(2007/11) November MTBs

Wow, soo much on discussion lately. I've been busy trying to feed my hungry Lewis. He is never satisfied!!!! My CL says this is typical of BF babies because they get hungry faster. He's been taking 90ml since we brought him home from the hospital. Aside from emptying both my breast on each feeds he needs top up from my EBM!!! If I'm not feeding him directly then I'll be busy expressing milk.....Like Yoko says....feel like a cow!!! haha

Thanks Poisson for the info on the 'dangui'. It explains why my milk was soo low. I have since stopped taking it and my supply is back.

Catherine,
Good luck my dear! I'm sure you'll do fine!

s@L,
I've stopped wearing the binder after 1 week. Should carry on hor? So disappointed with my post natal figure. Still look 5mths, anyone else the same?

Tweety, yah wear it back quick! Hee...i was so silly the last time. Cos my binder was stained with blood abt 1 week aft i came bk home and i threw it away! After tt i checked my hospital bill and was shocked the binder cost me $50! then my massage lady came n aft 1 session she asked me if my binder still around,she said can use it to bind tummy back to shape. in the end she wrapped me with the cloth instead. so this time i/m gonna wear this thruout confinement

regrd weight, i m glad i dint put on much and now i m finally bk to my pre preg weight, except tummy n thighs still flabby! However i checked n glad tt the stretch marks which i was complaining actually nt so visible now tt the preg bump is missing.....

tweety:: haha i think everyone is carrying that PIECE of ugly FLAB around!
I didn't wear the binder at all leys. hehehes. I also disappointed with the figure. especially that tummy. Sighs. When will we return TO NORMAL lah!

s@l:: HEhehes, keep us updated okays! I'm sure mischa can pass the test!! your stretch marks not so visible? so envious! mine is leys!! HOw come!! And i'm still 7kg more to go to my prepreg weight! like so much!!

Tweety,
Baby lewis is so cute! Glad that the tips I shared are useful

Cindy,
Dun complain abt losing weight leh, bear in mind that some of us here haven't pop yet and still gaining weight..sob sob..getting quite impatient liao.

S@L,
I have finally received the Spree #1 items..thanks!

hello, my pd did not ask me to take another blood test for my gal jaundice... what is the level before they will ask you to take huh?

How can we go polyclinic for baby jabs? The prices of the jabs provided by my baby PD clinic are steep to us. We are considering to go other clinic or polyclinic. Any recommendation?
What Are the procedure to go for polyclinics for jabs?

i am also very depressed with my weight, drop only 8 kg, i still got 15kg to go to regain my pre pregancy shape. The malay lady said i am very seriously water retention and there is a lot of wind in my body

sigh... my dad is complaining saying that if i dun lose weight, i am a fat woman for sure... confinement is already a torture to me, so hot, so sticky, cannot bath, and so many unpleasant remarks... really upsetting...

Baby javier always cries at night even after feed and changing pamper... really duno what he wan, make me so so so tired

i am counting down to my confinement days... looking forward to my air con being switched ON... left 22 days! so long way to go sob sob sob

S@L,
I am happy to know that you are so successful this time in BF. Can you share how are you manage to feed/pump every 2-3hrs? I am facing this challenge and my ss is dropping back to 70ml per pump from both breast. Used to be able to pump up to 150ml (my record).
Do you mean you do nothing except sleep/rest and feed baby?
My problem here is once I take a nap, it's 3-4 hours gone. Worst is I can't wake up at night to pump. Baby also no able to empty my breast after 30mins per breast.
Please teach/share with me your "skill". Thanks!

Poissons, huh u only received the items today? Hmmm sent out urs ages ago...

