(2007/11) November MTBs

Thank you ladies for ur encouragement

Today my baby doc updated his condition. Good news! he is getting better, able to suckle more milk without spilling and his breathless cries are a bit lesser now. Within 2 or 3 days if his condition improves, he will be able to go home

Bad thing is that he kena diaper rash. i was told by the nurses that his skin is very sensitive.

i was encouraged to nurse him during the feed when i visit him 2 times a day. these moments are the moments i have been looking for everyday, can talk to him, sing to him, cuddle him... the moment with him seems so short.

i have been pumping milk like all the ladies here like a 24 hrs cow. each 2 hrs i will pump, causing my back to ache now... must sit up straight to allow the milk let down.

I have scheduled my massage lady coming next monday. usually is how long? and how frequent, does your confinement lady bring the bed cover or u need to provide urself? else the whole bed will be full of oil right?

Catherine, dun worry, keep ur mind relax, ur cervix will dilate without u knowing.

whether baby enagaged or not, this is only crucial when comes to waterbag leak or burst or "show"

enjoy the last few moments of ur baby in ur tummy, i somehow miss the feeling and too used to talking to baby when he was in my womb.

hi hi...

<font color="ff6000">yoko</font>
thank u very much... i'll PM u my fax number..
if u still can take it for awhile more, pls dont give up on BF-ing.. e first few days (up to 2 weeks) will definitely be tough! if u pump n it feels pain, it means e breastpump "strength" is too much... since u r loaning e medela pumps, try tat first.. BUT PLS start with e lowest "strength" n gradually work ur way up so ur breast n nipples DO NOT feel pain all hor... it wld help if u use a hot towel to massage ur breast b4 n during ur pumping session too....

<font color="ff6000">S@L</font>
think ur bb is doing fine.. as long as she's sleeps well, poos & pees (6-8 dirty diaper per day) dont hv to worry too much...
for day time, its advisable to wake baby up for feeds.. initially shd be 2hrly.. but sometimes i let my boy sleep till 3hrs then wake him up for feed.. but at nite, i dont wake him up, let him feed on demand....

<font color="0000ff">hard, lumpy breast b4 feeding baby</font>
eh... hope tis doesnt come "too late".. but <font color="ff6000">cindy</font> is rite.. u got to massage n really use ALOT of strength to massage it...
dont mind me sharing, but for me last yr, when there were times my breasts got really engorged.. (Its very very difficult to express too when its badly engorged), use a hot hanky to wrap around ur fist, then use ur knuckles n "squeeze" ur breasts from out -> inwards towards ur nipples... with e other hand "supporting" ur breast from e other side... use ALOT of strength... n it will help e milk flow out... it sounds reli painful, but tis reli helps e reliefs engorgement for me...

Grace,
I sweat alot too but i will wipe myself twice a day with a cloth using the herbs. I actually cut my hair short, its now shoulder length n i pin it up all the time.

hi vivian,
glad to hear javier is fine. hopefully he will be able to go home soon. jia you! As for my massage lady, she ask me for towel, then i lay on my mattress on the floor. so the mattress is not stained. it take around an hour - an hour 15mins.

hi super happy mom,
Aunty Sadiah charges $45 per session. she is quite good. Massage quite relaxing, she will help blood to circulate. i think she is currently fully booked, but if u deliver already, u can call her, if she has slots, she will take u in.

<font color="0000ff">weaning</font>
i hope u mummies dont mind me adding another 2cents worth on tis topic...
if ur job & office environment allows u to pump perhaps twice a day at first, there is actually no need to think about weaning now... ideally, if situation allows, best is to bf baby for 6mths.. u'll only need to pump twice a day in e office, e rest of e time u can juz feed directly... it saves ALOT OF TIME & EFFORT & MONEY to breastfeed... seriously, n when u r going out with baby nex time, dont have to bring soooo much barang barang (hot water flask, milk powder, bottle, etc etc...) cos u dont need to bring anything to bf....
when i stop bf-ing at 6mths.. wah, everytime go out muz bring a big bag, with all e diapers, extra clothes, formula.. plus his food cos i make home-cooked food to bring out to feed... i miss e days when can go out with a small small bag....

