(2007/11) November MTBs

dokie:: mine's 1st december! yours? hahah also either first or second rights? i think YLS also not bad. they are actually my second choice.

I have used Neo Gardens on many occasions and I'm very happy with their service and food quality for the price that I'm paying.

Ai yo, must clean bb's nose la.......i din dare use baby's cotton bud to poke into her nose...wat i did was to twist the ends of a hanky, push it into her nose and swirl ard....hanky must be wet ok (not watery wet)....it'll sometimes tickle them and they will end up sneezing out the dried mucous.....if not the hanky will catch some of the dried mucous when u pull the hanky out....

just now i tried my Ameda Lactaline again. i can pump out 120ml. even my CL was impressed hahaha. i think these helps:
- pump after a meal
- clean breasts with hot towel
- take a hot drink as u pump
- massage breasts esp lumpy parts

S@L / poissons,
just now i tried the Pumpin' Pal with the Super Shields. it really allowed me to be handsfree to take my hot drink as i pump. but some PRECIOUS milk will drip from the shields when i remove the pump from my breasts. so wat i tried to do is to lean fwd to allow the milk to flow into the bottles b4 i take out the pump. hope this helps

Cindy yes 1st Dec dinner time

Sowie,I dare not clean. Never mind I leave it. should be ok right?

I am bored to death today. I donno why. Hope more posting keep me alive...:p

Hi Dokie

Yup...shld be ok...cos they will know how to sneeze it out....if u see it near the nose edge, u can use yr little finger to dig it out...if not it's blocking the air passageway....but for me, i cannot tahan to see dirt in the nose...so i clean almost daily.....hehe.....

long time never hear from zzz (sleepystar), has she popped?

waiting for cactusnah to update us too. she is the "newest" graduate mummy

sowie:: haha your method's so cute! i can try it later if i still hear noisy breathing! hahaa..

dokie:: why so bored? go pump some milk or play with bb lah! hahaha..

catherine:: wow!! congrats to you!
how long did you pump for?

Catherine,
Those tips you have shared are exactly what I'm doing also and I must say they really work well for me...now I can easily pump about 160-170ml from both breasts for each session.

Wrt the pumping pal and supershields..thanks for the feedback, now you make me xin yang yang again to buy and try out leh =P

Here's another pic of Garreth, hehe..I enjoy taking pics of him everyday:

1084311.jpg

cindy,
i think i pumped for 20min. is it too long?

best thing is my nipples dun feel sore after pumping. otherwise if i use Avent manual, my nipples feel sore. but i still like the Avent manual's massaging funnel. my fren had the Avent manual & Medela PIS. she takes the Avent manual to office. she said tat once milk ss is established, she rather take manual pump to office than lug the PIS.

possions,
WOW ur milk ss is SO MUCH! somemore u gave birth 1 day after me! so envy! no wonder baby Garreth is so happy! did u take any other supplements or food?

Really happy to know that alot of you ladies are finally finding some traction in being moo moo mummies......be it via direct latching or expressing.....perseverance does pay off...

Wow..you ladies sure investing heavily in your milking equipment....I've never tried electric pump before so I don't know if it'll work well for me....i survived on the Avent manual pump for 1 year.......i take about 15 mins max in office to pump about 6-8 ounces......as i pump, i'll use my free hand to squeeze and press on the lumps.....so I can see several jets of milk shooting out.....

I had alot of problems with milk flow initially too......my milk only came in on 6th day and my CL was so frantic by then....kept urging me to use the breastpump to stimulate milk flow.....i remember on the 5th day evening, i took 1.5 hrs to pump less than 10 ml of milk.......can u imagine how horrible i felt and so inadequate....really wanted to cry.....no choice lor but to persevere on......once my milk came in, the pumping speed became faster......i never had alot so no engorgement problems...but my supply is long lasting...hehe.........

I never took any supplements like fenugreek as i was warned of possible side effects....only thing i ate was lots of threadfin and drank papaya soup........

Hi Poissons

Baby Garreth is so adorable...can smile so sweetly for you already......sure going to be a charmer next time.......

yes cat.. same qn as dokie... why you pumping now? not direct latching? 20min not long la... not more than 30min should be okay..

poissons.. He is smiling!!
I also enjoy taking picts everyday! soon my comp will run out of space ke! haha

here's my little monster! photo taken yesterday... 2 more days to 3 wks old!