Vivian, urs should be on the way. let me know if u didnt receive.

superhappymum, did i say successful? hmmm..
so far so good only....better than my 1st experience. but still to early to say. I only direct latch and pump aft latching to make sure my breasts are empty. If u do exclusive pumping, u need to pump at close interval for initial days to up ur ss, e.g. 2hrly.

if u do latch on, n bb cant empty breasts (could be a sign u actually have lotsa milk!) then u have to pump aft each feed.

ya basically i eat/sleep/feed n change bb and oh,go online hee...i dun take such long naps...only abt 1hr in the afternoon when bb sleeps the longest.

If u leave yr breasts full of milk for long periods, ur ss will definately drop. I used to think tt i dun want tp pump in the middle of the night so tt when i wake up mornin can pump aot. but this is wrong, cos of the long hrs defibateky can get more BM but it also means u r sending signal to ur brain/breasts tt ur bb demand for milk is low.

I m also taking fenugreek n taking lots of fish soup, fish dishes n water. All these helps.

Good news! Congrats to Olivetree! she has jus delivered her bb Gracie Kwon at 12.58pm. Baby's weight at 3.485 (wow, BIG!) and she had natural birth with epi.

hope she share with us her birth story and bb pics soon!

kaye:: Claire is sooo cuteee!!

poissons:: hahaa okays, I'll stop complaining! weight gain comes as a package with pregnancy. Looking at bb is good enough to cheer me up hehes.

s@l:: how's the test for mischa?

gemini,
My PD said that if jaundice level is over 15 then baby will have to be admitted. So look out for that. Good idea to sunbathe baby before you take your baby for heel prick. Unfortunately our weather hasn't been very desirable lately.

Wah..I have to salute you mummies who are sticking to the rules of confinement so vigorously!! I really can't take it, Singapore really far too hot! I have showered and wash my hair after 1 week. I have my air con on 27. I have broken all the rules about confinement!! My mum told me that if really can't stand it then 2wks of confinement is good enough. :p

Cindy/ Tweety, Mischa jaundice level is 16.9 today. We were given 2 choices : to admit her or to rent the machine home to sun her.

hubby saw tt i couldn bear to leave her at TMC, we decided to do the home therapy. Hope it goes down soon they will be sending the machine in the evening.

Dokiesim's bb also admitted but discharged today already. Funny thing is we sms and knew tt she is ard at TMC....but we just didnt get to meet each other today.

Tweety, huh really? 2 weeks confinement? my mum even telling me must do 40days, nt jus 30days! Gosh...i also washed my hair when i came bk from hospital...oily and itchy....but i shower every other day and wipe myself with the herbal water everyday.

S@L:: wow, that's better! i hope her jaundice level drops soon. Hugs. better than leaving her at hospital.

tweety:: haha i also lah, i have showered everyday since i came home from hospital. I really can't stand not washing hair TOOO oily to tahan already! plus with all the sweat, cannot don't bath, but i used the da feng cao to bath and wash hair though. hahaha.. and 2 wks WOW! like s@l, my MIL said it's 40 days ley!!!

Hi Olivetree,
Congrats!!! Finally!

I didnt realize you can remaind dilated for awhile and not go into labour until I read your posting. I went to Dr this morning and she told me I'm already 2 cm dilate. I got a shock! Hubby quickly cancelled his KL trip tomorrow in case I deliver. But my induction still scheduled as 22 Nov, next Thurs. Do share w us your birth story and baby photos once you're free.

Baby's growth is really slowing down. Has only grown on average 100g a week for the last month. Hubby and I were a bit worried but Dr says his weight is still ok at 2.4kg at 36 weeks. So much for a BIG baby! Well, the good news is labour will be easier I suppose. Hoping I will naturally go into labour on the 21st night anyway so no need for induction.

S@L,
Yah, got it only yday cos' postman came last week and I wasn't at home..ask him to re-deliver only yday..