hahah grace:: wow 6 months! so envous! u took no pay leave? what is TBF actually? haha. right now i'm just doing the direct latching on ALL THE TIME. i have not expressed any milk nor introduced any bottle and i really look fwd to the times when bb empties the heavy ROCKS. hahaha..

starz:: weaning, i do hope to BF till 6 months, but i'm gg back to work in apr and need to start plaanning so i won't have to do the COLD turkey method. hahaa... I hope that by the time i go back to work in april, i can still BF him day and night before and after work and the rest of the time supplement with FM. Could you give me some advice of how I can do this gradually, starting from which month? hehe.. my bb is only just a wk old now. I plan to fully BF him he's six weeks then from then on, i will replace one nursing session with a pumping session and feed him by bottle. Gradually, i'll replace more pumping sessions but keep the morning and night ones. And then hopefully by march, i can reduce the pumping sessions to replace with FM. Is that how i should do it? Thank you starz, a bit kiasu but haha i like to plan in advance.

U see I am so blur. Havent finish typing, I posted. BF experience is alright. My milk came in on second day after delivery. I am not sure whether because second preganancy and breasts are "trained" Managed to feed every 3 hours interval.

Had postnatal blue. Keep on tearing when I couldnt sleep or faced with challenges from my elder child.

Now worried my baby might have jaundice as he appears rather yellow...sigh
Going to PD coming Mon. I really don wish to hospitalise him.

S@L, sms me when u are there too. We can meet up and say hello... :p

Update again..

Hi Nov Mum, I'm from Oct Mum. I have buy extra packets of herbs (about 15pkts) for bathing. I'm not sure any one interested. Selling at $1.50/pkt.
Interested Mum pls call me at 92789982.

ueno,

after discussing with my hubby again these few days, he wants me to engage a confinement lady leh..
rem u mentioned earlier on tat ur CL is good right??
can PM me her contact pls??
btw, wat does she do bascially huh??
my edd is next sunday leh, but dr say might be late...
any idea if she is still available after your assignment??
and how much does she charge??
paiseh, so many qns...thanks in advance

Ueno, hehe... Like u i m looking forward to next Friday coz thur is the last day of confinement.. Meaning on Friday can eat normal food & do normal things like bathing etc.. I will definitely go to a hair salon to wash my hair!

Wow, some of the ladies here really have a lot of milk... I know that every morning, i will wake up automatically to empty my breast coz i let my gal to be on formula at nite.

My gal very notti, the CL told me that at 5am in the morn, she will poo and finish her feed. Then she won;t sleep... Today, she only slept at 10am and she s like awake for 5 hours... No wonder, i saw the dark circles ard her eyes.

Hi Catherine,

I am like you. my edd is 12nov. Went for my checkup on 7thnov and doc said 1.5cm dilated only. he said if no sign of labour by next wednesday, i will have to go thru induction on wednesday which is 14nov. Latest is friday which is 16nov. he said cant be waiting indefinitely.

I have asked my fren about induction. Some claimed is more painful some said no. I guess i if i have to go thru it, i will definitely ask for epi at thea earlier stage.

So many experienced mummies here sharing their BF stories, how nice.

Went for my 37W 4D check up this morning. Had CTG scan and gynae did a VE check, said bb's head engaged and he could actually touch bb's head liao, hmmm...i was shivering aft the VE check, not sure i shivered coz i rem someone mentioned VE is painful or the gynae commented i'm "in early labour stage" now, if feel constant contraction, can admit hospital.

Somehow feeling excited but yet a bit scare wor, steady steady..*deep breath* Told my HB i still wanna go shopping lei, kee kee...But personally, i think i'll nt give birth yet la, coz u ladies mentioned cming close to delivery, weight will be lost, if not stagnant, but hor, i actually put on 2kg within 2 weeks lei! Doc tried to console me, said nearing the end, so i put on wt, told him i read we shld lost wt nearing edd mah, so he replied "u already put on the extra kg, if i said no gd, u'll be very upset. Anyway, the extra wt din go to bb but store as fats in the mummy". Argh...must be the sitting around at home. Must control liao.

Grace: U mentioned there's sale gog on ah? Aiya, was in town this morning, shld have gone to JL & Metro, but went Taka instead (no sale).

Hi I intend to forgo my AVENT ISIS IQ UNO breast pump single pump. I only use it from 5Nov up to to today. I bought it at $279 comes with original box and extra accesories cos my friends pass me her pump but spoil already so i used all extra pump kits in there to rotate. ONO. Pls text me or call at 9339 4040.

