonues to wake for milk i will still give la...poor thing to give water...jus my personal view, no offence intended.

Gemini19, ok i will order for u.

Gilian, yes can still order. u email to me ok?

Catherine, dun worry too much abt the 'fats' in the mil n end up piling unecessary calories on urself. ur bb is gaining good weight so he is getting the right nutrients.as long u eat more fish n balance diet. Did PD comment abt the weight gain, is it considered overweight? cos my gal also quite scary 6kg at 7weeks. i waiting for the next visit to ask doc abt her growth.

Feeding water at night:
I tried but it doesn't work on my boy, cos' he could differentiate the taste, if it's milk, he will gulp down, if it's water, he will refuse to even suck and then start screaming his lungs off. Sigh..

My boy woke up at 4.30pm juz now and we are trying to make him stay awake till 7pm (my mum keeps him company). Gonna give him a bath soon and then feed him, hopefully he can zonk off soon.

bb gabrielle had her feed at 6pm for 2oz of EBM then fallen aslp then 7pm cried then drank another 3oz then finali sleeppp... noticed she will "cry" when she was half aslp... like crying in her dream... im guilty... mayb becoz of the fight in the morning during shower time... haiz...
everyone seems like losting weight but i still got 6 more kg and itz 5 weeks since giving birth liao... i cut down my meal liao depress... everything is so neg for mi... now 60kg n had been the same since week 3...

twiggy, u can visit any GP to check on mastitis. they will be able to prescribe the antibodies for u.

i also pump at 5 hourly intervals nowadays coz i want to sleep more...hehehe...and the amount that i usually pump out is about 200-220ml.

i have both ameda and avent manual pumps. but i am using avent more often as i can control the strength and suction and it seems to help to empty my breasts more effective.

but with ameda, i seems to pump more milk. then again, i need to use avent after that to empty the breasts. quite troublesome so i rather stick to using avent more of the time.

now i also constantly massage my breasts to prevent any blocked ducts. i think massaging is part of my "routine" now...haiz...

Going back to work:
i dun think i have the energy to work. since i have delivered bb, i need to nap at least 1 hr in the morning and 2 hr in the afternoon. if i dun nap, i will be damn sleepy and couldn't focus on anything. currently, i only need to wake up one time at night to pump.

i will be returning to work after CNY, and i am worried i will be sleepy and cannot work well
spoke to my hubby about it, and he suggested that i return to work in march instead. take no pay leave first. quite tempted to do that.

fridge at work:
mummies, do u have freezer or fridge in office to store the bm if u pump at work?

the only fridge that is working well is in my MD's office! so, it can be quite troublesome to store the milk. i am thinking of getting fridge-to-go, but not sure if it can work well like a fridge and store the milk for longer hours.

any suggestions or alternatives?? pls share! thanks!

elaine,
i really can hi-5 with u liao...
my gal today also out of nowhere, during her nap in the afternoon, suddenly cry out very loud, as if very scared and needs to be carried before she stopped crying... same thing happened juz half an hour ago... i dunno if she's having nightmare or what... scared the hell out of me

another thing is on the weight issue... same here, i hv only lost my daughter's birth weight since i delivered her... until now! and i think i might hv even weighed 1 or 2 kg extra! sigh... still hv 7 or 8kg to go! *sob sob*

Elaine and Plim

My daughter also very cranky at times in the afternoon, needs to be carried and "pamper"... Tiring but if dun do tat, she'll scream very loudly...

Elaine, i'm in my 8th week already and I still have 6 more kgs to lose also, very depressing as I cannot wear most of my clothes. Trying to lose my fats around my waist and thighs, if not, got to buy new clothes for work by end of this month

Ha, elaine, plim, gemini19 we are all in the same boat. cant shed the 7kg. In fact, I hardly weigh because I am afraid to find out the truth.
It is kind of difficult this round because of christmas and coming cny. It will be a real challenge.