1084534.jpg

cindy, i put on the most weight here among mummies... haha. 20kg. maybe no bf tat y slim very slow. my tummy still 5mths preggie. Wish i can continue my bf. now my breast gt like acne. so painful. 16kg drop to 5 to shed is very gd liao lor.

dokie, i use choz for my bb full mth giveaway n catering i used one of my grandfaher's friend restaurant. So far gt gd recommendation.
jordan's rash is better now after the antibiotics n wash. but he made alot of noise. need alot of attention n always want to be carry.
Cakes u r making me drool.

Catherine,
Other than papaya fish head soup and the lactation tea, I never take anything special.

Sad to say my boy has not been latching well since he's back from the hospital, will fall asleep very soon after feeding for abt 15mins on 1 side. Even I switched side, he's also not interested and very sound asleep. So I got no choice but to pump out the balance of the milk and feed him later. He's quite a big drinker, now already taking 80ml every 3 hours.

I'm so sick of confinement food...so yucky! I want fast food =P

Cindy,
Your boy's eyes so big and cute

hi dokie,
my nex appointment with my gynae is to check on my wound and blood pressure (cos i got high blood pressure during my pregnacy that's y i go for c-section)
yup, my bb's full month also on 1st dec and i choose neo's garden catering too.

Hi c-session mummies

I have confirmed to go for my c-session on Monday, very ken cheong now.

Thinking of getting a nursing pillow/brestfeeding support pillow as I worry I will be too weak to hold my boy for bf after the c-section.

Will it be useful/necessary for us to have this? Any feedback? Thanks.

Cindy
Wah, your boy's eyes so big... he is so cute...

Hehe, talking abt cleaning the nostrils.. My gal will scream if i attempt to put anything be it cottonbud or the thing that used to suck stuff from the nose....

Sabrina, my baby gal also has very bad reflux. She is a mini merlion... Most imptly if ur baby is growing and well... No need to see the PD. The polyclinic nurse told me in my case, its overfeeding.

Yalor, Cindy's baby eyes so big!

koala,
i used brestfeeding support pillow b4, it quite useful, u can even put ur bb on the pillow w/o carrying him when u bf.

cindy and poisson,
ur boy so handsome and cute.

dokie / cindy,
ya i pump coz baby not able to empty my breasts after the morning feed.

cindy,
ur baby got such BIG eyes! cute!

poissons,
the lactation tea is the one u bought from the spree organized by S@L? the milk tea?

koala,
i bf using the side-lying hold i.e. me & my baby both lie on the bed. i find this position the best coz i can rest/sleep while baby feeds. so i have no comments abt nursing pillow. maybe other mummies can comment

Koala
don worry! write to us for any questions. we are ready to support u.
U can bf no problem.
Just ask nurse for help. Eg how to latch on, adjust your bed position etc

Re Massage
I think that really helps. I started my 1st session yesterday and left the binding cloth and herbs overnight. This morning, already can see some difference. Aunty Sadiah says I only need 4 sessions. haha I wanted to have more. Weighed myself this morning. About 3kg more to go to pre-preg weight

My bb is turning his day to nite and vice versa. Sleep the whole day in the day time but at night wake up every 2 hrs. Gosh, me hvg blackeye already.

thank you cat, poissons, kaye and koala!

koala:: like cat, i also use the sideposition, i've got the my breastfriend cushion, i think it's pretty useful too.

ladies, those of you who have the gina ford's book, to check if your breasts are empty after bb had fed is to squeeze your nipple using your thumb and forefinger. if no milk comes out, means can switch side already. I tried it, it works! just a tip.

tinkabel:: same here. -.-

rast, Catherine, dokie and Cindy

Thanks for the feedback.
Then I definately will get one.