Didn't see any postings from Catherine today..maybe she has popped?!?

wah all of you are discussing abt injections, breastfeeding, losing weight and finishing confinement yet i still haven pop...

sometimes i feel myself very contradicting..
wish to see my bb soon when i see all your cute bb's pics...but at the same time very scared, worried and uncertain..*sighz*

ya didnt see any posting from catherine, most likely she had popped or popping..

once again, congrats to all graduate mommies..

hello! long time no post but have been keeping up with the thread. Congrats to all the mommies who have popped! My due date is on 24 Nov and i can't wait to pop, soooo uncomfortable now, especially at night. seeing all the pics of the newborns makes me look forward to seeing my princess. all the babies are sooo cute!

mommies who are troubled by that extra piece of flab, don't fret! you took 9 months to gain all that weight, you can't expect to lose it all immediately after birth! those who are BFg, you will find that you will lose the weight very quickly cos you are burning a lot of calories. for my first pregnancy, i lost all the extra kilos thru BFg, in fact, my weight went below my prepregnancy weight! i must also add that my massage lady did a fantastic job of helping me get rid of all that wind in my tum too. My tummy went from looking like 5 months to looking like 3 months after the very 1st session!

having said that, i didn't really cared about my weight or stretchmarks after i had my son. i guess that's the joy of motherhood!

BFg mommies, perseverance is key. And mommies who have given up BFg, don't worry, BFg is only a small part of motherhood, there's so much more to motherhood that will excite you.

mommies struggling with confinement: actually, the practice of not bathing originated from old rural china especially during the bitter cold winter season. we are living in sunny singapore, so it's okay to take a bath every day. it's impt to keep clean and sane so that we can handle and take care of our babies. just remember not to stand in direct wind (directly in front of fan or aircon), put on socks and cover up, should be okay. for my last confinement, i showered every day (with the herbs) and washed my hair every alternate days. All this advice came from my malay massage lady. And i'm so thankful that she convinced my mom to let me bathe every day!

Congratulations to all the graduate mommies and I enjoyed looking at all the fotos of your beautiful babes....dun they all look so angelic when not cranky? heee.........

Need some advice here...I had induction/epi process for my #1 and hence I did not go through contractions etc......since monday i have been getting erratic contractions...they are not painful ones but they last for almost a full day......this morning from 4plus to 6am, i had regular painful ones and i was going to go hospital when it all stopped.....so i'm quite confused now...am i having braxton hicks or am i really in labour now....HELP!!!

Really glad to know some of you mommies are making good progress in bfeeding.....continue to persevere...once u can overcome 2 weeks, it shld be quite smooth sailing going fwd.....

I totally agree with fussiecat on her posting on bathing during confinement....u really need to keep clean in order to feel sane....i tahan 10 days of not bathing etc during first one cos CL refused to let me to....tat was so horrid and i feel so paisei when pple come to visit me.....jus remember to quickly blowdry yr hair after washing, it shld be ok....

Vivian, for the polyclinics jabs. Think u can go to this url, http://polyclinics.singhealth.com.sg to check out the nos to call to enquire.

I had just booked an appt for Claire's 2nd dose of Hep B jab.

Cindy, thanks for the compliements on my gal. Like what sowie says, all babies looked angelic when not cranky!

Actually, like fussiecat said, i also dun really give a damn abt weight gain & stretchmarks. Even though, i might complain abt not fitting back to my old clothes. Even if i managed to go back to my pre-pregnancy weight, i know that my hip area has expanded liao... Difficult to shred weight ard that area!

S@L,
Just for clarification.
I have to pump every 2hours even though pumping within 2-3 hours can only extract out 30ml?

My problem here is that my baby can't empty my breast even though I let her suckle for 30mins for both breast (1hour for latch on session). After that I have to topup with EBM before she is satisfied. Why is this happened?
I understand that we can only let baby latch on for 30mins maximum else nipple will be sole.
My hubby is asking me to do exclusive pumping as it seems like wasting time latch on....but I enjoy the bonding with this baby
. My 1st baby doesn't know how to suck from breast. Thus, I lost the bonding with her

All experience mummies, please advice. Thanks!