Starz , today i rented the medela pump symphony the commercial pump to try. My milk is very little. Duno y. It used to be like between 90-110ml. now only 50ml or 60ml. Not enuf for one feed. Also just now he poo and the stools are yellowish and very loose come wif a foul smell too. Is it that i haven heated hot enuf for him to drink? Sometimes he can't finish and left abit i will just leave it at the warmer.

Am on the verge of giving up soon and breaking down. i cried very eaily and getting very sensitive. Felt very stress and tired and lost. Sometimes i just wonder if i am a good mummy.

Starz can u text me yr no? cos too stress never read my email. my no 93394040.

Those mummies who wanted thomson medical price just drop me a sms i will fax to u.

Envy those mummies still can go shopping....

Did my 1st post natal massage today after 8 days of c section. Feeling very gd. and refreshing...

I can feel needle poking pain around my breast anyone got the same feeling? Wondering what is it? Is it going to engorge??

I wonder if i am having the blues. I can cry very easily like i feel so left out and pathetic. Just like no one inderstand what $%^&& m going thru.even my hubby. Flare up easily too. trying hard to control. But seems like getting very paranoid w almost everything....

update: bb borned through csection on 8 nov, 46 cm, 2.5 kg.
His limps are so skinny. Looks like he's from Eutopia.

S@L, i didn't visit u, cos hubby told me your ward is full of people and so messy (your neighbour). We were glad we took single bedder. Thanks for the Milk tea. I have yet to try them. u?

yoko noriko,
Relax. It sounds like my 1st confinement. I was so stress of BF and getting lesser and lesser BF. Don't be too stress out. Everybody is different. FM won't do any harm to your baby. This time round, I tell myself that, I will try my best to BF, it again no milk then no milk loh. Give FM loh. I think it's because of more relax, my flow is better this time.
My 2cents of advice. Hope it help.

Yoko, yup... Dun be stressed up... Stressed up then ur milk supply will be low.

Yalor, like SuperHappyMum, i also strived to breastfeed... If cant, then just use formula... At least, we did try our best to give our babies the best - Golden Liquid!

hi k@ye n superhappymum, thanks. i got ready the tablet to stop breast feeding. but still contemplating whether to eat or not. real wan give another try till end next week. but duno can tahan so long anot.dun give milk to bb, most he take fm. but my breast so engorge n painful. when i engorge tat turns me off. try to pump liao but milk supply getting lesser. of cos nipples r &^%$ sensitive n sore. but still try my best to try . i even go to rent the heavy duty pump cost me 150 for 7 days. i really dun really wish to give up but,.... mayb circumstances tell me to.

anyone here want to produce more milk can follow this recipe, i got this from kkh lactation consultant.
1 green papaya(local), 20 red dates w/o seed,1 ginger and fish bones to be boil together.

cactusnah,
glad that your bb has engaged! dun be upset abt the 2kg gain,cos i also experienced the same 2kg gain the week before (36th wk check) and it's only last week that my weight got stagnant. Robinsons and Metro are having 20% sale till today cos of the Deepavali holiday..

Regarding the Parenting Talk I attended yday (organised by Philips Avent), here are some tips which I thought will be quite relevant for us. The presenter, Wong BB was damn funny and hubby and I both enjoyed the session very much, esp. the live demo of bathing babies (a boy and gal).

On BF:
- Dun eat overdose of Dangui during confinement as it decrease milk supply
- Consumption of alcohol during confinement is ok only if you use for cooking since the spirit would have been gone after cooking. Else, not advisable as the spirit will be absorbed into our breastmilk meant for the bb.
- Eat ginger in moderation during confinement also
If it's possible, better to breastfeed bb at night (latching) as Prolactin is found to be at the peak from midnight to 6am
- To boost milk supply, can try cooking fish head papaya soup. Be sure that the fish is not deep sea fish or those big scale fish as they may contain mercury.
- Taking fenugreek seeds/tablets is ok, but they are subsidiary. Overdose of these might be too "sharp" for the stomach to take.
- Not advisable to wear underwire bras if we are BFing
- During the first 3 days when bb is born, bb does not require milk at all as they already have reserves in their body, they rather sleep. However they need our colostrum to do the first poo, cos' after all they have been in our womb for so many weeks and never poo for so long (exact words of Wong BB).
- During the first weeks after birth, bb only needs to latch on our breasts fir 10-15mins on each breast

On bathing the bb,
- it's pretty common sense for all the procedures. Just be sure to treat your bb as a human being and with respect, whatever we intend to do to the bb (like taking off their diapers, wipe their face, etc), communicate to them , tell them what you want to do next, give them assurance, so that they won't be frightened and start wailing for no reason.