This few days will be very busy to made last mins preparation and as gynae said I am very unlikely to pop this few days, (as no contractions and dilation) so I can go to enjoy my favourite foods before my BIG day, otherwise will have to "ren" for 1 month, can't imagine.
hee hee.

so happy for those mommies who can pump out so much milk!!
i'm stil in a pathetic state... pumping less than 10mls each time for BOTH breasts leh... felt like wana cry but some1 say will go "blind" so fight hard to keep the tears back...

went to see lactation nurse twice, @ poly & SGH and managed to get a good latch and oso pumped out 20mls there... but once i'm bk home, thgs didnt go so well again.

baby's jaundice has not decreased but PD said just have to monitor and chk again next week...

started to latch BB on today, on her demand... seems like every hr she needs feeding, cfm my milk supply is low... sigh... it's oredi day 9 and still no improvement... not sure how long i can continue... now CL giving bb FM... coz just now i pumped less than 10mls n both breasts are tender ~ i guess not enuf to satisfy bb's hunger...

any1 experience "Wind" in tummy? i dun know if it's normal for C-Sect, kept farting a lot for the past couple of days (sorry ah...) and sometimes after meals, felt a bit pain... oso, i even felt a bit chill in the evening, is it normal?? i thot during confinement we're suppose to be feeling super Hot, Hot, Hot (Sweaty & Smelly too!)...

koala you're welcome.

kittybride:: don't give up! i think you just keep and let bb latch on. i remember from the day i came home, like almost 20 to 22 hours bb is latching on for milk. i almost can't remmeber being apart from bb. Try your best dear. you can do it! and i also have wind but not so much until keep farting. hahahas..
but no chill though!

kittybride,
JIA YOU on bf. baby is the best pump in the world, let her latch on & ur milk ss will soon increase. i have a fren who dun have milk in the first few weeks but she never gave up. her baby was on partial BM for the first 3 mths. now her baby is 10mths old & still on BM
she has so much milk ss now tat she even had to clear her freezer so tat she can store her BM. some mummies here have a good start, tat's all. PERSERVE ON!

Tinkabel,
You don't have a CL to help you? At night I will juz leave my boy to my CL and he drinks my expressed milk. Only day time I latch him on.

How's your boy's jaundice? When you going back for PD's review? Btw, which PD are you using? I was given Dr William Yip and I dun find that he's very thorough leh, feel like changing PD. I haven't started on my massage, she's coming only next Monday, told me not to be ganjiong. I have already lost abt 6kg after 1 week of birth, have abt 5 more kg to go, tummy is also smaller liao, so happy!

Poissons,
No, dun have CL to help me. My MIL is doing confinement for me. She is also looking after my niece, so can't make her take care of my boy at nite. Today is the 3rd day already. Matt is thoroughly sound asleep in the day until nite falls and he starts making a fuss around 10-11PM. We tried to wake him up in the day, he just refuse to wake up. I read somewhr this is quite normal, they will auto correct in a few weeks. Hopefully it will be so. My feeding cycle is opposite from you. In the day, Matt drinks my expressed BM and at nite, he latches on (no time to heat up expressed BM when he makes a fuss)

We also used Dr William Yip. He seemed ok when we met him in the hospital, but when he went back to see him today, he din look as friendly. I think I am ok, anyways, I am going back to SH after CNY, only need to see him 2-3 more times. Alternatively, I am thinkg of changing to my niece's PD, cos I find the baby clinic at gleneagles always so crowded. Jaundice level is still 11.6 today, but Dr say should go down on its own.

Hi Poissons

I was assigned the same PD as you for my first kid.....hubby and I din really like him as we find him quite rough...esp in giving injections...he is a reknowned figure in child heart problems in SG tho.....

We changed to Dr Koh Poh Kian, who mainly works out of the AMK branch of the same chain of clinic......he's a very experienced PD....he gives injection my daughter never cry cos he only jabs on the butt...once we had to go to someone else and my daughter screamed like hell as she jabbed in the thigh....Dr Koh is pro-bfeeding and will keep encouraging u to go on....everytime i complain i wan to quit becos i wasn't getting enuf sleep, he'll ask me to persevere on.......keep telling me, a few more mths la....ya and tat few more mths of extension turned into 3.5 yrs of nursing for me.....heee

Hi Tinkabel

Yes right now, they are all US timing babies and will be more alert at nite...by and by, they will revert to SG timing...but u gotta do yr part as well....just keep disturbing him to wakie when it's time to feed during the day...and when he's awake, try to prolong his alertness by singing or cooing or talking to him......

However, do the reverse at nite....jus turn on low yellow light when nursing, and dun attempt to tok or make too much movement.....slowly he will understand the difference between day and nite......takes time and patience la!