Superhappymum, from what i know bb definately can help to empty breasts unless her latching is wrong or u have too much milk (meaning u still feel breasts full aft feeding) but if u mean aft feedin ur bb still needs milk, then prob ur ss is still low or she has a big appetite.

What u need to do is to supplment urself, more soups, fluids etc...if u believe in other herbs like Fenugreek, or medication prescribed by ur gynae. Otherwise u have to keep pumping, and yes i did tt to up my ss when i struggled BF with my son previously. i pump even 2hrly and get pathetic amt...but tt is how u send signal to ur brain/breasts to make more milk. If u let ur milk 'sit' in ur breasts longer thinking tt u get more in this case, then it is a wrong approach. As this will tell ur body to 'stop making' so much cos ur bb had enough. It is tough to build supply in this way but tt is the only way.

yes i also love latching on and glad tt Mischa can latch well so far unlike my son. I missed the bonding with him too cos expressing BM is jus nt the same feeling as latching.

The above are jus what i learnt thru my previous experience, hence might nt be totally true as i also still learning TBF this time. Hope it helps

Superhappymum, i forgot to add, when u pump try nt to 'stare' at the pump for the amt of milk tt is collected. this will only make u feel more stressed and lesser milk comes out. I usually pump with my bb next to me, so when i look at her i get letdown faster and more times. Watch TV, make urself comfy and pump. What we are aiming is the letdown effect which will draw more milk out from breasts.

Before u start pumpin, grab a warm drink and can apply hot/warm compress to ur breasts. also massage ur breasts and squeeze a bit to extract more milk cos sometimes our breasts will get 'numbed' and have nt reaction to the pumps.

I m sure u can do it.

Superhappymum, hahah same here always feeding bb when i log in...i haven tried using the pumping pal...maybe u can try then will be handsfree!

HI zzz & fussiecat

I am also like both, on one hand can't wait to pop mainly cos its really very uncomfortable, and like fussiecat, its especially at night. The tummy is especially heavy and turning from 1 side to another is really torturous. Tomorrow I am going for my CTG scan for the 2nd time this week as gynae said I had contractions on Monday, so scheduled me for another one tomorrow.

zzz, people say contractions are like bad menstrual cramps, my gynae said its tightening, I have felt tightening every day for some time now...but not painful ones, just uncomfortable. Think when contractions come, you will know and differentiate between the tightening and the pain...most liken them to bad cramps.

thanks erika,

i tink i am feeling some pain.
but will u also feel the baby moving during contractions or the bb would not be moving during contractions??
so sorry, i tink my qn a bit stupid but i juz hope to be more prepared.

Sigh...like those who have not popped, i'm also waiting (almost impatiently) for my little one's arrival. A bit stress and cant helping counting down the number of days left for my ML and each day will be a day lesser i've with him. Sob...Been going out at least a few hrs everyday and i tried to do some squatting hoping to "induce" labour. Ha...

zzz: My stomach has been VERY tight and hard like a well trained muscle throughout the pregnancy. But it gets even tighter these few days, not sure if it's contraction or not. And yes, bb was moving during these moments. Books mentioned contraction is felt at lower abdomen, but i my tightening is at the centre wor. Perhaps mummies who have popped can enlighten us on these?

Good news again! Congrats to Catherine! She has delivered her Little Price yesterday (14th Nov) at 3.am via Natural birth w/ epi.

Her baby is a whopping 3.33kg and 51cm long!Mummy and bb are both fine and resting now!

Catherine keep us updated with ur birth story and pics sooon!

Beloved daughter, that's what hubby told me for my ex CL... To ren ren... but on 2nd tots, y should we pay to ren especially when it comes to our babies.

Its not that we dun have enough breastmilk, its just that breastmilk is easier to digest plus we dunno how much milk our babies drunk. U tell ur CL that and see what she says.

Hi fussiecat, saw that u mentioned that ur massage lady was good.. u going to get her to help u this time round again??> Can u recommend?

Congrats Catherine!