Hope the above tips help

Juan, its ok. Ya i wanted to discharge early also becos of my neighbour. Alot of visitors and always so noisy.

I only took a packet of the tea on the 2nd day. Not much difference cos should take more. So far my bb is satisfied, so i dun intend to take anymore yet. However i m taking my daily dose of Fenugreek capsule with my DHA every day.

Yoko, don be stressed. Give whatever u have and then supplements with FM if not sufficient. As long as u press on , your supply will return. Don be discouraged. A little BM is better than none.

Hi, Poissons, my understanding:

Babies need our colostrum to do the first poo, cos' colostrum is laxatives. Can clear the melconium (cant spell;black stool sooner) More latch on More colostrum.

"During the first weeks after birth, bb only needs to latch on our breasts first 10-15mins on each breast"
- I don think so leh. should be as often as every 3 hrs to stimulate supply. I wonder why she said that. I go and clarify if I meet her tomo at TMC.

Dokie,
Yes, the part on colostrum is laxative is correct.

On the latching of breasts, I like to clarify that what she meant was bb needs to only be breasfed 10-15mins on each breast for each session, cos some mothers let their bbs latch on as long as 45mins or even an hr, which is not necessary. And yes, bbs shld latch on every 2 to 3 hrs to stimulate supply, depending on each individual bb.

Sorry that I wasn't clear earlier. =P

cactusnah,
Glad for you and dun worry about the weight gain. Sometimes difficult to control, although I do understand cos I was quite sad when I gain 1.8kg over my 35-36 weeks.

These few days, while I was massaging my stomach with stretchmark cream, I realised a number of new stretchmarks came out. So sad, since nearing the end of my pregnancy. I already whipped on lots of stretchmark cream and do massage every day, but guess it still doesnt really help. Wonder if my bb is starting to grow too big. He was 2.92kg last Mon, think this week when I go for my appt again on Tues, he's prob going to be ard 3.1kg.

Also, I feel some form of menses pain here and there and also a pain down there (feels like something poking) when I walk too long. Wonder whether this means I am nearing delivery???

need mummies advice here, how much shld bb drink per feed in first two weeks? my gal drinks abt 40ml per feed (2 to 3 hr per feed with EBM), is that enuf???

btw for those mummies having emotional swing...i can understand totally, yesterday i keep crying ..suddenly felt very stressed out...haiz

Just a quick update.....I delivered on 6 Nov via csect w epidural at Mt A. BB Bennett weighs 3.31kg. Me & bb just got discharged yesterday.

Baby Bennett @ 5 day old
1066304.jpg

Juan: Dun worry, i'm sure bb will gain lotsa wt and be chubby in no time.

Rast: Thanks for the receipe.

Poissons & tinkabel: Hee hee..will try to control my diet liao, been having "balanced diet" for the past 35wks till recent wks, HB tempt me with bak kwa, potatoe chips, tsk tsk..lousy me, fell into his trap. Ha ha...

Poissons: Oh ya, yest was the talk hor. Gd gd so many info, will copy & paste what u've written. Thanks for sharing, glad u & HB had a gd time. Yeah, Mrs.Wong is cute and it's amazing how bb calms down under her "magical" hands.

Tinkabel: Me too, will have this "poking' feeling once in awhile, but i usually feel it at night when sitting or laying down. Bb is also giving me the hard knocks these 2 days. But am not sure if these are the signs..

On Stretch marks: Bo bian liao, since u've been applying the cream diligently and they still appear,just continue to apply & hope no new ones appear. Seeing bb soon, just take it as bb's "footpath" towards the birthing canal to meeting mummy & daddy soon:)

Hi catherine,

Pls update for me. I have delivered on 9th Nov natural w/o epidural. Baby at 2.865kg

tinkabel,
i encountered menses pain here and there i ignore but later on become mild contraction then stronger and stronger. My gynae told me i dun have any sign of early labour during my 37 weeks + visit and expected to be 17 nov or 1 to 2 days later... so i guess maybe partly due to i worked too hard on monday till weds & trigger the contraction.. so try to rest more and dun walk too long too strain urself okie...

