(2007/11) November MTBs

S@L,

Re: Drugstore.com
Did you order together during the sprees that you organised or on your own? Coz i know if order ourselves, the shipping price can kill man!! But one thing i hate abt ordering online on international websites is that the items take so long to reach. I'm the impatient type, once bought must immediatelyt see the item in front of me. :p

I thought so too that blessed thistle can get at nature's farm. Maybe i try to get some tmr. Coz i have tried just fenugreek, but didn't seem to help much leh. Hopefully with blessed thistle would work better. Looking for ways to help increase milk supply besides regular pumping.

Sabrina, i did the spree myself. Shipping charges are ok and is the same even if u join other sprees. i usually collate orders from my frens or mummies here to split the shipping cost since we all wan to get something from the website. Its not possible to myself alone to hit USD200 buying from drugstore.

hehee the reason why i enjoy doing sprees is becos i like to see the items i ordered arrive at my doorstep! its fun to see what other mummie hv ordered too. although packing and posting takes up quite a bit of time when the items arrive, but still ok. U can get blessed thistle here definately but i think is alot more expensive. of course if u need to build ur BM ss immediately then go and get from local shops. u can consider to stock up from drugstore aft u see results. BTW blessed thistle has to be taken with fenugreek for the ultimate result!

i bought the clips from Ikea to seal my Playtex bags. i have used cable ties/ rubber bands before too. but cos i like to keep mybags flat in the freezer so the clips work better. a pack of 20small+10big clips @ S$5+ from ikea.

Ziplock style bags like Gerber/ lansinoh are good...but far too exp if u store alot of milk.

S@L,
I will try the blessed thistle + fenugreek after which, if it works for me, i will add them to my earlier order from drugstore.com. Can i? since you are not going to order mine so soon, there should be enough time for me to try out the duo combi. For yourself, how long do you need in order to see results (increase in milk supply)?

At first i thought i bought the wrong type of Playtez milkbags coz there weren't any ziplocks on them. Then found out that actually must use our own rubber bands/ clips etc... silly me!

Re: gathering,
mummies who went to the gathering, did you take photos? Post them here leh.... I would also like to put "faces" to the nicks that I have always "talk" to. Too bad I couldn't join all of you. Would love to do that if there are any more gatherings in the future

Mummies, i hsve some glass bottles that i got from the hospital to let go for free. Good for storing milk but you need to get the cover yourself.
Letting go because i am not using them, using my milk bottles to store my ebm.

I think i got about 20 of them. Anyone interested, pls email me at [email protected]. Meet up at commonwealth mrt.

SQL, did you capture my order for 2 tubes of destin?

so sad i missed the gathering, please quickly have another soooon okay!

these days have been lazy to btl feed bb. haaah all depend on latching on. Really quite scared he'll forget how to use btl. and also never pumped for a long time, don't know how much is the supply. hahaha. today have to make it a point to give one btl feed - by fm..! night times always want to give FM but too lazy..

and hehe yea looking fwd to some photos!

s@l:: wow! bb mischa has sure gained lots of weight! i haven't weighed my boy for 2plus wks already. wonder how much he is now. you weighed using own scale at home? mine not digital very hard to estimate accurately the decimal point hahaha... maybe i try to weigh later.

After staying at home for too long, always lazy to go out. I have to "struggle" whether to go out or not. But when I am out , I feel happy. :p
strange!
Anyway I have to go out to see a skin dermatologist at 9am..sianz

I just brought my boy for 1st mth jab yest. He weighs 4.5kg now (as compared to 2.97kg at birth). Almost one bag of rice. No wonder my hand carrying him very tired.

poissons:
quite a few day nvr see u on thread. Maybe u are bz with taking care of bb after CL has left. Jiayou... I am sure u can handle. Oh yah, I think Dr Ngiam is much better. Friendlier and bother to explain certain things. So was a good choice to change.

Re: Gathering
Yah was fun yesterday. I uploaded some bb photos into my bb's blog http://matthias-chan.blogspot.com/. But the mummies' photos with [email protected]@L: Upload them soon ok.

Re: going out alone
I was also very skeptical until I try bringing bb out alone yesterday. To the PD then to Tweety place. Still quite ok. But then, hv to take cab. Very siong, now that cab fare increase. My mum think I am damn garang man. haha. Say I am crazy. But I just can't stay put at home.

oh yes... grace n s@l:: cannot carry and BF st the same time when bb gets heavier means you will stop direct latching n bottle ebm? cause i also do feel a little strained after BF bb now haha..

