(2007/11) November MTBs

Hi Twiggy, currently my hubby brings my CL to the supermarket for the grocery shopping. He will help her to carry, otherwise will be too heavy for one person. He will also know which home supplies to stock up. Easier this way to reduce miscommunication on what to buy and costs. My MIL will buy the fresh fish and meat from wet market for her to cook. My CL also mentioned that she is not familiar with SG and prefer not to go out on her own. I think many of them are housewives in Malaysia and illerate, so quite difficult for them to find their way around on their own.

Getting quite sick of confinement food. Got hubby to buy some cakes from Pine Garden to try today. Tasted average leh, not exceptional. Still craving for the yummy cakes from 7thmanna but they are having temporary closure till 25 Nov...sobs...(http://www.7thmanna.com) dunno if can tahan till then...just want to gobble up their cakes, especially now i get hungry easily from BF. Luckily my CL allows me to eat cakes. I can finish a cake w/n 2-3 days now.

Cassie, what is nice at 7thmanna? I need to order a birthday cake in early dec 07.
As I am ordering 1st month from Pine Garden I don want to order from the same source.

wah making me drool leh u all..
but cannot oledi leh me..
oledi gained so much, really gotta control...

Hi Cassie

Not all the cakes from Pine Garden are of exceptional quality....so far the ones I like are their Black Forest and Lychee Martini....as for the fresh cream strawberry cake, it tasted alot better when we bot the 500gm one but when we ordered 2kgs for my #1's birthday, the quality sucks! I felt Prima Deli's strawberry cake was even better.......

As for bad suckling techniques, your baby's still learning how to do it and definitely for you ladies being first time mommies, you have tender nipples that have never been subjected to such rough treatment....heee..once u get over 2 weeks of torture, your bb's suckling technique should have improved and your nipples should have "rubberised" and become elephant skin.......mine certainly are elephant skin by now as I nursed my #1 to 3.5 yrs old......so I'm hoping this round my nipples will not tear so badly for #2.....

I think your next hurdle will be when your bb start spouting teeth....tat one is another challenge as they dunno they have grown teeth and will bite u accidentally at time.....esp when they fall asleep at yr breast.....well, tat's 6 more mths...in the meantime, Jia You!!! Persevere on ok mommies!!!!

Congratulations to Poissons and Tinkabel, both are with Dr Chan......

My EDD's right after theirs and we're sharing same gynae.......maybe mine will be soon? Gee!!!

wow sowie, u nurse until 3.5 years old.phew! salute you.

As for pine garden cakes, I only tried the blackforest and Lychee Martini and Orange Zest. Love it. :p

Hi Dokie

No need salute me...mine was a situation that got out of hand....I din give my daughter pacifier as she kept getting eczema ard the mouth...so i became the big pacifier whenever she needed comfort or to sleep.....

I never intended to bfeed for so long seriously....but i do enjoy the bonding we shared and up to today, she's still talking about going back to zud zud me once mei mei is out....i told her NO, nei nei is for mei mei and you had yr fair already......

Seriously, after a while, bfeeding becomes second nature....u can do it with yr eyes closed and also bb would have mastered the skill of how to suckle properly....the initial weeks are the hardest.....so hang on ladies!!!

I agreed. Once started just cant let go.
I had post natal blue last friday because of sore nip. It hurts so badly but I press on. Now the nips had toughen up and I no longer fear the next bf session with my baby. :p

hello ladies! HAd dinner? Any bb around 3 wks old now? Do you have a problem with the feeding schedule? Mine is getting erratic. Sometimes within an hour he wants to feed again, sometimes less than 2 hours.

He used to be able to go to 2 to 3 hours, quite consistent, just today it's like erratic. Oh man is there anything wrong?

Cindy, my baby is two days away from 3 weeks. Sometimes when she cries after 1 hour, I will check her diapers and see whether she has any discomfort (e.g. blocked nose). Will also carry and comfort her a while. If not maybe weather cold, so they get hungry faster. but the closest interval I have is 2 hours.

Congrats to all mummies who have popped!! I'm getting impatient waiting for my tummy pains haha.. Especially after seeing so many Nov mummy graduates already!!

hehe My EDD was actually 15 Nov, but gynae adjusted it to 25 Nov based on ultrasound growth.. but until now I totally have no feeling that she'll be coming anytime.. Guess she's too comfy inside me..

Tomoro will be my next appt to the gynae, wonder if he'll induce me if I request.. previously he told me the process is long & painful if he induce me so he'd rather I wait for natural.. But I really can't wait to carry my girl in my arms soon!!

Hi Cindy, just finished dinner... getting really sick of confinement food liao but paiseh to tell CL... said i ate too much cakes ;p

Understand from my friend that babies go thru growth spurts every 2 to 3 weeks and their appetite will increase during this period. Could ur baby be undergoing a growth spurt now that's why he wants to feed more? You will need to increase the amount of his feed each time to meet the new demand now.