Cactusnah: thanks for updating Catherine on my behalf. Managed to have some time to follow thru this thread, cos princess had not gotten clearance from PD on her jaundice. On weight stagnant/loss near labour, well it did not happened to me as I remember putting another kg during my last gynae visit, and 4 days later I have given birth.

Watch out for early labour signs such as water bag leak/burst, or regular contractions, etc.

For my case, it takes only 6 hours from the time I realised my water bag is leaking to real contractions coming, although in most instances, it can be longer. So take care and look out for the signs. I am glad I decide to admit into TMC earlier as opposed to going home at 10pm.

On blues - guess its a common symptom to all new mummies - both milk and tear glands very active.
Stay positive, especially on BF part - cos I also gone thru the pain - sore and cracked nipples, pls make full use of the lactation consultants during yr stay to learn the correct latch on technique. TMC Mrs Wong was great and my little one responded to her instructions after much coaxing and praise.

Wenyl: Bennett is so cute!

My princess hair is pathetic in comparison! oh no.. ha

1066487.jpg

Wow..seeing all the bb photos made me and my hubby so looking forward to meeting our precious one soon too

Tinkabel/ Cactusnah,
I'm also experiencing some light menses cramp here and there, esp. in the middle of the night, but nothing happened leh. Just came back from East Coast Park for a long walk, hope the walking can help in dilation..already passed one of my fav dates (11/11)..hope can pop on 22/11...hehe..

poissons,
Yah I was thinking of 22 Nov too. Just quite tired of the pregnancy. So was thinkg 22 and 25 (my EDD) not very far apart, wonder if I can get induced. I feel my stomach stretching so much these days, like the skin's been stretched to the max already. And my stomach feel so heavy. Been feeling so uncomfortable.

My gal like the actress in tamil/hindi movies... Will twist and turn her head seeking for my boobs even though i tried to position her to latch on...

Anyway, for the past week, i had consumed 2 bottles of hard liquor liao... Dunno how isit going to affect my gal even though i presume the alcohol content should have gone after the cooking.

Just taking one step at a time to look after my baby gal... I wish i could take no pay leave to look after her.

finally.. my horrible days are over with the temp CL. my original CL came this noon. wah, its like heaven and hell. thats all i can say. original cl say temp cl very dirty, never clean bb backside properly, cos red red liao, we ask her put cream, i think she never put. then she also help clear bb's stuffy nose already. i tell u girls, the things she manage to do today is 10 days of work the temp never do at all. all i can say is its fate that bb has to come early otherwise i dont have to suffer so much. nearly got blues becos of that auntie, hubby ask me to ren ren. today i manage to nap 2 times and really sleep in peace. otherwise for the past 10 days i was monitoring her.

catusnah, so did u manage to go walk walk?

poissons, thanks for the update on the talk. it should be a good talk.
Do monitor your cramps..esp if they get closer.

to all new deliveries,
congrats! enjoy your motherhood and fatherhood!

Tinkabel,
Yah, me too, my tummy feeling so heavy esp the bottom part and the frequent hardening didn't make me feel any better. Now I dread walking cos' have to be very slow and might end up having backache also. Tmr my fren jio me go shopping, I also can't make up my mind if I shld. Sigh..dunno how long more to go..

Poissons,
Yah man. I love to shop previously, but now I just dread it. Too tired and heavy to walk, somemore, cannot buy anything cos wun know if I can slim back to pre-pregnancy size. Today, I went to Robinsons to walk walk, feel like I am walking as slow as a tortoise. Gave up after 1 plus hr and went home.

Even sleeping is a torture. I havent sleep well for the last 2 days. Turning from side to side is a huge task now with the big tummy. And can't sleep on one side for too long, cos hand and fingers can numb easily.

Haiz, my bb got to wait another 2 days before his daddy comes back to Singapore. So I am thinking of asking dr chan if I can be induced. Wonder if he will "scold" me haha.

hi hi....