Cactus, I was told walking around does help induce labour. That's what my fren's dr asked her to do. And one more thing helps.... sex. ;) Maybe time to indulge in one last one w hubby before you pop.

Mommies!!

I need to make decision ASAP!! I've already booked the venue for my BB's full month party, but I can't decide on the caterer and the cake supplier!!!!

For cake supplier I have narrowed down to these:

www.sweetestsurprise.com.sg
They do personalised cards and the packaging is very nice and modern...only down side is that theres really not much in the box!

www.choz.com.sg
Heard good things about them. But dislike the packaging and no personalised cards.

www.ecreative.com.sg
Value for money, OK packaging, no personalised cards.

www.cupcakedivinity.com.sg
They are quite new, but very 'now'!

Caterers:
www.eatz.com.sg
ditto
www.empirefood.com.sg
ditto
www.elsiekitcheng.com.sg
ditto

I have no clue about caterers. Someone just give me one that you use and is trustworthy!!
I only have one week deadline............

So ladies, give me a vote or some opinion, A bit desperate now

Tweety, I think cupcake divinity is very cute. But also depends if you're giving mostly to the most old fashion relatives or to more modern friends and colleagues. The old people might prefer the most traditional contents kind. For catering, I've been to a friend's party using Elsie Kitchen and the food was not bad. The other two I havent tried. The other catering company I like is Kriston. www.kriston.com. Their food seems not bad and presentation ok.

Question : Do we need to do BOTH catering and cakes or just either or? I planned to throw a full month party and only have the cakes for those who can't make the party / not invited to party for some reason. What is the usual practice?

Twiggy I ordered cupcakes from cupcake divinity for my hubby birthday.
It's nice but some ppl might find it too sweet.
Really depend on individual...
My hubby dun quite like it but it's something very In now !!!

As for caterer i will recomm empire bistro
engage them many times for birthday, house warming and wedding.....feedback thumbs UP : )
Can contact Steven @ 96322232

twiggy,
I don't know either! But, of the full month parties that I have been to there were both. I'm not sure about other practice or traditions. But I do feel that it would be nice for my guest to take something home with them.

I don't need to do anything traditional. I don't have elders to answer to. (phew!)

I'll check out kriston. Thanks

Dareve,

Is there a website for empire bristo?

I think I've heard about them, apparently they are linked to babybliss.com, another baby giveaway company.

hi tweety, i was deciding between sweetest moments and cupcakes divinity. and i chose sweetest moments in the end, due to the nice packaging and photocard. my sister tried their swissrolls before and said it was nice.

for catering, i chose yls which i used for my wedding. (http://www.ylscatering.com.sg) I always use the same caterer cos lazy to find new ones and also dun want to take the risk.

twiggy, i am giving cakes to all relatives (including those that attend the party). friends/colleagues will get a cake voucher if they didnt come to the party but bought a gift or give ang pow. it depends on individual family one.

so nice lost almost all weight. i still hv 13kg to go. Now i dun BF anymore i tin is even slower......

Jaundice calculation.... e.g 9.3 will be 9.3 x 17.1=159...

yami,
I also wanted sweetest moments, but I went to a full month party and was given sweetest moments cakes. So I don't want to be seen to be 'copying'. Have to choose some other company. Such a shame because only a few companies do the personalised cards with baby's photo.

i would like to know from those mummies who r on confinement now, what u gals eat for ur breakfast. cos i almost eat biscuits every morning.

tweety, why dun you try creating your own baby card. And then print on photopaper
Actually there isnt a lot of company offering full month cakes in spore, so cant say you copy mah. if you really like , just use sweetest moments.
Gobi cakes is nice also, but more expensive. http://www.gobi.com.sg/gobi.swf

rast/cindy, i can only eat biscuits and milo. cant even switch drink ( i wanted to drink nestle cereal instead but MIL says NO) and biscuits must be plain biscuits. marks and spencer type cannot...argh...eat till i really sian liao.