I am bringing my baby for the 6-in-1 jab this afternoon... called the PD to ask the diff between 5-in-1 and 6-in-1 jab. Apparently, the difference lies in the Hep B...

Gathering
It was great talking to the mummies... although my dear baby was stuck to me all the time. The photos on tinkabel's blog are so so so cute... can you do me the favour of emailing them to me.. My mum saw the photos and commented that Javier is indeed too active.. Hahaha... must tie legs and hands liao..

baby Bjorn Carrier
Consdiering that I gotta carry him a lot, can anyone tell me if the Bjorn carrier is good and where can I test it out? He's currently using the MIM sling but he doesn't seem to like it a lot, so I am looking around for a way to save my arm.. Hahaha... Mummies who went for the gathering y'day knows why!! hahaha

tinkabel, please email me ur account no.. so I can pay u for the Desitin cream..

S@L: I forgot to pay u for my order for 4 tubes of Desitin cream y'day.. How do I pay u?

Re: going out alone
I am quite ok with going out alone.. but not for long hours cos my mom is very OK with me leaving him in her care. And, I also cant stay home for long periods.. will go mad.

vivian, yes i noted ur orders.

Gillian, i will email u the amt. u can TT to me.

Sabrina, i got ur email. ya i jus realised its Nature's way, nt Farm.....oopss...!
i took the capsules daily since day 4 n i think i see the diff within 2 days. but the milk increase has been constant, nt suddenly.....now i take the capsules once a while to maintain the supply.

cindy, i will still latch day 1x and nite feeds even if i express out mostly when i start work. can still latch, jus tt i cant carry her and walk like i did anymore,. have to find a place to sit down n feed. if she is ok with latching i dun intend to bring btl when we go shopping. hope she can 'transit' betwn both.
i will post update on my blog soon. my gal wanted to 'talk' from 11pm-3am last night...my eyes are droppy now.

Mummies, BTW i might split the drugstore ordeers into 2 batches cos have exceeded 1 batch already. will update who belongs to which batch.

koala / dokie / S@L,
thanks for sharing. i haven tried freezing my EBM yet. so my box of 25pc Gerber milk bags are still untouched! recently, besides latching baby on demand, i have adopted the routine of pumping at 10am, 2pm, 6pm & 10pm. i dun pump at nite (too tired!). now i have run out of bottles so gotta explore best & most eco way to store the EBM.

twiggy,
i haven breastfed in public yet. din get nursing top or a good shawl. the last 2 times i went out, i brought my EBM. but baby wasn't satisfied & was wailing! in the end, we went home
next time, i will consider BF in toilet if there's no nursing room. i think gotta train abit if really wanna to BF in public (at least for me).

i got this link abt "Tips for Discreet Breastfeeding".
http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/discreetbf.html

cindy,
i also went out last wkend both days, but it's only during dinner time. i brought 130ml EBM but baby just wasn't satisfied! he normally drinks only 100ml when we r at home. argh so fedup.

Gathering
too bad i din join u ladies yday. the gathering looks fun and the "line-up" of babies are so CUTE! i still dun have the courage to bring baby out alone. me & my hubby were still struggling when we brought baby out over the weekend.

can tell me where to get <font color="0000ff">nursing tops</font>?

catherine:: hahaha actually got one time i went out i also brought out EBM in the end, yes not enough and somemore he only drink bit by bit so quite a lot wasted plus when come back home, very heavy boobs. So heartache, so that's why last wkend when i went out, i just didn't bring anything, just latch on directly. ahahaas. I went to the toilet once and you know lah, ladies Q always very long, i just told the front person my bb needs to feed, let me go first. ^^ cat, u're mostly still latching on or giving btl EBM now?

s@l:: so now you're mostly latching still?

cindy,

hahaha tat's v funny. the lady in front never say "huh?! feed?"

i do a mix of latching & giving EBM. i store my EBM in quantities of 100ml. so if i pump out 160ml, i store 100ml & i'll keep 60ml for baby's next feed. then i'll "top up" with latching. hmm i hope this method is alright

Cindy, yes i still latching and pumping...tiring!
ya lo u nvr get stares when u said u wanna feed baby?ahaha...i tot u trying my method of feeding in public? i find tt all BF mums should try to master this skill so tt BF is nt so stressful. i nvr like too Q at nursing rooms unless it is readily empty and smell-free. So far u hv nt fed Mischa in nursing rooms.

cat n s@l:: hahaha.. never ley. maybe she too stunned already hahas. so i try to go places with nursing rooms. s@l:: i wanted to try once but once u get a wailing bb, lots of stares accompanies so i still don't dare to publicly latch ahahaha. went to the nursing rooms at jurong pt m forum, they were quite okay! jurong pt one is individual rooms with doors. clean too. want to try out taka n vivo ones heee.