<font color="ff6000">cindy</font>
wah... u do plan very much in advance.. so good u can take leave till Apr.. for me, while i havent pop, im expected to be back at work around Feb liaoz lor...
by Apr, ur bb shd b 5mths old le.. paiseh, i'm not reli "qualified" to give "advise".. but i can give u some personal opinion, if u dont mind...
actually, i wld think tat u can directly latch him on to BF up to 3mths old.. then u stil hv 2 months to plan how to wean off certain feeds (replace with FM), or u may wana consider giving him expressed breastmilk... or do i assume u completely do not want to pump when u return to work in April???
if base on assumption tat u dont wana pump at work.. then after bb turns 3mths old, u slowly introduce FM to him.. i think since u got time, can introduce 1 FM feed per week or even fortnight.. then u try NOT to pump for tat feed tat u intro FM feed... then the next week / fortnight, intro e 2nd FM feed.. n try not to pump for tat 2nd FM feed... baby n ur breasts will both hv time to adapt...
if u find ur breast being engorged when u skip tat 1 feed/pumping session, juz use hot towel to massage n either pump a little bit out (not ur regular duration), or squeeze abit out (very wasteful tho), juz so it doesnt feel so badly engorged... but *disclaimer: tis is juz my personal opinion hor*...

<font color="ff6000">yoko</font>
cheer up... u r a wonderful mummy ok.. its juz e hormones playing havoc only....
after u pump out e breastmilk, where do u put? in e fridge??? u shd heat it by putting e milkbag/bottle in a cup of warm not hot water (change a few times to make e milk warm enough for bb to drink)... then test e temperature on e inside of ur wrist before feeding lor.. it shd feel warm, not HOT hor.. then shd b alrite le....
i (cant remember exactly) but think bb's shit will look like "tou suan" after e black meconium is expelled... abt foul smell, all poo smells bad 1 mah...
i'll text u tomorrow.. now too late liaoz...

warning: after heating up breastmilk, n if baby doesnt finish it hor.. at e most u can only "keep" it warm for another 30mins nia hor... PLS do not give bb unfinished breastmilk if it had been "standing" for more than 30mins...
for FM, from e time u make e milk, either finish feeding baby within 1hr, or else throw away... i cannot remember where i read this before, but better to "waste" than to risk ur baby's health....

<font color="aa00aa">mummies who r feeling blue... its perfectly normal for u all to feel this way... cos when baby was "inside", baby have this "happy hormones" which goes into mummy's body too... making mummy feel happy & blissful at e same time...
but when we give birth, n "push" baby out.. these "happy hormones" get "pushed out" with baby.. leading to e mummies "suffering from a severe drop in happy hormones".. which is why alot of us will end up feeling depressed n down...
dont worry, but DON'T BROOD over it...
share ur emotions with ur hubby... n explain it to him if he's not e kind who reads/understands tis....
most of u shd have help around during ur confinement period rite... let other pple do MORE for u, n all u do is rest n eat n feed baby n enjoy ur massages!!!

most imptly, believe that you are the most wonderful mummy in e world, for you have brought e most beautiful baby into this world after 9mths n all e labour pains....
<font size="+2">remember: HAPPY MUMMY = HAPPY BABY!!!</font>

<font color="ff6000">fish n papaya soup</font>
can i add also tat it'll b good if u can cook "Ngor" fish with papaya... not necessary muz b fish head.. my mum usually get e "ngor fish tail" portion cook with green papaya... even after confinement we can continue to take tis soup...
i also heard Oats helps boost milk supply.. so for breakfast can take "quaker oats"..
DO NOT take too much liver, as it decreases supply...

sorry for e long post... nitez all...

Hi I gave up liao. Actually i tot w the heavy duty pump it works so much better for me but worst is yet to come. I felt my breast got stinging sensation. and worst develop rashes all around my breast area. My hubby insist that I gave up. So I took the 1/2 the pill liao. Guess I am not qualified at all despite all efforts that I put in

Now I felt something amiss. Maybe I shouldn't feel that but I really felt so bad and guilty.

After give birth, my feet are swollen, fingers still got water retention, breast engorge till i need to get a massage to do it, nipples sore and now rashes and still engorge even when I pump like avg 2hrs per interval. My gf just bought for me 2 tin of almond drinks and is really gd for breast milk cos she also encourage me to BF guess i got to let her down. I tot everything will be alrite after birth but to me is that the worst is yet to come. Lucky my bb never give me much prob. Eat, sleep and poopoo / peepee.