Hi I ordered the hoz butter cakes and then I add my own red eggs and ang ku. It is cheaper and taste better. Buffet i ordered from my grandfather's friend. Our family always ordered from him. abt $10 per pax for 9 dish inc drink.

Dokie, today i wet to gynae and she prescibe me a cream for my rashes call TRIDERM it is gd for rashes and can put private parts if itchy as well. esp now we can't really shower.

gals, does your baby take both breast or only one size. My baby usually direct feed one breast and dozed off. No matter how I wake him also cant. I have to pump out the other side. Do you have such experience?

Gals, ur really didnt shower? I am very guilty I started to shower on the 3rd day in hospital.

From what I know ok to shower leh, as long as don catch a cold. Of cos, old people think differently.

yami:: I checked le but nothing wrong le. Then when i stuff the nipple in his mouth then he satisfied.
hahahas.

cassie:: ya i also think so, maybe it's the SPURTing time but it's making me so tired. i will observe again and see how he is tonight and tomorrow.

dokie:: My bb also only take one side and like after 15min doze off, i shake him and at most only can manage 25mins. The other side, i leave it. hahahas. and i did wash and bath everyday. Don't worry. i'm also as guilty.

dokie, can shower lah. Better hygiene for BF. Imagine sticky and sweaty whilst BF. Will pass germs to baby. Doc told me can shower. Old pple think differently cos during their time, no heater lah. Now got heater, hair dryer, why torture urself?

Cindy, cant leh. U have to pump out if not engorgement or it will affect supply leh.

I shower without herbs. Just hot water. Do your use herbs.

tweety, now the sore nipples have a layer of black skin and can be removed... i think will hv to try to 'bear' with the pain and let her try to latch on tomorrow again! Jia-You to all mummies!

By the way, can i know which brand of pumps are u all using? i find that mine doesn't seem to work as well as last time leh... when i use the Medela pump (single), i can't pump out a lot... hv to resort to using manual express then i get more (even though at the pump nothing already)... why is tat so? anybody have this experience? am thinking if there are other pumps that are better?

lastly congrats to tinkabel and poissons!
Catherine already delivered?

Congrats to Poissons & Tinkabel,
Both from Doc Chan and both gave birth yest. Tinkabel mentioned his hubby coming bk only today, certainly hope he made it in time for bb's arrival. Ladies, do share yr birth stories and photos.

Sowie: Me too, am playing the waiting game with my bb. Can feel more contractions these few days but are irregular, also went to the toilet 4 times yest and thrice today for "big biz", wondering izzit one of the signs. Seeing gynae tom, shall see what he says.

Dokie, same here, my gal now only takes one side and is satified...nomatter how to wake her up also no use. So i have not choice but to pump the other side out. i finally feel my ss increasing and sometimes have to get up middle of the night betwn feeds to pump out.

K@ye, why give up BF? maybe u can try burping ur gal aft 10min of latching to let the milk settle in her then offer the other side or continue with the latching. Sometime bb throw up could be due to reflux. One of the baby my mum baby-sitted had reflux and she will throw up aft each feed. When she started solid also will throw up aft she finishes the food. So u may wan to monitor and see if this happens all the time or jus once a while.

Btw, today i went for the blood test for Mischa and her jaundice level reading dropped to 9! i strongly recommend the home phototherapy kit for those whos jaundice level nt considered too high.

However PD advise to sun bb for another 2 days and keep monitoring her till full month.

S@l, reason for giving up BF is more of frustration but not due to her powerful milk vomitting skills... Coz be it BF or FM, she will still spit milk even after hearing her burp!

My gal takes after the pattern of my younger sis when she is a baby.... Will spit up milk after each feed. Today, my gal is so greedy and i m guilty of overfeeding her... She fuss for 3 hours and again her powerful milk vomitting skills... Sigh, just see how things go... Coz she is putting on weight that's y i din bring her to see the PD.

Today, my ILs came up to my place unannounced again. Piang, I just fed my gal and my gal spit out a bit of milk and my MIL hinted me 3 times to feed her again.... Then my gal sneezed quite a few times, raised her concern again...

The way her comments made me sound as if i dunno how to take care of my gal. Hehe, i will be moving up to my Mum's place next week... I see whether will they come up unannounced again! *Evil laughs*

Plim, u can put lots of avent soothing cream to solve your sore nip. It helps alot for me. Try and see.

k@ye, I refer to a new born book given by my PD, it states the following:

SPITTING UP and BURPING

Question: My baby frequently spits up milk and sometimes he vomits the whole feed. Should I see a doct about it? How can I prevent it from recurring? Does frequent burping help?