S@L,
Ya, it's the same Desitin. I'm not sure if it's 2 or 4 oz but it's the standard size you see at all pharmacies but Guardian etc only sells the purple one usually.
How do you nurse in public? Can you teach me how to do so with a nursing top? Don't you have to undo the hole in the blouse and undo the bra clip first to take the nipple out? I'd really like to be able to learn to nurse in public to avoid the hassle of bottles and pumps.

Tinkerbel,
Wow! Your baby has put on 1.5 kg in a month? That's great! I'm taking my baby to dr this FRi. Really hope he's put on a lot of weight too. How quickly are babies suppose to put on weight at this stage?

Catherine,
Thanks for sharing the link. Can I check with you, since you are latching baby on demand, why do you still need to pump? And do you latch baby for all his feeds at night? I'm trying to avoid having to pump at night but not sure how, because breasts gets engorged if I dont empty every 4 hours. That's the other reason I want to learn to latch baby in public. So I can go out for more than 4 hours without having to rush home to pump. Just let baby empty the breast for me. Otherwise, like now, I don't have a life AT ALL because I can't be out for more than 3-4 hours without pumping.

RE : Sore boobs
Are you boobs still feeling very sore all the time? My breasts are always feeling very sore, either engorged sore, or bruised from the massaging. Very uncomfortable. Is this normal?

tinkabel,
my baby Jovan put on 1.55kg as well. from 3.33kg to 4.88kg. hehehe. hope our babies will continue to be healthy & chubby & CUTE! hahaha

twiggy,
i pump to increase my milk ss & start to store EBM for future when i go back to work. heard tat milk ss will usually be affected once u r back at work. yes, i do latch baby for all his feeds at night & i dun pump at night. my breasts does feel v full in the morning & i can pump out more during my morning pumping session.

twiggy:: do u let bb latch on at nights? if do, u don't have to pump eh? i latch on demand all the time. very rarely do i feel engorged now. guess body already used to bb's needs haha. cause when u pump, the boobs fill up very fast and very quickly. so i don't really like it. when i go out, i just latch in nursing rooms or toilets. no problem n can be out the whole day.

Hi Cindy,
No, I seldom latch baby now but trying to switch back to that instead of pumping. How often does your baby feed and how long does he feed for?

twiggy:: it depends. usually he takes about 30mins but if he falls asleep usually can drag up to 1 hour of on/off feeding. hahaha. the feeds can last him 2.5 to 3.5hours in the day. night time can last about 3.5 to 4 hours. of course he takes a lot in his last feed, usually he'll feed on/off ard 9 to 11, then he'll wake up at 2pm, then again at 6am. if his last feed is ard 10 to 12, he'll get up at 4am and then at ard 7am. but daytime is usually 2.5 to 3.5hourly. try to switch back if u can, it's very convenient, and at night when bb latches, morning you will only feel slightly full cause bb takes little at night and go back to bed le. which is why i hate pumping hahaa and never got around to establishing a schedule to pump like cat. but that's because i don't intend to BF when i get back to work. ^^ so whenever i wanna go out, i just bring bb along, if never bring bb along, i try to make it quick and bb can take FM when i'm away - havne't tried this yet. so far always go out is always with bb. hehe.

Twiggy put avent soothing cream after every pump. It helps alot. It relieves the discomfort.
I felt this way in the first 3 weeks. Now I am fine.

Gals, who has successfully use the MIM sarong sling? I very kan cheong. I am going to stay overnight in orchard from Fri to Sat. I am scared of using the sarong. I don want to use pram. More mobile with sarong. Any tips?
SIL taught me but scared still blurred.

S@L,
how do u find the baby rock sling, u have rite?
me saw Life baby in Vivo city selling it. got quite alot of sponge at the shoulder.

pretty woman,
i got the bb bjorn sling from mother care. they have 3 different ranges.. the normal, the air(more ventilation)and the active. active can carry bb till more kg. i got it at 15% discount, think around $150 for the air one..