Kittybride, I feel normal neither hot nor cold in the day. But at night I have to wear pyjamies.If u have chill, just cover yourself and take hot drinks
Don feel discouraged on bf. Just don give up. Feed whatever u have.

Tinkabel,
I see..yah, I also found that the clinic is always so crowded and the doctor is like rushing for time, never pay attention to each patient. I'm trying to find a PD who is in the west area, hopefully around residential area cos Glen E's carpark is always so packed. Will be seeing Dr William Yip again tmr, I think my boy still having a bit of jaundice, hopefully not serious.

Dear mums & MTBs,

I have given birth to my girl Eevee on 20 Nov!! Induced labour, Natural with epi.. Eevee weighs 2.75kg. Pushing was quite smooth, but the waiting time for cervix to dilate is horrible (took me 13 hours!!)

Take care all!!

so sad on mon my gynae appt... oreadi dilated 2cm n got show liao but till now still no other signz.. so tired... still working some more...

I have a nice babysitter here. However, coming Jan08 I'll be sending my gals to childcare.

Anyone looking for a babysitter to care for newborn or toddler? her charge is about $650 neg. she is 40+ chinese speaking, have 2 children in sec sch. She only do daycare for 5-day week.

mummies, if you know of anyone interested in looking for a babysitter in toa payoh pls pm me.

Thank you for your help.

hi poissons! my friend just recommended me a PD in the west area - jurong east, would you like to have her contacts? she has been using her as her PD for the longest time and even now when her daughter is already in pri school. Would you like to have that contact? let me know?

Catherine,
Yup, the milk tea is the one which S@L recommended us. I take one bag a day but today I didn't cos' breasts quite engorged liao.

S@L, I followed ur advice, pump every 2 hours. My ms really increase leh. Now I hav a piece of mind now.

BTW anyone using the Avent iQ24 Electronic Steam Steriliser? Does it sterilize the bottles 24 hours even if I open the lid to take the bottles out in the interim?

Hi all nov mummies, me gave birth on 3rd Nov at Mt A. I can only pump out 60-80ml every 3-4 hrs. Very sad leh when i hear that you all can bf so well.... Any recommendations?

With regards to massage, my massage lady quite good, $500 for 10 sessions, of course can do 7 or 5 sessions if you want. Let me know if any of you are interested!!!

hi mummies, anyone experience like joint of fingers still aching after birth? Mine still aching duno is it cos i touch water or water retention.

Mrs T, in the beginning of my BF i too have prety little. So i tried using hot towel and massage before i BF. it works. some of the mummies here take fenugreek, also work. Personally I feel THE PUMP is very important. different pump give different amt. So it varies. Due to circumstances I stopped BF liao. So u must jiayou. DUn give up.

Massage 10 session gt see any weight lost? I find my weight lost is very slow even if i massage. Wonder is it due to m not Breastfeeding?

hi yoko,
the joint of my fingers also ache. i suspect could be becoz touching of "raw" water. but strange thing is certain fingers ache more than the others.

hi catherine, that is what i suspect. But how can don't touch water. go toilet also need to wash hand. Make milk also need to wash hand. my gf tell me put hard liquor and wrap around with towel. i wonder if it really works. But currently i got to wake at nite and feed. So i can't do it.

yoko, catherine
Yah I still experience the pain at the finger joints, sometimes pin n needles type of feeling. And my left hand feels numb if I lie on the left side for too long. The massage lady says it's prob due to water retention n poor blood circulation. Takes time to go away. Also, I think I carry Matt more with my left hand (more shun), so might have aggravated it. Not sure how true, but if after confinement stil like that, I will prob see some tui na person.

yoko, catherine
Yah I still experience the pain at the finger joints, sometimes pin n needles type of feeling. And my left hand feels numb if I lie on the left side for too long. The massage lady says it's prob due to water retention n poor blood circulation. Takes time to go away. Also, I think I carry Matt more with my left hand (more shun), so might have aggravated it. Not sure how true, but if after confinement stil like that, I will prob see some tui na person.

Just wondering does anyone's baby makes noises whilst sleeping? My baby keeps making soft "purrring" sounds while sleeping every 15 to 30 mins. She also stretches amidst her sleep, kicks off her blankie and removes her mittens. Just wondering if this is common behavior...