Answer: Splitting up small amount of milk after feeds or btw feeds is normal. Occasionally, the milk may come out thr the nose. Spitting up is due to excessive slackness in the muscle ring located where the feeding tube and the stomach meets
It is practically impossible to prevent all spitting up. If your baby is happy and putting on weight normally, then he needs no treatment. All you need is a good supply of bibs and patience. ....

do u have a fax machine at home, I can fax to you the page tomo?

I have finally delivered. I arrived at KKH at 8am on the 14Nov. For induction.

Delivered on 15Nov at 0011 hour. Baby weighed 3.615kg at birth and 50cm. Natural with epi (tonnes of it) and forceps..

I must say it's really not easy. Almost gave up when I am 90% there and had wanted to ask for c-sect.

Cindy, another reason u should express out the other side because u need to standby some frozen milk in case u need to go out. It is the best time to keep suppy.
As I regularly pump out, I have a adequate supply of frozen milk. My problem is I have not trained baby to take bottle yet. :p

so envy that some of your BM supply increasing....mine seems no improvement and bb start to pick up her demand liao....now just 2 weeks and only manage to pump enuf for her day time and nite time all FM....been drinking alot of soups and milo but still no improvment....just afraid cant feed bb even till full mth hmmm

s@L:: so happy to hear mischa is okay now!
still renting the home kit or returned already? YAY! Oh yes s@l:: the gerber milk bags we bought from spree 1, how to use them? what's the nurser system they're talking about? ahhaha, care to enlighten me if you know?

dokie:: Thank you dokie! but the lactation consultant at Mt A told me NOT to pump out now. I always ask them when i encounter any problems and they stressed this many times - (previously i tried to offer both sides and he kept regurgitating milk so i asked for help). so I really don't know. If i want to pump, she told me to pump after around 4 to 6 wks when i want to intro the bottle. So It's really dilematic. I don't know to pump or not to pump! but for now, even if bb takes only one side, i feel heavy on the other but still not so engorged until I cannot take it. When you store, how do you store? I mean you store milk in how many mL?

Cindy, can lah. Does it make sense not to pump? If u don pump, how to increase supply and u may have engorgement? May be they mistaken that u want to bottle feed is it?
U pump out to store as frozen milk and not to bottle feed. U ring them to clarify again.

I store them in whatever quantity I have. If very little, then I use the slim line milk tray, they have it in 30ml stick cube.

Seriously ring them up and ask again. I think is miscommunication.

winwin don give up. At least u are feeding bm in the day. As long as u direct feed and pump any excess, it is a matter of time your milk will increase. If really cant , then seek help.

dokie:: haha i ring them many times le! i asked them:: must i pump out the extra when bb finishes on one side? must I pump out the other side to empty when bb takes only one side? They said NONONONONO! So i also dilemma!! Many times i feel like giving up direct latching. it's so tiring. I feel like expressing out solely and giving bottle but hubby is against it as he's afraid so early bottlefeeding might lead to colic. Sighs. DOn't know if it's a good thing but i envy the mommies who express like according to their 3 to 4 hour schedule, store and warm when bb needs food. now it's an erratic schedule. after 1.5hours, he wants to feed, sometimes after 2, and in the night, sometimes can tahan till after 4 hours. SO TIRED.

Cindy, ya have returned the phototherapy set.

RE: Gerber milk bags,
jus pour ur EBM into the bag and seal, then put in freezer for ur backup stash of BM. Remember to check the amt (ml/Oz) from the bottle which u collected the milk and write on the milk bag the qty/time/date before u freeze them. Cos when u pour into the milk bag, will be difficult to tell the actuall amt.

As for the nursing system, are u refering to the pumpin pal/ supershield? It is a handsfree kit for single/double pumping when u need to be handsfree, e.g.u can read a book, type email,etc without having to hold onto the pumps.

I have nt started using mine, cos only small amt of milk to collect now. Maybe when i do exclusive pumping then i will start using. Now stil enjoy my latching session.

As for ur LC argument regd NOT to pump until 4-6 weeks, really u dun have to follow so strictly. U know i went thru a very painful/ difficult BF journey with my elder son. cos i read too much and believed too much. I was too rigid and followed what the book says. i also didnt DARE to pump out my milk when my son did nt empty my breasts as he cannot latch very well...so i wait and wait, let the milk 'sit in' for weeks in the end my supply nvr picked up. when i started pumping abt 3 weeks old, BM was very pathetic. I nvr hit more than 80ml in my pumping session.hence i nvr able to do TBF cos i can mostly get 60ml only.

Dokie is right, there is no harmin [pumping, in fact more good than bad. Cos it helps to drain ur breasts for more milk.

This time round was telling hb i regretted 'following' the book too much before and nt applying using common sense. this time BF seems like a breeze although cannot say successful yet, but it started way better than my 1st bb.