Gillian, i think u can bring bb to mothercare to test the carrier to see if u like it.. surely no obligations one.

re: Bfeeding in public
i tried the handicapp toilet, the nursing rooms and even a restaurant in centrepoint 7 foodcourt in vivocity. the centrepoint issue was that bb keeps feeding every 30mins, which means i rush to toilet to feed her then come out sit down and want to eat that time, she wants to feed again. so i took out my nursing cover and sit and feed. but got pple stare loh...and she is a fussy bb, she hates the cover falling on her face so that is for emergency.

Girls,
question: where does your bb sleep at nite? with u or in a separate nursery(own room)?

Thanks Grace for telling me where to get the Bjorn carrier. I intend to go try it out on 20th Dec.. my birthday!! so happy, cos my hubby is rushing back to celebrate my BD for me.

Twiggy and tinkabel: my baby also put on a lot of weight. I just came back from the doc this afternoon and my, i am amazed that he has put on 1.8kg from his birth weight. This is just 5 weeks... so, my boy is a whopping 4.9kg now...

Dokie: I also use the MIM sling but my boy doesn't like it. He moves a lot so after yesterday, my back was straining.anyway, there is a DVD that comes with the sling. Do u have the DVD? If not, maybe I can burn one copy and post to u?
Let me know... but, i can only do it after 20th Dec cos I am putting up at my mum's place till then.

grace: my baby sleeps with me in the cot at night. I originally put him in the "nursery" but 'cos he's alone, i cant do it after the CL leaves.

hi gillian,
no prob and happy birthday in advance!!

i have the mim sling too, i look at the cd and its really not easy... i didnt try the sling on bb yet so its really new still.

after cl leaves, hubby slept with bb at nite in the nursery for a week, then after that i did it for a week too. but found it too straining to sleep on the mattress on the floor, mayb weather abit cold so got backache. then i upgraded to sleeping in my own room with no aircon so that i can hear her scream at nite. last nite, i slept in aircon, with the bb monitor on. its was SHIOK.
i never let bb sleep in aircon cos no good for nose.. i feel abit guilty abt letting her sleep on her own in her own room but i guess thats the way to go. i abit phobia cos my cousin sec 3 liao next year still sleeping with parents even though they have a spare room for her.

Re: bfeeding in public.
have breastfed in cabs, bus, mrt (basically in all public transport), at polyclinics while waiting for turn, foodcourt and while doing shopping at causewaypoint. i never did go to the nursing rms or toilets :p

grace, u r right. ppl do stare. but i can't b bothered, i didn't expose anything that i'm not suppose too what. My baby sleeps in the same room as me.. in her sarong cradle.

grace:: ehe bb sleeps with me in my room hahahas.

sabrina:: wow! courageous! you used a nursing cover like grace or nursing tops?

dokie:: wow! you so happening! you go orchard overnight for what? then bb also overnight?

sabrina, how u feed in public? with nursing cover or u use the mim sling that can feed while carry bb? so far i never take public transport yet. not brave enough yet as i scared bb screams and she feeds so often now,i dont have schedule..

grace, cindy,
I don't use MIM sling. My gal hated it. Always struggle. I use the Cuddlywrap like the one below. My gal always like to be in upright position. When want to latch, i loosen the wrap a little, then slant her to right or left breast. But of coz, i did practice in front of the mirror first :p
1159659.jpg

I wear nursing top, the type that can remove from the empire line like the one below.
1159660.jpg

Then for bra, i use the tube bra. Just pull down when want to latch.

When want to latch, ppl will look like what the hell is my hand doing under the wrap.

But now i don't breastfeed in public already coz give my gal EBM in bottle. My gal also getting impatient when want to latch. Make so much noise.

i have seen mothers breastfeed in public while using Baby Bjorn. They slant the baby to left or right. I think they unhooked one side of the carrier. then cover with scarf. Never use nursing shawl.

S@l,
I have juz PM u for 2 tubes of the desitin cream, thanks in advance!

For mothers who are giving EBM, how do you transport for more then 2 feeds (chilled EBM)? Do I need to bring cooler bag w/ice pack or can I just pack 2 feeds using cooler bag (no ice pack type)? My gal drinks abt 3 hrly interval now..

Gillian, I have the dvd but I think I need practice.