When he sleeps, seems like he likes to 'talk (making bit noise)' in his sleep. Anyone got any idea why is it like that?

Confinement..... is it meant to be sweaty and hot? Strictly no aircon or fan? can't walk too much? No shower and wash hair? I felt so terrible. I still on aircon but at 27degress cos i felt very frustrated if really too warm. What kind of experience do y our have?

hello starz, hehee... still let baby full latch on till3 months, hmmm, will he be able to take to the bottle later on then?
Starz, you mind giving me your number? so i can ask you for help when the time comes.. I'm really scared of doing this and planning in advacne makes me feel secure. haa i've got a friend who did the cold turkey method and she's suffering like hell now. hence it made me want to plan ahead. ^^

Also starz and everyone::
roughly do you know how long bb needs to feed right now? the lac consultant told me it's 30 min one side, then offer him another 10 to mazz 30 min on the other side. is it only MAX 30 mins one side, to ensure bb gets the hind milk? Will this latching time shorten as bb grows older or longer?

starz, oops, sorry forgot to ans one part:: i do not wish to pump at work when i return to work. But i still wish to contine with pumping in the morning and night when i return home, is it possible? how can i do this? And yes after 3 months, i intend to follow your suggestion to give him expressed milk, just that replace all feeds slowly with formula except for morning and night. I still wish to either let him latch in the morning and night or pump in the morning and night after april, is it possible? will the milk supply be maintained?

yoko:: my baby also makes a lot of noises when he sleeps. don't worry, he's like wheezing or like talking. it's like that.
and yes i always FEEL HOT AND SWEATY~~ it's really disgusting. has your lochia finished? mine hasn't yet and like you, it came back after stopping. i don't know when it'll stop. I've washed my hair and bathed everyday since i came back from hosputal with the herbal bath. REALLY too hot to take it. and yes ahha i also on aircon at 27degrees. don't worry. you're doing fine. Keep on gg with BF. don't give up yet.

Yoko, sweaty and hot coz our body temperature will go up in order to lose the water retention (based on a book i read), plus not forgetting the ginger we ate will make u feel this way.

In the first 12 days, better to rest as much as possible. The more u rest, the faster the lochia will flow and go away more.

I bath and wash my hair with herbal water. No fan coz the elders believe our pores are open and easily prone to cold. But i switched on the fan to circulate the air in my room if not i die of humidity...

Its normal for babies to make noise while sleeping. My gal likes to stretch and make alot of funny noise.. and sometimes she snored too!

Cindy, my gynae told me that the lochia needs at least 3 weeks and the pregnancy book i have states 4-6 weeks. Yup, it comes and goes.

yoko,
I think i am the only mummy here who stinks! Hehe..Havent bathe or wash my hair since i delivered. I only wipe my body with herbs. I rest in bed most of the time in the air-con room. Actually its not too bad lah, its ending soon for me, Yipee.. i can shower on fri!

i'll be going for my C-Sect tmr, getting a bit nervous & excited for the past 2 days... and worried too. so for those mommies who went thru C-Sect w epi, can share share how it is like?

my bb till now still super active, mayb coz mommy is worried so end up she oso got over excited liao, last nite was kungfu fighting for at least half an hour till her daddy oso got very amazed! and poor mommy have to suffer very bad bladder pain!

another thg, since C-Sect; can we still shower while staying in hospital or totally can't til we get discharged? Thot of packing the dry shampoo in my hospital bed...

others:
1. shower/wash hair
Can we still do that while in hospital or strictly 'No No' till we get discharged?

2. lochia
Still need about 3 wks to clear or will clear earlier?

3. cloth nappies
roughly how many do we need per day (nite time will use pampers) coz pathetically i only have like 14 pieces!! and with the rainy weather, can't last for a day!

4. tummy massage
how soon can we start after C-Sect? 1 wk?

5. confinement still going out
shd be ok rite? since we still nid to go bk for check up & bb need to take their jabs...

sori ah, so many questions coz gettin super gan cheong liao... hee hee

anyway to all the mommies who have popped

to all mommies BFing - Jia You!