Dokie, i have introduced btl to Mischa during the phototherapy. cos hubby wanted her to stay in the light box for longer periods, so i replaced 2 latch in with pumping and fed her thru btl. i was so reluctant to do tt cos afraid she will nt latch on aft tt. Luckily it was ok...she still enjy latching.

K@ye, i see...ya i think what u need is non other than patiance. U have the milk, so keep it up...i cant really help much cos nt sure what the condition is abt. But jus wondering if u feed her small amt at close intervals will it help? Or is Gripe water useful in he;lping her to expel the air?

Cindy,
Like wat Cassie's fren mentioned, yes....Babies go through growth spurts. Like every 2-3 weeks. Suddenly they will increase their milk intake. U can either slowly increase their milk intake or shorten the interval betw feeds.

Plim,
I am using Avent Manual. My Medela mini electric also failed on me. Last time I can pump more with this. But now, the yield is so low and pathethic. I suspect the motor is not working properly. But with the Avent Manual pump, now I can pump abt 120-150ml, max 180ml every 3-4hrs and it takes only abt 10mins to clear both my full breasts.

SAL,
Where to rent the home phototheraphy? How much is the rental? Can give me the contact? My bb is abt 10.6. These days not much morning sunday. Are u breastfeeding? I am on TBF but CL keep hinting I switch to goats milk or FM for 2 days. But I still insist on TBF.

Kayemoss,
My inlaws can Hi-5 with urs. They used to come unannounced when I had my #1. Then they stopped cos I showed black face few times. Now eversince #2 came back from hospital last sat, they have been making unannounced visits again. And I really hate their un-called for comments.

winwin,
Dun give up on breastfeeding. U can try massaging b4 u pump. I usually will take a hot drink....either milo or red date water or powdered milk b4 or after I start pumping. I find that it helps, especially with a relax mind.

Cindy, hmm...having gone thru the days of giving FM and EBM, have to warm milk, bring btl out, hot flask etc etc...i think i prefer to latch on for as long as i can. but sadly i will need to 'go back' to work with my hb aft confinement , so nt possble to latch 100%. So treasure the latching moment while u can

a fren of mine jus called me last night. her bb is 7mth now and she started with TBF w/ latching until 2mths her ss dwindled cos she was nt feeling well. aft tt she gave FM and once a while give EBM. Now she is so eagerly wanting to build up her ss again so tt she can latch on her bb as she is much older and can interact with mummy.

Wenyl,
how old is ur bb now? u can pump quite a lot! U doing exclusive pumping?

Heres the contact for the home therapy. Its called the PEP bed. Call Richard: 96643568. i paid abt $410+ (aft gst)for 3 days rental. i jus sun my gal cos PD say to sun her another 2 days jus in case. Why CL want u to give goats milk? does it help in bringing down jaundice? I think u should nt give FM/ goats milk cos unless PD says its due to BM jaundice. so far my PD didnt mention anything abt replacing BM with others.

S@L, I also prefer latch on. I enjoy cuddling him. But I am also planning to intro bottle soon because I need to go gym after one month. Buoh ta han liao!

Cindy, just pump out if not your supply will deplete. Can u ask them why cant pump out? U must challenge them in a diplomatic way. Doesnt mean they are right all the time.

Also my MIL keeps on asking me to give baby water so as to reduce jaundice. I refused as he is on TBM and BM is made up of 90% water so I don see a need to give water.
So yesterday she asked PD and PD explained. In the past, people fed babies on FM and hence need to give lots of water. Today, mummies bf and hence no need to give water to babies. If still feed, then babies may have loose stool.
After hearing that, then she stops asking me to give water liao...some peace to my ears.

Hi Cindy, during my last visit to gynae, he told me to empty my breasts of milk each time during feeds, so that they will fill up again with fresh supply. Otherwise, the milk will remain in the breasts and brain will not give signal to produce more milk. I suppose its okay to pump out whatever milk in breasts to keep supply coming and fresh. Heehee... hope it helps.

Cassie, from the book given by PD, it states
Question: I am worried that my baby is having very frequent hiccups. Am I overfeeding him? How can I stop hiccups?

Answers: All babies hiccup. Some babies are so good at it that they literally shake the cot they lie in. Hiccups are due to pressure of a full stomach on a diaphragm, causing it to go into sudden spasms.
Hiccups are not due to indigestion, gas or other physical problems. the attacks do not bother the baby much .they upset the parents more than the baby.
There is no need to stop hiccups straight away. they will stop by themselves in 5-10min. it is not necessary to feed the baby water to stop hiccups. This may cause baby to choke on the water. hiccups will get much less by age 3-4 months.

dokie, ya all old folks keep saying mst give water when bb hiccup. hiaz..i explain till i sian. liao..

btw i wear my binder at home mostof the time. cos i vain la, want to make use of the binder to flatten tummy.