Cindy, bomian! I never like to bring baby out to crowded places. I am ultra paranoid. But my hubby likes. Staying overnight in ascott service apartment. Go shopping and relax according to him. To be honest, I dread to go because so many things to bring.

Hi anyone did any research on diapers? I want economical type as bf babies use alot of diapers.
I cant decide drypers brand or ntuc brand. Very lazy to do research. Anyone knows? Can advise?

dokie,
Between drypers and ntuc brand, i prefer ntuc's. Very absorbent. Drypers.. hmmm.. personally, i wonder why it's so popular. I find the sticky tape terrible.

Tinkabel,
Thanks for the encouragement
Yeh..eversince the CL left, both hubby and I have been busy handling our "new boss" at home. The day seems to pass so quickly with bathing him, feeding him, coaxing him to sleep, doing housework, pumping milk, etc..that I could hardly find the time to breathe! Fortunately my hubby took 2 wks leave to help out, else I really dunno how to manage alone.

Anyone's baby has the habit of wanting to sleep (very tired, keep yawning) but just refuse to sleep and get cranky? My boy was like that after turning one month old and it's driving me and my hubby crazy. Wonder if anyone has some advices to give?

Anyway, today went to see the PD for his 1st month's 2nd Hep jab. My boy is now 4.89kg and 57cm in length. He was wailing so loud after the jab that we couldn't go anywhere after the jab but to head home instead..sigh. And yes, Dr Ngiam is better, I think he is more patience and bothers to answer my queries.

it has been long since i come online...moved over to my parents place after CL left and no access to internet...so many post to catch up hehe

tinkabel/poissons
i m using Dr Ngiam as well, he is quite nice but the clinic always full of people, so i thinking of changing PD..still looking around...

to other mummies:
need your advice here, my gal has been refusing to sleep on her cot or on her own, we tried many times to make her sleep on her cot but she wake up like 30min after we put her on her cot and cry and we need to carry her to make her fall asleep again then put her back and the same cycle repeats. I tried letting her to sleep with me and after she fall asleep, i move away and same thing happen, once she detect i m not around, she wake up and cry and want to carry...and whole nite we just repeat the same cycle...really very exhausted and i just give in and sleep with her...

i really dun wun to make this a long term solution since heard many horrible story (children sleep with parents till they very big and still cant sleep on their own)...really a big headache for me, really cant let her just cry and fall asleep...this doesnt work as she just continue and cry louder n louder and non stop (trust me is really NON STOP)....sigh.....

tweety, thanks for organising the gathering. great time.

for those mummies who missed it, we arrange another session... would like to meet up n hv sharing session. so tat we mummies will not feel left out..

those who loves disney romers n clothings for babies... there is a sale @ level 5. for disney babies stuffs. rompers cost $5 pooh n mickey n minnie n more stuffs. gd buy.

tinkerbelle, e photos look gd. oh my jordan is not in there.. Will bring him the next time round to join the rest of his peers.... hehe

grace,
my boy sleeps in his own room since 1month old. I set the air con at 27 degrees for him but these days the weather is really cool n outide temp is 27 too so i just open the window n let him sleep.

winwin,
u can try letting yr gal sleep in her cot n u sleeping next to her beside her cot. So when she makes noise u can talk to her n pat her to sleep, that way she knows that u are around. Then everyday, u move yr bed further away from her cot, gradually u will be sleeping near the door,by that time yr gal should be used to sleeping on her own. That's what my girlfriend did for her baby. U can try n see if it works.

dokie:: wow your hubby is sooo sweet!!
hehe is it celebration for xmas? hahaha.... and i don't like the drypers brand ley like very small for the size and i don't like the sticky tape. hahaha.

winwin:: my bb also the same. but usually only happends in the daytime. sighs.

Cindy, I cant imagine friday. with 2 kids..but my mum agreed to tag along and sneak out for shopping when the children are sleeping.

By the way I am on duty again 1am to 230am. Really sianz...day time cant sleep night time also cant sleep. surely age very fast.

Also gals, I went to see my dermatologist yesterday and she confirms that we can colour and perm hair even when bf. I am asking her from skin perspective.

dokie:: hahaha last night i was on duty from 4 to 7am. same same lah. yes day time cannot fall asleep night time want to sleep cannot sleep. hope they faster get their timings rihgt and we get our life back. your mom is so cute hahaha... But should go relax a bit la. but so much barang to carry eh!